Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Schapsmeier Collection on Henry A. Wallace

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1961-1968
Creator: Schapsmeier, Edward L.
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0185
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Correspondence with associates and friends of Henry A. Wallace in connection with the writing of a bibliography of Wallace by the Schapsmeiers.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Edward L. Schapsmeier and Frederick H. Schapsmeier in 1969.

Preferred Citation: Edward. L. and Frederick H. Schapsmeier Collection on Henry A. Wallace, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The collection contains correspondence between Schapsmeier and various people associated with Henry A. Wallace. Letters provide commentary on Wallace's policies and opinions. Arranged by year, from 1961-1970. Letters in each folder are arranged chronologically.
Schapsmeier, Edward L. Henry A. Wallace: The Origins and Development of His Political Philosophy: The Agrarian Years 1920-1940. [Ph.D. dissertation, photocopy] University of Southern California, 1965. SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Iowa Authors Collection 93-244

Schapsmeier, Edward L. Henry A. Wallace of Iowa: The Agrarian Years, 1910-1940. Ames, Iowa State University Press, [1968]. MAIN Library E748.W23 S3 SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Iowa Authors Collection No call number

Schapsmeier, Edward L. Prophet In Politics: Henry A. Wallace and the War Years, 1940-1965. Ames,Iowa State University Press, [1971, c1970]. SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Iowa Authors Collection No call number MAIN Library E748.W23 S32 MAIN Undergraduate Collection E748.W23 S32

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Undated
    Items within the following folders are letters. The following names listed are those in correspondence in with Edward Schapsmeier.
  • Mrs. Donald R. Richberg
    Written sometime after November 1960.
  • Mordecai Ezekial
  • Henry A. Wallace
    There is a date of November 17th, 1959 on the letter, however it was placed inside the 'undated' folder.
  • 1961
  • Henry A. Wallace - January 12
  • 1962
  • Bascom N. Timmons - March 1
  • 1963
  • Henry A. Wallace - January 8
  • James Roosevelt - June 14
  • James F. Byrnes - June 14
  • James A. Farley - June 19
  • Frances Perkins - June 19
  • Claude Pepper - June 24
  • Raymond Moley - June 25
  • Henry A. Wallace - August 4
  • Richard Wilson - August 5
  • Chester C. Davis - August 5
  • Ernest K. Lindley - August 6
  • Leslie R. Groves - August 6
  • Samuel I. Rosenman - August 7
  • Henry C. Taylor - August 12
  • Francis Biddle - August 13
  • M.L. Wilson - August 15
  • Victor Christagan - August 16
  • Frank Kingdon - August 19
  • Vannevar Bush - August 19
  • Donald R. Murphy - August 21
  • James Roosevelt - August 21
  • Thurman Arnold - August 22
  • Walter Millis - August 23
  • Harold N. Young - August 27
  • Marriner S. Eccles - August 28
  • Clark M. Clifford - August 28
  • Mordecai Ezekial - August 29
  • David E. Lilienthal - August 29
  • Clinton P. Anderson - August 29
  • McGeorge Bundy - September 1
  • Edwin W. Pauley - September 3
  • Arthur M. Schlesinger, Jr. - September 5
  • Robert Oppenheimer - September 6
  • Claude R. Wickard - September 8
  • Jerry Vorhis - September 11
  • Lewis L. Strauss - September 16
  • Bruce Catton - September 23
  • Glen H. Taylor - September 20
  • Gladys L. Baker - October 1
  • Donald R. Murphy - October 28
  • Benjamin V. Cohen - October 29
  • James Wechsler - November 21
  • Milton S. Eisenhower - November 26
  • F. Hal Higgins - December 19
  • F. Hal Higgins - December 20
  • 1964
  • F. Hal Higgins - January 18
  • Louis H. Bean - January 19
  • M.L. Wilson - February 2
  • George B. Roberts - February 15
  • Robert A. Lovett - February 17
  • Leon H. Keyserling - February 18
  • Lister Hill - February 18
  • Helen Hill Miller - February 19
  • Tom C. Clark - February 21
  • Henry C. Taylor - February 25
  • Robert R. Nathan - February 26
  • Abe Fortas - February 27
  • R.E. Buchanan - February 28
  • Leo T. Crowley - March 3
  • Donald R. Murphy - March 10
  • Max Lerner - March 11
  • Henry A. Wallace - March 11
  • George W. Snederor - March 17
  • Donald R. Murphy - March 30
  • 1965
  • Alf M. Landon - April 28
  • 1966
  • Spruille Braden - June 16
  • M.L. Wilson - June 16
  • Donald R. Murphy - August 19
  • Curtis MacDougall - September 7
  • Harold N. Young - October 16
  • Donald R. Murphy - October 31
  • Harold N. Young - November 22
  • 1967
  • James W. Wallace - January 10
  • Raymond Moley -January 12
  • Johnathan Daniels - July 10
  • Alf M. Landon - October 3
  • M.L. Wilson - November 7
  • 1968
  • Thurman Arnold - April 3
  • 1969-1970
  • Ilo Wallace - January 26
  • James Wallace - January 27
  • Donald R. Murphy - February 26
  • Michael Straight - April 2
  • James L. McCamy - April 3
  • Philip M. Hauser - April 7
  • Bernard Gladieux - April 10
  • John Fischer - April 15
  • Alfred Schindler - April 15
  • Wallace Ashby - July 1
  • Alfred Schindler - July 9
  • James L. McCamy - July 14
  • James Wallace - July 14
  • James L. McCamy - July 17
  • Ava Nickel, Secretary to Dr. Hauser - July 22
  • Drew Pearson - July 25
  • James L. McCamy - July 29
  • Michael Straight - August 17
  • Bernard Gladieux - September 17
  • James Wallace - September 23
  • Joseph Bickman - October 26
  • Robert Manning - November 10
  • James Wallace - November 13
  • Ilo Wallace - November 25
  • James Wallace - December 5
  • Memo from Dorothy Stackpole to Ilo Wallace - December 11
  • Boris Pregal - December 12
  • George Kennan - December 17
  • James Wallace - December 19
  • Linus Pauling - May 26
  • James Wallace - June 8
  • Miscellaneous Material

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Schapsmeier, Edward L.
Schapsmeier, Frederick H.
Wallace, Henry A. (Henry Agard), 1888-1965

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Agriculture and state

Genre/Form of Materials:
Sources
Correspondence