Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Farmers State Mutual Hail Insurance Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1898-1952
Creator: Farmers State Mutual Hail Insurance
Extent: 120.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0189
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Correspondence, ledgers, applications, and other records.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by the Farmers State Mutual Hail Insurance Association in 1955.

Preferred Citation: Farmers State Mutual Hail Insurance Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Not to be confused with Farmers Mutual Hail Insurance Company, not much is currently known about the Farmers' State Mutual Hail Association. It was apparently operated out of Estherville, Iowa, with Mack Groves as President.

This collection is comprised of original business records, company incorporation and director's minutes, applications received, insurance issued, claims paid, agent letters, correspondence, and legal papers. Mack Groves was very active in the community, serving as not only President of the insurance company, buy also as Mayor of Estherville, president of the bank, and president of the school board. Some of the records here pertain to these offices. Of special interest is the Proclamation, signed by Governor W. L. Harding, forbidding the use of German in Iowa during World War I. Also of note is the proclamation forbidding public gatherings, including funerals, during the Spanic flu epidemic of 1918.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: LEDGER BOOKS
Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE OF THE FARMER'S STATE MUTUAL HAIL INSURANCE COMPANY

  • Series 1: LEDGER BOOKS
  • Sub-Series: Application Records
  • May 9-April 20 - 1898-1899
    No. 169
  • April 17-June 18 - 1899
    No. 170
  • May 18-April 2 - 1899-1900
    No. 171
  • June 12-May 15 - 1900
    No. 172
  • April 2-May 15 - 1900
    No. 173
  • May 15-June 15 - 1900
    No. 174
  • June 15-April 20 - 1900-1901
    No. 175
  • April 2-May 31 - 1901
    No. 176
  • May 22-April 2 - 1901-1902
    No. 177
  • April 1-May 23 - 1902
    No. 178
  • May 22-February 16 - 1902-1903
    No. 179
  • February 16-April 2 - 1903-1904
    No. 180
  • March 11-June 13 - 1904
    No. 181
  • June 13-June 3 - 1904-1905
    No. 182
  • June 2-May 11 - 1905-1906
    No. 183
  • March 21-May 17 - 1906-1907
    No. 184
  • April 30-April 20 - 1907-1908
    No. 185
  • March 23-April 17 - 1908-1909
    No. 186
  • April 5-April 1 - 1909-1910
    No. 187
  • March 17-May 5 - 1910-1911
    No. 188
  • April 24-May 22 - 1911-1912
    No. 189
  • May 20-May 23 - 1912-1913
    No. 190
  • May 21-April 21 - 1913-1914
    No. 191
  • April 12-April 12 - 1914-1915
    No. 192
  • April 7-May 6 - 1915-1916
    No. 193
  • May 2-May 9 - 1916-1917
    No. 194
  • May 7-May 8 - 1917-1918
    No. 195
  • April 17-June 10 - 1918-1919
    No. 196
  • June 10-March 17 - 1919-1921
    No. 197
  • March 14-May 13 - 1921-1922
    No. 198
  • April 17-June 1 - 1922-1923
    No. 199
  • May 31-May 15 - 1923-1924
    No. 200
  • May 12-June 18 - 1924-1925
    No. 201
  • June 8-June 5 - 1925-1926
    No. 202
  • June 2-May 17 - 1926-1927
    No. 203
  • May 4-April 10 - 1927-1928
    No. 204
  • April 1-April 17 - 1928-1929
    No. 205
  • April 2-January 11 - 1929-1930
    No. 206
  • January 20-March 30 - 1930-1931
    No. 207
  • March 19-June 16 - 1931-1932
    No. 208
  • June 17-July 3 - 1932-1935
    No. 209
  • June 22-August 11 - 1935-1949
    No. 210
  • March 13-May 12 - 1937-1938
    No. 211
  • May 12-June 16 - 1938-1939
    No. 212
  • June 15-March 29 - 1939-1941
    No. 213
  • March 29-May 29 - 1941-1942
    No. 214
  • June 1-May 18 - 1942-1944
    No. 215
  • May 17-October 23 - 1944-1946
    No. 216
  • October 17-May 16 - 1946-1949
    No. 217
  • May 10-August 1 - 1949-1950
    No. 218
  • Sub-Series: Journal – Expirations, Cancellations
  • Policies increased - 1915-1926
    No. 225
  • New business - 1915-1926
    No. 225
  • Sub-Series: Index to Application Records
  • Index
    No.219
  • Index
    No. 220
  • A -- K
    No.221
  • L -- Z
    No.222
  • A -- K
    No.223
  • L -- Z
    No.224
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous
  • Cash Book – Accounts, Payable and Receivable - 1905-1925
    No.226
  • Report of Loss - 1907-1949
    No.227
  • Policy Register - 1898-1904
    No.228
  • Correspondence - 1925
    No.92
  • Untitled May 23-December 30 - 1898-1907
  • Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE OF THE FARMER'S STATE MUTUAL HAIL INSURANCE COMPANY
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence: Boies & Boies Attorneys at law. September-August - 1898-1902
  • Correspondence: Mack J. Groves. October-January - 1898-1909
  • Correspondence: The District Court of Emmet County, Iowa
  • Correspondence: Ursula S. Yeager - 1907-1910
  • Correspondence: George Roenfanz - 1905-1906
  • Correspondence: J.W. Waldron - 1913
  • Correspondence: C.W. Bradbury - 1909
  • Correspondence: James H. Johnston - 1898
  • Correspondence: Edward T. Hanson - 1911
  • Correspondence: Hans Ingebritson - 1910
  • Correspondence: Others
  • Court Calendar - 1908
  • Bar Calendar - 1899
  • Miscellaneous
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence: United States food administration - 1918
  • Correspondence: Treasury Department - 1914-1924
  • Correspondence: The State University of Iowa - 1916-1924
  • Correspondence: Democratic National Committee - 1918
  • Correspondence: Democratic state central committee - 1916-1920
  • Correspondence: State of Iowa ( Executive Department and others) - 1906-1927
  • Correspondence: White House, House of Representatives, The Senates, The President - 1915-1924
  • Correspondence: Supreme Court - 1916-1926
  • Correspondence: Banks - 1917-1927
  • Correspondence: Insurance - 1916-1927
  • Correspondence: Stock Exchange - 1923-1925
  • Correspondence: State of Iowa -- Department of Banking - 1923-1927
  • Correspondence: State of Iowa -- Department of Parole - 1925-1927
  • Correspondence: Business -- Companies (A -- Z)
  • Correspondence: Business -- Individuals (A -- Z)
  • Correspondence: Attorney-at-law (A -- Z)
  • Correspondence: Real Estate, Mortgage (A -- Z)
  • Invoices
  • Miscellaneous
  • Box 3:
  • Banks - 1917-1923
  • Insurance - 1914-1923
  • Stock Exchange - 1921-1923
  • Business -- Companies (A -- Z)
  • Business -- Individuals (A -- Z)
  • Attorney-at-law (A -- Z)
  • Western Union
  • Miscellaneous
  • Box 4:
  • Banks - 1913-1918
  • Insurance - 1914-1918
  • Box 5:
  • Agent Letters: A -- B - 1901-1942
  • Box 6:
  • Agent Letters: C -- D - 1901-1942
  • Box 7:
  • Agent Letters: E -- F - 1901-1942
  • Box 8:
  • Agent Letters: G -- I - 1901-1942
  • Box 9:
  • Agent Letters: H -- J - 1901-1942
  • Box 10:
  • Agent Letters: K -- M - 1901-1942
  • Box 11:
  • Agent Letters: M -- N - 1901-1942
  • Box 12:
  • Agent Letters: O -- Q - 1901-1942
  • Box 13:
  • Agent Letters: R -- S - 1901-1942
  • Box 14:
  • Agent Letters: S -- W - 1901-1942
  • Box 15:
  • Agent Letters: W -- Z - 1901-1942
  • Box 16:
  • Correspondence: An -- Az - 1900-1948
  • Box 17:
  • Correspondence: Baa -- Bog - 1900-1948
  • Box 18:
  • Correspondence: Boh -- Cher - 1900-1948
  • Box 19:
  • Correspondence: Ches -- Di - 1900-1948
  • Box 20:
  • Correspondence: Doa -- Eh - 1900-1948
  • Box 21:
  • Correspondence: Ell -- Fly - 1900-1948
  • Box 22:
  • Correspondence: Foa -- Gro - 1900-1948
  • Box 23:
  • Correspondence: Gru -- Henr - 1900-1948
  • Box 24:
  • Correspondence: Hens -- J - 1900-1948
  • Box 25:
  • Correspondence: Ia -- Kem - 1900-1948
  • Box 26:
  • Correspondence: Ken -- Koc - 1900-1948
  • Box 27:
  • Correspondence: Koc -- Lh - 1900-1948
  • Box 28:
  • Correspondence: Li -- Man - 1900-1948
  • Box 29:
  • Correspondence: Map -- Mi - 1900-1948
  • Box 30:
  • Correspondence: McA -- Nich - 1900-1948
  • Box 31:
  • Correspondence: Nid -- Pis - 1900-1948
  • Box 32:
  • Correspondence: Pit -- Ri - 1900-1948
  • Box 33:
  • Correspondence: Roa -- Schy - 1900-1948
  • Box 34:
  • Correspondence: Sea -- Sq - 1900-1948
  • Box 35:
  • Correspondence: Sti -- Thomas - 1900-1948
  • Box 36:
  • Correspondence: Thomas -- Vy - 1900-1948
  • Box 37:
  • Correspondence: Wea -- Williams - 1900-1948
  • Box 38:
  • Correspondence: Williams -- Zy - 1900-1948
  • Box 39:
  • Legal papers A -- K - 1904-1911
  • Miscellaneous, Company Forms - 1903-1922
  • Series III: Mack Groves correspondence
  • Box 40:
  • Correspondence (The Merchants National Bank) - 1926-1929
  • Box 41:
  • Correspondence

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.