Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the J. Richard Feeley Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1913-1960
Creator: Feeley, J. Richard (1904-)
Extent: 26.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0166
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Real estate and insurance agent. Correspondence, pamphlets, clippings, etc. relating to his interest in conservative politics and health measures.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Boxes 16-18; Ephemera in Boxes 22 and 23.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: J. Richard Feeley donated his papers to the University in 1958.

Preferred Citation: J. Richard Feeley Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

John Richard Feeley was born in 1904 in Amesbury, Massachusetts, and attended Holy Cross College. Returning to Amesbury he entered the real estate and insurance business. He was involved in conservative social and political issues including anti-communism and anti-fluoridation. He was also concerned about pollution by atom and hydrogen bombs, food additives, and medical research. His papers document these concerns.

The papers of J. Richard Feeley consist of twenty-six linear feet of manuscripts dating from 1913 to 1960. An extensive correspondence file of some thirteen boxes includes letters from Fred Allen, Bernard M. Baruch, Harry Flood Byrd, James Francis Byrnes, Richard Cardinal Cushing, John F. Kennedy, Henry Cabot Lodge, William Loeb, James H. McGrath, and Karl E. Mundt. Subject files include topics ranging from World War II to educational television. Two boxes of financial documents relate specifically to Feeley's real estate and insurance agency. Feeley kept thirteen scrapbooks and the collection includes six boxes of clippings on various topics. The collection also includes pamphlets on right-wing political groups and issues such as fluoridation and medicine.

Folders are numbered consecutively, continuing through each box. Items are numbered in boxes 16, 17 and 18. The main series in the collection is Correspondence, which is organized chronologically. Pamphlets are present in boxes 24 -- 29 and are organized by subject. Clippings are located in boxes 30 -- 46 and are not arranged.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: PERSONAL FINANCIAL PAPERS
Series 3: MUSIC MATERIALS
Series 4: PHOTOGRAPHS AND SCRAPBOOKS
Series 5: RELIGIOUS MATERIALS
Series 6: MISCELLANEOUS
Series 7: PAMPHLETS
Series 8: CLIPPINGS

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • - 1930
  • - 1931-1948
  • January - August - 1949
  • September - December - 1949
  • January - April - 1950
  • May - August - 1950
  • September - 1950
  • October - December - 1950
  • January - March - 1951
  • April - June - 1951
  • Box 2:
  • July - September - 1951
  • October - December - 1951
  • January - 1952
  • February - 1952
  • March - 1952
  • April 1-15 - 1952
  • April 16-30 - 1952
  • May 1-15 - 1952
  • May 16-31 - 1952
  • Box 3:
  • June 1-15 - 1952
  • June 16-30 - 1952
  • July 1-15 - 1952
  • July 16-31 - 1952
  • August - 1952
  • September - 1952
  • October 1-15 - 1952
  • October 16-31 - 1952
  • Box 4:
  • November - 1952
  • December 1-15 - 1952
  • December 16-31 - 1952
  • January 1-15 - 1953
  • January 16-31 - 1953
  • February - 1953
  • March 1-15 - 1953
  • March 16-31 - 1953
  • Box 5:
  • April - 1953
  • May - 1953
  • June 1-15 - 1953
  • June 16-30 - 1953
  • July - 1953
  • August 1-15 - 1953
  • August 16-31 - 1953
  • Box 6:
  • September - 1953
  • October 1-15 - 1953
  • October 16-31 - 1953
  • November 1-15 - 1953
  • November 16-30 - 1953
  • December 1-15 - 1953
  • December 16-31 - 1953
  • January - 1954
  • February - 1954
  • Box 7:
  • March 1-15 - 1954
  • March 16-31 - 1954
  • April 1-15 - 1954
  • April 16-30 - 1954
  • May - 1954
  • June - 1954
  • July - 1954
  • Box 8:
  • August - 1954
  • September - 1954
  • October 1-15 - 1954
  • October 16-31 - 1954
  • November 1-15 - 1954
  • November 16-31 - 1954
  • December - 1954
  • January - 1955
  • February - 1955
  • March - 1955
  • Box 9:
  • April - 1955
  • May - 1955
  • June - 1955
  • July - 1955
  • August - 1955
  • September - 1955
  • October - 1955
  • November - 1955
  • Box 10:
  • December - 1955
  • January - 1956
  • February - March - 1956
  • April - 1956
  • May - 1956
  • June - 1956
  • July - 1956
  • August - 1956
  • Box 11:
  • September - 1956
  • October - 1956
  • November - 1956
  • December - 1956
  • January - February - 1957
  • March - April - 1957
  • May - 1957
  • June - 1957
  • July - August - 1957
  • Box 12:
  • September - 1957
  • October - 1957
  • November - 1957
  • December - 1957
  • January - 1958
  • February - January - 1958-1960
  • Not Dated
  • Box 13:
  • Not Dated
    Six folders of undated correspondence.
  • Series 2: PERSONAL FINANCIAL PAPERS
  • Box 14:
  • Personal Financial Papers
  • Personal Financial Papers
  • Friend Street Properties Expenses - 1951
  • Friend Street Properties Expenses - 1952
  • Friend Street Properties Expenses - 1953
  • Office Expenses - 1954
  • Office Expenses - 1955
  • Pearl Street Property Expenses - 1949-1951
  • Series 3: MUSIC MATERIALS
  • Box 15:
  • Correspondence, Music
  • Contracts and Agreements
  • Miscellaneous Music Materials
  • "Don't Put a Tax on Love" - Song
  • "Forgive and Forget" - Song
  • "The Story Ends" - Song
  • "Wasting Your Tears" - Song
  • Series 4: PHOTOGRAPHS AND SCRAPBOOKS
  • Box 16:
  • Folder of Photos
  • The Pow-Wow - 1926
    High school year book.
  • Box 17:
  • Scrapbook (Red)
  • Scrapbook (Black)
  • Scrapbook (Black)
  • Scrapbook (Red)
  • Box 18:
  • Framed Photograph of J. Richard Feeley
  • Scrapbook (Black)
  • Scrapbook (Black, small)
  • Scrapbook (Red) - reprints
  • Scrapbook (Red)
  • Scrapbook (Brown)
  • Scrapbook (Brown)
  • Scrapbook (Red)
    Item too large for box, so kept next to box.
  • Series 5: RELIGIOUS MATERIALS
  • Box 19:
  • Mementos
  • Sermons and Prayers
  • Religious Financial Requests and Information Mailings
  • Religious Material
    Two folders.
  • Series 6: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Box 20:
  • World War II Literature
    Two folders.
  • World War II Posters
    Including "The Four Freedoms" by Norman Rockwell. In map cases.
  • Educational TV Literature
  • Schools and Education
  • Box 21:
  • Mementos
  • Papers of J. Richard Feeley's Parents
  • Clippings and Copy- by or about J. Richard Feeley
  • Teaching Application Materials
  • Box 22:
  • Right-Wing Politial Ephemera
    Ten folders.
  • Box 23:
  • Right-Wing Politial Ephemera
    Five folders.
  • Series 7: PAMPHLETS
  • Box 24:
  • Right-Wing
  • Fluoridation
  • Medicine
  • Box 25:
  • Medicine
    Six folders of pamphlets.
  • Box 26:
  • Medicine
    Four folders of pamphlets.
  • Box 27:
  • Medicine
    Two folders of Pamphlets.
  • Miscellaneous Pamphlets
  • Box 28:
  • Fluoridation
    Six folders of pamphlets.
  • Box 29:
  • Fluoridation
    Four folders of pamphlets
  • Series 8: CLIPPINGS
  • Box 30-46:
  • Clippings