Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Torch Press Book Shop Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1908-1915
Creator: Torch Press Book Shop
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0167
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: The Torch Press Bookshop was started by Luther Brewer in 1909, and sold books at a storefront in Cedar Rapids as well as to mail-order patrons until 1917.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Torch Press Book Shop Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Luther Brewer (1853-1933), perhaps best remembered for his extraordinary collection of material by and about Leigh Hunt, established the Torch Press in 1907. He had worked at the Republican Printing Company prior to this. In 1909, the Torch Press Book Shop, selling used and rare books, was started, and it operated until 1917. In the mid-nineteen twenties, Brewer divested himself of most of his interest in the company, retaining only a position of vice-president, in order to devote himself to book printing and collecting. See also an article by Thomas L. Carney and Joyce Crawford, The Torch Press: A Preliminary History.

This collection consists of forty-seven of the Torch Press catalogs.
Carney, Thomas L. & Joyce Crawford. "Torch Press: A Preliminary History." , Vol.21 (November 1974)

Maddigan, Mike. "The Torch Press: Addenda to a Checklist ." Books at Iowa. Vo. 31 (November 1979)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CATALOGS

  • Series 1: CATALOGS
  • Box 1:
  • 4. Books - 1908
  • 5. Illinois and Lincoln
    undated
  • 6. Americana - 1908
  • 8. Rare Books and Publications (Winter) - 1908-1908
  • 9. Interesting Books (May) - 1909
  • 11. Bargain List of Ramainders
    undated
  • 12. After-Inventory Catalog
    undated
  • 16. Books referring to the State of Iowa
    undated
  • 17. Americana: American History, Biography and Travel
    undated
  • 20. A September Clearing List - September - 1910
  • 23. Rare Books, Some Excessively Rare - November - 1910
  • 26. Rough List, January - 1911
  • 27. Rough List, February - 1911
  • 28. Americana, Together with a Selection of Good Miscellaneous books, March - 1911
  • 29. Miscellaneous Books in all Branches of Literature
    undated
  • 35. A Catalog of Interesting Books (Summer) - 1911
  • 37. Americana, Including Some Important Lincolniana - November - 1911
  • 38. Beautiful Books - 1911-1912
  • 39. Stupdendous Book Bargains
    undated
  • 41. Rare Books
    undated
  • 42. Americana: Indians and the West
    undated
  • 43. For the Bibliophine - 1912
  • 45. Genuine Book Bargains: A Sweeping "After Inventory" Offering - February - 1913
  • 46. March - 1913
  • 47. Midsummer - 1913
  • 48. Standard Books at Reasonable Prices
    undated
  • 49. Unusual and Interesting Books, Some in Fine Bindings
    undated
  • 50. Catalog of an Interesting Collection of Books from the find and choice Library of a prominent collector, lately deceased - 1914
  • 51. Bibliotheca Curiosa: A Catalog of a very unusual collection of curious, scarce, facetious and out-of-the-way books, the larger portion from the library of a most fastidious collector - 1914
  • 52. Bulletin of new and special books - 1914
  • 54. Some Very Good Books - 1914
  • 55. Americana (Bibliotheca Americana)
    undated
  • 56. Bulletin of New and Special Books - 1914
  • 57. Some Rare and Unusual Books - 1914
  • 58. Some Choice Books - 1914
  • 60. Bargains in Books
    undated
  • 61. Bargains in Good Books
    undated
  • 62. America
    undated
  • 63. Books About America
    undated
  • 64. The Bargain Counter
    Undated but, might be 1915.
  • 66. General Literature
    undated
  • 67. Astounding Bargains in Books
    undated

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Brewer, Luther Albertus, 1858-1933

Corporate Names:
Torch Press

Topics:
Book collecting
Books
Bookselling

Occupations:
Book collectors

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Catalogs
Archives
Rare books
Sales catalogs
Sources