Guide to the Schapsmeier Collection on Henry A. Wallace

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1961-1968
Creator: Schapsmeier, Edward L.
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0185
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Correspondence with associates and friends of Henry A. Wallace in connection with the writing of a bibliography of Wallace by the Schapsmeiers.

Administrative Information

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Edward L. Schapsmeier and Frederick H. Schapsmeier in 1969.

Preferred Citation: Edward. L. and Frederick H. Schapsmeier Collection on Henry A. Wallace, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Biographical Note


Content Description

The collection contains correspondence between Schapsmeier and various people associated with Henry A. Wallace. Letters provide commentary on Wallace's policies and opinions. Arranged by year, from 1961-1970. Letters in each folder are arranged chronologically.

Related Materials

Schapsmeier, Edward L. Henry A. Wallace: The Origins and Development of His Political Philosophy: The Agrarian Years 1920-1940. [Ph.D. dissertation, photocopy] University of Southern California, 1965. SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Iowa Authors Collection 93-244

Schapsmeier, Edward L. Henry A. Wallace of Iowa: The Agrarian Years, 1910-1940. Ames, Iowa State University Press, [1968]. MAIN Library E748.W23 S3 SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Iowa Authors Collection No call number

Schapsmeier, Edward L. Prophet In Politics: Henry A. Wallace and the War Years, 1940-1965. Ames,Iowa State University Press, [1971, c1970]. SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Iowa Authors Collection No call number MAIN Library E748.W23 S32 MAIN Undergraduate Collection E748.W23 S32

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Schapsmeier, Edward L.
Schapsmeier, Frederick H.
Wallace, Henry A. (Henry Agard), 1888-1965

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Agriculture and state

Genre/Form of Materials:
Sources
Correspondence