Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Dr. Mark Ranney Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1854-1909
Creator: Ranney, Dr. Mark
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0190
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Physician and book collector. Photographs, financial records, clippings and memorabilia.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was left to the University of Iowa Libraries under the terms of Martha (Mrs. Mark) Ranney's will of 1916.

Preferred Citation: Mark Ranney Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Dr. Ranney was born in West Westminster, Vermont, July 7, 1827. His father was of Norman parentage. After taking his degree in medicine at Vermont Medical College in 1849, Dr. Ranney served for several years at Butler Hospital for the Insane, Providence, Rhode Island. In 1854 he was elected assistant physician of the McClean Hospital for the Insane, near Boston. He came to Iowa in 1865 as superintendent of the state hospital for the insane at Mt. Pleasant, a position he held except for a two-year period, 1873-75, when he was superintendent of the Wisconsin State Hospital for the Insane, until his death in 1882. In 1870 he was appointed lecturer on insanity in the newly established College of Medicine of The University of Iowa.
 
He married, October 2, 1865, Martha Wright, daughter of Thomas Sawyer, Esq. of Sterling, Mass.

The Mark Ranney Memorial Collection, more than 3,700 volumes of limited editions in fine bindings, illustrated books, art books, and Dr. Ranney's personal library of 19th Century books (English and American literature and books on religion, psychology, natural science, travel, history, etc.) is no longer an active collection except for additions to Corpus Vasorum. Bequeathed in 1907 by Mrs. Martha Wright Ranney in memory of her husband, at one time a member of the University College of Medicine, the collection was one if the earliest gatherings of rare material acquired by the University Libraries.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Bank account record books - 1901-1909
  • Correspondence - 1876-1907
  • Miscellaneous - 1873-1889
  • Notebook, art notes
  • Obituaries -- Dr. Mark Ranney - 1882
  • Photographs
  • Receipts - 1854-1905
  • Speech - 1881

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Ranney, M. H.

Occupations:
Physicians

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Photographs
Speeches
Archives
Account books
Clippings (Information artifacts)
Notebooks
Correspondence