Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Laurence Rankin Fairall Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1917-1932
Creator: Fairall, Laurence Rankin
Extent: 3.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: MSC0152
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Editor of The Camp Dodger. Items relating to the 88th Infantry Division and the formation of the American Legion.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 1.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Laurence Rankin Fairall Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Fiske, Proctor M. (Comp.), History of the Three Hundred and Fiftieth Regiment of U.S. Infantry . . . Cedar Rapids, 1919 (xD570.33 350th F57)
 
T.L.S. to Laurence Fairall from Westbrook Pegler. New York City. May 1, 1944. 1 p. (MsL P376fa)
 
T.L.S. to Lawrence Fairall from Phil Stong. New York City. April 30, 1934. 1 p. (MsL S881fa)
 
T.L.S. to Laurence Fairall from Phil Stong. Washington, Connecticut. October 16, 1946, 1 p. (MsL S881fa)
 
T.L.S. to Laurence Fairall from Dan W. Turner. Des Moines. June 20, 1930. 1 p. (MsL T9451fa)
 
A.L.S. to Laurence Fairall from Dan W. Turner. Corning, Iowa. November 13, 1934. 1 p. (MsL T9451fa )
 
A.L.S. to Laurence Fairall from Dan W. Turner. London. October 7, 1935. 2 p. (MsL T9451fa)
 
A.L.S. to Mr. and Mrs. Laurence Fairall from George Grosz. Des Moines. November 15, 1957. 1 p. November 22, 1957. 1 p. (MsL G879f)
 
Camp Dodger. Overseas Edition, vol. 2, no. 7, Gondrecourt Area, Monday, March 17, 1919.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Camp Dodger Masthead Plate
    Printers Plate
  • Correspondence - 1919-1932
  • Army notice to Lieutenant L.R. Fairall, Division Headquarters, from Eric Fisher Wood, February 25. - 1919
    C
  • T.L.S. to Laurence Fairall from William Weigel. Camp Dix, New Jersey ,Feburary 29. - 1922
  • .L.S. to Laurence Fairall from Jean Haecky, Basle, July 29. - 1932
  • A.L.S. to Laurence Fairall from S.B. Sloan. (n.d.), Iowa City, Iowa.
  • Two Telegrams
  • Document commissioning Laurence R. Fairall a member of the Iowa Centennial Committee, January 6. - 1938
    Signed by Nelson G. Kraschel.
  • "Iowa City, Iowa's Ideal Home City" (pamphlet).
  • Medal, France. - 1918-1919
    Eighty Eighth Infantry Division
  • Minutes, first meeting of the caucus of the American legion. - 1919
  • News paper clippings concerning the American Legion. - 1919
  • Overseas Camp Dodger News Service.
  • Photographs
  • "Infantry Brigade, Camp Dodge, Iowa. August 22, 1917" - 1917
    Not in folder, rolled photo in front of box.
  • "Co. A. Eng Iowa City"
    Not in folder, rolled photo in front of box.
  • "Co. A. Eng Iowa City"
    Not in folder, rolled photo in front of box.
  • no identification
    Not in folder, rolled photo in front of box.
  • Portrait of Rev. Herman H. Fairall
  • Portrait of Sarah Phillips Fairall
  • Sarah Phillips Fairall
  • Primary school room of Laurence Fairall
  • Report of General John J. Pershing - 1918
    With an accompanying map to illustrate the offensive of the St. Mihiel Salient, November 20.
  • Senator Smith W. Brookhart's clippings
  • "Who Can Tell?", a playbill of the song and dance revue presented by the 88th Division
  • World War I broadside.
  • Clippings - 1975-1978

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.