Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Herschel C. Loveless Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1958-1961
Creator: Loveless, Herschel C. (1911-1989)
Extent: 11.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0184
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Governor of Iowa. Most of the papers relate to the 1960 gubernatorial race with correspondence, campaign materials, and speeches. There are also scrapbooks and office files.

Access: This collection is open to research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Mr. Loveless donated his papers to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1969.

Preferred Citation: Herschel C. Loveless Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Herschel Cellel Loveless was born on May 5, 1911, on a farm near Fremont, Iowa. He graduated from Ottumwa High School at age sixteen. In 1927, he began working for the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul and Pacific Railroad. He held various jobs with this railroad throughout the Great Depression. In 1939, Loveless went to work for John Morrell and Company as a turbine operator in their power plant in Ottumwa. In 1944, he returned to the C.M.St.P.&PRR as an employee in the Engineering Department. Three years later, on a leave of absence from the railroad, Loveless became the superintendent of streets for Ottumwa, Iowa, and later became their flood director. He was then elected to two terms as mayor of Ottumwa.

Loveless, a Democrat, was an unsuccessful candidate for governor in 1952. The following year, he became owner-manager of the Municipal Equipment Company headquartered in Ottumwa. In 1954 he was defeated in the race for a congressional seat. Loveless came back from these losses to become Governor of Iowa in 1959, serving two terms in office. In 1960, he again ran for a congressional seat and again was defeated. This marked the end of his political career. Herschel C. Loveless died in 1989, at the age of seventy-seven.

The papers of Herschel C. Loveless consist of approximately eleven linear feet of manuscripts dating from 1957 to 1961. The papers primarily relate to his last two years as Iowa's governor. His 1960 gubernatorial campaign is documented with budgets, primary results, Democratic platform reports, advertising costs, polls, and more. Correspondence files include letters from political figures including: Merwin Coad, Orville Freeman, Stuart Symington, and G. Mennen Williams. There are numerous folders concerning legislative issues ranging from federal aviation to right to work laws. Six boxes contain speeches given by Loveless. The topics include farm policy, Iowa rural electric co-ops, Red Rock Dam, taxes, and vocational education.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical Material
  • Obituaries
    Includes Loveless's obituary.
  • Catalogued VIP Letters
  • Miscellaneous Personal Correspondence
  • Governor - Personal VIPs
  • Mrs. Loveless
  • Edsill, Russell - #22770
  • Edsill Case Papers #1
  • Edsill Case Papers #2
  • #20359 -Warren, Wilbert alias Willie Warren
  • Indian Students Association of Iowa State University, Correspondence
  • Box 2: Campaign Materials
  • Budget Materials
  • Correspondence
  • Constitutional Convention
  • Democratic Midwest Conference
  • Democratic Presidential Convention
  • Democratic State Convention
  • Election Results - Primaries
  • Employment Security Material
  • Fall Elections
  • Farm Policy Material
  • Hansen, John R., Correspondence
  • Inauguration - Presidential 1961
  • Inter-departmental Reports for Democratic Platform
  • Mailing Lists
  • Martin, Thomas E., Voting Record
  • Requests for Campaign Literature
  • Box 3: Campaign Materials
  • Agricultural Land Credit
  • Campaign Advertising Costs
  • Drew Pearson
  • Favorite Son
  • Governor's Platform
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence About Governor's Candidacy - 1959-1960
    Two folders
  • Nixon, Richard - His Political Record
  • Nomination Papers
  • Box 4: Campaign Materials
  • Election Outcome 1960 - Governor's Personal Letters
  • Kennedy for President
  • McManus, Lt. Gov. Edward
  • Governor Personal - Political
  • Miller, Jack - Voting Record, etc.
  • National Candidates - General
  • Republican Propaganda
  • Box 5: Campaign Materials
  • Applicants for Washington DC
  • "Cope" Memos
  • Democratic State Central Committee
  • Election - Fourth District
  • Johnson, Lyndon B.
  • Miscellaneous Iowa Candidates
  • Mock Conventions
  • Symington, Stuart Correspondence
  • Young Democrats
  • Box 6: Campaign Materials
  • Democratic Platform
  • Complimentary File
  • Democratic National Covention - 1960
  • Democratic National Convention
    L.A. Letters of Recommendation for Candidates
  • Democratic National Convention
    L.A. Thank-you Letters
  • Democratic National Convention
    National Convention
  • National Security
  • Political Advertising
  • Political Education
  • Political "Hate" Literature
  • Political Polls
  • Box 7:
  • Investigations
    Matters brought to attention of the Governor
  • Box 8:
  • Investigations
    Matters brought to attention of the Governor
  • Box 8a:
  • Investigations
    [THIS BOX ONLY IS UNDER SEAL INDEFINITELY]
  • Box 9:
  • Legislation
  • Board in Control State Institutions
  • Booklets and Clippings for Governor Personal
  • Cedar River Fish Kill
  • Democratic Advisory Council
  • Federal Aviation
  • Federal Appointments
  • Governor's Dues and Contributions
  • House File
  • Inventory of Governor's Mansion
  • Meetings Attended
  • Pensioneers
  • Right to Work Law
  • Shoplifting Law
  • Senate Bills
  • Special Gas Tax Audit
  • Senate Bills Processed During 57th General Assembly
  • House Bills Processed During 57th General Assembly
  • Tabulation of Bills Processed During 57th General Assembly
  • Senate File
  • 1957 Legislation Vetos
  • Veto Letters for the 57th General Assembly
  • Vetos and Bills not signed by Governor - 58th General Assembly
  • Box 10:
  • Governor's Conference in Chicago - 1960
  • Israel Trip - 1959
  • Press Releases
    Two folders
  • South American Trip - 1960
  • Governor Personal Argentina Thank-you Letters
  • Argentina File
  • Box 11:
  • Appointment to Commissions
  • Attorney General Opinions
  • Action by Attorney General Erbe
  • Attorney General Opinions
  • Weeks Report
  • Form Letters for Appointments
  • Public Assistance
  • Box 12: Parking Meter File
  • Fremont, Nebraska
  • Minnesota Fire Equipment
  • Tickets
  • Sample Ordinances
  • Parking Meters
  • Miscellaneous
  • Muni-Quip Corporation
  • Charles City
  • Clinton, Iowa
  • Decorah
  • Fort Madison
  • Mason City
  • Box 13:
  • Governor's Personal Files Correspondence - 1957-1960
  • Box 14: Clippings
  • Penal Affairs Committee Report 1960
  • Goals for Americans
    This item is a book.
  • Tape - Archie Moore
  • Film - Burdick on Small Business
  • Film - Burdick "North Dakota Wants to Know"
  • "Subsidy and Subsidylike Programs of the U.S. Government"
    This item is a pamphlet.
  • Miscellaneous Clippings
    These clippings are placed in the box without a folder.
  • "The Education of Business"
  • "Food and Freedom"
  • "An Essay on Quality in Public Education"
  • "The Prosperity Issue in the 1960 Election"
  • Governor's News Clippings
  • Small School Organization - Jobless Pay
  • Telegrams - Governmental Reorganization
  • Inaugural Message
  • Public Instruction - Miscellaneous Right to Work
  • Iowa School Organization Public Instruction - Investment of State Funds
  • Surplus Property - Highway Administration
  • State Government Reorganization - Legislate Program
  • Highway Safety - Gas Tax Controversy
  • Miscellaneous Clippings
    These items are kept in four large envelopes.
  • Box 15: Highway Files
  • Program to Meet Iowa's Road Challenge
  • Federal Aid to Highways - Governor's Conference - 1959
  • Interstate
  • Governor's Proposal for Aid to Federal Highways
  • Interstate Roads
  • 1960 Correspondence Federal Aid to Highway Program - Interstate
  • Federal Aid Highway Program
  • Box 16:
  • Highway Commission Files and Reports
  • Box 17: Speeches A-C
  • AFL - CIO State Convention - 1958
  • AFL - CIO Labor Speech, Sioux City - 1960
  • Agriculture's Future, Monticello, Illinois - 1960
  • Agricuture Meeting, Des Moines
  • Airport Dedication Ceremony, Iowa City - 1960
  • Akcoholism Meetings (Committee on Alcoholism) - 1959-1960
  • All America Award Dinner, Bloomington, Indiana - 1959
  • American Business Women's Association, Kirkwood Hotel - 1960
  • American Legion Banquet, Clay County - 1960
  • American Legion State Convention - 1958
  • America's Future in Education
  • AMVETS Speech, Shenandoah - 1959
  • Apprenticeship Banquet, Airport, Des Moines - 1960
  • Army Recruits Ceremony, State House, Des Moines - 1960
  • Bankers Association, Dubuque
  • Bar Association Speech, Los Angeles - 1960
  • Blackhawk County Social Service Council - 1958
  • Boy Scout Speech, Iowa City - 1959
  • Boy Scout Tape Recording Transcript - 1959
  • Boy Scout Speech Miscellaneous - 1960
  • Budget and Inaugural Speech - 1957
  • Burdick (Senator) Farm Speech - 1960
  • Bureau of Reclamation Speech, Washington DC
  • Butler County Democratic Meeting
  • California Speech - 1958
  • Campaign Film Script Speeches - 1960
  • Chamber of Commerce, Marshalltown - 1960
  • Chamber of Commerce Speech - 1958
  • Chamber of Commerce, Bettendorf - 1960
  • Civic Award - B'rai B'rith, Cedar Rapids - 1960
  • Clinton County Soil Conservation - 1960
  • College and Education Speeches
  • Collins Radio Technical Association, Cedar Rapids - 1960
  • Commencement Address II - 1958
  • Commencement Address - Tech High, Des Moines - 1960
  • Commencement Addresses, May - 1960
  • Commencement Speech - 1958
  • Commission on Aging - 1959
    Governor's Remarks
  • Conference on Aging - 1960
  • Conference on Juvenile Behavior - 1958
  • Corn Picking Contest, Monticello - 1960
  • Corn Picking Contest, Straughn, Indiana - 1959
  • Cornerstone Laying - Ellsworth College, Iowa Falls - 1960
  • Crossing of the Mississippi - 1960
  • Box 18: Speeches D-FA
  • Dairy Convention Speech, Fennimore, Wisconsin - 1958
  • DAV Auxiliary, Davenport
  • Dedication - Loras College, Davenport (November) - 1960
  • Democratic Meeting, Carroll - 1960
  • Democratic Meeting, Montezuma - 1960
  • Democratic Meeting Spillville - 1960
  • Democratic Midwest Meeting/Conference - 1958
  • Democratic National Convention, Los Angeles - 1960
  • Democratic Picnic, Bellevue State Park
  • Democratic Rally, Audubon - 1960
  • Democratic Rally, Belle Plaine - 1960
  • Democratic Rally, Boone - 1960
  • Democratic Rally, Cordyon - 1960
  • Democratic Rally, Decatur, Illinois - 1960
  • Democratic Speech, Ames - 1958
  • Meetings of House Democratic Staff Assistants - 1960
  • Democratic State Convention - 1958
  • Democratic State Convention, Vets Auditorium - 1960
  • Democratic Womens Club, Galesburg, Illinois - 1960
  • Des Moines Chamber of Commerce - 1960
  • 13th Annual Development Agencies Convention, Des Moines - 1958
  • Distrubutive Education Convention - 1960
    Rinard's remarks included
  • Education (In Legislation) - 1960
  • Education for Survival, Cedar Falls 11/13/1958
  • Education Speech, Cedar Falls 8/6/1958
  • Employment Security (Interdepartmental Meeting) - 1959
  • Excerpts from miscellaneous speeches of governor
  • Farm Speeches (National)
  • Governor's Statement Filed on Revised House Farm Bill, Washington, DC - 1960
  • Farm Business - Industry Day
  • Farm Group Speeches
  • Farm Meeting, Aledo, Illinois - 1959
  • Farm Policy Agriculture Meeting, Washington DC - 1960
  • Farm Policy Statement, Washington DC - 1960
  • Farm Policy Advisory Committee - 1960
  • Farm Policy Committee Meeting - 1960
  • Farm Policy Speech, Springfield, Illinois - 1960
  • Farm Policy Hearing, Minneapolis - 1960
  • Farm Rally, Bloomfield - 1959
  • Farm Speech, Detroit, Michigan - 1960
  • Farm Speech, Moorhead, Minnesota - 1960
  • Farm Speech, Nixon Plowing Match, Guthrie Center - 1960
  • Farmers & Business Mens' Banquet, Davenport - 1959
  • Farmers' Union, Bloomfield - 1959
  • Farmers' Union, Jackson County - 1960
  • Farmers' Union, Waukon (Waukon) - 1960
  • Box 19: Speeches FI-IN
  • 58th General Assembly - 1959
  • First Unitarian Church, Des Moines - 1960
  • Flight Breakfast, Fort Dodge - 1960
  • Floyd Valley Watershed Association - 1960
  • Foreign Students - 1960
  • Foreign Trade Seminar, Cedar Rapids - 1960
  • Fourth District, Michigan - 1958
  • Future Farmers of America, Cedar Rapids - 1960
  • Government Reorganization
  • Governor's Budget Message Delivered to the 58th General Assembly 1/29/1959
  • Governor's Days, Clear Lake - 1960
  • Governor's Editorials
  • Governor's Inaugural Address - 1959
  • Governor's Platform Speech - 1958
  • Greetings - 1957-1958
  • Growth of Productivity in Agriculture
  • Hawkeye Girls State - 1959
  • Highway Speech at the Iowa Ready Mix Concrete Association Banquet, Des Moines - 1960
  • History and Government Students, Ames - 1960
  • Home Builders Association, Mason City - 1958
  • Home Builders Association, Waterloo - 1960
  • Citizenship - A Call to Duty, J. Edgar Hoover's Message for Indpendence Day - 1959
  • House Committee on Agriculture Hearings - 1960
  • House Democratic Staff Assistants - 1960
  • Income Tax Revision, Special Message - 1959
  • Independence Day Speech - 1959
  • Indiana Farmers Union - 1960
  • Indiana Jefferson-Jackson Day - 1957
  • Industrial Speech, Eldora
  • Institute of Gerontology, Iowa City - 1958
  • Inter-governmental Relations, Kansas City - 1957
  • Inter-governmental Relations, Washington DC - 1959
  • Inter-governmental Relations Remarks - 1959
  • Introduction of Marion Anderson
  • Interstate Conference on Water Resources, Chicago - 1960
  • Box 20: Speeches IO-NA
  • Iowa Association School Boards - 1959
  • Iowa Auctioneers Associations - 1960
  • Iowa Beef Producers Associations - 1959
  • Iowa Conference on Civil Service, Cornell College, Mt. Vernon - 1958
  • Iowa Conference on Human Rights, Des Moines - 1960
  • Iowa Electric Power Management Conference - 1957
  • Iowa Enters the Atomic Era
  • Iowa Farm Brokers Conference, Des Moines - 1960
  • Iowa Farm Safety Council, Des Moines - 1959
  • Iowa Farmers' Union Convention, Des Moines - 1960
  • Iowa Flying Farmers Club, Carroll - 1960
  • Iowa Motor Court Association - 1957
  • Iowa Nursing Home Association, Des Moines - 1958
  • Iowa Nursing Home Association, Des Moines - 1959
  • Iowa Nursing Home Association, Des Moines - 1960
  • Iowa Police Association, Waterloo - 1960
  • Iowa Rural Electric Coops - 1960
  • Iowa Savings & Loan League - 1958
  • Iowa Sheriff's Association & County Atty's, Des Moines - 1957
  • Iowa State Employee Safety Program - 1959
  • Iowa State Teachers Association, Des Moines - 1960
  • Israel Speech
  • Jeffereson - Jackson Day - 1960
  • Kennedy - Johnson Agriculture Meeting - 1960
  • Kiwanis Club, Cedar Rapids - 1956
  • Kiwanis Club, Missouri Valley - 1959
  • Kiwanis Club, Cedar Rapids - 1960
  • League of Municipalities
  • League of Municipalities, Des Moines - 1960
  • Len Wolf Dinner, Cedar Rapids
  • Lions Club, Des Moines - 1960
  • Logansport, Indiana Farm Tape Recording Transcript - 1960
  • Loveless Campaign Releases
  • Memorial Day - 1958
  • Memos to Governor from Dr. Johnson
  • Mens Brotherhood, Baptist Church - 1958
  • Mental Health Institute Dedication - 1959
  • Mental Health Speech - 1958
  • Merit Council Meeting - 1959
  • Midwest Conference, Kansas City - 1960
  • Midwest Democratic Governors Conference - 1959
  • Midwest Democratic Governors Farm Conference - 1960
  • Midwest Farmers and Feeders Banquet, Neola - 1960
  • Midwest Gas Conference - 1959
  • Midwest Agriculture Committee Meeting, Des Moines - 1960
  • Miscellaneous Governor's Campaign File - 1960
  • Mississippi River Parkway Planning Commission, New Orleans - 1959
  • Missouri Basin Inter-agency Committee, Glacier National Mark, Montana - 1958
  • National Bituminous Concrete Association, Detroit - 1960
  • National Corn Picking Contest, Cedar Rapids - 1958
  • National Farm Loan Association, Omaha - 1958
  • National Fire Protection Association, Des Moines - 1959
  • National Home Builders Banquet, Des Moines - 1959
  • National Lamb Feeders Association, Des Moines - 1959
  • National Police Association, Des Moines - 1960
  • National Sunday School Union, Des Moines - 1958
  • National Resources, League of Women Voters, Mason City - 1960
  • Box 21: Speeches NE-R
  • New York Message - 1959
  • Nine State Inter-departmental Conferences - 1958
  • Office Transcriptions of Speeches
  • Oskaloosa Rotary Club Juvenile Speeches - 1958
  • Other Governor's Speeches
  • Ottumwa Kick-off - 1958
  • Pancake Day, Chariton - 1958
  • District 8 - Institute of International Association of Personnel & Employment Security, Sioux City - 1959
  • Physical Handicapped Speech, Des Moines - 1958
  • Political Introduction, Senator Symington, Red Oak - 1958
  • Political Remarks, Shell Rock - 1960
  • Political Speech [No Identification]
  • Premier Krushehev Meeting - 1959
  • Presidential Convention, Waterloo - 1960
  • Proposed National Minimum Unemployment Compensation Standards - 1959
  • Prospective Teachers Day, Des Moines - 1957
  • Public Welfare - 1959
  • Public Works Subcommittee Hearing, Washington DC - 1960
  • Radio Spots - 1958
  • Rapid City Mental Health Association - 1960
  • Recreation Concefence, Des Moines - 1960
  • Red Rock Dam Meeting, Washington DC - 1960
  • Red Rock Dam Testimony, Washington DC - 1959
  • Remarks to Baptist Convention, Des Moines - 1959
  • Reserve Officers, Cedar Rapids - 1958
  • Rochester, NY - Foreign Policy - 1958
  • Rotary Club, Burlington - 1960
  • Rotary Club, Cedar Rapids - 1960
  • Box 22: Speeches S-Y
  • Salvation Army Public Relations Meeting, Cedar Rapids - 1958
  • Salvation Army, Maquoketa - 1960
  • Senate Appropriations Committee - 1959
  • Senate & House Government Operaitions Committee - 1959
  • Senate Interior & Insular Affairs Committee - 1959
  • Senate Committee on National Water Resources - 1959
  • Senator Morton Farm Speech - 1960
  • Sermon-Rev. Buck - 1960
  • Sheep Empire Days, Keosauqua - 1960
  • Slack Water Navigation, Sioux City - 1960
  • Social & Economic Trends Conference - 1958
  • Soil Conservation, Ames - 1957
  • Special Message to General Assembly - 1959
  • Speech on Politics - 1958
  • Speech Press Releases
  • Speeches - Miscellaneous
  • State Apprenticeship, Des Moines - 1960
  • State of State Message - 1961
  • Statement on Tax & Revenue
  • Statistics for Governor's Use
  • Student Meeting, Ames - 1960
  • Swine Growers
  • Taxes as a State Issue - 1958
  • Television Script, 1960
  • Thanksgiving, Mitchelville - 1958
  • Thermogas Co., Des Moines - 1960
  • Town Hall Speech, California - 1957
  • Transportation Speech, Des Moines - 1957
  • Unemployment Compensation Hearings - 1959
  • Unemployment Compensation Laws - 1959
  • Veterans Day, Atlantic - 1957
  • Veterans Administration - 1957
  • Vocational Education Meeting, Des Moines - 1959
  • Washington State
  • Water Resources Problems, Washington DC - 1960
  • Womens' Traffic Safety Conference - 1958
  • Womens' Chamber of Commerce - 1957
  • World Hereford Conference, Des Moines - 1960
  • Young Democrats of Minnesota - 1959
  • Young Democrats, Iowa City - 1957
  • On shelf:
  • Scrapbooks
    8 scrapbooks located on the shelf
  • Phonograph Record
  • Appointment Books
    3 books located on the shelf

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Democratic Party (Iowa)

Topics:
Political campaigns

Occupations:
Governors

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa -- Ottumwa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Scrapbooks
Speeches