Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Rosa Kohler/Radcliffe Chautauqua Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1895-1925
Creator: Kohler, Rosa
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0150.11
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Rosa Kohler served both as a superintendent and performer for the Radcliffe Chautauqua. These papers include correspondence, forms, promotional material, and clippings.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Lynn Miner in 2005. Guide posted to Internet: November 2005.

Preferred Citation: Rosa Kohler/Radcliffe Chautauqua Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Rosa Kohler was under contract with the Radcliffe Chautauqua Bureau as both superintendent and talent. Although there were women who held the position of superintendent, the majority were men. Apparently the Washington, D.C.-based Radcliffe Bureau employed a number of women in this capacity. In addition, Ms. Kohler appeared as a talent lecturer and reader.

This collection provides a glimpse of the life of a superintendent on the Chautauqua circuit as reflected in the correspondence between Rosa Kohler and the Radcliffe Chautauqua Bureau, as well as the variety of forms, directives, promotional material, etc. Also included are programs, talent brochures, and articles related to Chautauqua.
A manuscript register for the Redpath Chautauqua Bureau, as well as other small Chautauqua collections, is accessible at the following URL.

Clark M. EichelbergerPapers. Clark Eichelberger was Rosa Kohler's husband.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Chautauqua programs (13), including Centerville, Jones Chautauqua System, Colesburg, Pacific Palisades, Blackshear, Scranton, Mankato, Adrian, Baxley (2), Rothsville, generic (2), Affiliated Lyceum and Chautauqua Association
  • Clipped articles
  • Cockerill, John. "Some Phases of Contemporary Journalism." Cosmopolitan - 1892
  • Tarbell, Ida M. "Bishop Vincent and His Work." Cosmopolitan - 1895
  • McCown, Robert A. "Records of the Redpath Chautauqua." Books at Iowa, No. 19, November - 1973
  • "Camp Site." American Heritage, July/August - 1991
  • The Lyceum Magazine, July 22, No. 2
  • Correspondence - 1920-1925
  • Forms for use by Superintendents, including Director's Report, Contracts, Efficiency Rating of Tent Manager, Expense Reports, Director's Manual, etc.
  • Three issues of The Radcliffe Field Glass, June, July, August - 1921
  • Pamphlet: "Chautauqua Text Books, No. 4. English History" by J.H. Vincent, D.D.
  • Radcliffe Chautauqua poster
  • Radcliffe promotional materials, including two season tickets
  • Talent brochures including Rosa Kohler, Edward Tomlinson, Clark Eichelberger, Dr. Ulysses G. Lacey, Ellsworth Plumstead, and one unidentified photograph

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.