Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Clifford Thorne Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1901-1923
Creator: Thorne, Clifford
Extent: 37.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0188
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Attorney, Iowa Railroad Commissioner and candidate for the U.S. Senate. Correspondence, speeches, notes and other material relating primarily to legal disputes involving transportation of agricultural products.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Ruth and Elizabeth Thorne in 1964.

Preferred Citation: Clifford Thorne Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Clifford Thorne was an attorney, Iowa Railroad Commissioner, and a candidate for the U.S. Senate in the early 1900s. He was also a member of the Farmers Grain Marketing Committee of Seventeen.

The collection includes correspondence, speeches, notes, and other materials relating to legal disputes involving transportation of agricultural products. Two boxes of correspondence involve the Committee of Seventeen, and 19 boxes of material are devoted to the Wholesale Grocers Case.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1: Committee of Seventeen Correspondence
    Boxes 1-2
  • Box 3: Peddler Car Case
  • Box 4: Miscellaneous exhibits
  • Box 5: Wholesalers case
    Boxes 5-6
  • Box 7: Grand Island-Hastings case
  • Box 8: Clippings, two large scrapbooks
    Not boxed
  • Box 9: Miscellaneous cases and correspondence
    Boxes 9-10
  • Box 11: Miscellaneous correspondence - 1922
    Boxes 11-12
  • Box 13: Pueblo case, Wholesale Grocers case
  • Box 14: Wholesale Grocers case
    Boxes 14-13
  • Box 24: Books
    Boxes 24-26
  • Box 27: Grain Dealers case
  • Box 28: Correspondence, Miscellaneous exhibits - 1917
  • Box 29: Correspondence, North Iowa Case - 1917
  • Box 30: Miscellaneous cases and correspondence
    Boxes 30-34
  • Box 35: Books
    Boxes 35-36
  • Box 37: Campaign letters - 1922
  • Box 38: Campaign materials - 1922
  • Box 39: North American case, Grand Island case
  • Box 40: Lakewood case
    Boxes 40-41
  • Box 42: Farm Bureau Executive Officers, miscellaneous
  • Box 43: Manuscripts of speeches and articles
    Boxes 43-48
  • Box 49: Wagner-Steiner case, Livestock case, Investments, Miscellaneous
  • Box 50: Livestock case
  • Box 51: Case exhibits
    Boxes 51-53
  • Box 54: Books
  • Box 55: Miscellaneous cases
  • Box 56: Coal cases
    Boxes 56-58
  • Box 59: Exhibits in Freight Rate cases
    Boxes 59-60
  • Box 61: Wholesalers case
    Boxes 61-67
  • Box 68: Coal cases - 1917-1918
    Boxes 68-69
  • Box 70: Books
    Boxes 70-75
  • Box 71: One shelf of Oversized materials