Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Burlington Iowa Chamber of Commerce Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1928-1959
Creator: Burlington Iowa Chamber of Commerce
Extent: 6.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0139
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Records, minutes, correspondence and clippings reflect commercial and civic activities.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Gift of Mr. Frank W. Kamann, Executive Secretary, Chamber of Commerce, Burlington, Iowa.

Preferred Citation: Burlington Iowa Chamber of Commerce Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE FILES
Series 3: SCRAPBOOKS
Series 4: GIFT OF FREDERIC LEOPOLD IN 1959

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Women's Chamber of Commerce Records (2 vol.) - 1929-1935
  • Minutes, Board of Directors (in envelope) - 1934-1937
  • Minutes, Committee (in envelope) - 1936-1938
  • Board of Directors Meetings - 1938-1940
  • Wages Hourly Rate Survey - 1941
  • Chamber of Commerce, '42 Factual Information - 1942
  • Folder on Starker Building - 1942
  • Box 2:
  • Chamber of Commerce, October 12 Factual Information - 1945
  • Chamber of Commerce - 1943
  • Chamber of Commerce - 1943
  • Chamber of Commerce, Factual Information - 1943
  • Chamber of Commerce, Burlington Transportation Company, Civil Aeronautics Board - 1945
  • Chamber of Commerce Industrial Prospectus - 1945
  • Chamber of Commerce, Lt. Robert P. Friesz, Civil Aeronautics Board - 1945
  • Chamber of Commerce Factual Information, January - 1944
  • Chamber of Commerce Factual Information - 1944
  • Chamber of Commerce Factual Information, January - 1945
  • Chamber of Commerce Factual Information - 1945
  • Chamber of Commerce Factual Information - 1945
  • Chamber of Commerce Industrial Department, Factual Information, March - 1946
  • Chamber of Commerce Factual Information - 1946, 1947
  • Chamber of Commerce Industrial Department, Factual Information, January - 1947
  • Chamber of Commerce Factual Information, July - 1948
  • Box 3:
  • Iowa Post War Rehabilitation Committee Records (8 folders)
  • Transportation Committee
  • Municipal Projects Committee
  • Social Welfare Committee
  • Small Business Committee
  • Building Construction Committee
  • Executive Committee
  • Organization
  • Highway Committee Preliminary Report, Iowa Post War Rehabilitation Commission, September 15 - 1944
  • National Defense Day File -- Henry A. Wallace, principal speaker; many T.L.S.
  • Address: "America -- the Mighty," Henry A. Wallace, July 31 - 1941
  • Plans: "National Defense Day"
  • Receipts and Expenses
  • Regrets
  • Letters of Appreciation
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence
  • National Officers
  • Federal Army Officers
  • Iowa Mayors
  • Iowa Chamber of Commerce Secretaries
  • Iowa State Officials
  • Other States -- Officials
  • Iowa Ordinance Plant
  • Out-of-town Invitations
  • Guest Acceptances
  • Out-of-town Reservations
  • Box 4:
  • Dedication of Burlington Municipal Airport - 1943
  • Dedication of Burlington Route Station - 1944
  • Press Book -- Design for Living in 1940 -- Trade Promotion, Retailers Review - 1940
  • Prospectus for Smokeless Powder Plant - 1940
  • Burlington data - 1938
  • Press Book -- Forward Burlington Movement, G.B.A - 1929
  • Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE FILES
  • Box 5:
  • A-K - 1928-1948
  • Box 6:
  • M-T - 1928-1948
  • Box 7:
  • U-Z - 1928-1948
  • Series 3: SCRAPBOOKS
  • Box 7:
  • 13 scrapbooks. (Two of these are shelved in Oversized)
  • Series 4: GIFT OF FREDERIC LEOPOLD IN 1959
  • Box 8:
  • Chamber Records, correspondence, annual reports, minutes, etc., - 1952-1955

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.