Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Charles Pickett Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1903-1922
Creator: Pickett, Charles (1866-1930)
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0171
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: U.S. Representative from Iowa and attorney. Subject files relating to his Congressional career. Includes campaign materials, and files on conservation, tariffs, pensions, and other subjects.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Pickett's papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1968 by his son Charles J. Pickett.

Preferred Citation: Charles Pickett Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Charles Edgar Pickett was born near Bonaparte, Iowa, on January 14, 1866. In 1888, he graduated from the State University of Iowa. Two years later he received his degree from its law school. He began his law practice in Waterloo, Iowa, with the firm of Mullan & Pickett. He became the vice-president of Waterloo's Pioneer National Bank and was a member of Iowa's Board of Regents from 1896 to 1909. Pickett was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives as a Republican in 1909. He served in both the 61st and 62nd Congresses. After an unsuccessful bid for a third term, Pickett returned to his law practice in Waterloo, Iowa. In 1926, he was an unsuccessful candidate for the Republican nomination for U.S. Senator. Charles Edgar Pickett died on July 20, 1930, at the age of sixty-four.

Biographical Timeline

January 14, 1866 -- Born Bonaparte, Van Buren County, Iowa; son of Edgar and Glorvina (Ballard) Pickett

1888 -- graduated from State University of Iowa, Iowa City

1890 -- graduated from SUI law school; began law practice in Waterloo, Iowa, with firm of Mullan & Pickett

1896 --1909 -- Vice-president of the Pioneer National Bank (Waterloo) and regent of the State University of Iowa

1899 -- chairman of the Republican State Convention (Iowa)

June 17, 1902 -- married India Parmsley Ryan of Colfax, Iowa

March 4, 1909 -- March 3, 1913 -- served as Republican member, U.S. House of Representatives, 61st and 62nd Congresses

1912 -- unsuccessful candidate for re-election to Congress

1913 -- resumed law practice, Waterloo, Iowa

1916 -- chairman of the Republican State Convention (Iowa)

1920 -- delegate-at-large to Republican National Convention, Chicago

1926 -- unsuccessful candidate for Republican nomination for U.S.

The papers of Charles E. Pickett date from 1903 to 1922 and consist of two linear feet of records. These records are arranged by item number and each individual item in the collection has been indexed by subject and personal name. * denotes recipient of correspondence and items in CAPS indicate a subject.

The papers primarily relate to Pickett's congressional career and political campaigns. Some of the subjects included are conservation, pensions, postal service, Progressive Republicans, Republican party, and tariffs. Correspondence is scattered throughout the collection, with letters from Albert B. Cummings and J. P. Dolliver.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: INDEX

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Items 1-641
  • Box 2:
  • Items 642-1222
  • Box 3:
  • Items 1223-1721
  • Box 4:
  • Items 1722-2480
  • Series 2: INDEX
  • Sub-Series: A
  • Adams, J.T., merchant, 578
  • ADJUTANT GENERAL, appointment of, 767 
  • Adler, C.P., publisher, 59
  • AGRICULTURE, 1046
  • AID TO CATHOLIC SCHOOLS, 1405 
  • Ainsworth, F.C., 1555
  • Ainsworth, F.C., Adjutant General, 1415, 1500, 1682 
  • Akin, R. C., 1361
  • Albert, W.A., 2184
  • Albrecht, F.H., Chairman, Bremer County Republican Central Committee, 623 
  • Albrook, Chas. E., Judge, 111, 1608, 1650, 1700, 1880
  • ALLISON, W.B, 44, 48, 63, 108, 171, 178, 192, 199, 207, 211, 212, 217, 227, 229, 238, 339, 349, 368, 817
  • ALLISON-HENDERSON MEMORIAL ASSOCIATION, 729, 1271
  • ALLISON STATUE, 931, 936
  • Althouse, George F., Publisher, 14, 478, 820, 1238
  • AMERICAN PROTECTIVE TARIFF LEAGUE, 1046 
  • American Woman's League, 1394, 1423, 1434, 1462
  • AMERICAN WOMAN'S LEAGUE, 1394, 1433 
  • Anders, H.F., 2300
  • Anderson, Eugene, 1228
  • Anderson, J. Sid, 1027, 1121, 1122, 1496
  • Andrews, E.P., Lawyer, 30
  • ANTI-TYPHOID VACCINE, request for, 1290, 1334
  • APPORTIONMENT BILL, 1490
  • Arbuckle, J.W., Lawyer, 89, *95, 161 
  • Archerd, J.F., 1390
  • Armstrong, F.J., 1693
  • ARMY CANTEEN, 1560 
  • ARMY DISCHARGE, 1415 
  • Austin, L.J., 2372, 2373 
  • Auner, J.S., 2374 
  • AUTOGRAPH REQUEST, 2480 
  • A.Y. McDonald Mfg. Co., 1237
  • Sub-Series: B
  • Bagensted, Earl, 1126 
  • Bailey, H.P., 1722, 2223, 2344
  • Bailey, W.H., 2345
  • Bain, W.W., merchant, 325, 2318 
  • Ballot of 1912, 2458 
  • Bamber, C.A., *983, 1721
  • Banger, George, postmaster, 751 
  • BANK CHARTER, 1618, 1644
  • BANK EXAMINER, 1608, 1650 
  • BANK ORGANIZING, 1685
  • BANKS AND BANKING, 489, 490, 982, 1055, 1224, 1230
  • Barber, Harry T., merchant, 1908
  • Barker, H.H., 2110
  • Barley, Louis C., Judge, 821, 844
  • Barnes, G.A., Lawyer, 394
  • Barns, A.H., 2281
  • Barnhart, Mrs. Alice E., 1265
  • Barr, Jay C., *1109, *1168
  • Barrett, John, Director, International Bureau of American Republics, 891 
  • Barrett, R.C., Educator, 755
  • BARTHOLDT BILL, 1391, 1394, 1396 
  • Baskerville, E.R., Lawyer, 1921, 2297 
  • BATTLESHIP CONSTRUCTION, 1344, 1355 
  • Baumgartner, Mrs. J.W., 1362 
  • Beals, Will S., 634
  • Beasell, C.M., merchant, 404 
  • Beaumont, E.C., 2375
  • Becker, Chas. D., 1725 
  • Bedford, C.W., banker, 1198
  • Beebe, N.W., banker, 33, 2198
  • Beebe, T.B., 2370
  • Beels, William S., publisher, 190, 371, 1562, 2428
  • Bell, J.R., editor, 118, 1162
  • Bemler, C.A., 2440
  • Bennett, Fred, Commissioner General Land Office, 794, 1589
  • Bennett, J.P., Deputy Collector, Internal Revenue, 1293
  • Bennett, J.W., farmer, 2386, 2401
  • Bennett, John L., 1527
  • Benson, A.D., 351
  • Berend, Mathew, 1878
  • BERGEN, REVEREND JOHN TALMAGE, 679
  • BERGER RESOLUTION, 1549
  • Besler, P.A., 1642
  • Betzler, C.A., 960
  • Billings, C.C., Acting Commissioner, Patent Office, 1428
  • BIOGRAPHICAL PUBLICATIONS, 781, 796, 805, 825, 826, 828
  • Birdsall, B.P., U.S. Representative from Iowa, 452
  • BIRDSALL, BENJAMIN P., U.S. Representative from Iowa, 35, 37, 40, 48, 52, 54, 55, 60, 74, 78, 80, 91, 92, 94, 95, 171, 178, 199, 209, 480, 2406
  • Birdsall, Charles W., 2406
  • Birdsall, John N., banker, *982, 1230
  • Birdsall, M.F., 2197
  • Birdsall, R.W., banker, 143, 347, 1881
  • Block, John C., Civil Service Commission, 1612 
  • Blackwell, J. Scott, 2439
  • Blair, A.S., lawyer, 44 
  • Blair, Fred B., lawyer, 2199 
  • Blake, Mrs. W.R., 1287
  • BOARD OF EXAMINING PHYSICIANS, 1568, 1575 
  • BOARD OF REGENTS, 440, 666, 678, 765, 823, 851, 859
  • Boehmler, C.A., 1315
  • Boehmler, H.E., merchant, 67 
  • Bode, R.C., merchant, 203, 644 
  • Bogenrief, J.I., 1699
  • Boggs, F.C., Corps of Engineers, 1697
  • Bolton, F.B., 2413
  • Bonson, W.W., 1277
  • Bordner, R.L., Mayor, 2289
  • BORROWDALE CASE, 1566
  • Borrowdale, Edwin, 1452
  • Bowers, George M., Superintendent Bureau of Fisheries, *949, 958, 973
  • Bowman, L.J., 1298
  • Boyington, Floyd A., 1284
  • Boyington, John, 2385
  • Boylan, William M., Postmaster, 1123, 2291
  • Boyle, J.W., 1375
  • Bradley, C.C., Chairman, Plymouth County Republican Central Committee, 562, 563, 588
  • Bradley, Chas. H., 1619
  • Brant, C.E., 2426
  • Bratnober, C.P., merchant, 308
  • Bray, Tom J., lawyer, 49
  • Bremer County Republican Central Committee, 623, 632
  • Brewer, L.O., publisher, 2187, 2292, 2420
  • Brenning, S.D., Postmaster, 1151
  • Bretnell, S.C., 2236
  • Broer, William, 1488
  • BROOKHART, SMITH W., 2438, 2444
  • Brown, A.G., merchant, 377, 1879
  • Brown, C.S., 1391
  • Brown, Mrs. George S., 1358
  • Brown, J.W., Jr., 934, *937
  • Brown, John H., 2319
  • Brown, R.C.O., 416
  • Brown, R.W., *891
  • Brown, Tom E., 2443
  • Brown, W.C., 1525, 1577, 1590, 1598, 2235
  • Brown, Will C., *1144
  • Brown, Mrs. W.C., 2416
  • BRYAN, WILLIAM JENNINGS, 543, 571
  • Bryant, W.A., grain brokers, 32
  • Buchanan County Republican Central Committee, 593
  • Buchanan, John, Postmaster, 2222, 2234
  • Buehler, Leonard, 2296
  • "BULL MOOSE" -- See Third Party Movement
  • Bullard, W.E., lawyer, 158, 179, 403, 434, 1175, 1343
  • Bureau of the Census, 1136, 1206, 1213
  • BUREAU OF EDUCATION, 1125
  • Bureau of Fisheries, 1113, 1183
  • Burling, Charles G., lawyer, 165, 172 
  • Burlingame, C.H., banker, 262, 294, 309, 310, 341, 689, 709, 835, 1492, 1530, 2418
  • Burnham, J.J., 2351 
  • BUSINESSMEN, support of, 564
  • Butler, Albert P., 1203
  • Butler, Arthur M., 1459
  • BUTLER COUNTY PRESS, 1531, 1532
  • Butler, F.P., Doctor, 683
  • Butler, John E., 770
  • BYERS, MAJOR S.H.M., 2460
  • Sub-Series: C
  • Cable, B.S., Acting Secretary, Commerce & Labor, 1695
  • Caillard, Joseph, 1521
  • CALIFORNIA EXPOSITION, 1309
  • Calbert, Wade, 564
  • CAMP, F.C., 1157
  • Camp, F.H., publisher, 64, 68, 119, 135, 173, 229, 249, 263, 612, 706, 1155, 1272, 1444, 1514
  • CAMP, F.H., 1531, 1532, 1578, 1602
  • Camp, Henry E., 2350, 2394
  • Camp, Joseph F., 1480
  • Camp, Robert F., lawyer, 42
  • CAMPAIGN CONTRIBUTIONS, 457, 652, 691, 1071, 1074, 1076, 1077, 1080
  • CAMPAIGN EXPENSES, 695, 742, 768, 811
  • CAMPAIGN PROPAGANDA, 1042
  • CANADIAN LANDS, 686
  • CANDIDACY FOR CONGRESS, POST-PRIMARY (Promises of support, speaking engagements, etc.), 412 -- 653
  • CANDIDACY FOR CONGRESS, PRE-PRIMARY, 4, 6, 7, 12 -- 411
  • CANFIELD, Harry L., 945, 948, 949, 954, 958, 961, 962, 963, 964, 965, 966, 967
  • CANNON (old), for G.A.R. post, 1027
  • CANNON, JOSEPH G., attitude toward him, 556, 883, 985 
  • "CANNONISM", 2419
  • Carey, J.A., real estate, 756
  • Carlson, C.J., publisher, 1235
  • Carlton, G.H., banker and contractor, 250, 274
  • CARNEGIE, ANDREW, 1570
  • CARNEGIE ORGAN FUNDS, 1002
  • Carpenter, N.S., Lawyer, 1107
  • Carr, J.E., banker & real estate, 375, 1723
  • Carroll, B.F., Iowa State Auditor, 731, 767, 816
  • Carroll, B.F., Governor of Iowa, 859
  • CARROLL, B.F., GOVERNOR OF IOWA, 1008, 1014, 1017, 1018, 1025, 1028
  • Carter, S.P., 2248
  • Carter, James, lawyer, 185
  • Cass, E.M., 2249 
  • Catchpool, G.W., 2352
  • Cave, Charles R., 1178
  • CAVE, CHARLES R., 1182
  • CENSUS FIGURES, 1136, 1159, 1166, 1206, 1213, 1370
  • CENSUS (1910), 1103
  • CERTIFICATE OF ELECTION, 764 
  • Certificate of Service (Civil War), 2450 
  • Chamberlin, A.W., Superintendent Schools, 1376 
  • Chamberlain, Geor. A., Governor, Oregon, 831
  • Chandler, H. Ellis, 1295
  • Chapin, B.A., 549
  • CHAPLAINS, 1081
  • Chapman, C.W., *1163
  • Chappell, H.C., lawyer, 2261, 2407
  • Chapple, Joe Mitchell, editor, 592, 801
  • Chatfield, J.R., 2404
  • Chicago, Great Western Railroad Employees, 2449 
  • Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railway Co., 1315 
  • CHILDREN'S BUREAU BILL, 1358, 1362, 1408
  • Christensen, H., 2225
  • Churchhouse, R.J., 1641, 1660 
  • Civic Forum, 2448
  • CIVIL SERVICE, 615, 737, 754, 792, 827, 841, 1220, 1293, 1303
  • Civil Service Commission, 1583
  • CIVIL SERVICE JOBS, 1661
  • CIVIL WAR HISTORY, 1466
  • CIVIL WAR STATISTICS, 1555
  • Clark, Burton, *305
  • CLARK, CHAMP, 1499
  • Clark, Howard J., lawyer, 120
  • Clark, J.F., 2377
  • Clark, John A., 2408
  • Clark, Walter E., newspaper correspondent, 611
  • Clarke, L.J., banker, 2200, 2213, 2427
  • Clarkson, J. S., 951
  • Clock, H.C., merchant, 23, 36, 134, 174, 222
  • Clock, Ralph H., Chairman, Franklin County Republican Central Committee, 509, 521, 669, 868
  • Clock, Sherwood A., lawyer, 73, 2414
  • Cloud, A.M., lawyer, 144, 210, 579, 720, 1209, 1214
  • CLOUD, A.M., lawyer, 1023
  • Cloud, P.M., lawyer, 624, 1736, 2224, 2283
  • Coates, F.W., real estate, 443
  • Coates, Francis, Sr., merchant, 677, *699, 1366
  • CODIFICATION BILL, 1312, 1439
  • Cohen, A., 850
  • COIN'S FINANCIAL SCHOOL, 1505
  • COLD STORAGE LEGISLATION, 1570
  • Cole, Frank, Minister, 1002, 1392
  • Collier, Robert J., 888, 1033, 1038
  • Collier's, The National Weekly, 680
  • Collinge, A.J., 1307
  • Commercial Travelers Congress of Iowa, 1233
  • COMMISSIONER OF PENSIONS, 929
  • COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS, 840, 849, 880
  • COMMITTEE MEETINGS, 814, 822, 824, 857
  • COMMITTEE ON RIVERS & HARBORS, 839
  • COMPENSATION BILLS, 1279
  • COMPLIMENTARY RECEPTION, 1379
  • CONFLICT OF INTEREST, 1608
  • CONGRATULATIONS, 1492, 2470
  • CONGRESSIONAL CANDIDATES, 1720
  • Conn, Stanley, State Representative, 83
  • CONNOLLY, MAURICE, 2367, 2399, 2424
  • CONSERVATION, 569, 577, 604, 606, 996, 998, 1008, 1013, 1016
  • Conservation League of America 569, 604
  • CONSERVATION WITHDRAWAL BILL, 2419
  • Considine, T.J., 1279
  • CONTRIBUTIONS, 1457
  • Cook, James, banker, 155, 197, 427
  • Cook, R.R., 2276
  • Coonley, C.T., merchant, 211
  • Corlis, George O., lawyer, 215; Sheriff, 245
  • CORPORATION TAX, 1576
  • COUNTY CONVENTION, 1019, 1026
  • COUNTY CONVENTION DELEGATES, 466
  • COUNTY FAIRS, 1557
  • Courtright, O.B., lawyer, 652, 1299, *1439
  • Cousins, George N., 1724
  • Cousins, W.M., Postmaster, 1759, 2237
  • Cowell, C.W., 2320
  • COWNIE, JOHN, 1008, 1026
  • Cox, C.C., 1929
  • Coyle, D.F., lawyer, 2
  • Craig, George M., Abstracter, 37
  • Crawford, C.F., Governor, South Dakota, 545
  • Creager, W.O., 1243
  • CREDIT RATINGS, 1521
  • Crew, O.K., 2321
  • Crook, Harrison E., 829
  • Cummins, Albert B., 797, 807, 854, 864
  • CUMMINS, ALBERT, U.S. Senator from Iowa, 80, 111, 187, 192, 199, 207, 211, 212, 218, 222, 226, 229, 314, 324, 335, 337, 341, 349, 362, 368, 378, 475, 544, 551, 586, 601, 603, 714, 777, 996, 1008, 1014, 1026, 1142, 1454, 1672, 2072, 2199, 2277, 2352, 2395, 2399, 2411, 2432, 2437
  • Cunningham, William, 42
  • Curtis, F.S., Chief Clerk, Navy Department, 1268
  • Curtis, James T., Assistant Secretary Treasury, 1156
  • Curtiss, William M., 2376
  • CUSTODIANSHIPS, 782, 799, 810
  • CUSTOMS VIOLATION (Will G. Park), 1058
  • Sub-Series: D
  • Dabler, U.G., merchant, 1322
  • DAIRY CATTLE CONGRESS, 1571
  • Daughters of American Revolution, 2446
  • Davenport, J.L., Commissioner of Pensions, 1568, 1575, 2406
  • Davidson, J.F., publisher, 359, 2323
  • Davis, B.E., 2322 
  • Davis, Lloyd, 1281 
  • Dawson, E.A., lawyer, 1400, 1634 
  • Dawson, William, 2355
  • DEAN OF WOMEN, University of Iowa, 917, 918, 919, 920, 922, 924 
  • DEAN RAYMOND OF State University of Iowa, 8 
  • Decker, Theodore C., 1405 
  • DEMOCRATIC PARTY, 1014
  • DEMOCRATIC POLICIES, 2428 
  • Dempster, J.E., 2395, 2398 
  • Dennis, George R., 2301 
  • Dennis, J.B., 819
  • Dennis, William S., merchant, 774 
  • DENNISON, 1014
  • Densmore, John B., lawyer and Labor Union Representative, 507, 909, *910, 913, *914, 1041, 2462
  • DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH, 1487
  • DESERTION (from Navy), 1232, 1299
  • Diehl, George E., 383
  • DINGLEY BILL, 2282, 2402, 2419
  • DIRECT PRIMARIES, 770
  • DIRECT VOTE LEGISLATION, 2282, 2402, 2419
  • Dittmer, J.H., 2387
  • Dittmer, M.E., Dr., 1720
  • Dodge, Grenville M., *931, 936
  • Dolliver, J.P., U.S. Senator from Iowa, 479, 645, 793, 798, 802, 863, 1065, 1078
  • DOLLIVER, J.P., 1082
  • Dolphin, M. Martin, lawyer, 858 
  • Doolittle, F.A., 2317
  • Dow, Victor E., merchant and publisher, *437, 438, 525, 654, 690, *700, 732 
  • Dowding, John T., 128
  • Dowley, Gertrude W., 918
  • Downs, S.W., 2378
  • Doxey, W.T., 710
  • DRAFT SUBSTITUTIONS, 1015
  • Drake, F.E., Postmaster, 2293
  • Dreyer, H.H., 2250
  • Dubuque County Republican Central Committee, 580, 607
  • Dubuque Paper Co., 1294
  • Duffy, Thomas H., lawyer, 1141, 1197, 1313, 1350, 1381, 1513
  • Duncan, J.K., 598, 853
  • Durand, E. Dana, Census Bureau, 1435
  • Sub-Series: E
  • Early, T.M., County Auditor, 1115
  • Eastman, E.W., 855
  • Eaton, W.F., 1739
  • Edgington, W.W., 1174
  • Edmunds, C.R., Brig. Gen., U.S. Army, 1297
  • EDUCATIONAL LEGISLATION, 1158, 1184, 1188
  • Edwards, A.J., lawyer, 1481
  • Edwards, M.F., lawyer, 22, 104, 256, 396, 2353
  • Eickelberg, George C., dentist, 397, 1730
  • Eldridge, R.F., publisher, 1048
  • ELECTION CONGRATULATIONS, 2299, 2309, 2315, 2344, 2345, 2347, 2348, 2349, 2351
  • ELECTION DAY (to change the date of), 980
  • ELECTION DAY (change of date), 1233
  • ELECTION OF SENATOR BY DIRECT VOTE, 1638
  • ELECTION RETURNS, 611, 620, 654-672, 678, 684, 686, 783
  • ELKS LODGE, 467, 499, 504, 627, 663, 698, 717, 722, 728, 736, 740, 760, 784, 806, 821, 843, 844, 866, 879, 934, 935, 937, 959, 968, 1048, 1170
  • ELLIOTT, C., 583, 621, 625, 634, 637, 642, 643, 646, 647, 649, 651, 681, 693, 750, 852
  • Elliott, Charles, Superintendent Schools, 471
  • Ellis, D.H., Banker, 635, *642
  • Elser, Mrs. F. M., 1561
  • Ely, Elizabeth, 1063
  • Engler, E.A., real estate, 299, 311, 869, 870, 871
  • Ensign, W.H., Rev., 1368
  • ESCH PHOSPHORUS BILL, 1259, 1274, 1282, 1294
  • Etheridge, A.L., 1093
  • Ettinger, A.D., 613
  • Ettinger, A.L., merchant, 1737, 1738
  • Evans, David, 1638
  • Evans, David T., 1728
  • Evans, David W., lawyer, 77, 395, 1614
  • Evans, F.J., 738
  • Evans, W.T., lawyer, 50, 264, 1276, 1349, 1671, 2129
  • Evers, J.B., County Auditor, 1416
  • Ewald, William, Liquor Dealers Assn. Agent, 52 
  • Sub-Series: F
  • FAMILY CORRESPONDENCE, 1007
  • Fanning, Joseph S., 503, 504
  • Fanning, Joseph T., 629, 701
  • FARMERS (INCOME AND VALUE), 1328 -- 1332, 1335 -- 1342
  • Farrand, L.A., 2255
  • Faville, F.F., Judge, *956, 957
  • Fay Brothers Publishers, 459
  • FEDERAL AID FOR GOOD ROADS, 2043, 2044, 2045
  • FEDERAL COURT (for Waterloo), 1439, 1441
  • FEDERAL INSPECTION FOOD PRODUCTS, 1372
  • FEDERAL PAY BILL, 2213, 2247
  • Fee, Fred W., 1314
  • Feely, Guy A., 1734
  • Felts, John C., 2105
  • Ferguson, F.A., 1128
  • Fernes, H., 358
  • Ferson, M.L., educator, 502
  • Fieldman, J.B., 2360
  • Fiester, W.A., 1215
  • Fifield, James R., 2104
  • FINANCIAL CONDITIONS, 2438
  • Finlayson, R.M., banker, 439
  • Finuf, O.E., Sheriff, 2069
  • First Assistant Postmaster General, 1684
  • First, B.E., 2326
  • FISH, APPLICATION FOR, 1113, 1183
  • Fisher, Irving M., 2379
  • Fisher, Walter L., Pres. Conservation League of America, 569, 604
  • Fitchpatrick, J.A., State Senator, 955
  • Fitzgerald, E., Sr., 1127, 1661
  • Fitzpatrick & Frantzen, lawyers, 1196
  • Fleming, Augusta, Asstistant P.M., 877
  • Fleming, E.H., 522, 2181, 2478
  • Flynn, L.J., 166, 242, 297
  • Flynn, Leo. J., Secretary, Yale Association of Iowa, 25, 580, 679, 684
  • FLYNN, LEO, 845, 846
  • Flynn, S.S., lawyer, 1891
  • Fogt, Henry, 1369
  • FOOD & DRUG LAWS, 1611 
  • FOOT & MOUTH DISEASE, 1646, 1674 
  • Foote, T.A., merchant, 384 
  • Forest, George S., merchant, 335, *337
  • Foster, F.E., Utilities Manager, 103, 121, 125, 130, 145, 1130, 1486
  • Foster, Frank E., insurance, 685, 782, 810, 2302 
  • FOURTH OF JULY CELEBRATION, 1, 2, 418, 419, 426, 431 
  • Fowler, Charles N., U.S. Representative from New Jersey, 665 
  • Fowler, W.J., Deputy Comptroller Treasury, 1618 
  • Fox, Frank, 2254
  • Frampton, John Ross, 1261, 1301, 1528, 1604
  • Franke, C.F., real estate & Chairman, Republican State Central Committee, 157, 531
  • FRANKE, CARL F., 512 
  • Franke, G., 473 
  • Franklin, Wm. Arnold, President, Upper Iowa University, 610, 727 
  • "The Franklin Club", 548
  • FREE LIST BILL, 1509
  • FREE SEEDS, 1280, 1398, 1471, 1484, 1518, 1520, 1528
  • Freeman, P.G., 376, 1490 
  • FREIGHT RATES, 2449 
  • Friedl, Wenzl, 1180 
  • Fuel Consumers Weights and Measures Association, 10
  • FUEL CONSUMERS WEIGHTS & MEASURES ASSOCIATION (membership in), 9, 10 
  • Funk, H., 1450
  • Funk, J.H., 836, 1244
  • Sub-Series: G
  • G.A.R., Dept of Iowa, 1121, 1122 
  • Gabriel, Johnnie H., 1499 
  • Galloway, William, manufacturer, 1266, 1429 
  • Galvin, John, lawyer, 698, 711, 722, 723, 733, 760
  • Gates, Almon F., educator, 1529 
  • Gates, Charles, 703
  • Gates & Liffring, lawyers, 1695 
  • Gehrig, D.A., banker, 1581
  • GENERAL WALLACE STATUE, 2367 
  • George, H.G., farmer, 137 
  • Gibbs, George A., banker, 2227 
  • Gibson, A.E., 1181
  • GIFT OF LAND (to an archbishop, etc.), 1368 
  • Gilbertson, G.S., 602
  • Gillett, O.M., banker, 47, 193 
  • Glasser, D.C., merchant, 302 
  • Goen, Paul S., 1711
  • Gonner, Nic., publisher, 1527 
  • Good, James W., lawyer, 570, 576, 585 
  • Goodfellowship Club, 1140 
  • Goodrich, J.P., Chairman, Indiana Republican State Committee, 463 
  • Goodwin, Elliot H., Secretary National Civil Service Reform League, 615
  • Gouge, Jesse, merchant, 616, 686
  • Gould, E.E., 1363
  • GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, 794, 804, 830, 837, 838, 89 900, 901, 984, 1041, 1105, 1106,1109,1111,1112, 1118, 1126, 1130, 1134, 1137, 1139, 1148, 1150, 1151, 1164, 1169, 1175, 1177, 1181, 1185, 1199, 1202, 1203, 1205, 1212, 1235, 1236, 1238, 1241, 1242, 1250, 1252, 1253, 1256, 1261, 1263, 1270, 1276, 1284, 1285, 1286, 1287, 1297, 1301, 1302, 1305, 1307, 1314, 1343, 1349, 1351, 1353, 1354, 1355, 1359, 1360, 1361, 1365, 1366, 1369, 2309, 2310, 2314, 2319, 2320, 2321, 2324, 2326, 2371, 2404, 2461
  • GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS (requests for, 1376, 1380, 1389, 1401, 1404, 1409, 1416, 1417, 1419, 1420, 1421, 1422, 1427, 1430, 1431, 1432, 1435, 1436, 1443, 1456, 1458, 1459, 1461, 1464, 1466, 1467, 1470, 1472, 1474, 1478, 1483, 1485, 1489, 1495, 1497, 1498, 1501, 1502, 1503, 1507, 1511, 1513, 1528, 1534, 1535, 1547, 1548, 1567, 1573, 1574, 1597, 1615, 1620, 1623, 1624, 1637, 1638, 1639, 1647, 1651, 1655, 1656, 1657, 1659, 1665, 1667, 1671, 1673, 1679, 1680, 1698, 1699, 1701, 1714, 1716
  • Graham, James A., banker, 2211
  • Graham, R.D., 2325
  • Graham, W.F., manufacturer, 2073
  • Grandfield, C.R., 1st Assistant Postmaster General, 2397, 2403
  • Gray, Eva E., 1351
  • Green, C.E., 2324
  • Green, John K., 2358
  • Gregory, J.V., lawyer, 191, 201, 243, 321
  • Grems, B.W., merchant, 86
  • Griffin, A.P.C., Chief Assistant Librarian, Library of Congress, 1256
  • Grimes, F.R., merchant, 1727
  • Grout, H.W., 2072
  • Grundy, Alfred, lawyer, 92
  • GUARANTY PLAN, 661
  • Guernsey, Nathaniel T., lawyer, 741
  • Guernsey, Guy, 878
  • Guild, Curtis Jr., 1075
  • Gulick, Luther H., 1158
  • Gunderson, B.T., 1294
  • Gunderson, M.S., *368
  • Guthrie, Dr. J.R., 391, 440 
  • Sub-Series: H
  • H.R. 29345, 987
  • Haecker, E.D., City Clerk, 72
  • Hale, F.W., 1308
  • Hale, S.P., 2196
  • Hale, T.J., merchant, 1422
  • Hall, S.J., merchant, 1768
  • Hallock, H.B., publisher, 2038, 2298, 2266
  • Ham, H.M. (Miss), 1303
  • Hamblin, F. Morell, 2327
  • Hamilton, E.L., Representative Michigan, 546
  • Hamlin, Clarence C., 415
  • HAMILL, JOHN, 1225
  • Hammond, C.E., 1300, 2194
  • Hanby, Edward, merchant, 124, 327
  • Hancock, C.T., Upper Mississippi River Improvement, Assoc. Vice-President, 97, 480, 697, 772
  • Haney, C.H., merchant, 1388
  • Hanley, T.B., insurance, 51, 99
  • Hannah, Jos, 2356
  • Hardin, J.F., banker, 1318, 1418, 1440
  • Harlan, James S., Member Interstate Commerce Comm., 533
  • Harper, B.F., Auditor in Treasury Dept., 1015
  • Harrison, H.L., banker, 39
  • Hartman, John C., publisher, 1142, 1401, 1615, 1680, 1701
  • Hartness, M., lawyer, *89, 1157
  • Hartong, F.W., merchant, 745
  • Hartshorn, F.C., State Senator, 79
  • Harwood, Burt, publisher, 2240
  • Hasner, E.E., lawyer, 31, 100, 109, 110, 131, *137, 183, 244, 366, 586, 712, 1672
  • Hatch, L.M., 789
  • Hauser, Carl A., 1224
  • Haven, George, 1305
  • Hayes, C.E., banker, 2328
  • Hammond, E.H., Mayor, 2229
  • Hays, Will H., Chairman Speakers Bureau Indiana Republican State Committee, 465
  • Hayward, W.C., Secretary State Iowa, 695, 764, 775, 783
  • Hayward, Wm., Secretary Republican National Committee, 481, 482
  • Hayzlett, G.W., banker, 123
  • Hayzlett, P.L., lawyer, 58
  • Hazlett, J.Y., Mayor, Waverly, 1247, 1317, 1393
  • Healey, E.M., merchant, 88
  • Heeb, A.F., merchant, 559, 846
  • Hemenway, H.C., lawyer, 1258
  • Hemingway, J.M., lawyer, 34, 139, 122, 400, 428, 847, 2042
  • Henderson, Augusta A., 1110
  • HENDERSON, PROF., 1619
  • Hesner, E.C., banker, 1231 
  • Hess, H.J., 1774
  • Hickman, L.H., 2357 
  • Higby, Seward, 2461 
  • Higgins, C.T., 1605 
  • Hillis, Rev. Dr. Newell Dwight, 422 
  • Hine, J.B., merchant, 595
  • Hinman, Stephen N., farmer, 1579, 1594
  • Hoodley, B.W., Superintendent Schools, 126
  • Hoag, Bert, 2195
  • Hoag, E.W., Utility manager, 219, 227
  • Hobson, George W., farmer, 257
  • Hobson, R.P., Representative Alabama, 744
  • Hochstetler, J.C.R., Dr., 1839, 2257
  • Hodges, J.C., 2303
  • Hodges, R.E., 1199
  • Hoermann, Charles, 1560
  • Hoffman, F.B., 259
  • HOG CHOLERA SERUM, request for, 1207
  • Hogan, M.J., 2202
  • Holbrook, C.E., 2315
  • Holbrook, P.K., *920
  • Holland, R.L., 881
  • Holland, Rush L., *504
  • Holman, Mrs. H.W., *921
  • Holzapfel, H. J., minister, 1081, 1288, 1310
  • HOMESTEAD LAW, 1693
  • Hotel Normandie, 861
  • Houg, Ole, merchant, 370, 419
  • Hough, B.G., insurance agent, 303
  • HOUSING (PERSONAL), 748, 756, 861
  • HOWARD, ROBERT E., 1697
  • HOWARD UNIVERSITY, 842
  • Howard, W.V., 967
  • Howell, M.L, educator, 1484
  • HOXIE, VINNIE REAM, 931, 936, 1020
  • Hoxie, Vinnie Ream, 942, 1050, 1022, 2480
  • HOXIE YOUTH'S ACCIDENT, 1050, 1072
  • Hoyman, W.H., educator, 1489
  • Hoyt, E.H., banker, 272, 856, 1133, 1540, 2346, 2477
  • Hruby, Edw., merchant, 238, 857, 1729
  • Hudson, T.E.B., 1262
  • Huff, Herbert A., lawyer, 1091, 1216, 1507
  • Huff, R.B., insurance, 51, 795, 808, 817
  • HUGHES, CHARLES EVANS, 2129
  • Hull, John A.T., Representative Iowa, 814, 831, 927
  • Hunt, J.H., 54, 281
  • Hunter, W.M., merchant, 175
  • Huntoon, Del C., 380, 605
  • Hurd, Fred C., 1477, 1491
  • Hurd, Lenehan & Kiesel, lawyers, 1573, 1574, 1620, 1673
  • Sub-Series: I
  • Imhoff, George B., 1518
  • IMMIGRATION, 1108, 1452, 1527, 1695
  • IMMIGRATION PROBLEMS, 1180
  • INCOME TAXES, 2282, 2402, 2419
  • INDUSTRIAL EDUCATION, 1637, 1657, 1659
  • INGHAM, HARVEY, 1154
  • Ingrahm, John, publisher, 357, 845, 1668
  • Inglis, N.A., banker, 38, 246
  • INJUNCTIONS -- in labor disputes, 570
  • INSURANCE BUSINESS, 655
  • INSURANCE PREMIUM DUE, 436
  • INTERNAL REVENUE CLAIM, 1196
  • INTERNATIONAL COURT, 995
  • INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION, 1612
  • INTERSTATE COMMERCE LAW, 1008, 1013, 1016, 1179
  • INVESTMENTS, 1518, 1530
  • Iowa Falls Commercial Club, 1486
  • Iowa State Federation of Labor, 1637
  • Iowa Sugar Co., 2405
  • Isthmian Canal Commission, 1241, 1697
  • Iverson, J.H., 1188
  • Sub-Series: J
  • Jackson, Frank D., 696
  • Jameson, G.H., 532, 2203
  • Jarnagin, J.W., publisher, 800, 1164
  • Jaynes, E.T., Dr., 98, 108 
  • Jefferson, W.J., 93
  • Jensen & Hadley, 2288 
  • Jernegan, C.L., Sheriff, 26, 112, 385, 399, 1455 
  • JOB APPLICATIONS, 11, 533, 536, 581, 595, 598, 654, 671, 672, 676, 683, 690, 692, 702, 716, 718, 731, 737, 752, 755, 758, 768, 776, 780, 782, 785, 790, 791, 799, 813, 817, 827, 833, 847, 848, 850, 855, 856, 858, 860, 863, 864, 874, 893, 897, 908, 909, 910, 911, 913, 914, 915, 921, 925, 926, 935, 938, 955, 961, 975, 976, 982, 992, 993, 998, 1000, 1006, 1009, 1021, 1030, 1039, 1056, 1081, 1102, 1127, 1130, 1138, 1147, 1149, 1155, 1161, 1176, 1182, 1186, 1192, 1198, 1215, 1230, 1240, 1245, 1264, 1272, 1281, 1288, 1306, 1310, 1316, 1356, 1382, 1406, 1411, 1441, 1444, 1455, 1477, 1491, 1494, 1512, 1514, 1522, 1525, 1539, 1557, 1591, 1592, 1593, 1603, 1605, 1610, 1612, 1617, 1624, 1627, 2413, 2468
  • Job, Charles, 1382, 1406 
  • Johnson, E.A., 2362 
  • Johnson, Ella H.C., 1278 
  • Johnson, Herman, 2380 
  • Johnston, C.F., lawyer and banker, 74, 96, 108, 398, 625, 646, 1232
  • Johnston, F.J., 387
  • JOHNSTON, GEORGE, 852 
  • Johnstone, H.R., banker, 636 
  • Jones, Ira W., 462
  • JONES, ORLANDO, 1415, 1500, 1682
  • Jordan, Henry, 1378 
  • Joseph, Frank D., Delaware County Republican Central Committee, 537 
  • Jost, Jacob, 2363
  • Joynes, E.T., Dr., 1616 
  • Junge, H., manufacturer, 1600 
  • Jungkunz, J.F., banker, 1769
  • Sub-Series: K
  • Kasemeir, Henry, 1643 
  • Kay, F.J., 2286 
  • Kays, G.W., 1493 
  • Keagy, C.W., 2388
  • Keltz, Bert F., State Pharmacy Commission, 20, 1097 
  • Kendall, Nate E., lawyer, 713, 761, 822, 824
  • KENDALL, SEN. NATE, 2408
  • Kenyon, C.A., Postmaster, 1102 
  • Kenyon, D.E., banker, 647 
  • Kenyon, W.S., lawyer, 889, 1070, 1082
  • KENYON, WILLIAM S., SENATOR, 1142, 1164, 1165, 1223, 1385, 1633, 2129, 2206, 2367, 2399, 2401
  • Kiefer, K.K., banker, 184, 236, 691, 867, 2251 
  • Kiene, Peter, merchant, 381, 1466, 1478, 1508, 2287 
  • Kiester, H.E., 1571, 1584 
  • Kimball, T.H., banker, 2329 
  • Kirkwood, J.J., 618, 619
  • KIRKWOOD STATUE, 942 
  • Kirwin, Joseph, lawyer, 5
  • Klaus, S.W., 450, 496, 552, 742, 1034, 1134
  • Kleinsorge, F.C., merchant, 1726
  • Knapp, M.W., Postmaster, 587, 1029
  • Knappen, Theodore M., 577, 606 
  • Kneisly, Charles C., 523
  • KNIGHTS OF PYTHIAS, 16, 81, 140, 416, 515, 523, 726, 779, 867, 1044 
  • Knoepfler, J.B., 1254
  • Knott, E., lawyer and judge, 355, 420, 540, 887, 897, 908, 1182, 1666
  • Knott, Edward, *413, *885, *893, *911
  • Knowles, Harry, 2330 
  • Knowles, Horace G., U.S. State Department Staff, 544 
  • Krapfel, J.H., 1841
  • Kretschmer, Fred, manufacturer, 53 
  • Kretschmer, Fred N., merchant, 865, 873, 752, 762 
  • Kromminga, O., 349, 1135
  • Krukow, Luella, 1409
  • Kuehule, Carl F., lawyer, 16, 152
  • Sub-Series: L
  • LABOR LEGISLATION, 570
  • LABOR, ORGANIZED AND UNORGANIZED, 507 
  • Lacy, Brown & Lacy, lawyers, 1346, 1360 
  • Ladd, W.G., 1077
  • LAND LAWS, ETC., 1228
  • LAND PATENTS, 1397, 1418, 1424, 1437, 1438, 1440, 1463, 1563, 1585, 1589, 1601, 1628, 1636, 1664, 1717
  • LAND PROPOSITIONS, 969 
  • Lane, E.C., banker, 571, 589
  • Lane, Joe R., lawyer, 534, 765 
  • Lane, W.H., banker, 734 
  • LA FOLLETTE, ROBERT, 2440 
  • Langlas, W.H., food processor, 1399 
  • Large, John J., banker, 776 
  • Larson, K.J., 1359
  • LAW BUSINESS (action for damages), 517
  • LAW CASE, 710, 720, 724
  • LAW CASE (over division of assets), 708
  • Law, W.R., Postmaster, 1170, 1410, 1553, 1591, 1625, 1677, 1703
  • Laylander, O.J., merchant, 476, *892
  • Leach, R.E., lawyer, 670
  • Leavitt, Roger, banker, 1171, 1618, 1644, 1685
  • Lecky, W.H., merchant and City Clerk, 57, 1193, 1269
  • LeClaire-King Company, 617, 660
  • Lee, A.P., 1893
  • Lee, Joseph A., 2304
  • Leehey, John, 1580, 2331
  • LETTER OF INTRODUCTION, 1050
  • Lewis, C.O., County Supervisor, 1384
  • Lewis, W.H., Doctor, 401
  • LIBEL SUITS, 1536
  • Lichty, Burr G., 1967
  • Lichty, George E., merchant, 178, 332, 352, *355, 367, 464, 524, 834, *1143, *1165, 1229, 1259, 1385, 1395, 1509, 1524, 1542, 1543, 1624, 2476
  • LIQUOR CONTROL, 82, 630, 635, 640, 641, 642, 643, 646, 647, 649, 651
  • LIQUOR LAW VIOLATION, 1400 
  • LIQUOR TAX PENALTY, 943, 944 
  • LIQUOR TAXES, 1544
  • Loeb, William Jr., Customs Collector, 1058 
  • Logan, W.C., banker, 1678
  • Long, D.A., Waverly Fair Secretary, 1551
  • Longley, Alfred, lawyer, 1424
  • Loonan, Thomas, banker, 1200, 1201
  • LORIMER CASE, 979, 986
  • Lubman, C.E., 1690
  • LUMBER SECRETARIES INDICTMENT, 1662
  • Lundy, E.H., lawyer, 724, 1411, 2193
  • Lunemann, J.H., banker, 261
  • Lyon, Charles W., Manager, Speakers Bureau and Iowa Republican State Central Committee, 469, 526, 538, 539, 554, 555, 557, 565, 572, 573, 574, 626, 704
  • Sub-Series: M
  • Macbride, Thomas H., Extension Division, 164, *171, 177, *199, 202, *207, 271, 312, 2475
  • McChesney, W.J, Secretary, Board of Regents, 666
  • MCCLAIN, JUDGE, 1051
  • McClure, Charles V., Real Estate, 84, 101, 149, 153, 160, 169, 176, 208, 267, 270, 282, 295, 300, 315, 322, 364, 372, 382, 466, 493, 497, 512, 535, 637, 656, 707, 725, 743, 811, 1211, 1217, 1218, 1221, 1222, *1225, 1531, 1532, 1578, 1589, 1601, 1602 
  • McClure, J.B., 461, 472, 489, 490, 747, 753, 757, 778
  • McClure, Walter A., Postmaster, 1124, 1448
  • McClurg, Lowrie, merchant, 912, *916 
  • McConkie, L.S., 194
  • McCoy, E.H., lawyer, 662, 1842
  • McCurdy, T. E., banker, 1015, 2334
  • McCutcheon, Lloyd, publisher, 1386
  • McDowell, J. Roy, 1606
  • McGready, Dr. J.H., 1138, 1210, 2470
  • Machogan, William, 392
  • McIntosh, W.A., 498
  • McIntyre, George A., 1669
  • McKee, W. Dean, educator, 1430
  • McKinley, William B., Chairman Republican Congressional Committee, 514, 541, 620, 638, 837, 840, 849, 935, *938, 959
  • McLean, Charles, 661
  • MacLean, George E., Pres. S.U.I., 8, *917, *923
  • McLeish, D.W., 1570
  • McManus, T.U., Doctor, 818, 860
  • McMurray, W.B., 1441, 1511
  • MCNAMARA, JOHN J. (CASE), 1565
  • MacNeagh, Franklin, 915
  • McNeely, Lee, Secretary to Senator W.B. Allison, 773, 790, 796, 813, 830
  • Madigan, Ed. Postmaster, 1117, 2192
  • Mallory, B.H., lawyer, 24, 306, 433, 449, 451
  • Malvin, Joseph W., lawyer, 284
  • "MANN BILL" (Public Health Service name), 1249, 1257, 1265, 1278
  • Mann, James R., Representative Illinois, 735
  • MANUFACTURING, 1277
  • Manwell, B.P., 410
  • Marschell, C., 29
  • Marsh, W.W., 1058
  • Marsh, Wilbur, manufacturer, 1646
  • Marshall, C.J., merchant, 581
  • Marshman, G.G., 2109
  • Martin, E.H., banker, 3
  • Martin, H.E., real estate, 43, 76, 1021, 192, 258, 324, 329, 362, 681, 2182
  • Martin, P.J., *129, 138
  • Marvin, R.M., lawyer, 1415
  • Mason, A.P., merchant, 283, 323, 344, 402, 441
  • Mather, J.B., 1479
  • Mayhew, James, 1469
  • Maynard, H.B., *378, *382, *384, *535, *547, *552
  • Mears, Sherman T., lawyer, 780
  • Melvin, A.D., Chief, Bureau Animal Industry, 1251
  • Melbin, Henry A., member Supreme Court of California, 421, 766
  • MEMORIAL ADDRESSES, 1547
  • MEMORIAL ADDRESSES (DOLLIVER AND/OR ALLISON), 2369, 2374, 2375
  • MEMORIAL ADDRESSES (SEN. DOLLIVER), 1704, 1705, 1706, 1707, 1708, 1709, 1712, 1716
  • MERCHANDISE RETAILING, 1662
  • Merckens, John H., 726 
  • Merry, J.F., 1194 
  • MEXICAN REBELLION, 1453 
  • Meyer, George, Secretary Navy, 1302 
  • Meyer, Dr. H.E., 2299
  • Miguet, N.M., 1504, 2389
  • Military Order of the Loyal Legion of the United States, 1579, 2460 
  • Millen, H.G., 171
  • Millen, W.J., lawyer, 1447 
  • Miller, Charles W., *1249 
  • Miller, E.W., banker, 1695
  • Miller, F.B., banker, 1464, 1537, 1613, 1652 
  • Miller, G.M., 1547
  • Miller, Hermann, insurance, 655 
  • Miller, R.L., 848
  • Miller, W.W., 1055, 2411 
  • MINING STOCK, 1530
  • Moats, Lyman, lawyer, 429 
  • Modern Woodmen of America, 2447 
  • MODERN WOODMEN OF AMERICA, 1141, 1197, 1296, 1300, 1308, 1313, 1324 -- 1327, 1349, 1350, 1539
  • Monger, S.A., publisher, 1035, 1463, 1628
  • Monroe, G.F., banker, 2333
  • Moody, Ralph E., lawyer, 447 
  • Moon, E.H., Postmaster, 1698 
  • Moon, Earl C., 1185
  • Moore, E.E., 566 
  • Moore, Earl C., 1425
  • Moore, Edward B., Commissioner Patent Office, 1248 
  • Moore, Harry A., Superintendent of Schools, *1158, 1184, 1555
  • Moore, Thomas B., lawyer, 763 
  • Morris, C.A., merchant, 1352
  • Moss, A., 2382
  • MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION, 1352 
  • Muehe, Henry D., 170, 251
  • Mueller, A.W., manufacturer, 1611 
  • Mulgren, Leo E., 1372
  • Mullan, Alfred W., lawyer, 1270, 1475, 1545, 1627
  • MULLAN, ALFRED W., 1592, 1593, 1603
  • Mullan, Charles T., *720
  • Muntz, Edward, 2183 
  • Murphy, Bernard, editor, 41 
  • Murphy, David, 671, 692, 2347
  • Murray, Lawrence O., Comptroller -- Treasury, 1608 
  • MURTAGH, JAMES, 1010, 1011, 1014
  • Myers, C.E., publisher, 2252 
  • Myers, George W., merchant, 356, 1471 
  • Myers, O.F., banker, 150 
  • Sub-Series: N
  • Nabholz, J.D., 1498, 1683
  • Nagle, C.M., lawyer, 423
  • Nagel, Charles, Secretary Commerce & Labor, 1527 
  • Nagle, I.E., lawyer, 187, 198, 200, 214, 687
  • Nagle, Mrs. Irving E., 687 
  • NAMES FOR RURAL HOMES, 1670, 1683
  • Narvis, Will N., 1044
  • Nash, Mrs. G.K., 928
  • National Civil Service Reform League, 615
  • NATIONAL CONSERVATION CONGRESS, 1060
  • National Forest Conservation League, 577, 606
  • NATIONAL GOOD ROADS CONVENTION, 1692
  • The National Magazine, 592
  • NATIONAL NEGRO FAIR ASSOCIATION, 730
  • NATIONAL RIVERS & HARBORS CONGRESS, 772
  • NAVAL TRAINING, 1711
  • NAVY DATA, 1254, 1268
  • Neill, Charles P., Commissioner Bureau of Labor, 1637 
  • Nelson, John M., Representative Wisconsin, 1042
  • Nelson, N.L., Clerk, District Court, 268
  • Netcott, Harry E., Chairman Buchanan County Republican Central Committee, 593, 769, 777, 2396
  • NEW MEXICO CONSTITUTION, 1475
  • NEW MEXICO LAND, 1545
  • New York Sun, 611
  • Newcomb, Fred O., merchant, 132, 432, 759, 874
  • Newcomer, J.D., 1567
  • Newman, George A., 688, 714, 739, 788
  • NEWSPAPER ADVERTISING, 2454
  • NEWSPAPER PUBLICITY, 2433
  • NEWSPAPER SUBSCRIPTIONS, 1621, 1622
  • Newton, Joseph, Minister, 682
  • Nichols, I.A., publisher (Ira), 154, 223, 317, 331, *902, 946
  • NOMINATION PAPERS, 994
  • NOMINATION PAPERS SIGNERS, 1740 -- 1766, 1770 -- 2290, 2317, 2354, 2455, 2456, 2457, 2478
  • Northey, F.L., manufacturer, 1797
  • Northey, N., *128
  • Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Co., 436
  • Norton, A.E., 1895
  • Sub-Series: O
  • O'Connell, Maurice D., lawyer, 505, 558
  • O'Donnell, J.E., lawyer, 882, 884
  • OFFER OF SUPPORT, 1070
  • OFFERS TO FURNISH CONGRESSIONAL RECORDS, 472, 489, 746, 773, 778
  • OFFICES AVAILABLE FOR HOUSE MEMBERS, 668
  • O'Keefe, M.J., merchant, 2048 
  • OLEOMARGARINE, 2043, 2044, 2045
  • Oliver, Robert Shaw, Assistant Secretary of War, 1290 
  • OREGON PLAN, 2214
  • Ortberg, Elder F., Postmaster, 2214 
  • Orvis, G.M., 1719
  • Osier, R.P., Postmaster, 1718, 2204, 2233, 2285 
  • Outjes, F.A., lawyer 
  • Overbaugh, J.E., lawyer, 456 
  • Sub-Series: P
  • PACIFIC LYCEUM BUREAU, 1089 
  • Page, L.W., Director Office Public Roads, 1515 
  • Palmer, W.V., 1073
  • PANAMA CANAL, 1404 
  • PARCEL POST, 1229, 1260 
  • PARCEL POST RATES, 1973, 2282, 2347, 2446 
  • PARK BOARD REPORT, 875
  • Park, Will G., Customs Inspector, 1058
  • Parks, D.W., Mayor, 1108
  • Parrott, J.S., 1103
  • Parrott, W. F., *381
  • PASSPORTS, 1255, 1482, 1488, 1506, 1516, 1526, 1541, 1558, 1690, 2422
  • PATENTS, 1231, 1295, 1318, 1600, 1606, 1669
  • PATRONAGE, 1356, 1624, 1688
  • PATRONAGE LISTS, 1596
  • Patterson, S.L., banker, 2348
  • PAYNE BILL, 2282, 2402, 2419
  • Peachy & Hagner, real estate, 748
  • Peck, Seth V., 906
  • Pennebaker, Carusi & Jones, 705
  • Penrose, Boies, U.S. Senator from Pennsylvania, 965
  • PENSIONS, 886, 983, l016, 1018, 1031, 1043, 1116, 1190, 1191, 1193, 1246, 1247, 1248, 1258, 1262, 1269, 1317, 1345, 1356
  • Pepper, J.S., Representative Iowa, 1658
  • PEPPER BILL, 2247, 2419
  • Perkins, E.C., 199, 1119
  • PERSONAL LIBERTY LEAGUE, 640, 641, 642
  • Peters, John H., Lawyer, 1191, 1377
  • Peterson, A.E., 961, 970
  • Peterson, C.E., *981
  • Peterson, C.F., lawyer, 803
  • Peterson, Henry J., 1354
  • Pickett, Albert G., 886
  • Pickett, Charles E., 388, 390, 1100
  • Pickett, C.E., *1-8, *10
  • PICKETT, EDGAR, 2450, 2451
  • PICKETT'S HEALTH, 1304
  • Pike, George E., lawyer, 1260
  • PIKES PEAK NATIONAL FOREST RESERVE, 881
  • PINCHOT, GIFFORD, 985
  • Platt, Franklin C., judge, 453, 1495
  • Platt, Jacob, 2335
  • PLEA FOR LENIENCY, 956
  • Plymouth County Republican Central Committee, 588
  • POLITICAL SITUATION, 1049, 1054, 1062, 1064, 1073, 1074, 1079, 1082, 1083, 1084, 1085, 1086, 1087, 1088, 1093, 1094, 1095, 1096, 1098, 1165, 1722 -- 1734, 1736, 1738 -- 1768, 1770, 2296, 2314, 2317 -- 2340, 2346, 2352 -- 2353, 2355 -- 2359, 2366, 2368, 2374, 2380, 2384, 2387, 2389 -- 2390, 2392, 2395 -- 2396, 2398, 2402, 2406 --2410, 2414, 2418, 2426 -- 2427, 2437 --2438, 2440, 2475 -- 2476
  • Polk, Harry H., 950
  • POPULAR GOVERNMENT CONFERENCE, 1033, 1038 
  • PORTER, CLAUDE, 1008, 1014
  • Porterfield, Frank, 140
  • POST OFFICE BUILDING CONSTRUCTION, 1357
  • POSTAL FACILITIES, 1385, 1486, 1625, 1668, 2397, 2403
  • POSTAL RATES, 1386, 1395, 1396, 1429, 1433, 1434, 1462, 1587
  • POSTAL SAVINGS, 787, 876, 1008, 1537, 1687
  • POSTAL SERVICE, 1172, 1244, 1292, 1346, 1347, 1413, 1445, 1557, 1583, 1625, 1648, 1653, 1668, 1684
  • POSTMASTERS, 1616, 1769, 2059, 2109, 2298, 2341, 2402
  • POSTMASTERSHIP, 1626, 1629
  • POSTMASTERSHIPS, 461, 670, 677, 685, 689, 699, 700, 712, 732, 752, 753, 777, 835, 836, 862, 865, 868, 869, 871, 872, 873, 876, 877, 885, 887, 894, 899, 901, 911, 940, 947, 974, 977, 978, 987, 992, 1029, 1062, 1115, 1169, 1333
  • Powers, F.W., banker, 1173, 1316
  • PRACTICAL EDUCATION, 1529
  • PRESIDENTIAL POSTMASTERS CONVENTION, 1553
  • Price, Alford, 1104
  • PRIMARIES, 996, 999, 1000, 1001, 1005, 1008, 1013, 1019, 1024, 1025, 1028
  • PRIMARY CAMPAIGN LETTERS, 1770 -- 2297, 2319
  • PRIMARY SYSTEM, 253
  • PRISON CONDITIONS, 1619, 1630
  • Progressive Republican League, 1089
  • PROGRESSIVES, 1385
  • "PROGRESSIVES", 1734, 2206, 2277, 2371, 2395, 2396, 2411
  • PROGRESSIVES (REPUBLICAN), 227, 232, 234, 289, 335, 337, 368, 586, 714, 739, 996, 999, 1014, 1017, 1019, 1025, 1026, 1165
  • PROMISE OF AID IN BUYING FURNITURE, 5
  • Prompton, John Ross, 678
  • Proper, Rev. D.D., *701
  • Proudfit, S.V., 1545, 1563, 1585
  • Prouty, S.F., lawyer, 1040, 1045, 1049, 1092
  • PUBLIC ROADS, 1515
  • PUBLICITY BUREAU (STATE), 1153
  • Pullen, E.G., 1344
  • Purcell, T.W., Postmaster & publisher, 75, 113, 156, 224, 285, 506, 547, 602, 952, 1080, 1160, 1195, 1290
  • PURE FOOD LAWS, 1387, 1395, 1399, 1407, 1533
  • Pythian Lodge, 2459
  • Sub-Series: R
  • Ragatz, George Jr., merchant, 291
  • RAILWAY PROBLEMS, 1208
  • Raines, Robert B., banker, 444 
  • Ramsay, J.H., merchant, 2306 
  • Ramsay, W.C., Postmaster, 181, 236, 252, 273, 296, 1653, 2256, 2305
  • Rann, H.L., publisher & Postmaster, 66, 275, 345, 445, *894, *899, 900, 940, 945, 948, 954, 962, 966, *975, *976, *977, 978, 989, 990, 991, 996, *1003, 1008, *1013, 1016, 1018, 1022, 1023, 1024, 1026, *1043, 1154, 1311, 1426, 1454, 2371, 2399, 2408, 2417
  • Rath, J.W., 85
  • Rath, W.T.S., banker, 649, 1086 
  • Ray, F.J., 162 
  • Ray, W.F., banker, 55, 146, *161, 239, 785, 1094, 1255 
  • Ray, W.G., publisher, 230 
  • Raymond, George A., 266, 876 
  • RECALL OF JUDGES, 1631, 1672, 1700 
  • RECOMMENDATIONS, 1428, 1517, 1523, 1526, 1568
  • Rector, J.R., Mayor of Waterloo, 1692 
  • Reed, F.E., merchant, 895, *898
  • Reed, Herbert M., merchant, 373, 1309, 2156
  • Reed, William A., publisher, 477, 1548
  • Reeve, Delos N., Doctor, 217, 265, 319, 348
  • REFERENCES (RECEIVED OR GIVEN), 688, 694, 696, 704, 780, 791, 795, 803, 808, 809, 816, 818, 889, 953, 1063, 1101, 1130, 1141,1157, 1171, 1173, 1187, 1192, 1200, 1201, 1219
  • Refsnider, A.L., Postmaster, 639
  • REFUND OF DUTY CHARGES, 1131,1132, 1156
  • Register & Leader, Des Moines newspaper, 454
  • Reherd, H.W., 1506, 1526, 1558, 1482
  • RELIC OF BATTLESHIP MAINE, 2342
  • REMEDIAL OIL LAND LEGISLATION, 1348
  • Rendell, W.H., merchant, 627
  • Rennison, A.G., Doctor, 630
  • RENTAL PROPERTY, 1604, 1676
  • Republican Congressional Committee, 485, 487, 590, 599, 620, 631, 638, 837
  • REPUBLICAN MEMBERS OF LEGISLATURE 3rd DISTRICT, 759
  • Republican National Committee, 481
  • REPUBLICAN NATIONAL CONVENTION (TICKETS FOR), 2292, 2299, 2305, 2314, 2358
  • REPUBLICAN ORGANIZATION, 2311, 2312, 2313, 2402, 2414, 2420
  • Republican State Central Committee, 469, 495
  • Republican State Committee (Missouri), 470
  • REPUBLICAN STATE CONVENTION, 453
  • REPUBLICANISM, 1104
  • Resecrans, W.J., merchant, 2216
  • Reynolds, George S., merchant, 609
  • Rhomberg Brothers Co., manufacturers, 1544
  • Richards, Julian W., lawyer, 1190
  • Richardson, G.H., banker, 248, 276, 406, 985, 1161, 1186, 1189, 2206
  • RIGHTS-OF-WAY BILL, 1315 
  • RIVER IMPROVEMENTS, 1538 
  • Rizer, H.C., Director Geological Survey, 1105 
  • Roberts, C.M., banker, 1647
  • Roberts, J.M., Postmaster, 542, 1476
  • Robinson, Fred C., Secretary, Grand Lodge Order of Elks, 48, 231, 286, 663
  • Robinson, Thomas J.B., U.S. Representative from Iowa, 126
  • Roedell, R.P., lawyer, 405, 702, 716
  • Rogers, Emma, 1408
  • Rogers, J.A., lawyer, 648, 2243
  • Rohde, C.R., *980, 1233
  • Roosevelt, Dr. T.T., 1564
  • ROOSEVELT, THEODORE, 460, 493, 530, 577, 615, 1880, 1895, 1967, 2180, 2181, 2352 , 2395, 2408
  • ROOSEVELT DELEGATION, 1726, 2180
  • Rosevear, W.B., 1355, 2405
  • Ross, John Frampton, 1676
  • Ross, L.D., 2259
  • Ruiter, Jacob, 1563, 1636, 1664
  • RULES COMMITTEE, 1008 
  • RURAL FREE DELIVERY, 1234, 1243
  • RURAL MAIL CARRIERS, 2343
  • Russell, T.F., Major, Medical Corps, 1290
  • Ryan, Chas. O., real estate, 424, 744, 941, 987, 992, 993, 994, 997, 999, 1000, 10001, 1004, 1005, 1010, 1011, 1012, 1014, *1019, 1025, 1036, 1062, 1079, 1087
  • Ryan, J.R., 528
  • Sub-Series: S
  • Sager, M.P., 81
  • St. Joseph's College, 113, 1132, 1204
  • St. Paul & Des Moines Railroad Co., 1244
  • SALARIES FOR JUDGES, 741
  • SALARY FOR DEAN OF ENGINEERING, 8 
  • SALARY SCALE
  • Sammis, J.U., lawyer, 515, 516, 567, 614, 650, 657, 658, 667, 717, 736, 740
  • Samson, G.W., *979, 1226
  • Santee, C.B., real estate, 69, 220
  • Sauer, O.C., 2390
  • Scales, J.U., lawyer, 213, 1365, 1432, 1502, 2251
  • Schaffter, Eugene, lawyer, 2245
  • Schenk, Casper, 425
  • Scherr, C.B., Chairman Dubuque Co. Republican Central Committee and City Assessor, 277, 561, 591, 607, 568, 575, 903, 1333, 1538, 1539, 1612
  • Scherr, Olivia C., 1457
  • SCHOLARSHIP, 610
  • SCHOLARSHIP, ESTABLISHMENT OF, 727
  • Schuknecht, C.A., merchant, 1512
  • Schwenck, C.O., 2246
  • Scott, George W., lawyer & Mayor of Davenport, Iowa, 467, 875
  • SCOTT BILL (FUTURES TRADING LAWS), 1694
  • Sebille, A.L., publisher, 435 
  • Seeber, John W., 1595
  • Seeds, E.P., 298, 339, 457, 474, 483, 500, 529, 664, 768, 1064, 1074, 1095, 1356, 1561
  • SEEDS, E.P., 915
  • Seerley, H.H., 1125, 1139
  • SENATE FILE #5899, 1388
  • SENATORIAL ASPIRATIONS, 1119, 1120, 1133, 1135, 1142, 1143, 1144, 1154, 1160, 1162, 1165, 1195, 1209, 1216, 1217, 1218, 1221, 2222, 1291, 1311
  • SENATORIAL ETHICS, 1226
  • SENATORSHIP (FOR PICKETT), 1410, 1426, 1442
  • SENATORSHIP (PICKET'S CANDIDACY), 2429, 2430, 2431, 2432, 2434, 2435, 2436, 2437, 2438, 2439, 2440, 2441, 2442, 2443, 2444
  • SERUM SUPPLIES, 1251
  • Sevenner, M.J., Jr., 2473
  • Sharpe, J.J., lawyer, 1205, 1501
  • Sheakley, W.H., Postmaster, 2218
  • Shephard, W.C., lawyer, 147
  • SHEPHARD-KENYON BILL, 2236
  • Sheplee, J.K., 2217
  • Sheppley, E.H., merchant & real estate, 411, 594, 862
  • Sherman, R.R., banker, 2108
  • SHIP SUBSIDY BILL, 1384
  • Shoemaker, James H., 1208, 1327
  • Shover, John, 2338
  • Slimmer, Linus, banker, 7
  • Slimmer, Louis, banker, 17, 94, 95, 116, 228, 518
  • Smith, F.B., banker, 2180
  • Smith, F.D., banker, 6, 167
  • Smith, George W., merchant & Postal Clerk, 1274, 1451
  • Smith, H.B., educator, 1431
  • Smith, Homer, 1071, 1076
  • Smith, L.C., 1686
  • Smith, L.L., 418, 2366
  • Smith, M.A., lawyer, 206, 360, 369, 378, 446, 530
  • Smith, Roger W., 1312
  • Smith, Walter I., U.S. Representative from Iowa, 501, 749, 786, 812, 839, 1053, 1061, 1069
  • Smott, Reed, U.S. Senator, 1046
  • Smyres, L.A., lawyer, 517
  • Socialist Party, 1453
  • Socialist Party (Dubuque, Iowa), 1565
  • Soesbe, C.W., banker, 640, 791, 1515, 2349
  • SOLDIERS MEMORIAL, 1580, 1599, 1681
  • SOLDIERS RELIEF (PENSIONS, ETC.), 1377, 1378, 1390, 1412, 1469, 1476, 1493, 1496, 1556, 1561, 1578, 1579, 1609, 1641, 1658, 1660, 1663, 1721, 1734, 1737, 1738, 2104, 2182, 2211, 2251, 2303, 2350, 2382, 2394, 2406, 2413
  • Soldiers' Reunion (Tama County), 2452 
  • SPEAKERSHIP OF HOUSE, 665, 680, 686, 735, 786, 789, 812, 880, 883, 888, 894, 896, 901, 902, 905, 907, 912, 916, 985, 989, 998, 999, 1008
  • SPEAKING ENGAGEMENTS 819, 866, 878, 882, 884, 904, 912, 916, 930, 932, 933, 934, 937, 952, 960, 968, 1020, 1034, 1053, 1083, 1089, 1092, 1392, 1410, 1425, 1451, 1465, 1553, 1562, 1588, 1599, 1613, 1642, 1652, 1668, 2213, 2247, 2331
  • SPECIAL SESSION, 713, 854
  • Spielman, J.G., 828 
  • Splan, Fred, 1397
  • Sprague, Clarence, Postmaster, 2189
  • Springer, Arthur, 930, *932, *933
  • "STAND-PATTERS", 19, 40, 44, 100, 111, 139, 141, 183, 190, 211, 212, 223, 227, 233, 234, 244, 280, 368, 586, 714, 996, 1014, 1025, 1165, 1385, 1442, 1454, 1578, 1734, 2156, 2223, 2277, 2363
  • Staples, Dr. Allen, 1334, *1290
  • STATE CENTRAL COMMITTEE, 2370, 2371, 2395, 2398
  • Steadman, S.A., *643
  • Stealey, O.O., 825, 2469
  • STEAMSHIP SUBSIDY, 1258
  • Steele, F.W., 556
  • STEELY, MR., 568
  • Steffens, C.M., 1271
  • Stephenson, Isaac, Senator Wisconsin, 967
  • Stewart, A.N., 809
  • Stewart, George A., banker, 787
  • Stewart, Joseph, Second Assistant Postmaster General, 1172, 1244, 1522
  • Stimson, F.E., banker, 1896
  • Stoddard, B.F., 2207
  • Stone, H.H., merchant, 129
  • Stonerook, S.B., publisher, 1357
  • Strayer, John E., merchant, 1239
  • STREAM STOCKING WITH FISH, 1479, 1504, 1564, 1581, 1686
  • Stringer, E., merchant, 1520
  • Strobel, John E., merchant, 508
  • Strong, Frank, Chancellor of University of Kansas, 851
  • Strong, George F., 2336
  • Stuart, I.L., President Hampton Commercial Association, Publisher, 35, 40, 65, 87, 105, 115,128, 141, 151, 159, 196, 212, 235, 240, 279, 621, 998, 1009, 1017, 1028, 1039, 1088, 1098, 1223
  • Stuart, I.L., *70, *1084
  • Stuart, J.S., publisher, 18
  • Stuart, R. R., 1037, 1056, 1066, 1067, 1068
  • Stuart, Ralph, *1056, *1066, *1067
  • Stuber, George P., 292
  • Stukenberg, F., 2391
  • Success Magazine, 880, 883, 890, 905, 907 
  • SUGAR INDUSTRY, 1542, 1543
  • SUGAR INVESTIGATING COMMITTEE, 1543
  • SUGAR LEGISLATION, 2405, 2408, 2419
  • SULLOWAY BILL (PENSIONS), 1390, 1480, 1578
  • SUPREME COURT, 2440
  • SUPREME COURT (MEMBERSHIP OF), 1194
  • Surfus, A.L., farmer, 2208
  • Suttman, Lillian, telephone operator, 114
  • Sweet, Burton E., 326, 343, *414
  • SWEET, BURTON E., 136, 141, 142, 145, 148, 149, 176, 178, 186, 187, 189, 192, 205, 210, 211, 220, 241, 249, 258, 263, 279, 283, 296, 305, 307, 328, 329, 349, 350, 355, 360, 362, 368, 372, 375, 398, 1607, 1666, 2438
  • Swift, W.H., Iowa Adjutant General, 718
  • Swindle, Charles A., 2339
  • Swindle, W.H., 2337
  • Swisher, B.F., 1187
  • SWISHER, BEN, 989, 991
  • Sub-Series: T
  • Taft, A.O., 2219
  • Taft, C.W., 2419
  • Taft, William H., 458
  • TAFT, WM. HOWARD, President of the United States, 464, 473, 486, 491, 498, 512, 518, 571, 592, 853, 894, 939, 996, 1003, 1008, 1013, 1014, 1026, 1454, 1508, 1571, 1653, 1672, 1700, 1726, 1728, 1881, 1895, 1921, 2109, 2181, 2199, 2352, 2371, 2398, 2399, 2401, 2411, 2479
  • TAFT REPUBLICAN CLUBS, 1014 
  • TARIFF, 1384, 1385, 1386, 1395, 1403, 1419, 1426, 1430, 1446, 1447, 1448, 1450, 1468, 1470, 1490, 1502, 1508, 1509, 1510, 1524, 1540, 1559, 1562, 1572, 1579, 1580, 1594, 1595, 1608, 1614, 1616, 1629, 1631, 1633, 1635, 1643, 1648, 1653, 1665, 1671, 1672, 1687
  • TARIFF COMMISSION, 2282
  • TARIFFS, 577, 673, 674, 745, 895, 898, 940, 941, 987, 1054, 1237, 1239, 1258, 1266, 1311, 1319 --1323, 2043, 2044, 2045, 2408, 2419
  • Tawney, J.A., Representative Minnesota, 969
  • J.F. Taylor & Co., publishers, 781
  • Telegraph Herald, 13
  • Temple, M.L., 2438
  • Tener, John K., Grand Exalted Ruler of Elks Lodge, 287, 338, 728
  • Ternes, Herman, 1148, 1212, 1398, 1445, 1607, 1688, 2409, 2412, 2422
  • THANKS FOR SUPPORT IN CAMPAIGN, 2322 -- 2393
  • THIRD PARTY MOVEMENT, 2396, 2398, 2402, 2407, 2408, 2411, 2412, 2419
  • Thomas, B. Franklin, lawyer, 1
  • Thompson, Burt J., 2444 
  • Thompson, E.M., lawyer, 1296, 2307 
  • Thorson, T.S., 2282
  • Tibbitts, F.B., Postmaster & merchant, 180, 2343, 2397
  • Tiede, E.L., 2472
  • Tilson, F.M., Postmaster, 952 
  • Timson, L.P., 1219
  • Tirrill, R.W., 207, 1404 
  • Tisdale, W.D., 2442
  • TOBACCO ADVERTISING, 1481
  • Tobin, M.J., tax collector & lawyer, 11, 21, 28, 56, 63, 71, 90, 91, 117, 737, 754, 792, 827, 841, *943, 944, 971, 2441
  • Torbitt, W.H., merchant, 2367
  • TOWN CRIERS CLUB, 1584
  • Towney, James A., U.S. Representative Minnesota, 353, 354
  • Townsend, Charles, U.S. Representative Michigan, 549, 1059
  • Tredway, H.E., 2422
  • TRIAL BY JURY, 570
  • Tripoli Creamery Co., 2453
  • Trowbridge, T.P., 1234
  • True, F.W., Acting Secretary Smithsonian Institution, 1651
  • Truedson, A.N., clerk, 833
  • Tures, Charles, 374
  • Turnbull, W.H., 917
  • Turner, H.H., banker, 45, 188, 520, 407, 417
  • Turregano, J.P., Mayor, Alexandria, Louisiana, 939
  • Tuthill, J.S., lawyer, 988
  • "Twenty Years in the Press Gallery", 2469
  • Twinning, M., Acting Secretary Navy, 1610
  • Tyerell, C.W., Postmaster, 484
  • Tyrrell, C.W., 519
  • Sub-Series: U
  • U.S. Department of Agriculture, 1592
  • U.S. Dept of Agriculture, Bureau of Animal Industry, 1251
  • U.S. Department Commerce & Labor, 1695
  • U.S. Department of Interior, Geological Survey, 1348
  • U.S. NAVY (DISPOSITION OF), 744
  • U.S. OFFICE OF PUBLIC ROADS, 2445
  • U.S. Treasury Department, 1156
  • U.S. War Department, The Adjutant General's Office, 1288
  • Upham, S.W., 675
  • Upper-Mississippi River Improvement Association, 480, 697
  • UPPER MISSISSIPPI RIVER IMPROVEMENT ASSOCIATION, 697, 772
  • Urick, A.L., Pres. Iowa State Federation of Labor, 1637
  • Sub-Series: V
  • Van Deest, Peter, 1541
  • Van Duzee, A.J., lawyer, 1240, 2294
  • Van Saun, G.W., merchant, 1149
  • Van Saunn, S.A., *388
  • Van Tilbourg, William H., 1609
  • Van Valkenburg, A., 107, 260, 288
  • Van Vleck, Charles, 536, 668
  • Vanderwalker, George, 2392
  • Veatch, W.A., 1202
  • VETERINARY BILL (FOR SERVICES RENDERED), 1174
  • VOCATIONAL EDUCATIONAL BILL, 1125
  • Voit, Albert, publisher, 1419, 2314
  • Voit, Herbert, publisher, 247
  • VOTER LISTS, 1115, 1117, 1123, 1124, 1129, 1151, 1267
  • Sub-Series: W
  • Wade, M.J., judge, 953
  • Wadley, Scott C., merchant, *326, 408
  • Wadley, S.P., 1533, 1570
  • S.P. Wadley Company, food processors, 1387, 1407
  • Walker, C.M., 2369
  • Walker, C.R., merchant, 340
  • Walker, John R., Secretary Young Men's Taft Club of Dubuque, 511
  • Walker, Ralph E., 1557
  • WALKER, R.E., 1583
  • Wallace, C.R., 1285, 1353
  • Wallace, Henry, 1060
  • Wallace, James R., 1987
  • Wallace, S.M., 641
  • Waller, John R., lawyer, 729
  • Walton, J.A., *570
  • Wambaugh, Eugene, 1051
  • WAR DEPARTMENT RECORDS, 928, 929
  • WAR SERVICE RECORDS, 1393
  • Ward, George W., lawyer, 70
  • Warford, D.M., merchant, 204, 750
  • Waring, H.M., 543
  • Waterloo Central Labor Union, 1344
  • Waterloo Tank & Silo Company, 1600
  • Waugh, R.H., 2434
  • Weart, W.G., merchant, 1662
  • Weaver, S.M., Justice, Iowa Supreme Court, 209
  • Weed, T.L., Chief Clerk Post Office Department, 1177
  • Weeks, John W., Representative Massachusetts, 1054
  • Welden, William, Merchant, 4, 12, 15, 19, 27, 60, 78, 80, 148, 163, 168, 186, 195, 205, 226, 237, 253, 255, 269, 278, 280, 289, 304, 313, 314, 320, 328, 334, 342, 346, 350, 361, 365, 379, 386, 393, 430, 582, 583, 596, *601, 603, 608, 628, 693, 815, 823, 1129, 1442, 1536, 2106, 2232
  • WELDEN, WILLIAM, 685, 992
  • Werkmeister, J., merchant, 2273
  • Western Wholesalers' Association, 1576
  • Whaley, H.H., 758
  • WHAT THE REPUBLICAN PARTY HAS DONE FOR LABOR, 561
  • Wheaton, Fred E., 779
  • Whited, Stephen, 1100, 1485, 1665
  • Wickersham, George W., Attorney General, 1630, 1662
  • Wieland, Frank, 866
  • Wilbur, M., 1099
  • Wild, H.F., County Treasurer, 182
  • Wilder, E.E., 2384
  • Wilkie, Henry D., 708
  • Willard, W.S., 1465
  • Williams, Harry, Postmaster, 1596
  • Williams, J.B., publisher, 301
  • Williams, John H., Doctor, 730
  • Williams, W.R., lawyer, 232, 389, 455, 584, 597, 676, *896, 2059
  • Williamson, Frank E., banker, 1120 
  • Wilson, C.J., lawyer, 2432
  • Wilson, Rufus R., 1089 
  • Winterburn, A.C., 2383
  • Winthrop, B., Acting Secretary of Navy, 1681
  • Winthrop, Beckman, Assistant Secretary Treasury, 799 
  • Witt, Charles E., Postmaster, Publisher and Editor, 1267, 1449, 1687, 2258, 2433 
  • Wolf, C.C., banker, 127, 2107
  • Wolf, George F., merchant, 2368 
  • WOODMEN OF AMERICA LODGE, 1381 
  • Woods, F.P., 843
  • Woods, Paul C., editor & publisher, 82, 142, 189, 218, 234, 254, 307, 316, 318, 901, 947
  • Woodson, George H., lawyer, 842 
  • Woodward, W.M., merchant, 46, *390, 1192 
  • Wright, Carroll, lawyer, 694
  • Wright, George, banker, Chairman and Member Republican Congressional Committee for Third District, 241, 551, 2061 
  • Wyant, W.W., 1264
  • Wyrick, F.H., 2393
  • Sub-Series: Y
  • Young, H.O., Representative, Michigan, 964 
  • YOUNG, LAFAYETTE, 1454, 2298
  • Young Men's Taft Club of Dubuque, 511 
  • Sub-Series: Z
  • Zabriskie, A.C., merchant, 2340
  • Zimmerman, H.C., 1306
  • Zimmerman, H.G., publisher, 622, 633, 651, 672, 719
  • Zust, C.W., merchant, 293