Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Ralph Smith Grange Materials

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1872-1934
Creator: Smith, Ralph
Extent: 1.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0133
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Includes minute books, correspondence, and other records.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 1; Electronic material: CD-ROM Box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1975 by Ralph Smith.

Preferred Citation: Ralph Smith Grange Materials, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Iowa State Grange. Roster / Iowa State Grange, Patrons of Husbandry. [Iowa] : The Grange.

SPEC XCOL HD1485.I66 I68

Iowa State Grange. Journal of Proceedings. [s. l.]

SPEC XCOL HD1485.I66 I6

National Grange. Declaration of Purposes ; Constitution and By-Laws of the National Grange ; By-laws of the Iowa State Grange and Blank Forms of By-Laws for Subordinate Granges / Patrons of Husbandry. Malvern, Iowa : Malvern Leader [19--?]

SPEC XCOL HD1485.P3 A3 1900

Woods, Thomas A. Knights of the Plow : Oliver H. Kelley and the Origins of the Grange in Republican Ideology. Ames : Iowa State University Press, 1991.

MAIN LIB HD1485.P5 W66 1991

Schwieder, Dorothy, 1933- comp. Patterns and Perspectives in Iowa History. Ames : Iowa State University Press, 1973.

MAIN LIB F621.5 .S38

Smith, Ralph William, 1888-. Newton No. 1, The Second Working Grange in the United States and the First in Iowa, and the Early Grange Movement in Some Iowa Counties [Newton, Iowa, 1967]

SPEC IOWA AUTHORS

Oostendorp, John Anthony. The Cooperative Movement in the Patrons of Husbandry, in Iowa. 1870 -- 1878. 1949.

MAIN THESIS T1949 .O59

Throne, Mildred. The Grange in Iowa, 1868 -- 1875. Iowa City, Iowa : State Historical Society, [1949?] SPEC IOWA AUTHOR

Smith, Ralph W. (Ralph William), 1888-. The History of the Iowa State Grange, Patrons of Husbandry, from 1868 to 1946 . [Manchester, Iowa State Grange, 1946]

SPEC IOWA AUTHORS

Buehler, Lillian Marie. Agrarian Discontent in Iowa, 1866 -- 1876. 1935.

MAIN THESIS T1935 .B92

White Pigeon Grange No. 2040, Cedar County, Iowa. Minutes, 1908 -- 1913. [Microform]

SPEC REF Film 8610

National Grange. Constitutions of the Patrons of Husbandry: Issued by the National Grange, and the Iowa State Grange. Des Moines, Iowa : Carter, Hussey & Curl, steam printers, 1873.

SPEC XCOL HD1485.P3 A3

National Grange. Constitutions of the Patrons of Husbandry, Issued by the National Grange, and the Iowa State Grange. Des Moines : State Journal Steam Print, 1873.

SPEC XCOL HD1485.P3 A3 1873a

White Pigeon Grange No. 58, Cedar County, Iowa. Secretary's Book, 1871 -- 1877. [Microform] 1871 -- 1877.

SPEC REF Film 8411

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Application for Membership in the Beneficiary Department of the Iowa State Grange - 1878
  • Clear Creek Grange (Jasper County, Iowa) records - 1872-1879
  • Confidential circular - 1873
  • Constitution of the Patrons of Husbandry - 1873
    Issued by the National Grange and the Iowa State Grange. Also By-Laws (Des Moines: Carter, Hussey, and Curl.)
  • Executive Committee's Circular, Iowa State Grange, March 20, 1875
  • Fourteenth Annual Session of the Iowa State Grange, P. of H., Des Moines, Iowa, December 11, 1883
  • Grange Field Meet at Wilton, Iowa, June 12, 1908
    This item is a program.
  • Grange Crop Report - 1874
  • Grange emblem, old implements
    Items are kept in a small wooden box that is not in a folder.
  • The Grange News, vol. XV: no 47. Old Harmony, Illinois. Saturday, November 21, 1891
  • Grange organization dates in Iowa
  • History of Hickory Grove Grange (Jasper County, Iowa) - 1934
  • Hong Kong Tea Company's Wholesale and Retail Price Current (October) - 1878
  • Independence Grange #461 (Jasper County, Iowa) - 1872-1875
    A synopsis of minutes from secretary's book.
  • Iowa Grange News
  • July, October - 1993
  • January, April, July, October - 1994
  • January, July - 1995
  • April, July, October - 1997
  • January, June, August, October, December - 1998
  • April, August - 1999
  • January, April, October - 2000
  • May, August - 2001
  • May - 2002
  • February, May, August, November - 2003
  • March, August - 2004
  • February, June, November - 2005
  • April, August - 2006
  • June - 2007
  • Jasper Cooperative Association (grange store), Newton, Iowa - 1876-1889
  • C. Jevine, Wholesale Grocer (Chicago), receipts - 1876
  • Kendallville Grange #45 (Winnesheik Country, Iowa) - 1871-1893
    Miscellaneous records and correspondence. Correspondents include D.W. Adams, Wm. Duane Wilson, and Oliver Hudson Kelly.
  • Kendallville Grange secretary's book - 1971-1881
    Photocopy of typescript transcription. (Gift of Don and Ilene Moore and transcribed by David and Jean Holmes.)
  • Kendallville Grange secretary's book - 1876-1900
    Financial records from 1877; secretary's minutes start at 1881.
  • Kendallville Grange treasurer's book - 1975-1889
  • Kendallville Grange
    Includes a photograph of the Grange Hall.
  • CD-ROM containing images of Kendallville - 1871-1881
    Includes a photograph showing the Grange Hall, this CD-ROM also contains a copy of the Kendallville Grange secretary's book. (Gift of Don and Ilene Moore.)
  • Box 2:
  • Letter to Ralph W. Smith - 1941
    Contains biographical information on Col. A.B. Smedley
  • Miscellaneous Grange items - 1872-1892
  • Miscellaneous pamplets and booklets
  • Montgomery Ward and Company: the "Original Grange Supply House" - 1875-1877
    Statements, receipts, invoices, etc.
  • The National Grange Master's Letters no. 15 and 16 - 1943
    May 1 and 3
  • National Grange Patrons of Husbandry
    Declaration of Purposes
  • National Grange Annual Session - 1936
    Address of Louis J. Taber, Master
  • Newspaper Clippings - 1975-1996
  • North Eastern Iowa Council - Patrons of Husbandry
    A constitution
  • North Kellogg Grange, #1391 (Kellogg, Iowa) - 1873-1876
    Secretary's book
  • Osage Farmers Grange secretary's book - 1872-1875
  • Patrons of Husbandry, Newton, Iowa - 1872
  • Patrons of Husbandry Certificates
  • Program Books
  • 1997-1998
  • 1998-1999
  • 1999-2000
  • 2002-2003
  • Regalia and Sashes
  • Revolution of 1873 Farmer's Declaration of Independence
  • State Agency of Iowa State Grange - 1879
  • Sugar Grove Grange (Jasper County, Iowa) secretary's book - 1872-1875
    This item is a copy.
  • Sugar Grove Grange #668 secretary's book - 1876-1882
    This item is a copy.
  • Thronton Barnes, Wholesale Grocer, Philadephia - 1884
  • Three Pamphlets:
  • "Uncle Henry Wallace Favors the Grange" - 1909
  • "Iowa Needs the Grange" by B.H. Hibbard, Iowa State College
  • "Granges for Iowa" by P.G. Holdern, Ames, Iowa

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Iowa State Grange

Occupations:
Farmers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Photographs
Archives
Clippings (Information artifacts)
Pamphlets
Sources