Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Nelson G. Kraschel Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1931-1950
Creator: Kraschel, Nelson G. (1889-1957)
Extent: 4.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0174
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Governor and Lieutenant Governor of Iowa. Papers relating to his political career and terms in office. Subject files include campaign materials, correspondence, speeches, etc.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The papers of Nelson G. Kraschel were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by his widow, Agnes Johnson Kraschel, in 1968.

Preferred Citation: Nelson G. Kraschel Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Nelson G. Kraschel was born on a farm near Macon, Illinois, on October 27, 1889. In 1910, at the age of twenty-one he moved to Harlan, Iowa to farm and raise livestock. Kraschel later became a livestock auctioneer. In 1932, he was placed on the Democratic ticket for lieutenant governor. He won the election and was re-elected in 1934. In 1937, he became Iowa's governor, serving until 1939. Kraschel was an ardent supporter of Franklin D. Roosevelt, Henry A. Wallace, and the New Deal. He was also involved in other political campaigns, such as the Guy Gillette vs. Otha Wearin senatorial contest. Nelson Kraschel died in Harlan, Iowa, in 1957.

The papers of Nelson G. Kraschel consist of four linear feet of manuscripts arranged chronologically, dating from 1932 to 1950. Much of the material has to do with Kraschel's political campaigns and others in which he was involved. This includes items such as speeches, correspondence, mailing lists, campaign literature, and convention resolutions. There are also folders concerning his political foes and allies alike, including George W. Patterson, Dan Turner, Lester J. Dickinson, George A. Wilson, Henry A. Wallace, and Guy M. Gillette. Some of the documented issues from his terms as governor and lieutenant governor concern farm debt and tenancy, the 1938 Maytag strike, and banking legislation.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CAMPAIGN 1932
Series 2: CAMPAIGN 1934
Series 3: LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR
Series 4: CAMPAIGN 1936
Series 5: CAMPAIGN 1938
Series 6: SUBJECT FILES 1
Series 7: CAMPAIGN 1940
Series 8: CAMPAIGN 1942
Series 9: SUBJECT FILES 2

  • Series 1: CAMPAIGN 1932
  • Box 1:
  • General
  • Series 2: CAMPAIGN 1934
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence
  • Farm Economic Question
  • George W. Patterson
  • Kraschel-Patterson Debate
  • Speeches and Campaign Literature
  • Dan Turner
  • Democratic and Republican State Conventions
  • Clippings
  • Series 3: LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR
  • Box 2:
  • Speeches
  • Clippings
  • Miscellaneous Papers
  • Correspondence
  • Sheep Feeding Contract Controversy
  • Republican "Grass Roots" Conference - 1935
  • WPA Projects
  • Bank Bill -- Emergency Bank Legislation - 1933
  • Farm and Home Week, Ames, Iowa - 1934
  • Central Cooperative Association Convention - 1934
  • Radio Broadcasts
  • Series 4: CAMPAIGN 1936
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence
  • Mailing List to Livestock Community Sales Companies
  • Office Memos
  • Name Lists
  • Corn Loan Program
  • Speeches
  • Press Releases
  • Senator Lester J. Dickinson
  • Clippings on Governor Landon
  • Clippings
  • Clippings on Kraschel
  • Clippings on Agricultural Adjustment Act
  • Verne Marshall Controversy
  • Campaign Literature
  • Series 5: CAMPAIGN 1938
  • Box 4:
  • State Officers, District Committeemen and Committeewomen, and County Chairmen and County Chairwomen
  • Teachers' Annuity Plan
  • Independent Business
  • Iowa Clubwoman
  • Agricultural Adjustment Act
  • List of Democratic County Candidates
  • Labor Committee, Jim Stedman
  • Press Releases
  • Letters of Appreciation for Support
  • All-Party Farm Committee
  • Speeches
  • George Wilson's Candidacy
  • State Representatives (those running and holdovers) Democratic and Republican
  • State Senators (those running and holdovers) Democratic and Republican
  • Young Democratic Clubs of Iowa
  • Clippings
  • Campaign Literature
  • Correspondence: Miscellaneous
  • Miscellaneous
  • Guy Gillette: Primary
    (2 folders)
  • Series 6: SUBJECT FILES 1
  • Box 5:
  • Governor's Inaugural Address, January 14 - 1937
  • Gubernatorial Correspondence - 1937
  • Farm Debt Advisory Council - 1937
  • Liquor Control Question - 1937
  • Governor's Speeches - 1937
  • Conservation Plan - 1937
  • Governor's Weekly Radio Talks - 1937
  • Press Releases - 1937
  • Governor's Weekly Radio Talks - 1938
  • Gubernatorial Correspondence - 1938
  • Farm Tenancy Committee Reports - 1938
  • Iowa State Executive Council - 1938
  • Iowa State Board of Control of State Institutions - 1938
  • Governor's Administration - 1937-1939
  • Pardons and Paroles
  • Pardon, Joe Siegel
  • Box 6:
  • Governor's Speeches - 1938
  • Kraschel's Political Popularity: Opinions of Editors - 1938
  • Iowa Farm Debt Advisory Council - 1938
  • Des Moines Mass Meeting of All Parties Interested in Democratic Success - 1938
    (3 folders)
  • Iowa State Highway Commission - 1938
  • Maytag Company Strike - 1938
    (2 folders)
  • Secondary Roads in Iowa - 1939
  • State Governor of Iowa, Organization Manual
  • Gubernatorial Correspondence - 1939
  • Governor's Speeches - 1939
  • Governor's Administration: Newspaper Clippings
  • Governor's Administration: Miscellaneous Papers
  • Series 7: CAMPAIGN 1940
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence
  • Lists of Names, Democratic State Officers, Committeewomen and Committeemen
  • Clippings
  • Campaign Literature
  • Speeches
  • National Committee for Agriculture
  • National: Clippings
  • National: Clippings
  • National: Speech
  • National: Magazines
  • National: Campaign Literature
  • Series 8: CAMPAIGN 1942
  • Box 8:
  • Correspondence
  • Finances
  • Press Releases
  • Speeches
  • Newspaper Clippings
    (2 folders)
  • Magazines
  • Miscellaneous
  • Series 9: SUBJECT FILES 2
  • Box 9:
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence - 1939
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence - 1941
  • Waterloo Radio Corporation - 1941
  • Presidential Campaign: Clippings - 1944
  • Harold L. Ickes Speech - 1948
  • 1950 Senatorial Campaign: Correspondence
  • 1950 Senatorial Campaign: Miscellaneous
  • 1950 Senatorial Campaign: Clippings
  • Undated Correspondence
  • Henry A. Wallace: Speeches
  • Agricultural Policy: Kraschel
  • Miscellaneous Speeches: Kraschel
  • Miscellaneous Clippings
  • Miscellaneous
  • Biography, Nelson G. Kraschel