Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Roach and Musser Company Papers and Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1909-1967
Creator: Roach and Musser (1884-1967)
Extent: 8.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0191
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Correspondence, financial records, employee insurance reports, and stock proxies for the sale of Roach and Musser.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Robert L. Roach, Ex-president of Roach and Musser, in 1968.

Preferred Citation: Roach and Musser Company Papers and Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Roach and Musser Company, a producer of doors and sashes in Muscatine, Iowa, was founded in 1884 as the Muscatine Manufacturing Company. It went through several name changes, finally becoming Roach and Musser Co. in 1907.

Randall, W. D. Little Known Stories of Muscatine. Muscatine, Iowa: Fairall Service,1949. MAIN Library F629.M8 R7

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: JOURNALS

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Inventories: December 31st, 1957, April 30th, 1957 (two copies), December 31st, 1962
  • Box 2:
  • Liquidating Distribution #1 - August 1st, 1957
  • Balance Sheets - 1957-1959
  • Stockholder lists - 1957
  • Vouchers
  • Stockholder lists - 1959
  • Liquidating Distribution #9 - April 10th, 1961
  • Liquidating Distribution #2 - December 10th, 1957
  • Liquidating Distribution #3 - March 5th, 1958
  • Liquidating Distribution #4 - September 2nd, 1958
  • Liquidating Distribution #5 - October 1st, 1959
  • Liquidating Distribution #6 - December 1st, 1959
  • Liquidating Distribution #7 - June 1st, 1960
  • Liquidating Distribution #8 - November 21st, 1960
  • E.L. Bruce Co., Certified Resolutions
  • Millwork Records - 1944-1954
  • Rent receipts and insurance estimates for a cottage - 1951-1954
  • Papers concerning the Central State Bank
  • Papers concerning the Muscatine Bank and Trust Co.
  • Trade Bank and Trust Co., resolution
  • Bank Account applications
  • Signature authorization, Manufacturers Hanover Trust Co.
  • Empire Millwork correspondence - 1957
  • Box 3:
  • Employment Requests, Tax Forms, and Miscellaneous
  • Insurance Policies - 1957
  • Building Permit, blueprint, contract, and receipts for building addition - 1955
  • Proxies for Shareholders Meetings - 1957
  • Personal File of A. Randall Tipton
  • Levee Comissioner Correspondence (A. Randall Tipton) - 1951-1955
  • Miscellaneous
  • Sales Analyses
  • Newspaper Clippings
  • Correspondence with the state Tax Commission
  • Relief Applications - 1940-1945
  • Financial Information
  • Correspondence concerning sale of property in Coeur d'Alene, Idaho - 1939
  • Canceled Notes
  • Capital - Stock Tax Returns - 1941-1945
  • Tax Information - 1951-1953
  • Box 4:
  • Board Minutes, October 1962 Correspondence
  • Group Insurance Claims
    Two copies of the Group Insurance Plan
  • Miscellaneous Invoices - 1962
  • Contract Comparison of Eight Member Companies, National Woodwork Manufacturers Association
  • Box 5:
  • Group Insurance Administration Manual
  • R-M Millwork Catalog
  • Annual Reports: E.L. Bruce Co. - 1963, 1965
  • Empire Millwork Corporation - 1957-1960
  • R-M Millwork Corporation - 1960
  • Box 6:
  • Income Tax Data - 1909-1926
  • Box 7:
  • Tax Returns - 1946-1956
  • Box 8:
  • Tax Returns - 1917-1921
  • Tax Returns - 1940-1945
  • Tax Reports - 1940-1944
  • Excess Profits Tax Relief
  • Excess Profits Tax Data
  • Tax Returns - 1917-1920
  • Box 9:
  • Income Tax Returns - 1922-1945
  • Box 10:
  • Balance Sheets - 1953-1959
  • Disappearing Stair File
  • Balance Sheets - 1954-1956
  • Profit and Loss Statements - 1922, 1954
  • Balance Sheets - 1936-1953
  • Profit and Loss Statements - 1954
  • Balance Sheets - 1955
  • Miscellaneous Reports - 1950-1956
  • Minutes of Special Board Meeting, March 14, 1957
  • Papers announcing the liquidation of Roach & Musser to stockholders
  • Balance Sheets - 1950-1956
  • Condensed Profit and Loss Statement - 1955-1956
  • Trial Balance - 1956
  • Traffic Department Report - 1956
  • Comparative Balance Sheets - 1954
  • Balance Sheets - 1955
  • Comparative Balance Sheets - 1957
  • Box 11:
  • Social Security and FICA Returns - 1951-1956
  • Box 12:
  • Tax Data - 1966
  • Tax Returns and other financial reports - 1902-1933
  • Box 13:
  • Legal and Financial Documents - 1908-1947
  • Box 14:
  • Legal and Financial Documents - 1924-1958
  • Box 15:
  • Employee Insurance Claimes - 1960-1963
  • Conversion of Group Insurance Policy
  • Equitable Group Claim Draft Invoices
  • Reports from Equitable Life Assurance Society
  • Group Insurance - Paid Claims
  • Box 16:
  • Freight Charges - 1958-1960
  • Trial Balance - 1958
  • Trial Balance - 1959
  • Trial Balance - 1956-1957
  • Statistics - 1946-1955
    Earnings, dividends, etc.
  • Invoices - 1957
  • Comparative Balance Sheets - 1955-1956
  • Balance Sheets - 1958
  • Appraisal - 1957-1958
  • Inventory - 1962
  • Box 17:
  • Miscellaneous Insurance Reports
  • Blueprints - 1915
    Plat maps for Douglas County, Oregon
  • Ledgers
  • Roach Timber Company, Muscatine, Iowa
  • Timber Estimates, Maps & Plats Cameron Lumber Company, LTD, Spokane, Washington
  • Timber Estimates, Maps & Plats Corporation Book, Sutherlin Coos Bay & Eastern Railway Company
  • Book of Stock Certificates, Standard Lumber Company, Dowling Park, Florida Roach Timber Company
    Corporation Book
  • Series 2: JOURNALS
  • Box 18:
  • Twenty-three volumes of cash book journals, private journals, general records, minutes of meetings, general ledgers, factory ledgers, transfer accounting department ledgers, cash receipts, and general ledger transfers - 1906-1967
    These items are stand-alone on the shelf and are not in boxes.