Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Richard Maibaum Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1931-1991
Creator: Maibaum, Richard (1909-1991)
Extent: 18.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0149
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: American screenwriter, producer and actor. Personal papers contains an actors file, clippings and correspondences.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Boxes 1, 2, 8, 11, 13, 14, 22, 25, 27, 28, 33, 34, 2009 addendum

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Mr. and Mrs. Carl Jack in 1959.

Preferred Citation: Richard Maibaum Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Richard Maibaum was born in 1909 in New York City. In 1930 he came to The University of Iowa's Speech and Dramatic Arts Department, where he studied under E.C. Mabie. He was graduated Phi Beta Kappa in 1931, and in 1932 he received a master's degree. During this time, Maibaum was writing plays and acting. He was only twenty-two and still at the University when his anti-lynching play, The Tree, became a 1932 Broadway production. After graduating, Maibaum returned to New York where he spent a year as an actor in a Shakespearean repertory company on Broadway. He appeared in fifteen different roles in many productions. He was the youngest actor ever to perform the role of Iago on Broadway. He also continued to write plays, including Birthright and Sweet Mystery of Life both of which were produced on Broadway.

In 1935, Maibaum married Sylvia Kamion. The couple soon moved to Hollywood, where Maibaum had been engaged as a screenwriter by M.G.M. He later worked as a screenwriter or producer and was involved in more than sixty films besides television projects. (See list appended.)

Maibaum joined the U.S. Army in 1942 and was commissioned as a captain in the Signal Corps, eventually achieving the rank of Lieutenant Colonel. During his four and one-half years in the Army, he produced war morale films, assembled and disseminated combat film footage, and oversaw a documentary history of World War II. This experience as a film producer led to a post-war job at Paramount as a producer and screenwriter. His first assignment, O.S.S., which Maibaum produced and wrote, was the beginning of his association with actor Alan Ladd. Maibaum also produced and wrote for The Great Gatsby film in which Ladd starred.

In 1951 Maibaum turned to freelance writing. Through Alan Ladd, he became associated with Albert (Cubby) Broccoli and wrote screenplays for Broccoli's British film company, Warwick Productions. He also began writing for television, including short teleplays for The Kate Smith Evening Hour, and the critically acclaimed Fearful Decision, which he co-wrote with Cyril Hume. Fearful Decision was the basis for the 1956 screenplay Ransom. Maibaum returned to The University of Iowa in 1954 for one semester to teach and supervise the Footsteps of Freedom project, a teleplay writing course.

Maibaum became executive producer at M.G.M.-TV in 1958. But his strong ties to the Writer's Guild and the writing profession led him to resign in 1960 during a writer's strike. Around this time, Cubby Broccoli contacted Maibaum and asked him to write the first screenplay for a James Bond film, based on an Ian Fleming book. Dr. No began a long and successful film series, the longest running film series in history. It is estimated that more than two billion viewers have seen the James Bond movies. Maibaum is credited with adding the essential ingredient of humor to the James Bond stories and continued writing them into the last years of his life. Some of his own favorites among his thirteen Bond screenplays were From Russia With Love, On Her Majesty's Secret Service, and For Your Eyes Only. Maibaum also continued work on other film projects, such as Chitty Chitty Bang Bang and wrote movies for television such as S.H.E. and Jarrett, which he also produced.

In discussing the collection, Sylvia Maibaum said about her husband: Besides his other attributes and accomplishments, he was also innovative. Among his works are 'firsts': The first anti-lynching play on Broadway, The Tree; the first anti-Nazi play on Broadway, Birthright (1933); the first movie that dealt with the problem of medication abuse, Bigger Than Life, written in 1955, released in 1956; the first movie that dealt with the ethical and moral decisions in kidnapping cases, Ransom; the first movie that introduced the American public to the importance of training airmen for the defense of the United States in a war many recognized as coming, I Wanted Wings (Spring, 1941); and Diamonds Are Forever, begun 1970, the first film that discussed the use of laser-like satellite mounted weapons for global warfare. The above record reflects Richard Maibaum's keen knowledge of many subjects and his lifelong ready awareness of contemporary affairs.

He died on January 4, 1991 at the age of 81, survived by his wife, Sylvia (who died in 2006), two sons, Matthew and Paul, and a granddaughter, Shanna Claire.

The collection is divided into six major series: Personal papers, Film Projects, Stage Projects, Television Projects, "James Bond" Projects, and Technical and Historical Research Data. Each series is then arranged alphabetically by subject or title, and chronologically within these divisions. Some material, such as clippings or correspondence, may appear in more than one series. When a work exists in more than one form, it is filed in the series corresponding to the final version.

The Personal Papers include biographical material, correspondence, interviews, and tributes, together with other subject files. The Film Projects series is composed of produced and unproduced projects which involved Richard Maibaum as screenwriter or producer. The "James Bond" material appears in a separate series. Some of Maibaum's earliest works are contained in Stage Projects, including his master's thesis (The Tree) which was produced at The University of Iowa. This was one of the first creative works ever accepted as a thesis by any University. Among the items in the Television Projects are teleplays, clippings, and correspondence.

The "James Bond" series is an extensive collection of notes, sketches, screen treatments, screenplay drafts, and final scripts representing most of the "James Bond" movies. Of the sixteen "James Bond" films produced by Cubby Broccoli, Maibaum wrote or co-wrote thirteen. Clippings, correspondence, publicity material, articles, photographs, and other items complete this series. The Technical and Historical Research Data files contain informative matter on a variety of subjects.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PERSONAL PAPERS
Series 2: FILM PROJECTS
Series 3: STAGE PROJECTS
Series 4: TELEVISION PROJECTS
Series 5: JAMES BOND PROJECTS
Series 6: TECHNICAL AND HISTORICAL RESEARCH DATA
Series 7: DEFENSE STUDIES
Series 8: ADDENDA
Series 9: ASSOCIATION PAPERS

  • Series 1: PERSONAL PAPERS
  • Box 1:
  • Actors file. Clippings of actors associated with Maibaum, including: Sean Connery, Ralph Bellamy, Glenn Ford, William Powell, Patrick Macnee, Mickey Rooney, Roger Moore, etc. - 1964-1989
  • Biographical material - Richard Maibaum. Clippings, articles, and photographs - 1933-1989
  • Broccoli, Albert R. (Cubby). Clippings - 1989
  • Clippings of Maibaum projects. Including produced and unproduced television projects - 1936-1979
  • Correspondence . Including letters from: E.C. Mabie, Cyril Hume, Frank Capra, Hunter Rawlings III, and Albert R. (Cubby) Broccoli - 1932-1990
  • Ladd, Alan. 3 drafts of an article for Workman Publishing Company, together with correspondence - 1978
  • Los Angeles County Museum Film Series. Richard Maibaum tribute, including correspondence, clippings, publicity material, etc. - 1972
  • Maibaum, Jerome. Collected Writings. Photocopy. (Jerome Maibaum was Richard Maibaum's father)
  • McGilligan, Pat. Backstory--draft of Maibaum interview together with correspondence and clippings - 1986
  • Obituaries and memorials--Richard Maibaum - 1991
  • Photographs. Stills from various films.
  • The Sainted Sisters
  • The Big Clock
  • Bad Man of Brimstone
  • Live, Love, and Learn
  • The Paradise Kid
  • Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
  • The Thin Man (television series)
  • From Russia With Love
  • Selected stories. Brief summaries and evaluations for screenplay potential, including "The Life of Ian Fleming" by John Pearson - 1966
  • Speaking of Writing: Lectures and Presentations by Richard Maibaum. Collected speeches - 1991
  • World War II newspapers: Daily Mirror and PM Daily - 1945
  • Series 2: FILM PROJECTS
  • Box 1:
  • The Amazing Mr. Williams. Screenplay co-authored with Sy Bartlett. Second draft. [Earlier title: The Incredible Mr. Williams]. June 2 - 1939
  • The Amazing Mr. Williams. Clippings and reviews - 1939-1940
  • The Bad Man of Brimstone. Screenplay. Including photocopies of photographs. December 23
  • The Bad Man of Brimstone. Clippings and reviews - 1938
  • The Bandit of Zhobe. Notes
  • The Bandit of Zhobe. Treatment with story synopsis.
  • Box 2:
  • The Bandit of Zhobe. Screenplay. First draft with holograph revisions.
  • The Bandit of Zhobe. Screenplay.
  • Batman. Notes for a revision of Michael Uslan's screenplay.
  • Batman. Screenplay by Michael Uslan. Revisions by Richard Maibaum - 1979
  • The Battle at Bloody Beach. Correspondence - 1960-1961
  • The Battle at Bloody Beach. Screenplay, co-authored with Willard Willingham. Final draft. January 6 - 1961
  • The Battle at Bloody Beach. Clippings - 1961
  • The Big Clock (produced by Richard Maibaum). Screenplay by Jonathan Latimer. Together with production notes. February 17 - 1947
  • The Big Clock. Photographs, March - 1947
  • The Big Clock. Photographs, March
  • The Big Clock. Clippings, reviews, box office reports, etc. - 1948, 1986
  • Bigger Than Life. Screenplay co-authored with Cyril Hume, [Earlier title: Ten Feet Tall]. January 17 - 1956
  • Bigger Than Life. Autographed photo of James Mason.
  • Bigger Than Life. Clippings - 1956
  • Box 3:
  • Bride of Vengeance (produced by Richard Maibaum): Screenplay by Cyril Hume and Michael Hogan. Together with additional dialogue by Clarence Dane. July 26 - 1948
  • Bride of Vengeance. Clippings of reviews. March - 1949
  • Captain Carey, U.S.A., (produced by Richard Maibaum). Screenplay by Jonathan Latimer and Robert Thoeren, February 11 - 1949
  • Captain Carey, U.S.A. Clippings together with correspondence - 1950
  • The Catcher: The Moe Berg Story. Treatment, with holograph revisions. March 23 - 1979
  • The Catcher: The Moe Berg Story. Screenplay. Incomplete, with holograph revisions.
  • The Catcher: The Moe Berg Story. Screenplay. Miscellaneous pages with holograph revisions.
  • Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. Screenplay. Revised shooting script, before Maibaum's revision. June 8 - 1967
  • Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. Screenplay. Draft, with Maibaum's final dialogue revisions. July 19 - 1967
  • Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. Screenplay. Final shooting script. July 19 - 1967
  • Box 4:
  • Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. Screenplay. Various incomplete revisions.
  • Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. Music score from the United Artists motion picture.
  • Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. Promotional material - 1968
  • Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. Clippings - 1968
  • Coast Guard. Screenplay co-authored with Albert Duffy. Second draft. September 29 - 1938
  • Coast Guard. Clippings - 1939
  • Cockleshell Heroes. Screenplay co-authored with Bryan Forbes.
  • Cockleshell Heroes. Screenplay.
  • Cockleshell Heroes. Clippings. Together with correspondence - 1955-1956
  • Continental Contract: Mack Bolan. Correspondence - 1972
  • Continental Contract: Mack Bolan. Notes.
  • Continental Contract: Mack Bolan. Treatment. With Holograph revisions.
  • Continental Contract: Mack Bolan. Treatment. With Holograph revisions.
  • Continental Contract: Mack Bolan. Treatment. Revised.
  • Continental Contract: Mack Bolan. Screenplay.
  • Continental Contract: Mack Bolan. Clippings - 1972
  • Box 5:
  • The Day They Robbed the Bank of England. Treatment based on the novel A Thousand Bars of Gold by John Brophy. 2 folders - 1959
  • The Day They Robbed the Bank of England. Screenplay by Howard Clewes. Revised first draft, based on Richard Maibaum's adaptation of the John Brophy novel. April - 1959
  • The Day They Robbed the Bank of England. Clippings - 1960
  • Dear Wife (produced by Richard Maibaum). Screenplay by Arthur Sheekman and N. Richard Nash, October 19 - 1948
  • Dear Wife. Clippings of reviews - 1949-1950
  • Entebbe. Research material regarding proposed film of Entebbe incident. Notes, clippings, correspondence - 1976
  • Flying Finish. Correspondence regarding the Dick Francis novel (and other Francis titles) for possible film option. Includes copy of a letter by Dick Francis. August 11-September 12 - 1967
  • The Fugitive Pigeon. Based on the novel by Donald E. Westlake. April 15 - 1965
  • The Fugitive Pigeon. Treatment. Carbon - 1965
  • The Fugitive Pigeon. Treatment. Incomplete, with holograph revisions.
  • The Fugitive Pigeon. Screenplay. Incomplete, with holograph revisions.
  • The Gemini Contenders. Original book by Robert Ludlum, with notes and marginalia by Maibaum.
  • The Gemini Contenders. Sketches, notes, and miscellaneous treatment pages.
  • The Gemini Contenders. Treatment, with holograph revisions. January 31 - 1977
  • The Gemini Contenders. Treatment. January 31 - 1977
  • Box 6:
  • The Gemini Contenders. Treatment, with holograph revisions. Based on Robert Ludlum novel. July 14 - 1977
  • The Gemini Contenders. Incomplete. July 14 - 1977
  • The Gemini Contenders. Treatment, with holograph revisions. (3 copies). August 11 - 1977
  • The Gemini Contenders. Incomplete early draft with holograph revisions (2 copies)
  • The Gemini Contenders. Screenplay. Early draft (photocopy)
  • The Gemini Contenders. Screenplay. Typescript with holograph revisions, together with storyline notes and clippings. September 15 - 1977
  • The Gemini Contenders. Screenplay (photocopy). September 15 - 1977
  • The Gemini Contenders. Screenplay; prefinal draft with revisions. September 15 - 1977
  • Box 7:
  • The Gemini Contenders. Screenplay, incomplete polished revision. February [21?] - 1978
  • The Gemini Contenders. Screenplay, polished revision (photocopy). February 21 - 1978
  • The Gemini Contenders. Screenplay, polished revision (photocopy). February 21 - 1978
  • The Gemini Contenders. Screenplay. Final typescript with holograph revisions. February 21 - 1978
  • The Gemini Contenders. Screenplay. Incomplete with holograph revisions.
  • The Gemini Contenders. Screenplay. Incomplete.
  • The Gemini Contenders. Clippings - 1978, 1980
  • The Ghost Comes Home. Screenplay. Temporary incomplete. Earlier title: Hooray, I'm Alive! December 21 - 1939
  • The Great Bonacker Whiskey War. Summary of forthcoming (February) novel being considered for screenplay adaptation, with MGM interoffice memo dated January 10 - 1967
  • Box 8:
  • The Great Gatsby. Screenplay co-authored with Cyril Hume. Final typescript (photocopy; two copies). February 25 - 1948
  • The Great Gatsby. Photographs: Richard Maibaum, Alan Ladd, Geraldine on the set of the movie.
  • The Great Gatsby. Clippings, reviews, ads, box office reports - 1947-1949; 1987
  • The Great Gatsby. "The Question They Faced with 'Gatsby': would Scott Approve?". Article by Richard Maibaum for the Daily Compass together with correspondence - 1949
  • The Great Gatsby. "Low Moral Tone and All That Jazz, or Gatsby Revisited." Article by Richard Maibaum. Typescript draft with holograph revisions.
  • The Great Gatsby. "Calendar," Los Angeles Times. Published version titled "'Great Gatsby' employs Two Generations of Farrows." July 15 - 1973
  • The Great Gatsby. Correspondence, May 2-January 7 - 1978-1980
  • Hell Below Zero. Clippings - 1953-1954
  • Hold Back the Dawn. Screenplay with uncredited contribution by Richard Maibaum. January 15 - 1941
  • I Wanted Wings. Screenplay with holograph revisions.
  • I Wanted Wings. Clippings, reviews - 1941
  • I'll Take the High Road. Treatment co-authored with Laslo Vadnay.
  • Killers of Kilimanjaro. Screenplay co-authored with Cyril Hume. Earlier title: Adamson of Africa. June 13 - 1956
  • The Lady and the Mob. Screenplay. Earlier title: Old Mrs. Leonard and Her Machine Guns. November 15 - 1938
  • The Lady and the Mob. Clippings - 1939
  • The Life of Maryla Jonas. Correspondence, press book, research material, etc. - 1947-1950
  • Live, Love and Learn. Clippings, reviews - 1937
  • Box 9:
  • Logan's Run. Correspondence, notes, sketch, and miscellaneous treat pages - 1968
  • Logan's Run. Treatment. February 14 - 1968
  • Logan's Run. Screenplay. April 8 - 1968
  • Logan's Run. Screenplay; revision. June 3 - 1968
  • Loon Island. "The Maniac." Short story co-authored with Cyril Hume. Cosmopolitan short story. (Basis for Loon Island screenplay). October - 1952
  • Loon Island. Correspondence - 1970, 1978
  • Loon Island. Screenplay co-authored with Cyril Hume.
  • The Man Who Was Thursday. Treatment together with correspondence and clippings - 1964
  • No Man of Her Own. Produced by Richard Maibaum. Screenplay by Catherine Turney. Earlier title: I Married a Dead Man. May 25 - 1949
  • No Man of Her Own. Clippings, including a clipping using the working title The Lie - 1949-1950
  • O.S.S. Screenplay, February 8 - 1946
  • O.S.S. Clippings - 1946
  • Oh, Promised Land. Treatment
  • The Playroom. Correspondence - 1966-1967
  • The Playroom. Treatment, with holograph revisions. February 1 - 1966
  • Box 10:
  • The Playroom. Screenplay, March 9 - 1966
  • Ransom. Correspondence - 1954-1956
  • Ransom. A playscript co-authored with Cyril Hume. Another title: The Davie Decision
  • Ransom. Teleplay co-authored with Cyril Hume. Alternate title: Fearful Decision. (Sent to Mrs. Maibaum in 1996) May 12 - 1955
  • Ransom. Teleplay co-authored with Cyril Hume. Alternate title: Fearful Decision. Basis for Ransom screenplay. May 12 - 1955
  • Ransom. Clippings from TV version (Fearful Decision) and the film version - 1955-1956; 1984
  • Ransom. Newspaper serialization adapted from the film Ransom. Incomplete (6 installments). January 30-February 4 - 1956
  • Ransom. Palos Verdes High School play production. 3 programs. May 14-16 - 1964
  • The Red Beret. Screenplay. August 29 - 1952
  • Sainted Sisters. Produced by Richard Maibaum. Screenplay by Harry Clork and N. Richard Nash. September 20 - 1947
  • Song of Surrender. Screenplay. Earlier titles: Abigail, Dear Heart; Now and Forever. December 10 - 1947
  • Box 11:
  • Stablemates. Correspondence - 1938
  • Stablemates. Screenplay, co-authored with Leonard Praskins, marked "complete". June 3 - 1938
  • Stablemates. Photographs, including Mickey Rooney and Wallace Beery.
  • Stablemates. Clippings - 1938
  • Tank Force. Treatment. Earlier title: No Time to Die. May 12 - 1956
  • Tank Force. Screenplay. Earlier title: No Time to Die. January 29 - 1957
  • Ten Gentlemen from West Point. Screenplay. Final shooting script. October 6 - 1941
  • Ten Gentlemen from West Point. Clippings and program - 1942
  • Their Neighbor's Wife. Screenplay co-authored with Cyril Hume
  • They Gave Him a Gun. Screenplay co-authored with Cyril Hume and Maurice Rapf. Marked "Temporary Incomplete." December 16 - 1936
  • They Gave Him a Gun. Clippings, reviews, publicity material - 1937, 1987
  • Twenty-Mule Team. Screenplay co-authored with Edward E. Paramore. "Temporary Incomplete." August 9 - 1939
  • Twenty-Mule Team. Clippings and publicity material - 1940, 1970
  • Box 12:
  • We Went to College. Screenplay co-authored with Maurice Rapf; April 7 - 1936
  • We Went to College. Clippings. Richard Maibaum's first screenplay - 1936
  • Zarak. Screenplay Earlier title: Zarak Khan
  • Zarak. Screenplay with holograph revisions.
  • Series 3: STAGE PROJECTS
  • Box 12:
  • Apennine Grape. Playscript
  • Beyond These Voices. Playscript. Copyright August - 1932
  • Birthright. Playscript. Circa - 1933
  • Birthright. Playscript (photocopy) - 1933
  • Birthright. Clippings, correspondence, and program - 1933
  • Callahan's Courage. Playscript. Based on the short story "The Duel That Was not Fought" by Stephen Crane
  • Catch As Catch Can. Playscript with holograph revisions and song lyrics.
  • The Darkling Plain. Playscript
  • Flesh of the Earth. Playscript (photocopy)
  • Box 13:
  • Fool's Mate. Playscript, co-authored with Alan Gould. Copyright - 1934
  • The Glory Path. Playscript
  • The Hot Pillow. Playscript. Copyright - 1950
  • A Lesson in Biology. Playscript. Based upon the story by Pearl S. Buck
  • The Lonely Man. Notes
  • The Lonely Man. Playscript with holograph revisions. Earlier title: Silent Journey: A Play of Calvin Coolidge
  • Middletown Mural. Correspondence regarding play. May 6-9 - 1940
  • Middletown Mural. Playscript - 1939
  • Middletown Mural. Master Prompt Script (2 folders)
  • Middletown Mural. Photographs of play in numbered sequence (some numbers are missing) - 1940
  • Middletown Mural. Clippings and program - 1940
  • A Moral Entertainment. Playscript - 1933
  • Box 14:
  • A Moral Entertainment. Photographs of play in numbered sequence (some numbers missing) - 1938
  • A Moral Entertainment. Clippings, reviews, program - 1936-1938
  • The Paradise Question. Playscript co-authored with Walter Hart
  • The Paradise Question. Clippings - 1953
  • See My Lawyer. Playscript. Earlier title: I Want a Lawyer
  • See My Lawyer. Playscript co-authored with Harry Clark (photocopy of published version) 2 folders - 1939
  • See My Lawyer. Programs and clippings - 1939, 1979
  • Singing Acres. Playscript with 4 original set photos (photocopy). Copyright - 1933
  • Singing Acres. Addendum
  • Something for Art. Playscript with holograph revisions.
  • Sweet Mystery of Life. Playscript co-authored with George Haight and Michael Wallach (photocopy) (two copies) - 1934
  • Box 15:
  • Sword in the Scales. Playscript with production notes. Was performed at National Speech Association Convention, at University of Iowa. Copyright - 1931
  • This Strange Reality. Playscript (photocopy). Copyright June - 1931
  • The Tree. Playscript with production notes. (Maibaum's master's thesis while at the University of Iowa. Copyright November - 1931
  • The Tree. Illustration (2 copies)
  • Triumph. Playscript (photocopy). Copyright March - 1931
  • Trueblue Tommie, or The Backbone (Head) of the Nation. Playscript
  • Wanted: A Deluge; a Political Fantasy. Playscript co-authored with Michael Wallach (photocopy). Copyright January - 1934
  • Words Like Forever. Playscript (photocopy). Copyright Sylvia Maibaum - 1991
  • Young As We Are: a Comedy. Playscript co-authored with Harry Kleinaer (photocopy)
  • Zing Went the Strings. Synopsis for a musical stage production.
  • Series 4: TELEVISION PROJECTS
  • Box 15:
  • Amigo. Prospectus and TV pilot script.
  • Clark Sellers (became Crime Laboratory). Proposal for television series together with storyline notes.
  • Box 16:
  • Clark Sellers. Early draft for pilot episode.
  • Clark Sellers. Teleplay. Pilot episode.
  • Combat! "The Medal"; teleplay of an episode of TV series. Final draft. November 20 - 1962
  • Footsteps of Freedom. Clippings, course material, and correspondence from a class in television script writing taught by Richard Maibaum at the University of Iowa. Including letters from H. Clay Harshbarger, Virgil M. Hancher, and E.C. Mabie - 1953-1954
  • Galaxy. Presentation for proposed science fiction anthology TV series by Richard Matheson. Based on an idea by Richard Maibaum. Introduction and story texts included - 1965
  • Jarrett. Correspondence. January to March - 1973
  • Jarrett. Notes, diagram, and incomplete treatment and pages of script for the TV pilot Jarrett. Earlier title: Taggart.
  • Jarrett. Short treatment for television pilot. Earlier title: Taggart (2 copies)
  • Jarrett. Teleplay. Early draft. With holograph revisions. Earlier title: Taggert. October 16 - 1972?
  • Jarrett. Teleplay. Revised draft for pilot episode. Earlier draft: Taggart. October 16 - 1972
  • Jarrett. Pilot episode. With holograph revisions. Earlier title: Taggart - 1972
  • Jarrett. Clippings - 1972-1973
  • Kate Smith Evening Hour "Vignettes"; production notes - 1950s
  • "After School": Kate Smith Evening Hour "Vignette." Teleplays. Originally written for the stage (2 copies) - 1950s
  • "The Bravest of the Brave": Kate Smith Evening Hour "Vignette." Teleplay synopsis - 1950s
  • "Champagne for Two": Kate Smith Evening Hour "Vignette." Teleplays with holograph revisions. Originally written for the stage (3 copies) - 1950s
  • "Detached Duty": Kate Smith Evening Hour "Vignette." Teleplays. Originally written for the stage (2 copies) - 1950s
  • "Heart Line": Kate Smith Evening Hour "Vignette." Teleplays. Originally written for the stage (2 copies) - 1950s
  • "The Light Fantastic": Kate Smith Evening Hour "Vignette." Teleplays with holographic revisions. Originally written for the stage. (2 copies) - 1950s
  • "Places, Please!": Kate Smith Evening Hour "Vignette." Teleplay with holograph revisions - 1950s
  • "Routine Procedure": Kate Smith Evening Hour "Vignette." Teleplay - 1950s
  • "The Sentence": Kate Smith Evening Hour "Vignette." Teleplay with holograph revisions - 1950s
  • "Sold to the Lady!": Kate Smith Evening Hour "Vignette." Teleplay with holograph revisions - 1950s
  • "The Vandal": Kate Smith Evening Hour "Vignette." Teleplay - 1950s
  • "We Ain't Popular": Kate Smith Evening Hour "Vignette." Teleplay - 1950s
  • The Man From U.N.C.L.E. Notes and research for new version of TV series - 1975-1976
  • Box 17:
  • S.H.E. I and S.H.E. II: Correspondence - 1977-1978
  • S.H.E. I and S.H.E. II: Ideas and research material - 1977-1978
  • S.H.E. I and S.H.E. II: Notes and sketches of gadgets - 1978-1979
  • S.H.E. I: Notes, revisions - 1977-1978
  • S.H.E. I: Teleplay, first draft with corrections and holograph revisions. December 21 - 1977
  • S.H.E. I: Teleplay, revised draft. December 21 - 1977
  • S.H.E. I: Teleplay with holograph revisions. January 12 - 1978
  • S.H.E. I: Teleplay (photocopy). January 12 - 1978
  • S.H.E. I: Teleplay with holograph revisions. October 19 - 1978
  • S.H.E. I: Teleplay, including extra pages with holograph revisions (photocopy). October 19 - 1978
  • S.H.E. I: Teleplay, revised
  • S.H.E. I: Teleplay, revised (photocopy)
  • Box 18:
  • S.H.E. I: Teleplay, revised (photocopy)
  • S.H.E. I: Teleplay, several incomplete drafts with holograph revisions.
  • S.H.E. I: Screenplay, Italian language version
  • S.H.E. I: Clippings, 1978-1980
  • S.H.E. II: Synopsis (September) and Treatment (October) - 1978
  • S.H.E. II: Teleplay. First draft with holograph revisions, notes, and sketches. November 26 - 1978 (?)
  • S.H.E. II: Teleplay. First draft (photocopy). November 26 - 1978 (?)
  • S.H.E. II: Teleplay. First draft, incomplete (photocopy). November 26 - 1978
  • S.H.E. II: Teleplay. Revised first draft. November 26 - 1978
  • S.H.E. II: Teleplays, with revisions (2 photocopies). February 1 - 1979
  • Box 19:
  • S.H.E. II: Teleplay with holograph revisions.
  • S.H.E. II: Teleplay; draft with holograph revisions and notes. May - 1979
  • S.H.E. II: Teleplay; miscellaneous pages with holograph revisions
  • See Mike Kramer. Proposal for television series
  • See Mike Kramer. Prospective and teleplay for an hour-length television series, with additional storyline proposals.
  • See Mike Kramer. Teleplay of pilot episode, with holograph revisions.
  • See Mike Kramer. Teleplay of pilot episode (2 copies)
  • See Mike Kramer. Teleplay of pilot episode, Operation Kicks
  • Stagg's Way. Synopsis and format
  • Stagg's Way. Treatment for a one-hour television pilot, with holograph revisions.
  • Stagg's Way. Treatment for a television pilot, with holograph revisions. Earlier title: Stagg's Bag
  • Stagg's Way: Beauty was a Beast. Teleplay for a one-hour television pilot (2 copies). October 15 - 1971
  • Stagg's Way. Teleplay for a one-hour television pilot, October 27 - 1971
  • Series 5: JAMES BOND PROJECTS
  • Box 19:
  • Diamonds Are Forever. Synopsis together with notes and diagrams, June-December - 1970
  • Diamonds Are Forever. Screenplay, typescript carbon. September 11 - 1970
  • Box 20:
  • Diamonds Are Forever. Screenplay. Co-authored with Tom Manuiewicz. Revised first draft.
  • Diamonds Are Forever. Screenplay co-authored with Tom Manuiewicz. Revised shooting script. March 26 - 1971
  • Diamonds Are Forever. Clippings, reviews - 1971-1972
  • Dr. No. Film treatment co-authored with Wolf Mankowitz. September 7 - 1961
  • Dr. No. Film treatment co-authored with Wolf Mankowitz. September 25 - 1961
  • Dr. No. Screenplay co-authored with Wolf Mankowitz, photocopy with revisions. October 3 - 1961
  • Dr. No. Screenplay co-authored with Wolf Mankowitz and J. M. Harwood. Fifth draft. January 8 - 1962
  • Dr. No. Clippings, reviews - 1962, 1985
  • For Your Eyes Only. Correspondence regarding screenplay credit for Michael G. Wilson. September -March - 1980-1981
  • For Your Eyes Only. Notes and diagrams for spy ship in film
  • For Your Eyes Only. Screen treatments. Various drafts with holograph revisions. February 25 - 1980
  • For Your Eyes Only. Screen treatment with holograph revisions. March 7 - 1980
  • For Your Eyes Only. Screen treatment with holograph revisions. March 10 - 1980
  • For Your Eyes Only. Screen treatment co-authored with Michael G. Wilson March 25 - 1980
  • For Your Eyes Only. Screen treatment co-authored with Michael G. Wilson. April 7 - 1980
  • Box 21:
  • For Your Eyes Only. Screen treatment co-authored with Michael Wilson. April 14 - 1980
  • For Your Eyes Only. Screen treatment with holograph corrections and revisions.
  • For Your Eyes Only. Screenplay, first draft with holograph revisions. May 26 - 1980
  • For Your Eyes Only. Screenplay co-authored with Michael G. Wilson, with holograph revisions. June-July - 1980
  • For Your Eyes Only. Screenplay co-authored with Michael G. Wilson. Miscellaneous pages with holograph revisions. (2 folders) June-July - 1980
  • For Your Eyes Only. Screenplay co-authored with Michael G. Wilson. Incomplete draft with holograph revisions. July - 1980
  • Box 22:
  • For Your Eyes Only. Screenplay co-authored with Michael G. Wilson. Miscellaneous pages with holograph notes and revisions. July - 1980
  • For Your Eyes Only. Screenplay co-authored with Michael G. Wilson. August 12 - 1980
  • For Your Eyes Only. Screenplay co-authored with Michael G. Wilson (photocopy). August 12 - 1980
  • For Your Eyes Only. Screenplay co-authored with Michael G. Wilson. Final draft with holograph revisions. August 15 - 1980
  • For Your Eyes Only. Clippings, together with premiere tickets - 1980-1982
  • From Russia With Love. Treatments. Incomplete drafts together with notes. January 28 - 1963
  • From Russia With Love. Screenplay. International version export script. Includes film running data and cost list.
  • From Russia With Love. Clippings, publicity and photograph of queue outside London theater - 1964, 198?
  • Goldfinger. Correspondence together with notes - 1962-1964
  • Goldfinger. Screen treatments with holograph corrections and revisions. (2 copies). May 19 - 1963
  • Box 23:
  • Goldfinger. Treatment. July 8 - 1963
  • Goldfinger. Screenplay. First draft with holograph corrections and revisions.
  • Goldfinger. Screenplay. December 23 - 1963
  • Goldfinger. Mounted map of golf course (on trivet). The Wentworth Club, near London.
  • Goldfinger. Clippings - 1964, 198?
  • Licence to Kill. Research (including research for abandoned storyline?) - 1987
  • Licence to Kill. Treatment. Co-authored with Michael G. Wilson, titled "Bond XV" (abandoned storyline?). November 8 - 1985
  • Licence to Kill. Treatments with corrections and holograph revisions. (Abandoned storyline?) Earlier title: Bond XV
  • Licence to Kill. Treatments with corrections and holograph revisions. (Abandoned storyline?). Earlier title: Bond XV
  • Licence to Kill. Treatments with holograph revisions. (Abandoned storyline?) Earlier title: Bond XV
  • Licence to Kill. Treatments. (Abandoned storylines?) (2 copies)
  • Licence to Kill. Treatment co-authored with Michael G. Wilson with holograph revisions. January 19 - 1988
  • Licence to Kill. Treatments co-authored with Michael G. Wilson with revisions and captioned story boards. Earlier title: Bond XVI. February 12 - 1988
  • Box 24:
  • Licence to Kill. Screenplay co-authored with Michael G. Wilson. Earlier title: License Revoked. May 5, June 23-July 19 - 1988
  • License to Kill. Los Angeles premiere and tribute to Cubby Broccoli: correspondence, tickets, drafts and copy of City Proclamation to Broccoli. April-July - 1989
  • Licence to Kill. Clippings and publicity material - 1989
  • The Living Daylights. Research material, including: Russian proverbs (Xeroxed); "Pakistan Under Pressure", article in National Geographic (Xerox); newspaper clippings (Iranian arms) - 1981-1985
  • The Living Daylights. Film treatment, co-authored with Michael G. Wilson, with holograph revisions. January 23 - 1986
  • The Living Daylights. Film treatment, co-authored with Michael G. Wilson, with holograph revisions. January 31 - 1986
  • The Living Daylights. Film treatment, co-authored with Michael G. Wilson. February 10 - 1986
  • The Living Daylights. Film treatment
  • The Living Daylights. Film treatment
  • The Living Daylights. Treatments, incomplete with holograph notes and revisions
  • The Living Daylights. Screenplay co-authored with Michael G. Wilson, with holograph revisions. April 11 - 1986
  • Box 25:
  • The Living Daylights. Screenplay co-authored with Michael G. Wilson. April 25 - 1986
  • The Living Daylights. Screenplay co-authored with Michael G. Wilson. April 28 - 1986
  • The Living Daylights. Screenplay co-authored with Michael G. Wilson. May 16 - 1986
  • The Living Daylights. Screenplay co-authored with Michael G. Wilson, with holograph revisions. May - 1986
  • The Living Daylights. Screenplay, with revisions. February - September - 1986
  • The Living Daylights. Storyboards. March 7 - 1986
  • The Living Daylights. Test scene, using scene from On Her Majesty's Secret Service - 1986
  • The Living Daylights. Photographs of location shots
  • The Living Daylights. Shooting schedule, August 28; based on May 22 - 1986
  • The Living Daylights. One-line schedule from return to studio. November 23 - 1986
  • The Living Daylights. London Charity premiere, The Prince's Trust. Clippings, correspondence, tickets, publicity material - 1987
  • The Living Daylights. Clippings, reviews, ads, magazine articles, publicity material - 1987
  • Box 26:
  • The Living Daylights. Clippings, reviews, ads from newspapers - 1986-1988
  • The Man with the Golden Gun. Notes and sketches
  • The Man with the Golden Gun. Film treatment. November 12 - 1973
  • The Man with the Golden Gun. Screenplay, incomplete draft. November 26 - 1973
  • The Man with the Golden Gun. Screenplays. Miscellaneous pages with holograph notes and revisions. (2 folders) - 1973
  • The Man with the Golden Gun. Screenplay, incomplete draft. ["First draft screenplay (B)"]. January 7 - 1974
  • The Man with the Golden Gun. Screenplay. ["First draft screenplay "C"]. January 7 - 1974
  • The Man with the Golden Gun. Screenplay. ["Rewritten first draft"]. January 7 - 1974
  • The Man with the Golden Gun. Screenplay, incomplete draft. ["Final draft?"] April 15 - 1974
  • The Man with the Golden Gun. Screenplay, with holograph revisions.
  • Box 27:
  • The Man with the Golden Gun. Screenplay. Miscellaneous pages with holograph revisions. 2 folders.
  • The Man with the Golden Gun. Photographs (2)
  • The Man with the Golden Gun. Clippings, publicity material - 1974
  • Moonraker. Clipping [Not a Maibaum project] - 1979
  • Never Say Never Again. Notes and clippings [Not a Maibaum project] - 1983
  • Octopussy. Research material and notes - 1980-1981
  • Octopussy. Screenplay treatment, co-authored with Michael G. Wilson. September 3 - 1981
  • Octopussy. Treatment co-authored with Michael G. Wilson. September 30 - 1981
  • Octopussy. Treatment pages with holograph revisions
  • Octopussy. Screenplay co-authored with Michael G. Wilson. Based on a draft screenplay by George MacDonald Fraser. June 10 - 1982
  • Octopussy. Screenplay co-authored with Michael G. Wilson. Based on a draft screenplay by George MacDonald Fraser. Incomplete draft with holograph revisions
  • Octopussy. Screenplay. Revisions of Maibaum script by others. August - 1982
  • Octopussy. Location photographs, including some composites (several separate photos--when pieced together make up one scene)
  • Octopussy. Clippings together with correspondence - 1983, 1984
  • On Her Majesty's Secret Service. Treatment, with notes and research material. April - 1957
  • Box 28:
  • On Her Majesty's Secret Service. Treatment. Incomplete draft with revisions. June - 1968
  • On Her Majesty's Secret Service. Treatment
  • On Her Majesty's Secret Service. Screenplay. (2 folders) March 29 - 1966
  • On Her Majesty's Secret Service. Screenplay. ["First draft"]
  • On Her Majesty's Secret Service. Screenplay ["Second draft"] - 1967
  • On Her Majesty's Secret Service. Screenplay [Second draft?]
  • On Her Majesty's Secret Service. Screenplays. Miscellaneous revision pages. July - 1968
  • On Her Majesty's Secret Service. Screenplay. June-August - 1968
  • On Her Majesty's Secret Service. Screenplay. Miscellaneous revision pages together with postcards and a final treatment. June-August - 1968
  • On Her Majesty's Secret Service. Screenplay. August - 1968
  • On Her Majesty's Secret Service. Screenplays. Incomplete drafts with holograph revisions.
  • Box 29:
  • On Her Majesty's Secret Service. Screenplay. Shooting script with holograph revisions. September 5 - 1968
  • On Her Majesty's Secret Service. Test scenes - 1968
  • On Her Majesty's Secret Service. Clippings - 1968-1969
  • The Spy Who Loved Me. Correspondence, notes, and research - 1975-1976
  • The Spy Who Loved Me. Treatment. ["First treatment']. August 1-3 - 1975
  • The Spy Who Loved Me. Treatment, with holograph revisions. August 4 - 1975
  • The Spy Who Loved Me. Treatment. August 20 - 1975
  • The Spy Who Loved Me. Treatment (2 copies)
  • The Spy Who Loved Me. Treatments. Miscellaneous pages with holograph revisions.
  • The Spy Who Loved Me. Screenplay. November 5 - 1975
  • The Spy Who Loved Me. Screenplay (photocopy). November 5 - 1975
  • Box 30:
  • The Spy Who Loved Me. Screenplay. January 8 - 1976
  • The Spy Who Loved Me. Screenplay (photocopy). January 8 - 1976
  • The Spy Who Loved Me. Screenplay synopsis. February 12 - 1976
  • The Spy Who Loved Me. Screenplay. February 27 - 1976
  • The Spy Who Loved Me. Screenplay, with holograph revisions. February 27 - 1976
  • The Spy Who Loved Me. Screenplay by Christopher Wood. First draft. April 22 - 1976
  • The Spy Who Loved Me. Screenplay, with holograph revisions.
  • The Spy Who Loved Me. Screenplay. Incomplete, with holograph revisions.
  • The Spy Who Loved Me. Screenplay. Shooting script. June 15 - 1976
  • Box 31:
  • The Spy Who Loved Me. Clippings, ads, publicity material - 1976-1978
  • Thunderball. Correspondence, notes, and treatment - 1965
  • Thunderball. Various early drafts, with holograph revisions.
  • Thunderball. Screenplay. First draft.
  • Thunderball. Screenplay
  • A View to a Kill. Richard Maibaum's contract with Warfield Productions, Inc. and correspondence - 1983-1986
  • A View to a Kill. Research material and notes for film - 1982-1983
  • A View to a Kill. Treatment. October 26 - 1983
  • A View to a Kill. Treatment co-authored with Michael G. Wilson. December 15 - 1983
  • A View to a Kill. Treatment co-authored with Michael G. Wilson. Incomplete, with holograph revisions - 1983
  • A View to a Kill. Treatments. Incomplete - 1983-1984
  • A View to a Kill. Treatment co-authored with Michael G. Wilson, with holograph revisions. January 16 - 1984
  • Box 32:
  • A View to a Kill. Treatment co-authored with Michael G. Wilson, together with a news clipping (2 copies). February 14 - 1984
  • A View to a Kill. Treatments. Miscellaneous revision pages. With input by director John Glen. January - February - 1984
  • A View to a Kill. Treatment co-authored with Michael G. Wilson. With holograph revisions (2 copies). March 3 - 1984
  • A View to a Kill. Treatment co-authored with Michael G. Wilson. With holograph revisions and notes (2 copies). March 16 - 1984
  • A View to a Kill. Treatment co-authored with Michael G. Wilson. March 30 - 1984
  • A View to a Kill. Treatment co-authored with Michael G. Wilson. April 5 - 1984
  • A View to a Kill. Treatment. Early draft
  • A View to a Kill. Treatment, with holograph revisions and corrections
  • A View to a Kill. Treatments. Incomplete, with holograph revisions
  • A View to a Kill. Treatments. Miscellaneous pages with holograph revisions
  • A View to a Kill. Treatments. Miscellaneous pages with holograph revisions. Co-authored with Michael G. Wilson
  • Box 33:
  • A View to a Kill. Screenplay, incomplete. May 1 - 1984
  • A View to a Kill. Screenplay, incomplete. May 23 - 1984
  • A View to a Kill. Screenplay. Incomplete drafts with holograph revisions. May - 1984
  • A View to a Kill. Screenplay, co-authored with Michael G. Wilson. June 8 - 1984
  • A View to a Kill. Screenplay, co-authored with Michael G. Wilson. June 20 - 1984
  • A View to a Kill. Screenplays. Incomplete drafts with holograph revisions. 2 folders
  • A View to a Kill. Screenplay, incomplete
  • A View to a Kill. Location photos
  • Box 34:
  • A View to a Kill. Publicity material, including press kit with movie stills (2) - 1985
  • A View to a Kill. Premieres and special screenings, together with correspondence - 1985
  • A View to a Kill. Clippings of reviews, ads, box office reports, and interviews publicity events - 1985
  • "Cheers, OO7!". Article by Richard Maibaum in the Hollywood Reporter, July 14 - 1987
  • James Bond films (general): clippings, articles, reviews - 1965-1990
  • James Bond films: Commentary articles by critic Richard Grenier and reply by Richard Maibaum (in letter to editor) with correspondence (letters and drafts). June - October - 1981
  • "Deus ex Machina, 1965 Model." Article by Richard Maibaum. Typescript with holograph revisions, together with correspondence. April - 1968
  • "James Bond and His Girls". Article by Richard Maibaum; incomplete typescript. August 3 - 1965
  • "James Bond films". James Bond article by Richard Maibaum. Untitled typescript
  • "No Title, or, 007's Secret weapon." Article by Richard Maibaum; typescript. July 26 - 1965
  • James Bond films: Gadgets from the James Bond films; typescript list with holograph notes.
  • James Bond Projects. Music, James Bond Songbook
  • A View to a Kill. Music: 45rpm record
  • James Bond 25th Anniversary material: magazine articles, clippings, schedules, and notices of film screenings, with correspondence - 1987
  • James Bond films: Photographs
  • Premiere (magazine) contract together with holograph notes for a proposed article. March 15 - 1989
  • James Bond films: research material, storyline ideas
  • Series 6: TECHNICAL AND HISTORICAL RESEARCH DATA
  • Box 34:
  • Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco information packet, with literature - 1984-1987
  • Material on specific works or projects - 1977-1985
  • Military and Defense material, brochures, articles, and sketches - 1973-1987
  • Box 35:
  • Monographs on military and defense subjects, including Northrop aircraft - 1984-1987
  • Military and Defense research data; newspaper clippings - 1979-1988
  • Technical and Historical Research Data: newspaper clippings - 1965-1979
  • Technical and Historical Research Data: newspaper clippings - 1980-1981
  • Technical and Historical Research Data: newspaper clippings - 1982
  • Technical and Historical Research Data: newspaper clippings - 1983
  • Box 36:
  • Technical and Historical Research Data: newspaper clippings - 1984-1985
  • Technical and Historical Research Data: newspaper clippings - 1986-1988
  • Technical and Historical Research Data: newspaper clippings, undated
  • Technical and Historical Research Data: notes, sketches, articles, magazine clippings - 1960-1977
  • Technical and Historical Research Data: notes, sketches, articles, magazine clippings - 1978-1981
  • Technical and Historical Research Data: notes, sketches, articles, magazine clippings - 1982-1988
  • Technical and Historical Research Data: notes, sketches, articles, magazine clippings, undated
  • Nuclear Survival information - 1958-1963
  • Reconstruction: the Battle for Democracy (monograph)
  • Series 7: DEFENSE STUDIES
  • Box 37:
  • Aircraft: Part 1: Israeli, British Empire: photocopies, scale model kit pictures and instructions; dated to - 1945
  • Aircraft: Part 2: British Empire, Russian, United States: photocopies, scale model kit pictures and instructions - 1945-
  • Aircraft: Part 3: United States, French, Italian, Oriental, Czech, misc.: photocopies, scale model kit pictures and instructions - 1941-1945; 1918-1941; 1903-1918
  • Armor, Artillery and Missiles: Part 1: Armor, United States, Britain: photocopies, articles and scale model kit pictures and instructions
  • Box 38:
  • Armor, Artillery and Missiles: Part 2: Armor Israeli: photocopies, articles and scale model kit pictures and instructions.
  • Civilian Vehicles: Mustangs, Aston Martins and Sunbeams: photocopies, scale model kit pictures and instructions
  • Ships and Boats: Israeli, United States, United Kingdom, Russian, Comparative/Historical, Small row boars, Commando boats: newspaper clippings, scale model kit pictures and instructions and pencil sketches.
  • Series 8: ADDENDA
  • Sub-Series: Additional Scripts
  • Box 39:
  • Apennine Grape: A Play About Coming Home in two acts by Richard Maibaum (photocopy)
  • Bad Man of Brimstone. Screenplay
  • Beyond These Voices. A Play in Twelve Interludes by Richard Maibaum. Playscript. August - 1932
  • Birthright by Richard Maibaum. Playscript (photocopy) - 1933
  • Lost Acres. A play of the farm rebellion in three acts by Richard Maibaum. Playscript. May - 1933
  • Middleton Mural. A comedy-drama in three acts by Richard Maibaum. Playscript (photocopy). First produced at the University of Iowa - 1939
  • A Moral Entertainment. A play in five parts by Richard Maibaum. Playscript. October - 1934
  • A Moral Entertainment. A play in five parts by Richard Maibaum. Playscript (photocopy). October
  • The Paradise Question. A Comedy by Walter Hart and Richard Maibaum
  • Box 40:
  • Ransom. A Drama in Three Acts by Cyril Hume and Richard Maibaum. [Original title: The Davie Decision]
  • See My Lawyer. A Comedy in Three Acts by Richard Maibaum and Harry Clork - 1939
  • Short Plays
  • "Callahan's Courage"
  • "Trueblood Tommie"
  • "Something for Art"
  • "Catch as Catch Can"
  • "After School"
  • "Heart Line"
  • "The Light Fantastic"
  • "Detached Duty"
  • "Champagne for Two"
  • Singing Acres. Playscript. MISSING
  • Sweet Mystery of Life. Playscript co-authored with George Haight and Michael Wallach (photocopy)
  • Sword in the Scales. Playscript (photocopy). Copyright August - 1931
  • Box 40a:
  • Short Plays collection (photocopies)
  • Short Plays collection (photocopies)
  • Box 41:
  • The Tree. Reviews (photocopies)
  • The Tree. Playscript. Copyright - 1931; 1991
  • The Tree. Playscript (bound photocopy). Copyright - 1931; 1991
  • Sub-Series: Scale Models
  • Box 42:
  • Black bound copies of "Moving Parts: The Richard Maibaum Films Vehicle Miniatures Collection", guides to the model collection including general notes, list of films and the items associated with each film and background information on each model (4 copies)
  • Box 43:
  • 108+ boxes containing models used in the movies and research. These are in no particular order.
    In Room 3051
  • Sub-Series: 2000 Addendum
  • Box 44:
  • "Moving Parts: The Richard Maibaum Films Vehicle Miniatures Collection"; guides to the model collection including general notes, list of films, and the items associated with each film and background information on each model. First edition (2 copies) - 1975
  • "Moving Parts", third edition - 1989
  • "Moving Parts" bound sixth edition. December - 1995
  • "Moving Parts" bound ninth edition - 1999
  • Box 45:
  • Diamonds Are Forever. Correspondence and contracts - 1969-1971
  • Diamonds Are Forever. Various drafts of synopsis and film treatment with miscellaneous pages.
  • Man With the Golden Gun. Location scouts
  • On Her Majesty's Secret Service. Preliminary notes, treatments, and postcards
  • Thunderball. Research and notes.
  • A View To Kill. Storyboards - 1984
    Oversized Box
  • Poster: Licence to Kill
    Map Case
  • Poster: The Living Daylights
    Map Case
  • Watercolor of a story board
    Map Case
  • Sub-Series: 2003 Addendum
  • Box 46:
  • Miscellaneous research. Volume 3 of Richard Maibaum film miniatures collection and guide (unbound). Combined second and fourth editions.
  • Photograph of house at 848 Manning Avenue, Los Angeles, where Maibaum, between 1946 and 1952, wrote OSS, The Great Gatsby, and The Big Clock. Gift of Matthew Maibaum.
  • Series 9: ASSOCIATION PAPERS
  • Box 47:
  • Miscellaneous Research. Volume 2. December - 2004
    On shelf following collection
  • Miscellaneous Research. Supplement to the Richard Maibaum Films Miniatures Collection. Second (Revised) Version. December - 2002
  • The Published Stage Plays of Richard Maibaum. Second edition.
    On shelf following collection
  • Box 48:
  • Songs and lyrics (2 folders, with smaller folder in Box 49)
  • Musical composition book and letter: Bernard Whitefield
  • Musical compositions: Bernard Whitefield
  • The Olive Grove. Typescript with holograph revisions; by Richard Maibaum. 9 scenes of 22; date unknown.
  • The Olive Grove. Typescript, including cast conceptions and scenes (photocopy)
  • The Olive Grove. Revised second version (photocopy). November - 1990
  • Box 49:
  • "If You Were Ice Cream" by Matthew Maibaum (musical score)
  • Sylvia Maibaum, correspondence
  • Sylvia Maibaum, general education (2 folders)
  • Sylvia Maibaum, musical education (3 folders)
  • Songs and lyrics (2 folders, with large folder in Box 48)
  • Sylvia Maibaum's father's recipes for mixing gold and silver

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Dates:
20th century

Topics:
American drama
Television programs
Vehicles

Occupations:
Motion picture actors and actresses
Screenwriters
Television writers

Genre/Form of Materials:
Articles
Articles
Clippings (Information artifacts)
Clippings (Information artifacts)
Correspondence
James Bond films
Motion pictures
Motion pictures
Motion pictures
Motion pictures
Motion pictures
Notes
Photographs
Photographs
Posters
Screenplays
Screenplays
Screenplays
Storyboards

Title:
Amazing Mr. Williams (Motion picture)
Bad man of Brimstone (Motion picture)
Bandit of Zhobe (Motion picture)
Battle of bloody beach (Motion picture)
Big clock (Motion picture)
Bigger than life (Motion picture)
Birthright (Play)
Bride of vengeance (Motion picture)
Captain Carey, U.S.A. (Motion picture)
Chitty chitty bang bang (Motion picture)
Coast guard (Motion picture)
Cockleshell heroes (Motion picture)
Day they robbed the bank of England (Motion picture)
Dear wife (Motion picture)
Diamonds are forever (Motion picture)
Dr. No (Motion picture)
For your eyes only (Motion picture)
From Russia with love (Motion picture)
Gemini contender
Ghost comes home (Motion picture)
Goldfinger (Motion picture)
Great Gatsby (Motion picture)
Hell below zero (Motion picture)
Hold back the dawn (Motion picture)
I wanted wings (Motion picture)
Jarrett (Television program)
Kate Smith evening hour (Television program)
Killers of Kilimanjaro (Motion picture)
Lady and the mob (Motion picture)
Licence to kill (Motion picture)
Live, love and learn (Motion picture)
Living daylights (Motion picture)
Man with the golden gun (Motion picture)
Middletown mural (Play)
Moral entertainment (Play)
No man of her own (Motion picture)
O.S.S. (Motion picture)
Octopussy (Motion picture)
On her majesty's secret service (Motion picture))
Ransom (Motion picture)
Red beret (Motion picture)
S.H.E. (Television program)
Sainted sisters (Motion picture)
See my lawyer (Play)
Song of surrender (Motion picture)
Spy who loved me (Motion picture)
Stablemates (Motion picture)
Tank force (Motion picture)
Ten gentlemen from West Point (Motion picture)
Their neighbor's wife (Motion picture)
They gave him a gun (Motion picture)
Thunderball (Motion picture)
Tree (Play)
Twenty mule team (Motion picture)
View to a kill (Motion picture)
We went to college (Motion picture)
Zarak (Motion picture)

Browse:
Film & Television Writing and Directing
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Dramatists, Playwrights, & Scriptwriters for Television & Screen
Study of Theatre Arts and Popular Culture