Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Redpath Chautauqua Bureau Records

Collection Overview

Date Span:
Creator: Redpath Chautauqua Bureau
Extent: 648.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0150
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Commercial lecture bureau and booking agency for Chautauqua and lyceums throughout the United States and parts of Canada. Office files of the Redpath-Vawter Bureau of Cedar Rapids, IA, the Redpath-Chicago Bureau run by Harry P. Harrison and Charles Horner's Redpath Chautauquas. Included are: talent files consisting of correspondence, contracts, publicity brochures, and advertising flyers; business files including employee records; geographical location files with materials about cities and towns that sponsored Chautauquas and lyceums; periodicals; daybooks, cashbooks; and photographs.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs, 1.5 linear ft.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Gift of Harry P. Harrison, Harrison John Thornton, and others, 1940-1973.

Preferred Citation: Records of the Redpath Chautauqua Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The Redpath Chautauqua Collection is comprised of approximately six hundred forty-eight linear feet of records primarily from the offices of the Redpath-Vawter Bureau of Cedar Rapids (Iowa), the Redpath-Chicago Bureau, and the Redpath-Kansas City (Missouri) Bureau. Other booking agencies are also represented in the collection, including the Associated Chautauquas of America, the Coit-Alber Chautauqua Company, the Ellison-White Chautauqua System, Loar International Chautauquas, and the Swarthmore Chautauqua Associations.
150.01 Denton Crowl
150.02 L.E. Moyer
150.03 Keith Vawter
150.04 Alfred E. Moredock
150.05 Arthur Spivey
150.06 Carl Backman
150.07 Charles Horner
150.08 Harrison Thornton
150.09 Marion Ballou Fisk
150.10 Krantz Family Papers
150.11 Rosa Kohler/Radcliffe Chautauqua Papers
150.12 Tom and Ruth Blanchard Chautauqua Collection
150.13 Julian Gromer Travelogues Collection
150.14 Lincoln Chautauqua Bureau Materials
150.15 Richard G. Oram Chautauqua Collection
150.16 Barry Illinois Chautauqua Collection
150.17 William H. Thompson Papers
150.18 Papers of Clark M. Eichelberger
150.19 Betsy Loyd Oral Histories of Permanent Chautauquas
150.20 Harold McKeen Papers
150.21 George Walter Grill Chautauqua Collection

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.