Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the McIlvaine Family Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1862-1931
Creator: McIlvaine Family
Extent: .75 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0163
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Correspondence of a Faribault, Minnesota, family.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: McIlvaine Family Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The McIlvaine family papers are composed of business correspondence and personal letters written to Mrs. Harry B. McIlvaine from 1862 to 1931. Mrs. McIlvaine was the wife of Col. H. B. McIlvaine who served in the Civil War as chief of artillery during the siege of Harper's Ferry in 1862. (More information pertaining to Col. McIlvaine can be found in The Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies, Series vol. XIX, part 1.)

The correspondence is arranged chronologically in twelve folders. The majority of the letters are between Mrs. McIlvaine and her children, Catherine and Harry Jr. These letters are personal in nature and contain few historical events of the day. Some of the letters to Mrs. McIlvaine are from relatives. The most important letters are those from Mrs. McIlvaine's nephew, Herbert Parsons, who served as a member of Congress from New York State (1901-1911). In the letters from Mr. Parsons, reference is made to President Theodore Roosevelt and President Taft. There are several letters from the Federal Government to Mrs. McIlvaine regarding a pension claim she made after her husband's death.

Series 2 is a collection index. Names are followed by item numbers indicating letters pertaining to a person or subject. S) denotes subjects headings. * denotes letters sent to the person named.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: INDEX

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Folder 1, items #1-16 - 1862-1882
  • Folder 2, items #17-38 - 1883
  • Folder 3, items #39-62 - 1884-1885
  • Folder 4, items #63-87 - 1886-1889
  • Folder 5, items #88-131 - 1890
  • Folder 6, items #132-168 - 1891
  • Folder 7, items #169-203 - 1890-1894
  • Folder 8, items #204-222 - 1895-1899
  • Folder 9, items #223-257 - 1901-1907
  • Box 2:
  • Folder 10, items #258-283 - 1909-1931
  • Folder 11, items #284-307
  • Folder 12, items #308-325
  • Series 2: INDEX
  • Sub-Series: A
  • ANKLE-SUPPORT SHOE, ADVERTISEMENT (S), 204 
  • Sub-Series: B
  • Backus, Elise Piutti, 271 
  • Bartley, Helen, 272 
  • Blake & Turner, Faribault, Minnesota, 320 
  • Bohn, G. C., 249
  • BOHNSYPHON REFRIGERATOR (S), 249 
  • Bolles, Henry A., 223, 224, 225 
  • Bolting, Marie, 66 
  • BUNTAIN, MORGAN (S), 154 
  • BURIAL GROUND RIGHTS (S), 324 
  • Sub-Series: C
  • Camp Ether, 306 
  • Carpenter & Smith, Faribault, Minnesota, 321 
  • Cavanaugh & Frink, Faribault, Minnesota, 226 
  • Chambers, Sarah O., 38, 48, 65, 81, 251, 273
  • Clapp, Moses E. (Chairman of U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs), 248
  • Clarine Brothers, Faribault, Minnesota, 216 
  • Comford, J. F., 190 
  • Comford & King, Faribault, Minnesota, 181 
  • Cowley, A. M. P., 246 
  • Crone, Fannie, 299 
  • Crone, Sarah Le, 283 
  • Cyrmt, F. N., 218 
  • Sub-Series: D
  • Department of the Interior, Bureau of Pensions, Washington D.C., 193, 194, 201
  • Deverey & Donohue, Faribault, Minnesota, 265, 267 
  • DuBois, Corneluis, 245 
  • Sub-Series: E
  • E. Fleckenstein Brewing Co., Faribault, Minnesota, 234 
  • E. J. Denning & Company, New York City, 35, 170, 187 
  • Sub-Series: F
  • Faribault Furniture Company, Faribault, Minnesota, 185, 191 
  • FARIBAULT, MINNESOTA (S) 245
  • Farnum, Cornelia Whipple, 47, 286, 295 
  • Fink Brothers, Faribault, Minnesota, 214 
  • Foester, W. L., 263 
  • Folwell, Mary H., 33, 50, 56, 64, 72, 300
  • Sub-Series: G
  • *Gaylord, T. B., 15 
  • George Tleston & Co., Faribault, Minnesota, 69, 84, 87 
  • GOODWIN, NAT C. (S), 92 
  • Graham Nursery Co., Rochester, New York, 235 
  • Grant, A. J., 189, 192 
  • Gray, Julia Allen, 268 
  • GREAT LAKE STORM OF 1881 (S), 144 
  • GREAT NECK PROPERTY (S), 58 
  • Sub-Series: H
  • Hall, A. L., 186 
  • Hall, M. R., 175 
  • Hamiet, R. C., 277 
  • Harris, Ellen N., 19, 31, 49 
  • Hatch, A. M., 256 
  • Heatwole, Joel P., U.S. Representative, 217, 220 
  • Herrick, Caroline K., 26, 38, 285 
  • Hill, A. J., Jr., 278
  • Hilton, Hughes & Co., New York City, 199 
  • HOTEL METROPOLITAN, ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA (S), 207 
  • House of Representatives, U.S.A., 217, 220 
  • Huyler's, New York City, 219 
  • Sub-Series: I
  • Ichenck, Julia C., 5 
  • INDIAN AFFAIRS COMMITTEE, 59th CONGRESS (S), 248 
  • Sub-Series: J
  • J. Paisley's Sons, New York City, 208 
  • JEAUR CAUT: CASE AGAINST THE MAYOR OF BUFFALO, 1885 (S), 52, 62 
  • Jepson & Son, Faribault, Minnesota, 215 
  • Sub-Series: K
  • Kedney, Sarah A., 221 
  • Kelly, E. F., 210, 227, 228, 229, 230, 231, 232, 233, 319 
  • Kelly & Lieb, Faribault, Minnesota, 210 
  • Kinity, Grace E. M., 51 
  • Sub-Series: L
  • LADY DURAND (S), 297 
  • Lasalle & Koch Co., 243 
  • Laufenbruger & Wolf, Faribault, Minnesota, 188 
  • LERNISS, GARRETT P., SECRETARY OF AMERICAN ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY (S), 51
  • Lind, Myrtle A., 196, 198, 222, 304 
  • Lochren, William, Commissioner of the Bureau of Pensions, Washington D.C., 193, 201
  • Lohwell, Sarah H., 294
  • Longeway, Josephine, 279
  • LYSEWN THEATRE, DULUTH, MINNESOTA (S), 152
  • Sub-Series: M
  • MacIntire, Percivar, 312, 313, 314, 315
  • Mannheimer Bros., St. Paul, Minnesota, 257 
  • MAYFLOWER, SHIP ON GREAT LAKES THAT SUNK IN 1881 (S), 144 
  • *McIlvaine, Alexis E., 11, 305 
  • McIlvaine, Mrs. C. L., 308, 309 
  • *McIlvaine, Kate 13, 18, 19, 20, 25, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 79, 82, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120, 121, 122, 123, 124, 125, 126, 127, 128, 129, 130, 131, 132, 133, 134, 135, 136, 137, 138, 140, 141, 143, 144, 147, 148, 151, 152, 153, 154, 155, 156, 157, 158, 159, 160, 161, 162, 163, 164, 165, 166, 167, 168, 184, 195, 196, 197, 198, 202, 203, 204, 205, 207, 209, 218, 219, 221, 222, 241, 243, 245, 246, 248, 260, 279, 281, 282, 285, 294, 295, 298, 299, 300, 304, 306, 307, 312, 314, 315, 316, 318, 323, 337
  • McIlvaine, Kate, 7, 183, 317
  • McIlvaine, Charles P., 1 
  • MCILVAINE, DAVID (S), 154
  • *McIlvaine, Harry B., 236
  • McIlvaine, Harry B. 21, 24, 25, 42, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, l00, l0l, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120, 121, 122, 123, 124, 125, 126, 127, 128, 129, 130, 131, 132, 133, 134, 135, 136, 137, 138, 139, 140, 141, 142, 143, 144, 145, 146, 147, 148, 149, 150, 151, 152, 153, 154, 155, 156, 157, 158, 159, 160, 161, 162, 163, 164, 165, 166, 167, 168, 180, 184
  • *McIlvaine, Col. Harry B., Sr., 8, 284
  • McIlvaine, Col. Harry B., Sr., 12, 15, 302
  • *McIlvaine, Helen (Nell), 13, 14, 16, 17, 298
  • McIlvaine, Helen (Nell), 11, 305 
  • *McIlvaine, Margaret, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26, 27, 35, 42, 68, 69, 70, 76, 77, 78, 80, 81, 83, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 96, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120, 121, 122, 123, 124, 125, 126, 127, 128, 129, 130, 131, 132, 133, 134, 135, 136, 137, 138, 139, 140, 141, 142, 143, 144, 145, 146, 147, 148, 149, 150, 151, 152, 153, 154, 155, 156, 157, 158, 159, 160, 161, 162, 163, 164, 165, 166, 167, 168, 169, 170, 171, 172, 173, 174, 175, 176, 177, 178, 179, 180, 181, 182, 183, 184, 185, 186, 187, 188, 189, 190, 191, 192, 193, 194, 199, 200, 201, 205, 206, 208, 210, 211, 212, 213, 214, 215, 216, 217, 220, 223, 224, 225, 226, 227, 228, 229, 230, 231, 232, 233, 234, 235, 238, 239, 240, 242, 244, 247, 249, 250, 251, 252, 253, 254, 255, 256, 257, 258, 259, 260, 261, 262, 263, 264, 265, 266, 267, 268, 269, 270, 271, 272, 273, 274, 275, 276, 277, 278, 280, 282, 283, 287, 288, 289, 290, 291, 292, 293, 297, 301, 302, 303, 308, 309, 310, 311, 313, 317, 319, 320, 321, 322
  • McIlvaine, Margaret, 40, 46, 316
  • McIlvaine, Sarah S., 310, 311
  • Milo B. Stevens & Co., Chicago, Ill. (Solicitors of Pension Claims), 169, 171, 203
  • Mitchell, Addie E.,174 
  • Mitchell, Bertha, 182, 292
  • Mitchell, Charles, 29, 36
  • Mitchell, E. P., 13, 276
  • Mitchell, M. E., 258, 269
  • Mitchell, Mrs. S. E., 22, 77, 250 
  • Moore, Millie R., 252
  • Morgan, Edith T., 82, 173, 176
  • MORTAGAGE PROMISARY NOTE (S), 12, 15 
  • Morrell, Edwin, 39, 41, 45, 53, 54, 63, 74 
  • Morrell, Helen L., 178, 197 
  • Morrell, Robert, 30, 32, 34, 37, 43, 52, 55, 57, 58, 62, 323
  • Murphy, D. L. (First Deputy Commissioner of Bureau of Pensions), 194
  • Sub-Series: N
  • Naucoch, E. C., 206
  • "THE NOMINEE" (play) (S), 92
  • North Star Livery Co., Faribault, Minnesota, 266
  • Sub-Series: O
  • Oscar M. Harstad & Co., Faribault, Minnesota, 261, 262
  • Sub-Series: P
  • PARIS (S), 10, 290
  • Parsons, Edith, 238, 259, 280, 307
  • Parsons, Herbert , 10
  • Parsons, John E., 213
  • Parsons, M., 239, 240, 242, 297
  • Parsons, Mary D., 2, 3, 4, 28, 76, 78, 80, 202, 209, 211, 212, 287, 288, 290, 296
  • Pettitt, S. I., 70
  • PHOTOGRAPHS OF MARTHA'S VINEYARD (S), 13 
  • POEM (S), 325
  • Pond, L. E., U. S. Pension Agent, 179
  • POORHOUSE (S), 62
  • Pope, Elija E., 204, 275 
  • Pope, William, 44, 73, 75, 79
  • "PRINCE METHUSALEM" (comic opera) (S), 51
  • Puisnes, E., 59, 60, 61
  • Sub-Series: R
  • RAYMOND, JOHN T. (S), 51
  • Remmey, W., 274 
  • Renneraker & Jones, Washington D. C., 247 
  • ROOSEVELT, THEODORE, PRESIDENT (S), 238
  • Sub-Series: S
  • Saxton, William A., 253, 255
  • SERVANT HELP IN 1885 (S), 62 
  • *Shouts, James, 12 
  • Smith, Helen Livingston, 86 
  • Smith, John Day, Attorney, Minneapolis, Minnesota, 67 
  • ST. LOUIS HOTEL FIRE, DULUTH, MINNESOTA, 1891 (S), 149 
  • Sub-Series: T
  • TAFT, WILLIAM HOWARD, PRESIDENT (S), 259, 297
  • Taylor, Thais, 293 
  • TEMPLE OPERA PROGRAM (S), 92 
  • Thomson, Alice L., 254 
  • Turner, Jessie, 301 
  • Tuttle, L., Faribault, Minnesota, 68 
  • Sub-Series: U
  • U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs, 248 
  • Sub-Series: V
  • Van Ellis, Elizabeth, 14, 16
  • Sub-Series: W
  • Wanamaker, John, 337 
  • WAR PENSION CLAIM (S), 67, 169, 171, 179, 193, 194, 201, 274, 253, 255
  • Washington Meat Market, Faribault, Minnesota, 200 
  • Wellman, Ray W., 236 
  • Western Union Telegraph Company, 323 
  • Wheeler, J. B., 172 
  • Whipple, E., 195 
  • Whipple, Mary W., 23, 27, 244, 264, 270
  • White Enamel Refrigerator Co., St. Paul, Minnesota, 249 
  • Whitney, George S., 322 

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Geographic Names:
United States -- Minneapolis -- Faribault
United States -- New York -- Manhassett