Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Snow and Huber Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1864-1901
Creator: Snow and Huber
Extent: 8.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0186
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Journals, ledgers, and a little advertising material of a firm of grain and implement dealers.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Lucy W. Huber and Ben A Galer in 1959.

Preferred Citation: Snow and Huber Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

This collection consists of thirty-one bound entry books, including account expense journals, customers ledgers, accounts of sack lending, and a folder of miscellaneous materials.

Agency Note

Snow and Huber were grain and implement dealers in Pella, Iowa.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: SNOW & HUBER RECORDS, PELLA IOWA
Series 2: JOURNALS
Series 3: LEDGERS
Series 4: MISCELLANEOUS BANK MATERIALS

  • Series 1: SNOW & HUBER RECORDS, PELLA IOWA
  • Box 1:
  • Folder of miscellaneous items.
  • Series 2: JOURNALS
  • December 21, 1864 - November 13, 1865
  • November 14, 1865 - December 10, 1866
  • December 12, 1866 - April 3, 1868
  • June 1, 1869 - July 5, 1870
  • July 6, 1870 - October 16, 1871
  • October 16, 1871 - September 19, 1872
  • September 19, 1872 - December 18, 1873
  • December 18, 1973 - April 5, 1875
  • April 6, 1875 - Septemeber 14, 1876
  • December 29, 1877 - August 29, 1879
  • December 25, 1878 - August 16, 1879
    Journal is for Sharon Bank, New Sharon, Iowa
  • August 30, 1879 - December 14, 1880
  • January 29, 1880 - May 5, 1883
  • May 7, 1883 - January 9, 1885
  • May 1, 1886 - November 17, 1887
  • March 27, 1886 - March 29, 1888
  • October 15, 1889 - April 24, 1891
  • April 25, 1891 - October 31, 1892
  • October 31, 1892 - April 11, 1894
  • April 11, 1894 - August 10, 1895
  • August 13, 1895 - April 22, 1897
  • April 22, 1897 - January 18, 1900
  • Series 3: LEDGERS
  • January 7, 1865 - March 3, 1868
  • December 12, 1865 - December 17, 1870
  • September 16, 1870 - October 12, 1876
  • January 10, 1885 - April 20, 1889
  • December 13, 1890 - March 29, 1901
  • Series 4: MISCELLANEOUS BANK MATERIALS
  • General Ledger for W. Naylor's Bank - 1875
  • Journal for W. Naylor's Bank for November 28, 1875 - December 21, 1875
  • Buckeye Register for March 6, 1879 - August 1, 1886
  • Sack Account for June 15, 1882 - December 9, 1893

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Snow & Huber (Firm)

Topics:
Farm supply industries
Grain trade

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Pella

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Account books
Sources