Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Leonard G. Wolf Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1956-1960
Creator: Wolf, Leonard G. (1916-1970)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0151
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: U.S. Representative from Iowa and Agency for International Development official. Correspondence, bills and resolutions, newsletters and press releases all related to his one term in Congress.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1967 by Mr. Wolf.

Preferred Citation: Leonard G. Wolf Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

A Wisconsin native, Leonard George Wolf, moved to Iowa after graduating with a degree in agricultural economics from the University of Wisconsin, in 1949. He worked as a retail feed dealer in Elkader, Iowa, before being elected as a Democrat to the Eighty-sixth Congress (1959-1961). After an unsuccessful reelection bid, Wolf was appointed special assistant to the director of the International Cooperation Administration Mission in Brazil. In 1966, he became the coordinator for the child feeding program in Latin America. The following year, he coordinated the famine relief program in drought stricken India. In 1968, Wolf was appointed executive director of the American Freedom From Hunger Foundation. Leonard G. Wolf was only forty-four years old when he died on March 28, 1970.

The papers of Leonard G. Wolf consist primarily of correspondence from his one term in the Congress. There are also copies of bills and resolutions that he introduced along with newsletters and press releases. His nominating papers are also included.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Bills and resolutions introduced by Wolf - 1959-1960
  • Campaign material, some undated - 1956-1959
  • Correspondence - 1956-1959
    Including lettters from Edward A. McDermott, Jake More, James B. Morris, and Fred Bierman
  • Correspondence - 1960
    Including letter from Robert F. Kennedy and Fred Biermann
  • Correspondence, undated
  • Newsletters and press releases - 1959 -1960
  • Nomination papers - 1958

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Democratic Party (Iowa)

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Political campaigns

Occupations:
Legislators
Politicians

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa