Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Farmers' Grain Dealers Association Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1914-1943
Creator: Farmers' Grain Dealers Association
Extent: 31.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0141
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Correspondence and subject files documenting nearly 30 years of this regional grain cooperative.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by the FGDA's Executive Secretary, Don E. Elison, in 1959.

Preferred Citation: Farmers' Grain Dealers Association Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The Farmers' Grain Dealers Association was organized in 1904 as a regional grain marketing cooperative based in Des Moines, Iowa. Its function was to market grain for local country co-op elevators. By the mid-1940s it had acquired a soybean processing plant in Mason City, barge terminals and elevators in Muscatine and McGregor, elevators in Des Moines, and more than 1000 railroad hopper cars. In 1979, FGDA changed its name to American Grain & Related Industries (AGRA).

The records of the Farmers' Grain Dealers Association date from 1914 to 1943. Thirty-one linear feet of business records are stored in sixty-two boxes. The records include files ranging from directory ads spanning fourteen years to freight rate cases, to convention reports from 1914 to 1941, to correspondence. There are also auditors' records, minutes from board meetings, and credit corporation records documenting the organization's operations for a period of over thirty years.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • State Association of Secretaries Correspondence - 1916-1921
  • Grain Dealers Association Correspondence, S -- T
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence U -- V - 1916-1921
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence V -- W - 1916-1921
  • Prospects
  • Box 4:
  • Minutes of Board Meetings - 1923-1943
  • Booking Records and Supplies
  • Box 5:
  • Auditors Records
  • Box 6:
  • Vouchers - 1937
  • Box 7:
  • Vouchers - 1937
  • Box 8:
  • Directory Ads, H -- Z - 1922
  • Directory Ads, A - 1920
  • Box 9:
  • Directory Ads, B -- M - 1920
  • Box 10:
  • Directory Ads, N -- Z - 1920
  • Box 11:
  • Directory Ads, A -- Mc - 1921
  • Box 12:
  • Directory Ads, M -- Z - 1921
  • Directory Ads, A -- G - 1922
  • Box 13:
  • Directory Ads, A -- M - 1931
  • Box 14:
  • Directory Ads, N -- Z - 1931
  • Directory Ads, A -- V - 1932
  • Box 15:
  • Directory Ads, W -- Z - 1932
  • Directory Ads, A - 1933
  • Box 16:
  • Directory Ads, A -- Z - 1933
  • Box 17:
  • Directory Ads - 1934
  • Box 18:
  • Convention - 1929
  • Box 19:
  • Convention - 1930
  • Box 20:
  • Convention - 1931
  • Box 21:
  • Convention - 1932, 1933
  • Box 22:
  • Convention - 1933, 1934
  • Box 23:
  • Convention - 1935
  • Martin Brothers and Company Correspondence
  • Box 24:
  • Martin Brothers and Company Correspondence
  • Box 25:
  • Martin Brothers and Company Correspondence
  • Box 26:
  • Martin Brothers and Company Correspondence
  • Box 27:
  • Martin Brothers and Company Correspondence
  • Box 28:
  • Freight Rate Cases
  • Box 29:
  • Freight Rate Cases
  • Box 30:
  • Freight Rate Cases
  • Box 31:
  • Freight Rate Cases
  • Box 32:
  • Iowa Coop Grain Company Correspondence
  • Freight Rate Cases
  • Box 33:
  • Conventions - 1914, 1915, 1916
  • Box 34:
  • Conventions - 1917, 1918, 1919
  • Box 35:
  • Conventions - 1920, 1921, 1922
  • Conventions - 1923, 1924, 1925
  • Box 36:
  • Conventions - 1926, 1927
  • Box 37:
  • Conventions - 1927, 1928
  • Box 38:
  • Files, Exhibits - 1930, 1931, 1936, 1937
  • Conventions - 1936, 1937
  • Box 39:
  • Conventions - 1937, 1938, 1939
  • Box 40:
  • Conventions - 1939, 1940, 1941
  • Box 41:
  • Directors Files
  • Box 42:
  • Directors Files
  • Box 43:
  • Directors Files
  • Box 44:
  • Directors Files
  • Box 45:
  • Directors Files
  • Farmers National Grain Dealers Association - 1932-1933
  • Box 46:
  • Farmers National Grain Dealers Association - 1931-1933
  • Members Correspondence, Thorne Note
  • Box 47:
  • Farmers National Grain Dealers Association Members Correspondence
  • Box 48:
  • Farmers National Grain Dealers Association Members Correspondence
  • Box 49:
  • Farmers National Grain Dealers Association Members Correspondence
  • Clifford Thorne Correspondence - 1918-1919
  • Box 50:
  • Miscellaneous Associations
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence
  • Box 51:
  • Miscellaneous Associations and Correspondence
  • Box 52:
  • Miscellaneous Associations and Correspondence
  • Box 53:
  • Miscellaneous Associations and Correspondence
  • Box 54:
  • Miscellaneous Associations and Correspondence
  • Box 55:
  • Federation of Iowa Farm Organizations
  • Credit Corporation Records
  • Box 56:
  • Credit Corporation Records
  • Box 57:
  • Credit Corporation Records
  • Box 58:
  • Miscellaneous Record Books, Minutes of annual meetings, Secretary's reports
  • Box 59:
  • Miscellaneous Record Books, Minutes of annual meetings, Executive committee meetings
  • Box 60:
  • Miscellaneous Record Books, Auditor's reports, Minutes of annual meetings
  • Box 61:
  • Miscellaneous Record Books
  • Box 62:
  • Miscellaneous Record Books, History of Organization, Miscellaneous Documents
  • Newspaper Clippings - 1978-1982

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
American Grain & Related Industries

Topics:
Agriculture, Cooperative
Cooperative marketing of farm produce
Grain

Browse:
Businessmen and Businesses