Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the John Hubert Scott Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1898-1945
Creator: Scott, John Hubert (1878-1953)
Extent: 6.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0157
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Scott was the head of the Department of English at Coe College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa for seven years beginning in 1908. He joined the faculty of the English department at the University of Iowa in 1915. The collection documents Scott's research theories regarding the connections between speech inflections and literary authorship, as well as his book collecting interests which focused on John Henry Ireland.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Boxes 1 and 2

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by John Hubert Scott over a period of years.

Preferred Citation: John Hubert Scott Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

John Hubert Scott (1878-1953) received his B.A. in 1902, from Boston University and his M.A. from Northwestern in 1907. Scott was the head of the Department of English at Coe College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa for seven years beginning in 1908. He joined the faculty of the English department at the University of Iowa in 1915. He was appointed associate professor in 1926 and in 1949 was awarded emeritus status.
 
Scott's years at the University of Iowa were spent teaching and researching voice rhythms and phrasing patterns, which he claimed could be used to prove literary authorship. This research utilized principles from both English and engineering and Scott occupied a unique place between the two departments at the University of Iowa. Scott published two papers, Rhythmic Prose (1925) and Rhythmic Verse (1925), and two books on the topic, Engineering English (1928) and Phrasal Patterns in English Prose (1932). Several of his extensive manuscripts survive which never saw publication. Scott was interested in using these theories to study, among other things, William Henry Ireland and the Shakespeare forgeries. In 1934 Scott traveled to England where he lived for one year researching the works of various authors and applying his theories of phrasal patterns. Scott was a serious collector of Irelandiana and belonged to several university and community organizations, including the Humanist Society and the Triangle Club, both of which he was president of for a time.

The papers of John Hubert Scott date from 1898 to 1945 and are arranged into five series: Biographical, Correspondence, Research, Writings, and Sketches. The Writings series is divided into two subseries: Papers, Essays, and Lectures, and Manuscripts. The final series, Sketches, contains ten pencil and ink sketches. The collection documents Scott's research theories regarding the connections between speech inflections and literary authorship, as well as his book collecting interests which focused on John Henry Ireland. The large amount of personal correspondence contained in this collection spans Scott's life as a young man through his retirement and includes letters to and from Scott's family, friends, and rare book dealers. Also included are six years of correspondence between Scott and Edith E. King-Fisher, a student of Scott's who lived in California and completed coursework long-distance.
Scott, John Hubert. Phrasal Patterns in English Prose. New York : The Ronald Press Company, 1932.

Main Library, PE 1442.S34

Scott, John Hubert. "Rhythmic Prose." University of Iowa Studies Humanistic Studies 3.1 (1925): 1-192.

Main Library, P25 .I8 v.3 no.1

Scott, John Hubert. "Rhythmic Verse." University of Iowa Studies Humanistic Studies 3.2 (1925): 1-216.

Main Library, P25 .I8 v.3 no.2

Scrapbook of facsimile documents and letters of notable historical and literary figures, xMsS427

Photostats of various William Henry Ireland documents, correspondence, and newspaper clippings, xMsS427p

Photograph album of John Hubert Scott's trip to England in 1934 -- 1935, xMsS427ph

Shakespearean Fabrications compiled by W. H. Ireland, engravings and forgery examples, xMsI66s

Shakespeare Papers compiled by W. H. Ireland, engravings and forgery examples, xMsI66p

Ireland's Shakespeare Forgeries compiled by W. H. Ireland, engravings and forgery examples, xMsI66f

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 3: RESEARCH
Series 4: WRITINGS
Series 5: SKETCHES

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 1:
  • Newspaper Clippings - 1934, 1935
  • Boston University Ephemera and Correspondence - 1899-1903
    Contains invitations, a dance card, correspondence regarding classes and exams, notes and receipts, and correspondence with J.H. Scott.
  • University of Edinburgh Ephemera and Correspondence - 1902-1903
    Contains a bank book, exam instructions, dinner menus with written names and addresses, small notes and calling cards, enrollment cards, tickets, bills, recepits, stationary, and correspondence to J.H. Scott.
  • Northwestern University Ephemera and Correspondence - 1905
    Contains invitations, programs, and faculty death announcements.
  • Miscellaneous ephemera
  • Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • To Edit Fisher from J. Hubert Scott
  • November 18th, 1941
  • December 13th, 1941
  • December 20th, 1941
  • January 20th, 1942
  • February 27th, 1942
  • May 1st, 1942
  • May 9th, 1942
  • May 16th, 1942
  • May 26th, 1942
  • May 30th, 1942
  • June 12th, 1942
  • June 22nd, 1942
  • June 27th, 1942
  • July 4th, 1942
  • July 18th, 1942
  • July 25th, 1942
  • August 1st, 1942
  • August 14th, 1942
  • August 18th, 1942
  • September 1st, 1942
  • August 25th, 1942
  • September 12th, 1942
  • September 30th, 1942
  • October 6th, 1942
  • November 4th, 1942
  • December 1st, 1942
  • December 17th, 1942
  • December 22nd, 1942
  • January 16th, 1943
  • February 27th, 1943
  • March 13th, 1943
  • March 15th, 1943
  • March 20th, 1943
  • March 24th, 1943 (incomplete?)
  • To John Hubert Scott from Edith King-Fisher
  • July 27th, 1940
    With attached lesson XX
  • October 12th, 1940
  • October 29th, 1940
    With attached letter from E. King-Fisher's proctor, October 30, 1940 and attached letter from Helen Williams, Director of Correspondence Study at SUI, November 6, 1940.
  • November 5th, 1940
    With attached curve.
  • November 9th, 1940 Lesson I
  • December 10th, 1940 Lesson II
  • December 24th, 1940 Lesson III
  • February 24th, 1941 Lesson VII
  • March 10th, 1941 Lesson VIII
  • April 9th, 1941 Lesson IX
  • May 2nd, 1941 Lesson X
  • May 20th, 1941 Lesson XI
  • June 28th, 1941
  • October 23rd, 1941 Lesson XIX
  • November 13th, 1941 Lesson XX
  • December 9th, 1941
  • January 12th, 1942
    Two letters with attached Lesson I.
  • February 13th, 1942 Lesson II
  • March 7th, 1942
  • March 31st, Lesson II
  • May 28th, 1942
    With a photograph of E. King-Fisher.
  • June 29th, 1942
  • August 15th, 1942
  • September 7th, 1942
    With attached notes from J. Scott and two passages from E. King-Fisher.
  • November 6th, 1942
  • November 26th, 1942
  • January 7th, 1943
  • March 1st, 1943
  • May 16th, 1943
    With attached poem "Villanelle" by E. King-Fisher
  • July 17th, 1943
    With note for the Correspondence Department.
  • July 20th, 1943
  • August 2nd, 1943
  • December 19th, 1943
  • April 2nd, 1944
  • June 1st, 1944
    With curve attached.
  • July 14th, 1944
  • October 24th, 1944
  • December 10th, 1944
  • January 2nd, 1945
    Misdated as 1944
  • February 14th, 1945
  • April 15th, 1945
  • To John Hubert Scott from King Fisher (E. King-Fisher's father)
  • November 28th, 1939
  • May 25th, 1940
    With attached letter concerning a book order.
  • October 8th, 1941
  • November 24th, 1941?
    With business card attached.
  • December 16th, 1941?
  • August 15th, 1942
  • To John Hubert Scott from Helen Williams (Director of Correspondence Study at SUI)
  • April 18th, 1941
  • September 16th, 1943
  • Miscellaneous Lessons
  • Lesson XVI, undated
  • Lesson SVIII, undated
  • Lesson XXII, undated
  • Lesson XXIII, undated
  • Paper by E. King-Fisher, The Law of Christ in the Gospel of Matthew, March 6th, 1942
  • Notes and Diagrams
  • To Amy (Mrs. J.H. Scott)
  • December 16th, 1907 from Bernice
  • undated from Bernice
  • undated from John?
  • January 14th, 1907 from Bernice
  • From Aunt Carrie
  • January 27th [no year]
  • October 21st, [no year]
  • undated
  • From Aunt Mae to J.H. Scott
  • November 2nd, 1902
  • November 20th, 1902
  • December 21st, 1902
  • December 29th, 1902
  • January 5th, 1903
  • January 11th, 1903
  • February 8th, 1903
  • March 13th, 1903
    Contains newspaper clipping of "Study of Greek No Longer Necessary, Boston University Drops it From Requirements".
  • September 14th, 1904
  • September 17th, 1904
  • September 27th, 1904
  • October 14th, 1904
    Contains envelope
  • November 2nd, 1904
  • November 18th, 1904
  • November 20th, 1904
  • December 20th, 1904
  • December 21st, 1904
  • December 28th, 1904
    Contains small piece of paper and newspaper clipping.
  • January 5th, 1905
    Postcard
  • January 18th, 1905
  • February 7th, 1905
  • March 2nd, 1905
  • March 10th, 1905
  • May 23rd, 1905
  • May 30th, 1905
  • June 11th, 1905
  • June 14th, 1905
  • August 5th, 1905
  • October 11th, 1905
  • October 16th, 1905
  • November 6th, 1905
  • November 14th, 1905
    Contains envelope
  • December 4th, 1905
    Contains small piece of paper and envelope.
  • December 11th, 1905
  • December 18th, 1905
    Postcard
  • September 20th, 1906
  • August 9th, 1907
  • August 21st, 1907
  • September 6th, 1907
  • March 17th, 1907
  • June 21st, 1908
  • September 21st, 1910
  • October 20th, 1910
  • January 25th, 1911
  • December 27th, 1917
  • November 2nd, 1919
  • To Aunt Mae from J.H. Scott
  • April 7th, 1903
  • September 24th, 1904
  • December 17th, 1904
  • January 30th, 1905
  • March 13th, 1905
    Contains envelope
  • April 17th, 1905
  • From Maud S. Archer to J.H. Scott
  • December 3rd, 1900
  • May 7th, 1903
  • From Leonard Ayres to J.H. Scott
  • September 22nd, 1900
  • June 25th, 1901
  • January 9th, 1906
  • Wedding invitation for L. Ayres' daughter
  • From B.C. to J.H. Scott
  • 1901
    no month or day given
  • October 26th, 1902
  • From Grace M. Carpenter to J.H. Scott
  • June 26th, 1902
  • undated
  • From Harold H. Cleaveland to J.H. Scott
  • December 18th, 1902
  • July 13th, 1903
  • July 16th, 1903
  • February 18th, 1904
  • March 20th, 1904
  • April 16th, 1904
  • May 9th, 1904
    Contains envelope
  • June 9th, 1904
  • October 12th, 1904
  • November 27th, 1904
  • January 9th, 1905
  • March 7th, 1905
    Contains small magazine clipping
  • October 31st, 1905
  • December 14th, 1905
  • April 5th, 1906
  • May 4th, 1906
  • March 4th, 1909
  • From Margaret Clifford to J.H. Scott
  • June 30rd, 1902
  • August 8th, 1902
  • October 9th, 1902
  • December 18th, 1902
  • February 4th, 1903
  • April 16th, 1904
  • July 26th, 1904
  • From Coe College to J.H. Scott
  • July 16th, 1908
  • To Coe College (President Marquis regarding high school visits, 1910) from J.H. Scott
  • January 17th, 1910 - Moulton, Iowa
  • February 15th, 1910 - Centerville, Iowa
  • February 15th, 1910 - Hedrick, Iowa
  • February 16th, 1910 - Albia, Iowa
  • G.F. Grogan to J.H. Scott
  • December 31st, [no year]
  • undated
  • Box 2:
  • From James Davis to J.H. Scott
  • December 12th, 1900
  • November 2nd, 1901
  • October 19th, 1902
    Contains envelope
  • November 13th, 1902
  • March 7th, 1903
    Contains envelope
  • From Claire Pearl Foster to J.H. Scott
  • December 15th, 1902
  • October
    no year or date given
  • From Lena May Haynes to J.H. Scott
  • June 2nd, 1902
  • August 17th, 1902
  • November 16th, 1902
  • March 8th, 1903
  • November 22nd, 1903
  • February 3rd, 1904
  • January 4th, 1905
  • March 3rd, 1905
    Contains envelope
  • To "Brother Higgins" From Mrs. Amy Scott
  • undated and incomplete
  • From Harriet C. Jenkins to J.H. Scott
  • March 3rd, 1905
  • March 6th, 1905
  • From "Lotty" to J.H. Scott
  • August 29th, 1900
  • January 4th, 1901
  • undated
  • undated
  • From Alice French Mayo to J.H. Scott
  • June 10th, 1903
  • July 24th, 1903
    Contains envelope
  • From Frances Main to J.H. Scott
  • undated
  • undated, titled "A Penitent's Earnest Prayer"
  • From Mr. J. Scott "Papa John" and Mrs. Scott "Mother" to J.H. Scott
  • August 1st, 1898 from Mrs. Scott
    Contains envelope
  • December 21st, 1904 from Mr. Scott
  • June 25th, 1907 from Mr. Scott
  • July 15th, 1907 from Mr. Scott
  • August 1st, 1907 from Mr. Scott
  • August 8th, 1907 from Mr. Scott
  • August 19th, 1907 from Mr. Scott
  • September 20th, 1907 from Mr. Scott
  • December 16th, 1907 from Mr. Scott
  • October 22nd, 1908 from Mrs. Scott
  • September 12th, no year from Mrs. Scott
  • undated from Mrs. Scott
  • undated from Mr. Scott
  • To Mr. and Mrs. Scott from J.H. Scott
  • February 28th, 1902 to Mr. Scott
  • October 3rd, 1902 to Mr. Scott
  • October 5th, 1902 to Mr. Scott
  • October 9th, 1902 to Mr. Scott
  • November 2nd, 1902 to Mr. Scott
  • August 18th, 1903 to Mr. Scott
  • September 29th, 1904
  • October 10th, 1904 to Mr. Scott
  • October 29th, 1904 envelope
  • December 27th, 1904
  • February 26th, 1905
  • May 20th, 1905 to Mr. Scott
  • May 31 [no year]
  • undated
  • From Julia Smock to J.H. Scott ("Cousin Scott"), to Julia Smock from J.H. Scott
  • June 10th, 1880
  • July 20th, 1905
    Contains envelope
  • October 1st, 1905
  • From Stanley (J.H. Scott's brother) to J.H. Scott - 1902-1909
  • October 6th, 1902
  • October 7th, 1902
  • November 2nd, 1902
  • November 10th, 1902
  • November 28th, 1902
  • December 15th, 1902
    Contains envelope
  • December 28th, 1902
  • December 29th, 1902
  • January 5th, 1903
  • January 11th, 1903
  • January 19th, 1903
    Letter contains additional notes from Aunt Mae and Mrs. Scott (?)
  • November 22nd, 1904
  • December 5th, 1904
  • January 10th, 1905
  • January 30th, 1905
  • April 27th, 1905
  • October 6th, 1905
  • November 11th, 1905
  • November 29th, 1905
  • December 7th, 1905 postcard
  • December 14th, 1905
  • February 4th, 1906
  • April 26th, 1906
    With p.s. dated April 27th, 1904
  • May 3rd, 1906
  • May 6th, 1906
  • May 18th, 1906
  • June 29th, 1906
  • August 28th, 1906
  • September 4th, 1906
  • September 5th, 1906
  • September 17th, 1906
  • January 4th, 1907
  • March 4th, 1907
  • September 20th, 1907
  • October 5th, 1907
  • December 8th, 1907
  • December 15th, 1907
    Contains envelope
  • January 6th, 1908
  • March 7th, 1908
  • March 26th, 1908
  • March 28th, 1908
  • April 16th, 1908
  • June 4th, 1908
  • October 29th, 1908
  • January 24th, 1909
  • undated
  • July 14th, 1909
  • August 18th, 1909
  • November 19th, 1909
  • Note with cat drawing and poem
    undated
  • Letter, Westbrook Foundry stationary
    undated
  • Letter, March 3rd [no year]
  • Letter, November [no day or year]
  • From Stanley (J.H. Scott's brother) to J.H. Scott - 1910-1919
  • February 9th, 1910
  • March 27th, 1910
  • April 22nd, 1910
    Ccontains envelope
  • May 2nd, 1910
    two letters
  • May 8th, 1910
    Telegram regarding the death of Mr. J.H. Scott's father.
  • May 10th, 1910 telegram
  • June 6th, 1910
  • August 12th, 1910?
  • August 16th, 1910
  • October 25th, 1910
  • November 24th, 1910
  • December 13th, 1910
  • January 6th, 1910
  • January 26th, 1911
  • February 20th, 1911
  • May 1st, 1911
  • May 10th, 1911
  • May 19th, 1911
  • July 2nd, 1911
  • January 12th, 1913
  • May 11th, 1913
  • July 5th, 1913
  • March 17th, 1916
  • May 22nd, 1916
  • July 28th, 1916
  • January 25th, 1918
  • April 10th, 1918
  • June 13th, 1918
  • October 14th, 1918
    With typed memorandum
  • February 6th, 1919
  • May 2nd, 1919
  • November 6th, 1919
  • January 11th, 1920
  • Letter, Sunday afternoon [undated]
  • Letter, Sunday night [undated]
  • Letter, Sunday [undated]
  • To Stanley (J.H. Scott's brother) from J.H. Scott
  • September 29th, 1902
  • October 26th, 1902
  • November 7th, 1902
  • November 10th, 1902
  • November 18th, 1902
  • November 30th, 1902?
  • January 14th, 1903
  • January 18th, 1903
  • January 31st, 1903
  • February 21st, 1903
  • April 10th, 1903
  • November 24th, 1904
  • February 6th, 1905
  • September 17th, 1905
    Contains envelope
  • From Alice M. Wellcome to J.H. Scott
  • October 27th, 1902
    Two letter
  • December 28th, 1902
  • November 18th, 1904
    With note from Carrie included
  • January 18th, 1904
  • September 29th, 1904
    Signed "Fido"
  • December 28th, 1904
  • January 28th, 1905
  • February 24th, 1905
  • March 19th, 1905
  • May 11th, 1905
    Contains photograph of Alice, birthday invitation, and small note.
  • August 6th, 1905
  • November 26th, 1905
  • December 30th, 1906
  • September 29th, 1907
  • December 15th, 1907
  • March 29th, 1908
  • January 10th, 1909
  • undated
  • From C.P. Wilson "Aunty Wilson" to J.H. Scott
  • March 23rd, 1902
  • November 10th, 1902
  • January 26th, 1903
  • January 2nd [no year]
  • undated
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence
  • November 26th, 1893, from Sarah A. Warren
  • August 1st, 1898, from "Piggy"
  • November 7th, 1900, from Pearl Madeline Pettingell
  • November 23rd, 1902, from A.F. Reiner
  • January 25th, 1903, from Nelson C. Smith
  • April 16th, 1903, from "Methuselah"
    Contains envelope
  • June 13th, 1903, from E. Charlton Black
  • June 30th, 1903, from Helen P. Smith
    Contains envelope
  • August 20th, 1903, to C.F. Brusie from J.H. Scott with small note of reply from Brusie
  • August 21st, 1903, from May Drummond
  • February 7th, 1904 from Helen L. Watson
    Contains envelope
  • September 23rd, 1904, from M.E. Perkins
    Contains envelope
  • December 23rd, 1904, from Branson
  • June 11th, 1905, from Elsa Lucia Baebemoth?
  • August 26th, 1905, from "Hammie"
  • November 27th, 1905, from Ralph W. Denny?
  • April 30th, 1906, from M. Topping?
  • January 24th, 1908 from Evelina Perkins
  • April 5th, 1908, from Louis
  • November 13th, 1910, from George H. Scott
  • December 12th, 1912, from H. Stils?
  • October 21st, 1915 from ?
  • February 4th, 1918, from Lawrence K. Gundrum
  • undated, from Nellie Alfretta Ballard?
    Contains small note
  • Box 3: Correspondence with Antiquarian Book Dealers
  • McLeish & Sons - 1931-1939
  • Maggs Bros. - 1931-1937
  • Marks & Co. - 1931-1937
  • Elkin Mathews Ltd. - 1931-1933
  • G. Michelmore & Co. - 1931-1932
  • James Miles - 1931-1932
  • Murrays Limited - 1931
  • Myers & Co. - 1931-1938
  • J.A. Neuhaus - 1931
  • F. Norman - 1938
  • Parker & Son, Limited - 1931-1933
  • Pickering & Chatto, Ltd. - 1931-1938
  • Bernard Quaritch Ltd. - 1931-1934
  • C. Richardson - 1931
  • John Richardson - 1934
  • William H. Robinson - 1933
  • Rosenbach Company - 1932-1940
  • Sanders and Company - 1931-1936
  • John E. Scopes & Co. - 1931
  • G. Sexton - 1938
  • William Smith & Son - 1931-1932
  • Henry Sotheran Ltd. - 1931-1932
  • G.E. Stechert & Co. - 1933
  • C.A. Stonehill, Jr. - 1932-1942
  • James Thin - 1931-1935
  • Thomas Thorp - 1931-1939
  • Albert V. Turner, The Surrey Bookshop - 1931-1938
  • Union Square Book Shop - 1931
  • D. Webster - 1933
  • Henry Young & Sons Ltd. - 1931-1933
  • Correspondence with libraries relating to William Henry Ireland and Shakespeare forgeries - 1931-1932
  • Series 3: RESEARCH
  • Box 3:
  • Class notes and exercises
  • Curves and their meaning, notes and diagrams
  • Box 4:
  • Equilibrant Parallelism by Zilpha E. Chandler, sent to J.H. Scott, undated
  • Inflectional tests, grading charts, and notes
  • Inflection notes and diagrams
  • Miscellaneous notes and diagrams
  • Nomenclature
  • Typescripts for exercises
  • Series 4: WRITINGS
  • Sub-Series: Amplors
  • Box 5:
  • Pitch-Amplitude Curves, typescript with diagrams
  • Sub-Series: English Prose and Prose Writers Radio Lectures
  • Box 5:
  • "The English Language as a Medium of Beautiful Expression," speech manuscript with notes and diagrams
  • I - The Substance and Style of Literature
  • II - The Spirit and Temper of Literature
    Given October 13th, 1926
  • III - The Criticism of Literature
    Given October 20th, 1926
  • IV - Idiom
  • V - Imagery
  • VIII - The Matter of Content
  • Sub-Series: Essays and Lectures
  • Box 5:
  • English Prose and Prose Writers Radio Lectures X - The Study of Letters, Literary Craftsmanship, Literary Criticism
  • Idiomatic Phrasing, typescript
  • The Lord's Prayer manuscript and Latin prayer typescripts with notes
  • Some Inflection Differences of the Weatherlevians, notes
  • The Sound Movement in English Speech, notes, manuscript and typescript
  • Vocabulary, notes, manuscript, typescript
  • Sub-Series: Collaboration in English Literature, Volume I by John Hubert Scott and Zilpha E. Chandler
  • Box 5:
  • Title page and table of contents
  • Collaboration in English Literature Before the Opening of the Sixteenth Century
  • Skelton to Sackville
  • Sidney and Spenser
  • Elizabethan Romancers and Dramatists Exclusive of Shakespeare
  • Shakespeare: The Poems
  • Box 6:
  • Shakespeare: The Plays, Jonson, Bacon
  • John Milton
  • John Milton continued
  • Sub-Series: Collaboration in English Literature, Volume II by John Hubert Scott and Zilpha E. Chandler
  • Box 6:
  • Title page and table of contents
  • John Dryden
  • Alexander Pope
  • Addison and Steele
  • Daniel Defoe
  • Samuel Johnson
  • Goldsmith
  • Edmund Burke
  • Sub-Series: Collaboration in English Literature, Volume III by John Hubert Scott and Zilpha E. Chandler (This volume is incomplete -- missing six chapters)
  • Box 6:
  • Complete table of contents; original file folder with notes
  • Lamb and Hazlitt
  • Thomas Babington Macaulay
  • Thomas Carlyle (designated chapter IX on typescript)
  • George Eliot
  • Matthew Arnold
  • Alfred Tennyson
  • Robert Browning, E.B. Browning
  • John Ruskin
  • D.G. Rossetti, William Morris
  • Washington Irving
  • Sub-Series: Writings and Sketches
  • Box 7:
  • Title page and table of contents, notes
  • Sound and Movement and Thought Movement
  • An Analysis of Passages
  • Analysis of a Passage from Present-day English Writing
  • An Analysis of Passages of Contemporary American Composition
  • An Analysis of Sentences Representing the Modern Advertisement
  • Exercises for (in) Analysis
  • Series 5: SKETCHES
  • Sketches and drawings done by Scott - 1898-1931
    Located in map case #1, drawer #15

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Hartnett, Edith
Scott, John Hubert

Corporate Names:
University of Iowa

Occupations:
College teachers

Genre/Form of Materials:
Photographs
Archives
Manuscripts (Document genre)
Sketches
Correspondence