Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Whiting Settlement (Electric) Transmission Company Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1916-1946
Creator: Whiting Settlement (Electric) Transmission Company
Extent: 1.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0145
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Electrical Power Company. Tax returns, customer receipts, stock certificates and related material.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Herbert Pike in 1960.

Preferred Citation: Whiting Settlement (Electric) Transmission Company Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The Whiting Settlement Transmission Company was a rural Iowa electrical power company operating between 1916 and 1946.

The records of the Whiting Settlement Transmission Company consist of three boxes of financial and other records.

[This is one of two collections which was made up out of the Herbert Pike Papers. (Pike was secretary-treasurer of the Whiting Settlement Transmission Company.) The other is the West Fork Township Record Book, University of Iowa call number folio xMs 751.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Bank Book - 1916
  • Bank Statements & Cancelled Checks - 1923-1946
  • Bills - 1922-1931
  • Box 2:
  • Bills - 1932-1942
  • Box 3:
  • Bills - 1942-1945
  • Bills - 1933-1945
  • Cash Account Book - 1929-1947
  • Check Book - 1946
  • Minute and Ledger Book - 1916-1923
  • Miscellaneous - 1916-1946
  • Receipt Book - 1946
  • Record Books - 1918-1935
  • Share Certificates - 1916-1945
  • Tax Receipts - 1939-1945

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.