Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Ben F. Jensen Papers

Collection Overview
Date Span:1939-1964
Creator:Jensen, Ben F. (1892-1970)
Extent:13.00 linear feet.
Collection Number:MSC0147
Repository:University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary:U.S. Representative from Iowa. Correspondence, subject files, legislative records, and speeches relating to his career in the Congress.

Ben Jensen, born in Marion, Iowa, on December 16, 1892, was the tenth of thirteen children born to Danish parents. He adopted the name Benton Franklin when he was ten years old, after studying history. He used that name for the rest of his life. A veteran of World War I, Jensen was the manager of the Green Bay Lumber Company in Exira, Iowa, for twenty-four years. A conservative Republican, Jensen was elected to thirteen consecutive terms as Iowa's seventh district Congressman (1939-1965). He was chairman of the House Appropriations Committee and was known for his interest in conserving the country's natural resources. His last bid for re-election to the Eighty-ninth Congress was unsuccessful. Jensen died on February 5, 1970.

The papers of Ben F. Jensen relate primarily to his career in politics. The papers are arranged into five series: Congressional, Political, Speeches, Personal, and Non-Correspondence. Finally, there is an Index to Correspondents and a Subject Index. Each individual item is numbered and an extensive index is included. The congressional series contains correspondence, subject files, and military academy appointments. The political series is made up of correspondence and campaign materials. The speeches include not only his addresses, but also news releases and research material. The personal section consists of correspondence grouped in categories such as family, prominent figures, and office staff. The non-correspondence section contains copies of the Congressional Record. The large subject index refers to topics from: campaigns to elections; communism to civil rights; agriculture to labor laws and legislation; and the New Deal to the Republican Party. Major correspondents include Willard D. Archie, Gerald Bogan, Paul Cunningham, James I. Dolliver, Whitney Gillilland, Robert K. Goodwin, John M. Henry, Bourke B. Hickenlooper, Karl M. LeCompte, Jake More, Fred Schwengel, and Henry O. Talle.
 
Extensive item level subject and author indexes to the collection are available in the repository.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Boxes 14, 15

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The papers of Ben F. Jensen were given to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1967 by Mr. Jensen.

Preferred Citation: Ben F. Jensen Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository:University of Iowa Special Collections
Address:Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone:319-335-5921
Curator:Greg Prickman
Email:lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website:http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/spec-coll/

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.