Guide to the Jake More Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1932-1968
Creator: More, Jake (1904-)
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0187
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Lawyer and State Chair of Iowa's Democratic State Central Committee. Speeches, correspondence, press releases, voter lists, financial reports, etc. all relating to More's involvement in Iowa's Democratic Party organization.

Administrative Information

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Jake More in 1969.

Preferred Citation: Jake More Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Biographical Note

Jake More was born August 24, 1904, in Unionville, Iowa. He graduated from Centerville High School and received an LL.B degree from Drake University in 1928. He was married to Ruth Freeman on July 27, 1930. After her death in 1977, More married May Jane Freeman, longtime secretary in the state Democratic Central Committee Office.

More's involvement with state Democratic politics began in the early 1930's. As Shelby County Attorney, More became involved in the county Democratic organization and served in the county's delegation to state conventions. In 1932, More was made Shelby County Chairman of the Democratic National Committee's Victory Campaign which sought to raise money to pay campaign debts. On May 7, 1934, More became State President of the Iowa Young Democratic Club, serving in the office for two years.

At a stormy meeting in the Shelby County Court House in Harlan on June 27, 1936, More was named to succeed John Hertert as Shelby County Democratic Central Committee chairman. More served as County Chairman for five years until his appointment to the State Chairmanship. More succeeded Ed Birmingham as Democratic State Central Committee Chairman at the state convention on July 29, 1941. As State Chairman, More attempted to build a Democratic organization based on patronage. Iowa went for Truman in the 1948 Presidential election and Truman generally credited More with the victory. Also in 1948, the Democrats elected Guy Gillette to the United States Senate and in 1956 they elected Herschel Loveless as Governor of Iowa.

It was Loveless, however, who, as Governor in 1958, acquiesced in More's ouster as Party Chairman. In a surprise move at the State Convention in July, 1958, the anti-More forces led by Central Committeeman Lex Hawkins, Soapy Owens, and Governor Loveless' aid Bob Johnson, managed a 12-4 Central Committee vote for More's removal. Duke Norberg, an old friend of Loveless', became State Chairman and served until 1960 when Hawkins himself took over.


Content Description

The Jake More collection focuses on More's political career. It includes one small folder for the Victory Campaign, consisting mainly of lists of contributors. The Iowa Young Democratic Club is documented over a four year period, 1934-1938. Papers on More's Shelby County Chairmanship cover 1936-1940 and are related mainly to organizational affairs and the securing of patronage positions. The collection also includes two folders of materials from Herschel Loveless' 1952 and 1956 campaigns for Governor.
 
Among the most interesting items in the collection are the files of correspondence between More and Truman, who became close friends. The general correspondence files also include letters from a great many prominent Iowans and well known national Democratic figures. Also of interest is the file of State Party Platforms, both Democratic and Republican, and the file on the Democratic Midwest Conference, a group of Democratic State officials from thirteen Midwestern states.

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Democratic Party (Iowa)
Democratic Party (Iowa) State Central Committee

Topics:
Patronage, Political
Political campaigns

Occupations:
Politicians

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa -- Shelby County

Genre/Form of Materials:
Speeches