Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the William B. Allison Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1862-1916
Creator: Allison, William B. (1829-1908)
Extent: 3.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0173
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: U.S. Senator and Representative from Iowa. Primarily correspondence from his years in the House and Senate. Spanning a half century the topics range from Indian affairs to Oklahoma statehood, banking to the Panama Canal, and Republican Party politics to railroads.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The papers of William B. Allison were the gift of Margaret Lacy Zimansky in 1968.

Preferred Citation: William B. Allison Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

William Boyd Allison was born in Perry, Ohio, on March 2, 1829. He attended Allegheny College in Meadville, Pennsylvania, and in 1849, graduated from Western Reserve College of Hudson, Ohio (now in Cleveland). After studying law, he was admitted to the bar in 1852, and began his legal career in Ashland, Ohio. Allison moved to Dubuque, Iowa, in 1857 where he established a law practice. During the Civil War, Allison served as a lieutenant colonel in the Union army. He was elected as a Republican to four successive terms (1863-1871) in the US House of Representatives where he was chairman of Expenditures in the Department of the Treasury. An unsuccessful candidate for the US Senate in 1870, he returned to Dubuque and his law practice. Two years later he again ran for the Senate, this time winning. Allison remained in the Senate until his death in 1908. During that time he served on the Appropriations Committee and the Committee on Engrossed Bills, and was chairman of both the Committee on Indian Affairs and the Republican Caucus.

The collection dates from 1862 to 1916, and consists of 3.5 linear feet of correspondence and printed material such as articles and legislation. It is arranged by item number and indexed by both author and subject. The correspondence includes letters from Albert B. Cummins, Jonathan P. Dolliver, Stuyvesant Fish, George D. Perkins, Theodore Roosevelt, Leslie M. Shaw, William H. Taft, and Henry Wallace. The topics discussed range from banking and currency reform to Indian affairs, Oklahoma statehood to the Panama Canal, and railroads to Republicans. The bulk of William B. Allison's papers are held by the Iowa State Department of History and Archives in Des Moines, Iowa.

Included in this collection are two boxes of printed materials and a small box of letters which are unprocessed.

Series III is the index, which is comprised of names and subjects, along with the corresponding item number. Subjects are listed in capitals. The asterisk (*) indicates a recipient of a manuscript.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: PRINTED MATTER
Series 3: INDEX

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • December 17, 1891 - November 29, 1898
    Items 1-44
  • January 19, 1899 - May 5, 1903
    Items 45-87g
  • May 9, 1903 - July 29, 1903
    Items 88-127
  • August 1, 1903 - November 16, 1903
    Items 128-171a
  • November 17, 1903 - December 31, 1903
    Items 172-203
  • Box 2:
  • January 2, 1904 - February 12, 1904
    Items 204-261c
  • February 15, 1904 - April 19, 1904
    Items 262-330
  • April 24, 1904 - December 3, 1904
    Items 331-399
  • December 5, 1904 - December 20, 1904
    Items 400-465
  • Box 3:
  • December 21, 1904 - January 12, 1905
    Items 466-558
  • January 13, 1905 - February 6, 1905
    Items 559-624
  • February 7, 1905 - February 12, 1905
    Items 625-738
  • February 13, 1905 - March 11, 1905
    Items 739-808
  • Box 4:
  • March 13, 1905 - October 12, 1905
    Items 809-890
  • October 15, 1905 -November 16, 1905
    Items 891-939a
  • November 17, 1905 - December 26, 1905
    Items 940-972
  • January 3, 1906 - April 10, 1906
    Items 973-1026
  • April 11, 1906 - May 26, 1906
    Items 1027-1106
  • Box 5:
  • May 28, 1906 - November 24, 1906
    Items 1107-1162
  • November 26, 1906 - December 24, 1906
    Items 1163-1250
  • December 26, 1906 - February 11, 1908
    Items 1251-1294b
  • February 26, 1916 - September 13, 1916
    Items 1295-1298
  • Undated
    Items 1299-1311
  • Miscellaneous Papers
    Items 1312-1347a
  • Items 1348 and 1349
  • Series 2: PRINTED MATTER
  • Box 6:
  • German-American Alliance
  • Shiloh monument inscription controversy
  • Labor
  • American Foreign Commerce
  • Panama Canal
  • Tariff and taxes
  • Re-regulation of R.R. Rates
  • Currency and banking
  • Currency and banking
  • Carnegie bookshop catalog
  • International revenue speech by Allison
    June 4, 1868, given to the House of Representatives
  • Box 7:
  • Newspaper Clippings
    Allison and Iowa Poilitics
  • Newspaper Clippings
    Allison and Iowa Poilitics
  • Newspaper Clippings
    Allison and Iowa Poilitics
  • Internal Improvements
  • Miscellaneous
  • Miscellaneous
  • Box 8:
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence
  • Series 3: INDEX
  • Sub-Series: A
  • Box 1:
  • Aberle, Sarah 143
  • Ackley, Iowa, businessmen 631, 709 - 710 
  • Adams, Thomas J. 79
  • Agen, James H. (East Houston Texas Development Company) 1218 
  • *Agen, James H. (Houston, Texas) 1228 
  • AGNEW, F.A. 60
  • *Ainsworth, General F.C. (War Dept. Sec.) 878
  • ALASKAN RAILROAD, T ELEGRAPH, AND TELEPHONE AID BILL (H.R. 18337) 1195 - 1197 
  • ALCOHOL EXHIBIT AT JAMESTOWN EXPOSTION 1189 - 1190, 1199
  • ALCOHOL TAX ( H.R. 17453) 263, 261, 265, 272, 838 - 839, 840, 984, 986, 988, 989, 990 - 990a, 991, 995, 1009, 1044-1044a, 1045, 1047, 1049, 1050, 1051, 1052, 1053, 1055, 1056, 1057, 1058, 1059, 1060, 1061, 1062, 1063, 1064, 1065, 1066, 1067, 1070, 1071, 1072, 1073, 1074 - 1075, 1076, 1077, 1078, 1079, 1080, 1081, 1082, 1083, 1084, 1085, 1086 - 1087, 1088, 1090, 1091, 1092, 1093 - 1094, 1097, 1098, 1099, 1100, 1101 - 1101a, 1102, 1103, 1106,1110, 1339
  • Alder, Ira J. (Iowa City Attorney) 949 - 950
  • ALDRICH BILL 123 - 127 
  • Aldrich, Charles (Curator, History Dept., U. of Iowa) 36, 37, 43
  • *Aldrich, Nelson W. (Senator for Rhode Island) 93 
  • *Aldrich, William W. 174 - 175 
  • Alexander, J.S. (Marion, Iowa) 600 - 601
  • ALLEN, B.F. 796
  • Allen, Dr. Lowell E. (Affidavit of re: the Lesser Case) 591 - 592 
  • ALLISON-HEPBURNE BILL 567 - 568 
  • Allison, J.F.(Washington, D.C.) 802
  • Allison, William Boyd 105 - 106, 110, 118 - 119, 212, 258 - 260, 261b, 289, 311, 360, 437 - 439, 461, 480, 481, 482, 483, 484, 485, 486, 487, 488, 522, 523, 524, 530, 531, 815, 830 - 831, 835 - 836, 841 - 845, 847 - 851, 867 - 870, 876 - 877, 878, 907 - 909, 910 - 911, 917 - 925, 926 - 928, 973,1124, 1133, 1134, 1135, 1136, 1137, 1138, 1139, 1140, 1142, 1162, 1188, 1192, 1199, 1200, 1203, 1205, 1206, 1207, 1215, 1221, 1228, 1229, 1230, 1239 - 1240, 1241, 1242, 1254, 1263, 1266, 1281, 1282, 1283, 1284, 1292
  • *ALLISON, WILLIAM BOYD 1, 11 - 17, 18, 19 - 20, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 38a, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63 - 64, 65, 66, 67 - 68, 69, 70 - 76, 77 - 78, 80 - 82, 82a, 84 - 87, 87c, 88, 90 - 91, 94 - 95, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102 - 104, 107, 108 - 109, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116 - 117, 120 - 121, 122, 123 - 127, 128, 129, 132, 133, 134 - 137, 140, 142, 143 - 144, 145, 147, 148, 151, 153 - 154, 155, 156, 157 - 158, 159, 160, 161, 162, 163, 164, 167, 168,169, 170, 171, 172, 173, 176, 178, 179, 180, 181, 182, 183, 184 - 185, 186, 187, 188, 189 - 190, 191, 192, 193, 194, 198 - 200, 200b, 201, 202, 203, 204, 205, 206, 207, 208 - 211, 214, 215, 216, 217, 219, 220, 221, 222, 223, 228, 229 - 232, 235, 236, 242, 243, 244 - 246, 247, 248, 249, 250, 251, 252, 253, 254, 255, 256, 257, 261, 262, 263, 264, 265, 266, 267, 268 - 269, 270, 271, 272, 273, 274, 275 - 276, 277 - 278, 279 - 280, 281, 282, 283, 284 - 285, 286, 287 - 288, 290, 291, 292, 293, 294, 295, 296, 297 - 299, 300 - 301, 302, 303, 305, 306, 307, 308, 309, 310, 312 - 313, 314 - 315, 316, 317 - 318, 319, 320 - 329, 330, 331, 332 - 333, 334, 335 - 336, 339, 340, 341 - 343, 344, 349 - 350, 351, 352, 353, 354, 355, 356 - 358, 362, 363, 364, 365 - 366, 367 - 368, 369, 370, 371 - 372, 373, 374, 375 - 376, 377, 378, 379, 381 - 383, 384 - 385, 386, 387, 388, 389, 390, 392 - 393, 394 - 397, 398 - 399, 400, 401, 402 - 403, 406, 407 - 408, 409 - 412, 413 - 415, 419, 420, 421, 422, 423 - 426, 429, 430, 431, 432, 433, 434 - 435, 436, 440, 441 - 446, 447, 448, 454 - 455, 456 - 458, 459, 460, 463 - 464, 465, 466, 467, 468, 469 - 471, 472 - 473, 474, 475, 476, 477 - 478, 479, 489, 490, 491, 492, 493, 494, 495, 496, 497, 498 - 500, 501, 502 - 503, 504 - 505, 506, 507, 508 - 509, 510, 511, 512, 513, 517, 517a, 518, 519, 520, 521, 525 - 527, 528, 532, 533, 534, 535, 536 - 539, 540, 541 - 545, 546 - 548, 549, 550 - 551, 552 - 553, 554, 556, 557 - 558, 559 - 560, 561, 562, 563 - 564, 565, 566, 567 - 568, 569, 570, 571, 572, 573, 574, 575 - 576, 577, 578, 579 - 581, 582, 583, 584, 585, 586, 587, 588, 589 - 590, 595 - 596, 597, 598, 599, 600 - 60l, 602, 603, 604 - 605, 606, 607, 608, 609, 611 - 612, 613 - 614, 615 - 616, 617, 618 - 620, 621, 625, 626 - 629, 630, 631, 632, 633, 634, 635 - 636, 637, 638, 639, 640, 641, 642, 643, 644, 645, 646 - 647, 648, 649, 650, 651, 652, 653, 654, 655, 656, 657, 658, 659, 660, 661, 662, 663, 664, 665, 666, 667, 668, 669, 670, 671, 672, 673, 674, 675, 676, 677, 678, 679, 680, 681, 682, 683, 684, 685, 686, 687, 688, 689, 690, 691 - 692, 693, 694, 695, 696, 697, 698, 699, 700, 701, 702, 703, 704, 705, 706, 707, 708, 709 - 710, 711, 712, 713, 714, 715, 716, 717, 718, 719, 720, 721, 722, 723, 724, 725, 726, 727, 728, 729, 730, 731, 732, 733, 734, 735, 736 - 737, 738, 739, 740, 741, 742, 743, 744, 745, 746,747, 748 - 749, 750, 751 - 752, 753, 754, 755 - 756, 757, 758, 759, 761, 762, 763, 765 - 766, 767, 768 - 769, 770 - 771, 772, 773 - 775, 776 - 777, 778, 779, 780, 781 - 783, 784, 785, 786, 787, 788, 789, 790, 794, 795, 796, 797, 798 - 799, 800 - 801, 802, 803, 804, 805, 806, 807, 808, 809, 811 - 812, 813, 814, 816, 820 - 821, 822 - 823, 824 - 826, 827, 828, 829, 832, 833 - 834, 837, 840, 846, 852, 853, 862, 863, 864 - 866, 871 - 874, 875, 879, 880, 881, 883, 884, 891 - 892, 893, 894 - 897, 898, 899 - 902, 903 - 905, 906, 912, 913 - 916, 929, 930, 931 - 935, 936, 937, 938, 939, 940 - 944, 945, 946 - 948, 949 - 950, 951, 952, 953, 954, 955 - 956, 957, 958, 959, 960, 961, 962, 963, 964, 965, 966, 967, 968, 969 - 970, 971, 972, 974 - 975, 976, 977, 978, 979, 980, 981, 982, 983, 984, 985, 986, 987, 988, 989, 990, 991, 992, 993, 994, 995, 996 - 997, 998, 999, 1000, 1001, 1002, 1003, 1004, 1005, 1006, 1008, 1009, 1010, 1011, 1012, 1013 - 1014, 1015, 1016, 1017, 1018, 1019 - 1023, 1024, 1025 - 1026, 1027, 1029 - 1032, 1033, 1034, 1035, 1036, 1037, 1038, 1039 - 1040, 1041, 1042, 1043, 1044, 1045, 1046, 1047, 1048, 1049, 1050, 1051, 1052, 1053, 1054, 1055, 1056, 1057, 1058, 1059, 1060, 1061, 1062, 1063, 1064, 1065, 1066, 1067, 1068, 1069, 1070, 1071, 1072, 1073, 1074 - 1075, 1076, 1077, 1078, 1079, 1080, 1081, 1082, 1083, 1084, 1085, 1086 - 1087, 1088, 1089, 1090, 1091, 1092, 1093 -1094, 1095 - 1096, 1097, 1098, 1099, 1100, 1101, 1102, 1103, 1104 - 1105, 1106, 1107 - 1108, 1109, 1110, 1111, 1112, 1112a, 1113, 1114, 1115 - 1116, 1117, 1118, 1119, 1120, 1121, 1122, 1125, 1141, 1143, 1144 - 1146, 1147, 1148, 1149 - 1150, 1151, 1152, 1153, 1154, 1155 - 1156, 1157 - 1161, 1163 - 1170, 1171, 1172, 1173, 1174, 1175 - 1177, 1181 - 1182, 1183, 1184 - 1185, 1186, 1187, 1189 - 1190, 1191, 1193, 1194, 1198, 1202, 1204, 1208, 1209, 1210 - 1211, 1212 - 1213, 1214, 1216 - 1217, 1218, 1220, 1222, 1223 - 1224, 1225, 1227, 1231 - 1232, 1233 - 1234, 1235 - 1236, 1237, 1238, 1243, 1244, 1245, 1246, 1247, 1248, 1249, 1250, 1253, 1256 - 1257, 1258 - 1259, 1260 - 1262, 1264, 1265, 1267, 1268 - 1269, 1270, 1276 - 1277, 1278, 1279, 1280, 1285, 1287, 1289 - 1291, 1293 - 1294, 1301, 1302
  • ALLISON, WILLIAM BOYD
  • Alvord, C.H. (Secretary, Hendey Machine Company, Torrington, Connecticut ) 1154
  • THE AMERICAN ISTHMIAN CANALS. THE DARIEN MANDINGO CANAL (16 p. pamphlet by Edward W. Serrell) 200a
  • AMERICAN MERCHANT MARINE (S. 2154) 189 - 190, 225 - 227, 228, 233 - 234
  • Ames, John G. (Superintendent of Documents) 1
  • ANDERSON ELECTRIC CAR COMPANY 1295 - 1295a, 1296 - 1296a, 1297 - 1297a, 1298
  • Anderson, T. T. (Prop., Herald Printing House, Indianola) 606
  • ANTI-INJUNCTION BILL (H.R. 7041) 142 - 142a, 143, 144, 145, 147,156, 159, 218
  • APPROPRIATIONS (U.S. Govt. for 1905) 161b - 161c, 907 - 909
  • Arlington, Iowa, men 784
  • ARMAMENTS, REDUCTION OF ( see Hague Conference) 
  • Armstrong, R. B. (Asst. Sec. U.S. Treasury Dept.) 217, 334
  • ARMY APPROPRIATION BILL (H.R. 14397) 1054
  • Associated Charities and Citizen's Relief Assoc. (Washington, D.C.) 1153
  • Atherton, J.C. (Toulon, Illinois) 1100
  • Atlantic Iowa Ladies 349 - 350
  • Avery, Henry (Des Moines, Iowa) 984
  • Sub-Series: B
  • Box 1:
  • Bachelder, Nahum J. (Master, National Grange, Concord, N.H. ) 1074 - 1075
  • Bailey, A.K. (Publisher, Decorah, Iowa) 49
  • BAKER, GEN. EDWARD D. 1171 - 1171a
  • Baker, Oreando H. (Amer. Consulate, Sydney, New South Wales) 1118
  • Baker, William G. 52
  • Baldauf, Sam (Pres., Baldauf-Rosenblatt Dry Goods Company, Oskaloosa) 502 - 503
  • Baldwin, John N. (Council Bluffs) 317 - 318
  • Ballard, Mrs. Adelaide (Hull, Iowa) 389
  • Ballou, E. L. (lumber man, Larrabee, Iowa) 171
  • BANKING 70 - 76, 82a - 82c, 84 - 87b, 123 - 127, 138 - 139, 174 - 175a, 1216 -1217, 1309 - 1309a
  • Barker, George J. (Sec., E. B. Manufacturing Company, Davenport, Iowa) 990
  • BARNETT, FRED L. 44 
  • Barrows, J. H. (Bethel, Maine) 1104 - 1105
  • Bates, Lindon W. (New York) 829, 832
  • BATES-PENROSE EMPLOYER'S LIABILITY BILL ( H.R. 239, S. 1657) 980, 1276 - 1277
  • Batturs, W. Norris (Sec., Camden, N.H., United Gold Beaters Union) 476
  • Baxter, Irving F. (U.S. Attorney for Nebraska) 416 - 418
  • *Baxter, Irving F. 361, 380, 427 - 428
  • BAY STATE GAS COMPANY 320 - 329
  • BEALL, L.I. (Washington, D.C., clerk) 164, 168, 191
  • Becker Company (Dubuque) 609
  • Becker, Waldo (Davenport) 653 
  • Beede, Cyrus (U.S. Indian Service, Muskogee, Ind. Ter.) 615 - 616
  • BEER TAX 804 - 804a
  • Belden, W.S. 169
  • BELDEN, CPT. W.S. 170, 179
  • Benham, George A. 53 - 53a
  • BENJAMIN, E.H. (address of re-establishment of Department of Mines) 939 - 939a
  • Bermingham, Iowa, women 1340 - 1342
  • *Best, P. E. (Omaha train dispatcher) 1283
  • Beveridge, Albert J. (Senator from Indiana) 47
  • *Beveridge, Albert J. 391
  • Beveridge, John L. (Hollywood, California) 817 - 819
  • Bevins, P. H. (Corning, Iowa) 1028
  • Bigelow, E.D. (Sec., Kansas City Board of Trade) 189 - 190
  • Biklen- Winzer Grocer Company (Burlington, Iowa) 521
  • *Biklen-Winzer Co. 531
  • BILLS OF LADING (S. 2244) 1210 - 1211, 1225 - 1225a
  • BIRDSALL, MR. 1280
  • Birkeland, H.H. (Roland, Iowa) 477 - 478
  • *Birkeland, H.H. 486
  • BISH, CHARLES AND STEPHEN 26 - 26a, 28
  • Bissell, J.E. (Sec., Dubuque Shippers' Assoc.) 1093 - 1094
  • Blackmore, E.L. ( M.D., Aplington, Iowa) 58
  • BLACKWELL, ALICE STONE (Pamphlet on why women should protest the Oklahoma-Arizona Statehood Bill, written by) 386a
  • BLAINE, JAMES G. (U.S. Senator from Maine) 846, 847 - 851
  • Blake, J.F. (Attorney, Spokane, Washington, Power and Transportation Company) 375 - 376
  • Blanchard, Charles A. (Wheaton College, Wheaton, Illinois) 1057
  • Blaul's Grocery Company (Burlington, Iowa) 757
  • Bliss, Cornelius N. 29, 42, 45
  • Blocklenger, Iola Brown (Sec., Dubuque Women's Club) 390
  • Blythe, J. W. (attorney, Chicago, Burlington and Quincy R.R. Co.)167, 380, 419, 913 - 916
  • *Blythe, J. W. (Burlington, Iowa) 159b - 159c, 480, 514 - 516, 926 - 928 
  • BLYTHE, J.W. 55, 489 
  • Bogue, J. C. (Harriman, Tennessee, dentist) 1077 
  • Bohart & Company 972 
  • Borgfeldt and Company (New York China Importers) 608 - 608c, 755 - 756
  • BORGFELDT AND COMPANY 604 - 605a, 609
  • Boshford, C.H. (Davenport) 715 
  • Boswell, Lewis B. 200b 
  • BOSWELL, Mr. 406 Z
  • Bowen, D.H. (Waukon, Iowa, Republican Central Committee) 586 z
  • Boyer, Frank P. (Swedish-American Telephone Company, Bunch, Iowa) 1019 - 1023, 1095 - 1096
  • Bozeman, H. L. (Carmi, Illinois, real estate man) 1049
  • Bracken, J. L. (Pres., First National Bank, Tama, Iowa) 528, 936
  • Bradley, Charles H. (Dubuque Cigar Mfgr.) 454 - 455, 751 - 752
  • *Bradley, Charles H. (Dubuque, Iowa) 449 - 452, 482
  • Brammer Mfg. Co. (Davenport) 655
  • Brandt, F.J. 147
  • Breitung, E. N. & Company 82a
  • Brighton, Henry H. (U.S. Land office, Spokane, Washington) 504 - 505, 541 - 545
  • Brotherhood of Painters, Decorators and Paperhangers of America (Union #246, Des Moines) 145
  • Brown, W. W. (Treasury Department Auditor) 797
  • BROWNLOW GOOD ROADS BILL (S. 2539) (H.R.4508) 248, 250, 252, 255 
  • Bryan, George A. (Centerville, Iowa) 1024 
  • Bryan, Thomas 144
  • BRYAN, WILLIAM J. 55
  • Bryant, W. A. (Cedar Falls, Iowa, grain merchant) 176
  • Buchanan, W. I. (U.S. Minister to Argentina) 22 - 24, 25
  • BUCHANAN, W. I. 27 - 27a
  • BUCHER, JOHN & JOSEPH (Dubuque, Iowa) 1312
  • Buck, Asaph (Pres., Buck-Reiner Grocery Co., Keokuk) 770 - 771
  • BULL, JOHN D. (Arizona Indian) 345 - 348
  • BURKE, MISS HINDA L. (Patent Office clerk) 1120
  • Burke, Mrs. J. S. (Washington, D.C.) 1120
  • Burnard, Dr. H. W. (Emmetsburg, Iowa) 252
  • Burnham, Austin A. (Gen. Sec., National Business League, Chicago) 820 - 821
  • Burt-Zaiser Co. (Burlington, Iowa) 520
  • *Burt-Zaiser Co. 530
  • Button Workers Protective Union 143
  • BYBEE GOLD MINING CO. 18
  • Byrne, Dr. P. J. (Pension Office, Wash.) 341 - 343 
  • Sub-Series: C
  • Box 1:
  • Calkins, E. R. (Pres., Hardin County Farmers' Institute) 764
  • Callbreath, James F. (Sec., Amer. Mining Congress, Denver) 939 
  • (Camason?), J. A. 50
  • Campbell, Rev. D.M. 1072
  • Campbell, George C. 156
  • Campbell, Myron 1309
  • Campbell, W. T. (Monmouth, Illinois) 1033
  • Cannell, Mrs. M. F. (Maquoketa, Iowa) 386
  • CARBERRY, H. F. (vacancy of U.S. Gauger created by his death) 181
  • Carey, Charles E. (Glenwood, Iowa) 988
  • Carnegie, Andrew 19 - 20
  • CARNEGIE, ANDREW 57
  • CARNEGIE' S "HERO FUND" 871 - 874
  • Carpenter, W. E. (Sec., Hardin County Farmers' Institute) 764
  • Cart, Prof. S.M. (Indianola, Iowa) 598
  • CART, PROF. S.M. 606
  • Carton, L. A. (Swift and Company, Chicago) 852
  • Casutt, Mrs. George (Dubuque, Iowa) 946 - 948
  • CASUTT, JOHN A. (Army Corporal in Fort Des Moines Guard House) 946 - 948
  • Cedar Falls businessmen 691
  • Cedar Rapids, Iowa women 1344 - 1345
  • CENSUS (10th U.S.) 1
  • CENSUS (11th U.S.) 29, 42, 45 - 45k
  • CHAPLINE, CHARLES T. (Treasury Dept. clerk) 810
  • Chesley, H.L. (Sutherland, Iowa) 283
  • Chicago Tribune 140 
  • Chick, J.S. (Merchants Transfer and Storage Co., Davenport, Iowa) 719
  • Chiller Piano Co. (Davenport, Iowa) 724
  • Chittenden and Eastman Furniture Co. (Burlington, Iowa) 754
  • CHINA (U.S. trade relations with) 853 - 856
  • CHOFFEE, ADNA R. (General) 61 
  • CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION (see U.S Civil Service Comm.) 
  • CIVIL WAR (letters relating to in various ways) 1 - lc, 21 - 21s, 26, 31, 32, 817 - 819, 864 - 866, 891 - 892, 894 - 897, 903 - 905, 1054, 1171 - 1171a
  • Clark, Charles A. (Cedar Rapids attorney,) 229 - 232, 243 
  • Clarkson, James S. (New York Custom House, surveyor's office) 796
  • *Clarkson, J.S. (Des Moines) 304
  • Clarksville, Iowa men 618 - 620
  • Clayton, Robert & Son (Davenport, Iowa) 694
  • Cleman, Charlotte M.F (Sec., Moville, Iowa, W.C.T.U.) 367 - 368
  • Clemens, E.H. 148 
  • Clifton, C.C. (Sec., Council Bluffs Improvement Club) 163, 182
  • Clinton, Iowa, business firms 633
  • Clinton, Iowa, Citizens 995
  • Coe, C.W. (Minneapolis, Minn.) 1039 - 1040
  • Colcorel, E.H. 38 - 38a
  • Cole, A.O . (Lyons, Iowa, lumber man) 740
  • COLEMAN, E.A. (Atlanta, Georgia, prison guard) 447
  • Colman, C.V. (Davenport contractor) 648
  • *Conger, Edwin H. (U.S. Minister to China) 518a
  • CONGER, EDWIN H. (U.S. Minister to China) 518
  • CONGO FREE STATE 1122, 1123, 1124, 1202 - 1202a, 1222, 1254, 1337, 1340 - 1342, 1344 - 1345
  • CONGRESSIONAL APPROPRIATIONS 437
  • Conner, J.P. (Iowa Rep) 177
  • *Conner, J.P. 218 
  • *Conry, J.E. (Pres., Voorlines, Iowa Co-operative Telephone Co.) 1140 
  • CONSULAR SERVICE (see Foreign Service)
  • *Cook, Albert D. (Philadelphia) 910 - 911
  • Cook Brothers (Davenport) 641 
  • Cooley, Alford W. (Acting Pres., application div., U.S. Civil Service Comm.) 216
  • Cooper, F.A. (Davenport) 701
  • Copeland, W.W. (Burlington grocer) 550 - 551
  • COPPER RIVER ALASKAN RAILWAY CO. 1195 - 1197
  • COPYRIGHT BILL (H.R. 19853 of 59th Congress) 1191, 1198, 1203, 1205
  • COPYRIGHT BILL (S. 6330) 1251 - 1252
  • Cordon, Seth K. (Chairman, Independent Indian Terr. Statehood Constitutional Convention) 899 - 902
  • CORPORATIONS (need for Federal control of) 320 - 329
  • Cosgrove, John V. (President, A. Weber Co., Keokuk, Iowa) 1270 
  • *Cosgrove, John 1284
  • COUNCIL BLUFFS BRIDGE BILL (H.R. 10424) 314 - 315, 316, 317 - 318, 332 - 333a 
  • *Cox, W.R. (Sec. of the Senate) 2
  • Crabbe, W.R. (Greeley, Iowa) 787
  • Craigie, General D. (Washington, D.C.) 1235 - 1236
  • Crane, George (Assistant U.S. Attorney, Dubuque, Iowa) 1287 - 1287j
  • *Crane, George 1288
  • CRANE, GEORGE (Dubuque attorney) 80 - 82
  • Crapo, Rev. B.L. (Northville, N.Y.) 1002
  • Crary, Bessie J. (Sec., Boone Equality Club) 362
  • Crawford, John (Washington, D.C.) 220 - 221, 441 - 446 
  • CRIMINAL LAWS IN U.S. 1287 - 1287j, 1288
  • Crooks, Mrs. Mattie (Atlantic, Iowa) 351 
  • Crosby, George H. (Chicago RR man) 514 - 516
  • Crosley, George W. (Commander, Webster City Mil. 
  • Order. of the Loyal Legion of the U.S.) 903 - 905
  • Crossley, James J. (Iowa State Sen. from Winterset) 1184 - 1185
  • *Crossley, James J. 1188
  • Crouse, H. N. (U.S. Indian Service, Ft. Yates, N.D.) 459, 557 - 558, 738
  • Crowe, John (Lansing, Iowa) 508 - 509 
  • Cullinan, Rev. Edward M. (Locke, N.Y.) 996 - 997
  • Cummins, Albert B. (Governor of Iowa) 44, 431, 879
  • Cuney, C.S. (Washington, D.C.) 794CUNEY, C.S. 797
  • CURRENCY REFORM 52, 53-53b, 55, 59, 61a, 82a - 82c, 84 - 87b, 87c - 87g, 88, 90, 91 - 91c, 92 - 92b, 93, 94 - 95, 120 - 121b, 122, 123 - 127, 174 - 175a, 953 - 953a, 1216 - 1217, 1310
  • Curtis, G. M. (Pres., Bloomington Land Co.) 803
  • Cutter, Mayme G. (Sec., Nora Springs Equal Rights Club) 365 - 366
  • Sub-Series: D
  • Box 1:
  • Dahlberg, C.L. (Mgr., Smith Premier Typewriter Co., Des Moines) 319
  • Dalley, Henry (Chairman, N.Y. Comm. of Manufacturers) 838 - 839
  • Danielson, Rev. J. G. (Brooklyn, N.Y.) 1027
  • Daryee, R. H. (Union Selling Co., Chicago) 274
  • Davenport Ice Chipping Co. 689
  • Davey, Frank (Salem, Oregon) 340
  • Davidson, Rev. J. N. (Dousman, Wisconsin) 804
  • Day, Andrew (Washington, D.C., clerk) 1174
  • DAY, ANDREW 468
  • Day, W. H. (Pres., Dubuque lumber company) 222, 579 - 581
  • Dearborn, H. F. (Sioux City quarry operator) 798 - 799 
  • De Armand, J. A. (Davenport physician) 621 
  • Dearmond, Dr. J. A. (Davenport) 667
  • Decorah, Iowa, businessmen 637 
  • Decorah, Iowa, doctors and druggists 1045
  • De Graff, Prof. Lawrence (Highland Park College, Des Moines) 935e
  • Deitrick, James 11 - 17, 18
  • *Deitrick, James 5 - 6, 7- 9, 10
  • Deming, J.K. (Dubuque)
  • Derbyshire, William H. (Pres., Chamersburg, Pa., Engineering Co.) 1152
  • Des Moines, Iowa, women 1337
  • Devaney, James H. (Cascade, Iowa hardware man) 1109 
  • Dewall, G.W. (Davenport) 693
  • Dickey, Eunice W. (Washington, D.C.) 1212 - 1213
  • Dickover, Alvin C. (Ft. Smith, Arkansas) 1064
  • DINGLEY TARIFF LAW OF 1897 477 - 478, 492, 806, 1144 - 1146
  • Dinwiddie, Edward (Legislative Superintendent, Amer. Anti-saloon League) 194
  • Distin, William L. (Dept. of Interior, District of Alaska, Juneau) 1187
  • *Distin, William L. (Juneau, Alaska) 1230
  • DITTMAN, FRANK (pension of) 251
  • Dittman, Ida M. (Davenport, Iowa) 251
  • Dodge, Grenville M. (former Iowa Civil War General; Rep., and Chief Engr. of Union Pacific RR) 339
  • Dolliver, Jonathan P. (Iowa senator) 115, 833 - 834
  • *Dolliver, Jonathan P. 760, 835 - 836
  • Dolph, J. (ed., Fairfield Daily Journal) 517
  • Dolph, Joseph Norton (Senator from Oregon) 2 - 3
  • Donaldson, Lucy Ord 188
  • DONALDSON, WALTER A. 160, 183, 188
  • Dougherty, E.J. (Davenport) 675
  • *Douglass, John W. 83
  • Downing, A.C. (Anderson Electric Car Co., Detroit, Mich. ) 1295, 1296, 1297 
  • Dows, William G. (Pres., Cedar Rapids and Iowa City Railway and Light Co.) 828
  • Drake, A.E. (Pres., Davenport carpet co.) 670
  • Dripe, J.H. (U.S. Deputy Mineral Surveyor, Reno, Nevada) 394 - 397
  • Dryden, John F. (U.S. Senator from New Jersey) 881, 884
  • Dubois, Fred T. (Sen.) 2 - 3
  • Dubuque business firms 773 - 775
  • Dubuque Medical Society 1069 
  • DUBUQUE POST OFFICE 1289 - 1291
  • DUBUQUE PUBLIC LIBRARY 57 
  • Dubuque trades and labor congress 159
  • Durham, George W. (Iowa state sen.) 253
  • Durham, John S. (Havana, Cuba) 802a
  • DURHAM, JOHN S. 807
  • Durham, Mary 164, 168, 191
  • Durston, C. E. (Nora Springs, Iowa) 734
  • Duval, G. L. (Merchants' Assoc. of N.Y.) 224 - 227, 233 - 234, 237 - 241
  • DWIGHT, THEODORE 287 - 288
  • Duvall, A.B. 89 
  • Duke, E.B. 31
  • Sub-Series: E
  • Box 1:
  • Eagle Grove Farmers 981
  • Eckart, John P. (Guttenberg, Iowa, bank cashier) 1194 
  • *Eckart, John P. 1200
  • Eckhardt, Louis (Davenport) 680
  • ECONOMY (in U.S. Gov't. spending) 907 - 909 
  • Edgewood, Iowa, Businessmen 486 
  • EDUCATION (Adult) 929 - 930a 
  • Edwards, Rev. John H. (Brooklyn, N.Y.) 1003
  • Edwards, W.A. (Clinton Manufacturers) 578
  • Eighmey, C.H.(Pres., First Nat. Bank, Dubuque) 235, 744 
  • *Eighmey, H.B. (Hudson, Iowa) 1139 
  • EIGHT HOUR BILL ( H.R. 89) 142 - 142a, 143, 144, 145, 147, 156, 159, 218
  • Eiler, Daniel (Ackley, Iowa, attorney) 635 - 636
  • ELECTRIC CARS (see Anderson Electric Car Co.) 
  • ELKINS BILL (H.R. 6273) (see R.R. rates)
  • Ellwanger, John (Dubuque) 746
  • EMPLOYER'S LIABILITY BILL (see Bates-Penrose Employer's Liability Bill) 
  • Epps, W.W. (Republican State Central Comm., Ottumwa) 306
  • EPPS, W.W. 306a
  • Erdman, Hattie (Oelwein, Iowa) 373
  • Evocue, Henry F. (Pres., U.S. Civil Service Comm.) 202
  • Erwin, J. P. (Brownswick, Tenn.) 1083
  • Estabrook, George R. (Sec.-Manager, Fisher Governor Co., Marshalltown) 295
  • Evans, Rev. Edward R. (Gloversville, N.Y.) 1006
  • Evans, H. Clay 28
  • Evans, J. B. (Princeton, Mo.) 1036
  • *Evenson, Dr. G. A. (Finchford, Iowa) 1138
  • Ewart & Richter (Davenport) 684
  • Ewing, Mrs. A. M. (Chicago) 953
  • Ewing, Nebraska, School Board 935d
  • Sub-Series: F
  • Box 1:
  • Fairlle, Stoughton W. (Lake Mills, Wisconsin, farmer) 1082a
  • Farmers Grain Dealers Assoc. of Iowa 977
  • Farmers Mutual Telephone Co. (Waterloo, Iowa) 1125 - 1131a
  • Farwell, F. E. (Waverly, Iowa, attorney) 1144 - 1146
  • Fealy, Nellie E. (Washington, D.C.) 708
  • FEDERAL CLERK OF COURT (Northern District of Iowa) 206
  • Federal Union No. 6303 (Muscatine, Iowa) 148
  • Fell, Rev. Horace R. (New York City) 998
  • Ferguson, Daniel A. (Synod of N.Y. of the Presbyterian Church of the U.S.A.) 1018
  • FERGUSON R.R. BILL 550 - 551, 552 - 553, 554, 559 - 560, 563 - 564, 572, 573
  • Fetzer, William (Sec.-Treas., McSherry Mfg. Co) 98, 99, 112, 134 - 137, 151
  • *Fetzer, William 150
  • Fayette County men 790
  • Finger & Letts (Davenport law firm) 613 - 614, 661
  • Fish, Stuyvesant (Pres., Illinois Central R.R. Co.) 77 - 78, 114, 335 - 336, 337 - 338, 490, 517a, 561, 566, 582, 583, 1293 - 1294b 
  • *Fish, Stuyvesant 549a - 549c 
  • Fitzpatrick, T.J. (Prof., Lamoni, Iowa) 33
  • *Flanagan, J. W. (Marshall, Texas) 1207
  • FLANAGAN, J. W. (Marshall, Texas) 1175 - 1177, 1178 - 1180, 1181 - 1182, 1271 - 1274
  • Fleming, C. E. (School principal, North English, Iowa) 35 
  • Flower, Mrs. Louise K. (Iowa W. C. T. U., Arlington, Iowa) 354 
  • *Foraker, Joseph B. (U.S. Senator from Ohio) 885 - 890 
  • Forbes, C.D. (Duenweg, Mo., lumber man) 1037 
  • FOREIGN RELATIONS (South America) 441 - 446 
  • FOREIGN SERVICE (American) 165 - 166, 219, 820 - 821, 1118, 1320 
  • FOREIGN TRADE (Iowa persons interested in) 30 - 30b 
  • Fort Madison, Iowa, citizens 1119 - 1119a 
  • Frankelberger, J. W. (Winterset, Iowa) 421 
  • Fraye, H. S. (Windsor, Conn.) 622 - 624 Frederick, Mrs. Carrie E. (Iowa W.C.T.U., Marshalltown) 352
  • FREE LECTURES TO THE PEOPLE (pamphlet by Alice Sterne Gitterman) 930a 
  • Frick, P. C. Co. (Cedar Rapids, Iowa) 965 
  • *Frye, William P. (Sen. from Maine) 224 - 227, 233 - 234
  • FRYE, WILLIAM P., U.S. SEN. FROM MAINE (resolution of re: postmaster claims) 1029 - 1032a 
  • Sub-Series: G
  • Box 1:
  • Galer, R. S. 207
  • *Galer, R. S. 212
  • Gall, A. H. (Mason City, Iowa) 535
  • Galloway, B. T. (Chief, U.S. Bureau of Plant Industry, Washington, D.C.) 1227, 1237
  • *Galloway, B. T. 1242
  • Garden City, Iowa, Farmers 994
  • Gardiner, George S. (Director, Eastman-Gardiner Lumber Co., Laurel, Mississippi) 567 - 568
  • Gardiner, Silas (Director, Eastman-Gardiner Lumber Co., Laurel, Mississippi) 469 - 471
  • *Gardiner, S. W. 485
  • GASOLINE & NAPTHA POWERED BOATS, regulation of (H.R. 7033) 268 - 269
  • Giesler, J. L. (vice president, South Muscatine Lumber Co.) 296
  • "GILBERT" ANTI-INJUNCTION BILL (H.R. 9338) 980
  • Gilburt, Newton W. (Bureau of Justice, Manila, The Philippines) 1148
  • Gilchrist, James G. (Prof. of Med., Iowa City, Iowa) 34 
  • Gilliland, W. W. 145
  • Gitterman, Alice Sterne (Chairman, Volunteer Comm. on Free Lectures to the People, Washington, D.C.) 929 - 930, 945
  • Glynn, T. J. (Dewitt, Iowa) 700
  • Gobble, J. M. & Co. (Muscatine, Iowa) 961
  • Gobble, T. M. (Clinton, Iowa, grocer) 739
  • Godbe, S. T. (Mining engineer) 7 - 9 
  • Goddard, F. M. (Mgr., Bettendorf Axle Co.) 721
  • Goldfield, Iowa, farmers 971
  • GOLD MINING 5 - 6, 7 - 9, 10, 11 - 17, 18
  • Goodenow, Charles (Treas., Corn Belt Meat Producers Assoc., Wall Lake, Iowa) 1264
  • *Goodenow, Charles 1282
  • Goodlunder, W. E. (Bassett, Iowa) 1097
  • Goos, Hans, Jr. (Sec., Davenport Cement Co.) 630, 727
  • GRAESLE, L. G. (War Dept. clerk) 803
  • Graham, Hiram J. (surveyor, Dows, Iowa) 381 - 383 
  • Graves, S. H. (Pres., Copper River Alaskan R. R. Co.) 1195 - 1197
  • Grier, Rev. A. C. (Racine, Wis.) 1073
  • Grimes, James F. (Legislative Comm., Amer. Fed. Of Labor) 1058
  • Groom, Wallace P. (Brooklyn, N.Y.) 1310
  • Grupe, W. H. (Sec., Lagomarcino-Grupe Produce Co., Burlington, Iowa) 563 - 564 
  • Guest, James A. (Burlington piano dealer) 758
  • Guild, A. D. (Mt. Vernon, Iowa) 1110
  • Guttenberg, Iowa, town council 1183
  • Gwan, S. & Son (Davenport) 671
  • Sub-Series: H
  • Box 1:
  • HAGUE CONFERENCE 910 - 911, 1114 - 1114a, 1117 - 1117a, 1119 - 1119a, 1275
  • Haines, R. M. (Grinnell attorney) 344, 353
  • *Haines, R. M. 360
  • Haley & Lang Produce Co. 867 - 870
  • Hamill, D. P. (Keokuk grocer) 511, 765 - 766
  • *Hamill Grocery Co. (Keokuk) 523
  • Hamilton, J. J. (Des Moines, Iowa) 273
  • Hammond, Maj. B. C. (Waifield, Kansas) 401
  • Hammond, Rev. B. C. (Ft. Sill, Oklahoma) 345 - 348
  • Hancock, John T. & Sons (Dubuque, Iowa) 962
  • Hanna, Prof. James R. (Highland Park College, Des Moines, Iowa) 935e
  • Hannay, J. F. (Grinnell farmer) 507
  • Hansbrough, Henry Clay (Sen. from N. D. ) 2 - 3
  • Hanssens, Louis & Sons (Davenport) 683
  • *Haradon, E. W. (Pres., Farmers Mutual Telephone Co., Waterloo, Iowa) 1133
  • Harahan, J. T. (2nd V.P., Ill. Central R. R. Co.) 549a - 549c
  • HARLAN, JAMES (funeral of) 55
  • Harper, S. H. (Iowa state senator) 305
  • Harrah & Stewart Mfg. Co. (Des Moines) 632
  • HARRIMAN, E. H. (Chicago & Alton R. R. Co.) 1293 - 1294b
  • Harriman Land Co. (Harriman, Tenn.) 1076
  • Harris, Charles K. (New York City music publisher) 1251 - 1252
  • Hart, Earnest (Council Bluffs) 316
  • HART FARM SCHOOL (Washington, D.C.) 83 - 83a, 89, 161, 952 - 952a 
  • Hart, John M. (Chicago businessman) 1255
  • *Hart, John M. 1281
  • Hart, William H. H. (Principal, Hart Farm School, Washington, D.C.) 83, 161, 952
  • *Hart, William H. H. 161
  • Harter, J. J. (Pres., Corn Belt Meat Producers' Assoc., Sac City, Iowa) 529
  • Hasding, John & Co. (Davenport) 678
  • Hasler, J. C. (Davenport bank cashier) 726
  • Hathaway, F. R. (Sec., Mich. Sugar Manufacturers' Assoc.) 497
  • Hawkins, William E. (Wilmington, Delaware, real estate man) 1088
  • Hay, John (Sec. of State) 60, 1301
  • Hayden, Henry W. (Sec., N. Y. Union League Club) 462
  • Hayes, John W. (Gen. Master Workman, Order of Knights of Labor) 204 
  • Hayward, W. S. (Syracuse, N. Y. ) 1004
  • Hazzard, Rev. Herbert (Pine Plaines, N. Y.) 1068
  • Healy, Thomas D. (Ft. Dodge attorney) 100, 157 - 158
  • *Healy, Thomas D. 119a
  • HEALY, THOMAS D. 114, 115, 159b - 159c, 236
  • HEDGE, TOM 55
  • Heeb, A. F. (Sec-Treas., Dubuque Brewing & Malting Co.) 293
  • Hemenway, James A. (U.S. Sen. from Indiana) 1219a
  • Hempstead, H. W. (Adel, Iowa) 1035
  • Henck, William C. H. Co. (Davenport) 676
  • Henderson, D. B. (Iowa Rep.) 69, 309
  • *Henderson, D. B. (Iowa Rep.) 61a, 311
  • Hendey Machine Co. (Torrington, Conn.) 1154 
  • *Hendey Machine Co. (Torrington, Conn.) 1162
  • HENLEY, Mr. 172
  • HENRY, J. H., ranch of (see "Rancho del Encinal") 
  • HEPBURN BILL ON PATENT MEDICINE 1045
  • HEPBURN BILL ON R.R. REGULATION 587, 602 - 602a
  • HEPBURN-DOLLIVER LIQUOR BILL 194, 247, 253
  • HERRING, MISS KITTIE 330, 334
  • Herzog, Theodore F. (Davenport) 707
  • Hetherington, John J. 153 - 154
  • Hewitt, Charles (Des Moines grocer) 711, 964
  • HIDES (see LEATHER) 
  • Higbee, David 39
  • Highlands, E. M. (Supt., Clinton Gas Light Co.) 748 - 749
  • HIGHWAY IMPROVEMENT 248, 250, 252, 255
  • Hill Mere Co. (Davenport) 677
  • Hinckley, Frank H. (Office Supervising Architect, Washington, D.C.) 1147 - 1147a 
  • Hinrichs Crokery Co. (Davenport) 686
  • Hintzen, H. F. (Plymouth, Iowa) 263
  • Hiscox, Rev. E. T. (Saratoga Springs, N. Y.) 1089
  • Hitchcock, E. A. (U.S. Sec. of the Interior) 256, 589, 813
  • Hitchner, O. S. (Western Machine Co., Albia, Iowa) 837
  • *Hitchner, O. S. 841 - 845
  • Hoar, George F. (U.S. Sen. from Mass.) 1303
  • HOAR, GEORGE F. 863
  • Hobson, Richmond R. (Greensboro, Ala.) 525 - 527
  • Holman, H. W. (Oelwein attorney) 281
  • *Holman, H. W. (Independence, Iowa) 289
  • Hooper, Nebraska, School Board 935d
  • HOUSTON, TEXAS (need for deep water channel at) 1218
  • Howe, Henry (Chicago) 937
  • Howe, Milton 181
  • HOWE, MILTON 184 - 185
  • Howell Co. (Sioux City) 960
  • Howell, J. W. (Warfield, Pratt, Howell Co., Des Moines) 963
  • Howson, Charles (Dewitt, Iowa) 634
  • Hoxie, Vinnie Ream (Iowa City sculptor) 1115 - 1116
  • Hoyt, John W. (Chairman, The University of the U.S., Washington) 940 - 944, 1223 - 1224, 1267 
  • *Hoyt, John W. (Washington, D.C.) 1219a
  • Hoyt Piano Co. (Davenport) 649
  • H.R. 15578 (Bill to convey the impression that the U.S.Gov't. certifies to the quality of gold or silver used in the arts) 708 - 708a
  • H.R. 16646 625
  • Hubbard, Ackley (Sioux City banker) 1210 - 1211
  • Hubbard, E. H. (Sioux City attorney) 736 - 737
  • Hubbard, N. H (Armstrong, Iowa) 1286
  • Hubbell, F. C. (Washington, D.C.) 791 - 793
  • HUBBELL, F. M. & Co. (Des Moines) 604, 608
  • Hughes, E. L. (Hawkeye Flour Co., Cedar Rapids) 585 
  • Hulbert, E. D. (Chicago banker) 138 - 139
  • Hull, J. A. J. (Chairman, U.S. House of Rep.) 791 - 793
  • Hummer Mercantile Co., Iowa City 957
  • Hurd, Louis G. (Dubuque attorney) 292
  • Huston, E. S. (Washington, D.C.) 822 - 823, 827 
  • Hutchins, A. C. (Sec., Iowa State Mfgrs. Assoc.) 602 
  • HUTCHINS, DR. AND MRS. 304 
  • Hutchins, Capt. Edward R. (Dept. Cmdr., Iowa Spanish Amer. War Veterans) 409 - 412, 491, 501, 805, 814
  • HUTCHINS, CPT. E. R. 256, 813 
  • Sub-Series: I
  • Box 1:
  • Ida Grove Iowa Women 388 
  • ILLINOIS CENTRAL R.R. CO. 1293 - 1294b 
  • IMMIGRATION (restriction of -S. 4403) 1226
  • INDIA (see FOREIGN SERVICE) 
  • INDIAN APPROPRIATION BILL (H.R.17474) 308, 615 - 616, 626 - 629, 763
  • INDIAN PEAK MINING CO. 5 - 6, 7 - 9, 10
  • INDIAN TERRITORY (law in) 763 - 763c
  • INDIAN TERRITORY (movement for statehood) 899 - 902
  • Indianola, Iowa, Citizens 986
  • Ingraham, Charles A. (Cambridge, N.Y.) 1015
  • INHERITANCE TAX 1238
  • INSURANCE COMPANIES (Federal regulation of) 881 - 881a, 884
  • INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION 434 - 435, 437 - 438, 440, 449 - 452, 461, 467, 472 - 473, 475, 512, 513, 522, 523, 524, 529, 531, 637, 638, 760
  • IOWA DELEGATION (minutes of caucus held March 13, 1897, to vote on candidates for various offices in the Northern District of Iowa) 1328
  • IOWANS IN GOVERNMENT EMPLOYMENT (long list as shown by "Blue Book") 1323, 1324, 1325 - 1327 
  • Iowa Plumbing and Heating Co. (Davenport) 688
  • Irwin-Phillips Dry Goods Co. (Keokuk) 776 - 777
  • Sub-Series: J
  • Box 1:
  • Jackson, W. R. (Superintendent, Lincoln, Nebraska, Dept. of Public Instruction) 935c
  • Jager, Henry and Co. (Davenport) 642
  • JAMESTOWN EXPOSITION (observance of Sabbath at, military exhibits at, and appropriations for) 992, 993, 996 - 997, 998, 999, 1001, 1002, 1003, 1004, 1005, 1006, 1010, 1011, 1015, 1016, 1017, 1018, 1027, 1034, 1038, 1041, 1042, 1043, 1046, 1048, 1068, 1089 
  • JAPANESE LABOR IN SAN FRANCISCO 1219 
  • JENKINS, J.E. 340
  • John, L. F. (Annville, Pa.) 1121
  • Johnson, H. M. (Hopkinton, Iowa) 784
  • JONES, WILFRED P. 177, 180 
  • "JOSEPHINE" (Alaskan schooner seized by U.S. Gov't.) 938 
  • Judson, A. B. (Master, State Grange of Iowa, Hillsdale) 1055 
  • Justice, Theodore (Wool Comm. Merchant, Philadelphia) 400 - 400c
  • Sub-Series: K
  • Box 1:
  • Kate Shelly Lodge, No. 204, B. of R.T. (Boone, Iowa) 980, 1112a 
  • KAW RIVER IMPROVEMENT BILL 295, 296 
  • KEATLEY, HENRY B. 498 - 500a 
  • Keatley, Mrs. Lydia (Washington, D.C.) 498 - 500 
  • Keely, F. W. (Davenport Light Co.) 723
  • Keep, C. H. (Acting Sec., U.S. Treasury Dept.) 330, 610
  • Keffer, William B. (Sec., Capital City Gas-Light Co., Des Moines) 300 - 301
  • Keith, Mrs. Cora E. (Sec., Des Moines Political Equality Club) 392 - 393
  • Kelly, J. A. & Co. (Davenport) 685
  • Kelly, W. S. (Davenport) 733
  • Kendrick, W. R. (Sec., Commercial Club of Keokuk, Iowa) 1233 - 1234
  • *Kendrick, W. R. (Keokuk, Iowa) 1241 
  • KEPHART, BISHOP E. B. 1121
  • Kerns, Frank A. (Wyoming, Ill.) 1171 - 1171a
  • Kerr, Rev. George A. (South Glens Falls, N.Y.) 1001
  • Kessler, Reuben M. (Upper Nyack, N.Y.) 1172
  • Ketcham, J. C. 170, 179
  • Kettler, Dr. Carl W. (Washington, D.C.) 1208 - 1209
  • Kiene, Peter (Dubuque insurance man) 745, 875
  • Kiesel, George W. (Dubuque attorney) 292
  • Kimm, Leonard (Keystone, Iowa, grain and coal dealer) 611 - 612
  • Kinne, L. B. 142
  • Kinney, F. G. (Carroll, Iowa) 218
  • Kirk, James S. Perfume Co. (Chicago) 955 - 956
  • KIRKWOOD, MRS. SAMUEL (widow of Iowa Gov. ) 949 - 950
  • Klaus, S. W. (Earlville, Iowa) 286
  • Klein, J. J. (Sec., Iowa Liquor Dealers' Assoc.) 272
  • Knowles, Rev. T. B. (Cleveland, Ohio) 1065
  • Sub-Series: L
  • Box 1:
  • Lacy, B. W. (Dubuque attorney) 291
  • *Lacy, B. W. 306a
  • LACY, B. W. 1312, 1346, 1347 - 1347a
  • * Lacy, Mrs. B. W. (Dubuque, Iowa) 1295, 1296, 1297, 1298
  • LAFAYETTE MONUMENT 51
  • LA FOLLETTE BILL (see Railroad 16 Hour Bill) 
  • Lake, Jed (Independence attorney) 116 - 117
  • *Lake, Jed 118 - 119
  • Lake, William (Clinton, Iowa) 320 - 329
  • LAMB, CAPT. CALEB (Newton, Iowa) 1113
  • Lamp Iron Co. (Davenport) 656
  • Lassalee, C. F. (Commissioner, Office of Indian Affairs, Washington) 588
  • Law, M. A. 172
  • Lawler Iowa Farmers 979
  • Lawrence, A.H. (Chicago) 249
  • LEATHER (tax on) 969 - 970, 974 - 975, 976 
  • Lecklaire, J.A. (Davenport) 729
  • Lee, T.J.J. (Prof. at U.S. Naval Observatory) 48
  • LEE, T.J.J. 49
  • LEECH, MISS ROSIE A. (Albia, Iowa) 204, 223
  • Legislative Committee of Tri-City Labor Congress (Clinton, Iowa) 156
  • Le Mars, Iowa, farmers 982
  • Lenehan, D.J. (Dubuque attorney) 292
  • LENIHAN, JOHN M. 61a, 215, 222
  • Lenihan, John M. (surveyor of Customs for Port of Dubuque) 213, 214
  • Leopold Desk Co. (Burlington, Iowa) 1051
  • Leonard, C.T. (C.B. & Q. R.R., Creston, Iowa) 1260 - 1262
  • Lesser, W.R. (Tama, Iowa) 456 - 458, 546 - 548, 589 - 590 (affidavit of p . 593 - 594), 781 - 783 
  • *Lesser, W.R. 453, 589
  • LESSER, W.R. (Federal Court case of at Omaha) 361, 380, 402 - 403, 404 - 405, 407 - 408, 416 - 418, 419, 453, 456 - 458, 528, 546 - 548, 589 - 590, 591 - 592, 593 - 594, 808
  • Letts, Fletcher Co. (Marshalltown) 959
  • Lewis, Rev. John B. (Troy, N.Y.) 1010
  • Lfngafelt Co. (Davenport) 660
  • *Lichty, E.M. (Waterloo, Iowa) 1135
  • Lichty, George E. (Waterloo grocer) 506, 639
  • Lillis, William M. (Davenport) 673
  • LINCOLN, ABRAHAM (Quotation attributed to him) 1301 - 1301a
  • Linden, H.J. (Mayor, Le Mars, Iowa) 1117
  • LINEHAN, BART 1322
  • Linkletter, F.D. (Agr. College, Mich.) 1091
  • LITTLEFIELD SHORT HAND BILL 319
  • Lloyd, R.N. (Chicago real estate man) 1081 
  • *Lodge, Henry Cabot (Mass. Sen.) 237 - 241
  • Loeb, William (Sec. to Pres. Roosevelt) 893
  • LONG, CHARLES ALBERT 953 - 953a
  • Longwell, O. H. (Pres., Highland Park College, Des Moines) 935c
  • Loose, E. (M.?) 90
  • Lorenz, James N. (Northwestern University, debating team) 1238
  • *Lorenz, James N. 1263
  • Loring, Augustus P. (Pres., Plymouth Cordge Co., Boston, Mass.) 262
  • Lost Nation, Iowa, businessmen 712
  • Lothrop, J.S. (attorney, Sioux City, Iowa) 184 - 185
  • LOUISIANA (Homesteading and Surveying in the state of) 381 - 383 
  • Loup City, Nebraska, school board 935d
  • LOVE, H.K. (of Alaska) 1187
  • LUCAS, MRS. SAMUEL L. 1025 - 1026
  • LUNDBECK, W.G. (St. Louis, Mo.) 1321
  • Lunger, W. W. (Davenport attorney) 607, 703
  • Lusch, A. I. (Dubuque, Iowa) 205
  • *Lusch, A. T. (Dubuque banker) 138 - 139
  • Lusk, H.C. (Davenport) 666
  • Lymburner, F.A. 159
  • Sub-Series: M
  • Box 1:
  • Mabie & Headington (Sioux City merchants) 572
  • MacAllister, Rev. John (Missouri Valley, Iowa) 871 - 874 
  • McCabe, William P. (Sec., San Francisco Labor Council) 1219 
  • McCaffrey, James P. (Davenport) 699
  • McCarthy, J.J. (Dubuque attorney) 203, 215
  • McClain, Emlin (Iowa Supreme Court judge) 133, 187
  • McClintock, N. B. (Chapin, Iowa, stock raiser) 597
  • McCoid, George W., Pres. (Miller's Club of Iowa, Des Moines ) 753
  • McCormick, Joseph Medill (Chicago Tribune) 307, 310
  • *McCumber, P.J. (Sen. from N.D.) 261b
  • Macdonald, Rev. M.J. (Brooklyn, N.Y.) 1041
  • Mc Elsuy, C.M. (Davenport contractor) 731
  • McFadden Coffee and Spice Co. (Dubuque) 532
  • McFadden, J.M. (Chairman, Dubuque Club R.R. Comm.) 261
  • McFa(vel?), J.J. (cashier, Bank of Elma, Iowa) 193
  • McFarland, Mrs. Florence C. (Des Moines, Iowa) 1163 - 1170
  • McFarland, Mrs. Myra (Charitan, Iowa) 387
  • MCFARLAND, WILLIAM M. (Des Moines, Iowa) 1163 - 1170
  • McGinnis, W. H. (Davenport) 716
  • McGlade, M. L. (Hopkinton, Iowa) 784
  • McGugin, D. A. (Davenport) 730
  • MACHINE TOOL MANUFACTURE (Comm. to explore the increase of this trade in Europe) 1152, 1154
  • Mackey, Naomi (W.C.T.U. of Sac City, Iowa) 371 - 372
  • MCKINZEY, WILLIAM (Pres. of U.S.) 58 - 58a
  • McKlveen, J.A. (Chariton, Iowa, doctor) 1054 
  • McLaughlin, C.V. (Gen. Chairman, UPRR Brotherhood Locomotive Firemen, Omaha) 1265 
  • McManus, Hugh (Sec., Kate Shelley Lodge No. 204, B. of R.R. Trainmen, Boone, Iowa) 1112a
  • McMillan, E.A. (U.S. black Paymaster, Island of Guam) 935b
  • McMillan, H. G. (U.S. attorney, North District of Iowa) 380, 402 - 403, 432
  • McMillan, Smith B. (Signal, Ohio) 1066
  • MacNaught, Rev. George K. (Harrison, N.Y.) 1017
  • *McNeely, L.J. (Dubuque, Iowa) 1300
  • Macomber, James H. (attorney, Creston, Iowa) 219, 436
  • McPartland, John K. (Car Inspector, C.B. & Q. R.R., Burlington, Iowa) 1157 - 1161
  • MCSHEVVY MANUFACTURING CO. 129 - 132, 134 - 137
  • Madson, A.A. (Davenport) 644
  • Maher, Charles (Davenport) 718
  • MANCHESTER, IOWA, POST OFFICE 973 
  • Mandersen, Charles F. (Gen. Solicitor, Burlington & Missouri R. R. , Omaha) 361, 404 - 405, 427 - 428, 453
  • MANDINGO CANAL 198 - 200
  • Mann, Horace 88
  • MANSON, WILLIAM S. (Centerville, Iowa) 1024
  • Manson, Iowa, citizens 1275
  • Marble, John M.C. (Pres., Nat. Bank of Calif.) 92, 93, 94 - 95, 174 - 175
  • Marshall County Farmers 985
  • Marshall, Texas, citizens 1271 - 1274
  • Martin, T.S. & Co. (Sioux City) 974 - 975
  • Martin, W.B. (Commissioner, Dubuque Shippers' Assoc.) 449 - 452, 495
  • Martin-Woods Produce Co. (Davenport) 552 - 553
  • Mast, C.A. (bank examiner) 312 - 313 
  • Mather, Mrs. C. M. (Pres., Clarksville Civic Club) 369 
  • Mather, Pomeroy (Washington, Iowa) 991 
  • Matless, A.E. (Sec., Huiskamp Shoe Co., Keokuk) 768 - 769 
  • *Mayers, W.P. (Waterloo, Iowa) 1134 
  • MEAT INSPECTION COST 1264 
  • Mehlhop, H.H. (Dubuque, Iowa) 1311 
  • Merchant's Association of New York 224 - 227, 233 - 234, 237 - 241, 853 - 856, 857 - 861 
  • Merriam, H.C. (Coggon, Iowa, real estate man) 277 - 278 
  • Merrill Co. (Ottumwa & Creston, Iowa) 967 - 968 
  • Merry, J.F. (Ill. Central R.R. man, Dubuque) 303, 1280 
  • *Merry, J.F. 973 
  • MESSAGES AND PAPERS OF THE PRESIDENTS (list of Iowa Libraries and individuals receiving set) 1329 - 1331 
  • Meyer, J.R. (Davenport) 696 
  • MIGRATION FROM FARM TO CITY, problem of 335 - 336, 337 - 338 
  • MILITARY CAMPS (establishment of) 300 - 301, 303 
  • Miller, E.P. (N.Y. Dr.) 91 
  • MISSISSIPPI RIVER IMPROVEMENT 1183, 1200, 1270 
  • MISSOURI RIVER IMPROVEMENT 163, 182, 302, 566, 582, 583
  • Mitchell, John H . (Sen. from Oregon) 2 - 3
  • Mohr, H. (Davenport coal dealers) 657
  • Moloughney, P. 1 - lc, 21 - 21s
  • Monroe, Charles E. (Supt., Div. of Exhibits, Jamestown Exposition) 1189 - 1190
  • *Monroe, Charles E. 1199
  • Moody, William H. (U.S. Sec. of black) 270
  • * Moody, W.H. (U.S. Attorney General) 404 - 405, 416 - 418
  • Moore, Frederic L. (Pres., Washington, D.C., Neighborhood House) 1151
  • Moore, H.J. (Lime Springs, Iowa) 646 - 647
  • Moore, Sybil Jane (Pres., Le Mars Good Gov't. Club) 364
  • Morgan, John T. (U.S. Sen. from Alabama) 824 - 826
  • Morgan, Joseph S. (Postmaster, Dubuque, Iowa) 1289 - 1291
  • Morgan, William W. (Dubuque, Iowa) 1220
  • *Morgan, William W. (Dubuque, Iowa) 1229
  • *Morris, Harrison S. (Philadelphia) 802a
  • Morris, H.W. (Davenport) 652
  • Morrison, J.D. (Reinbeck, Iowa) 533
  • Morrison, John (Dubuque, Iowa) 1216 - 1217
  • Morrow, H.A. (Davenport) 674
  • Morrow, J.C. (School Supt., O'Neill, Nebraska) 935c
  • Mott, Wesley (Neenah, Wisconsin, attorney) 1071
  • Moulton, Iowa, Women 1343
  • Mull, Charles L.& Sons (Muscatine, Iowa) 958
  • Murphy & Susemihl (Davenport) 717
  • Murphy, C.A. (Davenport) 695
  • Muscatine Typographical Union 147
  • Myers, Abram (Examiner, U.S. Pension office) 448, 466, 494
  • MYERS, ABRAM 460, 474, 496, 535, 565
  • Sub-Series: N
  • Box 1:
  • Nabstedt, M.E. & Sons Co. (Davenport) 714
  • Nadler Co. (Davenport) 669
  • Nash, H.S. (Prescott, Iowa) 1106
  • Nason, B.E. 162
  • NATIONAL RECIPROCAL DEMURRAGE LAW (re: R.R.'s duties as common carriers of freight) 1286
  • NEVADA (surveying in the state of) 394 - 397
  • NAVAL APPROPRIATION BILL 282 - 282a
  • NAVAL SUPREMACY BILL 525 - 527
  • NEIGHBORHOOD HOUSE (Washington, D.C.) 1151 - 1151a
  • NEWBY, E.L. 202
  • NEWELL, CHARLES (Clerk in Senate) 2 - 3
  • Newman, A.H. (Sec., Cedar Rapids Candy Co.) 571, 989
  • New York Wall Paper Co. (Des Moines) 638
  • New York World 1299
  • *New York World 1299 (reverse of telegram)
  • NICARAGUA CANAL 195 - 197, 220 - 221d
  • Nichelson & Lorton (Davenport, Iowa) 640
  • Nicholas-Kuhener Cigar Co. (Davenport) 702
  • Noble, Prof. Alvin B. (Ames, Iowa) 912
  • *Noble, Prof. Alvin B. 917 - 925 
  • *Noble, "Hon. Sec." 1 - lc 
  • NOONAN, MISS BERTIE 193 
  • North Platte, Nebraska, Railway Conductors 1201 
  • Nutting, J.R. (Davenport hardware man) 599, 687 
  • Sub-Series: O
  • Box 1:
  • O'Brien, Martin (Internal Revenue Service, Dubuque) 178 
  • O'Connell, Maurice D. (office of the Solicitor of the Treasury, Des Moines) 789 
  • OFFICIAL RECORDS OF THE UNION & CONFEDERATE ARMIES 35, 36, 37, 38, 39 OFFICIAL RECORDS OF THE UNION & CONFEDERATE NAVIES 31, 32 - 32b, 33, 34, 37, 38, 43, 62 
  • Ogden, Mrs. Flora (Iowa W.C.T.U., New Sharon) 356 - 358 
  • Ogg, E. C. (Newton, Iowa, attorney) 1113 
  • OKLAHOMA (see Indian Territory) 
  • OKLAHOMA-ARIZONA STATEHOOD BILL (objection to the word "sex" in) 349 - 350, 351, 352, 354, 355, 356 - 358, 362, 363, 364, 365 - 366, 367 - 368, 369, 370, 371 - 372, 373, 374, 377, 378, 379, 386 - 386a, 387, 388, 389 - 389a, 390, 391, 392 - 393 
  • OLEOMARGARINE TAX 597 
  • Olney, A.R. (Clinton, Iowa, druggist) 587 
  • Omaha train dispatchers 1243 - 1250 
  • ORD, GEN. E. O. C. 188 
  • Order of Railroad Telegraphers 142 
  • Ormsby, A. Scott (Emmetsburg banker) 250 
  • Orrick Brothers (Dubuque grocers) 554 
  • Osage Indian Delegation 626 - 629 
  • Oskaloosa, Iowa, businessmen 1279 
  • OSTEOPATHY 1208 - 1209 
  • OTTUMWA, IOWA (U.S. Court at) 1233 - 1234 
  • Ottumwa, Iowa, Woman's Club 978 
  • Sub-Series: P
  • Box 1:
  • Packard, Levi (Sec., Pinebluff, N.C., Board of Trade) 1059 
  • Packs, Rev. (N.Y.C.) 1000 
  • Palmer & Co. (Sioux City fruit dealers) 573 
  • PANAMA CANAL 79, 195 - 197, 198 - 200, 220 - 221d, 249, 441 - 446, 824 - 826a, 829, 830, 832, 907
  • PANAMA RAILROAD 442 - 446
  • PARCEL POST SYSTEM 486, 1233, 1279
  • Parish, Edward C. (New York attorney) 1046
  • Parker Bros. (Davenport roofing contractors) 650 
  • Parker, L.F. (Grinnell history professor) 434 - 435 
  • *Parker, L.F. 461
  • Parker, Robert L. (Vice President United Telephone Exchange Co., Waterloo, Iowa) 1137
  • Parsons, Edith Payne (Sec., Iowa Equal Suffrage Assoc., Des Moines) 374
  • Parvin, Newton R. (Iowa Masonic Library, Cedar Rapids, Iowa) 1191
  • *Parvin, Newton R. 1203
  • Patterson, Raymond (The Chicago Tribune, Washington Bureau) 1304 - 1308
  • Penrose (Tama, Iowa) 528
  • PENSION BILL 1143
  • PENSION CLAIMS (Civil War) 1 - 1c, 21 - 21s, 26 - 26a, 28
  • PEPPER, CHARLES M. 50
  • Perkins, C.E. (Burlington, Iowa) 55, 122, 472 - 473, 562
  • *Perkins, C.E. 481
  • Perkins, George D. (Iowa Rep.) 27, 59
  • *Perkins, George D. 22 - 24
  • Perry, Clifford V. (attorney, Wilberton, Indian Territory) 763
  • Peterson, A.T. (Columbia Co., Oregon) 1092
  • Pfabe Williams Co. (Davenport) 722
  • Phenise, Legare (Special agent, Treasury Dept.) 208 - 211
  • PHENIX, MR. (clerk in Treasury Dept.) 217PHILIPPINE ISLANDS (U.S. Administration of) 1148 - 1148a, 1319
  • PHILIPPINE NAVIGATION LAW (S. 2259) 224 - 225, 237 - 241, 262 - 262a, 266, 274 - 274a
  • Phillips, Mrs. Anna L. (Washington, D.C.) 810
  • Piekenbrock, F.B. (Dubuque shoe mfgr.) 969 - 970
  • Pienning, J.C. (Davenport) 706
  • Pitcher, Rev. Charles W. (Middleburgh, N.Y.) 1042
  • Plack, G.W. (Johnsonville, N.Y.) 1048
  • Political Equality Club of Sioux City 363
  • Pomeroy, Theodore M. (American Express Co., N.Y.) 625
  • Pope, Albert A. (N.Y.C.) 248
  • Porter, Fitz John 56
  • POSTAL LAWS 1109, 1112, 1193, 1231 - 1232, 1239 - 1240, 1258 - 1259, 1279
  • POSTMASTER APPOINTMENTS 1175 - 1177, 1178 - 1180, 1181, 1182, 1207
  • POSTMASTER CLAIMS 1007, 1008, 1012, 1013 - 1014, 1019 - 1023, 1024, 1025 - 1026, 1028, 1029 - 1032a, 1033, 1035, 1036, 1037, 1039 - 1040, 1095 - 1096, 1104 - 1105, 1107 - 1108, 1111, 1113
  • *Postmaster General (U.S.) 1178 - 1180, 1271 - 1274
  • POST OFFICE DEPT. APPROPRIATION BILL 283, 286
  • Powers-Weightman-Rosenparten Co. (Philadelphia) 1009
  • Powers, William H. (Superior, Wis.) 1080
  • PRATT, E.A. (English author of The Organization of Agriculture) 335 - 336, 337 - 338
  • *Pratt, O. H. (U.S. Sen. for Connecticut) 622 - 624
  • Pray, G. B. (Royal Union Mutual Life Insurance Co. , Des Moines) 308
  • PRIMARY ELECTION LAW (IOWA) 1184 - 1185, 1188
  • Pritchard, Martin (Alden, Iowa) 1012 
  • *Pritchard, Martin 1007
  • PURE FOOD LAW 533, 978, 1069
  • Purves, Alexander 87c
  • Putnam, W.C. (Davenport Attorney) 67 - 68
  • Sub-Series: Q
  • Box 1:
  • QUARLES-COOPER BILL (S. 2439) 261a, 293, 475, 484, 493 - 493a, 510, 519 - 519a, 521, 532, 534
  • Sub-Series: R
  • Box 1:
  • RAILROAD MAIL PAY 55
  • RAILROAD PASSES 1112a
  • RAILROAD RATES (Regulation of) 171 - 171a, 176, 207, 212, 261 - 261a, 413 - 415, 434 - 435, 440, 449 - 452, 454 - 455, 461, 463 - 464, 465, 467, 469 - 471, 479, 481, 482, 483, 485, 487, 488, 490, 493, 495a, 502 - 503, 506, 507, 511, 512, 513, 514 - 516, 517a - 517b, 520, 530, 533, 549a - 549c, 550 - 551, 552 - 553, 554, 559 - 560, 561, 563 - 564, 567 - 568, 571, 572, 573, 578, 579 - 581, 585, 587, 599, 600 - 601, 602 - 602a, 607, 611 - 612, 613 - 614, 617, 618 - 620, 621, 630, 631, 632, 633, 634, 635 - 636, 637, 368, 639, (see also Townsend Bill, pp. 640 - 708), 709 - 710, 711, 735, 739, 740, 748 - 749, 751 - 752, 754, 757, 758, 764, 768 - 769, 784, 786, 787, 798 - 799, 837, 841 - 845, 885 - 890, 912 - 912k, 917 - 925, 977, 979, 981, 982, 983, 985, 987, 994, 1349 
  • RAILROAD SIXTEEN HOUR BILL (La Follette Bill H.R. 18671) 1157 - 1161, 1201, 1243, 1244, 1245, 1246, 1247, 1248, 1249, 1250, 1253, 1256 - 1257, 1260 - 1262, 1265, 1268 - 1269, 1283, 1292
  • "RANCHO del ENCINAL" (J . H. Henry Ranch) 300 - 301 
  • Rawsen, J.K. (Superintendent, Naval War Records) 62
  • Rawson, E.K. (Superintendent, Naval War Records) 32
  • RAYMOND, CPT. (Hampton, Iowa) 236
  • RECIPROCAL DEMURRAGE LAW (see National Reciprocal Demurrage Law) 
  • Reddick, George (Saybrook, Illinois) 1062
  • REED, MR. (Missouri Valley, Iowa, photographer) 871 - 874
  • Reed, H.M. (Waterloo Merchandise Broker) 559 - 560
  • Reed, H.T. (Cresco attorney) 107, 279 - 280, 294 
  • REED, H.T. 284 - 285, 297 - 299
  • Reed, T.B. 41
  • Reel, E. (Supt. of Indian Schools, Wash.) 569
  • Remley, Milton (Iowa City attorney) 244 - 246
  • *Remley, Milton 258 - 260
  • Rennison, Dr. A. G. (Maple View Sanitarium, West Union, Iowa) 1222
  • Rennison, Dr. A. G. 1254
  • Reps Jungk & Co. (Davenport) 732
  • REPUBLICAN MEETING (plans for Iowa along the lines of "lovefeast" held in Indiana and Illinois) 913 - 916, 926 - 928
  • Ressington, George (New Teseingtin, Ohio) 1061
  • REVENUE-CUTTER SERVICE 216 - 216b
  • Reyburn, John E. (Rep. from Pa.) 4
  • Reynolds, A.D. (Bristol, Tenn.) 1079
  • Reynolds, S.M. & Co. (Davenport) 665
  • Rhodes, Ada (Wash. Auditor's office clerk) 267
  • Rich, Mr. (Dubuque) 57
  • Richards, J.W. (Des Moines, Iowa) 1300
  • Richards, W.A. (commissioner, Gen. Land Office, Washington) 589
  • RIDER, MISS ETTA J. (Mt. Ayr, Iowa) 540, 588, 603
  • Rider, J.V. (Dubuque) 761
  • Rider, S.P. (Pres., Rider-Wallis Co., Dubuque) 479, 1093 - 1094*Rider-Wallis Co. (Dubuque) 487
  • Riepe, A. (Davenport druggist) 645
  • Riggs, Mrs. M. (Atlantic, Iowa) 351
  • *Rincker, F.W. (North Platte, Nebraska) 1221
  • Ring(ely?), (M?) B. (comptroller, Treasury Dept.) 120 - 121
  • RIVERS & HARBORS (Texas) 791 - 793, 1218
  • Robbins, C.A. (Winterset attorney) 575 - 576
  • Robertson, Charles A. 160, 183, 570 
  • *Robertson, Charles A. (Onawa, Iowa) 555
  • ROBERTSON, CHARLES A. (Onawa, Iowa) 556
  • Robinson, J.T. (Richmond, Maine) 1107 - 1108
  • Roddewig, Ferd & Sons (Davenport) 698
  • Rogers, L.M. (Davenport Gas Co.) 682
  • Rogers & Pyatt (N.Y. shellac co.) 1067
  • *Rogers, William (Sec., Blakeville Farmers' Telephone) 1136
  • Rohmberg, L.A. (Treas., Iowa Liquor Dealers Assoc.) 264
  • Roland, E. (T.?) (Eldon, Iowa) 1013 - 1014
  • Roork, John R. 61
  • Roosevelt, Theodore (Pres. of U.S.) 518, 518a, 1348, 1349 
  • *Roosevelt, Theodore 213, 817 - 819, 907 - 909
  • ROOSEVELT, THEODORE 893, 1208
  • ROUNDAWAY MANUFACTURING CO. 77 - 78
  • Ruby, S.G. (Dept. of Interior, Gen. Land Office) 429, 549 
  • RUBY, MR. S.G. (of Winterset) 420, 421, 575 - 576 
  • Ruete, T.W. (Dubuque) 742 
  • RURAL MAIL CARRIERS AND NEWSPAPER SUBSCRIPTIONS 273, 277 - 278, 307, 310
  • Ruthven, Iowa, Farmers 983 
  • Sub-Series: S
  • Box 1:
  • SABINE LAKE IMPROVEMENT (in Texas) 574 
  • SAC & FOX CLAIMS (H.R. 5215; S. 3459) 271 
  • Saloon Keeper's Union (Dubuque, Iowa) 265 
  • SAMMIS, MR. J. (charge against for favoritism shown his brother E.P. Sammis) 184 - 185, 289, 489a - 489c, 736 - 737, 741, 742, 743, 744, 745, 746, 747, 761, 762, 772, 778, 789
  • Sanderson, T.H. (U.S. black Paymster, Guam) 935a
  • SAN DOMINGO TREATY 802a, 806, 807 
  • Sanford, Rev. E.B. (Sec., N.Y. Inter-Church Conference on Federation) 1122
  • *Sanford, Rev. E.B. 1124
  • Sardam, George S. (Clinton lumberman) 475
  • *Sardam, George S. 488
  • Schick, John (Davenport) 662
  • Schmidt, Fred A. (I.C.C., Washington, D.C.) 1155 - 1156
  • Schofield, Graycie K. (Philadelphia) 1143
  • Schofield, Sevill (Imperial Woolen Co., Philadelphia) 400a - 400c
  • Schuerman, H. (Pres., Carrollton Furniture Mfg. Co., Carrollton, Ky.) 1084
  • Schurman, Clark E. (Beloit, Wis., printer) 1052
  • Scott, Prof. Clifton (Highland Park College, Des Moines, Iowa) 935e 
  • Scovel, Rev. D. (Clinton, N.Y.) 1038
  • SENATE BILL 3805, 52nd Congress 473
  • Serrell, Edward W. (Brig. Gen., U.S. Army) 198 - 200
  • Sfunt, Dr. W. F. (Davenport) 704
  • Shaffer, C. F. (Wellman, Iowa, cattleraiser) 954
  • Shaver, Rolland (Sec., Dubuque Commercial Club) 750 
  • Shaw, Leslie M. (Gov. of Iowa and U.S. Sec. of Treasury) 54, 119a, 123 - 237, 159b - 159c, 180, 223, 236, 254, 447, 468, 489, 555, 556, 595 - 596, 604 - 605a, 898
  • *Shaw, Leslie M. 177
  • SHAW, LESLIE M. 1209
  • Shaw, Mrs. Myra A. (Sec., Mother's Club, West Liberty, Iowa) 391
  • Shell Rock, Iowa, businessmen 779
  • Shelton, Arthur B. (clerk, U.S. Senate Comm. on Finance) 1225
  • Shepard, E.D. (Rochester, N.Y.) 993
  • Sherman, John (Sec. of State) 40
  • Shields, James H. (Dubuque) 743 
  • SHILOH MONUMENT CONTROVERSY (re: 15th and 16th Iowa Regiments) 864 - 866, 875, 876 - 877, 879, 880, 883, 891 - 892, 894 - 897a, 903, 905
  • SHIP SUBSIDY 189 - 190
  • Shiras, O.P. (Iowa District Judge) 80 - 82, 297 - 299
  • SHIRAS, O.P. (question of his successor) 100, 102 - 104, 107, 108 - 109, 110, 116 - 117, 118 - 119, 119a, 133, 157 - 158, 159b - 159c, 235, 236, 244 - 246, 258 - 260, 279 - 280, 284 - 285
  • Shival, O.P. 206
  • Shoemaker, E.R. (Sec., Fred L. Kimball Pub. Co., Waterloo, Iowa) 1231 - 1232, 1258 - 1259
  • *Shoemaker, E.R. (Waterloo, Iowa) 1239 - 1240, 1266
  • Shoemaker, F.L. (Sec., Sterling Debenture Corp., N.Y.C.) 1173
  • Shoemaker, James H. (Gen. Mgr., Corn Belt Telephone Co., Waterloo, Iowa) 1141
  • *Shoemaker, James H. 1142
  • Shoup, George L. (Senator) 2 - 3
  • Shoup, George L. (Senator) 2 - 3
  • Sidener, Rev. William Martin (Lake Placid, N.Y.) 999
  • Siders, J.B. (C.B. & Q. R.R. conductor, Centerville, Iowa) 1256 - 1257
  • Simon & Landauer (Davenport) 658
  • Simpson, John C. (Sec. of Iowa State Dept. of Agr.) 467
  • *Simpson, J.C. 484
  • SIMS, DORA 192
  • Sims, J. 192
  • SIXTEEN HOUR BILL (see Railroad Sixteen Hour Bill) 
  • Sloan, Iowa, farmers 987
  • SMITH, LIEUT. A. ST. CLAIR 229 - 232, 243
  • Smith Bros. & Burdick Co. (Davenport) 681
  • Smith, Ed. M. (Chairman, Winterset Republican Central Comm.) 433
  • Smith, F.W. (Pres., Amazon Vinegar and Pickling Works, Davenport) 697
  • SMITH, JAMES F., GOV.-GEN. OF THE PHILIPPINES, (address of) 1148 - 1148a 
  • Smith, Joseph P. (Dir., Bureau of Amer. Republics) 30
  • SMITH, JUDGE 834, 835 - 836
  • Smith, Lewis H. (Algona, Iowa) 1008
  • *'Smith, Lewis H. 1008
  • Smith, Mrs. M.E. (Edgewood, Iowa, W.C.T.U.) 377, 378
  • Smith, Sam (Winterset attorney) 420
  • SMITH, SAM C. 421, 422, 430, 431, 433
  • Smith, Walter I. (U.S. Rep. from Iowa) 864 - 866, 883
  • Smith, William Alex (New York City) 1034
  • SMITHSONIAN INSTITUTION (list and description of various departments under the regents of) 1332 - 1336
  • SMOOT, REED (Sen. from Utah) 141, 146, 149, 152
  • Somers Bros. (Dickens, Iowa) 780
  • Soper, E.H. (Emmetsburg attorney) 225
  • Souder, W.P. (clerk in Bureau of Engraving and Printing) 173, 186, 275 - 276, 331 
  • SPAIN (U.S. treaty with) 863 
  • Spalding, Harvey (Washington, D.C., attorney) 1007, 1008, 1029 - 1032
  • SPALDING, HARVEY 1033 
  • Spencer Grocery Company (Oskaloosa, Iowa) 966 
  • Spencer, H.L. (1st v. pres., Western Grocer Co., Oskaloosa) 440, 465 
  • Spencer, M.A. & Co. (Oskaloosa, Iowa) 302 
  • Spielman, Capt. John A. (Fairfield Banker) 474 
  • SPOKANE POWER & TRANSPORTATION CO. (application for permission to occupy a water power site on Ft. Spokane Military and Indian Reservation in Washington) 375 - 376f, 423 - 426b
  • Spooner, Mrs. C.M.C. 201 
  • SPOONER, H.G. 153 - 154 
  • SPOONER LAW 825 - 826 
  • Sprague, Dr. E.K. (U.S. Consel Gen., Calcutta, India) 165 - 166 
  • SPRAGUE, DR. E.K. 219, 257, 436
  • Squire, Watson C. (Sen.) 2 - 3 
  • Stanbery, John S. (Mason City, attorney) 535 
  • Stanchfield, D. (Minneapolis, Minn.) 906 - 906a 
  • Standing, Henry (Earlham, Iowa) 1103 
  • Standwood, Edward (the Youth's Companion, Boston) 846 
  • *Stanwood, Edward 847 - 851
  • STEEL TRUST 98 - 98b, 99, 129 - 132, 134 - 137, 140, 150, 151 
  • Stephenson, S.M. (Menominee, Mich.) 492
  • ST EWART, COL. (Puerto Rico) 833 - 834, 835 - 836 
  • Stewart, J.T. (Council Bluffs grocer) 735
  • Stewart, O.E. (Div. Supt., C.B. & Q. R.R., Burlington, Iowa) 1268 - 1269 
  • *Stewart, O.E. 1292
  • STEWART, ROBERT W. 235 (586?)
  • Stewart, William M. (Sen.) 2 - 3
  • Stiles, Rev. D.M. (Pastor, First Baptist Church, Mt. Pleasant, Iowa) 247
  • Stonge, H.A. & Co. (Davenport) 668
  • STORMS, REV. ALBERT BOYNTON (Memorial Day Address in Des Moines) 282a
  • Strawberry Point, Iowa, businessmen 788
  • Struble, G.R. (Toledo, Iowa, attorney) 271, 540, 603, 772, 778
  • Struble, I.S. (Le Mars, attorney) 762, 789
  • Stubbs, W.B. (Savannah, Ga.) 1056
  • Summers, Dr. L.F. (Iowa state Rep.) 565
  • SUMMERS, W.S. (U.S. attorney) 404
  • Swalm, Albert W. (U.S. Consul, Southampton, England) 101, 111
  • Swan, W.H. (Sec., Consumers Ice Co., Sioux City ) 398 - 399
  • Swank, James M. (Gen. Mgr., Amer. Iron and Steel Assoc., Philadelphia) 113, 128, 129 - 132, 809
  • SWANK, JAMES M. 134 - 137
  • SWIFT & CO. (Chicago) 852 - 852a
  • Sub-Series: T
  • Box 1:
  • Tackaberry Co. (Sioux City) 510, 617
  • *Tackaberry Co. 522
  • Taft, Stephen H. (Sawtelle, Calif.) 1070
  • Taft, William Howard (U.S. Sec. of War) 795, 880
  • *Taft, William Howard 876 - 877
  • TALLOW TAX 955 - 956
  • TARIFF (American) 112, 122a, 128, 129 - 132, 134 - 137, 150, 398 - 399, 400 - 400d, 414 - 415, 438 - 439, 462, 476, 595 - 596, 604 - 605a, 795, 806, 809 - 809a, 811 - 812, 815, 1172, 63, 65 - 66, 67 - 68, 69
  • TARIFF (English) 101 - 101a, 111 - 111a
  • TARIFF (European countries and reciprocity treaties with U.S.) 857 - 861, 862, 867 - 870, 954, 955 - 956, 971, 1278
  • TARIFF (German) 508 - 509
  • TARIFF (Philippines Sugar, Tobacco, and Co). 492, 497 - 497a, 536 - 539, 622 - 624, 1144 - 1146
  • TARIFF (Puerto Rico) 63, 65 - 66, 67 - 68, 69, 1144 - 1146, 1304 - 1308
  • Tate, James A. (Harriman, Tenn.) 1078
  • Taylor, H.A. (Sec. in Treasury Dept.) 938
  • TEA (opposition to placing a duty on) 957, 958, 959, 960, 961, 962, 963, 964, 965, 966, 967 - 968, 972, 1311
  • Teal, Dr. C. (Linville, N.C.) 1101
  • Teal, Mrs. M. J. (Linville, N.C.) 1060
  • TELEGRAPHERS ASSISTANCE 162 - 162a
  • TELEGRAPHONE (investment opportunities in) 1173 - 1173a
  • TELEPHONE EXCHANGES (Independent) 1125 - 1131a, 1133, 1134, 1135, 1136, 1137,1138, 1139, 1140, 1141, 1142
  • Terril, Iowa, W.C.T.U. 379
  • Test, E.F. (Chairman, The Commercial Comm. of Council Bluffs) 314 - 315, 332 - 333
  • Thayer, Arthur L. (Gen. Sec., Cornell University Christian Assoc.) 1085
  • THOMAS, COL. EARL D. (11th U.S. Cav.) 817 - 819, 828
  • Thomas, W.S. 150
  • Thompson Bros. Hardware (Muscatine, Iowa) 1112
  • Thompson, E.M. (Independence, Iowa) 1186
  • *Thompson, E.M. 1192
  • Thompson, Robert J. 51
  • Thorndike, Rachel S. (Gen. Sherman's daughter) 287 - 288
  • Thuring, Charles F. (Pres., Western Reserve Un.) 46
  • Thwaites, P.J. (Humboldt, Kansas, real estate man) 1049
  • Tiffany, A.S. (Davenport) 705
  • Tillinghast, B.F. (The Davenport Democrat and Leader, Davenport, Iowa) 1285
  • Tolerton, O.O. (Sioux City grocer) 513
  • *Tolerton, O.O. 524
  • Torbert, W.H. (Dubuque) 741, 840
  • *Torbert, W.H. 838 - 839
  • TOWNSEND BILL 640, 641, 642, 643, 644, 645, 646 - 647, 648, 649, 650, 651, 652, 653, 654, 655, 656, 657, 658, 659, 660, 661, 662, 663, 664, 665, 666, 667, 668, 669, 670, 671, 672, 673, 674, 675, 676, 677, 678, 679, 680, 681, 682, 683, 684, 685, 686, 687, 688, 689, 690, 691 - 692, 693, 694, 695, 696, 697, 698, 699, 700, 701, 702, 703, 704, 705, 706, 707, 708, 712, 713, 714, 715, 716, 717, 718, 719, 720, 721, 722, 723, 724, 725, 726, 727, 728, 729, 730, 731, 732, 733, 734, 740, 750, 751 - 752, 753, 759, 765 - 766, 767, 770 - 771, 773 - 775, 776 - 777, 779, 780, 785, 788, 790, 800 - 801 
  • Trades and Labor Council of Centerville, Iowa 144
  • Treat, C.P. (of Chicago) 195 - 197
  • Tri-City Electric Co. (Davenport) 672
  • Troutman, James A. (Chairman, Commercial Club of Topeka, Kansas) 228
  • Turner, Asa (Pres., Iowa Corn Growers Assoc., Farrar, Iowa) 1099
  • Tyler, L.S. (author, History of 15th Iowa Infantry, Keokuk, Iowa) 891 - 892, 894 - 897
  • Sub-Series: U
  • Box 1:
  • Underwood, F.D. (Pres., Erie R.R. Co.) 268 - 269 
  • United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America (Union 1508, Oelwein, Iowa) 155 
  • UNIVERSITY OF THE UNITED STATES (Bill for establishment of ) 940 - 944a, 1223 - 1224, 1267 - 1267b
  • Updegraff, Milton (Pres., U.S. Naval Observatory) 282, 951
  • UPDEGRAFF, MILTON 48
  • UPPER MISSISSIPPI RIVER IMPROVEMENT ASSOCIATION 200b - 200c, 1194, 1200
  • U.S. CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION (examinations of) 216, 269, 931 - 935, 1192, 1220
  • Utter, Mal(vina?) (Clealmu, Wash.) 1090
  • Sub-Series: V
  • Box 1:
  • Vance, W.H. (Sec., Republican Central Comm., Winterset, Iowa) 430
  • Van Duzee, A.J. (Clerk, U.S. Circuit and District Courts, Northern District of Iowa) 290
  • VAN DUZEE, A.J. 206, 284 - 285, 291, 292, 294, 297 - 299, 309, 311
  • Van Dyck, E.D. (Greenville, N.Y.) 1016 
  • VAN HORN, HENRY K. 
  • Van Horn, R.T. (Kansas City, MO.) 242
  • Van Patton, John P. (Davenport grocer) 512
  • Varnum, James P. (Centerville, S.D., farmer) 1098
  • Vernier, J.H. (Archbold, Ohio) 1063
  • Vogt, H.H. (Davenport Alderman) 725
  • Sub-Series: W
  • Box 1:
  • Wable Foundry (Davenport) 690
  • Wagner, R.G. (Pres., Wisconsin Sugar Co., Milwaukee) 536 - 539
  • Waite, J.L. 65 - 66
  • Waldron, E.N. (Daytona, Florida) 1054
  • Walker, J.H. (former Rep. from Mass. ) 70 - 76 
  • Walker, M.M. Co. (Dubuque) 800 - 801
  • Wallace, Henry (Des Moines Publisher) 266, 413 - 415, 463 - 464, 811 - 812
  • *Wallace, Henry 483, 815
  • Walker, J. Robert (Oxford, England) 1149 - 1150, 1204
  • Wallingford, J.D. (Des Moines attorney) 1025 - 1026
  • Walsh, W. (Supt., Gas and Electric Co., Davenport) 651
  • WALTER, OLIVIA AND IDA 4 - 4a
  • WALTER, THOMAS A. 4a
  • Ward, C.M. 5 - 6
  • Ward, Milo (Advertising Sec., Commercial Exchange, Des Moines) 493 - 493a
  • Ward, Dr. W.H. (Phoenix, Arizona) 359
  • Washburn Halligan Coffee Co. (Davenport) 654
  • Washburn, William D. 63 - 64, 1302
  • Washington Branch Sanitarium (Washington, D.C.) 1214
  • Waterloo, Iowa, business firms 759
  • Waterloo, Iowa, citizens 1114 - 1114a
  • Waugh, Rev. Arthur J. (Monticello, N.Y.) 1011
  • Waverly, Iowa, businessmen 713
  • Webb, Frank E. (Westbrook, Maine) 1111
  • Weller, H. 1086 - 1087
  • Wellford, Walter L. (Sec., National Coopers' Assoc.) 1044
  • West, R.H. (Pres., The Receivers and Shippers Assoc. Co. of Cincinnati) 885 - 890
  • WESTERN RESERVE UNIVERSITY 46
  • Wharton, Joseph (Pres., American Iron and Steel Assoc., Philadelphia) 806, 807
  • WHEELOCK, GEORGE H. (U.S. Internal Revenue Agent, Cincinnati) 305, 306
  • White, George A. (N.Y. State Sec., Patriotic Orders Sons of America) 1226
  • White, S.V. 161
  • Whitehead Machy Co. (Davenport) 663
  • Whitehead, W.W. (Davenport) 664
  • Whiteley, James Gustavson (Consulate General, Congo Free State) 1202
  • *Whiteley, James G. 1206
  • Whitman, Clarence (Pres., Merchants' Assoc. of N.Y.) 853
  • Why Clo Co. (Davenport) 720
  • Wickersham, F. (Carroll, Iowa) 218
  • Wickham, W. 26
  • Wight, N.S. 10
  • WIGTON, MRS. (Sioux City, Iowa) 254
  • Wilcoxon, T.D. (Freeport, Illinois) 1047
  • Wilkinson, A.W. (Winterset attorney) 422
  • WILKINSON BILL 610
  • *Wilkinson, J.B. (New York) 
  • WILKINSON, J.B. 625 
  • Wilkinson, Thomas (Pres., Upper Mississippi River Improvement Assoc.) 406
  • Willett, J.W. (Tama, Iowa, attorney) 407 - 408, 808 
  • Williams, Rev. A.S. (Marshall, Texas) 1175 - 1177, 1178 - 1180, 1181 - 1182 
  • Williams, Iowa, farmers 1278 
  • Williams, L.F. (Denver , Colorado) 577, 584 - 584a 
  • Williams, Rev. Leighton (Amity House, N.Y.C.) 1043 
  • Williamson, E.E. (Commissioner, Receivers and Shippers Assoc. of Cincinnati) 519 
  • Williamson, Rev. H.R. (Waterport, N.Y.) 992 
  • WILLIAMSON, RALPH (Portland, Oregon) 936 
  • Wills, Ira W. (Keokuk grocer) 767 
  • WILSON, A.J. 205 
  • Wilson, Edward C. (Principal, Friends School, Baltimore, Md. ) 1102 
  • Wilson, H. (Greeley, Iowa) 787 
  • Wilson, J.W. (Sec., Corn Belt Meat Producers' Assoc., Sac City, Iowa) 529, 534 
  • *Wilson, James (U.S. Sec. of Agriculture) 337 - 338 
  • WILSON, O.H. (Marshall, Texas, postmaster) 1175 - 1177, 1178 - 1180, 1181 - 1182, 1271 - 1274 
  • Wilson, P.M. (U.S. Senate Financial Room) 863 
  • Wirt, Van A. (Omaha Train Dispatcher) 1253 
  • Witt, H.J. (Davenport, Iowa) 679 
  • Wittenberg, H. Jr. and Co. (Davenport) 659 
  • Woaster, Will (Whiteriver, Arizona) 345 - 348 
  • WOMAN'S REFORMATORY (establishment of in Iowa) 1343 
  • Women's Christian Temperance Union of Central City, Iowa 355
  • Women's Suffrage Club, Shell Rock, Iowa 370 
  • Wood, Carl E. (Sec., Sioux City Lodge 64, B. of L. F.) 1276 - 1277
  • Wood, A. Cry Co. (Davenport) 643
  • Wood, M.D. (Independence, Iowa) 384 - 385
  • Woods, W.S. 84 - 87
  • WOOL TAX 23, 400 - 400d
  • Woolverton, B.W. (Sec. and Treas., Spokane Power and Transportation Co.) 423 - 426
  • Woolworth, W.S. (Brooklyn, N.Y.) 1005 
  • WOOST ER, MR. 401 
  • WORMLEY, GARRETT (Clerk, Bureau of Printing and Engraving) 816
  • Wormley, Mrs. Garrett (Brookland, D.C.) 816
  • Worrell, Louis W. (Brandon, Oregon, teacher) 931 - 935
  • *Worrell, Louis W. 935a, 935b
  • WORRELL, PROF. LOUIS W. 935a - 935e 
  • Wright, Carroll (Des Moines attorney) 102 - 104
  • *Wright, Carroll 105 - 106
  • Wright, Craig L. 108 - 109
  • *Wright., Craig L. 110
  • WRIGHT, CRAIG L. 102 - 104, 105 - 106, 133, 244
  • Wright, George G. (Washington, D.C.) 304 
  • Wyand, S.S. (Pres., Memorial Union, Mason City, Iowa) 1193 
  • *Wyand, S.S. 1215
  • Wybrant, G.D. (Dubuque, Iowa) 1299 (reverse of telegram)
  • *Wybrant, G.D. 1299 
  • Wyer, M.G. (Librarian, State Un. of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa) 1198
  • *Wyer, M. G. 1205
  • Wylie Fuel Co. (Davenport) 728z
  • Wyman, Walter (U.S. Surgeon -General) 257
  • Sub-Series: Y
  • Box 1:
  • Young, Henry (Manson, Iowa, physician) 460
  • Young, John Alex (Washington, Iowa, bank cashier) 496
  • YOUNKER BROS. (Des Moines) 604, 608
  • Sub-Series: Z
  • Box 1:
  • Zeigler, S.B. (Pres., Fayette County Nat. Bank) 574
  • Zeiner Bros. Clothiers (Riceville, Iowa) 976