Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Mann Family Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1861-1913
Creator: Mann Family
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0161
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Civil War letters and military records of Asahel Mann, Jr., John Mann, and William Mann, all of whom were members of Co. A, 4th regiment, Iowa Cavalry.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 1; Computer disk: Box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The core of this collection was given to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1959 by Asahel Mann's granddaughter, Mrs. Stewart S. Foster. In 1998 and 1999, Mr. Jerry Mann began adding transcriptions of letters to the existing collection.

Preferred Citation: Mann Family Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The three Mann brothers of Fremont County, Iowa, were all soldiers in Company A of the 4th Iowa Volunteer Cavalry. Eldest brother, William, enlisted on October 2, 1861 at age 34. He was promoted to Veterinary Surgeon on February 10, 1864 and was mustered out on August 10, 1865 in Atlanta, Georgia.

John Mann, was 26 years old when he enlisted on August 29, 1862. He was killed in action during the siege of Vicksburg.

The youngest brother was Asahel Mann, born on December 4, 1842. He was eighteen when he joined the army on August 26, 1861. He was taken prisoner on October 11, 1862 in Jones Lane, Arkansas and was exchanged and returned to this company on December 1, 1862. He held the rank of First Lieutenant when he was mustered out on August 8, 1865.

Chloe Jane (Jennie) Scott was born on July 1, 1845. She taught school in Hamburg and Sidney, Iowa. She was a frequent correspondent with Asahel Mann, whom she married in 1866.

Other correspondents included some Mann relatives, such as their parents, sister Susan, and Granville Mann. Fellow soldier and friend William F. Scott also has letters in this collection.

The Mann family papers consist of 0.5 linear foot of Civil War correspondence arranged chronologically. Most of the letters were written by Asahel Mann and Jennie Scott from Camp Harlan, Iowa; Mt. Pleasant, Iowa; Helena, Arkansas; the vicinity of Vicksburg, Mississippi; and the homefront in and around Sidney, Iowa. The collection is made up of original letters, photocopies, and transcriptions. There is also a computer disk containing the transcriptions of more than 90 of the letters.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CIVIL WAR MATERIALS

  • Series 1: CIVIL WAR MATERIALS
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical material
  • Correspondence - 1851-1863
    Including original letters, photocopies, and transcriptions
  • Correspondence - 1864-1866
    Including original letters, photocopies, and transcriptions
  • Correspondence: Undated transcriptions
  • Correspondence: Photostatic copies - 1861-1865
    Permalife copies filed with the correspondence
  • Computer disk
    Contains transcriptions of letters. The contents of this floppy disk were transferred to CD ROM in February 2007. The format as it appears on the floppy disk is outdated and had to be changed. It was saved in rich text format, or .rtf in Word. There is a lot of code on the first couple of pages of each item. In addition, there are four items that could not be opened. These are in an older version of Microsoft Office Publisher. The format could not be changed on these and the newer version of Publisher does not support the older version.
  • Military records - 1861-1913
    Including photocopies of muster rolls, pension records, discharge papers, etc.
  • Photograph
  • Photograph of John Mann's grave
    Vicksburg National Cemetery, Section F, Grave #1129