Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Alfred E. Moredock Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1884-1947
Creator: Moredock, Alfred E. (1903-1987)
Extent: 1.00 linear foot.
Collection Number: MSC0150.04
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Postcards, newsletters, talent brochures, programs, and other material relating to Chautauqua, with the majority dealing with the Swarthmore Chautauqua system.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Material received from Alfred E. Moredock from 1971-1983. Given in memory of Fred High and Nora Summersgill High.

Preferred Citation: Alfred E. Moredock Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Albert E. Moredock was born in Waynesburg, Pennsylvania in 1903 and died in Greene, Pennsylvania in 1987. He graduated from Waynesburg High School and attended Waynesburg College for two years. He transferred to Carnegie Tech [Carnegie Mellon University] and graduated in Metallurgical Engineering in 1929. He became a non-ferrous metallurgist and recognized expert on the production and industrial use of copper and copper alloys. For 13 years he worked with Chase Brass and Copper Company, Waterbury, Connecticut and was Chief metallurgist of the Allegany Ordnance Plant at Cumberland, Maryland during World War II. Following the war he was a Senior Metallurgist at the Research and Development Center at the Westinghouse Electric Corporation. Alfred Moredock retired in 1969.

During the summers of 1923-1927, Moredock was a crewman and eventually Captain of the Tent Crew for Swarthmore Chautauqua. He wrote in a letter addressed to Robert McCown, then Head of Special Collections, dated July 9, 1973, "I had a very good and happy boyhood and our family loved good music. I was shy, however, and couldn't make up my mind what I wanted to do. Chautauqua altered all that. I learned how to travel, how to meet and get along with people--I saw all of the Northeastern part of the U.S. and Canada on Chautauqua. I learned I could do things as well as and maybe a little better than other people of my age. I learned to love and appreciate even more good music and the theatre - how to travel and meet and get along with people even before I was out of college and into industry. Chautauqua crew jobs were not easy to get. Fred High was with the Billboard in Chicago as head of the Lyceum and Chautauqua section - he was a friend of my father - and it was through him I got the tent crew job. I have benefited from my experiences on Chautauqua all my life."

According to other correspondence from Moredock, Fred High was a native of West Virginia and primarily a newspaperman. He was active in Chautauqua in early days as an entertainer and married Nora Summersgill, a singer and Chautauqua entertainer. Fred and Nora High are represented in the Talent series of MSC0 150, the Redpath Chautauqua Collection.

This collection is rich in many areas. Photographs, postcards, travel arrangements, employee assignments, and correspondence relating to the Swarthmore Bureau are included in Box 1. Box 2 contains general Chautauqua material as well as information specific to various Chautauqua bureaus, including Swarthmore. Some of the books under management companies date back to the late 1800s, which provides a picture of the types of talent appearing at that time. Programs are often "Guarantor's Editions" which picture and describe the talent available for a specific season. This would be taken to communities so local committees could select the talent they would like to contract for. Many programs list dates and towns/cities but no state or province. There is a program present from New Zealand. Although Moredock was employed by Swarthmore, he collected general Chautauqua material in addition to that from other bureaus. Publications housed in Box 2 appear to be quite rare.
Records of the Redpath Lyceum Bureau, MsC 150 Please note the list of additional mini-collections of Chautauqua material at the end of the Redpath finding aid.
http://sdrc.lib.uiowa.edu/traveling-culture/inventory/MSC150.html

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Baggage Car/Inter-Circuit Car Movements - 1924, 1925, 1927
  • Baggage Car Schedules - 1924-1927
  • Circuit Schedules - 1920, 1922-1927, 1929
  • Correspondence - 1920-1947
  • Expenses and Receipts - 1927
  • Miscellaneous, including complimentary passes, notices to tent crew, printed cards containing quips and poems by talent, bulletins, equipment list forms.
  • Photographs, most are of talent star Elsie Baker. Includes photos of Baker as a young woman and later in life. Captions taken from verso of photos.
    Photocopies of images placed in Elsie Baker's file in the Talent series of MsC 150.
  • Elsie Baker (5)
  • Elsie Baker and unidentified group of people outside of tent.
  • Elsie Baker, with crutches, carried by four men
  • Frank Hauser, Elsie Baker, and William Durieux
  • Elsie Baker in wheelchair (2)
  • Elsie Baker with young boy outside store
  • John Temple Graves, September - 1923
  • Will Oakland, Jimmy Martindale, Elsie Baker, and Billy Murray with Brant Burke's famous cylinder phonograph
  • Elsie Baker and group of unidentified people
  • Elsie Baker, Arthur Hall, Edna White, Charles Harrison, and Eugene Rose
  • Fifth annual John Bieling Day party: Fred Van Eps (banjoist), Fred Rubenstein (accountant for Thomas A. Edison, Inc.), and Arthur Hall (recording tenor of the 1920s).
  • John Young and Elsie Baker
  • Elsie Baker with Harvey Hindermeyer in the background.
  • Elsie Baker and Ross Keegan
  • Jim Walsh and Elsie Baker
  • Arthur Hall and Harvey Hindermeyer
  • A reunion of two old pals at the John Bieling Day party--Frank Banta, pianist, and Fred Van Eps, banjo virtuoso.
  • After the party, at the Bieling home. Mrs. Bieling's sister, Mrs. Moore; Mrs. Selinger; Mrs. Manning; Ed Manning and Harry Selinger.
  • Beryl Howell, reporter for the Hempstead Newsday, interviews Irving Kaufman. In background, another reporter, Harvey Aronson
  • Postcards, featuring Chautauqua grounds, talent, and a poem.
    Photocopies of the originals have been placed in the Talent and Towns/Cities series in MsC 150, Records of the Redpath Chautauqua Collection.
  • Athletic Field and Club, Chautauqua, New York, August - 1906
  • Auditorium Entrance, Winona Lake, Indiana
  • Dunbar Singing Orchestra Appearing on all Redpath-Vawter Chautauquas - 1911
  • Garretta and his Pets; Prince the Trick Pony; Redpath Vawter Chautauquas - 1911
  • The Pittsburgh Ladies Orchestra (organized 1911) toured 19 states. Convention and Banquet Entertainers, special Musical Acts. Verso: Information on Albert D. Liefeld and groups he directs
  • San Augustine Band from Laredo, Texas
  • Saxony Opera Singers, Formerly English Opera Singers. Walter W. Flora, Manager
  • Thaviu and His Band. Redpath-Vawter Chautauqua System - 1911
  • White Rose Orchestra, Appearing on all Redpath-Vawter Chautauquas - 1911
  • "The Town of Babyville" (poem). Verso: unidentified woman
  • Staff and crew appointments - 1920-1929
  • Swarthmore Chautauqua Association Weekly/Bi-Weekly Newsletter - 1924-1926, 1927, 1928, 1929
  • Travel Schedules, Railway Time Tables and Route Sheets - 1924, 1927-1928
  • Box 2:
  • The Billboard, I.L.C.A. Convention Number, September 16 - 1922
  • Chautauqua General Materials
  • Battis, WIlliam Sterling. "Little Visits to Little People Who Live in Books"
  • Chautauqua, A Summer City. Good descriptive booklet of Chautauqua, New York - 1900
  • Chautauqua Literary and Scientific Circle Home Reading Course - 1897-1898
  • Chautauqua Book Store in-stock publications [n.d.]
  • The Chautauqua Quarterly, v. XIV, No. 2, Final Edition, April - 1914
  • The Chautauqua Quarterly, v. XXIV, No. 2, Preliminary Edition, April - 1924
  • Chautauqua Teachers' Reading Circle - 1895-1896
  • Complete list of Lyceum and Chautauqua Bureaus in the U.S. [n.d.]
  • Announcement of talent for the Season, Dixie Lyceum Bureau - 1912-1913
  • Local Committee invitational letter to Chautauqua
  • Information Book of Chautauqua - 1941
  • Sample sheet of Classification of the Membership of International Lyceum and Chautauqua Association [n.d.]
  • Stewart, C.E., "The Chautauqua's in Our Town"
  • Wooglin on Chautauqua and other information on Chautauqua Lake area
  • Chautauqua Home Reading Course - 1923
  • Chautauqua History
  • John Heyl Vincent, Commemorative Exercises, August 1 - 1920
  • Chautauqua from the Observer, Scottdale, Pennsylvania, July 5 - 1927
  • Behind the Scenes of the Chautauqua (2 copies)
  • Chautauqua Songs
  • "The Chautauqua Songs for the Use of Members of the C.L.S.C." New York: Chautauqua Press - 1884
  • Sacred Songs Used by Redpath Chautauquas in their Sunday Programs
  • "Sweet Genevieve," sheet music, "Special Chautauqua Edition," with picture of Nora Mae High on the cover
  • International Lyceum Association of America
  • Ninth Annual Convention and Chautauqua of the International Lyceum Association of America - 1911
  • Eleventh Annual Convention - 1913
  • Memorial Services, September 16 - 1917
  • Sixteenth Annual Convention - 1918
  • Twenty-fourth Annual Convention - 1926
  • Twenty-eighth Annual Convention - 1930
  • Management Companies
  • Blue Book of Lecture Celebrities, Louis J. Alber - 1925-1926
  • Blue Book of Lecture Celebrities, Alber-Wickes Platform Service - 1926-1927
  • Wade Entertainment Bureau, Seventeenth Season - 1900
  • Phipps Lyceum Bureau, Season of - 1891-1892
  • Phipps and Gottschalk - 1888-1889
  • Newspaper clippings and printed articles
  • Hershey, S.B. "Bankruptcy and The Lyceum"
  • Wiggam, Albert Edward "Is the Chautauqua Worthwhile?"
  • The Chautauquan Daily, v. XXXIX, No. 19, July 24 - 1914
  • Vaughan, Dr. David D. "Dreams Open the Gate to Dollars." The Lyceum Magazine, Vol. XXXVII, No. 1 (reprint), June - 1927
  • Chautauqua Talk, Canadian Chautauqua Service, Program for Whitewood, Saskatchewan, July 11-14 - 1927
  • Marion Chautauqua News and The Community Builder, Published by the Redpath Chautauquas, Seven Day Chautauqua Circuit Edition, June - 1923
  • Miscellaneous newspaper clippings; covers Jacksonville Boys' Brass Band, Dr. Henry Goddard Leach - 1923, 1927
  • Programs from Chautauqua Bureaus other than Swarthmore
  • Antrim Lyceum Bureau, Philadelphia - 1928-1929
  • Camdean Platform, Williamstown August 8 to 12 - 1923
  • Canadian Chautauqua: Craigmyle, November 20-23 [n.y.]
  • Canadian Chautauqua: Scotsguard, October 4-7 - 1930
  • Canadian Chautauqua: Vilna, Alberta, August 10-14 - 1929
  • Canadian Chautauqua: Warkworth, July 17-22 - 1931
  • Chautauqua Association Incorporated, New Zealand Chautauqua, Auckland, January 12-16 - 1922
  • Coit-Alber Service, The Victory Chautauqua, Waverly, July 4-8 - 1919
  • Collins Management Services, 2 undated programs - 1929, 1940
  • Community Chautauquas, Elsie, July 7-11, [n.y.]
  • Community Chautauquas, Nashville, July 9-14, [n.y.]
  • Community Chautauquas, Plato, October 31, November 1-3
  • Community Chautauquas, Sanford, July 10-14 - 1916
  • Dalevill Chautauqua, June 4-10, [n.y.]
  • Dominion Chautauqua, Macklin, July 30-August 5 [n.y.]
  • Ellison-White Chautauqua Festival, Shelby, October 13-18 [n.y.]
  • Ellison-White Great Falls Chautauqua, August 5-11 - 1916
  • Ellison-White Lyceum Series [n.d.]
  • Ellison-White Promotional brochures [n.d.] (2)
  • Ellison-White -Promotional brochures (2). One blank as to place; the other for Conrad, July 29-August 3 - 1926
  • Fountain Park Assembly, August 11-26 (2) (one copy more extensive) - 1932
  • Horner Chautauquas, Plano, Begins June 28 [n.y.]
  • Independent Chautauqua: Alton, July 9-13; July 13-17; July 13-17; July 22-26 - 1928; 1929; 1930; 1931
  • Independent Chautauqua: Barry, August 20-25 - 1928
  • Pittsburgh Central Circle, April 2 - 1885
  • Radcliffe, Washington D.C.: Erath, April 13-15, [n.y.]
  • Radcliffe, Pearsall, February 28-March 3 [n.y.]
  • Radcliffe, Poolesville, August 13-15 [n.y.]
  • Radcliffe, Winchester, June 29-July 1 - 1927
  • Radcliffe, Poster, undated, of season's talent
  • Redpath Bureau, Athens, Alabama - 1925, 1926
  • Redpath Bureau, Castle Rock, July 27-30 - 1930
  • Redpath Bureau, Clemons, July 13-16 - 1903
  • Redpath Bureau, Goldsboro, May 27-31, [n.y.]
  • Redpath Bureau, Nashville, Tennessee, October 4, 5, 7 [n.y.]
  • Redpath Bureau, Promotional brochure - 1915, 191-
  • Redpath Bureau, Waynesburg, Ohio, August 16-22 - 1918
  • Redpath Bureau, Westmoreland-Free, August 10-13 - 1930
  • Scorer Lyceum Bureau of Philadelphia - 1914-1915
  • Southern Oregon Chautauqua Association, July 10-22 - 1897
  • Unidentified bureaus and miscellaneous brochures: Avon Chautauqua, August 19-23 (2) - 1923
  • Unidentified bureau, Brownstown Chautauqua, August 4-10, [n.y.]
  • Unidentified bureau, Byron W. King's School of Oratory: Summer Session [n.y.]; Spring term May - 1906
  • Unidentified bureau, Chautauqua Program booklet - 1914
  • Unidentified bureau, Eureka Chautauqua, August 12-19 - 1923
  • Unidentified bureau, Independence Chautauqua, July 22, [n.y.]
  • Unidentified bureau, Jewett City, July 16-19 - 1929
  • Unidentified bureau, Kingfield, October 8-10 - 1929-1930
  • Unidentified bureau, Perdue Chautauqua, October 25-27, [n.y.]
  • Unidentified bureau, Philipsburg, June 13-17 - 1929
  • Unidentified bureau, Sample program (3) - 1929-1930
  • Western Pennsylvania Exposition Society, Season - 1901
  • Publications
  • Chautauquan, Chautauqua Press, Chautauqua, New York, Vol. 61: No. 3, February - 1911
  • Chautauquan, Chautauqua Press, Chautauqua, New York, Vol. 68: No. 1, September - 1912
  • Chautauquan, Chautauqua Press, Chautauqua, New York, Vol. 69, No. 3, February - 1913
  • Literature and the Larger Life, Chautauqua Press, Chautauqua, New York. [n.d.]
  • Lyceum World, Indianapolis, Indiana. Vol. VI: No. 2, May - 1913
  • Swarthmore Chautauqua Association Programs
  • Three day and five day Guarantor's edition - 1919
  • Six day Guarantor's edition - 1920
  • Tenth Anniversary: six day (3 copies, all different); five day Guarantor's edition - 1921
  • Locust Gap, three day - 1921-1922
  • Five day (2 copies, each different); six day - 1922
  • Five day (2 copies, one of which is Guarantor's edition); six day (2 copies, both Guarantor's edition but each is different); partial copy - 1923
  • Five day (1 complete copy, one partial copy) - 1924
  • Guarantor's edition, 3 copies, all different - 1924-1925
  • Five day (2 copies, each different); seven day Guarantor's edition (2 copies, each different); Crisfield, June 12-17, five day (2); Du Bois, August 14-20, seven day; Dunsmore or Dunmore, July 29-August 4, seven day; Fredericksburg, July 7-13, seven day; Greenfield, July 10-16, seven day; Norristown, June 18-24, seven day; Portsmouth, June 13-19, seven day; Townsend, July 14-19, five day (2) - 1925
  • Three day; Guarantor's edition; Chincoteague, September 21-23 - 1925-1926
  • Chestertown, August 26-September 1, seven day; Columbiana, August 4-9, five day; Concordville, September 23-26, three day; Danforth, October 16-19, three day; Elkland, Osceola, Nelson, August 13-18, five day; Swarthmore, June 9-15, seven day; Toms River, August 23-27, five day - 1926
  • Promotional brochure, seven day; Bradford, September 28-30, three day; Canton, August 1-7, seven day; Christiansburg, June 13-17, five day; Easton, August 25-30, six day; Lovettsville, September 20-22, three day; Mifflinburg, August 17-22, six day; Pine Grove Mills, October 1 to 4, three day; Port Jefferson, August 11-16, six day; Washington, July 22-28, seven day. - 1927
  • Three day, Guarantor's edition; five day Promotional (2); seven day Promotional; Gloucester, June 23-28, five day; Lovington, April 13, 14, 16, 17, four day; Swarthmore, June 9-15, seven day (2 copies, each different) - 1928
  • Undated, three day (2 copies, each different)
  • Swarthmore Chautauqua guidelines
  • Gamble, Ernest. "How Swarthmore Does It." Typed copy of article that appeared in The Lyceum Magazine, September - 1922
  • Listing of policy of the Swarthmore Chautauqua Association relative to luncheon club programs
  • Talent Brochures/Ads
  • Fink's Hussars Militaire; Alex B. Macdonald; verso--Carlo Fisher Trio (2)
  • William Keighley and His Broadway Players in Captain Applejack; verso--Charles Howard Plattenburg
  • Keighley Players in The Witching Hour; verso--Ruth Bryan Owen
  • Bohumir Kryl and His Band, June 1 to September 15 - 1917
  • Mildred-Leo Clemens offers "Happy Hawaii"
  • "Capt. Jack" Crawford, "The Poet Scout"
  • Give and Take, verso--The Russian Cathedral Quartet
  • The Gondoliers
  • The Gondoliers; verso--Give and Take
  • Hassler Concert Company - 1904-1905
  • The Meanest Man in the World; verso--Brush, The Great Magician
  • Mischakoff String Quartet, two programs: July 26 and August 2 - 1928
  • Moslem Temple Shrine Band and Smith-Spring-Holmes Orchestral Quintet, March 25 - 1920
  • Park Sisters Quartet and Miss Adele Weber; verso--Star Lyceum Bureau; Season listing of talent - 1898-1899
  • Russian Cathedral Quartet; verso--Captain Applejack
  • Smith-Spring-Holmes Orchestral Quintet
  • So This is London (5 copies); verso differs with each copy and includes Junior Chautauqua Patriotic-Historical Pageant "America Triumphant"; Fink's Hussars Militaire
  • Strange Bedfellows; verso--Dr. E. B. Mac Dowell and Vierra's Original Hawaiian's (2)
  • Sue Ernest Hewling's Rainbow Orchestra; verso--Burgderfer and Strange Bedfellows
  • Tommy; verso--"The Importance of Health"
  • Turn to the Right; verso--"I am the Chautauqua"
  • Vierra's Original Hawaiians; verso--Dr. Edward Burton Mac Dowell
  • What Happened to Jones, playing at Woodbine Chautauqua, August 26; Lithia Springs Chautauqua, September 1 - 1921
  • The Crusading Commoner, reviews of book about William Jennings Bryan by Dr. Charles McDaniel Rosser
  • Earthly Footsteps of The Man of Galilee, article on a book by Bishop John H. Vincent and Rev. James W. Lee
  • Applesauce; verso--Richard Davis, Magician
  • Elsie Baker, Contralto; verso--Russian Cathedral Choir; John Temple Graves (2)
  • WIlliam Sterling Battis in "Life Portrayals," with Musical Program by Oceanic Ladies' Quintet; verso--Percival Vivian Players in William Shakespeare'sAs You Like It
  • Four bound volumes of Chautauqua talent brochures, compiled by Fred High. All of these have been digitized and are included with the remainder of the online talent brochures.
    Shelved at end of Redpath Chautauqua collection.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.