Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Jake More Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1932-1968
Creator: More, Jake (1904-)
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0187
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Lawyer and State Chair of Iowa's Democratic State Central Committee. Speeches, correspondence, press releases, voter lists, financial reports, etc. all relating to More's involvement in Iowa's Democratic Party organization.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Jake More in 1969.

Preferred Citation: Jake More Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Jake More was born August 24, 1904, in Unionville, Iowa. He graduated from Centerville High School and received an LL.B degree from Drake University in 1928. He was married to Ruth Freeman on July 27, 1930. After her death in 1977, More married May Jane Freeman, longtime secretary in the state Democratic Central Committee Office.

More's involvement with state Democratic politics began in the early 1930's. As Shelby County Attorney, More became involved in the county Democratic organization and served in the county's delegation to state conventions. In 1932, More was made Shelby County Chairman of the Democratic National Committee's Victory Campaign which sought to raise money to pay campaign debts. On May 7, 1934, More became State President of the Iowa Young Democratic Club, serving in the office for two years.

At a stormy meeting in the Shelby County Court House in Harlan on June 27, 1936, More was named to succeed John Hertert as Shelby County Democratic Central Committee chairman. More served as County Chairman for five years until his appointment to the State Chairmanship. More succeeded Ed Birmingham as Democratic State Central Committee Chairman at the state convention on July 29, 1941. As State Chairman, More attempted to build a Democratic organization based on patronage. Iowa went for Truman in the 1948 Presidential election and Truman generally credited More with the victory. Also in 1948, the Democrats elected Guy Gillette to the United States Senate and in 1956 they elected Herschel Loveless as Governor of Iowa.

It was Loveless, however, who, as Governor in 1958, acquiesced in More's ouster as Party Chairman. In a surprise move at the State Convention in July, 1958, the anti-More forces led by Central Committeeman Lex Hawkins, Soapy Owens, and Governor Loveless' aid Bob Johnson, managed a 12-4 Central Committee vote for More's removal. Duke Norberg, an old friend of Loveless', became State Chairman and served until 1960 when Hawkins himself took over.

The Jake More collection focuses on More's political career. It includes one small folder for the Victory Campaign, consisting mainly of lists of contributors. The Iowa Young Democratic Club is documented over a four year period, 1934-1938. Papers on More's Shelby County Chairmanship cover 1936-1940 and are related mainly to organizational affairs and the securing of patronage positions. The collection also includes two folders of materials from Herschel Loveless' 1952 and 1956 campaigns for Governor.
 
Among the most interesting items in the collection are the files of correspondence between More and Truman, who became close friends. The general correspondence files also include letters from a great many prominent Iowans and well known national Democratic figures. Also of interest is the file of State Party Platforms, both Democratic and Republican, and the file on the Democratic Midwest Conference, a group of Democratic State officials from thirteen Midwestern states.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Democratic National Committee Victory Campaign
  • Lists of contributors; letters related to Shelby County Party members - 1932
  • Young Democratic Clubs of Iowa
  • Proceedings of May 7th Conference - 1934
  • Young Democratic Clubs of Iowa
  • Lists of County officers and delegates to State and National Convention; state District Officers; lists of "dependable workers" for upcoming national campaign - 1935
  • Young Democratic Clubs of Iowa
  • Printed programs for YDC State Convention in Davenport, May 18th, 1936, and the State Party Convention in Des Moines, April 3, 1936; letters relating to a dispute over control of the Waterloo Club; district and county lists - 1936
  • Young Democratic Clubs of Iowa
  • District Officers list; Party Resolutions - 1938
  • Shelby County Democratic Central Committee
  • Reports of Central Committee meetings - 1936
    Reports include those at which More was elected and confirmed as Chairman and file also contains scattered notes and correspondence from 1936 and a sample address to first voters
  • Shelby County Democratic Central Committee
  • Party lists - Committeemen and women; delegates to State Convention; primary voters - 1936
  • Shelby County Democratic Central Committee
  • Financial Reports, bills, receipts, expenditures, and contributions - 1936
    These documents are largely handwritten.
  • Shelby County Democratic Central Committee
  • List of Democratic voters by ward - 1938
    One financial report and a few pieces of correspondence from 1938; also includes a road maintenance report from 1937.
  • Shelby County Democratic Central Committee
  • Correspondence and financial reports - 1940
  • Shelby County Democratic Central Committee
  • Party lists - County, township, precinct, wards - 1940
  • Democratic State Central Committee
  • Letters - 1941
    Letters are from August, 1941 and contain congratulations.
  • Democratic State Central Committee
  • Publicity Releases - 1953
  • Democratic State Central Committee
  • Publicity Releases - 1954
  • Democratic State Central Committee
  • Financial -- Statements of election expenses - 1950-1954
    Items cover the period November 25, 1950, to November 26, 1954.
  • Democratic State Central Committee
  • Financial -- Statements of election expenses - 1954-1958
    Items cover the period November 26, 1954, to July 26, 1958.
  • Box 2:
  • Democratic State Central Committee
    The following folders contain State Central Committee financial statements and auditor's reports covering the period November 30, 1953, through 1960. In addition, they contain a single statement covering February 3 to April 14, 1944. Also included are statements of convention expenses and annual Jackson Day Dinner Reports.
  • Financial Statements - 1944-1954
  • Democratic State Central Committee
  • End of More's chairmanship - 1958
  • Democratic State Central Committee
  • Financial Statements and Receipts - 1958-1960
  • Democratic State Central Committee
  • Memos - 1958
    January to April
  • Democratic State Central Committee
  • Materials concerning organizational affairs - 1958
    e.g. meetings, policy positions, notices, and the like
  • Democratic State Central Committee
  • Memos - 1958
    May to July
  • Democratic State Central Committee
  • Memos - 1958-1960
    August 5th, 1958 to November 18th, 1960; Duke Norberg as Chairman
  • Democratic State Central Committee
  • Letters to More upon leaving his chairmanship - 1958
    Most are dating from August 1958 and most have replies. Letters are arranged alphabetically in four folders.
  • Democratic Midwest Conference
  • Letters and Memos - 1958-1959
    This file contains a few letters and memos from 1958 and 1959 and also included is a description by Washington Post writer Robert Albright of More's ouster as chairman.
  • State Party Platforms
  • Republican and Democratic State Platforms - 1940-1960
  • Crank Letters
  • Crank letters are aimed at More, some at Herschel Loveless and his family
    Item is missing
  • Box 3:
  • Democratic Digest
  • Various Democratic Digest Magazines - 1945-1951
    First issued as a publication of the Women's Division of the Democratic National Committee, the Digest later became the official publication of the DNC itself.
  • 750 Club
  • Letters from the chairman - 1959-1960
    The Democratic National Committee formed the 750 club in early 1959. The purpose was to raise money to pay for 1958 campaign debts and to get a start on 1960 fundraising.
  • Kennedy Inaugural Invitation
  • Kennedy Inaugural Invitation - 1961
  • History of the Democratic Party
  • Pamplet of History of the Democratic Party
  • Labor Luncheon 1961
  • Items related to Washington D.C., Labor Luncheon - 1961
    The annual luncheon in Washington was when representatives of Iowa labor could meet and talk with member's of Iowa's Congressional Delegation. These papers relate to a luncheon held March, 14th, 1961, at the Annapolis Hotel in Washington. Papers are mostly invitations and handwritten drafts of invitations to Iowa officials in Washington.
  • Loveless Campaigns
  • Correspondence and financial reports - 1952-1956
    Correspondence related to Herschel Loveless' campaigns for Governor. Material for 1956 relates largely to attempts to smear Loveless by making an issue of his 1934 arrest for embezzlement. Papers include photostats of the original arrest warrant and court papers related to the case. 1952 material is largely correspondence with Loveless' campaign manager, John Grenzenbach, releating to campaign finances.
  • Magnuson Dinner
  • Invitations and Notes - 1961
    These documents concern a testimonial dinner honoring Senator Warren Magnuson's 25 years of service. More attended the dinner in Seattle, November 1961. Papers include a note signed by Magnuson, thanking More for coming.
  • Truman Materials
  • Six folders of Truman related documents. - 1950-1968
    Includes invitations, programs, clippings, letters and replies. More often called Truman to address quasi-political events. Correspondence here consists largely of such letters and replies, especially a long series concerning a trip by Truman to Grinnell in 1963.
  • General Correspondence
  • Four folders of correspondence - 1934-1938
    1936 includes letters from Nelson Kraeschel and Clyde Herring and 1938 includes letters from Guy Gillette.
  • Box 4:
  • General Correspondence
  • Seven folders of correspondence - 1939-1962
    Clyde Herring's letters appear in 1939, 1940 and 1941. S.J. Galvin's letter appears in 1940. Guy Gillette's and Clarence Moody's letters appear in the date range of 1950-1957. Letters from John R. Hanson appear in 1958.
  • Obituary
  • Jake More's obituary and other newspaper clippings - 1972-1986

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Democratic Party (Iowa)
Democratic Party (Iowa) State Central Committee

Topics:
Patronage, Political
Political campaigns

Occupations:
Politicians

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa -- Shelby County

Genre/Form of Materials:
Speeches