Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Carl Weeks Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1922-1957
Creator: Weeks, Carl (1876-)
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0164
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Businessman. Correspondence, speeches, advertising, etc. relating to the Armand Company (a cosmetics manufacturing firm in Des Moines, IA).

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Carl Weeks in 1959.

Preferred Citation: Carl Weeks Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Carl Weeks was one of the leading executives in the business life of Iowa. He was born on a farm near Toddville, Iowa, in 1876. At the age of twenty-one, he received a degree in pharmacy and entered the drug field. In 1907 he organized the Flarian Company in Des Moines, Iowa, which in 1915 became the Armand Company. He served as president until his death. In addition to the factory in Des Moines, there are factories in Canada and Mexico and branch offices in France and South America. The line of cosmetics consisted of powders, creams, rouge, lipstick, etc. Mr. Weeks was also the builder of the famous Salisbury House in Des Moines, which is modeled after the King's House in Salisbury, England. The House is valued at over one million dollars and was given by Mr. Weeks to Drake University.

The Carl Weeks file is composed of business correspondence, notes, merchandising and sales promotion ideas, articles, speeches, and advertisements.

Much of the business correspondence and articles concerns either Mr. Weeks's refusal to sell to firms who disregard his suggested resale prices, or his backing of the fair trade laws. Over half of the entries are merchandising and sales promotion ideas, including advertisements for the mass media. The remaining papers consist of speech notes and speeches that Mr. Weeks gave throughout the United States.

This finding aid list boxes that contain items with a specific numbering system. These materials relate to one or more subjects or people, and are indexed in the old finding aid which will be linked to this site at a later date. The old finding aid is comprised of an alphabetical index of the correspondents with accompanying item numbers.

The correspondence is arranged chronologically in the first eight folders (1922-1957) and topically in the remaining seventeen folders. There are 937 entries in the four boxes.
Salisbury House, including information on the Armand Comapny

Browse by Series:
Series 1: MISCELLANEOUS BY ITEM NUMBER
Series 2: 2004 ADDENDUM - ART SUBSERIES
Series 3: SCRAPBOOKS
Series 4: ITEM NUMBER INDEX

  • Series 1: MISCELLANEOUS BY ITEM NUMBER
  • Box 1:
  • Items 1-343
  • Box 2:
  • Items 344-673
  • Box 3:
  • Items 674-829
  • Box 4:
  • Items 830-937
  • Series 2: 2004 ADDENDUM - ART SUBSERIES
  • Box 4:
  • Knoedler Galleries. Braque bronzes. Includes photographs of sculptures
  • Parsons, Harold, art agent. Correspondence
  • Seligmann Galleries. Correspondence. Includes photographs of paintings
  • Series 3: SCRAPBOOKS
  • #1 Large Family Notes
  • #2 The Armand Company - 1923-1925
  • #3 Speech of Carl Weeks Before Annual Convention, Iowa Pharmaceutical Convention and Other Speeches, Write-ups in Trade Papers, Advertising, etc. - 1930
    Acquired March 31st, 1958
  • #4 Many Views of Salisbury House
    Acquired March 27th, 1958
  • #5 Newspaper and Trade Publication Clippings
  • #6 Newspaper Clippings on the Pharmaceutical Association, etc.
  • #7 Papers: Largely Personal - Weeks Family
  • Series 4: ITEM NUMBER INDEX
  • Sub-Series: A
  • A.W. SHAW COMPANY; Cass, Huron & Erie Sts., Chicago; 70
  • A.W. Shaw Co.; (Cass, Huron & Erie Sts., Chicago); 74,76
  • ADVERTISEMENT; 484, 485, 487 -- 489, 514, 519, 523, 524, 531, 541, 550, 552, 557, 567, 568, 571, 589, 608 -- 611, 614, 615, 626, 647, 650, 652, 658, 664, 673, 697, 700, 756
  • ARMAND CREAM; 495, 560, 562, 563, 565, 574 -- 587, 595, 596, 623, 628, 632, 659, 665, 696, 731, 732, 736
  • ARMAND ROUGE; 631
  • BRISK SHAVING CREAM; 553, 555, 630, 641, 657
  • FEDERAL TRADE COMMISION vs. ARMAND CO.; 743
  • GLORY OF THE SUN, ARMAND SUNTAN LOTION; 512
  • NAZOL, NOSEDROPS; 598
  • SYMPHONIE POWDER; 535, 539, 548, 562, 572, 573, 587, 590, 603, 612, 613, 621, 623, 625, 627, 634 -- 636, 640, 653, 660, 677, 680, 683, 686, 732, 736
  • ADVERTISEMENT -- BOOKLET
  • ARMAND THE BIG TEN; 785
  • PRINCIPLES IN PROPER USE OF COSMETICS; 751
  • ADVERTISEMENT -- CIRCULAR
  • ARMAND COSMETICS; 740
  • ARMAND CREAM; 733, 739
  • SYMPHONIE POWDER; 739
  • ADVERTISEMENT -- HANDBILL
  • ADVERTISEMENT -- HEADLINES ; 628
  • ADVERTISEMENT-- LABEL
  • ARMAND BOUQUET POWDER; 738
  • ARMAND CREAM; 293
  • JONES FOURWAY COLD TABLETS; 742
  • SYMPHONIE POWDER; 326
  • ADVERTISEMENT -- LETTER; 212, 223, 277, 434, 475, 490, 500, 502, 518, 533, 534, 638, 662, 681
  • ARMAND COSMETICS; 214, 221, 328, 248, 321, 336 -- 338, 340, 443
  • ARMAND CREAM; 94, 99, 101, 291, 292, 313, 329, 370, 375, 376, 385, 424, 482, 483, 515, 517, 521, 566, 674
  • ARMAND SHAMPOO;103, 504
  • ARMAND SOAP; 100
  • COLOGNE; 97
  • FLORIAN SHAVING CREAM; 102
  • FLORIAN TOOTH PASTE; 95
  • PERFUME -- EVENING REVERIE; 383
  • SYMPHONIE POWDER; 213, 220, 245, 376, 445, 491, 515, 536 -- 538, 551, 554, 606, 668, 671, 674, 669
  • ADVERTISEMENT -- MAGAZINE; 676, 704, 706, 717, 722, 723, 725, 755, 781 -- 783
  • ARMAND CREAM; 559, 568, 692, 705, 708
  • BUSINESS PRINCIPLES; 727
  • FACE POWDER; 729, 753
  • FAIR PRICES; 728
  • FAIR TRADE LAWS; 709
  • LETTER FROM CUSTOMER; 710 -- 716, 720, 721
  • PRICE POLICY; 661
  • MERCHANDISING AND SALES PROMOTION; 726
  • SYMPHONIE POWDER; 559, 692
  • ADVERTISEMENT -- MEDICAL BOOKLET; 707
  • LIPSTICK; 702
  • ROUGE; 702
  • TALCUM POWDER; 702
  • ADVERTISEMENT -- NEWSPAPER; 744
  • ARMAND POWDER; 744
  • DEVELOPMENT OF ARMAND COMPANY; 741
  • ADVERTISEMENT -- QUESTIONAIRE; 600, 639
  • SYMPHONIE POWDER; 597
  • ADVERTISEMENT -- RADIO; 481
  • ARMAND COSMETICS; 324
  • ARMAND CREAM; 561, 569, 474
  • SYMPHONIE POWDER; 474, 591 -- 594
  • ADVERTISEMENT -- SIMILE; 649
  • ADVERTISEMENT -- SLOGANS
  • SYMPHONIE POWDER; 595, 599
  • ADVERTISEMENT -- TRADE JOURNAL; 281
  • ADVERTISEMENT -- TRADE LETTER
  • SYMPHONIE POWDER AND FACE CREAM; 508
  • TAXING ARMAND COSMETICS; 260
  • ADVERTISEMENT -- TRADE PAPER; 265
  • COMBAT DOOR-TO-DOOR SALESMEN; 735
  • SYMPHONIE POWDER; 737
  • ADVERTISING AND SELLING; 187, 197 -- 200, 202, 204, 228
  • HISTORY OF THE ARMAND COMPANY; 253
  • Advertising and Selling (9 E. Thirty-Eighth St., N.Y.); 197, 228
  • ADVERTISING POLICY OF ARMAND COMPANY; 67, 298
  • ALLERGY; 645
  • ALMAY; 646
  • ALMAY PHARMACEUTICAL CORPORATION; 646
  • American Druggist (119 W. 40th St., New York); 125, 156
  • AMERICAN DRUGGIST; 193, 401, 408
  • American Historical Society (180 N. Wacker Dr., Chicago); 235
  • AMERICAN MAGAZINE; 1
  • AMERICAN PHARMACEUTICAL ASSOCIATION; 83, 92
  • *Ames, WIlliam G. (President of Polaris Co., Inc.); 43
  • Ames, William G. (President of Polaris Co., Inc.); 44
  • *Anderson, Harry E.; 353
  • ARMAND CLUB; 53
  • ARMAND COMPANY CATALOGUE OF HISTORICAL COLLECTION, 757 -- 779
  • *Armand Contract Holders; 282
  • ARMAND DECLARATION OF BELIEFS; 25, 461
  • *Armand Employees; 287, 295, 373, 432, 442, 448
  • ARMAND FEDERAL TRADE CASE, SPEECH ; 924
  • Armand, Heanne, 174
  • ARMAND MANUFACTURER'S PROCESSES OF ITS COSMETICS; 400
  • ARMAND POLICY OF OPERATION; 43, 285, 430, 461, 528, 666, 667, 669, 675, 745
  • *Armand Salesmen; 168, 170, 175, 177, 182 -- 184, 186, 191, 195, 196, 216, 219, 243 -- 246, 248, 251, 275, 286, 288, 290, 294, 304, 306, 311, 321, 370, 372, 377 -- 382, 384, 386, 389, 428, 430, 433, 440, 444, 469, 473, 496, 520, 526, 529, 551, 724
  • Armand Stock; 295
  • Aromatics (57th St. at 8th Ave., New York); 193
  • AROMATICS; 193
  • *Aronson; 436
  • Associated Press (Register-Tribune Bldg., Des Moines); 241
  • ASSOCIATED PRESS, NEWSPAPER; 241
  • ASSOCIATION OF ICE CREAM MANUFACTURERS OF IOWA; 852
  • ARTICLES
  • ACT LEGALIZING RESALE PRICE CONTRACTS BETWEEN PRODUCERS AND DISTRIBUTORS; 823
  • ARMAND AND FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION CASE; 827
  • ATTITUDE OF GOVERNMENT TOWARD BUSINESS; 824
  • BUSINESS OPERATION; 829
  • CARL WEEKS; 818
  • CARL WEEKS AND THE FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION; 752
  • COSMETIC LAWS; 817
  • DESIRE OF EVERY WOMAN'S HEART; 279
  • HOME OF THE ARMAND COMPANY; 821
  • LAST SURVIVOR OF BOSTON TEA PARTY; 936
  • MAKING A LAW STICK; 816
  • NEW KIND OF BANK; 825
  • OPERATION OF BUSINESS INDEPENDENT OF STOCK MARKET; 815
  • PERMANENCE OF TIME; 826
  • PRACTICAL SUGGESTIONS FOR BUSINESS-GETTING SALESMEN; 168
  • PROGRESSIVE CHANGES IN DRUG STORE BUSINESS; 678
  • PROSPECTUS OF ARMAND BLENDED CREAM; 820
  • RELATIONSHIP OF RAILROAD AND POWDER COMPANY; 151
  • RESTATEMENT OF THE ARMAND POLICY; 155
  • RETENTION OF RETAIL DRUGGISTS; 814
  • SOLUTION FOR NATIONAL DECLINE; 828
  • SOLUTION TO POVERTY; 822
  • WORK DOLLAR; 819
  • ARTICLE -- CIRCULAR
  • ARMAND COSMETICS; 21
  • ARTICLE -- MAGAZINE
  • BREAKING THE BUSINESS JAM; 228
  • FIRE AND HIRE; 754
  • MERCHANDISING POLICY; 193
  • MY CUSTOMERS KNOW ME AS CARL; 76
  • SERVICE OF THE ARMAND COMPANY; 51, 111
  • WHAT IS THE TROUBLE WITH THE COSMETIC MARKET?; 201, 231
  • ARTICLE -- NEWSPAPER
  • WHAT'S THE MATTER WITH COSMETICS?; 784
  • ARTICLE -- TRADE LETTER; 272
  • YOU AND ME, THE DRUG INSTITUTE AND N.A.R.D.; 274
  • ATLANTIC CITY PRESS, NEWSPAPER; 7
  • AUTOBIOGRAPHY OF CARL WEEKS; 18, 57, 158
  • AYER, HARRIET HUBBARD (PRESIDENT OF BOURJOIS, INC.); 412
  • Sub-Series: B
  • BALSON, ROGER; 422
  • Bain, Florence E.; 259
  • Bakerink, Roy O.; 171
  • BALTIMORE AMERICAN, NEWSPAPER; 7
  • Bates, Warner; 11
  • *Bates, Warner; 12, 13
  • Baumgart, C.A. (Publisher of Country Newspaper Advertising); 239
  • BEAL, DR. J. H. (PRESIDENT OF MIDLAND DRUGGIST); 77
  • *Beard, Grocer C.; 233
  • Bender, George (Editor of The National Association of Retail Druggists Journal); 300
  • *Bender, George (Editor of N.A.R.D. Journal); 301
  • BERGDORF, GOODMAN; 422
  • Berkowitz Envelope Co. (1912 Grand Ave., Des Moines); 398
  • Bettendorf Oxygen Hydrogen Co. (Bettendorf, Iowa); 91
  • BIG TEN, MAGAZINE; 185
  • BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCH OF CARL WEEKS; 25, 27, 41, 123, 406, 409, 411, 415, 450 -- 464, 497, 588, 749, 818
  • BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCH OF WILLIAM CHAMBERLAIN WEEKS; 404
  • Bona Fide Reporting Co., Inc. (666 Lakeshore Dr., Chicago); 333
  • BOSTON POST, NEWSPAPER; 7
  • BOSTON TEA PARTY; 936
  • *Brady, Joe; 348
  • Breese, Murray (Editorial Staff of Drug Trade News); 68, 125, 156
  • *Breese, Murray; 69, 127, 158
  • BROADSIDE; 23, 139, 141, 287, 311
  • Brown, Walter T. (Secretary to Governor Lehman, New York); 332
  • BUFFALO TIMES, NEWSPAPER; 7
  • BULLETIN OF PHARMACY; 60
  • BUSINESS ETHICS, SPEECH NOTES; 852
  • BUSINESS PRINCIPLES OF ARMAND COMPANY; 126, 127, 678, 727
  • Business Week (McGraw-Hill Bldg., 330 W. 42nd St., N.Y.); 307
  • BUSINESS WEEK; 307
  • Buzzell, A.L.; 60
  • *Buzzell, A.L.; 61
  • Byrne, Joseph; 5
  • *Byrne, Joseph; 6
  • Sub-Series: C
  • C.H.; 94, 96, 98
  • *California Pharmaceutical Association; 434
  • CAPPER-KENY BILL; 247, 254, 267, 333, 466, 684, 718
  • *Carlin, Ina Elizabeth (Secretary of Carl Weeks); 21, 45, 189, 255, 266, 267, 279, 315, 316, 322, 326, 327,
  • Carlin, Ina Elizabeth; 66, 123, 205, 212, 252, 258, 263, 265, 339
  • Carlson, Maynard (President Of Phi Delta Chi Fraternity, 1925, Des Moines); 17
  • *Carlson, Maynard; 18, 19
  • CHAMBERLAIN, WILLIAM (FOUNDER OF CHAMBERLAINS OF MEDICINE AND HAND LOTION); 404
  • CHARACTER SPEECH; 922
  • CHATTANOOGA TIMES; 7
  • Chemical Markets (25 Spruce St., New York); 136
  • *Chemical Markets; 137
  • CHICAGO DAILY NEWS; 7
  • CHRISTIAN SCIENCE MONITOR; 678
  • *Chryst, Hans J.; 364
  • Clayton, Winnette; 132
  • *Clayton, Winnette; 133
  • COCA-COLA COMPANY (ATLANTA, GEORGIA); 49
  • Coca-Cola Company (Atlanta, Georgia); 50, 394, 396, 391
  • COLGATE AND COMPANY; 510
  • COLUMBIA RECORDS; 422
  • COMMUNICATION, PHI DELTA CHI FRATERNITY'S NATIONAL MAGAZINE; 17
  • Cooley, Oscar (Associate Editor of Advertising and Selling); 228
  • *Cooley, Oscar; 229 -- 231
  • Coombs Drug Company (Salt Lake City, Utah); 22
  • COSMETIC FRAUDS; 297
  • COSMETIC LAWS; 786
  • COSMETIC TAX PROPOSALS SPEECH; 920
  • COSMETIC TRADE IN DRUGSTORES SPEECH; 916
  • COSMETICS BY W. A. POUCHER; 644
  • COTY; 422
  • Country Newspaper Advertising (Des Moines); 239
  • *Cowperthwaite, Art; 249
  • CREWS, S.C. (SALES MANAGER OF THE MENTHOLATUM CO.); 414
  • Sub-Series: D
  • D. VAN NOSTRAND & CO.; 131
  • Dahlberg, Frank C.; 176
  • *Dahlberg, Frank C.: 180, 181, 365
  • Daughrity, C. Ream (Trust Officer of Iowa – Des Moines National Bank); 417
  • DeAugelis, Philip (Editor of Aromatics); 193
  • Deeming, K.; 154
  • DELINEATOR; 518
  • *Department Stores; 217
  • *Depuy, Clifford; 85, 226, 227
  • Depuy, Clifford; 84, 225
  • Derby, George (Managing Editor of the National Cyclopedia Biography); 26
  • *Derrick, Larry E.; 366
  • DES MOINES PUBLIC SCHOOLS, SPEECH; 929
  • Dickson, John (Managing Editor of the National Cyclopedia of American Biography); 416
  • Donahoe, Don; 22
  • *Donahoe, Don; 23
  • DOROTHY GRAY COSMETICS; 690
  • DOWN THE WORLD'S MOST DANGEROUS RIVER BY CLYDE EDDY; 267
  • DRAKE UNIVERSITY; 84, 334
  • DRUG INSTITUTE; 274
  • DRUG INSTITUTE OF AMERICA, SPEECH; 917
  • Drug Markets (25 Spruce St., New York; newspaper); 131
  • DRUG MARKETS; 159, 165
  • DRUG TOPICS; 267
  • DRUG TRADE NEWS; 68, 193, 231
  • Druggist Circular, Inc. (100 William St., New York); 20
  • THE DRUGGIST CIRCULAR (DRUG JOURNAL); 20
  • *Druggist of Birmingham, Alabama; 374
  • *Druggist of Centerville, Iowa; 438
  • *Druggists of Texas; 289
  • *Duerr, George; 273
  • *Dumas, Jim T.; 367
  • Dunn, Charles Wesley (Attorney & Counselor of Law, 580 Fifth Avenue, New York); 21, 52, 55, 155, 203, 282, 743
  • *Dunn, Charles Wesley; 42, 53, 54, 198, 265, 268, 281
  • DUTY OF MANUFACTURER? WHOLESALER AND RETAILER UNDER THE CALIFORNIA FAIR TRADE LAW, SPEECH; 878
  • Dwarkin, Samuel S. (Chairman of the Biologic Products Committee, Bronx, New York); 92, 93, 280
  • Sub-Series: E
  • E.R. Squibb & Sons (745 Fifth Avenue, New York); 267
  • Eddy, Clyde (Manager of Merchandising Dept., E.R. Squibb & Sons, New York); 267
  • Edie, Mildred (Associate Editor of Tide); 253
  • *Edie, Mildred; 254
  • *Editor of Dallas Morning News; 247
  • *Editor of Register-Tribune, Des Moines; 14, 120
  • EDITORIAL, PRICE FIXING; 247
  • Editorial Department, The National Cyclopedia of American Biography (70 Fifth Ave., New York); 28, 30, 31
  • Editorial Office, American Druggist (53 Park Ave, N.Y.); 37
  • EDITORIAL ON COSMETICS; 57
  • ELIZABETH ARDEN COSMETICS; 433
  • ELMO COSMETICS; 690
  • ESTABLISHMENT OF FREE RETAIL TRADE, SPEECH; 919
  • EXAMINER; 343
  • EXCISE TAX ON COSMETICS; 190, 617, 619
  • Executive’s Bulletin; 147
  • Sub-Series: F
  • F.N. BURT COMPANY (BUFFALO, NEW YORK); 7
  • FAIR TRADE BILL; 331 -- 333
  • FAIR TRADE LAWS; 505, 709
  • Fairchild Publication (3 East Thirteenth St., New York); 393
  • FAIRFAX, GEORGE WILLIAM, ESQUIRE OF BELVOIR; 808
  • FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION; 171, 183, 507, 558, 736, 743, 752
  • Ferguson, H.W.; 89
  • *Ferguson, H.W.; 90
  • *Field, George Y.; 368
  • FIND YOURSELF; 751
  • Fisk, C.; 407
  • Fleming, S.F.; 437
  • Florian Company (Des Moines); 47, 95
  • FLORIAN COMPANY; 556
  • FLORIAN TOOTH PASTE; 46
  • FLORIAN TOOTH PASTE EDITORIAL; 47
  • Foley, Henry E.; 309
  • *Foley, Henry E., 310
  • Foltz, Bertina, (Beauty Editor of Vogue); 206
  • FORD, HENRY; 146, 196
  • Ford, John R.; 398
  • Forth, W.C.; 76
  • FOURTH HISTORIC PRICE MAINTENANCE CASE, SPEECH; 178, 903
  • FRAUDULENT EMPLOYMENT PRACTICES; 498, 510, 530, 724
  • Freeman, James L., (Director of Sales, Southwestern Drug Corporation, Dallas, Texas); 403, 404
  • FRIENDLINESS IS AN ATTRIBUTE OF GOOD BUSINESS, SPEECH; 859
  • FROMAN, JANE; 591 -- 594
  • Sub-Series: G
  • GENERAL ELECTRIC; 422
  • GEORGIA PHARMACEUTICAL JOURNAL; 113
  • Goldsmith, Maurice; 401
  • *Goldsmith, Maurice; 402
  • *Goodier, George Jr.; 369
  • *Goodier, Gerard; 359
  • GOODWIN PLAN? SPEECH NOTES; 866
  • Garman, George (Author of the Peter Holmes Stories); 334, 335
  • Gortatowsky, J.D. (Business Manager of King Features Syndicate Inc.); 266
  • GUERLAIN; 422
  • Sub-Series: H
  • HARPER; 518, 557
  • Harrington, Guy M. (Associate Editor of System Magazine); 74
  • *Harrington, Guy M.; 75
  • *Harrold, Frank W. (Editor of The Red Barrel); 49 -- 51, 104 -- 106, 108 -- 112
  • Hayes Publishing Co. (250 West Lafayette Blvd., Detroit, Michigan); 86, 88
  • Haynes, Williams (Editor of Drug Markets, newspaper); 131
  • *Hays, E.N.; 87
  • Head, Madge; 399
  • *Head, Madge; 400
  • *Hempstead, Marcia B.; 418
  • *Henderson, S.L. (Advertising Manager of The New York State Pharmacist); 412 -- 415
  • *Henry, Marguerite; 70 -- 73
  • HISTORY OF THE ARMAND COMPANY; 38, 253
  • HISTORY OF ARMAND'S "SYMPHONIE POWDER ”; 254
  • *Hixon, Roy A.; 358
  • Hoover, Herbert (U.S. President); 307
  • “HOW TO GET SALESMEN TO WALK ” SPEECH; 252
  • HUGHES, JOHN THOMAS ROBERT 15TH (LAST SURVIVOR OF BOSTON TEA PARTY); 936
  • *Hultman, Joe E.; 357
  • Sub-Series: I
  • ILLINOIS PHARMACEUTICAL ASSOCIATION CONVENTION; 333
  • “IMPLANTING A NEW IDEA” SPEECH; 240
  • “IMPLANTING A NEW IDEA IN ADVERTISING” SPEECH; 918
  • *Indiana Druggists; 209
  • *Ingham, Paul J.; 356
  • INGREDIENTS IN ARMAND'S
  • ASTRINGENT; 643, 645
  • FACE CREAM; 643 -- 645
  • LIPSTICK; 644, 645
  • FACE POWDER; 643 -- 645
  • ROUGE; 643 -- 645
  • COSMETICS ; 646
  • Insurance R.& R. Service (123 West Narth Street Indianapolis, Indiana); 128
  • International Blue Book (Chancery House, Publishers, 475 Fifth Avenue, New York 17, New York); 450
  • INTERVIEW CHAIN STORE OPERATOR; 246
  • IOWA COLONIAL DAMES; 418
  • Iowa -- Des Moines National Bank (Des Moines, Iowa); 417
  • IOWA RETAIL SALES TAX; 309, 310
  • ITINERARY; 787 -- 789
  • Sub-Series: J
  • James T. White & Co. (Publishers, 70 Fifth Ave., New York); 24, 26, 28, 30 -- 36, 119, 120, 122 -- 124, 130, 146, 407
  • *Jerzek, Edward J.; 355
  • *Jewell, William Clarke; 77, 78, 80 -- 83
  • John H. Breck, Inc.; 412
  • Johnson, C. (Assistant Manager, Business Department, The American Historical Society, Chicago); 235
  • *Johnson, Mary Louise; 405, 406
  • *Jones; 173
  • *Jones, John; 446
  • JOURNAL OF THE AMERICAN MEDICAL ASSOCIATION; 707
  • Sub-Series: K
  • *Kain, F.B.; 27 -- 29, 31
  • *Karesh, Eleanor R.; 442, 423
  • KELLEY, BILL; 86, 87
  • Kendall, Frederick C. (Editor of Advertising & Selling); 186, 188
  • *Kessler, Adam; 199, 204
  • Ketterlinus Lithographic Manufacturing Company (Philadelphia); 397
  • King Features Syndicate, Inc. (235 East 45th St., New York City); 266
  • Sub-Series: L
  • *Laird, Donald A.; 410, 411
  • Lamont, W.H.; 134
  • *Lamont, W.H.; 135
  • Law Department of the City of Boston (11 Beacon St., Boston); 309
  • LEGISLATION; 309
  • GOVERNOR LEHMAN 1935 NEW YORK; 331
  • LENNIE HAYTON'S ORCHESTRA; 591 -- 594
  • Leonard, J.F.; 117
  • *Leonard, J.F.;118
  • LEVER BROS.; 422
  • Library Community Chests and Councils of America, Inc. (115 East 44th Street, New York 17, N.Y.); 431
  • LIFE INSURANCE; 307
  • LIFE INSURANCE, ARTICLE ON THE SOUNDNESS AND STABILITY OF LIFE INSURANCE; 308
  • *Loll, J.A.; 354
  • *Louisiana & Mississippi Friends; 192
  • *Lutz, Robert W., 254
  • LUXURY TAX; 254
  • Sub-Series: M
  • *Mackay, W.H. (Editor of The National Cyclopedia of American Biography); 24, 25, 48
  • *MacRae, Thomas H. (Managing Editor of Santa Fe Magazine); 152, 153
  • MAGAZINE LAYOUT; 153, 299, 637, 717 -- 719
  • “MAKE-UP FOR PROFITS ON COSMETICS -- HOW TO GET?" SPEECH; 931
  • “MAKING AN ART OUT OF YOUR BUSINESS" SPEECH; 914
  • *Mann, A.R. (President of the Georgia Pharmaceutical Association); 114
  • *Manufacturers; 298
  • “MANUFACTURER'S VIEWPOINT ON RETURNED GOODS" SPEECH; 932
  • MARINELLO COSMETICS; 690
  • Marks, H.W.; 145
  • McCrarry, E.J. (City and Passenger Agent for Santa Fe Railway Company, Des Moines); 151
  • MCCUTCHEON'S; 422
  • McEldownery, H.I.; 3
  • *McEldownery, H.I.; 4
  • McGRAW-HILL (PUBLISHERS) 410
  • *McKenzie, Roger; 449
  • MCKESSON; 422
  • MELBA COMPANY; 15
  • MELBA COSMETICS; 690
  • MELLON, ANDREW;
  • MEMORANDUM; 791 -- 793
  • MERCHANDISING AND SALES PROMOTION; 215 -- 218, 224, 233, 243, 249, 251, 269, 270, 275, 283, 294, 296, 304 -- 306, 311, 314, 317 -- 319, 323, 381, 382, 386, 388, 402, 425, 426, 428, 433, 435, 437, 465 -- 473, 476, 478 -- 480, 492, 496, 499, 501, 503, 504, 506, 511, 513, 515, 516, 522, 525, 527, 540, 542 -- 545, 549, 556, 564, 570, 586, 604, 605, 607, 618, 620, 624, 633, 642, 651, 654, 655, 672, 681, 685, 687, 690, 691, 694, 701, 703, 717, 726, 747, 812, 813
  • MERCHANDISING POLICY; 734, 736, 743, 752
  • MERCHANDISING AND SALES PROMOTION TO COMBAT DOOR-TO-DOOR SALESMEN; 328, 333, 341, 342, 371, 389, 390, 508, 587, 730
  • *Merchants of America; 328
  • MIDLAND DRUGGIST MAGAZINE; 77
  • *Midwest Druggist; 429
  • Milar, John T.; 241
  • *Milar, John T.; 242
  • MISCELLANEOUS ITEMS; 937
  • *Mississippi Friends; 190
  • MISSOURI DRUGGIST; 134
  • MODERN DRUGGIST; 187
  • *Moore, Jessie E. (Secretary of Carl Weeks); 63 -- 66
  • Morgan, Helen; 408
  • *Morgan, Helen; 409
  • Morris, Gerald A. (Editor in Chief of The Wharton News of Finance and Commerce); 236
  • *Morris, Ralph; 276
  • *Mugge, George; 351
  • *Muller, Charles G.; 140 -- 144, 149, 150, 159, 162 -- 165, 167
  • Munn, A.R. (President of the Georgia Pharmaceutical Association); 113
  • Sub-Series: N
  • “N.R.A. Movement” speech; 934
  • N.W. Ayer & Son, Inc., Chicago; 202
  • N.W. Ayer & Son, Inc., Philadelphia; 204
  • NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF RETAIL DRUGGIST; 178, 274
  • National Association of Retail Druggist (168 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, Illinois); 300
  • NATIONAL CYCLOPEDIA OF AMERICAN BIOGRAPHY; 24, 25, 28, 30, 31, 35, 36, 119, 130, 146, 407, 416
  • National Cyclopedia of American Biography (70 Fifth Avenue, New York); 405, 416
  • NATIONAL DICTIONARY OF BIOGRAPHY; 28
  • “NATIONAL RECOVERY ACT" SPEECH; 898
  • National Vigilance Committee (Associated Advertising Clubs of the World) New York City; 3
  • NEW YORK CENTRAL RAILWAY COMPANY; 249
  • *New York Druggists; 331
  • New York State Pharmacist (1261 Broadway, New York); 412, 414
  • NEW YORK STATE PHARMACIST; 414
  • NEWCOMB'S BUSINESS PRINCIPLES; 125
  • Newman, Myrle L.; 234
  • NORTHAM; 510
  • NORTHERN, WARREN; 422
  • Northwestern Banker (Des Moines, Iowa); 84
  • Sub-Series: O
  • Oakes, Mansur B. (President of Insurance R. & R. Service); 128
  • *Ober, Clarence; 350
  • “OLD ORDER CHANGETH ” SPEECH; 927
  • “ORIENTAL RUGS" SPEECH NOTES; 864
  • ORIGIN AND DEVOPMENT FOR THE GLASS CONTAINERS USED FOR THE ARMAND COSMETICS; 258
  • Sub-Series: P
  • PACIFIC DRUG REVIEW; 22
  • *Parker, M.; 46, 47
  • Parsons, C.W. (Editor of American Druggist); 37 -- 39
  • Peacock, Sterling (Vice-President of N.W. Ayers & Son, Inc.); 200, 202
  • PECK, DR. WALTER E. (AUTHOR); 439
  • PEERAGE BY BURKE; 28
  • *Penno, A.P.; 452
  • PERFUMES BY W.A. POUCHER; 644
  • PERFUMERS' JOURNAL; 5
  • PETER HOLMES STORIES; 334
  • Phi Delta Chi Fraternity; 17
  • POEM BY DR. WALTER E. PECK; 439
  • Poloris Company, Inc.; 44
  • PONDS EXTRACT COMPANY; 510
  • Pooley, Oscar (Associate Editor of Advertising & Selling); 197
  • PORTRAIT OF CARL WEEKS; 235
  • POUCHER, W.A. (AUTHOR); 644
  • PRICE CUTTING; 387, 435, 437, 447, 466, 493, 494, 507, 532, 546, 784
  • “PRICE-FIXING" (EDITORIAL); 247
  • PRICE MAINTENANCE; 86 -- 88, 247, 281, 300, 301, 547, 558, 678, 688, 695, 706, 717
  • “PRICE MAINTENANCE" SPEECH; 911
  • *Price, Ossie P.; 194, 314, 317, 345, 349
  • PRICE POLICY; 586, 616, 617, 619, 622, 629, 642, 648, 661, 663
  • PRINTERS' INK WEEKLY (MAGAZINE); 11, 140, 142 -- 144, 147 -- 150, 159
  • Sub-Series: R
  • Ramsay, Robert E.; 232, 255 -- 258
  • REACTER PAPER TO
  • "COSMETICS," NEWSPAPER ARTICLE; 14, 16
  • "PRICE-FIXING" EDITORIAL IN DALLAS MORNING NEWS; 247
  • "WHAT ALL WOMEN WANT TO KNOW”; 277
  • "WHAT IS THE TROUBLE WITH THE COSMETIC MARKET?”; 201 -- 204
  • "TAXING ARMAND COSMETICS" TRADELETTER; 261 -- 264
  • Read, H.E.; 210
  • RED BARREL (MAGAZINE PUT OUT BY THE COCA-COLA COMPANY, ATLANTA); 49, 50, 104, 109 -- 112, 391, 394 -- 398
  • *Reese, Roy C.; 283
  • REFLECTIVE THOUGHTS; 284, 802, 804
  • "BEAUTY AND JOY”; 800
  • "BIBLE QUOTES”; 803
  • "FUTURE”; 312
  • "GENUINESS IS THE ONLY STANDARD”; 797
  • "HONESTY”; 805
  • "IMPERMANENCE OF THINGS”; 798
  • "RELATIONSHIP OF RETAILER AND WHOLESALER”; 809
  • "RISING ECONOMY”; 799
  • "SELLING”; 801
  • "SURVIVAL OF THE FITTEST”; 807
  • "TRAINING MEN” 796
  • "TRINITY”; 806
  • *Retail Dealers; 207, 211, 214, 215, 218, 221, 238, 371
  • RETAIL DRUG CODE; 300
  • *Retail Druggists; 224, 296, 318, 319, 336, 337, 340, 424, 508, 509
  • *Retail Druggists of Iowa; 443
  • Retailers of the West Coast; 341
  • *Retaukers of the West Coast; 347
  • Robert E. Ramsay Organization, Inc. (19 W 44th St., New York); 232, 255, 257
  • *Roderick, Jim M.; 363
  • Rodgers, E.I.; 1
  • *Rodgers, E.I.; 2
  • ROOSEVELT, FRANKLIN D. (U.S. PRESIDENT); 307
  • ROSS, DON; 591 -- 594
  • “ROTARY" SPEECH NOTES; 865, 870
  • ROTARY CLUB, DES MOINES; 748, 835
  • ROTARY INTERNATIONAL AGENDA, 1928; 746
  • Roy, Don (Business Manager of Business Week); 307, 308
  • Russell, A.J.; 91
  • Sub-Series: S
  • “SALESMENSHIP" SPEECH NOTES; 853
  • SALISBURY HOUSE, DES MOINES; 334
  • SALISBURY HOUSE (BOOKLET); 750
  • SALISBURY HOUSE; 780
  • SANTA FE MAGAZINE; 151 -- 153
  • Santa Fe Magazine (18 E. Huron St., Chicago); 152, 154
  • SATURDAY EVENING POST; 86
  • Sawdon, Harry; 222
  • *Sawdon, Harry W.; 362
  • *Scardefield; 172
  • *Scardefield, Jack S.; 361
  • SCHEDULE OF EVENTS; 790, 794, 811
  • SCOVELL STANDARD; 232, 255 -- 257
  • SEARS; 422
  • “SERVICE STORIES" SPEECH; 912
  • *Shivas, J.W.
  • SINCLAIR, FRAZER (PUBLISHER OF DRUG MARKETS); 159
  • SMART SET; 518, 557
  • Smith, Charlotte M.; 333
  • Smith, Clark C. (Editor of the Red Barrel); 391, 392, 394 -- 396
  • SOAPS BY W.A. POUCHER; 644
  • Southwestern Drug Corporation (Dallas, Texas); 403
  • SPEECH TITLES:
  • “ARMAND FEDERAL TRADECASE”; 924
  • “CHARACTER”; 922
  • “COSMETIC TRADE IN DRUG STORES”; 916
  • “DES MOINES PUBLIC SCHOOLS”; 929
  • “DRUG INSTITUTE OF AMERICA” 917
  • “DUTY OF MANUFACTURER, WHOLESALER AND RETAILER UNDER THE CALIFORNIA FAIR TRADE LAW”; 878
  • “ESTABLISHMENT OF FREE RETAIL TRADE”; 919
  • “FOURTH HISTORIC PRICE MAINTENANCE CASE”; 178
  • “IMPLANTING A NEW IDEA”; 240
  • “FOURTH HISTORIC PRICE MAINTENANCE CASE”; 903
  • “HOW TO GET SALESMEN TO WALK”; 252
  • “IMPLANTING A NEW IDEA IN ADVERTISING”; 918
  • “MAKE-UP FOR PROFITS ON COSMETICS, HOW TO GET IT”; 931
  • “MANUFACTURERS VIEWPOINT ON RETURNED GOODS”; 932
  • ”N.R.A. MOVEMENT”; 934
  • “NATIONAL RECOVERY ACT”; 898
  • “OLD ORDER CHANGETH ”; 927
  • “PRICE MAINTENANCE”; 911
  • “SERVICE STORES”; 912
  • “THREE SELLING FORCES: ADVERTISING, GOODS DISPLAY AND SALESMANSHIP”; 933
  • “WHAT IS GOING ON ”; 333
  • SPEECH, STATE
  • SPEECH; 178, 240, 916, 919, 927, 930, 323, 933
  • SAN FRANC ISCO, CALIFORNIA; 878
  • DES MOINES, IOWA (IOWA PHARMACEUTICAL ASSOC.); 920
  • SPEECH NOTES, TITLES
  • “BUSINESS ETHICS”
  • GOODWIN PLAN”; 866
  • “ORIENTAL RUGS”
  • “ROTARY”; 865, 870
  • “SALESMENSHIP”; 853
  • SPEECH NOTES -- STATE, CITY, ORGANIZATION; 259, 830, 832, 936, 842, 850, 851, 853, 855, 858, 860, 861, 863 -- 866, 868 -- 871, 879 -- 883, 888, 893, 900 -- 902, 908 -- 910, 912, 914, 915, 923, 924, 926, 928, 931, 935
  • ALABAMA; 837
  • ARKANSAS; 889
  • CALIFORNIA; 877, 885, 892, 899, 921
  • SAN FRANCISCO TO RETAIL DRUGGISTS' ASSOCIATION; 917
  • COLORADO, DENVER; 849
  • FLORIDA, JACKSONVILLE ; 872
  • GEORGIA, ATLANTA; 873
  • CAPITAL CITY CLUB ; 875
  • IDAHO; 841
  • BOISE, ID; 904
  • ILLINOIS; 894
  • CHICAGO, IL; 848
  • IOWA; 838, 897
  • BOONE, IA; 847
  • CEDAR RAPIDS, IA; 886
  • DAVENPORT, IA; 911
  • DES MOINES, IA; 852
  • “ADVERTISING CLUB”, DES MOINES; 918
  • COLLEGE OF PHARMACY, DES MOINES; 922
  • DES MOINES CHAPTER OF THE ARCHAEOLOGICAL INSTITUTE OF AMERICA; 834
  • IOWA PHARMACEUTICAL ASSOCIATION, DES MOINES; 867
  • ROSTER CLUB, DES MOINES; 913
  • ROTARY CLUB, DES MOINES; 835
  • INDIANOLA, IA; 854
  • NEWTON, IA; 833
  • OSKALOOSA, IA; 830
  • KANSAS, KANSAS CITY ; 925
  • KENTUCKY; 856
  • MICHIGAN; 840
  • MINNESOTA, MINNEAPOLIS (THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF RETAIL DRUGGISTS); 903
  • NEBRASKA; 862
  • OMAHA, NE; 839, 844
  • NEW MEXICO, 296
  • NEW YORK , 905
  • BUFFALO, NY; 890, 895
  • OHIO; 843
  • COLUMBUS; 906
  • OKLAHOMA, TULSA; 844
  • OREGON, PORTLAND; 907
  • SOUTH CAROLINA; 891
  • SOUTH DAKOTA; 857
  • TENNESSEE, MEMPHIS; 876
  • TEXAS, AMARILLO; 845
  • WISCONSIN; 846
  • MILWAUKEE, WI; 252
  • SALES MANAGERS' ASSOCIATION MEETING, MILWAUKEE, WI; 887
  • SPEECH -- RADIO; 934
  • NEW MEXICO ; 898
  • ST. JOHN, WALTER; 71, 72
  • St. Louis Wholesale Drug Co. (121 South Seventh St., St. Louis, Missouri); 134, 173
  • STALIN; 684
  • STATE HISTORICAL SOCIETY OF IOWA CENTENNIAL BUILDING; 418
  • *Stipp, William L.; 250
  • STOCK MARKET CRASH; 196
  • STRUCTURE OF THE ARMAND COMPANY; 810
  • *Sturges & Rawhouser (Carroll, Iowa?); 62, 63
  • Sturges, S.E.; 63
  • *Sturges, W.E. 65
  • Sturmer, Doris; 393
  • *Sullivan, William J.; 360
  • SURVEY IN CLEVELAND ON INFLUENCE OF DRUG STORE; 689
  • SURVEY IN DEPARTMENT AND DRUG STORES ON COSMETIC DEMONSTRATORS; 693
  • SURVEY ON BRAND OF COSMETICS USED; 685
  • SYSTEM (BUSINESS MAGAZINE); 70, 72, 74, 89, 90, 91
  • Sub-Series: T
  • Taft, Erma; 40
  • *Taft, Erma; 41
  • Talbott, Robert F.; 115
  • *Talbott, Robert F.; 116
  • TECHNIQUE OF BUILDING PERSONAL LEADERSHIP; 818
  • TECHNIQUE OF HANDLING PEOPLE; 410
  • TEST FOR QUALITY OF FACE POWDER; 679
  • THANIX, REMEDY FOR BITING FINGERNAILS AND SUCKING THUMBS; 117
  • “THREE SELLING FARCES” ADVERTISING, GOODS DISPLAY, SALESMANSHIP -- SPEECH; 933
  • Tide (232 Madison Avenue, New York City); 253, 256
  • TIDE; 253, 256
  • TOLEDO NEWS BEE (NEWSPAPER); 7
  • Tone, (Mr.); 441
  • Topics Publishing Company, Inc. (291 Broadway, New York City); 68
  • Trade News Service (Buffalo, New York); 11
  • TRUTH SELLING; 183
  • Sub-Series: U
  • Underwriters Review (555 Seventh Street, Des Moines, Iowa); 225
  • UNDERWRITERS REVIEW; 225
  • UNGERER & COMPANY (NEW YORK CITY); 5
  • Union Trust Company (Detroit, Michigan); 147
  • *Utter, Roy; 245, 376, 387, 506, 507
  • UNITED STATES RUBBER; 422
  • UNITED STATES STEEL; 422
  • Sub-Series: V
  • VALIDITY OF ADVERTISING STATEMENTS ON FACE POWDER; 3, 4
  • *Varga, Bart; 330
  • VIRGINIA ASSEMBLY; 808
  • Vogue (Graybar Building, New York); 206
  • VOGUE; 518, 552, 557
  • Sub-Series: W
  • WARREN CORPORATION; 510
  • WASHINGTON, GEORGE; 808
  • WATERBURY, C.H. (SECRETARY OF NATIONAL WHOLESALE DRUGGISTS ASSOCIATION 1925); 20
  • Watt, S.A.; 208
  • *Watt, S.W.; 209
  • Watters, George H. (Mrs.); 419
  • Weaver, Luther P.; 178, 179
  • Weber, Marjorie H. (Editor of “Executives’ Bulletin”); 147, 148
  • Weeks, Charles V.; 277, 278, 299
  • *Weeks, Charles V.; 303
  • Weeks, William C.; 270
  • *Weeks, William C.; 271, 320, 346
  • Weldy, Margaret; 212
  • Wharton News of Finance and Commerce (Logan Hall University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia); 236
  • 'WHAT IS GOING ON' SPEECH;
  • *Wholesale Dealers; 342, 427
  • *Wholesale Druggists; 237
  • WHO'S WHO IN THE CHEMICAL AND DRUG INDUSTRIES; 131, 136
  • Wiederseim, Theo. E.; 397, 420
  • *Wiederseim, Theo. E.; 421
  • *Wiseman, William H. (Advertising Director of Armand Co.); 15, 56 -- 59, 70, 79, 107, 121, 126, 138, 139, 155, 157, 160, 161, 166, 169, 261, 302, 314
  • *Woolley, Edward Mott; 7 -- 10
  • Sub-Series: Z
  • Zemmer, Paul (Advertising Manager of The Examiner); 262, 324, 325, 343
  • ZIEGFELD FOLLIES; 294, 591 -- 593
  • Zuercher, O.A.; 601, 602 

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Armand Company

Topics:
Advertising
Competition, Unfair
Cosmetics
Cosmetics industry
Merchandising
Price maintenance

Genre/Form of Materials:
Scrapbooks
Speeches

Browse:
Businessmen and Businesses