Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Krantz Family Concert Company Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1926-1931
Creator: Krantz Family Concert Company
Extent: 3.00 items.
Collection Number: MSC0150.10
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Orchestral quartet. The records of the Krantz Family Concert Company consist of three scrapbooks, dating from 1926-1931, containing newspaper reviews, business correspondence, programs, postcard, maps, and other souvenirs of places where the company performed.

Alternate Extent Statement: 3 scrapbooks

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The scrapbooks were given to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1998 by Roger M. Brown.

Preferred Citation: Krantz Family Concert Company Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The Krantz Family Concert Company was a Chautauqua act that flourished during the period, 1926-1931. The family orchestral quartet of Mr. and Mrs. C.L. Krantz and their two daughters, Audrey Z. and Zona A. played as many as fifteen string and brass instruments. Mr. Krantz also rendered crayon drawings and Zona recited. They performed on both the Redpath Vawter and United Chautauquas circuits.

The records of the Krantz Family Concert Company consist of three scrapbooks dating from 1926-1931. They contain newspaper reviews, business correspondence, programs, postcards, maps, and other souvenirs of places that the company performed. More information on the Krantz Family Concert Company may be found in the records of the Redpath Chautauqua Collection (MsC 150) also located in this repository.
More information on the Krantz Family Concert Company may be found in the Records of the Redpath Chautauqua Collection, 1890-1944, MsC150.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: SCRAPBOOKS

  • Series 1: SCRAPBOOKS
  • Box 1:
  • Redpath-Vawter Chautauqua System - 1926
  • United Chautauquas - 1927
  • United Chautauquas - 1930-1931

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Businessmen and Businesses