Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Barry Illinois Chautauqua Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1915-1923
Creator: Watson, William W.
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0150.16
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Leaders in establishing Barry, Illinois Chautauqua within that community. Correspondence, newspaper clippings, family recollections, and talent brochures relating to that endeavor.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Donated by Margaret Rutledge, whose ancestors were instrumental in bringing Chautauqua to Barry, Illinois.

Preferred Citation: Barry Illinois Chautauqua Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Materials in this collection provide a behind-the-scenes look at how Chautauqua became a reality for one community. Correspondence, newspaper clippings, pages from a family history, and talent brochures are present. Much of the correspondence relates to the years of B.B. Watson's involvement.
Records of the Redpath Lyceum Bureau, MsC 150 Please note the list of additional mini-collections of Chautauqua material at the end of the Redpath finding aid.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1915-1917
  • Correspondence - 1918-1919
  • Correspondence - 1920-1923
  • Newspaper clippings (transcriptions) - 1911-1919
  • Talent brochures: Chicago Festival Quintet; Hazen Kelley, Ambulance Driver; Dr. Robert MacGowan; Vierra's Hawaiians; Hon. J. Frank Hanly; Mrs. Juliet V. Strauss; Orpheum Concert Company
  • Watson Family history (pages related to Barry, Illinois Chautauqua)

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.