Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Victor Animatograph Corporation Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1910-1967
Creator: Victor Animatograph Corporation
Extent: 15.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0153
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Alexander Victor, a central figure in the invention and marketing of 16mm film equipment for home and industrial use, formed the Victor Animatograph Company of Davenport, Iowa. Papers include records, correspondence, catalogs and clippings, photographs, negatives and scrapbooks.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Series VII, Boxes 11-29 and Series IX, Scrapbooks; Film/Video in Series VI.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Donated in part by Samuel G. Rose in the late 1960s.

Preferred Citation: Victor Animatograph Corporation Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Alexander F. Victor was born on June 20, 1878 in Bolläns, Sweden (Denham, 1). As the son of an army officer, he spent many of his early years traveling throughout Sweden. When he was 12, his family moved to Nassjo, where Victor met Solomon Andree and was introduced to physics. Victor excelled in physics where he failed in most other subjects (Denham, 1).
 
At the age of 15 Victor became an assistant editor for a local weekly newspaper. In 1894 Victor saw his first magic show. A few months later Victor ran into the same magician, "The Great Stephanio" and coerced him into hiring him. The next year, while traveling in Paris with Stephanio, Victor saw his first motion picture, and was enthralled. Motion pictures were incorporated into the magic show, and allowed the show to continue after Stephanio's death in 1895. Victor then traveled to India with the magic show, thus becoming the first to bring motion pictures to that country. Victor stayed in India for three years, becoming an accomplished magician (Denham, 3). Victor brought his show to America in 1900, and continued to work in show business until 1908 when a fire in a Toledo, Ohio warehouse destroyed all of his magical paraphernalia.
 
Victor then moved to Davenport, Iowa where he invented the first electric washing machine for the White Lily Company. His love for film also pushed him to invent an amateur Motion Picture Camera and Projector (also known as the Animatograph). Alexander F. Victor founded the Victor Animatograph Corporation in Davenport, Iowa in 1910, the same year he began his association with Samuel G. Rose. The world's first 16mm motion picture projector was manufactured by Victor Animatograph Company and sold to J.H.C. Petersen of Davenport, Iowa on September 1, 1923. This a point of some contention. It has been said that Eastman Kodak invented a 16 mm movie projector some two months earlier. Nevertheless, Victor believed that he was first. In The History and Origin of 16 Millimeter, a condensation of an address by Mr. Victor at ceremonies celbrating the 'coming of age' of the 16 millimeter industry in Davenport, Iowa on August 12, 1944, Victor states, In 1923 I designed and placed on the market the world's first 16 millimeter projectors and cameras. The Eastman Kodak Company made the world's first 16 millimeter film. Future research may resolve this question.
 
The Victor Animatograph Corporation consolidated with the Kalart Company of Plainville, Connecticut on May 31, 1957. Sam G. Rose continued to act as the president. The Victor Animatograph Corporation soon became a leader in the field of motion picture technology. Victor died on March 29, 1961, and in 1964 was named posthumously to the Society of Motion Picture Engineers Honor Roll.
 
The Ferd Haak Building, also known as the Victor Animatograph Co. was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1983. Available at: http://www.nationalregisterofhistoricplaces.com/IA/Scott/state3.html.
 
This biography is primarily based on the article by Edwin S. Denham, "Alexander F. Victor: Imagineer and Idea Man." 16mm Becomes of Age[i].

The Victor Animatograph Collection contains print material and photographs related to the operation and products of the Victor Animatograph Corporation of Davenport, Iowa. Series I: Correspondence contains the correspondence of the past presidents of Victor Animatograph Corp., including Alexander F. Victor and Samuel G. Rose, along with a number of testimonial letters addressed to the company. Series II: Historical Information outlines the history of the company, its products, and its founder Alexander F. Victor. Series III: Administrative Information consists of some of the corporate records. Financial statements, stock information including the names of some of the investors, employee lists, organizations of the film industry, patent applications, and the contracts of Alexander Victor and Samuel Rose are also found here. Series IV: Print Material contains the print material that is related to the Victor Animatograph Corporation: journals written by the Victor Animatograph Co. and various film organizations, newspaper articles highlighting the history of the company, as well as foreign materials. Series V: Product Information includes information on many of the Victor products. Instructions on the use of 16mm film projectors, Victor catalogs, product information and price lists are also included. Series VI: Visual Material contains the visual materials of this collection; 17 stereotrope records comprise the bulk of this series. Series VII: Photographs contains photographs of the products and people of the Victor Animatograph Corporation; this is an extensive portion of the collection, housed in 19 boxes. Series VIII: Ephemera contains the ephemera of Samuel G.

8mm Forum: http://8mmforum.film-tech.com/cgi-bin/ubb/ultimatebb.cgi

Phil's Vintage Movie Films and Collectibles: http://www.8mm16mmfilmscollectibles.com/vintage_movie_films.htm

Magic Lantern Castle Museum: http://www.magiclanterns.org/

Stereographic, Photographic, Research and Misc. Links: http://www.stereoviews.com; http://www.onlineuniversity.org/resources/online-university-of-photography-photographic-collections

Rose, Samuel G. "Alexander F. Victor ? Motion-Picture Pioneer". v.72 (August 1963), p. 614-21.

Victor Animatograph Company and the Genesis of the Non-Theatrical Film by David H. Shepard. Special Collections fHD9999 M66 V5

George Elmer Allan Lantern Slide Collection

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: HISTORICAL INFORMATION
Series 3: ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION
Series 4: PRINT MATERIAL
Series 5: PRODUCT INFORMATION
Series 6: VISUAL MATERIAL
Series 7: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 8: SEPTEMBER 2003 ADDENDUM
Series 9: EPHEMERA
Series 10: SCRAPBOOKS
Series 11: FEBRUARY 2007 ADDENDUM
Series 12: 2008 ADDENDUM

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Sub-Series: General
  • Box 1:
  • Administrative
  • Ford Museum
  • Rose, Sam G.: Darling, J.N. "Ding"
  • Rose, Sam G.: General
  • Rose, Sam G.: Retirement
  • Rose, Sam G.: Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers (SMPTE)
  • Schwartz, Morris
  • 16mm Industry Comes of Age (Congratulatory Letters on the anniversary) - 1944
  • Sub-Series: Testimonial Letters
  • Box 1:
  • Altorfer Bros. Company, Joseph H. Wiley -- TLS February 13 - 1935
  • American Airways, Inc.: M.P. Bickley -- TLS April 2 - 1934
  • American Airways, Inc.: P.G. Kemp -- TLS May 28 - 1934
  • American Airways, Inc.: Calvin Smalley -- TLS July 3 - 1934
  • Associate Royal Photographic Society, Ralph C. Wildes -- TLS November 8 - 1934
  • Community Fund of Baltimore, James M. Hepbron -- TLS November 5 - 1935
  • Dallas Public Schools, W.T. White -- TLS February 12 - 1935
  • East Meadow Public Schools, Frank E. Church -- TLS February 6 - 1935
  • General Electric Company, John G.T. Gilmour -- TLS February 9 - 1934
  • Glennville State Teachers College, Curtis Baxter -- TLS November 23 - 1934
  • John Deere Plow Company: C.M. Haasl (?) -- TLS March 13 - 1935
  • John Deere Plow Company: C.M. Haasl (?) -- TLS November 22 - 1935
  • Johns-Manville, Harold R. Berlin -- TLS August 14 - 1934
  • McLeland, Jerome -- TLS September 7 - 1934
  • Military Hospitals Commission Canada, Jas S. Hogg. -- TLS January 2 - 1918
  • National Lead Company, Horace L. Pickett -- TLS March 9 - 1935
  • National Tuberculosis Association, S.M. Sharpe -- TLS February 7 - 1935
  • New Mexico Oil Properties, Clare J. Chapman -- TLS November 8 - 1934
  • Newton Public Schools, A.P. Twogood -- TLS February 16 - 1935
  • Odessa Public Schools, Murry H. Fly -- TLS December 4 - 1934
  • Orthopedic Shoes Inc., Thomas B. Wright -- TLS December 20 - 1934
  • Pelton Motor Company, L.G. Anderson -- TLS July 24 - 1934
  • Peluffo, Silvio, Lybia -- TLS March 31 - 1956
  • Pennzoil Company, E.F. Johnson -- TLS January 3 - 1935
  • St. Elizabeth Hospital, M.J. Gruenewald -- TLS October 6 - 1934
  • Shell Petroleum Corporation: A.E. Holleman -- TLS June 1 - 1934
  • Shell Petroleum Corporation: J.D. Thomas -- TLS December 12 - 1934
  • Southwest Missouri State Teachers College, A.P. Temple -- TLS July 17 - 1934
  • State University of Iowa, L.W. Cochran -- TLS July 6 - 1934
  • United States Department of Agriculture: Forest Service, H.R. Kylie -- TLS October 6 - 1934
  • U.S. Industrial Alcohol Co., Leslie S. Gillette -- TLS October 17 - 1934
  • University of Maryland and the U.S. Department of Agriculture, E.I. Oswald -- TLS November 12 - 1934
  • West Texas State Teachers College: Francis Shaey (?) -- TLS July 19 - 1934
  • West Texas State Teachers College: Francis Shaey (?) -- TLS August 13 - 1934
  • Wheeler Hospital, H.E. Nicholson -- TLS August 14 - 1934
  • Winthrop Junior High School, N. Elliot Willis -- TLS November 9 - 1934
  • York [Nebraska] Public Schools, D.C. Thornton -- TLS January 10 - 1935
  • Sub-Series: Personal Correspondence
  • Box 1:
  • Victor, Alexander F.
  • Series 2: HISTORICAL INFORMATION
  • Box 1:
  • Company History (2 folders)
  • The 16mm Industry Comes of Age. Program presentation transcript. August 12 - 1944
  • Product History (1 folder)
  • Victor, Alexander F. Biographical Information (1 folder)
  • Series 3: ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION
  • Sub-Series: General
  • Box 2:
  • Advertising Schedule - 1952
  • Bids.
  • Brochure.
  • Corporate Records: Black book - 1930
  • Corporate Records: Victor Animatograph Corporation, Delaware - 1930-1949
  • Corporate Records: Victor Cine Sales Corporation - 1920-1929
  • Box 3:
  • E. K. Cole British Division
  • Sub-Series: Employment
  • Box 3:
  • Contract: Rose, S.G. -- April 1 - 1930
  • Contract: Russell, A.J. -- April 1 - 1930
  • Contract: Victor, A.F. -- December 30 - 1939
  • Distributors: Domestic
  • Distributors: Foreign
  • Employee List
  • Reference correspondence and resume
  • Sub-Series: Financial Records
  • Box 3:
  • Appraisal of Victor Animatograph Company -- December 5 - 1917
  • Balance Sheets
  • Cost and Production Papers
  • Curtis-Wright Annual Report - 1948, 1949
  • Cut Register
  • Employee Profit-Sharing Trust and Retirement Plan
  • Financial Statement -- December 31 - 1945
  • Financial Statement -- December 31 - 1946
  • Ledgers and Order Books (see Oversized Box 1)
  • Report on Examination of Financial Records -- April 30 - 1953
  • Report on Examination of Financial Records -- April 30 - 1954
  • Report on Examination of Financial Records -- April 30 - 1955
  • Report on Examination of Financial Records -- April 30 - 1956
  • Sales (1 folder)
  • Sales: Summary of Defense Orders (see Oversized Box 4)
  • Stock Information: General
  • Stock Information: Original Stock -- A.F. Victor
  • Stock Information: Stock Holders Ledger (see Supplemental Box 1)
  • Stock Information: Stockholders Meeting - 1934
  • Sub-Series: Inter-office memorandum
  • Box 3:
  • Administrative
  • Eastman Kodak
  • Sub-Series: Legal agreements
  • Box 3:
  • Bond, George W. royalty agreement
  • Kodascope Library Agreement
  • Sub-Series: Organizations
  • Box 4:
  • Department of Audio-Visual Instruction (DAVI) -- National Education Administration
  • National Audio-Visual Association (NAVA): Correspondence
  • NAVA: Western Audio-Visual Dealers Association, Conference Program - 1961
  • NAVA: Western Audio-Visual Dealers Association, Conference Registration Roster - 1961
  • National Association of Photographic Manufacturers (NAPM): Correspondence
  • NAPM: Board of Directors Pamphlet - 1958
  • NAPM: Registration form
  • Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers (SMPTE): Victor named to Honor Roll
  • Sub-Series: Business
  • Box 4:
  • Patent Information
  • Retailer Fair Trade Agreement
  • Sale to Bendix Aviation Corporation and Whittmore Eastern Corporation
  • Sale to Curtis-Wright
  • Underwriters Laboratories, Inc.: Application no. 50C3200 and 50C2301 -- October 25 - 1950
  • Underwriters Laboratories, Inc.: Application no. 50C1431 -- June 15 - 1950
  • Series 4: PRINT MATERIAL
  • Sub-Series: Articles
  • Box 4:
  • Armat, Thomas : The Development of the Motion Picture Projector. International Projectionist, March - 1955
    p.20-34
  • Armat, Thomas : The Development of the Motion Picture Projector. International Projectionist, April - 1955
    p.15-32
  • Cushman, George and Curtis Randall. "Biography of an Idea: An Outline of Cine History Tracing Progress of Amateur Movies From 35mm. to 8mm." Home Movies, October - 1944
    p.406-408, 428-432
  • 50th Anniversary
  • Miscellaneous
  • Rose, Sam G.: Retirement
  • Rose, Sam G.: Visit to U.S.S. Iowa - 1957
  • Victor, Alexander F.
  • "Who's Who in the 16mm Industry." Film and Radio Discussion Guide, v. 11 no.3 -- December - 1944
    p.21-22, 27-28
  • Sub-Series: Booklet
  • Box 4:
  • "16mm Industry Becomes of Age."
  • Sub-Series: Foreign Publications: Africa
  • Box 4:
  • African Consolidated Films, Ltd. -- February 25 - 1939
  • South African Church Weekly Newspaper. December 28 - 1938
  • South African Church Weekly Newspaper. January 4 - 1939
  • South African Church Weekly Newspaper. January 11 - 1939
  • Sub-Series: Foreign Publications: Asia
  • Box 4:
  • New 3 Lens Turret
  • The Master Projector
  • Rafu Shimpo
  • Sub-Series: Foreign Publications: Australia
  • Box 4:
  • Everyones -- December 16 - 1936
    p.65
  • Sub-Series: Foreign Publications: Europe: England
  • Box 5:
  • Amateur News. On the Display Counter. February - 1930
    p.150
  • British Journal of Photography. "New Goods on the Market." August 15 - 1930
    p.497
  • British Journal of Photography. "What size film do you use?" And other British clippings.
  • P.D.A. Journal. "Some Big Sellers for 1937." January - 1937
  • Victor Amateur Cine Projector. October - 1936
  • Victor Automatic Cine Camera. November - 1936
  • Victor Sound-on-Film Animatophone. November - 1936
  • Sub-Series: Foreign Publications: Europe: France
  • Box 5:
  • Le cinema, c'est l'album vivant sur une bande de celluliode.
  • Mode Demploi Pour la Cine-Camera Victor 16mm. September 13 - 1928
  • Ne courez plus apres les champions!
  • Victor Cine Camera.
  • Sub-Series: Foreign Publications: Europe: Germany/Austria/Switzerland
  • Box 5:
  • Cine-Camera 16mm. September 11 - 1928
  • De Fotohandel. August - 1934
  • Film Fur Alle: February - 1930
  • Film Fur Alle: March - 1930
  • Film Fur Alle: April - 1930
  • Film Fur Alle: June - 1930
  • Film Fur Alle: July - 1930
  • Film Fur Alle: August - 1930
  • Film Fur Alle: September - 1930
  • Film Fur Alle: December - 1930
  • Gebrauchsanweisung zu Victor Cine-Camera 16mm. September 13 - 1928
  • Kamera-Kunst. October - 1930
  • Kino Amateur. November - 1930
  • Photographische Korrespondenz.
  • Victor Cine Camera Model V/5. January - 1935
  • Victor 16mm Kino Prokektor Model 3B.
  • Sub-Series: Foreign Publications: Europe: Netherlands
  • Box 5:
  • A.B.N.F.-Weekblad. May - 1932
  • Fotohandel. July - 1930
  • Sub-Series: Foreign Publications: Europe: Poland
  • Box 5:
  • Polska Agencja Kinowa. 16mm Model 4 and 5 Cameras. - 1938
  • Sub-Series: Foreign Publications: Other
  • Box 5:
  • Latin and South America
  • North America
  • Sub-Series: Journals
  • Box 5:
  • Adventures in Business. "Alexander Victor." v.48 no.26 -- November 19 - 1945
  • Bulletin of Oglethorpe University. v.22 no.1 -- January - 1938
  • Bulletin of Oglethorpe University. "The Story of the Crypt of Civilization." January - 1940
  • Business Screen. v.28 no.2 (see Oversized Box 4) - 1967
  • Camera News. v.3 no.1 -- March - 1961
  • Film Daily
  • v.104 no.101 -- November 25 - 1953
  • v.104 no.116 -- December 17 - 1953
  • v.111 no.77 -- April 22 - 1957
  • v.113 no.62 -- March 31 - 1958
  • v.113 no.126 -- June 30 - 1958
  • Film News
  • v.8 no.12, 25th Anniversary of 16mm. June-July - 1948
  • v.19 no.1 -- January-February - 1962
  • Film World and AV World News Magazine
  • v.14 no.8 -- August - 1958
  • v.18 no.12 -- December - 1962
  • v.21 no.2 -- February - 1965
  • Image
  • v.1 no.1 -- January - 1952
  • v.1 no.3 -- March - 1952
  • v.1 no.4 -- April - 1952
  • v.1 no.5 -- May - 1952
  • v.1 no.6 -- September - 1952
  • v.1 no.7 -- October - 1952
  • v.1 no.8 -- November - 1952
  • v.1 no.9 -- December - 1952
  • v.2 no.3 -- March - 1953
  • v.2 no.4 -- April - 1953
  • v.2 no.5 -- May - 1953
  • v.2 no.7 -- October - 1953
  • v.2 no.8 -- November - 1953
  • v.2 no.9 -- December - 1953
  • v.3 no.1 -- January - 1954
  • v.3 no.2 -- February - 1954
  • v.3 no.4 -- April - 1954
  • v.4 no.2 -- February - 1955
  • v.4 no.3 -- March - 1955
  • v.4 no.4 -- April - 1955
  • v.4 no.5 -- May - 1955
  • v.4 no.6 -- September - 1955
  • v.5 no.3 -- March - 1956
  • v.5 no.4 -- April - 1956
  • v.5 no.5 -- May - 1956
  • v.5 no.6 -- June - 1956
  • v.5 no.7 -- September - 1956
  • v.5 no.8 -- October - 1956
  • v.5 no.10 -- December - 1956
  • v.6 no.1 -- January - 1957
  • v.8 no.4 -- December - 1959
  • v.12 no.6 -- December - 1964
  • Illustrated Guide to the George Eastman House of Photography
  • Journal of the SMPTE/Transactions of the SMPTE
  • v.64 no.3 March - 1955
  • Matthews, Glenn E. and Tarkington, Raife G., "Early History of Amateur Motion-Picture Film." v.64 no.3 -- March - 1955
    p.105-116
  • Rose, Samuel G., "Alexander F. Victor -- Motion-Picture Pioneer. v.72 -- August - 1963
    p.614-621
  • Victor, Alexander F., "The Animatophone -- A New Type of 16mm Synchronous Desk Reproducer." v.18 no.4 -- April - 1932
    p.512-516
  • Victor, Alexander F., "Continuous Optical Reduction Printing." v.23 no.2 -- August - 1934
    p.96-100
  • Victor, Alexander F., "The Model 3 Victor Cine Camera." v.11 no.32 - 1927
    p.802-804
  • Victor, Alexander F., "The Motion Picture -- A Practical Feature of the Home." v.16 -- May - 1923
    p.264-265
  • Victor, Alexander F., "The Portable Projector; Its Present Status and Needs." v.6 -- April - 1918
    p.29-32
  • Kalart Dealer Bulletin
  • Lecia Photography. v.20 no.1 - 1967
  • NAVA News
  • v.9 no.9 -- February 18 - 1955
  • v.12 no.20 -- August 18 - 1958
  • v.12 no.21 -- September 1 - 1958
  • v.13 no.23 -- October 12 - 1959
  • v.15 no.7 -- February 27 - 1961
  • v.15 no.9 -- March 27 - 1961
  • v.18 no.3 -- February 3 - 1964
  • v.18 no.20 -- September 28 - 1964
  • v.18 no.22 -- October 21 - 1964
  • NCR Factory News. U.S.S.R. Special Issue -- September - 1956
  • News Reel. (black volume)
  • v.1 no.1 -- July 10 - 1933
  • v.1 no.2 -- October 20 - 1933
  • v.2 no.1 -- April 15 - 1934
  • v.2 no.2 -- November 15 - 1934
  • v.3 no.1 -- April 5 - 1935
  • v.3 no.2 -- August 26 - 1935
  • v.3 no.3 -- December 10 - 1935
  • v.4 no.1 -- February 20 - 1936
  • v.5 no.1 -- January 7 - 1937
  • v.5 no.2 -- February 22 - 1937
  • v.5 no.3 -- July 1 - 1937
  • v.6 no.1 -- March 1 - 1938
  • v.6 no.2 -- June 15 - 1938
  • v.7 no.1 -- July 1 - 1939
  • v.7 no.2 -- October - 1939
  • v.8 no.3 -- January - 1940
  • v.9 no.4 -- April - 1940
  • v.9 no.5 -- November 15 - 1940
  • v.10 no.1 -- May 1 - 1941
  • 16 mm Industry Commemorates "Coming of Age" -- August 12 - 1944
  • January-February - 1945
  • May-June - 1945
  • August-September - 1945
  • November-December - 1945
  • February-March - 1946
  • May-June - 1946
  • August-September - 1946
  • December-January - 1946-1947
  • March-April - 1947
  • July-August - 1947
  • November-December - 1947
  • January-February - 1948
  • March-April - 1948
  • May-June - 1948
  • July-August - 1948
  • September-October - 1948
  • November-December - 1948
  • January-February - 1949
  • March-April - 1949
  • May-June - 1949
  • July-August - 1949
  • v.1 no.1 -- January - 1955
  • v.1 no.2 -- April - 1955
  • v.1 no.4 -- December - 1955
  • v.2 no.2 -- Winter - 1956-1957
  • v.2 no.3 -- Winter - 1957-1958
  • March-April - 1959
  • Fall - 1960
  • Spring-Summer - 1961
  • Victor Visual News. No. 3, January - 1922
  • Box 6:
  • News Reel.
  • "Pawl or Sprocket Intermittent?"
  • v.5 no.3 -- July 1 - 1937
  • v.6 no.1 -- March 1 - 1938
  • v.6 no.2 -- June 15 - 1938
  • v.7 no.2 -- October - 1939
  • v.1 no.2: Victor Celebrates 45th Anniversary -- April - 1955
  • Victor Celebrates 50th Anniversary: Spring-Summer - 1960
  • Photographic Age
  • March - 1946
  • May - 1946
  • Photographic Trade News v. 8 no.9 -- September - 1944
    2 sections
  • Reelist
  • v.1 no.1 -- February-March - 1951
  • v.1 no.2 -- Summer - 1951
  • Saturday Review. March 9 - 1957
  • Victor Visual News. no.3 -- January - 1922
  • Victorlight.
  • v.1 no.1 -- November - 1948
  • v.1 no.9 -- July - 1949
  • Sub-Series: Newspaper articles -- General
  • Box 6:
  • Kalart Merger
  • Miscellaneous
  • "Reorganize Victor Animatograph; Distributing Alliance is Formed With National Theatre Supply Co." Davenport Democrat and Leader. July 12 - 1931
  • Sale to Bendix
  • 25th Anniversary
  • Victor Honored as 16mm Comes of Age. Articles reprinted from Davenport Daily Democrat and Daily Times. - 1944
  • Foreign Newspaper Articles. (Dr. Robert H. Kulka)
  • Martel, Pepe. "On the Serious Side: A Solution to the Movie Problem." Caracas, June 17 - 1945
  • El Pueblo "Great Film Scholars for Audio-Visual Education. How 'School Teacher' is Concerned in Introducing Movie in the Department." Medellin, July 4 - 1945
    2p.
  • El Universal. Mr. Robert H. Kulka to Speak. June 19 - 1945
  • La Esfera "Independent Agency of General Interests. Use of Movie in Centers of Education." Caracas, June 20 - 1945
    no.6546. Includes translation.
  • "Solorzano Will Head M.G.M. 16mm Program in Venezuela."
  • Egypt. 3 articles
  • El Nacional. "Invitation to Lecture by Robert H. Kulka." Caracas, June 20 - 1945
  • El Correo. "Kulka Lecture." Medellin, July 4 - 1945
  • The Times Newspaper. "Invitation for Delegates to the National Congress of Professors re: Kulka." Bogota, Colombia, July 24 - 1945
  • El Comercio. "Dr. Robert H. Kulka Exponent of Audio-Visual Education Visits Country. First Demonstration of Method Will Be Tuesday." Quito, August 12 - 1945
  • "American Experts Will Demonstrate Method of Visual Education." Caracas, Venezuela, June 9 - 1945
  • El Imparcial -- Independent Daily. "Technical Use of the Movie in Education: Dr. Kulka in Guatemala." Guatemala, May 4 - 1945
  • El Imparcial -- Independent Daily. " Lecture by Dr. Kulka Illustrated with Films." Guatemala, May 8 - 1945
  • Costa Rica Daily. "Public Teaching Takes a New Allied Science: The Movie." Costa Rica, May 25 - 1945
  • Various un-translated articles, all translated in other places in this folder.
  • The Telegraph. "American Professor Robert H. Kulka Has Arrived on Mission of Great Cultural Significance." Guayaquil, Ecuador, August 8 - 1945
    Announcement from August 8, 1945 also included.
  • The Universe. "Professor Kulka Will Hold Conference in University Tomorrow on Audio-Visual Instruction." Guayaquil, Ecuador, August 8 - 1945
    Article included.
  • "North American Professor Will Give Lecture on Technical Importance of Visual Instruction."
  • El Commercio. "Dr. Kulka Visits the Casa de la Cultura; Will Give Public Demonstration in City Hall Owned by Municipality." Quito, August 13 - 1945
    Evening Edition.
  • El Commercio. "Two Announcements: Exhibition of Films." Quito, August 14 - 1945
    Articles included.
  • El Mercurio -- Chats and Conferences. "Movie Photography and Its Importance in Education." Santiago de Chile, September 14 - 1945
  • La Nacion. "Dr. Kulka Will Speak Today on Movies in Education." Santiago de Chile, September 14 - 1945
  • Chilean Film Distribution Co., Ltd. Victor Animatograph Corporation. Article included.
  • Las Untimas Noticias (The Latest News) - Daily Magazine of Santiago for All Chile. "Magnificent Weapon in the Campaign for Literacy: Educational Movie Will Radiate Light of Knowledge Through All Chile." Santiago de Chile, September 12 - 1945
    2p.
  • Sub-Series: Press Releases
  • Box 6:
  • Obituaries
  • Disney, Walt -- December 16 - 1966
  • Lumiere, Auguste -- April 11 - 1954
  • Victor, Alexander -- March 29 - 1961
  • Retirement
  • Rose, Sam G.
  • Series 5: PRODUCT INFORMATION
  • Sub-Series: Advertising
    See also Scrapbooks for advertising.
  • Box 6:
  • WW II
  • Movies at War. V. 3 - 1944
  • Sell More Bonds with 16mm Films -- Victory Loan.
  • Victor wants to come home, too
  • Religious Uses
  • Promotional Material
  • Victor in Education.
  • "Can our schools teach the G.I. way?"
  • "Can our schools teach the G.I. way? A Teachers Reply."
  • "Hotel Employee Training."
  • "Partial list of the thousands using Victor Animatophones."
  • "Survey on the Utilization of Visual Aids."
  • "Teaching with Motion Pictures."
  • "A Treasure Chest of Audio-Visual Ideas for Teachers, School Administrators, School Boards, and Architects."
  • "Where and How Movies are used in Industry."
  • Sub-Series: British-Victor Sales Manual.
  • Box 6:
  • Manual - 1952
  • Sub-Series: Catalogs
  • Box 7:
  • American Television & Radio no.139
  • Bass Cine Bargaingram no.245
  • Motion Picture catalog - 1935
  • Catalogs - 1935-1939
  • Victor the Aristocrat of Stereopticons no. 19 and 20
  • Catalog no. 23
  • Catalogs - 1947-1948
  • Lantern Slides: Ryan Lantern Slide Service Catalog -- Special Marked Copy
  • Victor Lantern Slides: Catalog no.17
  • Victor Lantern Slides: Victor: The Aristocrat of Stereopticons catalog no. 19 and 20
  • Victor Lantern Slides: School Slide Catalog no 32.
  • Victor Lantern Slides: Passion Play - 1930
  • Parts and Services Catalog Form no.2296. Includes price quotes from printers. - 1953
  • Spanish: Catalogo de Peliculas Educativas Habladas en Castellano
  • Spanish: Peliculas Parlantes de 16mm Sanidad, Conservacion de la Salud Publica, Nutricion.
  • Spanish: Victor Animatograph Corporation Catalogo de Exportacion
  • Spanish: Victor Animatograph Corporation Export Catalog - 1944
  • Sub-Series: Directories
  • Box 7:
  • Audio-Visual Equipment Directory. 3rd ed. November - 1956
  • Directory of 16mm Film Sources. 8th ed. - 1942
  • Photo Dealer Directory Issue. March 15 - 1957
  • Photographic Trade News Master Buying Guide and Directory Issue. 21st ed. June - 1957
  • Sub-Series: Instruction Manuals
  • Box 8:
  • Information and Suggestions for Operation and Care of 16mm Sound-on-Film Motion Picture Equipment.
  • "Instructions for Operating Victor Models 24 and 25, 16 mm Sound on Film Animatophone"
  • "Instructions for Adapting New Self Adjusting Take-up."
  • Miscellaneous Victor Product Instruction Sheets
  • Simplified Instructions
  • Victor Greyline Instructions and Service Manual. British made Model G, similar to American Model 40.
  • Sub-Series: Owner/User Information
  • Box 8:
  • Insurance -- R.L. Muckley & Co.
  • Standard Service Plan
  • Sub-Series: Victor Product Information
  • Box 8:
  • Accessories, Attachments and Replacement Parts
  • Animatophone
  • Audiotone Speakers
  • Continuous Projector
  • Craig Projectors
  • Dallmeyer and Wollensak Lenses
  • Dealer Product Information
  • Form 713-C World's Finest 16mm Movie Cameras
  • Form 774 16mm Sound on Film Projector
  • Kalart Soundstrips
  • Keystone Cameras
  • Magnesound
  • Master Projector
  • Miscellaneous Product Information
  • Model E 16mm Projector with Arc lamp
  • Model 2
  • Model 3
  • Model 4
  • Box 9:
  • Model 5
  • Models 3, 3T and 5 -- Repair Instructions
  • Model 6
  • Model 10
  • Model 11
  • Model 12
  • Model 16 S
  • Model 20
  • Model 21
  • Model 22
  • Model 24, plus attachments
  • Model 25
  • Model 33
  • Model 38
  • Model 60
  • Model 70
  • Model 132
  • Model 136
  • Portable Public Address System
  • Post Card Projector with Arc Light
  • Recorder Operation
  • Series 40
  • 16mm Projectors
  • Television
  • Sub-Series: Price Lists
  • Box 9:
  • Parts
  • Products
  • Sub-Series: Service & Parts Manual. Victor 16mm Sound Motion Picture Projectors.
  • Box 9:
  • Form 2296. January - 1954
    Includes Parts Price List.
  • Form 2346. October - 1955
    Includes Parts Price List.
  • Model No. 40 B
  • Series 6: VISUAL MATERIAL
  • Sub-Series: Film
  • Box 10:
  • 16mm. (5 films, unknown titles)
  • Sub-Series: Glass Slides (3 in. x 4 in.)
  • Box 10:
  • Dutch scene
  • Biblical scene of the Good Samaritan
  • Peter Rabbit
  • Marys at the tomb on Easter
  • Garden image
  • Image of Jesus in the garden
  • Diagram of the eye
  • Sub-Series: Insignia
  • Box 10:
  • Insignia
  • Sub-Series: Negatives.
  • Box 10:
  • Form 2296, Parts and Services Manual
  • Sub-Series: Stereotrope Records
  • Box 10:
  • no. unknown -- Halloween theme
  • ser. A no. 131 -- Assembling WELCOME
  • ser. B no. 153 -- Jack and the Beanstalk
  • no. 154 -- Famous Americans with picture list
  • ser. A no. 161 -- Clown with dog
  • no. 311 -- Zoo animals
  • no. 330 -- Cock Robin
  • no. 334 -- Nursery Rhymes
  • no. 339 -- Hop o My Thumb
  • no. 413 -- Louvre?
  • no. 429 -- American Indians with picture list
  • no. 496 -- unknown landscapes
  • no. 510 -- Lace: Its Origin and History
  • no. 512 -- Railroad adventure
  • no. 543 -- Bible story
  • no. 551 -- Biblical images
  • no. 552 -- Biblical images with partial pictures list
  • Stereotrope Records Brochure
  • Series 7: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 11:
  • Photographs
    (See also Scrapbooks for additional photographs)
  • Box 12:
  • Photographs
  • Box 13:
  • Photographs
  • Box 14:
  • Photographs
  • Box 15:
  • Photographs
  • Box 16:
  • Photographs
  • Box 17:
  • Photographs
  • Box 18:
  • Photographs
  • Box 19:
  • Photographs
  • Box 20:
  • Photographs
  • Box 21:
  • Photographs
  • Box 22:
  • Photographs
  • Box 23:
  • Photographs
  • Box 24:
  • Photographs
  • Box 25:
  • Photographs
  • Box 26:
  • Photographs
  • Box 27:
  • Photographs
  • Box 28:
  • Photographs
  • Box 29:
  • Photographs
  • Series 8: SEPTEMBER 2003 ADDENDUM
  • Box 29:
  • Copies of films from box 10 (untitled)
  • Mini DV format
  • VHS format
  • Series 9: EPHEMERA
  • Box 29:
  • Certificate -- Rose, Sam G. Visit to U.S.S. Wright. Pensacola, Florida - 1949
  • Patch -- Rose, Sam G. Visit to U.S.S. Iowa - 1957
  • Series 10: SCRAPBOOKS
    Numbers are folder numbers. Since interest lies mostly in the instruction manuals, we have noted the instruction booklets that are present in scrapbook or BOX. This is not the entire contents of the boxes or scrapbooks. Instruction booklets are included for models.
  • Box 30:
  • Advertising publications, instruction manuals, order blanks, camera accessories, information on the Victor Credit Union, price lists. (23 folders)
  • 2. Victor Ultra Cine-Camera instruction booklet
  • 3. Model 3 Victor Cine Camera instruction booklet
  • 10. Model 5 Victor Cine Camera instruction booklet
  • 14. Models 4 and 5 16 mm Cine Camera instruction booklet
  • 15. Model 3 Cine Camera instruction booklet
  • 16. Models 4 and 5 Cameras, models 4 and 5 aircraft type cameras instruction booklet
  • Victor Animatograph forms, Victor Christmas cards, forms for the Chicago Offices, stationery, distributor's stationery, envelopes. (37 folders)
  • Folders 1-32
  • Box 31:
  • Folders 33-37
  • Folders 38 and 39
    In Oversized Box 1
  • Contents of Scrapbook
  • 1. Directions for Operating the New Victor Automatic Cine-Projector, Model 2; Instructions for Operating Victor Acetylene Generator; Only 4 Easy Things to Do to Operate the Victor Cine Projector; Instruction Book for the Models 3 & 3B Victor Cine-Projector; Instructions for Operatings Model 3G Victor Cine-Projector With and Without Transformer; Parts for Models 3 and 3GVictor Cine Projectors; Instructions for Operating Model 5 Animatophone
  • 2. Instructions for the Operation and Care of the 16 mm Model 6 Animatophone Sound-on-Disc Projector; Instructions for Operating Victor Model 10 Series 16 mm Motion Picture Projectors; Special Instructions for Model 10C Projector (Combination 32C-110V); Instructions for Operating Victor Model 10E (100V to 250V); Instructions for Operating Victor Model 10C 16 mm Motion Picture Projector (32V-100to120V); How to Install Hi-Power Optical System and New Aperature Plate
  • 3. Instructions for Operating Victor Model 11-H 16mm Motion Picture Projector; Instructions for Operating Model 11L16mm Motion Picture Projector; Instructions for Operating Victor Model 11-M 16mm Motion Picture Projector; Instructions for Operating No. 11 Victor Lamp Rheostat; Instructions for Operating No. 10 Victor Lamp Rheostat
  • 4. Instructions for Operating Victor Model 12 Series 16 mm Sound on Film Animatophone; Model 12A Sound-on-Film Animatophone; Model 12B Sound-on-Film Animatophone
  • 5. Victor Sound-on-Film Instrutions for Care of Equipment and Making Adjustments and Replacements/What to Do if You Fail to Get Sound or Sound Becomes Weak or Distorted; Victor Animatophone A.C. Power Amplifier Wiring Diagram; Operating Instructions - Model 16 Silent Projector
  • 6. Instructions for Operating Victor Model 20 Series 16mm Motion Picture Projector; Instructions for Operating Victor Model 21 16mm Motion Picture Projector; Instructions for Operating Victor Model 2216mm Motion Picture Projector; Special Instructions for Model 21 Projector; Instructions for Operating Victor Models 24 and 25 16mm Sound on Film Animatophone; Victor Model 24 Series Animatophones A.C. Power Amplifier Wiring Diagram; Victor Model 24 Animatophones A.C. Power Amplifier Wiring Diagram; Special Instructions for Using Preamplifiier and Velocity Ribbon Microphone with Model 24B Animatophone; How to Operate 16 mm Animatophone on Direct Current with Converter; Instructions for Attaching Exciter Lamp Switch on Model 25 Univerisal Animatophones
  • 7. Victor Model 25AC Animatophone A.C. Power Amplifier Wiring Diagram; Parts List 16mm Sound-on-Film Animatophones, Models s24B, 25, 26, 25AC, 24C, 24 AB, 38
  • 8. Special Instructions for Model 32 Animatophone For Operation on a 28-32 Volt Current; Victor Moedl 38 Schematic Wiring Diagram;
  • 9. Operating Instructions - Model 40 Animatophone; Model 40A Amplifier Wiring Diagram; Model 40B Amplifier Wiring Diagram; Instructions for Connecting and Operating Dual Projection Change-Pver Switch; Parts List 16mm Sound-on-Film Animatophone Model 40; Wiring Diagrams for the following models: 40 BX, C, O, P, R.
  • 12. Information and Suggestions for Operation and Care of 16mm Sound-on-Film Motion Picture Equipment
  • 13. The Victor Standard Service Plan; Animatophone Operating Instructions
  • Box 32:
  • 1.Parts, price list, and service information, Model 40
  • 2. U S Navy 16 mm sound motion picture equipment, type H, Model 40.
  • 3. 16 mm sound motion picture equipment, Model 40B.
  • 4. Model 12A Sound-on-Film Animatophone; Model 24 C Aud-O-Film Projector A.C. Power Amplifier Wiring Diagram; Parts List
  • 16 mm Sound-on-Film Animatoophone Model 40.
    In Oversized Box 1
  • 5. Operating Instructions-Model 40 Animatophone; Operating Instructions-Model 40 AC-DC Animatophone.
    In Oversized Box 1
  • 6. Loading and Threading Victor 16mm sound Continuous Projector.
    In Oversized Box 1
  • 7. Model 36 Amplifier Wiring Diagram; Model 36 Sound-on-Film Animatophone; Model 38 Switches, Sockets and Conrols.
    In Oversized Box 1
  • 3 ledger books. One untitled, one titled Cine-Projector and the other titled Cine-Camera
  • Box 33:
  • 3 order books
  • Merchandise consignment book
  • Unbound scrapbook. Includes images, advertising, testimonial letters. (3 folders)
  • Scrapbook: "Victor: World's Finest 16 mm Movie Equipment"
  • Box 34:
  • Advertisements, photocopies of ads, price lists
  • Box 35:
  • Advertisements, photocopies of ads, price lists
  • Box 36:
  • Conventions and window displays. (21 folders)
  • Photograph Book . (30 folders)
  • Business screens and summary of defense orders
  • Box 37:
  • Stereopticon album
  • Photograph Book #3
  • Photograph Book #4. (2 folders)
  • Shrink-wrapped scrapbooks
  • Scrapbook #1. Advertising, images of products
  • Scrapbook #2. Advertising, pictures, testimonials, models, some oversized photographs
  • Scrapbook #3. Advertising financial paperwork, advertising
  • Scrapbook #4. Advertising with Cut Register
  • Scrapbook #5. Advertising
  • Scrapbook #6. Advertising
  • Large format photographs
    In Map Case 13, drawer 17
  • Series 11: FEBRUARY 2007 ADDENDUM
  • Box 37:
  • Craig Klein of Eastern Iowa Community College in Davenport Iowa, while researching a book on Davenport's African-American Heritage, was given photographs of some slides taken from an eBay sale. These apparently represented early African American people and locations in Davenport. These slides are marked "Victor Animatograph." He sent copies to be placed in this collection. These are paper copies of digital images of slides. The whereabouts of the slides themselves is unknown. The identifiable subjects of the slides are Eugene Green; Green's Restaurant; LeRoy P. Chistenia, Circulations Manager for the Tri-City Herald; the office of the Tri-City Herald at 1103 E. Third Street, Davenport, Iowa; and a paper boy selling copies of the Tri-City Herald.
  • Series 12: 2008 ADDENDUM
  • Box 37:
  • In addition to the portrait of A. F. Victor at the top of this finding aid, Tony Kelly, the son of the artist who painted them, gave us a digital image of the painting of Sam Rose, biographer of A.F. Victor.