Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Progressive Party Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1940-1969
Creator: Progressive Party
Extent: 30.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0160
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Correspondence, speeches, reports, business records, articles, campaign materials, fact sheets, form letters, directives, telegrams, pamphlets, press releases, clippings, and other related material concerning the party and the national election of 1948.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Boxes 11 and 28.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was given to the University of Iowa in 1966 by Curtis MacDougall.

Preferred Citation: Progressive Party Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Curtis MacDougall was born on February 11, 1903, in Fond du Lac, Wisconsin. He started his career as a journalist there at the Fond du Lac Commonwealth-Reporter at the age of fifteen. He received a BA in English from Ripon College in Wisconsin in 1923. He went on to obtain a Master's from Northwestern University in 1926 and a Ph.D. in Sociology at the University of Wisconsin in 1933. After working at several newspapers, he joined the faculty of Northwestern University in 1935. During the depression, he served as state supervisor of the Illinois Writers Project, a WPA project of the New Deal, in which he edited the works of such Illinois authors as Saul Bellow, Nelson Algren, and Studs Terkel.
 
MacDougall wrote several books, among them Gideon's Army, a three volume history of the Progressive Party movement that culminated in Henry A. Wallace's run for president in 1948.

This collection is apparently the material that Curtis MacDougall collected for writing his book Gideon's Army.
The Henry A. Wallace Collection at the University of Iowa, MsC0177

The Papers of Calvin Baldwin at the University of Iowa, MsC0343

The Hugh C. MacDougall Progressive Party Papers at the University of Iowa, MsC0482

STOVER, FRED W., 1898-1990. Papers of Fred Stover, 13.5 ft.

Hampton, Iowa farm advocate and activist for progressive causes, former head of the Iowa Farmers Union and president of the U.S. Farmers Association. Correspondence, writings, and organizational materials, together with miscellaneous material, documenting his 40 years of political and social activism. MsC0165

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: 1975 ADDENDUM
Series 3: OVERSIZED MATERIAL
Series 4: 2003 ADDENDUM
Series 5: 2010 ADDENDUM
Series 6: 2012 ADDENDUM
Series 7: PROGRESSIVE PARTY OF PENNSYLVANIA
Series 8: PROGRESSIVE CITIZENS OF AMERICA (PCA)
Series 9: PROGRESSIVE PARTY -- NATIONAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Texas: Correspondence of Herman Wright, Progressive Party candidate for governor (Texas) and State chairman. - 1948-1950
    Includes 1 TLS from Louis Adamic
  • Texas: Correspondence of Herman Wright. - 1948-1950
    1 TLS from Rockwell Kent; 1 TLS from Ring Lardner Jr.; TLS from Elmer Benson, Governor and U. S. Senator from Minnesota
  • Texas: Speeches and press releases of Herman Wright - 1948-1949
  • Texas: Broadsides, press releases, articles, manuscript notes, pamphlets, and newspaper clippings
    (2 folders)
  • Texas: Broadsides and pamphlets
  • Box 2:
  • Vermont: Correspondence of Helen H. MacMartin, Secretary-Treasurer of the Progressive Party of Vermont - 1948-1952
    (4 folders)
  • Box 3:
  • Vermont: Correspondence of Helen H. MacMartin. - 1948-1954
    1 TLS George D. Aiken, U.S. Senator from Vermont. 2 TLS Ralph E. Flanders, US Senator from Vermont
  • Vermont: Correspondence of Helen H. MacMartin. - 1948-1950
    3 TLS from George T. Aiken. 1 TLS Ralph E. Flanders
  • Vermont: Correspondence of Helen H. MacMartin - 1948-1952
    (2 folders)
  • Vermont: Pamphlets, broadsides, minutes, manuscript notes
  • Box 4:
  • Maryland: Correspondence, press releases, broadsides, pamphlets - 1946-1948
  • Pennsylvania: Correspondence of Josiah W. Gitt, state chairman of Progressive Party of Pennsylvania. - 1947-1950
    Includes 1 TLS from Howard Fast
  • Pennsylvania: Correspondence of Josiah W. Gitt. - 1947-1954
    1 TLS from Mrs. Budd Schulberg (2 folders)
  • Pennsylvania: Miscellaneous
  • Massachusetts: Correspondence of Professor Frederick L. Shuman, President Elector, Progressive Party of Massachusetts, and Mrs. Jessie O'Connor, acting director Fall River, Mass. Progressive Party. - 1948
    Includes 1 TLS from Henry A. Wallace and 1 TLS from Elmer Benson
  • Box 5:
  • Wisconsin: Correspondence of M. Michael Essin, chairman, State Central Committee, Progressive Party of Wisconsin - 1948-1952
  • Wisconsin: Correspondence of M. Michael Essin. - 1948-1953
    Includes 1 TLS from Vito Marcantonio
  • Wisconsin: Correspondence of M. Michael Essin. - 1947-1951
    1 MLS Frank Lloyd Wright. 1 TLS A. J. Sabath, US Congressman from Illinois
  • Wisconsin: Bulletins, letters, telegrams, minutes, policy statements, broadsides, pamphlets, press releases - 1948-1952
  • Box 6:
  • Wisconsin: Pamphlets
    (2 folders)
  • Wisconsin: Bills, receipts, tax statements, tickets, bank statements, cancelled checks, and miscellany
  • Box 7:
  • Wisconsin: Bills, receipts, tax statements, tickets, bank statements, cancelled checks, and miscellany
  • California: Broadsides, pamphlets, letters, leaflets - 1949-1954
  • Illinois, Indiana, Missouri, New Jersey, New Hampshire: Pamphlets, broadsides, press releases, manuscript notes, telegrams, form letters - 1947-1953
  • New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island: Pamphlets, broadsides, form letters, articles - 1947-1950
  • 7A:
  • Miscellaneous pamphlets, broadsides, leaflets, form letters, and clippings
  • Box 8:
  • Miscellaneous pamphlets, broadsides, and leaflets
  • I. F. Stone. Smith Act trial report. Young Progressives of America. Form letters, broadsides, publications, directives, bulletins - 1946-1953
  • American Committee for the Foreign Born. American Continental Congress for Peace. American Peace Crusade. CIO Political Action Committee. Civil Rights Congress. Committee for a Democratic Far Eastern Policy. Council of American Soviet Friendship. Council on African Affairs. National Nonpartisan Committee to Defend the Rights of the 12 Communist Leaders. Peace Information Center. United Electrical, Radio & Machine Workers of America. Form letters, postcards, leaflets, pamphlets, statements, press releases - 1948-1952
  • World Peace Congress. Yugoslav Information Center. Facts for Farmers. National Labor Committee for Wallace and Taylor. Progressive Veteran. Vet's Voice. The Southern Patriot. Romanian News. American Committee for Protection of Foreign Born. National Committee to Secure Justice in the Rosenberg Case. Postcards, form letters, statements, pamphlets, publications, manuscripts notes, newspaper clippings - 1948-1952
  • Box 9:
  • National Progressive Party. Programs, minutes, reports, statements, outlines, form letters, broadsides - 1946-1952
  • National Progressive Party. Reports, press releases, budgets, bulletins, form letters, broadsides, statements - 1947-1953
  • National Wallace for President Committee. Leaflets, form letters, broadsides - 1947-1952
  • Progressive Party. Pamphlets, articles, form letters, leaflets, songs
  • Box 10:
  • Progressive Party. Pamphlets, programs, cards, forms
  • Progressive Party. United Electrical, Radio and Machine Workers of America. Pamphlets, leaflets, campaign biography Meet Henry Wallace by James Waterman Wise
  • Charles P. Howard. Harvey Matsow. Rod Holmgren. Milburn P. Akers. Letters, notebooks, manuscript notes, articles, clippings - 1949-1955
  • Calvin B. Baldwin. Form letters, news releases, statements, directives - 1948-1954
  • John J. Abt. Elmer A. Benson. Edward R. Frisbie. George B. Murphy Jr. Jerry J. O'Connell. Ralph E. Shikes. Lillian H. Traugott. Form letters, news releases, broadsides, statements, directives - 1947-1950
  • Box 11:
  • Photographs
  • Box 12:
  • John J. Abt. Elmer A. Benson. Calvin B. Baldwin. Form letters, statements, directives, news releases, memoranda, addresses - 1950-1952
  • Calvin B. Baldwin. Form letters, statements, directives, news releases, memoranda, reports, speeches - 1949-1954
  • Calvin B. Baldwin. Form letters, speeches, reports, news releases, statements, directives - 1948-1954
  • Jack Berman. Reuben W. Borough. Lou Burnham. Barney Conal. Earl B. Dickerson. Thomas I. Emerson. Corliss Lamont. Mitchell Franklin. George B. Murphy, Jr. Paul Robeson. Ralph Shikes. Lillian H. Traugott. Form letters, speeches, statements, news releases, reports, directives - 1948-1950
  • Raymond R. Tillman. Katherine A. Van Orden. Luke H. Wilson. Dr. W. E. Du Bois. Vincent Hallinan. Vivian Hallinan. Charlotta Bass. Morton Bloom. Form letters, speeches, statements, news releases, reports, directives - 1949-1953
  • Box 13:
  • California, Connecticut, Florida: Broadsides, reports, minutes, form letters, statements, directives, leaflets, publications - 1947-1954
  • Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Missouri, New Jersey, New York: Petitions, form letters, statements, news releases, manuscript notes, articles, reports, speeches - 1947-1952
  • Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, Vermont, Wisconsin: Form letters, nomination papers, manuscript notes, articles, reports, speeches, statements, broadsides - 1948-1953
  • Vermont, Wisconsin: Form letters, nomination papers, manuscript notes, reports, statements, leaflets, speeches, articles, broadsides - 1948-1950
  • Wisconsin: Petitions, tax returns, letters, statements, manuscript notes, speeches - 1948-1951
  • Box 14:
  • Wisconsin: Election statements, letters, speeches, election ballots, nomination papers, manuscript notes, reports - 1948-1950
  • National Committee to Defeat the Mundt Bill. Young Progressive Citizens of America. Newsletters, form letters, bulletins, statements, pamphlets, broadsides, publications, news releases - 1948-1950
  • American Labor Party. National Council of American-Soviet Friendship. American Peace Crusade. Peace Information Center. Letters, statements, memoranda, reports, speeches, publications - 1949-1951
  • Civil Rights Congress. American Civil Liberties Union. Daniels Defense Committee. Fraternal Council of Churches in America. National Lawyers Guild. National Committee to Repeal the McCarren Act. Motion Picture Association. Letters, statements, reports, scripts, broadsides, peitions, reprints - 19648-1953
  • Facts for Action. (National Wallace for President Committee) - 1948
  • Facts for Action. Legislative Bulletin. AVC Progressive news. News releases. Uncensored. Peace Crusader. American Soviet Friendship Report on the News. American Soviet Facts - 1948-1953
  • Box 15:
  • Swaptalk. The Farmer's Angle. American Committee for the Protection of the Foreign Born. National Wallace for President Committee. - 1948-1949
  • National Conference of Students for Wallace. Progressive Party National Committee Meeting. National Committee on Jobs & the Economic Crisis. - 1947-1949
  • National Progressive Party. Statements, resolutions, reports, programs - 1950
  • National Progressive Party. Reports, statements, newsletters, minutes, resolutions, speeches - 1950-1952
  • National Progressive Party. Reports, statements, minutes, bulletins, programs - 1950-1954
  • Box 16:
  • National Progressive Party: Statements, minutes, news releases, lists, reports, broadsides, resolutions, speeches - 1948-1950
  • National Progressive Party: Speeches, statements, reports, minutes, lists, articles - 1948-1954
  • National Progressive Party: Statements, minutes, lists, reports, leaflets - 1947-1950
  • National Progressive Party: Resolutions, statements, articles, reports, lists, programs, biographies, form letters - 1948-1953
  • National Progressive Party: Reports, lists, minutes, statements, news releases, memoranda, broadsides, articles, programs - 1948-1950
  • Box 17:
  • National Progressive Party: Leaflets, policies, statements, letters, reports, broadsides, speeches, lists - 1948-1950
  • Henry Agard Wallace. Speeches and statements - 1946-1949
  • Box 18:
  • Henry Agard Wallace. Speeches and statements - 1948-1951
  • Box 19:
  • Newspaper clippings: Baltimore local interest and foreign items in Baltimore papers
  • Box 20:
  • Newspaper clippings: Massachusetts, Vermont and Connecticut local interest, National Committees
  • Box 21:
  • Newspaper clippings: Vermont and a few Quebec clippings
  • Box 22:
  • Newspaper clippings: Vermont local interest news clippings. Some newspaper columnists
  • Box 23:
  • Newspaper clippings: Vermont, Wisconsin, Maryland and Rhode Island. Milburn Akers Committee
  • Box 24:
  • Newspaper clippings: California, Massachusetts, New York, Wisconsin, Indiana, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Illinois
  • Box 25:
  • Newspaper clippings and speeches: National Association for the Advancement of Colored People. Charles P. Howard. Wisconsin Citizens for Wallace Journal
  • Box 26:
  • Wallace Fact Memorial Folder. Speech material folder. Includes form letters, broadsides, articles, memoranda, AVC Progressive news, convention speeches folder. Convention business folder
  • Box 27:
  • Manual of Practical Political Action. Edited by Lewis C. Frank, Jr. and Ralph E. Shikes
  • We Pledge Peace a friendship book
  • An Uncommon Man by Frank Kingdon (New York: The Readers Press). Iowa Progressive Party Platform and resolutions folder. Campaign handbook of the Progressive Party (2 copies). Notebook of Charles P. Howard - 1945, 1948
  • Box 28:
  • Charles P. Howard Notebook. Student's Manual of Outlines. National founding convention of the new political party at convention hall, Philadelphia Proceedings. Sixty photographs, National Wallace Committee check stub. Proceedings. 17th biennial convention. International Fur & Leather Workers Union of United States and Canada, CIO, May 16-22 - 1948
    263 pages
  • Box 29:
  • Political Affairs: June -- December - 1947
  • Political Affairs: January -- April - 1948
  • Political Affairs: June -- September - 1948
  • Political Affairs: November -- December - 1948
  • Political Affairs: August -- September - 1953
  • New World Review. January -- March - 1953
  • Masses & Mainstream. March -- November, January - 1948, 1949
  • Wallace, Henry A. Toward World Peace. New York: Reynal & Hitchcock - 1948
  • Box 30:
  • Proceedings. Illinois State Industrial Union Council CIO. Seventh and eighth Constitution Convention - 1949-1950
  • Proceedings of the ... Constitutional Convention of the United Steel Workers of America - 1946, 1948, 1950
  • Official Proceedings of the ... Convention of the International Union of Mine, Mill and Smelter Workers - 1946, 1948
  • Proceedings of the ... Convention of San Francisco. International Longshoremen's & Warehousemen's Union affiliated with the Congress of Industrial Organizations. - 1945, 1947, 1949
  • Proceedings. Fifth Constitutional Convention of the United Furniture Workers of America, CIO - 1948
  • Proceedings of the ... Constitutional Convention of the United Office and Professional Workers of America, CIO - 1946, 1948
  • Sweezy, Paul M. and Huberman, Leo (eds.) F.O. Mathiessen (1902 -- 1950), A Collective Portrait, New York: Henry Schuman - 1950
  • Box 31:
  • Proceedings of the ... Annual Convention International Woodworkers of America - 1946, 1947, 1948
  • Proceedings. United Electrical, Radio & Machine Workers of America, CIO - 1946, 1947, 1948
  • Proceedings ... Constitutional Convention of the Congress of Industrial Organizations - 1947, 1948, 1949
  • Investigations of senators Joseph R. McCarthy and William Benton pursuant to S. Res. 187 and S. Res. 304. Report of the Subcommittee on Privileges and Elections to the Committee on Rules and Administration
  • Rochester, Anna. The Populist Movement in the United States. New York: International Publishers - 1943
  • Whitman, Alden. Labor Parties 1827 -- 1834. New York: International Publishers - 1943
  • Lawson, Elizabeth. Lincoln's Third Party. New York: New Century Publishers - 1948
  • Foster, William Z.; Beware of the War Danger! New York: New Century Publishers - 1948
  • Dennis, Eugene. The Third Party and the 1948 Elections. New York: New Century Publishers - 1948
  • Box 32:
  • Press releases, news clippings, articles, letters - 1947-1955
    Correspondents include Henry L. Moon (NAACP), Joseph L. Johnson (dean of medicine, Howard University), Clark Foreman (director, Emergency Civil Liberties Committee), Mary McLeod Bethune
  • Spy Hunter. News clippings, articles, form letters, press releases, fact sheets - 1947-1953
  • Articles, speeches, clippings, notes - 1946-1952
  • Henry A. Wallace Breaks With Truman. Form letters, news clippings, letters, articles - 1946-1948
    Correspondents include Henry A. Wallace (2 TLS) and James Imbrie
  • Progressive Party Convention. Articles, platforms, news clippings, speeches - 1948-1955
    Letter from James Hayford, West Burke, Vermont.
  • Divisions (Youth-Women-Farmers). Letters, bulletins, clippings, articles, pamphlets, press conferences, news releases, statements, reports - 1948-1955
    Correspondents include Harold Buchman, Fred W. Stover, Elmer A. Benson (1 ALS), James M. Youngdale, James Robertson
  • 32A:
  • Labor. Reviews, news clippings, notes, articles, letters, pamphlets, speeches, news releases, fact sheets - 1948-1954
    Correspondents include Kermit Eby, Len De Caux, Eugene Cotton, Mrs. Miles Tierney, Leslie Orear, Abner Green
  • Liberals. Newspaper clippings, press releases, play, fact sheet, notes, pamphlets, articles - 1947-1948
  • Box 33:
  • South. Speeches, news clippings, articles, press releases, letters, telegrams - 1948-1954
    Includes itinerary of southern trip. Correspondents include Harry S. Ashmore and Alan T. Myers
  • West. News clippings, articles, letters, telegrams, statements, reports, fact sheets, press releases, speeches - 1947-1948
    Correspondents include Calvin B. Baldwin, Chet Holifield
  • Middle West. News clippings - 1948-1955
  • East. News clippings, editorials, articles, memorandum - 1948
  • Election. Articles, news clippings, reports, telegrams, letters, speeches - 1948-1953
    Radio broadcast of Henry A. Wallace. Letter from Eric Hoffer
  • Early third parties. Articles, news clippings - 1947-1954
  • Henry A. Wallace. Articles, news clippings - 1941-1944
    (3 folders)
  • Kansas. Letters, editorials - 1952
  • Iowa. Letters, news clippings, party platforms, speeches, campaign material - 1948-1953
    Correspondents include Henry Wallace and George Mills
  • Indiana. Letters, campaign material, letterhead stationery - 1947-1948
    Correspondents include Louise Gilbert, Laure Spiker (secretary, Indiana Committee to Win the Peace) and Jessica Phine (executive secretary, Indiana Citizens for Wallace)
  • Kentucky. Letters, campaign material, news clippings, press releases, articles - 1948-1953
    Correspondents include Herbert H. Monsky
  • Louisiana. Press releases, campaign material - 1948
  • Maine. Letters including Louise Hunt and Ray Gailey - 1948-1955
  • Box 34:
  • Maryland. Letters, campaign material, election results, a petition, news clippings - 1946-1954
    Correspondents include Walter McManamon, Sen. Millard Tydings, Milton Bate, and A.J. Bourbon (administrative assistant to Sen. O'Connor)
  • Massachusetts. Letters, news clippings, election results, proceedings of party's founding convention, press releases, articles - 1947-1948
    Correspondents include Harlow Shapley
  • Lansing, Michigan; Massachusetts and New Jersey. Letters, newspapers and clippings, campaign material, petitions - 1946-1948
    Letter from Henry Wallace
  • Michigan. Letters, articles, newspapers, clippings, election results, proceedings of conventions, news releases - 1948-1954
    Correspondents include Sid Rosen (treasurer of Progressive Party in Michigan), Allen Sayler (state chairman), Harry S. Toy (police commissioner of Detroit), William D. Chase, Albert Cherow, and Edith Lindeman
  • Florida. Letters, news clippings, election report, speech analysis - 1947-1955
    Interview with Sen. Pepper. Correspondents include Sam Lubell, Nelson Poynter, Clark Foreman, Louis Touby (party treasurer), John Kovace, John M. Coe (state chairman)
  • Arkansas. News releases, clippings, campaign material - 1948
  • Miscellany of news clippings and campaign sheets; February - 1948
  • Miscellany of news clippings and articles, including Wallace's column. Proceedings of 2nd annual convention; January - 1948
  • Proceedings of national convention of '48 then the Shibe Park Meeting. Articles on the death of Vito Marcantonio. Miscellany of articles and campaign material - 1948, 1954
  • Miscellany of party platforms and newspaper clippings about them. Campaign material - 1948
  • Box 35:
  • Colorado. Editorial manuscript by Wallace, letters, news clippings, notes from Vincent File, proceedings of Colorado convention - 1948-1955
    Correspondents include Mike Rinn (state chairman), Samuel D. Menin, Michael Straight, Lee Fryer, Rudy Cook (executive secretary of party), Mrs. Herbert Ulmer
  • Miscellaneous news clippings; March - 1948
  • Lists of members of national committee of Wallace for President, news clippings, news releases, articles; April - 1948
  • Georgia. Letters, news clippings, press releases, articles.
    Correspondents include Palmer Weber, J.W. Gitt, George J. Roark, M.C. Thompson (governor of Georgia), William Moody, Emerson Hill, and Arnold Goldman
  • Delaware. News clippings - 1947
  • Connecticut. Documents of Progressive Party of Connecticut, letters, news clippings - 1948-1953
    Correspondents include Thomas Emerson (candidate for governor)
  • California. Letters, news clippings - 1948
  • Alabama. Letters, news clippings - 1948
  • H. A. W. Announces. Letters, Wallace speech, news clippings, articles - 1948
    Correspondents H. A. Wallace. Illinois news clippings on death of Mrs. Anita McCormick Blaine
  • Wallace speech, news clippings, news release - 1945
  • Letters, news clippings, news releases, election analysis, articles, party documents; November-December - 1948
    Correspondents include H.A. Wallace (copy)
  • Letters, news releases, news clippings, articles, primary topic: Wallace-Stalin letter. May - 1948
    Correspondents include Adam Swartz and George Murphy
  • Box 36:
  • Convention Press. Letters, news clippings, maps, articles - 1948
    Correspondents include Rexford Tugwell, Chuck Roberts, Roland Wolseley, and Clara Vincent
  • Chapter 3: News clippings, pamphlets, news releases, notes - 1945-1946
  • Letters, music, news clippings, articles, notes - 1948-1954
    Correspondents include Allen Sayler, Joe Scholnick, William H. Miller, and Ruth Frank
  • MacDougall speeches. Text of speeches and debates, news releases - 1948-1950
  • Illinois. Letters, thesis manuscript, news releases, news clippings, article, party documents. - 1948
    Correspondents include Edward Barrett (secretary of state), Zalmon H Garfield, and Arthur J. Wetle
  • Texas. Letters, party documents, news releases, speeches, news clippings, election analyses - 1948
    Correspondents include Mandell and Wright, Jessie Floyd O'Connor, and Pearl Fox
  • Congress --Votes. Congressional vote analyses, news clippings, articles - 1945-1947
  • Box 37:
  • Wisconsin. Letters, campaign material, party documents, news clippings, election analyses - 1948-1953
    Correspondents include Michael J. Essin (executive director of party)
  • New Mexico. Letters, party documents - 1948-1953
  • Nebraska. Letters, news notes - 1948-1953
    Correspondents include Arthur F. Stearns and John J. Abt
  • Montana. Letters, campaign material, news clippings, party documents - 1947-1953
    Correspondents include John Hellman and Chet Kinsey
  • New Jersey. News clippings, notes, party documents, campaign material - 1948-1953
  • New Hampshire. Party documents, campaign material, election laws, news clippings - 1948
  • Missouri. Letters, party documents, news clippings - 1948
    Correspondents include Katherine Shryver
  • Mississippi. Notes from news articles - 1948
  • Minnesota. Letters, party documents, campaign material, news clippings - 1948-1954
    Correspondents include Elmer Benson, Victor Lawson, and Cy Barnum
  • Farmers-Ayres. Party documents, campaign material, election reports - 1948
  • Nationalities. Party documents, campaign material - 1948
  • Republicans. Letters, campaign material, clippings - 1948-1954
  • Socialism. Documents and articles of and about the Socialist party in America - 1948-1954
  • Legal. Court documents, articles, clippings - 1948
  • Liberalism-ADA. Letters, notes, clippings, articles, documents of ADA - 1947-1954
    Correspondents include Arthur Schlessinger, Jr., Robert R. Nathan, David C. Williams, Somes V. Cunningham, Mrs. Elliot Dexter
  • Tennessee. Campaign material, letters, clippings - 1948
    Correspondents include KKK
  • South Dakota. Party documents, letter - 1948
    Correspondents include Homer Ayres South
  • Carolina. Notes from newspapers - 1948
  • Oregon. Party documents, news clippings - 1947
  • Rhode Island. Letters, speeches, party documents, clippings - 1948-1955
    Correspondents include Ralph C. Lofsky
  • Idaho. Notes from newspapers - 1948
  • Ohio. Party documents, campaign material, clippings - 1948
  • Box 38:
  • Oklahoma. Letters, petitions, clippings - 1948-1954
    Correspondents include Roscoe Dunjee
  • North Dakota. Letters, clippings - 1948-1955
    Correspondents include Quentin N. Burdick
  • War Mindedness. Clippings - 1948
  • Women. Campaign material, press releases - 1948
  • Vermont. Letters, election results, articles, news clippings - 1948
    Correspondents include Una Buxenbaum, Helen MacMartin, and E.H. Konrad
  • Wallace-Northwestern Teachers. Letters, petitions - 1948
    Correspondents include Ernest Samuels, Edgar S. Brightman, Art Brooke
  • Pennsylvania. Letters, party documents, campaign material, clippings, petitions - 1948-1952
    Correspondents include J.W. Gitt, Gerald Schlaflander, Julia Veinus, Barney Conal, Charlotte Lance
  • Virginia. Party documents, clippings - 1948
  • Washington. Party documents, clippings - 1948
  • West Virginia. Letters, Horace S. Mendahl and Harry Ernst - 1953
  • Dixiecrats. Documents, campaign material, clippings, manuscripts, speeches - 1948-1953
  • South. Booklet - 1948
  • New York. Letters, election analyses, campaign material, press releases, Liberal Party documents, American Labor Party documents. Includes letters of Warren Montrose (Research and Publicity Division Liberal Party) - 1948-1953
  • North Carolina. Letters, clippings, party documents, election analyses, manuscript notes - 1948
    Correspondents include Mary Price
  • Youth. Letters, articles, form letters, clippings, campaign material, newsletter, party documents, includes letters by Herbert Oppenheimer, C.B. Baldwin, Alice D. Nelson
  • Farmers. Letters, clippings, articles - 1947-1953
    Correspondents were CB Baldwin, Somes Patton, Fred Stover
  • Thesis. Brown, Bill. The Birth of a Party. Winter - 1948
  • Box 39:
  • Dahl, Genter. Minority Parties and Independents - 1948
  • Kaufman, Mendel J. The Progressive Party - 1948
  • Democrats. Letters, articles, clippings, interview with Pres. Truman - 1948-1953
    Includes copies of letters from H. S. Truman and J. Frank Dobie
  • Conference of Progressives, PCA, AND ADA. Form letters, pamphlets, manuscript notes, articles, clippings, newsletters - 1946
  • Europe. Manuscript notes, clippings, greetings to British Progressives - 1945-1947
  • Miscellany. Manuscript note - 1947
  • Taft Hartley to Labor Day. UPWA Convention proceedings. Manuscript notes - 1947
  • A Labor Party in West, manuscript notes, clippings - 1947
  • Wallace speeches, manuscript notes, letters, clippings - 1947-1954
    Correspondents include William Homes Borders, Clark Foreman, Lyle Stuart
  • Clippings, manuscript notes. December - 1947
  • Organizational background. Manuscript notes - 1945-1946
  • Domestic vs. Truman. Manuscript notes - 1945-1947
  • Peace and the Bomb. Manuscript notes, articles, letters, booklets - 1945-1946
  • Wallace's background. Manuscript note, articles, news clippings, letters, speeches - 1935-1947
    Letters include FDR to Henry Wallace (copy)
  • Communists. Letters, articles, news clippings, manuscript notes, booklets - 1945-1948
    Correspondents include Dorothy Thompson, Alfred Friendly, Louis Adamic, Lee Fryer, J. W. Gitt
  • Background. Letters, news clippings, broadsides - 1945-1954
    Correspondents include Claude Pepper
  • Issues. Broadsides, manuscript notes, news clippings, articles, campaign material - 1946-1948
  • Foreign policy. Letters, articles, pamphlet, news clippings, news releases, manuscript notes - 1948
  • Dixiecrats. Letters, articles, news clippings, news releases, manuscript notes - 1948-1954
    Correspondents include J.W. Gitt, Henry Wallace (copy), Clarence Athearn, Ralph Shikes, Ferdinand C. Smith, Rev. Stacy Adams
  • Colorado and Communists. Press releases, speeches, news clippings, articles - 1948
  • Box 40:
  • Oklahoma, Ohio, Minnesota. Letters, press releases, articles, news clippings, speeches - 1948-1954
  • Illinois Party Documents. News letters - 1947
  • National Citizens Political Action Committee. Pamphlets, news releases, broadsides, newsletters, reports - 1945-1946
  • Independent Voters of Illinois. Letters, form letters, broadside, documents, news clippings, press releases, reports, speeches - 1947
    Correspondents include James Adams, Robert Hurleigh, Irving Flamm, Harry Green, William Volk, Mary Wheeler, Robert Lasch
  • Articles, press releases, form letters, news clippings, speeches, newsletters, broadsides, editorials, letters, manuscript notes. January-September - 1947
    Correspondents include Ralph Shikes and J.W. Gitt
  • Bell Ringer. Newsletters - 1945-1947
  • National Citizens Political Action Committee. Pamphlets - 1944-1947
  • Henry A. Wallace. News releases, pamphlets, manuscript notes, news clippings, news releases, letters from Atlantis Marshall, Biographic sketches - 1940-1966
  • Union for Democratic Action. Organization documents, pamphlets, bulletins, form letters, platforms, newsletters, letters from Frank McCulloch - 1942-1946
  • Box 41:
  • Independent Voters of Illinois. Letters, documents, plays, news clippings, booklets, reports, press releases, form letters, newsletters, magazines, platforms. - 1946
    Correspondents include Lillian Milgrom, Edward J. Sparling, Lillian O. Inke, Mrs. Hugh Carmicheal, Mrs. Hedwig Loeb, Julius Jesmer, Leo Lerner, Alex Elson, Howard Williams, Ira Latimer, Joseph Genne, and Frank McCulloch
  • Independent Voters of Illinois. Documents, reports, news clippings, editorials, letters, form letters, articles, booklets, bulletins - 1943-1945
    Correspondents include John Lapp, Irving J. Rosenblum, Leo Lerner, John H. Miller
  • Students. Pamphlets, broadsides, newsletters, campaign material, form letters - 1946
    (2 folders)
  • Wallace, The Red Issues. News clippings, articles, letters, manuscript notes, campaign material - 1948-1953
    Correspondent Arthur Schutzer
  • Notes from books
  • Box 42:
  • Vol. 3: Additions. Letters, news clippings, news releases, notes from books, surveys, booklets, articles, speeches, manuscript notes - 1946-1953
    Correspondents include Chester Bowles, Leon Henderson, Walter Reuther (copy), Dan J. McCormick, Seymour Pitcher, Henry A. Wallace (copy), F.W. Stover (copy), Barney Conal
  • Gideon's Army manuscripts chapters I -- XIII
    (13 folders)
  • Box 43:
  • Gideon's Army manuscripts chapters XIV -- XXVIII
    (15 folders)
  • Box 44:
  • Gideon's Army manuscripts chapters XXIX -- XXXVI
    (8 folders)
  • Vol. 1: Additions. Speeches, news clippings, letters, campaign material, fact sheets - 1947-1963
    Correspondents include Michael Straight
  • Platform. Letters, form letters, articles, news clippings, newsletters, bulletins, press releases, platforms - 1948-1953
    Correspondents include Paul M. Sweezy, Dick Walt, Lee Pressman, Elinor Gimbel, John J. Abt, Scott Buchanan, Rexford G. Tugwell
  • National Citizens Political Action Committee Research Council
  • Progressive, Evanston. Form letters, PCA documents, fact sheets, membership lists, newsletters, news clippings, letters from Donald Sweet, Helen Baker, Joan Boe - 1948-1950
  • Box 45:
  • Progressives, MacDougall. Interviews, letters, broadsides, correspondents include William H. Miller (Illinois PCA state director) and Mrs. Lillian Traugott - 1948-1950
  • Communists. Articles, news clippings, form letters, manuscript notes - 1948
  • Newspaper articles of interest to the Progressive Party
  • General Ideas. Notes, articles, news clippings, biographical notes, interviews, letters
  • Vol. 2 Additions. Party documents, notes, clippings, letters, articles, platforms, statements - 1948-1963
    Correspondents include Clifford Durr and Jim Dumbrowski
  • Foreman, Clark. Articles, name lists, clippings, pamphlets, party documents, press releases, newsletters, form letters, speeches, campaign material, reports, letters from Clark Foreman, CB Baldwin, Russ Nixon, Hugh Bryson, J.W. Gitt, Mary Price - 1947-1949
  • Pamphlets, broadsides, campaign material, fact sheets, news clippings, press releases, manuscript notes, party documents, letters from Helen G. Douglas, James Imbrie, Herman Fish, Bert L. Sharp, Charles Shillet, Dr. Robert M. Lindner, Leslie H. Peard, Jr. October, November, December - 1947
  • Politics, Chicago, Judges. Ballots, press releases, news clippings, telegrams, form letters, speeches, campaign material, election results, pamphlets, manuscript notes, letters from Zal Garfiels, John Hastings, James Mulroy, Maud Slye, Donald Sweet, William Miller - 1947-1948
  • Box 46:
  • National Citizens Political Action Committee. Party documents, form letters, news clippings, press releases, statements, briefs, pamphlets. January-June - 1947
  • Progressive Party. Manuscript notes, pamphlets, press releases, speeches, reports, fact sheets, news clippings
  • Business correspondence - 1944-1965
    Includes letters from John J. Abt 1949, CB Baldwin, Elmer A. Benson, Vito Marcantonio, Curtis D. MacDougall, Robert Morss Lovett, Vincent Hallinan, Clifford T. McAvoy, and 10 Henry Wallace letters (14 folders)
  • Speeches by Henry A. Wallace - 1949-1953
  • Speeches by CB Baldwin - 1949
  • Speeches by Vito Marcantonio, July - 1952
  • Speeches by Elmer Benson - 1950
  • Speech by Thomas Emerson - 1950
  • Speeches by Paul Robeson - 1950
  • Speeches by Mrs. Charlotta Bass - 1952
  • Speeches by James Imbrie, O.J. Rogge, Archibald Carey, Dean Acheson, Curtis MacDougall, William S. Gailman - 1950
  • Speeches by John J. Abt, associate supreme court justice, William O. Douglas, Vincent Hallinan, W.E.B. DuBois, Reuben W. Barough, Charles A. Hill, Vilian Hallinan, Clara Vincent, William D. Smith, Eslanda Goode Robeson
  • Box 47:
  • Agendas and programs of various events. April to July - 1949-1952
  • Minutes of meetings of the Progressive Party, January to September - 1949-1950
  • Reports by various committees and people - 1949-1955
  • Statements by Henry A. Wallace - 1949-1953
  • Statements by various committees and people - 1949-1954
  • Resolutions by various committees - 1949-1951
  • Press releases - 1949-1953
  • Memoranda - 1949-1953
  • Pamphlets on areas relating to the Progressive Party
  • Newspaper clippings. Many on Henry Wallace
  • Box 48:
  • Newspaper clippings. Many on Henry Wallace (4 folders)
  • Forms. Soliciting volunteer help (political campaign) - 1944
  • Biographical notes on 53 people
  • Progressive Party name list
  • Bulletins - 1949-1950
  • Invitations
  • Illinois Progressive Party. State party platform, and a paper on the Progressive Party of Illinois - 1950
  • Arms program fact sheet
  • Progressive Party Convention. Press coverage, convention rules - 1950
  • Review of the first four months of the Eisenhower administration
  • Progressive Party, financial data
  • Box 49:
  • Progressive Party, campaign material
  • Progressive Party, articles and statements on issues of the party
  • General articles on the Progressive Party
  • Miscellaneous material including a radio interview with Henry A. Wallace - 1950
  • Notebooks 1 -- 23
  • Box 50:
  • Notebooks 24 -- 48
  • Box 51:
  • Index cards
  • Box 52:
  • Index cards
  • Box 53:
  • Index cards
  • Box 54:
  • Index cards
  • Box 55:
  • Notebooks 49 -- 55
  • Correspondence. Letters by Charles P. Howard, Paul Cunningham, Franklin H. Williams, Russ Nixon and others - 1949-1950
  • Correspondence between MacDougall and others while researching Gideon's Army
  • Correspondence and other material relating to Glenn H. Taylor. Newspaper clippings
  • National Council of Arts, Sciences, and Professions, and related groups. Minutes, resolutions and other NCASP papers. Clippings and NCASP publications Newspaper clippings relating to death of Henry Wallace
  • Typewritten manuscript. Discarded pages from ms. for Gideon's Army
  • Box 56:
  • Correspondence with CB Baldwin - 1952-1955
  • Correspondence, pamphlets, newspaper clippings on Progressive Party and on James Imbrie, Progressive Party candidate for governor of New Jersey - 1949-1951
  • Progressive Party of Illinois. Clippings and political literature - 1949
  • Progressive Party of Pennsylvania. Correspondence, speeches, clippings. - 1948-1949
    Correspondents include Jess W. Gitt, Louis Adamic, Claric Foreman
  • Progressive Party of Pennsylvania. Clippings, correspondence, speeches - 1949-1950
  • Labor Unions. Correspondence, clippings, pamphlets - 1952-1954
  • Civil Rights. Correspondence, pamphlets - 1947-1954
  • Progressive Party organizations of Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wisconsin
  • Henry A. Wallace correspondence and clippings - 1947-1950
  • Miscellaneous articles
  • Box 57:
  • Wallace and Taylor speeches. Progressive Party platform. Articles on farm policies - 1948-1953
  • Material on Young Progressives of America, Wallace campaign, and National Committee on Wallace in Korea
  • Series 2: 1975 ADDENDUM
  • Box 58:
  • California and the West. Correspondence - 1948-1965
  • Colorado correspondence - 1948-1953
  • East correspondence - 1948-1954
  • Midwest correspondence - 1947-1955
    Includes 1 TLS from Quentin Burdick
  • Missouri correspondence - 1953-1954
    Includes 1 TLS from Harry S. Truman
  • New England correspondence - 1953-1955
  • Pennsylvania correspondence - 1948-1965
  • South correspondence - 1948-1965
  • Texas correspondence - 1952-1954
  • Vermont. Correspondence mainly of Helen MacMartin - 1947-1955
  • West correspondence - 1953-1955
  • Wisconsin correspondence - 1948-1953
  • Divisions. Publications Campaign - 1948
    Includes 1 TLS from Pete Seeger. (2 folders)
  • Lewis Frank Jr. Correspondence - 1952-1970
  • Box 59:
  • Gideon's Army, Marzini correspondence (2 folders) - 1963-1969
  • Gideon's Trumpet, Publishers correspondence - 1954-1974
    Correspondents include Corliss Lamont, Carey McWilliams, Harry Ashmore, David A. Shannon, CB Baldwin, Ray A. Billington (3 folders)
  • Professors for Wallace correspondence - 1948
  • Progressive Party members since 1948. Miscellaneous material
  • Series 3: OVERSIZED MATERIAL
  • Box 59:
  • Six campaign posters in "Broadsides, Not Cataloged" map case
  • Series 4: 2003 ADDENDUM
  • Box 59:
  • Whitters, James. "Not So Popular Front: The Progressive Party of Massachusetts and the Elections of 1948."
  • Series 5: 2010 ADDENDUM
  • Box 60:
  • The Progressive Party in Tennessee.
  • Gift of Frank F. Turner. Mr. Turner kept some of the originals for his personal collection, but has graciously provided us with digital images and printouts of these items.
  • Clippings
  • Correspondence, mostly with J. T. Sloan - 1948-1956
  • Documents, including press releases, canned speeches, pamphlets - 1948
  • Documents, including press releases, canned speeches, pamphlets - 1949
  • CD with images of those items in Mr. Turner's personal collection
  • Series 6: 2012 ADDENDUM
  • Box 60:
  • George McGovern interviewed by Jon Lauck and John Miller on November 25 - 2003
  • Photocopies of news clippings and transcriptions from South Dakota newspapers, mostly the Mitchell Daily Republic
  • Series 7: PROGRESSIVE PARTY OF PENNSYLVANIA
  • Box 61:
  • Action Papers
  • Bulletins
  • Conferences
  • Conventions
  • Correspondence
  • Fact Sheets
  • For Immediate Release
  • Lobbies
  • Meetings
  • Memoranda
  • Miscellaneous
  • Miscellaneous Events
  • Box 62:
  • Newspapers
  • Party Business-Membership, Fees, Etc.
  • Personal Papers of Scott Reyes 1
  • Personal Papers of Scott Reyes 2
  • Petitions
  • The Philadelphia Progressive
  • Resolutions
  • Statements
  • Wallace Papers
  • Ward Papers
  • Watch on Harrisburg
  • Series 8: PROGRESSIVE CITIZENS OF AMERICA (PCA)
  • Box 63:
  • Bulletins
  • Conventions
  • Fact Sheets
  • Memoranda
  • Miscellaneous Events
  • Newspapers
  • Party Businesss- Membership, Fees, Etc.
  • Petitions
  • Resolutions
  • Statements
  • Wallace Papers
  • Series 9: PROGRESSIVE PARTY -- NATIONAL
  • Box 64:
  • Action
  • Bulletins, Pamphlets, Etc.
  • Conventions
  • The Guardian Papers
  • Memoranda
  • Miscellaneous
  • Newspapers and Booklets
  • Resolutions
  • Speeches
  • Statements
  • Miscellaneous
  • Ward Papers