Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Fairfield Daily Ledger Records and Walter Williams Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1930-1938
Creator: Williams, Walter
Extent: 3.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0155
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Account books, tax receipts, operating statements, advertising returns, other financial records.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Fairfield Daily Ledger Records and Walter Williams Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1: Accounts - Cash Books
    These items are stand alone on the shelf and not kept in boxes.
  • October 10, 1932 - October 1, 1933
  • October 1, 1940 - October 25, 1941
  • October 27, 1941 - November 16, 1942
  • November 17, 1942 - October 27, 1943
  • October 28, 1943 - September 3, 1944
  • September 6, 1944 - June 29, 1945
  • June 30, 1945 - June 11, 1946
  • June 12, 1946 - April 16, 1947
  • April 17, 1947 - February 27, 1948
  • February 28, 1948 - January 3, 1949
  • January 3, 1949 - December 6, 1949
  • December 7, 1949 - May 23, 1950
  • May 24, 1950 - May 25, 1951
  • May 26, 1951 - May 12, 1952
  • Box 2: Accounts - Advertising Records
    These items are stand alone on the shelf and not kept in boxes.
  • April 1935 - October 1938
  • November 1938 - May 1942
  • June 1942 - 1943
  • 1946
  • December 1946 - December 1947
  • January 1948 - December 1948
  • January 1951 - December 1951
  • January 1952 - December 1952
  • Box 3: Walter Williams Papers - Miscellaneous
  • Operating Statement July 1, 1930 - December 31, 1930
    This item is a consolidation of the Ledger, the Journal, and the Tribune.
  • Operating Statement - 1931
  • Operating Statement - 1932
  • Operating Statement - 1933
  • Panic Years - 1933-1934
    Due, bill arrangement with merchandise accounts and Ledger employees.
  • Operating Statement - 1934
  • Operating Statement - 1935
  • Operating Statement - 1936
    Corporation and co. partnership.
  • Operating Statement - 1937
  • Operating Statement - 1939
    Income tax return included.
  • Partnership draws, bank balances, cash receipts and equivalents from January 1, 1938 - January 1, 1940.
  • Personal and editorial manuscripts of Mr. Walter Williams, publisher of the Fairfield Daily Ledger.
    One folder and one envelope.
  • Mr. Williams obituary - 1976
    Photocopy

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Newspaper & Magazine Editors & Publishers