Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the John L. Shover Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1933-1965
Creator: Shover, John L.
Extent: .75 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0137
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Historian. Correspondence, reminiscences, clippings, and notes used in connection with the writing of Shover's book, Cornbelt Rebellion; the Farmers' Holiday Association.

Alternate Extent Statement: Audio Material: Box 2 contains reel tapes and cassette tapes

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Gift of John Shover, 1969.

Preferred Citation: John L. Shover Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: TAPE RECORDINGS (7 INCH REEL-TO-REEL TAPES)

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Miscellaneous correspondence between John Shover and participants in the Farmers' Holiday Association. Includes Lester Barlow, Dale Kramer, Lem Harris, John Bosch, Henry A. Wallace, and Eleanor Roosevelt
  • Haugland, Harry. Manuscript (typewritten). Haugland is from Watson, Minnesota, chairman of Tri County Council of Defense, Farmers' Holiday Association
  • Papers
  • Turner, Dan W. Governor of Iowa. Manuscript. Farm Holiday Movement
  • Dahlsten, Andrew. Extract from mss. by Andrew Dahlsten on Madison County Nebraska Plan FHA
  • Brief history of Sioux City Milk Producers Co-op Association
  • Farm Holiday Conventions. Minutes
  • Miscellaneous letters exchanged with Milo Reno regarding Plymouth County, Iowa, situation - 1933
  • Daily diary of Jack Witt, participant in farmers' march on Washington, November-December - 1932
  • Commentaries by Lem Harris and Erik Bert on article by John Shover in Journal of American History (an early draft)
  • Miscellaneous clippings re: Farmers' Holiday and Milo Reno
  • Chambers, Steven. Unpublished honors paper. "Relations Between Leaders of the Iowa and the National Farmers Union Organizations, 1941 to 1950," dated June 3 (Copy of paper is in MsC 165, Papers of Fred Stover) - 1961
  • Copies of radio addresses, correspondence, and other materials pertaining to Farmers' Holiday Association and Milo Reno. (Originals to be found in Reno Papers, MsC 44)
  • Notes
  • Notes taken by John Shover from material in files of Lem Harris, New York City; and Le Mars, Iowa, Globe Post and O'Brien County Iowa Bell
  • Notes of discussion with Lem Harris, July 14, New York City - 1963
  • Series 2: TAPE RECORDINGS (7 INCH REEL-TO-REEL TAPES)
  • Box 2:
  • Lester Barlow (2 tapes)
  • Interview with Mr. and Mrs. W. C. Daniel, March 14, by John Shover at Sioux City, Iowa (1 tape). Also two audio cassette tapes. - 1962
  • Interview of John Shover with Harry Lux, Seattle, Washington, March 1 (2 tapes) - 1962
  • Interview of John Shover with John Bosch and Harry Haugland (2 tapes)
  • Interview with a group of farmers, Newman Grove, Nebraska, March (1 tape). There are two audio cassette tapes of this, as well. (Mr. and Mrs. C. J. Anderson, Karl and Merle Hansen; Notes on Wallace Short's newspaper, Unionist and Public Forum - 1962
  • Interview with Dale Kramer by John Shover, Iowa City, March 22 (1 tape) - 1962
  • Interview by John Shover (and Samuel T. McSeveney) with Chester Davis, San Marino, California, May 18 (1 tape) - 1962
  • Interview with John Witt (side 1) and George Wharam (side 2) by John L. Shover (1 tape)

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.