Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Clark M. Eichelberger Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1914-1933
Creator: Eichelberger, Clark M. (1896-1980)
Extent: 1.00 linear foot.
Collection Number: MSC0150.18
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Articles, clippings, correspondence, lectures, photographs, etc.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 1; Posters in Oversized.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Clark M. Eichelberger Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Clark M. Eichelberger was born in 1896 in Freeport, Illinois and was known for being a lecturer on national and international affairs. Along with working as a lecturer for the Radcliffe Chautauqua System from 1922 to 1928, he was director of the Midwest office of the League of Nations Association, later becoming the national director, the vice-president of the United Nations Association of the U.S.A., and was heavily involved with the Commission to Study the Organization of Peace, which he helped found and held numerous authoritative positions. Eichelberger was also very interested in the United Nations, having written numerous books on the topic and was a consultant to the League of Nations Secretariat. Eichelberger was also associated with the World Federation of United Nations Associations, the Committee to Defend America by Aiding the Allies, Citizens for Victory, the Non-Partisan Committee for Peace through Revision of the Neutrality Law, Free World Association, the Committee for Concerted Peace Efforts, and Americans United for World Organization. Eichelberger died in 1980.

The collection of Clark M. Eichelberger consists of two boxes of materials. Box 1 contains written works, business cards, correspondence, photographs, programs, lectures, clippings, and tickets. Box 2 contains written works and oversized items which are posters and sheet music.
The largest collection of the papers of Clark M. Eichelberger are housed in the New York Public Library's Manuscripts and Archives Division.

Rosa Kohler/ Radcliffe Chautauqua Papers Rosa Kohler was the wife of Clark M. Eichelberger.

Records of the Redpath Lyceum Bureau, MsC 150 Please note the list of additional mini-collections of Chautauqua material at the end of the Redpath finding aid.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • "At the End of the Rainbow"
  • "Balancing World Gains and Losses," Polity, Vol. 1, no. 15, September 1 - 1933
  • Business Cards
  • "Chautauqua Text-Book, no.16 Roman History" by J.H. Vincent D.D. [Includes front cover, title page, and autographed fly-leaf only]
  • Correspondence - 1916-1924
  • Correspondence - 1925-1926
  • Correspondence, undated
  • "The Dawn of Civilization"
  • "The English and the Blue Eagle," Polity, Vol. 1, no. 16, September 15 - 1933
  • "He Can Who Thinks He Can"
  • The International Lyceum and Chautauqua Association Yearbook, vol. VIII
  • Lecture Brochures
  • Lectures. Various incomplete untitled drafts
  • The Lyceum Magazine, August, November - 1922, 1925
  • "Main Street vs. Broadway"
  • Newspaper and Magazine clippings - 1898-1925
  • Photographs
  • Clark Eichelberger and Rosa Kohler (?)
  • Emma Louise Pierce, Freida Churchill and Clark in front of Chautauqua tent
  • Clark Eichelberger photo used in Chatuauqua talent brochure
  • Portrait of Clark Eichelberger
  • Radcliffe Chautauqua posters (2)
  • Programs
  • Three Day Radcliffe Chautauqua programs (2) - 1920
  • Three Day Radcliffe Chautauqua, East Canton, Ohio, June 25-27, [n.y.]; includes local advertisements
  • Three Day Radcliffe Chautauqua programs, three different programs, undated
  • Five Day Chautauqua program, no bureau listed
  • Four Three Day Radcliffe Chautauqua programs (2 are similar)
  • Radcliffe Chautauqua catalog, listing Circuits A-L including personnel and talent; undated
  • Radcliffe Chautauqua Tickets - 1922-1928
  • Box 2:
  • "The Red Horizon"
  • "The Speaking Audience"
  • "The Spirit of the Patriot"
  • Posters
  • C.M. Eichelberger, Radcliffe Chautauqua, Season of 1924 (2) - 1924
  • Arlington Chautauqua, July 28-August 1, Inter-state Chautauqua Company, [n.y.]
  • Clark Eichelberger, Lecturer, Jones Chautauqua System, Perry, Iowa, --nley, June 17-22, [n.y.]
  • Eichelberger and other talent; no date or Bureau
  • Song sheet: Song of the European Traveler from Freeport, Ill.