Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Lyman Whiting Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1836-1906
Creator: Whiting, Lyman (1817-1906)
Extent: 15.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0172
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Congregational clergyman. Diaries, correspondence, sermons, and other materials.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1958 by Allen Langston.

Preferred Citation: Lyman Whiting Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Lyman Whiting was born in North Brookfield, Massachusetts, on April 28, 1817. He graduated from Andover College in 1842. Ordained as a Congregational minister the following year, Whiting spent the rest of his life in churches across the country. His first church was in Brookfield, Massachusetts; from 1864-1869 he was a pastor in Dubuque, Iowa, and his last pulpit was in East Charlemont, Massachusetts. Whiting died in 1906.

The papers of Lyman Whiting consist of 15.5 linear feet of manuscripts dating from 1836 to 1906. The collection contains eight boxes of correspondence of both a personal and professional nature. There are also nine boxes of his sermons. Other items include thirty-three diaries kept by Whiting, newspaper clippings, and manuscripts relating to his various pastorates in Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, New York, Rhode Island, New Hampshire, Iowa, Wisconsin, and West Virginia.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: FAMILY CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: GENERAL CORRESPONDENCE
Series 3: MISCELLANEOUS I
Series 4: CHURCHES SERVED
Series 5: OTHER CORRESPONDENCE
Series 6: MISCELLANEOUS II
Series 7: GENERAL CORRESPONDENCE II
Series 8: SERMON MANUSCRIPTS
Series 9: NEWSPAPERS AND CLIPPINGS
Series 10: GENEALOGY

  • Series 1: FAMILY CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Familly letters - 1832-1891
    17 folders
  • Box 2:
  • Family letters - 1892-1904
    10 folders
  • Whiting silver anniversary - 1868
  • Series 2: GENERAL CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 3:
  • General correspondence - 1830-1885
    30 folders
  • Box 4:
  • General correspondencne - 1868-1905
    15 folders
  • Box 5:
  • Lyman Whiting to Sophia Whiting - 1838-1880
    10 folders
  • Journey of '81 - 1881
  • Death of Sophia Whiting - 1882
  • Death of Lyman Whiting - 1906
  • Box 6:
  • Maude Chamberlain Damon
  • Duncan Family
  • Chas. Duren - 1870-1882
  • Duren Family
  • Arthur Farrar
  • Wm. G. Farrar
  • Abbie Johnson
  • Buelah Small
    Sister of Lyman Whiting
  • Helen Whiting Taggert
  • Agnes Swain Whiting - 1850-1887
  • Daniel Whiting
  • Gertrude Whiting
  • Lewis Whiting
  • Louis Whiting
  • Series 3: MISCELLANEOUS I
  • Box 7:
  • The Advance, correspondence.
  • Certificates
  • "Christian Experiences"
  • Mountaineer's Missionary Band
  • Programs (early)
  • Seminary - college correspondence
  • St. Paul's Institute
  • Lyman Whiting, 80th birthday
  • Lyman Whiting, 86th birthday
  • Sophia's covenant - 1838
  • Box 8:
  • Clippings
  • Mementoes
  • Sermons, unwritten
  • Writings and letters, undated
  • Steel engraving plate and two engravings of L. Whiting
  • Sermon manuscripts
  • Box 9:
  • Denver lots
  • Documents of the 1700s and early 1800s
  • Donations
  • European trip of 1851
  • Investments
  • Investments-Aluminum stock
  • Investments-Bankruptcy C.E. Damon
  • Nomination to Congress, correspondence
  • Funerals - 1884-1906
  • Obituary notices, family and friends
  • Series 4: CHURCHES SERVED
  • Box 10:
  • Brookfield, Massachusetts
  • Brooklyn, New York
  • Charleston, West Virginia
    2 folders
  • Dubuque, Iowa
    2 folders
  • Box 11:
  • Janesville, Wisconsin
    3 folders
  • Lawrence, Massachusetts
    3 folders
  • North Brookfield, Massachusetts
    2 folders
  • Philadelphia
    2 folders
  • Box 12:
  • Philadelphia
    3 folders
  • Portsmouth, New Hampshire
    4 folders
  • Box 13:
  • Providence, Rhode Island
    4 folders
  • Reading, Massachusetts
    2 folders
  • South Williamstown, Massachusetts
  • Series 5: OTHER CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 13:
  • Carthage, Missouri
  • Fox Lake, Wisconsin (Wisconsin Female College)
  • Rockford Seminary
  • Winnetka, Illinois
  • "Tentations" [invitations].
  • Inquiries [for positions].
  • Series 6: MISCELLANEOUS II
  • Box 14:
  • Ledger book - Exchanges and helps book
  • Ledger book - book of receptions
  • Newspaper clippings, Charleston, West Virginia
  • Series 7: GENERAL CORRESPONDENCE II
  • Box 15:
  • Arnold & Snell
  • Alkinson, Rev. T.
  • Allison, W.B.
  • Brancroft, T.H.
  • Clapp, A.H.
  • Curtis, J.S.
  • Dexter, H.S.
  • Farnsworth, Rev. W.A.
  • Field, Henry M.
  • Freeman, Mrs. Julia
  • Frost, Pres. Wm. G. (Berea College)
  • Gardner, Gov. Henry (Mass.)
  • Guernsey, Dr. & Mrs. E.E.
  • Hackett, M.
  • Hampton, N.H.
  • Hitchcock, Prof. R.D.
  • Howe Family letters
  • Huntington, Bishop F.D.
  • Jenning's Family
  • Jones, Rev. Horace
  • Box 16:
  • Laird, James H.
  • Lamson, William
  • Magoun, Goel F. (Pres. Iowa College)
  • Manatt, Prof. I.J.
  • Pratt, S. Brainard
  • Reed, Lewis T.
  • Smith, Prof. H.B.
  • Stearns, W.A. (Pres. Amherst College)
  • Storrs, R.S.
  • Sweetsers
  • Thompson, Wm. A.
  • Vella, Miss Bertha F.
  • Ward, Sarah Liscomb
  • White, Rev. Lorenze J.
  • Willcox, Prof. G. Buckingham
  • Wilson, Rev. Thomas
  • Box 17:
  • Robbins, Dr. A.B.
  • Strong, James W.
  • Trask, Rev. J.L.R.
  • Chaplains - Officers 1862 -
  • Ministers, Iowa
  • Ministers, Western
  • Series 8: SERMON MANUSCRIPTS
  • Box 18:
  • Sermon manuscripts
    Boxes 18-26
  • Box 27:
  • Diaries and manuscripts
  • Box 28:
  • Sermons other than Reverend Whitings
  • Series 9: NEWSPAPERS AND CLIPPINGS
  • Box 29:
  • Clippings -wit and humor
  • Newspapers
  • Box 30:
  • Newspapers
  • Series 10: GENEALOGY
  • Box 31:
  • The Whiton Family in America
  • The Whiton Family - 8th Generation
  • The Whiting Family History. Descendants of Thomas Whitton and the Rev. Lyman Whiting. By Ruth Whitng Krueger, 1991