Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the William Francis Riley Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1932-1957
Creator: Riley, William Francis (1884-1956)
Extent: 6.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0192
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Lawyer and U.S. District Judge from Iowa. Correspondence, speeches, legal materials, and subject files relating to the law, politics, and religion.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The papers of U.S. District Judge William Francis Riley were obtained for the library as a result of the efforts, interests, and correspondence initiated by George M. Sheets in April 1958. The bulk of the papers was given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Riley's widow, Catherine Mary Greene Riley, on April 17, 1959. A small addition was donated in 1978 by their son, Robert Riley.

Preferred Citation: William Francis Riley Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

On March 20, 1884, William Francis Riley was born to Thomas and Anna Sullivan Riley in Ainsworth, Iowa. He attended public schools in Ainsworth and Washington before graduating from high school in Burlington, Iowa. Riley attended the University of Iowa where he received his undergraduate degree in 1907 and his law degree in 1909. He was the captain of the track team at Iowa.
 
Moving to Des Moines, he began his legal practice in partnership with Addison M. Parker. During World War One, Lieutenant William F. Riley served in the Army's legal department. Returning to Iowa after the war, Riley joined the firm of Carr, Cox, Evans, and Riley in 1922. He remained with this legal firm until 1951. During the years of the Great Depression, Riley served on Iowa's advisory committee of the Public Works Administration. From 1942 to 1945 he was a special assistant to the U.S. Attorney General Hearing Officer of the Selective Service Bureau. Always active in the professional organizations, Riley was a member of the American Bar Association's public relations committee (1948-1951) and was the president of the Iowa State Bar Association (1949-1950). In 1950, President Truman appointed him to the bench as the U.S. District Court Judge of Iowa's Southern District.
 
An ardent Democrat, Riley campaigned for Governor Clyde L. Herring and Senator Louis Murphy. He also supported Guy M. Gillette. Riley served as an advisor to Herring and helped write his inaugural address. However, Riley was involved in more than just law and politics. He was an outstanding Catholic layman and helped to found the School of Religion at the University of Iowa. Riley was also a sportsman. As a hunter and fisherman he was interested in Iowa's Fish and Game Commission.
 
William Francis Riley died in 1956 at the age of seventy-two. He was survived by his wife of forty-six years, Catherine Mary Greene Riley, and their six children.
 
Chronological biography
 
William Francis Riley [WFR]
 
1884 -- Born at Ainsworth, Iowa, the son of Timothy Riley and Anna (Sullivan) Riley, March 20, 1884
 
1907 -- Graduated A.B., State University of Iowa, Iowa City
 
1909 -- Graduated from State University of Iowa Law School
 
1909 -- Admitted to the Iowa Bar Association
 
1910 -- Married Catherine Mary Greene of Sioux City, Iowa, August 23, 1910. Six children resulted from this union: Mary Frances (Mrs. John J.) Lawler, Rochester, Minnesota; William Francis Riley, Jr., Tucson, Arizona; Robert G. Riley, Des Moines, Iowa; Richard Riley, Cdr., USN, Washington, D.C.; Philip T. Riley, Lt., USN, Sassebo, Japan; Catherine Barat (Mrs. Alan K.) Stewart, Jr., Phoenix, Arizona.
 
1922-1951 -- Practiced law in Des Moines, Iowa, with the firm of Carr, Cox, Evans, and Riley
 
1933 -- Chairman of the Iowa Legislative Interim Committee, 1933-1934
 
1942 -- Served as Assistant to the U.S. Attorney General Hearing Officer SSR
 
1949 -- President of the Iowa State Bar Association, 1949-1950
 
1950 -- Appointed U.S. District Judge of the South District, Iowa
 
1956 -- Died.

The papers of William F. Riley date from 1932 to 1957 and measure six linear feet. The collection is arranged by item numbers in twelve boxes with an alphabetical index of names, organizations, and institutions. Composed primarily of correspondence, letters are found throughout the collection. Some of the correspondents include Jay N. Darling, Charles A. Dewey, Harold J. Gallagher, Guy M. Gillette, Henry N. Graven, Virgil M. Hancher, Clyde L. Herring, Bourke B. Hickenlooper, Mason Ladd, Karl M. LeCompte, Louis Murphy, Ray Murphy, Seth Thomas, Henry A. Wallace, and W.O. Weaver.

Judge Riley's legal career is reflected in the folders relating to the American Bar Association with special emphasis given to public relations and the legal profession. There are two boxes of programs, minutes, bulletins, correspondence, etc., relating specifically to the Iowa State Bar Association. Many of Riley's addresses -- Riley was a popular speaker -- are preserved, and they mirror his passions: the law, politics, and religion.

One entire box is devoted to Riley's long involvement with the University of Iowa. It includes items ranging from alumni articles of incorporation to School of Religion policies and the Catholic Student Center. Another area of interest for Judge Riley included the Roadside Settlement House Association of which he was a director. There are audits, minutes, reports, and correspondence for this organization which date from 1936 to 1949. His interest and enjoyment of hunting and fishing is seen in a folder on the Iowa State Fish and Game Commission.

The single most important value of this collection of papers is its large volume of autograph- and typed-letters-signed by United States Presidents, Vice Presidents, cabinet members, high government officials, military leaders, church leaders, civic leaders, university professors, United States Judges, Iowa Governors, Iowa U.S. Senators, and Iowa U.S. Representatives. See Index of Important Names in Series 2.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: INDEX OF NAMES

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Items 1 -- 47: letters, telegrams, newspaper clippings - 1932-1936
    Correspondence of WFR, A. J. Kirkpatrick, Governor Clyde L. Herring, Lieutenant Governor Nelson G. Kraschel, Henry C. Riley, John D. Little, E. W. McManus, J. C. Pryor, Frank A. O'Connor, Edwin Gill, Richard B. Russell, Jr., Governor O. Max Gardner, Harry F. Byrd, Fred W. Morrison, Carter Glass, Wilfrid Parsons, Fred Bierman, G. B. Richter, R. J. O'Brien, John C. Reid, Carl J. Knoeffler, Henry Morgenthau, Jr., H. L. Perry, James McCoy, George D. Key, R. H. Kress, J. Ray Files. Includes two TLS from Governor Clyde LaVerne Herring
  • Items 48 -- 290: letters, telegrams, telephone bills - 1932-1936
    Correspondence of WFR, Senator Louis Murphy, S. M. Kaufman, Paul H. Appleby, Senator John K. Valentine, Dan T. Riley, Father George A. Rolland, Cliff Woodward, A. S. Goss, Anna Allen Marsh, Will J. Nelson, Isabel Cox, Arthur A. Zimmerman, J. Robert Cornell , David J. Murphy, David Cogswell, Joe Naab, Roland Harrison, George A. Kraetsch, P. F. Hopkins, Hubert Utterback, Luther L. Hill, A. G. Flieschman, Thomas Y. Wickham, Roscoe Fertich, Henry A. Wallace, Jewell W. Swofford, J. W. Studebaker, E. G. Moon, J. G. Shifflett, A. J. Brock, Louis V. Phelps, Edith O'Brien Smiley, A. Fitzhugh, J. J. Hughes, F. G. Awalt, James C. Green, T. R. Osborne, L. S. Hill, C. B. Murtagh. Includes thirty-eight TLS from Senator Louis Murphy, and one TLS from Senator John K. Valentine
  • Items 291 -- 320: Letters, telegrams - 1934-1939
    Correspondence between WFR and Senator Guy Mark Gillette. Includes nine TLS and one ALS from Senator Guy Mark Gillette
  • Items 321 -- 352: Letters, telegrams - 1941-1942
    Correspondence of Senator Clyde LaVerne Herring, WFR, F. W. Hubbell, James A. Farley, Vice President Henry A. Wallace, Drew Pearson, Robert Garst, and Gardner Cowles, Jr. Includes one TLS from Vice President Henry A. Wallace dated September 29, 1942
  • Items 353 -- 397: Letters - 1950-1951
    Correspondence of Senator Guy Mark Gillette, WFR, Howard Hill, S. Mentis, Lester W. Drennen. Includes fifteen TLS from Senator Guy M. Gillette
  • Items 398 -- 448: Letters, telegrams, newspaper clippings - 1937-1941
    Correspondence of WFR, Senator Clyde LaVerne Herring, Professor Christian Richard, Secretary of State Cordell Hull, Paul R. Tilson, Edith Johnson, Consul George D. Hopper, French Ambassador Andre de Laboulaye, C. E. Bullock, Ray Murphy
  • Items 449 -- 543: Letters, telegrams, newspaper clippings - 1937-1950
    Correspondence of William F. Riley, Senator Clyde L. Herring, W. Howard Chase, Virgil Case, W. W. Waymack, W.R.C. Kendrick, Darwin Meisnest , Ralph U. Heninger, Judge Carroll O. Switzer, George Heaps, Jr., and Norman H. Davis. Includes five ALS and fourteen TLS from Senator Clyde LaVerne Herring
  • Items 544 -- 617: Letters, telegrams, newspaper clippings - 1932-1940
    Correspondence of W. W. Waymack, WFR, James D. LeCron, Under-Secretary of Agriculture Rexford Guy Tugwell, Roswell Garst, Governor and President Franklin D. Roosevelt, Professor John R. Simmons, G. A. Nollen, Charles A. Beard, Cal Ward, Henry R. Luce, Governor Nathan Edward Kendall, Henry I. Harriman, Charles L. Stewart, G. F. Warren, Senator Richard Louis Murphy, Thomas Y. Wickham, Carl Snyder, Garland R. Farmer, Right Reverend John A. Ryan, Secretary of Agriculture Henry A. Wallace, Vincent F. Harrington, Paul Appleby, and Secretary of State Cordell Hull. Includes one TLS from ex-Governor Nathan Edward Kendall, ten TLS and one ALS from Secretary of Agriculture Henry A. Wallace and one TLS from Under-Secretary of Agriculture Rexford Guy Tugwell
  • Items 618 -- 717: Letters, telegrams, newspaper clipping, pamphlets, speeches, membership and guest admission cards - 1932-1945
    Correspondence of WFR, Paul H. Appleby, Harold Young, Henry A. Wallace, Honorable W. J. Johannes, M. Huss, Maurice S. Sheehy, Dante M. Pierce, Dean Acheson, Luther M. Walter, Carl Hamilton, Clifford DePuy, James W. Gerard, L. W. Drennen, J. E. Rankin, and Lieutenant Governor Nelson G. Kraschel. Includes thirteen TLS and two ALS from Henry A. Wallace, and one TLS from Dean Acheson
  • Items 718 -- 842: Letters, telegrams, newspaper clippings, speeches - 1932-1957
    Correspondence of WFR, Senator Guy Mark Gillette, Senator John K. Valentine, Governor O. Max Gardner, Senator Clyde LaVerne Herring, Senator Bourke Blakemore Hickenlooper, Congressman Paul Harvey Cunningham, Jay N. Darling, Dante M. Pierce, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Matthew F. McGuire, Harry L. Hopkins, Henry A. Wallace, Reverend Newmann Flanagan, Ray Murphy, John Sullivan, Oscar L. Chapman, Louis A. Johnson, R. M. Evans, J. M. Johnson, M. E. Brackmann, Oscar Chapman, Francis Biddle, Judge William J. Keefe, Cecil A. Johnson, John C. DeMar, F. P. Hagemam, Henry C. Shull, Frank O'Connor, L. J. Dougherty, E. H. Pollard, Senator F. Ryan Duffy, Dan O'Brien, and Philip A. Walker. Includes three TLS from Senator F. Ryan Duffy, one TLS from Senator Guy Mark Gillette, two TLS from Senator John K. Valentine, one TLS from Governor O. Max Gardner, one TLS from Senator Clyde L. Herring, three TLS from Senator Bourke Blakemore Hickenlooper, one TLS from Congressman Paul Harvey Cunningham, and three TLS from Jay N. Darling
  • Box 2:
  • Items 843 -- 896: Letters, pamphlets, invitations, announcements - 1951-1956
    Correspondence of WFR, Congressman James Isaac Dolliver, Bruce Bromley, Alexander Black, R. M. Anderson, Robert Brown, Esq., Mason Ladd, Peyton Ford, Richard R. Grummon, Philip D. Macbride, Edward McKim, Dora Barz, Hallam Cooley, George H. Phelps, John Nicholson, Anna B. Lawther, Mother Bennetta Green, Jay N. Darling, Bill Carson, Louise A. Carson, Hatton W. Sumners, Richard Wilson, Charles S. Bradshaw, Reverend Edward C. Keating, Milo Murphy, Jerry J, Snoble, Jack Hudspeth, Vina Kampmeyer, D. H. Cunningham, Mike Wilson, Mayor Walter H. Bense, Vincent F. Powers, E. H. Zuerrer, Arthur E. Enquist, Hugh D. McMahon, Joe L. McMahon, Seth Thomas, Howard W. Dresser, and William Joseph. Includes one TLS from Congressman James Isaac Dolliver
  • Items 897 -- 953: Letters, programs, calendars, telegrams - 1949-1950
    Correspondence of WFR, Congressman Karl M. LeCompte, Senator Guy M. Gillette, Reverend Gordon V. Smith, Henry C. Shull, Donald R. Richberg, L. L. Robertson, John D. Randall, Frank A. O'Connor, LCDR. W. T. Davis (USN), LCDR. E. F. McDevitt (USNR), Henry C. Mackall, Ray Murphy, Lue C. Lozier, H. C. Kenline, Rear Admiral J. Cary Jones, G. L. Short, Virgil Hancher, Ray Harrison, Judge Henry N. Graven, and Howard Chase. Includes one TLS from Rear Admiral J. Cary Jones, one TLS from Congressman Karl M. LeCompte, and one TLS from Senator Guy M. Gillette
  • Items 954 -- 1065: Letters, telegrams, pleadings, rules, articles - 1932-1944
    Correspondence of WFR, Senator Guy M. Gillette, Judge Charles A. Dewey, W. A. Jessup, Attorney General Homer Cummings, Frank M. Parrish, A. W. Merrill, Earl Smith, Edward C. Eicher, Hubert Everist, Gardner Cowles, James C. Honrahan, D. W. Bates, John Cowles, H. G. Brownson, Smith W. Brookhart, Jr., Frank Bane, J. R. Bahne, Fred Bierman, E. H. Birmingham, E. P. Adler, Reverend Edmund A. Walsh, Senator Louis Murphy, Richard Wilson, John K. Valentine, Charles E. Reynolds, Howard Baldwin, Carl C. Riepe, E. R. McManus, E. A. Moore, Fred P. Hagemann, Reverend L. G. Ligutti, Michael Williams, M. L. Wilson, J. D. LeCron, Secretary of Agriculture Henry A. Wallace, Jay N. Darling, Mabel Fickel, Secretary Harold C. Ickes, R. Strauss, Robert B. Caldwell, Senator Vincent F. Harrington, Louis McH. Howe, Harley H. Stipp, Ralph M. Shaw, William Stanley, Governor O. Max Gardner, F. W. Murphy, Judge Jerry B. Sullivan, Matthew A. Tinley, Rexford Guy Tugwell, Governor Alfred E. Smith, Carl B. Stiger, Right Reverend Wm. J. Kirby, J. W. Studebaker, and E. H. Pollard. Includes one TLS from Senator Vincent F. Harrington, one TLS from Governor O. Max Gardner, one TLS from Under-Secretary of Agriculture Rexford Guy Tugwell
  • Items 1066 -- 1136: Letters, speeches, lists, minutes - 1934-1948
    Correspondence of WFR, Bernard D. Kurtz, Herbert L. Horton, Arthur T. Gormley, Right Reverend L. V. Lyons, George E. O’Malley, Marcella Hotz, Gerald F. Harrington, Frank Hopkins, Cathrine Howting , Frank A. Hecht, Orvis T. Kenkle, Max L. Holmes, James F. Hart, Phil E. Connell, Virgil M. Hancher, Earl E. Harper, John H. Uthoff, Grover C. Hubbell, Mrs. Albert E. Hollingshead, J. G. Holbrook, E. R. Haley, Fred McDonald, Clyde E. Herring, M. W. Hyland, G. G. Jeck, Congressman W. S. Jacobsen, W. S. Jackson, Earle A. Johnson, J. Woolson Brooks, and J. W. Jordon. Includes three TLS from Congressman W. S. Jacobsen
  • Items 1137 -- 1309: Letters, telegrams, newspaper clippings, notes, speeches - 1932-1940
    Correspondence of WFR, Judge Henry Craven, F. E. Gill, James J. Gillespie, E. A. Gilmore, Edgar B. Toman, Will Shafroth, Joseph R. Taylor, Frank D. Gilloon, Jonas W. Graber, Tom W. Green, O. J. Ditto, C. F. Green, Harry Garrett, Governor Clyde L. Herring, Warren Garst, William R. Hart, O. Max Gardner, F. P. Hagemann, Congressman Vincent F. Harrington, Luther L. Hill, Mrs. Albert E. Hollingshead, P. F. Hopkins, Harry L. Hopkins, E. C. Halbach, L. H. Hughes, J. J. Hughes, F. G. Higbee, Otha D. Wearin, Alfred C. Willford, Congressman Edward C. Eicher, Senator Guy M. Gillette, Bernard M. Jacobsen, J. J. Meyers, E. H. Fabritz, Fred Biermann, W. H. Hamilton, W. Earl Hall, John C. Higgins, Glenn C. Haynes, Charles D. Huston, L. A. Mullican, F. C. Hubbell, C. A. Smedal, J. H. Johnson, R. J. Cornell, and James N. Hayes. Includes four TLS from Congressman Vincent F. Harrington and one TLS from Guy M. Gillette
  • Items 1310 -- 1428: Letters, telegrams, newspaper clippings, pamphlets - 1933-1938
    Correspondence of WFR, Maybelle G. Fickel, James Farley, Mary Dawson, Reed A. Flickinger, J. R. Files, Ernest Fabritz, J. P. Frailey, Bernard A. Fuller, Jr., Louis McH. Howe, John Foley, George W. Keller, Governor Nelson G. Kraschel, W. J. Keefe, Fred J. Poyneer, Senator Richard Louis Murphy, P. K. Karberg, George A. Kretsch, Cliff Woodward, Fred Hahne, and Fred Keating. Includes two TLS from Governor Nelson G. Kraschel and one TLS from Senator Richard Louis Murphy
  • Items 1429 -- 1559: Letters, telegrams, biographies, speeches, pamphlets - 1948-1956
    Correspondence of WFR, Agnes McCreery, J. R. Files, Frank Burns, F. O. Bohen, Walter Chandler, Gardner Cowles, Jr., C. A. Crosser, Vernon Denman, L. J. Dougherty, Folsom Everest, Major General Philip B. Fleming, Earl R. Gafford, Carl F. Geiser, M. X. Geske, Senator Guy M. Gillette, W. J. Goff, Arthur T. Gormley. S. F. McGinn, Harold P. Klein, G. Ralph Branton, Brigadier General Charles H. Grahl, Major General Lewis B. Hershey, H. G. Harmon, Judge William Healy, Frank Hill, Senator Lister Hill, Orvis T. Henkle, Rev. Dr. M. M. Hoffman, Father Ildesphonse, R. A. Kenver, L. H. Kurtz, Mason Ladd, Lue C. Lozier, Philip D. Macbride, William H. McCarthy, James P. McGranery, Henry McDaniel , Dan McGuire, W. F. McMurry, F. B. McVicar, Judge Roger J. Meakim, Howard Miller, De Lo Mook, Ray Murphy, George H. Phelps, L. D. Powell, Ralph M. Shaw, Hatton W. Sumners, and Rudolph Martin Anderson
  • Box 3:
  • Items 1560 -- 1664: Letters, telegrams, addresses, newspaper clippings - 1946-1956
    Correspondence of WFR, Owen Cunningham, Supreme Court Justice Tom C. Clark, Wayne G. Cook, John Cowles, Professor Martin Tollefson, Chief Justice Earl Warren, Rear Admiral Wallace R. Dowd (ALS), Jay N. Darling (TLS), Frank Dowie, R. M. Anderson, Ray Murphy, E. P. Adler, Josephine Allen, Raymond W. Ellis , R. M. "Spike" Evans, Reece Stuart, Burt J. Thompson, Byron B. Boyd, Walter L. Bierring, Archbishop of Omaha G. T. Bergan (TLS), Professor James E. Brenner, E. Gordon Brewer, Julian Brody, Roger P. Birdsall, L. C. Bagley, U.S. Treasury Department Commissioner T. Coleman Andrews (TLS), Reverend Leonard J. Brugman, James T. Bolan, Fred Bohen, Senator Frank C. Byers, (TLS), Frank Bane, Hamer Banta, Stephen H. Bush, Justice Charles R. Barnard (TLS), W. Harold Brenton, John G. Buchanan, Professor Milford E. Barnes, James Bolan, Paul Beer, District Judge Walter M. Bastian (TLS). Includes printed copies of Inaugural Address of Clyde L. Herring, January 17, 1935, and the Inaugural Ceremony Program
  • Items 1665 -- 1789: Letters, telegrams, clippings - 1947-1955
    Includes 52 letters between Judge WFR and U.S. District Court Judge M. M. Joyce. Also includes correspondence of WFR, U.S. Customs Court Judge William J. Keefe (ALS), E. R. Johnston, James E. Jamison, Colonel Rush H. Kress (2 TLS), William E. Kerstetter, Congressman Karl M. LeCompte (2 TLS), Lue C. Lozier, Karl. D. Loos, U.S. District Court Judge F. Dickinson Letts (TLS), Jacob M. Lashly, Captain S. J. Ziegler, John R. Zeis, Dan O'Brien, W. W. Waymack, Mrs. L. M. Treadwell, Carl B. Rix, Bruce E. Mahan, James Patrick, Conger Reynolds, Vice Admiral G. D. Murray, U.S. Navy (TLS), U.S. Circuit Court Judge Alfred P. Murrah, Senator Bourke B. Hickenlooper (TLS), Luther M. Walter, Judge Richard F. Mitchell. Includes biographical sketch of WFR for publication in the Directory of American Judges, 1955
  • Items 1790 -- 1997: Letters, telegrams, newspaper clippings - 1948-1955
    Includes (1 TLS) from President Harry S. Truman, and (1 TLS) Admiral Felix B. Stump, Commander-in-Chief of the Pacific Fleet. Also includes correspondence of Manfred Ronning, Carl C. Riepe, John D. Randall, Senator Robert W. Upton (TLS), Assistant Postmaster General Albert J. Robertson (3 TLS), Professor Lehan K. Tunks, Gerald M. Swanstrom, Richard J. Thompson, Sylvester C. Smith, Jr., George H. Turner, Robert G. Storey, Charles F. Swisher, Burt J. Thompson, Reverend Carl Stiefel, Maurice J. Breen, Jacob Kirchner, Edward A. Jones, Frederick M. Miller, Leo D. Thomas, and WFR
  • Items 1998 -- 2093: Letters, telegrams - 1950-1951
    Correspondence of WFR, President Harry S. Truman (l TLS), Deputy Attorney General Peyton Ford (TLS), Attorney General J. Howard McGrath (TLS), Loyd Wright, Leonard J. Bangman, U.S. Attorney William R. Hart (TLS), Frank Burns, Bruce E. Mahan, J. Frank Hamilton, Willard I. Laird, D. Clinton Edwards, Eugene McGuire, Senator Bourke B. Hickenlooper (1 TLS), James J. Joyce, O. P. Decker, Edward R. Johnston, Owen W. Parker, Bernard L. Majewski , Charles H. Bryant, Will Freeman, Archbishop of Omaha G. T. Bergan (TLS), Ray E. Fuller, Ray Murphy, Rush Kress, W. C. Powell, Mary Duffy, William T. Waterman, William Cotton, Carl Stiefel, Robert A. Brown, Clark Hays Lander, Mark Catlin, Sr., C. Gordon Heiss, N. Bernard Gussett, Richard Wilson, U.S. District Judge David W. Ling, Roy E. Willy, Reverend A. A. Halbach, Arthur Sanford, Andrew Anderson, Arthur I. Boreman, Paul J. Parker, Grover C. Hubbell, Herbert L. Horton, Chief Justice of the High Court of American Samoa (Pago Pago), Arthur A. Morrow (TLS), Earl R. Gafford, F. O. Bohen, A. Brody, Frank Dowie, Charles E. Friley, Ray Murphy, W. W. Jaeger, and Lon Hocker
  • Items 2094 -- 2208: Letters, newspaper clippings - 1946-1956
    Correspondence of WFR, North Carolina Governor O. Max Gardner (TLS), Senator Guy Mark Gillette (2 TLS), E. A. Gilmore, Arizona Congressman Richard F. Harless (TLS), James R. McGovern, Ralph Heninger, Phineas M. Henry, Gerald A. Jewett, Rear Admiral J. Cary Jones (2 TLS), John W. Keating, Burt J. Thompson, John D. Randall, Charles R. Gardner, Carson L. Taylor, Jacob M. Lashly, Walter M. Bastian, Senator Bourke B. Hickenlooper, J. W. Hubbell, Winfield Scott, E. M. McConney, Frank Burns, South Carolina Governor James F. Byrnes (2 TLS), Carl Byoir, Virgil M. Hancher (2 TLS), Thomas L. Sidlo, Arthur Littleton, Donald K. Carroll, Charles E. Firley, Gordon V. Smith, Julian Brody, Thomas F. McDonald, C. W. Taylor, Jr., Professor Martin Tollefson, Arthur T. Vanderbilt, F. H. Guild, Commander C. S. Walsh, USN, H. A. Collins, H. C. Houghton, Rodney Z. Selby, Jay N. Darling, Glenn R. Winters, Homer Wheatcroft, Loyd Wright, Joseph E. Whalen, Wilfred Woody Woods, Dick Cheverton, U.S. District Judge James A. Walsh, Arthur Witthoefft, Frank Warner, W. W. Waymack, Larned A. Waterman, Professor Carl M. Franklin, F. B. Whinery, Captain Philip A. Walker, USN, and Henry D. Ward
  • Items 2209 -- 2302: Letters, clippings - 1950-1952
    Correspondence of WFR, Floyd E. Page, Edward W. Dailey, Ray P. Scott, M. W. O'Rieley, Franklin Jaqua, Harold D. Evans, Edward C. Halbach, A. E. Prall, Charles C. Heninger, Dwight Brooke, Frank A. Nichol, Cody Fowler, Richard Musenbrock, Lucian C. Sprague, Fred Biermann, F. H. Cooney, T. H. Goheen, Will Freeman, Mark A. Catlin, Sr., William T. Waterman, William C. Mulligan, Walter R. Hutchinson, Russell Jordon, T. M. Ingersoll, Francis Jones, Thomas F. McDonald, C. W. Wright, Sylvester C. Smith, Jr., Morton A. Adler, Tappan Gregory, R. Forder Buckley, Harold J. Gallagher, Harrison Tweed, Larned A. Waterman, Roy E. Willy, Richard P. Tinkham, Burt J. Thompson, Professor Martin Tollefson, Charles Sullivan, Ingalls Swisher, Chief Justice of the Nebraska Supreme Court Robert G. Simmons (TLS), E. H. Pollard, U.S. Court of Appeals Judge John J. Parker, Frank O'Connor, Dring D. Needham, Professor Mason Ladd, U.S. District Judge David W. Ling, Loyal E. Keir, Richard Jenkins, William J. Hotz, Lee Elwood, Robert A. Brown, and Jerome Walsh
  • Box 4:
  • Items 2303 -- 2437: Letters - 1952-1956
    Correspondence of WFR and South Dakota U.S. Circuit Court Judge Archibald K. Gardner. Also includes one (TLS) from Missouri U.S. District Court Judge Albert A. Ridge
  • Items 2438 -- 2563: Letters, photographs, newspaper clippings, and the Graven family genealogy - 1951-1953
    Correspondence of WFR and Iowa U.S. District Court Judge Henry N. Graven
  • Items 2564 -- 2739: Letters, case notes, calendar, statistic sheets, newspaper clippings - 1953-1956
    Correspondence of WFR and Iowa U.S. District Court Judge Henry N. Graven
  • Items 2740 -- 2879: Letters, newspaper clipping - 1950-1956
    Correspondence of WFR, Leo A. Hoegh (TLS), Charles F. Wennerstrum, Harvey Uhlenhopp, Charles Roe, Iowa Attorney General Leo A. Hoegh (TLS), Robert L. Larson, John E. Mulroney, Bennett Cullison, G. K. Thompson, Tom E. Murray, Dring D. Needham, John M. Schaupp, Edward L. Simmons, Vernon Johnson, Nebraska U.S. District Court Judge John W. Delehant (TLS, ALS), Minnesota U.S. District Court Judge Gunnar H. Nordbye (TIS), Missouri U.S. District Court Judge Roy W. Harper (TLS), South Dakota U.S. District Court Judge George T. Mickelson (TLS), New York U.S. District Court Judge E. J. Dimock (TLS), Minnesota U.S. District Court Judge Edward J. Devitt (TLS), Missouri U.S. District Court Judge Albert A. Ridge (TLS), North Dakota U.S. Circuit Court Judge Charles J. Vogel (TLS), Arkansas U.S. Circuit Court Judge John E. Miller (TLS), Iowa U.S. Circuit Court Judge M.D. Van Oosterhout (ALS ), Hawaii U.S. District Court Judge J. Frank McLaughlin (TLS), Missouri U.S. Circuit Court Judge Seth Thomas (TLS), Michigan U.S. District Court Judge Arthur F. Lederle (TL), Minnesota U.S. District Court Judge Dennis F. Donovan (ALS, TLS), Arizona U.S. District Court Judge David W. Ling (TLS), Harold M. Stephens, Jacob Weinberger, Nebraska U.S. District Court Judge James A. Donahoe (TLS), Iowa U.S. District Court Judge Charles A. Dewey (ALS, TLS), W. J. Keefe, Oklahoma U.S. Circuit Court Judge Alfred P. Murrah (TLS), and Minnesota District Court Judge M. M. Joyce (TL)
  • Folder 28
  • Items 2880 -- 2918: Letters - 1951-1956
    Correspondence of WFR, Elmore Whitehurst, Robert G. Riley, Henry P. Chandler, Iowa Senator Bourke B. Hickenlooper (3 TLS, 1 TLS), Wilson W. Cornwall, Tappan Gregory, Minnesota U.S. District Judge Gunnar H. Nordbye (TLS), Wayne G. Cook, E. H. Pollard, Oscar E. Johnson, Harold J. Wilson, Glenn D. Kelly
  • Item 2919: Biography: Isaac Charles Parker.
    27 pages
  • Items 2920: Typed report entitled, "Instances of Impairment of the Service of the Courts by the Insufficiency of the Appropriations for Salaries of Supporting Personnel and for Travel and Miscellaneous Expenses in the Fiscal Year 1955." Dated January 1 - 1955
    12 pages
  • Box 5:
  • Items 2921 -- 2966: State University of Iowa (Iowa City). Letters, advertisements, programs, magazine clippings - 1951-1956
    Correspondence of WFR, Ruth C. Johnson, Loren Hickerson, Thomas R. Barber, Dalton G. Miller, Allen D. Vestal, Harold H. Newcomb, Allin W. Dakin, Leo M. Baker, Mason Ladd, Virgil M. Hancher, Arthur O. Leff, Henry C. Shull, Franklin H. Potter
  • Items 2967 -- 3063: State University of Iowa (Iowa City). Alumni Association. Letters, magazine clippings, newspaper clippings, annual reports, alumni articles of incorporation, class lists, meeting minutes, pamphlets, resolutions - 1947-1951
    Correspondence of Loren Hickerson, R. E. Tubb, WFR, Florence Mortale, T. G. Garfield, Frank T. Nye , Cy Farr, Virgil M. Hancher, H. J. Osborne, Richard F. Boyer, George Francois, Allin W. Dakin, Arthur O. Leff, Don G. Mullan, Max Hawkins, Earl E. Harper, John T. Uthoff, L. C. Bagley, Don Hise
  • Items 3064 -- 3128: State University of Iowa (Iowa City). Alumni Association. Letters, programs, reports, minutes, class lists, constitution - 1948-1951
    Correspondence of WFR, Loren Hickerson, Willard Lampe, E. R. O'Brien, Charles D. Van Werden, T. G. Garfield, E. M. Flood, Jr., E. J. McLarney, George J. Schoeneman, and Senator Guy M. Gillette (TL)
  • Folder 32
  • Items 3129 -- 3134: State University of Iowa. School of Religion. Speech by WFR, "Religion and Education in Our American Tradition."
    Three typed copies. Two manuscript handwritten copies
  • Items 3135 -- 3274: State University of Iowa. School of Religion. Letters, minutes, policies, speeches, Articles of incorporation, photographs, resolutions, Vespers program, cases - 1945-1956
    Correspondence of WFR, M. Willard Lampe, Frank A. O'Connor, Arthur T. Gormley, Herbert L. Horton, Leonard J. Brugman, Gordon B. Strayer, F. C. Waples, Matthew Smith, J. J. Boylan, Rabbi Eugene Mannheimer, Professor Robert S. Michaelson, Monseignor J. D. Conway, Robert J. Welch
  • Items 3275 -- 3434: State University of Iowa. Catholic Student Center. Letters, programs, lists, bulletins, minutes - 1944-1954
    Correspondence of Reverend Leonard J. Brugman, WFR, Father Robert J. Welch, Reverend Philip J. Kenney, E dwin J. Berwick, George W. Koss, S. F. McGinn, Frank A. Comfort, M. Willard Lampe, Homer J. Buckley, John Smith, Reverend P. N. McDermitt, J. J. Breheny, Reverend N. A. Gaul, Leo A. Monahan, Reverend Louis Roseman, W. B. Ryan, Daniel T. Sullivan, J. V. Pyle, Monsignor Francis P. Larkin, Daniel J. Gallery, Dan J. Buckley, Daniel T. Sullivan, John G. Regan, Edward Gothier, James P. Graney, Roy Conley, Homer J. Buckley, G. G. Grant, L. M. B. Morrissey, F. A. O'Connor, Very Reverend Monsignor J. D. Conway
  • Items 3435 -- 3452: State University of Iowa. Class reunion. Letters, postcard, lists - 1954
    Correspondence of WFR, E. R. O'Brien, R. Johnson, J. E. Waggoner, George A. Luxford, Lake M. Bechtell, Mark A. Catlin , Francis J. Morgan
  • Box 6:
  • Items 3453 -- 3493: Iowa State Fish and Game Commission. Letters, regulations - 1933-1935
    Correspondence of WFR, W. C. Boone, Governor Clyde L. Herring (1 TLS, 3 TL), Jay N. Darling (3 TL, 3 TLS), Harold S. Thomas, Arthur E. Rapp, Ross Ewing, W. B. Bell, I. T. Bode, J. K. Stepp, E. G. Moon
  • Items 3494 -- 3554: Iowa Homestead Exemption Bill. Letters, criticisms, plans, appropriations, bills, photographs - 1935-1937
    Correspondence of WFR, E. P. Weinstein, Governor Clyde L. Herring (2 TL), Senator Garrett E. Roelofs, Byron G. Allen, C. Woody Thompson, Folsom Everest
  • Items 3555 -- 3594: Iowa State Highway Commission. Letters, bills, plans, memoranda - 1932-1935
    Correspondence of WFR, F. R. White, Governor Clyde L. Herring (1 TL), O. J. Ditto, Cart C. Riepe, Right Reverend Monsignor T. F. Calligan, J. H. Johnson, W. R. Sieg, S. B. Chase, W. H. Klauer, Carl F. Jordon
  • Items 3595 -- 3694: Iowa State Liquor Control Commission. Letters, addresses, forms, newspaper clippings - 1932-1935
    Inaugural Address of Governor Dan W. Turner, January 15, 1931. Correspondence of WFR, Henry Morgenthau, Jr., I. G. Crystal, E. A. Moore, F. W. Schramm, Robert M. Fleming, L. E. Stone, Governor Clyde L. Herring (2 TL), Reverend M. M. Hoffman, G. Decker French, W. H. Ryan, E. E. Vecchi, W. H. Millhaem, Jack Stall, A. C. Kriechbaum, Dan T. Riley, H. N. Cooper, R. E. Nichol, Clair E. Wilson, E. R. Crebs, Michel Katleman, E. P. Weinstein, Royal French, W. C. Eastland, George Brunton, George D. Reynolds, W. G. Vander Ploeg, Byron L. Sifford, H. E. Davidson, Earl R. Ferguson, G. Decker French, B. B. Burnquist, Frank Maher, E. A. Robb, L. B. Maytag, L. H. Doran, W. R. Dyer, F. C. Hubbell, C. J. Lynch, Jr., E. J. Feuling
  • Items 3695 -- 3753: Letters, newspaper clippings, speeches, bulletins, minutes, telegrams, tax reports, bills - 1933-1950
    Miscellaneous items. Corresondence of WFR, R. J. O'Brien, F. A. O'Connor, Maybelle G. Fickel, Hubert Utterback, Senator Richard Louis Murphy (3 TL), Rear Admiral Harry G. Hamlet (TL), Louis Murphy (3 TL), Captain L. C. Covell (1 TLS), C. M. Springer, J. W. Naab, Jr., Glenn N. Hoffman, Alex Fitzhugh, Gerard A. Nollen, Tad Crosser, Charles E. Davies, Grover C. Hubbell, C. A. Crosser, John E. Brindley, Leon Powers, George W. Koss
  • Items 3754 -- 3874: Letters, rationing cards, rationing forms - 1936-1956
    Correspondence of WFR, U.S. Attorney Maurice F. Donegan (TLS), Clid I. Level, Peyton Ford, Ira Huston, Raymond E. Smethurst, O. H. Patterson, Sylvester C. Smith, Jr., Robert T. Swaine, Jesse L. Thomas, Roscoe P. Thoma, U.S. Postmaster Willliam H. McCarthy (TLS), Francis P. Matthews, Ray Murphy, Jr., W. H. Brenton, W. C. Fraser, Archbishop of Omaha G. T. Bergan (TLS), Ray A. Burke, B. D. Kurtz, Paul H. Durrie, John N. Garner, U.S. District Judge Henry N. Graven (TLS), Harold J. Gallagher, Rush Kress, J. M. Lashly, Congressman Karl LeCompte (2 TL, 2 TLS), Washington, D.C., U.S. District Court Judge Edward A. Tamm (TLS), Robert G. Riley, William Berg, R. E. Walters, Governor Clyde L. Herring (TLS), Julia A. Robinson, William R. Hort, Marian D. Tomlinson, N. D. McCombs, Forrest Spaulding, President U.S. Chamber of Commerce Eric A. Johnston (TLS), Ruth R. Reed, Alice V. Myers, Professor E. E. Harper, Alberta, Canada, Supreme Court Justice Campbell C. McLaurin (TLS), Milford Barnes, Wallace McClure, Beardsley Ruml, W. W. Waymack, Forrest Seymour, Roy Miller, J. E. Tone
  • Items 3875 -- 3986: Letters, pamphlets, speeches - 1942-1955
    Correspondence of WFR, F. S. Lockwood, Ed Muelhaupt, James F. Hart, Jake More, Henry W. Warren, Rear Admiral J. Cary Jones (TLS), USN, Vice-Admiral Randall Jacobs (TLS), USN, Kriegh G. Carney, Adrian L. Mooney, Don W. Burington, Richard H. Plock, Burt J. Thompson, Roscoe J. Oltman, F. W. Waeber, G. G. Jeck, Richard Rudolph, Virgil M. Hancher, Marcella Hotz, Captain E. S. Root, USN (ret.), Wilbur W. Sackett, Wayne F. Kemmerer, Myron C. Arbuckle, Daniel G. Gallery, Ruth Hollingshead, Fred Lindberg, O. W. Okerlin, J. W. Rath, James A. Hollingsworth, G. Belvel Richter, Lieutenant-Commander Thomas F. White, Jr., USN, Henry Foster, John H. Mitchell, Frank S. Shankland, Creigh Carney, Lieutenant-Commander W. J. Amoss, USNR, F. W. Waeber, Kenneth Peyton McDonald, E. H. Pollard, E. W. McManus, Leo J. Duster, Bill Hummer, Delmer H. Battrick, Albert J. Robertson, Kenneth McDonald, John H. Dunlap, Jr., Florence E. Weisbrod, Meyer Rosenfield, Anna B. Lawther, Winfield W. Scott, Flora Dunlap, Gerard S. Nollen
  • Box 7:
  • Folder 42
  • Item 3987: Speech delivered by WFR. "The Control of the Sale of Intoxicating Liquors."
    14 pages
  • Item 3988: Keynote Speech. Delivered by WFR. "Constructive Legislation." Dated July 26 - 1934
    22 pages
  • Item 3989: Maryville High School Speech. Delivered by WFR. "Fathers of Seniors."
    3 pages. 2 copies
  • Item 3990: Autograph manuscript speech notes. WFR. "Administration of Justice."
    10 pages
  • Item 3991: Speech. Delivered by WFR. "Two Obligations of American Lawyers."
    10 pages
  • Item 3992: Law School, State University of Iowa. Speech. Delivered by WFR. "John Inghram."
    13 pages
  • Item 3993: Speech. Delivered by WFR. "Public Relations for the Law Professions."
    3 pages
  • Item 3994: Speech delivered at Burlington, Iowa, by WFR. "The Duties of Bar Association Members as Lawyers and as Citizens," June 16 - 1948
    16 pages
  • Item 3995: Speech delivered at Iowa City on Supreme Court Day, by WFR. "Reminiscences," April 27 - 1950
    6 pages
  • Item 3996: Speech delivered before the Iowa State Bar Association, Sioux City, Iowa, by WFR. "Public Relations Is Your Job," May 29 - 1948
    11 pages
  • Item 3997: Speech delivered before the American Bar Association by WFR. "Matters Which Affect the American Bar Association."
    21 pages. 2 copies
  • Item 3998: Speech delivered by WFR. "The Relations Between the Public and the Legal Profession."
    14 pages
  • Item 3999: Speech delivered before the Twenty-first District Bar Association, Paullina, Iowa, by WFR. "George Murray."
    14 pages
  • Folder 43
  • Item 4000 -- 4002: Correspondence - 1948
    Three letters between Leo A. Hoegh (TLS) and WFR. Concerned with the Tax School
  • Item 4003: Speech delivered at Sioux City, Iowa, by WFR. "Position of the Legal Profession in the Public Eye," December 21 - 1947
    25 pages
  • Item 4004: Speech delivered before the Wisconsin State Bar Association, Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, by WFR. "The Bread and Butter Aspects of Public Relations," June 22 - 1950
    14 pages
  • Item 4005: Speech delivered at Dubuque, Iowa. By WFR. "Duty to the Court and Duty to the Client," January 7 - 1950
    10 pages
  • Item 4006: Speech delivered before the American Red Cross, by WFR. "The Common Cause," March 10 - 1948
    5 pages
  • Item 4007: Speech delivered by WFR. "Improving the Legal Profession"
    3 pages
  • Item 4008: TL from Conger Reynolds to WFR. Dated May 17 - 1949
    Concerned with the "public's understanding of what lawyers do."
  • Item 4009: Quotation (typed) from a speech by President William Howard Taft, American Bar Association, October - 1914
  • Item 4010: Autograph manuscript notes of WFR. "The Bar and Its Public Opinion."
    4 pages
  • Item 4011: Questionnaire (typed) concerning legal profession.
    1 page
  • Item 4012: Speech delivered by WFR before the Fourteenth District Bar Association. "George Murray."
    11 pages
  • Item 4013: The News Bulletin of the Iowa State Bar Association 8:12 December - 1948
    10 pages
  • Item 4014: Pamphlet: "How Much Security for America." By Dr. Harold W. Dodds, President, Princeton University.
    14 pages
  • Item 4015: Calendar No. 734, 75th Congress, 1st Session, U.S. Senate. "Reorganizationof the Federal Judiciary."
    49 pages
  • Folder 44
  • Item 4016: Speech delivered before the Joint Meeting of the Boone and Story County, Iowa, Bar Association, by WFR. "The Legal Profession: Its Demands and Duties," October 28 - 1948
    12 pages
  • Item 4017: Speech delivered by WFR at Seattle, Washington. "Public Relations." - 1948
    18 pages
  • Item 4018: Speech delivered by WFR. "The Oath of Membership in the Legal Profession."
    5 pages. 5 copies
  • Item 4019: Speech delivered by WFR at Chariton, Iowa. "A Lawyer Talks to the Women's Club," October 3 - 1949
    12 pages
  • Item 4020: Speech delivered by WFR. "The Lawyer As a Professional Man."
    4 pages
  • Item 4021: Speech delivered by WFR. "Public Relations."
    3 pages
  • Item 4022: Speech delivered by WFR to the District Judges, Kirkwood Hotel. "Duties of the Legal Profession," November 24 - 1948
    25 pages
  • Item 4023: Speech delivered by WFR. "The Legal Profession."
    5 pages
  • Item 4024: Pamphlet, "The Christophers." News Notes, no. 20, July -- August - 1949
  • Item 4025: First draft for an article in the American Judiciary Society Journal. "Committee on Public Relations."
    9 pages
  • Item 4026: WFR. "President's Letter." July 14 - 1949
    1 page
  • Item 4027: "Report of the Standing Committee on Public Relations." May 28 - 1949
    1 page
  • Item 4028: Speech delivered by WFR, Chairman of the Public Relations Committee, before the Annual Meeting ASTBA, "Relationship Between the Bar and the Public." May 28 - 1949
    4 pages. 2 copies
  • Item 4029: Article to the President and Board of Governors, "Results of the Questionnaire." December 12 - 1947
    3 pages
  • Item 4030: Speech delivered by WFR. Autograph manuscript copy. "The Practice of Law Is A Privilege."
    4 pages
  • Item 4031: Speech delivered by WFR before the Nebraska Bar Association, Omaha, "Public Relations and the Bar." November 18 - 1948
    27 pages
  • Item 4032: Speech delivered by WFR. "Duties of the Legal Profession." November 24 - 1948
    24 pages
  • Item 4033: Speech delivered by WFR before the Pow Wow Club, "The Matter of Labor Relations." December 20 - 1948
    13 pages. 2 copies
  • Item 4033 -- 4040: Letters - 1948-1949
    Correspondence of WFR, Burt J. Thompson, W. O. Weaver, Robert W. Clewell
  • Item 4041: New Probate Code
    3 pages
  • Item 4042: Memorandum for President Smith.
    2 pages
  • Item 4043: Pamphlet: Speech by Frank E. Holman, President of the American Bar Association, "The Survey of the Legal Profession." October 27 - 1948
    9 pages
  • Item 4044: Court case. Brunk vs. C.B. & Q. Des Moines, Iowa, June - 1954
    2 pages
  • Folder 45
  • Item 4045: Speech by WFR delivered at Burlington, Iowa, "Judge McCoit and Judge Newell." May 2 - 1952
    14 pages
  • Item 4046: Speech delivered by WFR at the Centenary Luncheon, Dubuque, Iowa, "Reminiscences." January 7 - 1950
    10 pages
  • Item 4047: Pamphlet: "The Christian In Action." Statement of the Bishops of the United States - 1948
    4 pages
  • Items 4048 -- 4052: Miscellaneous autograph manuscript speech notes of WFR.
    4 pages
  • Item 4053 -- 4058: Speech delivered by WFR at the Law College, State University of Iowa, Iowa City, "Induction to Membership in the Order of Coif." April 19 - 1951
    10 pages. 5 copies (includes two autograph manuscript copies)
  • Item 4059: Newspaper clipping, "When the Riley Clan Gets Together." Burlington Hawkeye Gazette, Friday, March 26 - 1954
  • Item 4060 -- 4100: Letters - 1951-1956
    Correspondence of WFR, Ralph Hibbs, B. F. Swisher, Allin W. Dakin, Robert M. Evans, Stephen Robinson, H. G. Harmon, Leo Lucier, Arthur Sanford, Luther L. Hill, Cody Fowler, Robert C. Lappen, Homer E. Bradshaw, John D. Adams, Reverend Newman Flanagan, Ray C. Fourntain, O. S. Franklin, J. B. Mitchell, American Ambassador Philip B. Fleming (TLS), Jane Key, R. H. Fitzgerald, William P. Wiseman, James W. Hubbell, Rear Admiral J. Cary Jones, USN (TLS), Emory H. English, Frank Burns, Arthur S. Kirk
  • Items 4101 -- 4181: Letters - 1951-1954
    Correspondence of WFR, Arthur S. Kirk, Arthur Sanford, Ralph L. Jester, Gerard S. Nollen, G. N. Hoffman, Owen J. Roberts, William N. Plymat, A. L. Yantis, Fred W. Lehmann, Jr., Clyde H. Doolittle, Grover C. Hubbell, Reverend A. A. Halbach, Emil G. Trott, Howard L. Barkdull, A. F. Holm, George H. Turner, Joe Roserfield, Ed Meredith, Martin Tollefson, Helen O. Galvin, Jesse L. Thomas, J. Russell Coulter, Bert Stolpe, Luther L. Hill, J. W. Maucher, C. L. Sampson, Richard C. Cadawallader, Frank Dowie, Calvin W. Aurand, Oliver P. Bennett, Mason Ladd, John L. Peterson, Walter R. Brown, Scott Swisher, James G. MacDowell, Jr.
  • Items 4182 -- 4280: Letters - 1955-1956
    Correspondence of WFR, Iowa U.S. District Judge Henry N. Graven (TLS), South Dakota U.S. Circuit Court Judge Archibald K. Gardner (TLS), Nebraska U.S. District Judge John W. Delehant (TLS), E. E. Poston, Minnesota U.S. District Court Judge Edward J. Devitt (TLS), Ruth C. Johnson, Missouri U.S. Circuit Court Judge Charles E. Whittaker (TLS), Gertrude Darrell, Missouri U.S. District Court Judge Roy W. Harper (TLS), Adolph F. Holm, North Dakota U.S. District Judge Ronald N. Davies (TLS), Joseph Noah, Lee McNeely, Erna Hoefer
  • Box 8:
  • Folder 48
  • Items 4281 -- 4282: Autograph manuscript signed. C. E. Walters vs. Federal Court of Appeals, St. Louis, Missouri, August 16. Petition for a writ of Mandamus against U.S. District Court Judge WFR of the Southern District of Iowa, Des Moines. - 1954
    19 pages. Also a typed copy
  • Items 4283 -- 4288: Letters - 1954
    Correspondence between WFR, U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals Judge Archibald K. Gardner, and E. E. Poston
  • Items 4289 -- 4394: Roadside Settlement House Association, Des Moines, Iowa. Letters, reports, charts, articles of incorporation, clippings - 1937-1949
    Correspondence of Mayfield Marshall, Mrs. Charles A. Dewey, Bernice Kesterson, W. H. Smith, J. S. Corley, William Z. Proctor, Rudolph W. Weitz, Marnise Knickerbocker, Mrs. Helen Nollen, Flora Dunlap, Mrs. Earl S. Linn, Harriet Rietveld, B. C. Hopkins, J. Milton Moore, Charles I. Madison, F. J. Peterson, Mrs. Joseph Brody, J. E. White, Robert M. Evans, Mrs. Meyer Rosenfield, M. H. Harvey, J. H. Allen, Lee Keyser, Kenneth McDonald, and WFR
  • Items 4395 -- 4474: Roadside Settlement House Association, Des Moines, Iowa. Letters, minutes, programs, reports, pamphlets, schedules - 1939-1949
    Correspondence of WFR, Mrs. Jerrel Mewcomb, Kenneth McDonald, Marnise Knickerbocker, S. A. Montieth, Mrs. Harry Ginsberg, J. Milton Moore, Flora Dunlap, John Corley, C. A. Crosser, William Okrent, Ella W. Reed, Mrs. Ruth R. McGregor, Frank Bane, Mrs. Winnifred Frazier, B. F. Swisher, Rudolph W. Weitz, Frances Fuller, Albert J. Robertson, S. F. McGinn.
  • Folder 51
  • Items 4475 -- 4479: Roadside Settlement House Association, Des Moines, Iowa. Audit of Cash Receipts and Disbursements - 1936-1938
    4 folders
  • Items 4480: Roadside Settlement House Association, Des Moines, Iowa. Insurance Report, October 27 - 1937
    1 folder
  • Items 4481 -- 4617: Case. L. R. Kayser, et. al. (Plaintiffs) vs. Farmers National Bank, a corporation (Defendant) Letters, hearing reports, resolutions, decrees, newspaper clippings - 1948-1949
    Correspondence of WFR, L. E. Linnan, Raymond A. Smith, Clyde H. Doolittle, John D. Randall, Burt J. Thompson, E. H. Lundy, Max M. Hemingway, James E. Remley, Lloyd Karr, Edwin M. Otterbourg, R. M. Alton, N. P. Black
  • Item 4618: Des Moines Railway. Address given by Ray Murphy, National Commander of the American Legion, Montreal, Canada, February 27 - 1936
    3 pages
  • Item 4619: Speech delivered by C. W. Gifford, President, Des Moines Railway Company, "A Civic Crisis." - 1948
    6 pages
  • Items 4620 -- 4662: Des Moines Railway Company. Letters, reports, memoranda, charts, telegrams, Ms notes - 1948-1953
    Correspondence of WFR, George E. O'Malley, C. W. Gifford, R. H. Miller, Howard A. Steele , A. A. McLaughlin, Rex Fowler
  • Items 4663 -- 4749: American Bar Association. Letters, waivers, articles, pamphlets, questionnaire - 1947-1956
    Correspondence of WFR, Paul B. DeWitt, Edward L. Simmons, Noble Stephens, Harold Medina, Judson F. Falknor, Bernard Kulik, Arthur T. Vanderbilt, Delmar Karlen, Harold J. Gallagher, Justin Miller, Oklahoma U.S. Circuit Court Judge Alfred P. Murrah (TLS), H. E. Davidson, Robert G. Simmons, Burt J. Thompson, Leland L. Tolman, John J. Parker, Roscoe P. Thoma
  • Items 4750 -- 4826: American Bar Association. Letters, certificates, questionnaire, reports - 1950-1956
    Correspondence of WFR, Harold R. Medina, Edward L. Simmons, Joseph D. Stecher, Miriam H. Morris, Ingalls Swisher, Ruth C. Johnson, William B. Bangs, Jr., Henry C. Shull, Clarence F. Poole, Stephen S. Chandler, Jr., Frances J. O'Connor, Osmer C. Fitts, Olive G. Ricker, Lucius S. Smith, III, Albert E. Jenner, Robert G. Storey, Louise Child, Tappan Gregory, Olive G. Ricker, Richard P. Tinkham, Howard L. Barkdull, Albert P. Blaustein, Jacob M. Lashley, Glenn R. Winters, Robert C. Hobson, Lon Hocker, John C. Cooper, Joan Manak, Thomas L. Sidlo, Jacob M. Lashly, Howard Cockrill, Reginald H. Smith, Lemoine Skinner, Jr., Cody Fowler, Burt J. Thompson, Thomas A. Hendricks
  • Folder 56
  • Items 4827 -- 4891: Letters, programs, book review - 1947-1955
    Correspondence of WFR, John E. Mulroney, Glenn R. Winters, Richard M. Moore, Vice Admiral John L. McCrea, USN (retired), (TLS), Harry S. Haskins, Jr., E. H. Mulock, Frederick Ohrt, G. C. Murray, S. F. McGinn, Reverend Leo McCoy, Donald J. Mitchell, Francis J. O'Connor, Richard Pierce, Harold A. O’Callaghan, S. C. Orbach, Frank E. Quick, J. C. Pryor, Byron K. Elliott, John T. Casey, Jr., Floyd E. Thomas, Oregon U.S. District Judge Claude McColloch (TLS), William J. Jameson, District of Columbia U.S. District Court Chief Judge Bolitha J. Laws (3 TLS), Thomas L. Sidlo, Alan Loth, Edward H. Jones, Ruth C. Johnson, Gary Leslie
  • Box 9:
  • Folder 56
  • Item 4892: Excerpts from a talk delivered by Luther L. Hill before the Harvard Law School Forum at Cambridge, Massachusetts, February 8. "What's Wrong with the American Lawyer." - 1950-1959
    2 pages
  • Item 4893: Pamphlet: Address delivered by Luther L. Hill before the Annual Supreme Court Banquet of the Law School of Drake University, Des Moines, Iowa, May 4 - 1950
    7 pages
  • Item 4894: Address delivered by William J. Jameson, president of the American Bar Association at Billings, Montana. "Balancing Individual Rights and National Security."
    22 pages
  • Item 4895: Address by William P. Rogers, Deputy Attorney General of the United States, delivered at a testimonial dinner for Judge James C. Connell at Cleveland, Ohio, November 17 - 1954
    10 pages
  • Folder 57
  • Item 4896: Committee on Federal Court Rules. "Suggested Rules for Interlocutory Applications and Motions," by Frederic M. Miller.
    28 pages
  • Item 4897: Committee on Federal Court Rules. Report of Joseph Brody. "Summary Judgments" (Plaintiff and Defendant).
    7 pages
  • Item 4898: Committee on Federal Court Rules. Report of Joseph Brody. "Guardian ad Litem."
    6 pages
  • Item 4899: Committee on Federal Court Rules. Report of Joseph Brody. "Death and Revivar"
  • Item 4900: Committee on Federal Court Rules. Report of Joseph Brody. "Judgments By Default."
    6 pages
  • Item 4901: Committee on Federal Court Rules. "Rules Pertaining To Writs and Process in the United States District Court," by Vincent Starzinger.
    3 pages
  • Item 4902: Committee on Federal Court Rules. Report of A. A. McLaughlin. "Proposed Rules Governing Jury Trials in the District Courts of the United States."
    10 pages
  • Item 4903: Committee on Federal Court Rules. Report of John N. Hughes."Purpose of the Act of June 1, as Applied to Actions at Law." - 1934
    24 pages
  • Item 4904: Committee on Federal Court Rules. Report of J. C. Pryor. "Bills of Exception."
    11 pages
  • Item 4905: Committee on Federal Court Rules. Report of Phineas M. Henry. Attachment.
    12 pages
  • Item 4906: Committee on Federal Court Rules. Report of Phineas M. Henry. "Garnishment."
    4 pages
  • Item 4907: Committee on Federal Court Rules. Report of Phineas M. Henry. "Replevin."
    5 pages
  • Item 4908: Committee on Federal Court Rules. Report of J. S. Pryor. "Court Costs."
    3 pages
  • Item 4909: Committee on Federal Court Rules. Report of J. G. Pryor. "Security for Costs"
    2 pages
  • Item 4910: Committee on Federal Court Rules. Report of L. H. Salinger. "Prayers."
    20 pages
  • Item 4911 -- 4925: Letters - 1935
    Correspondence of WFR, A. F. Holm, Iowa U.S. District Judge Charles A. Dewey (TLS), Missouri, U.S. Circuit Court Judge Kimbrough Stone (TL), Homer Cummings, Edgar B. Tolman, Charles B. Stephens
  • Folder 58
  • Item 4926: Pamphlet. Lee County Attorney's Minimum Fee Schedule. Adopted July 17 - 1947
    10 pages
  • Item 4927: Minimum Fee Schedule, Court Services, Supreme Court, March 18 - 1947
    10 pages
  • Item 4928: Paper. "Your taxes, your lawyer, and you."
    2 pages
  • Item 4929: "Program within the Bar."
    4 pages
  • Item 4930: American Bar Association Committee. National Conference on Family Life Report, March - 1948
    41 pages
  • Box 10:
  • Items 4931 -- 5103: Iowa State Bar Association. Letters, programs, minutes, reports, newspaper clippings - 1944-1947
    Correspondence of WFR, Roscoe P. Thoma, Charles E. Hughes, Frederick M. Miller, James M. Stewart, Harold E. Davidson, Oscar Hale, M. C. Hamiel, H. E. Fry, Wayne G. Cook, H. G. Cartwright, Leon W. Powers, P. J. Siegen, Bruce M. Snell, John K. Chalmers, T. H. Coheen, M. H. Kepler, Charles Rowe, Dean W. Peisen, W. W. Scott, Harold V. Lewis, F. H. Cooney, William A, Smith, Paul H. McCoid, George J. Sager, G. K. Thompson, H. D. Evans, Dwight G. Rider, M. D. Van Oosterhout, Henry N. Graven, Tom Boynton, Elmer K. Daugherty , Edward L. Simmons, H. J. Mantz, T. G. Garfield, O. S. Thomas, B. F. Thomas, John P. Tinley, Lieutenant-Colonel Herbert H. Hauge, Edward J. Kelly, Nebraska U.S. District Court Judge John W. Delehant (TLS), Iowa U.S. District Judge Charles A. Dewey (TLS), Oklahoma U.S. Circuit Court Judge Orie L. Phillips (TLS), D. M. Kelleher, Ben P. Poor, Dan O'Brien, Paul F. Nachtman, Percy Bordwell, Lieutenant-Colonel Bernard A. Brown, Major Samuel M. Goldberg, Lieutenant Colonel Jesse E. Marshall, Major General C. H. Danielson (TLS), George E. Campbell, Tim J. Campbell, Lieutenant Colonel Milton J. Blake, Carl F. Jordon, Rosa Lee Snyder, Iowa U.S. Circuit Court Judge Seth Thomas (TLS), David W. Stewart, Charles Stephens, J. L. W. Henney, M. F. Donegan, John S. Howland, H. F. McCarthy, Arthur A. Morrow, Thomas B. Roberts, George E. O'Malley, William B. Sloan, U.S. Chamber of Commerce President Eric A. Johnston (TLS), Scott Swisher, Florence Pontier
  • Folder 60
  • Items 5104 -- 5212: Iowa State Bar Association. Public Relations Committee. Letters, programs, clippings, bulletins, memoranda, telegrams - 1947-1948
    Correspondence of WFR, Herbert L. Horton, Henry C. Shull, J. R. Files, Harold J. Gallagher, Conger Reynolds, Charles B. Stephens, Elmo Roper, Milton E. Bachmann, Chester O. Lacy, Loyd Wright, Paul B. DeWitt, William Weaver, George C. Murray, Burt J. Thompson, Roger C. Brown, John D. Randall, Carl Weeks, Wendell B. Gibson, Luther L. Hill, Roscoe P. Thoma, Henry J. Kroeger, Daniel Rhoads, Charles E. Bulloch, Ralph V. Harmon, Kenneth H. Davenport, Thomas H. Tracey, Robert W. Clewell , John C. Oberhausen , Ernest Palmer, Jr., R. C. Brown, Weston E. Jones, E. A. Hutchinson, E. H. Lundy, Edward C. Halbach, Jesse E. Marshall, Edward D. Kelly, Kenneth H. Davenport, Carleton C. Kagel
  • Item 5213: Speech delivered before the 54th Annual Meeting of the Iowa State Bar Association, Sioux City, Iowa, by Luther L. Hill. "The Layman Looks at the Lawyer as a Citizen."May 29 - 1948
    8 pages
  • Items 5214 -- 5296: Iowa State Bar Association. Public Relations Committee. Letters, suggestions sheet, reports, memoranda - 1947-1948
    Correspondence of WFR, Edward H. Lundy, Jesse E. Marshall, E. O. Korf, W. O. Weaver, Ralph V. Harman, Kenneth H. Davenport, Edward D, Kelly, H. G. Cartwright, E. J. McManus, Edmund D. Morrison, Jr., Arthur H. Jacobsen, E. C. Halbach, E. P. Donahue, R. C. Brown, Leo J. Molloy, Robert W. Clewell, Clyde E. Jones, C. J. Lynch, Jr., H. G. Cartwright, Ned B. Turner, E. H. Jones, J. H. Best, Folsom Everest, Gareld Leming, J. W. Kindig, Hubert Carr, George C. Van Nostrand, Leslie A. Pritchard, A. J. Burt, E. H. Pollard, Elton A. Johnston, George Claussen, Rob Roy Cerney, C. G. Murray, Frank A. O'Connor, E. W. McManus, Henry C. Shull, James W. Bollinger , Wayne G. Cook
  • Items 5297 -- 5408: Iowa State Bar Association. Public Relations Committee. Letters, clippings, articles, reports - 1947
    Correspondence of WFR, Robert W. Clewell, William P. Butler, William G. Ruymann, Edward H. Lundy, Tom Miller, Roscoe S. Jones, T. M. Ingersoll, John K. Chalmers, Carleton C. Kugel, E. W. McManus, John Senneff, Arthur T. Vanderbilt, Burt J. Thompson, A. E. Prall, Roscoe P. Thoma, W. O. Weaver, John D. Radall, J. E. Heiserman, John Hale, Lehan T. Ryan, Charles F. Swisher, Edward D. Kelly, William F. Kerr, D. J. Carmichael, E. C. Halbach, Burt J. Thompson, Clyde J. Jones, Carl E. Seashore, R. H. Plock, Raymond A. Smith, H. G. Cartwright, Don Barnes, Vincent Starzinger
  • Items 5409 -- 5533: Iowa State Bar Association. Placement Program. Letters, programs, reports, articles, clippings - 1944-1947
    Correspondence of WFR, Charles F. Nystrom, Wayne G. Cook, Charles B. Stephens, J. L. W. Henney, Henry C. Shull, A. A. Morrow, Florence Pontier, Scott Swisher, John S. Howland, E. Raymond Mick, John K. Valentine, Percy Bardwell, Frederic M. Miller, Charles E. Hughes, J. E. Heisermann, L. L. Brierly, Joseph W. Newbold, Lieutenant Colonel Frank B. Hallagan, O. G. Clause, Professor Merton Ferson, Marion G. Kellam, Emil G. Trott, L. Jack Degman, Major Paul A. Black, Fred Lindberg, Charles F. Swisher, Arthur Lund, B. C. Sullivan, Edward L. Moran, Ed Jones, Lieutenant Commander Edward O'Brien, James R. Locke
  • Items 5534 -- 5639: Iowa State Bar Association. Placement Program. Letters, forms, minutes, reports, memoranda, notes, programs - 1944-1947
    Correspondence of WFR, Olive G. Ricker, B. C. Sullivan, Charles E. Hughes, Lew McDonald, Loren B. Poush, Frank A. Darling, Donald R. Weisert, Edward H. Jones, H. L. Kimball, John F. Bierman, George C. Murray, William H. Tinsley, Meredith K. Nelson, W. H. Shorey, William C. Fraser, Ted V. Ruffin, Edward H. Jones, Percy Bardwell, Martin Tollefson, Charles F. Swisher, L. L. Brierly, Richard J. Selman, John S. Howland, Virgil Hancher, Wayne G. Cook, Lieutenant Colonel Richard Reichmann, Fred Lingdburg, Buell M. Lindgren, Charles H. Grahl, T. S. Stevens, Clarence Nichols, Lieutenant Colonel Frank B. Hallagan, Lieutenant Colonel George Prichard, Will J. Hayek, Daphne Robert, J. L. W. Henney, Thomas W. Powers, H. V. Stirling, Harvey Bogenrief, Mrs. George E. Allen, O. J. Elsenblast, Florence Poutier, Thomas W. Keenan
  • Box 11:
  • Items 5640 -- 5761: Iowa State Bar Association. Letters, reports, budgets - 1947-1949
    Correspondence of WFR, John D. Randall, E. H. Jones , Raymond A. Smith, Ed. S. White, Iowa U.S. Representative Karl M. LeCompte (TLS), F. L. Bohen, Tappan Gregory, Roy E. Willey, Elmo Roper, E. H. Lundy, Thomas A. Louden, W. O. Weaver, Henry J. Kroeger, William C. Hemphill, E. W. McNeil, Tyrrell M. Ingersoll, Charles E. Hughes, Edward D. Kelly, G. C. Murray, Lloyd Karr, Henry C. Shull, Frank W. Senneff, Paul B. DeWitt, J. E. Heiserman, Raymond A. Smith, Carl C. Riepe, John H. Mitchell, Burt J. Thompson, Robert M. Underhill, L. E. Linnan, Don Evans, F. H. Cooney, R. G. Rodman, Harold G. Cartwright, G. L. Norman, J. C. Pryor, E. P. Donahue, Ed McManus, Leo J. Molloy, E. O. Korf, R. E. Hatter
  • Items 5762 -- 5843: Iowa State Bar Association. Letters, forms, reports, statistics, newspaper clippings, minutes - 1942-1950
    Correspondence of WFR, John D. Randall, Harold V. Levis, Raymond A. Smith, Milton J. Glenn, Harold E. Davidson, Boyd M. Cambridge, Edward F. Waite, Raymond W. Ellis, Philip D. MacBride, Edward H. Jones, Roscoe P. Thoma, T. M. Ingersoll, Burt J. Thompson, James F. Byrnes, George P. Gruger, William R. Hart, W. O. Weaver, Mason Ladd, Harry Becker, John L. Hyland, Virgil M. Hancher, Philip S. H. Oberman, Wiley E. Mayne
  • Items 5844 -- 5905: Iowa State Bar Association. Letters, reports - 1933-1938
    Correspondence of WFR, H. E. Narey, Karl F. Geiser, Charles M. Dutcher, M. R. McCaulley, Burt J. Thompson, Chauncey A. Weaver, Mason Ladd, Iowa U.S. Circuit Court Judge Seth Thomas (TLS), J. C. Pryor, Harvey J. Bryant, B. C. Way, George A. Marty, Remley J. Glass, John Senneff, Harvey Ingham (TLS), Thomas J. Bray, Frank S. Lovrien, J. C. Mabry, J. H. Johnson, Frank A. O'Connor, Charles Helmer, Joe H. Johnson
  • Items 5906 -- 5962: Iowa State Bar Association. Committee on Scope and Correlation. Letters, newspaper clippings, awards, telegrams, reports - 1951-1954
    Correspondence of WFR, Tappan Gregory, Harold J. Gallagher, Harry D. Linn, T. M. Ingersoll , Fred W. Hubbell, Right Reverend M. M. Hoffman (TLS), M. D. Helser, William B. Hurlburt, Charles W. Pettengill, Ingalls Swisher, C. Glenn Garten, Charles W. Mayo, M. D. (Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota) (2 TLS), Owen Cunningham, Robert W. Clewell, Edward H. Jones
  • Items 5963 -- 6106: Iowa State Bar Association. Letters, bills, reports, leaflets, programs - 1949-1950
    Correspondence of WFR, Robert B. Throckmorton, William A. Smith, Edward H. Lundy, G. B. Richter, R. F. Clough, Carl C. Riepe, Harold J. Gallagher, Rufus Burrus, Virgil M. Hancher, Henry C. Shull, Marvin J. Klass, Edward A. Grzecik, Karl F. Geiser, M. W. O'Rieley, Orville L. Dykstra, Harold V. Levis, J. C. Riley, Ingalls Swisher, Wiley E. Mayne, Ervin A. Hutchinson, Wayne G. Cook, Professor William J. Peterson, William P. Harrison, Hal Mosier, Earl J. Moyer, U.S. Supreme Court Judge Robert H. Jackson (TLS), New York U.S. District Court Judge Harold R. Medina (TLS), Emory H. English, Alan Loth, H. G. Cartwright, Iowa U.S. District Court Judge Carroll O. Switzer (TLS), Burt J. Thompson, Frederic M. Miller, Wayne G. Cook, E. W. McManus, Iowa U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals Judge Seth Thomas (ALS), Tyrrell M. Ingersoll, Rufus Burrus, Roscoe P. Thoma, J. C. Pryor, David G. Bleakley, G. C. Murray, Luther L. Hill, Edward H. Jones, H. J. Mantz, William O. Weaver, David K. Holther, Phil E. Connell, James E. Franken, Edwin B. Wilson, Edward S. White, John H. Mitchell, Paul B. DeWitt, B. F. Swisher, Frank A, O'Connor, Mason Ladd, Charles W. Joiner, District of Columbia U.S. Circuit Court Judge Harold M. Stephens (TLS), New Jersey Supreme Court Chief Justice Arthur T. Vanderbilt (TLS), Thomas Watters, Jr., Charles O. Porter, G. C. Stuart, R. E. Killmer, T. W. Miles, Heck Ross, Edward P. Kautzky, Frank B. Hallagan, Edith M. Johnson, S. F. McGinn, Earle S. Smith, W. Harold Brenton, J. E. Heiserman, Iowa U.S. Representative Karl M. LeCompte (2 TLS)
  • Box 12:
  • Biographical Material and Obituary - 1956
  • Bolund, Karl Erick - 1951-1955
  • Correspondence - 1941-1943
    (including Clyde Herring, Henry A. Wallace, Guy Gillette)
  • Correspondence - 1949-1955
  • Series 2: INDEX OF NAMES
  • Sub-Series: U.S. Presidents
  • Roosevelt, Franklin Delano, 8, 10
  • Truman, Harry S. 20, 21
  • Sub-Series: U.S. Vice Presidents
  • Wallace, Henry A., 2, 4, 8, 9, 10, 13, Box 12
  • Sub-Series: Military Leaders
  • Danielson, C. H., Major General, 59 
  • Dowd, Wallace R., Rear Admiral (USN), 18 
  • Fleming, Philip B., Major General (US Army), 17 
  • Grahl , Charles H. , Brigadier General (US Army), 17 
  • Hamlet, Harry G., Rear Admiral (USN), 39 
  • Hershey, Lewis B., Major General (US Army), 17 
  • Jones, J. Cary, Rear Admiral (USN), 12, 22, 45 
  • McCrea, John L., Vice Admiral (USN), 56 
  • Murray, G. D. Vice Admiral (USN), 19 
  • Stump, Felix B., Admiral (USN), 20 
  • Sub-Series: U.S. Government Officials and Cabinet Members
  • Acheson, Dean, 9
  • Andrews, T. Coleman, 18 
  • Cummings, Homer, 13 
  • Ford, Peyton, 11, 21, 40 
  • Hull, Cordell, 6, 8 
  • Ickes, Harold C., 13 
  • McCarthy, William H., 40 
  • McGrath, J. Howard, 21 
  • Robertson, Albert J., 20 
  • Tugwell, Rexford Guy, 8, 13 
  • Sub-Series: Noteables
  • Bollinger, James W., 61 
  • Darling, Jay N., 10, 11, 13, 18, 22, 35
  • Johnston, Eric A., 40, 59 
  • Ingham, Harvey, 67 
  • Mayo, Charles W., 68 
  • Morrow, Arthur A., 21, 59, 63 
  • Pearson, Drew, 4 
  • Reynolds, Conger, 19, 43, 60
  • Sub-Series: Ambassadors
  • de Laboulaye, Andre [French], 6
  • Sub-Series: U.S. Sumpreme Court Justices
  • Clarke , Tom C., 18
  • Jakson, Robert H., 69
  • Warren, Earl, 18
  • Sub-Series: United States Circuit Court of Appeals Judges
  • Gardner, Archibald K., 24, 47, 48
  • Miller, John E., 27
  • Murrah, Alfred P., 19, 27, 54
  • Packer, John J., 23, 54
  • Phillips, Orie L., 59
  • Stephens, Harold M., 69
  • Thomas, Seth, 11, 27, 59, 67, 69
  • Van Oosterhout, M. D., 27, 59
  • Vogel, Charles J., 27
  • Whittaker, Charles E., 47
  • Sub-Series: U.S. District Court Judges
  • Bastian, Walter M., 18 
  • Davies, Ronald N., 47
  • Delehant, John, 27, 47, 59 
  • Devitt, Edward J., 27, 47 
  • Dewey, Charles A., 13, 27, 57, 59
  • Dimock, E.J., 27
  • Donahoe, James A., 27
  • Donovan, Dennis F., 27
  • Graven, Henry N., 12, 15, 25, 26, 40, 47, 59
  • Harper, Roy W., 27, 47
  • Joyce , M.M., 19, 27
  • Laws, Bolitha J., 56 
  • Lederle, Arthur F., 27
  • Letts, J. Dickinson, 19
  • Ling, David W., 21, 23, 27
  • McColloch, Claude, 56
  • McLaughlin, J. Frank, 27
  • Medina, Harold R., 69
  • Mickelson, George T., 27 
  • Nordbye, Gunnar H., 27, 28 
  • Ridge, Albert A., 24, 27
  • Switzer, Carroll O., 69 
  • Tamm, Edward A., 40
  • Walsh, James A., 22
  • Sub-Series: U.S. Customs Court Judges
  • Keefe, William J., 19
  • Sub-Series: University Professors
  • Barnes, Milford E., 18 
  • Brennar, James E., 18 
  • Ferson, Merton, 63 
  • Flickinger, Reed A., 16 
  • Hancher, Virgil M., 14, 22, 29, 30, 64, 66, 69
  • Ladd, Mason, 17, 23, 29, 46, 66, 67, 69
  • Leff, Arthur O., 29, 30
  • Michaelson, Robert S., 32 
  • Peterson, William J., 69 
  • Tollefson, Martin, 18, 22, 23, 46, 64
  • Tunks, Lehan K., 20
  • Sub-Series: Church Officials
  • Bergan, G.T. Archbishop of Omaha, 13, 21, 40
  • Sub-Series: Governors
  • Byrnes, James F. (South Carolina), 22 
  • Gardner, O. Max (North Carolina), l, 10, 13, 15, 22
  • Herring, Clyde La Verne (Iowa), 1, 4, 6, 7, 10, 14, 15, 18, 35, 36, 37, 38, 40, Box 12
  • Hoegh, Leo Arthur (Iowa), 27 
  • Kendall, Nathan Edward (Iowa), 8 
  • Kraschel, Nelson George (Iowa), 1, 9, 16
  • Smith, Alfred E. (New York), 13 
  • Turner, Daniel Webster (Iowa), 38
  • Sub-Series: U.S. Senators
  • Duffy, Francis Ryan (Wisconsin), 10 
  • Gillette, Guy Mark (Iowa), 3, 5, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17, 22, 31, Box 12
  • Hickenlooper, Bourke Blakemore (Iowa), 10, 19, 21, 22, 28
  • Murphy, Richard Louis (Iowa), 2, 8, 13, 16, 39
  • Upton, Robert William (New Hampshire), 20
  • Sub-Series: U.S. Representatives
  • Cunningham, Paul Harvey (Iowa), 10 
  • Dolliver, James Isaac (Iowa), 11 
  • Hatless, Richard Fielding (Arizona), 22 
  • Harrington, Vincent Francis (Iowa), 8, 13, 15
  • Jacobsen, William Sebastian, 14 
  • LeCompte, Karl Miles (Iowa), 11, 19, 40, 65, 69
  • Sub-Series: Alphabetical index of names, organizations, and institutions
  • Acheson, Dean, 9
  • Adams, John D., 45
  • E. P. Adler, 13, 18
  • Adler, Morton A., 23
  • Allen, Byron G., 36
  • Allen, Mrs. George E., 64
  • Allen, J. H., 49
  • Allen, Josephine, 18
  • Alton, R. M., 52
  • Amoss, Lieutenant-Commander W. J., 41
  • Anderson, Andrew, 21
  • Anderson, R. M., 1, 18
  • Anderson, Rudolph Martin, 17
  • Andrews, U.S. Treasury Department Commissioner T. Coleman, 18
  • Appleby, Paul H., 2, 8, 9
  • Arbuckle, Myron C., 41
  • Aurand, Calvin W., 46
  • Awalt, F. G., 2
  • Bachmann, Milton E., 60
  • Bagley, L. C., 18, 30
  • Bahne, J. R., 13
  • Baker, Leo M., 29
  • Baldwin, Howard, 13
  • Bane, Frank, 13, 18, 50 
  • Bangman, Leonard J., 21
  • Bangs, William B. Jr., 55
  • Banta, Homer, 18
  • Barber, Thomas R., 29
  • Bardwell, Percy, 59, 63, 64
  • Barkdull, Howard L., 46, 55
  • Barnard, Justice Charles R., 18
  • Barnes, Don, 62
  • Barnes, Professor Milford E., 18, 40
  • Barz, Dora, 11 
  • Bastian, District Judge Walter M., 18, 22 
  • Bates, D.W., 13
  • Battrick, Delmer H., 41 
  • Beard, Charles A., 8
  • Bechtell, Lake M., 34 
  • Becker, Harry, 66
  • Bell, W. B., 35
  • Beer, Paul, 18
  • Bennett, Oliver P., 46
  • Bense, Mayor Walter H., 11
  • Bewick, Edwin J., 33
  • Berg, William, 40
  • Bergan, Archbishop of Omaha G. T., 18, 21, 40
  • Best, J. H., 61
  • Biddle, Francis, 10
  • Bierman, Fred, 1, 13, 15, 23, Box 12
  • Bierman, John F., 64
  • Bierring, Walter L., 18
  • Birdsall, Roger P., 18
  • Birmingham, E. H., 13
  • Black, Alexander, 11
  • Black, N. P., 52
  • Black, Major Paul A., 63
  • Blake, Lieutenant-Colonel Milton J., 59
  • Blaustein, Albert P., 55
  • Bleakley, David G., 69
  • Bode, I. T., 35
  • Bogenrief, Harvey, 64
  • Bohen, F. L., 65
  • Bohen, F. O., 17, 21
  • Bohen, Fred, 18
  • Bolan, James T., 18
  • Bollinger, James W., 61
  • Boone, W. C., 35
  • Boreman, Arthur I., 21
  • Boyd, Byron B., 18
  • Boyer, Richard F., 30
  • Boylan, J. J., 32
  • Boynton, Tom, 59
  • Brackman, M. E., 10
  • Bradshaw, Charles S., 11
  • Bradshaw, Homer S., 45
  • Branton, G. Ralph, 17
  • Bray, Thomas J., 67
  • Breen, Maurice J., 20
  • Breheny, J. J., 33
  • Brenner, Professor James E., 18
  • Brenton, W. Harold, 18, 40, 69
  • Brewer, E. Gordon, 18
  • Brierly, L. L., 63, 64
  • Brindley, John E., 39
  • Brock, A. J., 2
  • Brody, A., 21
  • Brody, Mrs. Joseph, 49
  • Brody, Julian, 18, 22
  • Bromley, Bruce, 11
  • Brooke, Dwight, 23 
  • Brookhart, Smith W. Jr., 13
  • Brooke, J. Woolson, 14
  • Brown, Lieutenant Colonel Bernard A., 59
  • Brown, Robert Esq., 11
  • Brown, Robert A., 21, 23
  • Brown, R. C., 60
  • Brown, Roger C., 60
  • Brown, R. C., 61
  • Brown, Walter R., 46
  • Brownson, H. G., 13
  • Brugman, Reverend Leonard J., 18, 32, 33
  • Brunton, George, 38
  • Bryant, Charles H., 21
  • Bryant, Harvey J., 67
  • Buchanan, John G., 18
  • Buckley, R. Forder, 23
  • Buckley, Dan J., 33
  • Buckley, Homer J., 33
  • Bullock, C. E., 6, 60
  • Burington, Don W., 41
  • Burke, Ray A., 40
  • Burnquist, B. B., 38
  • Burns, Frank, 17, 21 ,22, 45
  • Burrus, Rufus, 69
  • Burt, A. J., 61
  • Bush, Stephen H., 18
  • Butler, William P., 62
  • Byers, Senator Frank C., 18
  • Byoir, Carl, 22
  • Byrd, Harry F., 1
  • Byrnes, South Carolina Governor James F., 22, 66
  • Cadawallader, Richard C., 46
  • Caldwell, Robert B., 13
  • Calligan, Right Reverend Monsignor T. F., 37
  • Cambridge, Boyd M., 66
  • Campbell, George E., 59
  • Campbell, Tim J., 39
  • Carmichael, D. J., 62
  • Carney, Creigh G., 41
  • Carr, Hubert, 61
  • Carroll, Donald K., 22
  • Carson, Bill, 11
  • Carson, Louise A., 11
  • Cartwright, H. G., 59, 61, 62, 65, 69
  • Case, Virgil, 7
  • Casey, John T. Jr., 56
  • Catlin, Mark Sr., 21 ,23, 34
  • Cerney, Rob Roy, 61
  • Chalmers, John K., 59, 62
  • Chandler, Henry P., 28
  • Chandler, Stephen S. Jr., 55
  • Chandler, Walter, 17
  • Chapman, Oscar, 10
  • Chapman, Oscar L., 10
  • Chase, Howard, 12
  • Chase, S. B., 37
  • Chase, W. Howard, 7
  • Cheverton, Dick, 22
  • Child, Louise, 55
  • Clark, Supreme Court Justice Tom C., 18
  • Clause, O. G., 63
  • Claussen, George, 61
  • Clewell, Robert W., 44, 60, 61, 62, 68
  • Clough, R. F., 69
  • Cockrill, Howard, 55
  • Cogswell, David, 2
  • Coheen, T. H., 59
  • Collins, H. A., 22
  • Comfort, Frank A., 33, Box 12
  • Conley, Roy, 33
  • Connell, Phil E., 69
  • Conway, Monsignor J. D., 32, 33
  • Cook, Wayne G., 64, 18, 28, 59, 61, 63, 69
  • Cooley, Hallam, 11
  • Cooney, F. H., 23, 59, 65
  • Cooper, H. N., 38
  • Cooper, John C., 55
  • Corley, J. S., 49, 50
  • Cornell, J. Robert, 2
  • Connell, Phil E., 14
  • Cornell, R. J., 15
  • Cornwall, Wilson W., 28
  • Cotton, William, 21
  • Coulter, J. Russell, 46
  • Covell, Captain L. C., 39
  • Cowles, Gardner, 13
  • Cowles, Gardner Jr., 4, 17
  • Cowles, John, 13, 18
  • Cox, Isabel, 2
  • Crebs, E. R., 38
  • Crossner, C. A., 17, 39, 50
  • Crossner, Tad, 39
  • Crystal, I. G., 38
  • Cullison, Bennett, 27
  • Cummings, Homer, 57
  • Cummings, Attorney General Homer, 13
  • Cunningham, Owen, 18, 68
  • Cunningham, Congressman Paul Harvey, 10
  • Cunningham, D. H., 11
  • Dailey, Edward W., 23
  • Dakin, Allin W., 29, 30, 45
  • Danielson, Major General C. H., 59
  • Darling, Jay N., 10, 11, 13, 18, 22, 35
  • Darling, Frank A., 64
  • Darrell, Gertrude, 47
  • Daugherty, Elmer K., 59
  • Davenport, Kenneth H., 60, 61
  • Davidson, H. E., 38, 54, 59, 66
  • Davies, Charles E., 39
  • Davies, North Dakota U.S. District Judge Ronald N., 47
  • Davis, Norman H., 7
  • Davis, LCDR W. T. (USN), 12
  • Dawson, Mary, 16
  • Decker, O. P., 21
  • Degman, L. Jack, 63
  • Delehant, Nebraska U.S. District Court Judge John W., 27, 47, 59 
  • DeMar, John C., 10
  • Donegan, M. F., 59
  • Denman, Vernon, 17 
  • DePuy, Clifford, 9 
  • Devitt, Minnesota U.S. District Court Judge Edward J., 27, 47
  • Dewey, Judge Charles A. (U.S. District Court for Iowa), 13, 27, 57, 59
  • Dewey, Mrs. Charles A., 49
  • Devitt, Paul B., 54, 60, 65, 69 
  • Dimock, New York U.S. District Court Judge E. J., 27
  • Ditto, O. J., 15, 37 
  • Dolliver, Congressman James Isaac, 11
  • Donahue, E. P., 61, 65
  • Donohoe, Nebraska U.S. District Court Judge James A., 27
  • Donegan, U.S. Attorney Maurice F., 40
  • Donovan, Minnesota U.S. District Court Judge Dennis F., 27
  • Doolittle, Clyde H., 46, 52
  • Doran, L. H., 38 
  • Dougherty, L. J., 10, 17, Box 12
  • Dowd, Rear Admiral Wallace R., 18
  • Dowie, Frank, 18, 21, 46
  • Drennen, Lester W., 5
  • Drennen, L. W., 9
  • Dresser, Howard W., 11
  • Duffy, Senator F. Ryan, 10
  • Duffy, Mary, 21
  • Dunlap, Flora, 41, 49, 50
  • Dunlap, John H. Jr., 41
  • Durrie, Paul H., 40
  • Duster, Leo J., 41
  • Dutcher, Charles M., 67
  • Dyer, W. R., 38
  • Dykstra, Orville L., 69
  • Eastland, W. C., 38
  • Edwards, D. Clinton, 21
  • Eicher, Edward C. (Congressman), 13, 15
  • Elliott, Byron K., 56
  • Ellis, Raymond W., 18, 66
  • Elsenblast, O. J., 64
  • Elwood, Lee, 23
  • English, Emory H., 45, 69
  • Enquist, Arthur E., 11
  • Evans, Don, 65
  • Evans, Harold D., 23, 59
  • Evans, R. M. "Spike", 10, 18
  • Evans, Robert M., 45, 49
  • Everest, Folsom, 17, 36, 61
  • Everist, Hubert, 13
  • Ewing, Ross, 35
  • Fabritz, E. H., 15
  • Fabritz, Ernest, 16
  • Falknor, Judson F., 54
  • Farley, James A., 4, 16
  • Farmer, Garland R., 8
  • Farr, Cy, 30
  • Ferguson, Earl R., 38
  • Ferson, Professor Merton, 63
  • Fertich, Roscoe, 2
  • Feuling, E. J., 38
  • Fickel, Mabel G., 13,16, 39
  • Files, J. Ray, 1, 16, 17, 60
  • Firley, Charles E., 22
  • Fitts, Osmer C., 55
  • Fitzgerald, R. H., 45
  • Fitzhugh, Alex, 2, 39
  • Flanagan, Reverend Newmann, 10, 45
  • Fleming, Major General Philip B., 17, 45
  • Fleming, Robert M., 38
  • Flickinger, Reed A., 16
  • Flieschman, A. G., 2 
  • Flood, E. M., 31
  • Foley, John, 16
  • Ford, Peyton (Deputy Attorney General), 11, 21, 40
  • Foster, Henry, 41 
  • Fourntain, Ray C., 45
  • Fowler, Cody, 23, 45, 55
  • Fowler, Rex, 53
  • Frailey, J. P., 16
  • Francois, George, 30
  • Franken, James E., 69
  • Franklin, Professor Carl M., 22
  • Franklin, O. S., 45
  • Fraser, W. C., 40, 64
  • Frazer, Mrs. Winnifred, 50
  • Freeman, Will, 21, 23
  • French, G. Decker, 38
  • French, Royal, 38
  • Friley, Charles E., 21
  • Fry, H. E., 59
  • Fuller, Bernard A. Jr., 16
  • Fuller, Frances, 50
  • Fuller, Ray E., 21
  • Gafford, Earl R., 17, 21
  • Gallagher, Harold J., 23, 40, 54, 60, 68, 69
  • Gallery, Daniel J., 33, 41
  • Galvin, Helen O., 46
  • Gardner, Governor O. Max (North Carolina), 1, 3, 13, 15, 22, 24, 47, 48, Box 12
  • Garfield, T. G., 30, 31, 59
  • Garner, John N., 40
  • Garrett, Harry, 15
  • Garst, Robert, 4
  • Garst, Roswell, 8
  • Garst, Warren, 15
  • Garten, C. Glenn, 68
  • Gaul, Reverend N. A., 33
  • Geiser, Karl F., 17, 67, 69
  • Gerard, James W., 9
  • Geske, M. X., 17
  • Gibson, Wendell B., 60
  • Gifford, C. W., 53
  • Gill, Edwin, 1
  • Gill, F. E., 15
  • Gillespie, James J., 15
  • Gillette, Senator Guy Mark, 3, 5, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17, 22, 31
  • Gilloon, Frank D., 15
  • Gilmore, E. A., 15, 22
  • Ginsberg, Mrs. Harry, 50
  • Glass, Carter, 1
  • Glass, Remley J., 67
  • Glenn, Milton J., 66
  • Goff, W. J., 17
  • Goheen, T. H., 23 
  • Goldberg, Major Samuel M., 59
  • Gormley , Arthur T., 14, 17, 32 
  • Goss, A. S., 2
  • Gothier, Edward, 33 
  • Graber, Jonas W., 15
  • Grahl, Brigadier General Charles H., 17, 64, Box 12
  • Graney, James P., 33
  • Grant, G. G., 33
  • Graven, Judge Henry N. (Iowa U.S. District Court), 12, 15, 25, 26, 40, 47, 59 
  • Green, Mother Bennetta, 11
  • Green, C. F., 15
  • Green, James C., 2
  • Green, Tom W., 15
  • Gregory, Tappan, 23, 28, 55, 65, 68
  • Gruger, George P., 66
  • Grummon, Richard R., 11
  • Grzecik, Edward A., 69
  • Guild, F. H., 22
  • Gussett, N. Bernard, 21
  • Hageman, F. P., 10
  • Hagemann, Fred P., 13, 15
  • Hahne, Fred, 16
  • Halbach, Reverend A. A., 21, 46
  • Halbach, E. C., 15, 23, 60, 61, 62
  • Hale, John, 62
  • Hale, Oscar, 59
  • Haley, E. R., 14
  • Hall, W. Earl, 15
  • Hallagan, Frank B., 68
  • Hallagan, Lieutenant Colonel Frank B., 63, 64
  • Hamiel, M. C., 59
  • Hamilton, Carl, 9
  • Hamilton, J. Frank, 21
  • Hamilton, W. H., 15
  • Hamlet, Rear Admiral Harry G., 39
  • Hancher, Virgil, 12, 14, 22, 29, 30, 41, 64, 66, 69
  • Harless, Arizona Congressman Richard F., 22
  • Harmon, H. G., 17, 45
  • Harmon, Ralph V., 60, 61
  • Harper, Earl E., 14, 30, 40
  • Harper, Missouri U.S. District Court Judge Roy W., 27, 47
  • Harriman, Henry I., 8
  • Harrington, Gerard F., 14
  • Harrington, Vincent F. (Congressman), 8, 13, 15
  • Harrison, Ray, 12
  • Harrison, Roland, 2
  • Harrison, William P., 69
  • Hart, James F., 14, 41
  • Hart, William R. (U.S. Attorney), 15, 21, 40, 66
  • Harvey, M. H., 49
  • Haskins, Harry S. Jr., 56
  • Hatter, R. E., 65
  • Hauge, Lieutenant Colonel Herbert H., 59
  • Hawkins, Max, 30
  • Hayek, Will. J., 64
  • Hayes, James N., 15 
  • Haynes, Glenn C., 15
  • Healy, Judge William, 17
  • Heaps, George Jr., 7
  • Hecht, Frank A., 14
  • Heiserman, J. E., 62, 63, 65, 69
  • Heiss, C. Gordon, 21
  • Helmer, Charles, 67
  • Helser, M. D., 68
  • Hemingway, Max M., 52
  • Hemphill, William C., 65
  • Hendricks, Thomas A., 55
  • Heninger, Ralph V., 7, 22
  • Heninger, Charles C., 23
  • Henkle, Orvis T., 17
  • Henney, J. L. W., 59, 63, 64
  • Henry, Phineas M., 22
  • Herring, Governor and Senator Clyde LaVerne, 1, 4, 6, 7, 10, 14, 15, 35, 36, 37, 38, 40
  • Hershey, Major General Lewis B., 17
  • Hibbs, Ralph, 45
  • Hickenlooper, Senator Bourke Blakemore, 10, 19, 21, 22, 28
  • Hickerson, Loren, 29, 30, 31
  • Higbee, F. G., 15
  • Higgins, John C., 15
  • Hill, Frank, 17
  • Hill, Howard, 5
  • Hill, L. S., 2
  • Hill, Luther L., 2, 15, 45, 46, 60, 69, Box 12
  • Hill, Senator Lister, 17
  • Hise, Don, 30
  • Hobson, Robert C., 55
  • Hocker, Lon, 21, 55
  • Hoefer, Erna, 47
  • Hoegh, Attorney General Leo A., 27
  • Hoffman, Glenn N., 39, 46
  • Hoffman, Reverend M. M., 17, 38, 68
  • Holbrook, J. G., 14
  • Hollingshead, Mrs. Albert E., 14, 15
  • Hollingshead, Ruth, 41
  • Hollingsworth, James A., 41
  • Holm, A. F., 46, 47, 57
  • Holmes, Max L., 14
  • Holther, David K., 69 
  • Honrahan, James C., 13
  • Hopkins, B. C., 49
  • Hopkins, Frank, 14
  • Hopkins, Harry L., 10, 15
  • Hopkins, P. F., 2, 15 
  • Hopper, Consul George D., 6 
  • Horton, Herbert L., 14, 21, 32, 60 
  • Hotz, Marcella, 14, 41 
  • Hotz, William J., 23 
  • Houghton, H. C., 22
  • Howe, Louis McH., 13, 16
  • Howland, John S., 59, 63, 64
  • Howting, Cathrine, 14
  • Hubbell, F. C., 15, 38
  • Hubbell, F. W., 4, 68
  • Hubbell, Grover C., 14, 21, 39, 46
  • Hubbell, J. W., 22
  • Hubbell, James W., 45
  • Hudspeth, Jack, 11
  • Hughes, Charles E., 59, 63, 64, 65
  • Hughes, J. J., 2, 15
  • Hughes, L. H., 15
  • Hull, Secretary of State Cordell, 6, 8
  • Hummer, Bill, 41
  • Hurlburt, William B., 68
  • Huss, M., 9
  • Huston, Charles D., 15 
  • Huston, Ira, 40
  • Hutchinson, E. A., 60, 69
  • Hutchinson, Walter R., 23
  • Hyland, John L., 60
  • Hyland, M. W., 14
  • Ickes, Secretary of Interior Harold C., 13
  • Ildesphonse, Father, 17
  • Ingersoll, T. M., 23, 62, 65, 66, 68, 69
  • Ingham, Harvey, 67
  • Jackson, U.S. Supreme Court Judge Robert H., 69
  • Jackson, W. S., 14
  • Jacobs, Vice-Admiral Randall, 41
  • Jacobsen, Arthur H., 61
  • Jacobsen, Bernard M., 15
  • Jacobsen, Congressman W. S., 14
  • Jaeger, W. W., 21
  • Jameson, James E., 19
  • Jameson, William J., 56
  • Jaqua, Franklin, 23
  • Jeck, G. G., 14, 41
  • Jenkins, Richard, 23
  • Jenner, Albert E., 55
  • Jessup, W. A., 13
  • Jester, Ralph L., 46
  • Jewett, Gerald A., 22
  • Johannes, Hon. W. J., 9
  • Johnson, Cecil J., 10
  • Johnson, Earle A., 14 
  • Johnson, Edith M., 6, 69
  • Johnson, J. H., 15, 37, 67
  • Johnson, J. M., 10
  • Johnson, Joe H., 67
  • Johnson, Louis A., 10
  • Johnson, Oscar E., 28
  • Johnson, Ruth C., 29, 34, 47, 55, 56
  • Johnson, Vernon, 27
  • Johnston, E. R., 19
  • Johnston, Edward R., 21
  • Johnston, Elton A., 61
  • Johnston, President of the U.S. Chamber of Commerce Eric A., 40, 59
  • Joiner, Charles W., 69
  • Jones, Clyde E., 61, 62
  • Jones, Edward A., 20
  • Jones, Edward H., 56, 61, 63, 64, 65, 66, 68, 69
  • Jones, Francis, 23
  • Jones, Rear Admiral J. Cary, 12, 22, 41, 45
  • Jones, Roscoe S., 62
  • Jones, Weston E., 60
  • Jordon, Carl F., 37, 59
  • Jordon, J. W., 14
  • Jordon, Russell, 23
  • Joseph, William, 11
  • Joyce, James J., 21
  • Joyce, U.S. District Court Judge M. M. (Minnesota), 19, 27
  • Kagel, Carleton C., 60
  • Kampmeyer, Vina, 11
  • Karberg, P. K., 16
  • Karlen, Delmar, 54
  • Karr, Lloyd, 52, 65
  • Katleman, Michel, 38
  • Kaufman, S. M., 2
  • Kautsky, Edward P., 69
  • Keating, Reverend Edward C., 11
  • Keating, Fred, 16
  • Keating, John W., 22
  • Keefe, Judge William J. (U.S. Customs Court), 10, 16, 19, 27
  • Keenan, Thomas W., 64
  • Keir, Loyal E., 23
  • Kellam, Marion G., 63
  • Kelleher, D. M., 59
  • Keller, George K., 16
  • Kelly, Edward J., 59
  • Kelly, Edward D., 60, 61, 62, 65
  • Kelly, Glenn D., 28
  • Kendall, Governor Nathan Edward, 8
  • Kendrick, W. R. C., 7
  • Kenkle, Orvis T., 14
  • Kenline , H. C., 12
  • Kenver, R. A., 17
  • Kemmerer, Wayne F., 41
  • Kenney, Reverend Philip J., 33
  • Kepler, M. H., 59
  • Kerr, William F., 62
  • Kerstetter, William E., 19
  • Kesterson, Bernice, 49
  • Key, George D., 1
  • Key, Jane, 45
  • Keyser, Lee, 49
  • Killmer, R. E., 69
  • Kimball, H. L., 64
  • Kindig, J. W., 61
  • Kirby, Right Reverend William J., 13
  • Kirchner, Jacob, 20
  • Kirk, Arthur S., 45, 46
  • Kirkpatrick, A. J., 1
  • Klass, Marvin J., 69
  • Klauer, W. H., 37
  • Klein, Harold P., 17
  • Knickerbocker, Marnise, 49, 50
  • Knoeffler, Carl J., 1
  • Korf, E. O., 61, 65
  • Koss, George W., 33, 39
  • Kraetsch, George A., 2
  • Kraschel, Lieutenant Governor Nelson G., 1, 9, 16
  • Kress, R. H., 1
  • Kress, Colonel Rush H., 19, 21, 40
  • Kretsch, George A., 16
  • Kriechbaum, A. C., 38
  • Kroeger, Henry J., 60, 65
  • Kugel, Carleton C., 62
  • Kulik, Bernard, 54
  • Kurtz, Bernard D., 14, 40
  • Kurtz, L. H., 17
  • Laboulaye, French Ambassador Andre de, 6
  • Lacy, Chester O., 60
  • Ladd, Mason, 11, 17, 23, 29, 46, 66, 67, 69
  • Laird, Willard I., 21
  • Lampe, Willard, 31, 32, 33
  • Lander, Clark Hays, 21
  • Lappen, Robert C., 45
  • Larkin, Monsignor Francis P., 33
  • Larson, Robert L., 27
  • Lashly, Jacob M., 19, 22, 40, 55
  • Laws, District of Columbia U.S. District Court Judge (Chief) Bolitha J., 56
  • Lawther, Anna B., 11, 41
  • LeCompte, Congressman Karl M., 12, 19, 40, 65, 69
  • LeCron, James D. 8, 13
  • Lederle, Michigan U.S. District Court Judge Arthur F., 27
  • Leff, Arthur O., 29, 30
  • Lehmann, Fred W. Jr., 46
  • Leming, Gareld, 61
  • Leslie, Gary, 56
  • Letts, U.S. District Court Judge F. Dickinson, 19
  • Level, Clid I., 40
  • Lewis, Harold V., 66, 59, 69
  • Ligutti, Reverend L. G., 13
  • Lindberg, Fred, 41, 63, 64
  • Lindgren, Buell M., 64
  • Ling, U.S. District Judge David W., 21, 23, 27
  • Linn, Mrs. Earl S., 49
  • Linn, Harry D., 68
  • Linnan, L. E., 52, 65
  • Little, John D., 1
  • Littleton, Arthur, 22
  • Locke , James R., 63
  • Lockwood, F. S., 41
  • Loos, Karl D., 19
  • Loth, Alan, 56, 69
  • Louden, Thomas A., 65
  • Lovrien, Frank L., 67
  • Lozier, Lue C., 12, 17, 19
  • Luce, Henry R., 8
  • Lucier, Leo, 45
  • Lund, Arthur, 63
  • Lundy, E. H., 52, 60, 61, 62, 65, 69
  • Luxford, George A., 34 
  • Lynch, C. J. Jr., 38, 61
  • Lyons, Right Reverend L. V., 14
  • Mabry, J. C., 67
  • Macbride, Philip D., 11, 17, 66
  • McCarthy, H. F., 9
  • McCarthy, William H. (U.S. Postmaster) 17, 40
  • McCaulley, M. R., 69
  • McClure, Wallace, 40
  • McCoid, Paul H., 59
  • McColloch, Oregon U.S. District Judge Claude, 56
  • McCombs, N. D., 40
  • McConney, E. M., 22
  • McCoy, James, 1
  • McCoy, Reverend Leo, 56
  • McCrea, Vice Admiral John L., 56
  • McCreery, Agnes, 17
  • McDaniel, Henry, 17
  • McDermitt, Reverend P. N., 33
  • McDevitt , LCDR E. F., (USNR) 12
  • McDonald, Fred, 14
  • McDonald, Kenneth Peyton, 41, 49, 50
  • McDonald, Lew, 64
  • McDonald, Thomas F., 22, 23
  • MacDowell, James D. Jr., 46
  • McGinn, S. F., 17, 33, 50, 56, 69
  • McGovern, James R., 22
  • McGranery, James P., 17
  • McGrath, Attorney General J. Howard, 20
  • McGregor, Mrs. Ruth R., 50
  • McGuire, Dan, 17
  • McGuire, Matthew F., 10
  • McGuire, Eugene, 21
  • Mackall, Henry C., 12
  • McKinn, Edward, 11
  • McLarney, E. J., 31
  • McLaughlin, A. A., 33 
  • McLaughlin, Hawaii U.S. District Court Judge J. Frank, 27
  • McLaurin, Supreme Court Justice Campbell C., 40
  • McMahon, Hugh D., 11
  • McMahan, Joe L., 11
  • McManus, E. J., 61
  • McManus, E. R., 13
  • McManus, E. W., 1, 41, 61, 62, 69
  • McManus, Ed, 65
  • McMurry, W. F., 17
  • McNeely, Lee, 47
  • McNeil, E. W., 65
  • McVicar, F. B., 17
  • Madison, Charles I., 49
  • Magewski, Bernard L., 21
  • Mahan, Bruce E., 19, 21
  • Maher, Frank, 38, Box 12
  • Malroney, John E., 27
  • Manak, Joan, 55
  • Mancher, J. W., 46
  • Mannheimer, Rabbi Eugene, 32
  • Mantz, H. J., 59, 69
  • Marsh, Anna Allen, 2
  • Marshall, Lieutenant Colonel Jesse E., 59, 60, 61
  • Marshall, Mayfield, 49
  • Martz, George A., 67
  • Matthews, Francis P., 40
  • Mayne, Wiley E., 66, 69
  • Mayo, Charles W. (of Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota), 68
  • Maytag, L. B., 38
  • Meakim, Judge Roger J., 17
  • Medina, Harold R. (New York U.S. District Court Judge), 54, 55, 69
  • Meisnest, Darwin, 7
  • Mentis, S., 5
  • Meredith, Ed, 46
  • Merrill, A. W., 13
  • Mewcomb , Mrs. Jerrel, 50
  • Meyers , J. J., 15
  • Michaelson, Professor Robert S., 32
  • Mick, E. Raymond, 63
  • Mickelson, South Dakota U.S. District Court Judge George T., 27
  • Miles, T. W., 69
  • Miller, Dalton G., 29
  • Miller, Frederick M., 20, 59, 63, 69
  • Miller, Howard, 17
  • Miller, Arkansas U.S. Circuit Court Judge John E., 27
  • Miller, Justin, 54
  • Miller, R. H., 53
  • Miller, Roy, 40
  • Miller, Tom, 62
  • Millhaem, W. H., 38
  • Mitchell, Donald J., 56
  • Mitchell, J. B., 45
  • Mitchell, John H., 41, 65, 69
  • Mitchell, Judge Richard F., 19
  • Molloy, Leo J., 61, 65
  • Monahan, Leo A., 33
  • Montieth, S. A., 50
  • Mook, De Lo, 17
  • Moon, E. G., 2, 35
  • Mooney, Adrian L., 41
  • Moore, E. A., 13, 38
  • Moore, J. Milton, 49, 50
  • Moore, Richard M., 56
  • Moran, Edward L., 63
  • More, Jake, 41
  • Morgan, Francis J., 34
  • Morgenthau, Henry Jr., 1, 38
  • Morris, Miriam H., 55
  • Morrison, Edmund D. Jr., 61
  • Morrison, Fred W., 1
  • Morrissey, L. M. B., 33
  • Morrow, Chief Justice of High Court of America Samoa Arthur A., 21, 59, 63
  • Mortale, Florence, 30
  • Mosier, Hal, 69
  • Moyer, Earl J., 69
  • Muelhaupt, Ed, 41
  • Mullan, Don G., 30
  • Mullican, L. A., 15
  • Mulligan, William C., 23
  • Mulock, E. H., 56
  • Mulroney, John E., 27, 56
  • Murphy, David J., 2 
  • Murphy, F. W., 13
  • Murphy, Senator Louis, 2, 8, 13, 16, 39 
  • Murphy, Milo, 11
  • Murphy, Ray, 6, 10, 12, 17, 18, 21, 40 
  • Murray, Tom E., 27
  • Murrah, U.S. Circuit Court Judge Alfred P., 19, 27, 54
  • Murray, George C., 56, 60, 61, 64, 65, 69 
  • Murray, Vice Admiral G. D. (USN), 19
  • Murtagh, C. B., 2 
  • Mussenbrock, Richard, 23
  • Myers, Alice V., 40
  • Naab, Joe, 2
  • Naab, J. W. Jr., 39
  • Nachtman, Paul F., 59
  • Narey, H. E., 67
  • Needham, Dring D., 23, 27 
  • Nelson, Meredith K., 64 
  • Nelson, Will J., 2 
  • Newbold, Joseph W., 63
  • Newcomb, Harold H., 29
  • Nichol, Frank A., 23 
  • Nichol, R. E., 38 
  • Nichols, Clarence, 64 
  • Nicholson, John, 11 
  • Noah, Joseph, 47
  • Nollen, Gerard A., 8, 39, 41, 46
  • Nollen, Mrs. Helen, 49 
  • Nordbye, Minnesota U.S. District Court Judge Gunnar H., 27, 28
  • Norman, G. L., 65
  • Nye, Frank T., 30
  • Nystrom, Charles F., 63 
  • Oberhausen, John C., 60
  • O'Brien, Dan, 10, 19, 59
  • O'Brien, E. R., 31, 34 
  • O'Brien, Lieutenant Commander Edward F., 63
  • Oberman, Philip S. H., 66
  • O'Brien, R. J., 1, 39
  • O'Callaghan, Harold A., 56 
  • O'Connor, Francis J., 55, 56
  • O'Connor, Frank A., 1, 10, 12, 23, 32, 33, 39, 61, 67, 69, Box 12
  • Ohrt, Frederick, 56
  • Okerlin, O. W., 41
  • Okrent, William, 50
  • Oltman, Roscoe J., 41
  • O'Malley, George E., 14, 53, 59
  • Orbach, S. C., 56
  • O'Rieley, M. W., 23, 69
  • Osborne, H. J., 30
  • Osborne, T. R., 2
  • Otterbourg, Edwin M., 52
  • Page, Floyd E., 23
  • Palmer, Ernest Jr., 60
  • Parker, U.S. Court of Appeals Judge John J., 23, 54
  • Parker, Owen W., 21
  • Parker, Paul J., 21
  • Parrish, Frank M., 13
  • Parsons, Wilfrid 1
  • Patrick, James, 19
  • Patterson, O. H., 40
  • Pearson, Drew, 4
  • Perry, H. L., 1
  • Persen, Dean W., 59
  • Peterson, F. J., 49
  • Peterson, John L., 46
  • Peterson, Professor William J., 69
  • Pettengill, Charles W., 68
  • Powers, Leon W., 59
  • Phelps, George H., 11, 17
  • Phelps, Louis V., 2
  • Phillips, Oklahoma U.S. Circuit Court Judge Orie L., 59
  • Pierce, Dante M., 9, 10
  • Pierce, Richard, 56
  • Plock, Richard H., 41, 62
  • Plymat, William N., 46
  • Pollard, E. H., 10, 13, 23, 28, 41, 61, Box 12
  • Pontier, Florence, 59, 63, 64
  • Poole, Clarence F., 55
  • Poor, Ben P., 59
  • Porter, Charles O., 69
  • Poston, E. E., 47, 48
  • Potter, Franklin H., 29
  • Poush, Loren B., 64
  • Powell, W. C., 21
  • Powell, L. D., 17
  • Powers, Leon, 39
  • Powers, Thomas W., 64
  • Powers, Vincent F., 11
  • Poyneer, Fred J., 16
  • Prall, A. E., 23, 62
  • Prichard, Lieutenant Colonel George, 64
  • Pritchard , Leslie A., 61
  • Proctor, William Z., 49
  • Pryor, J. C., 1, 56, 65, 67, 69
  • Pyle, J. V., 33
  • Quick, Frank E., 56
  • Randall, John D., 12, 20, 22, 52, 60, 62, 65, 66
  • Rankin, J. E., 9
  • Rapp, Arthur E., 35
  • Rath, J. W., 41
  • Reed, Ella W., 50
  • Reed, Ruth R., 40
  • Regan, John G., 33
  • Reichmann, Lieutenant Colonel Richard, 64
  • Reid, John C., 1
  • Remley, James E., 52
  • Reynolds, Charles E., 13
  • Reynolds, Conger, 19, 60
  • Reynolds, George D., 38
  • Rhoads, Daniel, 60
  • Richard, Professor Christian, 6
  • Richberg, Donald R., 12
  • Richter, G. Belvel, 1, 41, 69
  • Ricker, Olive G., 55, 64
  • Rider, Dwight G., 59
  • Ridge, Missouri U.S. District Court Judge Albert A., 24, 27
  • Riely, Henry C., 1
  • Riepe, Carl C., 13, 20, 37, 65, 69
  • Rietveld, Harriet, 49
  • Riley, Dan T., 2, 38
  • Riley, J. C., 69
  • Riley, Robert G., 28, 40
  • Rix, Carl B., 19
  • Robb, E. A., 38
  • Robert, Daphne, 64
  • Roberts, Owen J., 46
  • Roberts, Thomas B., 59
  • Robertson, Assistant Postmaster General Albert J., 20, 41, 50
  • Robertson, L. L., 12
  • Robinson, Julia A., 40
  • Robinson, Stephen, 14
  • Rodman, R. G., 65
  • Roe, Charles, 27
  • Roelofs, Senator Garrett E., 36
  • Rolland, Father George A., 2
  • Ronning, Manfred, 20
  • Roosevelt, Governor and President F. D., 8, 10
  • Root, Captain E. S., 41
  • Roper, Elmo, 60, 65
  • Roseman, Reverend Louis, 33
  • Rosenfield, Meyer, 41
  • Rosenfield, Mrs. Meyer, 49
  • Roserfield, Joe, 46
  • Ross, Heck, 69
  • Rowe, Charles, 59
  • Rudolph, Richard, 41
  • Ruffin, Ted V., 64
  • Ruml, Beardsley, 40
  • Russell, Richard B. Jr., 1
  • Ruymann, William G., 62
  • Ryan, Right Reverend John A., 8
  • Ryan, Lehan T., 62
  • Ryan, W. B., 33
  • Ryan, W. H., 38
  • Sackett, Wilbur W., 41
  • Sager, George J., 59
  • Sampson, C. L., 46
  • Sanford, Arthur, 21, 45, 46
  • Schaupp, John M., 27
  • Schoeneman, George J., 31
  • Schramm, F. W., 38
  • Schull, Henry C. 29
  • Scott, Ray P., 23
  • Scott, Winfield W., 22, 41, 59
  • Seashore, Carl E., 62
  • Selby, Rodney Z., 22
  • Selman, Richard J., 64
  • Senneff, Frank W., 65
  • Senneff, John, 62, 67
  • Seymour, Forrest, 40
  • Shafroth, Will, 15
  • Shankland, Frank S., 41
  • Shaw, Ralph M., 13, 17
  • Sheehy, Maurice S., 9
  • Shifflett, J. S., 2
  • Shorey, W. H., 64
  • Short, G. L., 12
  • Shull, Henry C., 10, 12, 55, 60, 61, 65, 69
  • Sidlo, Thomas L., 22, 55, 56
  • Sieg, W. R., 37
  • Siegen, P. J., 59
  • Sifford, Byron L., 38
  • Simmons, Edward L., 27, 54, 55, 59
  • Simmons, Professor John R., 8
  • Simmons, Chief Justice of Nebraska Supreme Court Robert G., 23, 54
  • Skinner, Lemoine Jr., 55
  • Sloan, William B., 59
  • Smeadal, C. A., 15
  • Smethurst, Raymond E., 40
  • Smiley, Edith O'Brien, 2
  • Smith, Governor Alfred E., 13
  • Smith, Earl, 13
  • Smith, Earle S., 69
  • Smith, Reverend Gordon V., 12, 22
  • Smith, John, 33
  • Smith, Lucius S. III, 55
  • Smith, Matthew, 32
  • Smith, Raymond A., 52, 62, 65, 66
  • Smith, Reginald H., 55
  • Smith, Sylvester C. Jr., 20, 23, 40
  • Smith, William A., 59, 69
  • Smith, William H., 49
  • Snell, Bruce N., 59
  • Snoble, Jerry J., 11
  • Snyder, Carl, 8
  • Snyder, Rosa Lee, 59
  • Spaulding, Forrest, 40
  • Sprague, Lucian C., 23
  • Springer, C. M., 39
  • Stall, Jack, 38
  • Stanley, William, 13
  • Starzinger, Vincent, 62
  • Stecher, Joseph D., 55
  • Steele, Howard A., 53
  • Stephens, Charles B., 57, 59, 60, 63
  • Stephens, Harold M. (District of Columbia U.S. Circuit Court Judge), 27, 69
  • Stephens, Noble, 54
  • Stepp, J. K., 35
  • Stevens, T. S., 64
  • Stewart, Charles L., 8
  • Stewart, David W., 59
  • Stewart, James M., 59
  • Stiefel, Reverend Carl, 20, 21
  • Stiger, Carl B., 13, Box 12
  • Stipp, Harley H., 13
  • Stirling, H. V., 64
  • Stolpe, Bert, 46
  • Stone, L. E., 38
  • Stone, Missouri U.S. Circuit Court Judge Kimbrough, 57
  • Storey, Robert G., 20, 55
  • Strauss, R., 13
  • Strayer, Gordon B., 32
  • Stuart, G. C., 69
  • Stuart, Reece, 18
  • Studebaker, J. W., 2, 13
  • Stumpe, Admiral Felix B., Commander-in-Chief of the Pacific Fleet, 20
  • Sullivan, B. C., 63, 64
  • Sullivan, Charles, 23
  • Sullivan, Daniel T., 33
  • Sullivan, Judge Jerry B., 13
  • Sullivan, John, 10
  • Sumners, Hatton W., 11, 17
  • Swaine, Robert T., 40
  • Swanstrom, Gerald M., 20
  • Swisher, B. F., 45, 50, 69
  • Swisher, Charles F., 20, 62, 63, 64
  • Swisher, Ingalls, 23, 55, 68
  • Swisher, J., 69
  • Swisher, Scott, 46, 59, 63
  • Switzer, Iowa U.S. District Court Judge Judge Carrol O. , 7, 69
  • Swofford, Jewell W., 2
  • Tanm, U.S. District Court Judge Edward A., 40
  • Taylor, C. W. Jr., 22
  • Taylor, Carson L., 22
  • Taylor, Joseph R., 15
  • Thoma, Roscoe P., 40, 54, 59, 60, 62, 66, 67, 69
  • Thomas, B. F., 59
  • Thomas, Floyd E., 56
  • Thomas, Harold S., 35
  • Thomas, Jesse L., 40, 46
  • Thomas, Leo D., 20
  • Thomas, O. S., 59
  • Thomas, Iowa U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals Judge Seth, 11, 27, 59, 69
  • Thompson, Burt J., 18, 20, 22, 23, 41, 44, 52, 54, 55, 60, 62, 65, 66, 67, 69
  • Thompson, C. Woody, 36
  • Thompson, G. K., 27, 59
  • Thompson, Richard J., 20
  • Throckmorton, Robert B., 69
  • Tilson, Paul R., 6
  • Tinkham, Richard P., 23, 55
  • Tinley, John P., 59
  • Tinley, Matthew A., 13
  • Tinsley, William H., 64
  • Tollefson, Professor Martin, 18, 22, 23
  • Tollefson, Martin, 46
  • Tolman, Edgar B., 57
  • Tolman, Leland L., 54
  • Toman, Edgar B., 15
  • Tomlinson, Marian D., 40
  • Tone, J. E., 40
  • Tracey, Thomas H., 60
  • Treadwell , Mrs. L. M., 19
  • Trott, Emil G., 46, 63
  • Truman, President Harry S., 20
  • Tubb, R. E., 30
  • Tugwell, Under-Secretary of Agriculture Rexford Guy, 8, 13
  • Tunks, Professor Lehan K., 20
  • Turner, George H., 20, 46
  • Turner, Ned B., 61
  • Tweed, Harrison, 23
  • Uhlenhopp, Harvey, 27
  • Underhill, Robert M., 65
  • Upton, Senator Robert W., 20
  • Uthoff, John H., 14, 30
  • Utterback, Hubert, 2, 39
  • Valentine, Senator John K., 2, 10, 13, 63
  • Vanderbilt, New Jersey Supreme Court Chief Justice Arthur T., 22, 54, 62
  • Van der Ploeg, W. G., 38
  • Van Nostrand, George C., 61
  • Van Ossterhout, Iowa U.S. Circuit Court Judge M. D., 27, 59
  • Van Werden, Charles D., 31
  • Vecchi, E. E., 38
  • Vestal, Allen D., 29
  • Vogel, North Dakota U.S. Circuit Court Judge Charles J., 27
  • Waeber, F. W., 41
  • Waggoner, J. E., 34
  • Waite, Edward F., 66
  • Walker, Philip A. (Captain, USN), 10, 22
  • Wallace, Henry A. (Secretary of Agriculture and Vice President), 2, 4, 8, 9, 10, 13
  • Walsh, Commander C. S., USN, 22
  • Walsh, Reverend Edmund A., 13
  • Walsh, U.S. District Judge James A., 22
  • Walsh, Jerome, 23
  • Walter, Luther M., 9, 19
  • Walters, R. E., 40
  • Waples, F. C., 32
  • Ward, Cal, 8
  • Ward, Henry D., 22
  • Warner, Frank, 22
  • Warren, Chief Justice Earl, 18
  • Warren, Henry W., 41
  • Warrn, G. F., 8
  • Waterman, Larned A., 22, 23
  • Waterman, William T., 21, 23
  • Watters, Thomas Jr., 69
  • Way, B. C., 67
  • Waymack, W. W., 7, 8, 19, 22, 40
  • Wearin, Otha D., 15
  • Weaver, Chauncey A., 67
  • Weaver, W. O., 44, 60, 61, 62, 65, 66, 69
  • Weeks, Carl, 60
  • Weinstein, E. P., 36, 38
  • Weisbrod, Florence E., 41
  • Weisert, Donald R., 64
  • Weitz, Rudolph W., 49, 50
  • Welsh, Father Robert J., 32, 33
  • Wennerstrum, Charles F., 27
  • Whalen, Joseph E., 22
  • Wheatcroft, Homer, 22
  • Whinery, F. B., 22
  • White, Ed. S., 65, 69
  • White, F. R., 37
  • White, J. E., 49
  • White, Lieutenant Commander Thomas F. Jr., 41
  • Whitehurst, Elmore, 28
  • Whittaker, Missouri U.S. Circuit Court Judge Charles E., 47
  • Wickham, Thomas Y., 28
  • Willford, Alfred C., 15
  • Williams, Michael, 13
  • Willy, Roy E., 21, 23, 65
  • Wilson, Clair E., 38
  • Wilson, Edwin B., 69
  • Wilson, Harold J., 28
  • Wilson, M. L., 13
  • Wilson, Mike, 11
  • Wilson, Richard, 11, 13, 21
  • Winters, Glean R., 22, 55, 56
  • Wiseman, William P., 45
  • Witthoefft, Arthur, 22
  • Woods, Wilfred Woody, 22
  • Woodward, Cliff, 2, 16
  • Wright, C. W., 23
  • Wright, Loyd, 21, 22, 60
  • Yantis, A. L., 46
  • Young, Harold, 9
  • Zeis, John R., 19
  • Ziegler, Captain S. J., 19
  • Zimmerman, Arthur A., 2
  • Zuerrer, E. H., 11