Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Henry A. Wallace Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1923-2004
Creator: Wallace, Henry Agard (1888-1965)
Extent: 168.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0177
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Editor of Wallaces' Farmer 1921-1933; Secretary of Agriculture, 1933-1940; Vice-President of the United States, 1941-1945; Secretary of Commerce, 1945-1946. Includes audio visual materials; clippings; an extensive collection of correspondence, including photocopies of the microfilm edition of the originals in the Library of Congress, Manuscript Division; government documents; personal papers; photographs; research materials, with an emphasis on agriculture, particularly corn, but including livestock, weather, strawberries, chickens, and gladioli; writings, and speeches.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Entire Series VII, some in Series V, VI, VIII, IX; DVDs, LPs, Video cassettes, microfilm, CD-ROM, all in Series I.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection consists of several different donations. Among the earliest were those by Henry A. Wallace himself in 1954 and 1956. In 1953, 1954, and 1955 Henry's brother James donated papers, and in 1954 Donald Murphy donated his research and manuscript for a biography of Wallace. Beginning in 1965, Paul D. Richards and his mother, Gladys Richards, donated print material and photographs to the collection. They gave other materials to the University over several following years. These were followed in 1967 by an additional donation by Wallace's heirs: Robert D. Wallace, Annabelle Wallace McLay, John B. Wallace, Janus Wallace, Mary Wallace Bruggmann, Ruth Wallace Wilkman, Margaret W. Voorheis, Josephine Wallace Farrell, John Clarke Wallace, Ross Wallace, Jr., Wallace Ashby, Nanette M. Ashby, N. Eunice Ashby, and Genevieve Ashby Hoffman. In 1970, Mrs. Henry A.(Ilo) Wallace, and Wallace's children, Mrs. Leslie (Jean Wallace) Douglas, Henry B. Wallace, and Robert B. Wallace released another gift to the University.

Preferred Citation: Henry A. Wallace Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

HENRY A. WALLACE CHRONOLOGY

1888 - October 7 - Born on a farm near Orient, Adair County, Iowa

1910 - June 9 - Awarded B.S., Iowa State University, Ames

1914 - May 20 - Married Ilo Browne of Indianola, Iowa

1915 - September 18 - Son, Henry Browne Wallace, born

1918 - July 13 - Son, Robert Browne Wallace, born

1920 - Agricultural Prices

June 30 - Daughter, Jean Browne Wallace, born

1921 - March - Succeeded his father (who then became Secretary of Agriculture) as editor of Wallaces' Farmer

1923 - Corn and Corn-growing (with Earl N. Bressman)

1924 - October 25 - Father, Henry C. Wallace, died in office

1925 - Correlation and Machine Calculation (with George W. Snedecor)

1926 - Founded hybrid seed corn company

1929 - August-September - First International Conference of Agricultural Economists, Dartington Hall, Tomes, Devon, England

October 26 - Merger of Wallaces' Farmer and Iowa Homestead

1933 - March 4 - Takes oath of office as Secretary of Agriculture

1934 - America Must Choose, New Frontiers, Statesmanship and Religion

1936 - Whose Constitution?

1940 - July 18 - Nominated candidate for Vice President of the United States

September 4 - Resigned as Secretary of Agriculture

December 1 - Attended inauguration of Manuel Avila Camacho as President of Mexico

1941 - January 20 - Takes oath of office as Vice President

July 30 - Economic Defense Board established

August 28 - Supply Priorities and Allocations Board established

December 17 - EDB became Board of Economic Warfare

1942 - January 16 - SPAB became War Production Board

May 8 - The Price of Free World Victory (Common Man speech)

1943 - The Century of the Common Man

March-April - Latin American trip

July 15 - Board of Economic Warfare abolished

1944 - Democracy Reborn

May - July - Siberia-China trip

July 21 - Harry S. Truman received vice-presidential nomination

1945 - Sixty Million Jobs

Bought  Farvue Farm, South Salem, New York

January 20 - End of vice-presidential term; nominated Secretary of Commerce

March 2 - Takes oath of office as Secretary of Commerce

1946 - Soviet Asia Mission

September 12 -The Way to Peace (Madison Square Garden speech)

September 20 - Resigned as Secretary of Commerce

December 16 - Editor of The New Republic

1947 - December 29 - Announced presidential candidacy

1948 - Toward World Peace

July 19 - Resigned as contributing editor of The New Republic

July 24 - Progressive Party presidential nomination

November 2 - Received ca. 1,157,000 votes

1950 - August 8 - Resigned from Progressive Party

1954, - February 11 - Uncle, Daniel A. Wallace, died

1956 - Corn and Its Early Fathers (with William L. Brown)

1965 - November 18 - Died at Danbury, Connecticut

November 22 - Final rites at Des Moines, Iowa, following a funeral service at Ridgefield, Connecticut, two days earlier, with interment of ashes at Glendale Cemetery, Des Moines, the following day.

Since the Department is still actively collecting items for the Henry Agard Wallace collection, some correspondence arrived after the completion of the index, The Wallace Papers. These items have been gathered into their own subseries and an independent index has been created. They are arranged chronologically, with an index following.
Culver, John C. American Dreamer: The Life and Times of Henry A. Wallace. New York: Norton, 2000

Papers of the Progressive Party, MsC 160

=http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/spec%2Dcoll/MSC/ToMsc200/MsC160/MsC160_progressiveparty.html

Papers of Fred Stover, MsC 165 http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/spec-coll/msc/ToMsC200/MsC165/StoverFredPapers.html

Papers of C. B. Baldwin, MsC 343 http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/spec%2Dcoll/MSC/ToMsc350/MsC343/MsC343.htm

Papers of Lew Frank, MsC 369 http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/spec%2Dcoll/MSC/ToMsc400/MsC369/MsC369_frank.html

Lazarus Photographs. MsC 543.

http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/spec-coll/MSC/ToMsc550/MsC543/MsC543_lazarusphotos.html

Truman, Harry S. Mr. President; the first publication from the personal diaries, private letters, papers, and revealing interviews of Harry S. Truman, thirty-second President of the United States of America. New York, Farrar, Straus and Young [1952]

Wallace's page at the US Senate:http://www.senate.gov/artandhistory/history/common/generic/VP_Henry_Wallace.htm

Ms D383c Democratic National Campaign Committee Campaign Materials, 1936

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.