Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Blackhawk Foundry and Machine Company Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1945-1951
Creator: Blackhawk Foundry and Machine Company
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0135
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Iron casting company in Davenport, Iowa. Includes blueprints, budgets, correspondence, publicity, and photographs.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs Folder 5

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were collected for the University of Iowa Libraries by George Sheets in the late 1950s.

Preferred Citation: Blackhawk Foundry and Machine Company Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The Blackhawk Foundry and Machine Company was founded in 1920 as a division of Voss Manufacturing Company that produced and sold appliances. During WWII the foundry was a supplier for the United States Navy and Air Force. These records are from the years when the Blackhawk Foundry was owned by Walter K. Voss. Ben Butterworth became the owner and President in 1954 and, after his death in 1968, the foundry was purchased by Jim R. Grafton Sr. In 1990 Jim Grafton Jr. became president and in 1998, the owner.

Black Hawk Foundry web page

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Blueprints - 1947
    Comparisons of quarterly average costs for 1947 with handwritten notes.
  • Costs and Overhead Reports, January 1, 1945 - December 31, 1951
  • Letter to Life Magazine, June 17, 1952
    From Walter Voss
  • Pamphlets and Promotional Materials
  • Photographs
    Many of these were used in promotional materials
  • Blackawk Foundry and Machine Company panoramic
    undated
  • Work Yard
    undated
  • Photographs
    Many of these were used in promotional materials
  • Pouring aluminum into mods
    undated
  • Core room and four core blowers
    undated
  • Four photos in a series, one core blower working
    undated
  • Wide view of employees working
    undated
  • Wide view of gray iron molds and pouring
    undated
  • Wood and plate pattern facilities
    Includes employees Clarence Rice, Loyd Reed, William Buese, Paul Johnson, Al Ericksen, and Al Lootens. Undated
  • Large mold with employees Roy Carepnter and Watkins
    undated
  • Cutting machine with employee Joe Beuneur
    undated
  • Cleaning castings with employee Claude Means
    undated
  • Employee cleaning and finishing castings, January - 1948
  • Laboratory, January - 1948
  • Core baking ovens with employee, January - 1948
  • Lowering castings into the Linberg heat treat furnace, with employee
    undated
  • Tensile strength testing machine, January - 1948
  • X-ray testing machine
    undated
  • Employee sandblasting casts
    undated
  • Overhead sand hoppers (?), with employee
    undated
  • Dumping of waste off casts, with employee
    undated
  • Wide view of machines
    undated
  • Wide view of aluminum foundry
    undated
  • Closeup of core ready for the ovens
    undated
  • Large casting machine, with employees John McCartney, Jim Watkins, Ray Hemingsen, and Ray Bang
    undated
  • Core maker, Paul Templin
    undated
  • Final check, Al Ericksen
    undated
  • Casts and Molds
    Nineteen undated items
  • Speech and Miscellaneous

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Voss, Walter K.

Corporate Names:
Blackhawk Foundry and Machine Company (Davenport, Iowa)

Topics:
Foundries

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Administrative records
Archives
Blueprints (Reprographic copies)
Budgets
Correspondence
Photographs