Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Karl LeCompte Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1915 - 1972
Creator: LeCompte, Karl (1887-1972)
Extent: 10.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0131
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: U.S. Representative from Iowa. Correspondence, speeches, and scrapbooks relating to his political career.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs Boxes 12, 21

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The papers of Congressman Karl Miles LeCompte were obtained as a gift for the library from the Honorable Karl LeCompte through the efforts of Ronald L. Fingerson in 1967.

Preferred Citation: Papers of Karl LeCompte, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Chronological biography

1887: Born in Corydon, Iowa May 25, the son of Charles Francis and Hannah Miles LeCompte

1909: Received a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Iowa

1910: Publisher of the Corydon Times-Republican

1927: Married Dorothy Tye

1917 -- 1921: Served as State Senator in the Iowa Legislature

1918: Gave service in the United States Army during World War I

1939 -- 1959: Republican member of United States Congress

1967: Resides in Corydon, Iowa

1972: Dies in Centerville

Representative from Iowa, born in Corydon, Wayne County, Iowa, May 25, 1887, where he attended the public schools. He graduated from the State University of Iowa at Iowa City in 1909 and became owner and publisher of the Corydon Times-Republican in 1910. During the First World War served as a private in the medical detachment of United States General Hospital No. 26 in 1918. He was a member of the State senate 1917 -- 1921 and was elected as a Republican to the Seventy-sixth and to the nine succeeding Congresses (January 3, 1939-January 3, 1959). He served as chairman of the Committee on House Administration (Eightieth and Eighty-third Congresses). He was not a candidate for renomination in 1958 to the Eighty-sixth Congress. He returned to newspaper publishing. After retirement he continued as a contributing editor.

Karl LeCompte died in Centerville, Iowa, September 30, 1972, and is buried in Corydon Cemetery, Corydon, Iowa.

(Biographical Directory of the United States Congress).

The collection is organized by broad topical categories, and then by year. Two boxes in the sequence (17 and18) have been assigned item numbers and a cross reference index prepared for these two boxes. A detailed index list of the contents can be found in Series III. Captiol letters denotes subjects, while sentence case denotes a person's name.
Letter to Karl LeCompte from Mr. Jones at the Piney Woods School. MsL J78 le

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: 1972 ADDITION
Series 3: INDEX TO BOX 17 AND 18

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Letters of condolence, congratulations and invitations - 1957-1958
  • Letters of condolence, congratulations and invitations - 1956-1960
  • Christmas card replies - 1953-1954
  • Christmas card replies - 1955
  • Congressional Campaign: Expenses, form letters, advertisements, returns and letters of congratulation - 1954
  • Box 2:
  • Congressional Campaign: Expenses, form letters, advertisements, returns and letters of congratulation (2 folders)
  • Correspondence with constituents - 1957-1959
  • Correspondence with constituents - 1956-1958
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence of Dorothy LeCompte; Requests from constituents for government publications - 1956
  • Correspondence with constituents A-K - 1955
  • Correspondence with constituents L-Z - 1955
  • Correspondence with constituents A-C - 1956
  • Correspondence with constituents D-L - 1956
  • Box 4:
  • Correspondence with constituents M-Z - 1956
  • Correspondence with constituents - 1956
  • Correspondence with constituents - 1956
  • General correspondence with constituents A-F - 1957-1958
  • General correspondence with constituents G-O - 1957-1958
  • Box 5:
  • General correspondence with constituents P-Z - 1957-1958
  • Christmas greetings A-L - 1957-1958
  • Christmas greetings M-Z - 1957
  • Invitations, congratulations, condolences, acknowledgements for - 1955
  • Correspondence
  • Of Dorothy LeCompte - 1955-1958
  • With Washington secretary, Margaret Welch - 1955
  • Box 6:
  • Correspondence with constituents - 1955
  • Correspondence with constituents A-K - 1957-1958
  • Correspondence with constituents L-Z - 1957-1958
  • Personal correspondence - 1957-1958
  • Personal correspondence - 1955
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence regarding congressional campaign - 1956
  • Congressional campaign: Expense records and advertising - 1956
  • Correspondence with constituents regarding legislation - 1955
  • Box 8:
  • Correspondence with constituents regarding
  • Post offices - 1955-1958
  • Veterans legislation - 1955, 1957
  • Health, Education and Welfare - 1957
  • Ways and Means - 1957
  • Judiciary - 1957
  • Correspondence regarding post offices and appointments - 1957-1958
  • Correspondence regarding agriculture - 1955
  • Correspondence regarding agriculture - 1956-1957
  • Box 9:
  • Correspondence regarding
  • Girl Scouts - 1958
  • Jefferson National Expansion Memorial - 1957
  • Retirement - 1958
  • Invitations, requests and receipts
  • Correspondence regarding
  • Flood control - 1957-1958
  • Public Works legislation - 1955
  • House Administration Committee - 1957
  • NATO Conference - 1957
  • Correspondence regarding
  • State Department - 1957
  • Foreign Affairs Legislation - 1958
  • Post Office Department - 1958
  • Interior Department - 1957
  • Miscellaneous legislation - 1957
  • Correspondence in regard to
  • Washington visitors and Corydon visitors - 1955-1958
  • Contributions to organizations - 1955-1957
  • Clippings for - 1958
  • Box 10:
  • Papers
  • Acknowledgements and miscellaneous Iowa correspondence - 1957-1958
  • Correspondence
  • Nominations - 1942
  • Appointments - 1944
  • Legislation - 1956
  • Personal letters - 1955-1960
  • Business (Times-Republican
  • Correspondence
  • Iowa topics - 1956
  • United Nations - 1955
  • Iowa Centennial - 1946-1947
  • Papers
  • Personal letters - 1938-1940
  • Family history: Biographical material
  • Correspondence with Washington secretary - 1957-1959
  • Box 11:
  • Correspondence
  • Regarding Academy appointments - 1955, 1958
  • Regarding Navy Department - 1958
  • Correspondence
  • Regarding miscellaneous independent offices (FPC, FOA, GSA, SBA, etc.) - 1955
  • Veteran benefits - 1958
  • Navy Department - 1958
  • Personal letters of - 1957-1958
  • Papers
  • Times-Republican business correspondence - 1957-1958
  • Miscellaneous receipts, magazine subscriptions
  • Box 12:
  • Correspondence regarding stocks, insurance, Civil Service Retirement Fund, Aunt Martha's estate
  • Mrs. LeCompte's personal correspondence
    Numerous photographs
  • Papers
  • Miscellaneous personal letters - 1942
  • Elections returns - 1940-1946, 1952, 1954, 1953
  • Letters of congratulations - 1956
  • Political letters of - 1955
  • Miscellaneous - 1957-1958
  • Papers
  • Mrs. LeCompte's personal letters - 1943
  • Elections returns - 1942
  • Personal receipts and bills - 1940-1942
  • Times-Republican - 1939
  • Box 13:
  • Correspondence regarding legislation of - 1939-1944
  • Correspondence
  • Regarding legislation - 1939-1944
  • War casualty letters of - 1944
  • War casualty letters of - 1944
  • War casualty letters of - 1944
  • Box 14:
  • Departmental correspondence of - 1939-1940, 1944
  • Requests concerning appointments to academies and army training camps - 1939-1944
  • Correspondence regarding jobs - 1939-1940
  • Independent agencies correspondence; Veteran's benefits - 1939-1944
  • Box 15:
  • Papers
  • Letters and requests from constituents - 1939
  • Bulletins of Grand Lodge - 1960
  • Miscellaneous literature - 1939
  • Miscellaneous correspondence - 1939-1940, 1944
  • Correspondence and requests - 1944
  • Election returns, letters of congratulations and invitations - 1944
  • Box 16:
  • Campaign correspondence; Political letters and constituent letters - 1940, 1944
  • Papers
  • Election congratulations - 1939-1940, 1944
  • Personal letters - 1939-1940
  • Constituent requests - 1939
  • Correspondence with Washington secretary (M. Walsh); Requests from constituents - 1944-1945
  • Correspondence with Jordan Work and Howard Tedford - 1939-1940
  • Index to Boxes 17 and 18
    See series III for detailed list
  • Box 17: Box 17
  • Index to Boxes 17 and 18
    See series III for detailed list
  • 0 Item No. 1 -- 178. Correspondence ;
  • 1 Item No. 179 -- 327. Correspondence ;
  • 2 Item No. 328 -- 525. Correspondence ;
  • 3 Item No. 526 -- 653. Correspondence ;
  • 4 Item No. 654 -- 732. Correspondence, plus handbook prepared by the
  • Iowa State Advisory Committee for the Commission on Civil Rights, 1958;
  • Box 18: Box 18
  • 5 Item No. 733 -- 801. Correspondence ;
  • 6 Item No. 802 -- 859. Correspondence, plus items on the Commission
  • on Civil Rights;
  • 7 Item No. 860 -- 952. Correspondence;
  • 8 Retirement letters;
  • 9 Thank you letters;
  • 0 Congratulatory letters;
  • 1 Christmas letters;
  • 2 Item No. 953 -- 986. Correspondence;
  • 3 Invitations;
  • Box 19:
  • State and Federal income tax records - 1938-1956
  • Mrs. LeCompte's Scrapbooks (18)
  • Series 2: 1972 ADDITION
  • Box 20:
  • Correspondence - 1915-1968
    Including letters from Horace M. Towner, W. L. Harding, Albert B. Cummins, John Hammill, William B. Kenyon, N. E. Kendall, H. K. Evans, Lloyd Thurston, Gardner Cowles, Dan W. Turner, Clyde L. Herring, Thomas E. Martin, John Kyl, Norman A. Erbe, Verne R. Martin, Merwin Coad, Jack Miller, Charles B. Hoeven, and Fred Schwengel
  • Box 21:
  • Biographical information, obituaries
  • Correspondence - 1969-1972
    Including letters from Robert D. Ray
  • Carter election contest
  • Miscellaneous
  • Photographs
  • Iowa Congressional delegation
  • Dwight D. Eisenhower
  • Richard M. Nixon
  • General court-martial proceedings, Fort Des Moines, Iowa, for Private Alfred J. Lovett, June 22 - 1939
  • Series 3: INDEX TO BOX 17 AND 18
  • Sub-Series: A
  • Abbitt, W. M., Rep. Virginia. 880
  • ABBOTT, MR. FRANK. 215
  • ABOLITION OF TAXES. 3
  • Adams, Hon. Sherman (Secretary to the President) September 3, 1954 (L. T.). 355
  • AGRICULTURE. 40, 46, 62, 427, 431, 438, 461, 463, 467, 468
  • AGRICULTURE ADVISORY COMMITTEE. 577, 578
  • AGRICULTURE, SPECIAL COMMITTEE OF REPUBLICAN CONGRESSMEN ON-. 29, 34, 41, 47, 51, 56
  • AIR FORCE. 74, 78
  • Akers, Hon. Chet B. (State Auditor)
  • December 13, 1939 (L.T.). 54
  • December 12, 1939 (L.F.). 53
  • December 26, 1939 (L.T.). 66
  • November 8, 1956 (L.T.). 570
  • AKERS, C. B. 228, 229
  • ALASKA AND HAWAII, ADMISSION OF. 618
  • Alcorn, Meade, Chairman, Republican National Committee. 952
  • Alexander, Archie A., Governor Virgin Islands. 891
  • Alger, Bruce, Rep. Texas. 878
  • Amana Society. 35 -- 39, 42, 50, 56
  • AMERICANS FOR DEMOCRATIC ACTION
  • Anderson, Hon. Victor (Governor, Nebraska)
  • August 18, 1956 (L.F.). 504
  • August 30, 1956 (L. F.). 516
  • APPOINTMENT OVERSEAS. 691, 692, 696, 711, 723
  • APPOINTMENT TO ASC. 476
  • APPOINTMENTS TO ACADEMIES. 632, 633
  • APPRECIATION. 590, 592
  • APPROPRIATIONS. 293
  • Arends, L. C., Rep. – Illinois. 874, 946
  • ARMING OF MERCHANT SHIPS. 209, 211, 212
  • ARMY CAMP AT LEON, IOWA. 75 -- 77, 95, 103, 106
  • Arth, Mrs. Carol Renner (Esu. Secretary--U.S. Committee On Civil Rights) January 8, 1959 (L.F.). 740
  • ARTILLERY TRAINING. 986
  • ASSESSMENT BILL, 60%. 136
  • Associated Press, The
  • December 14, 1939 (L.F.). 58
  • Angell, Homer D., Rep-Oregon. 964
  • Sub-Series: B
  • BAGGAGE COMPLAINT TO UNITED AIRLINES. 719
  • BAILEY, BILL, 52212. 40
  • BALDWIN SEARCH. 978 -- 984
  • BANKHEAD-JONES INCREMENT. 40
  • Barker, Gen. John T.
  • December 27, 1954 (L.T.). 409
  • August 17, 1955 (L.F.). 422
  • August 22, 1955 (L.T.). 425
  • August 24, 1955 (L.F.). 28
  • September 5, 1958 (L.F.). 655
  • September 11, 1958 (L.T.). 660
  • September 6, 1955 (L.T.). 932
  • Barnes, Mr. Bill (Secretary-NFO)
  • September 11, 1957 (L.T.). 595
  • Barr, Mr. Robert (President -- Grinnell Young Republicans); October 30, 1954 (L.F.). 379
  • BATTLESHIP "IOWA". 581
  • Baum, Mrs. Harriette J.
  • December 1, 1958 (L.F.). 709
  • December 8, 1958 (L.T.). 715
  • December 12, 1958 (L.F.). 721
  • December 15, 1958 (L.T.). 722
  • December 23, 1958 (L.T.) Vice Chairman-Iowa Advisory Committee. 727
  • January 2, 1959 (L.T.). 735
  • Baylor, Mr. John T. (President, First State Bank, What Cheer, Iowa)
  • November 7, 1955 (L.F.). 456
  • November 8, 1955 (L.T.). 458
  • Beck, Mr. Robert K.
  • August 15, 1955 (L.F.). 421
  • August 18, 1955 (L.T.). 424
  • October 10, 1955 (L.T.). 441
  • October 13, 1955 (L.F.). 446
  • October 17, 1955 (L.T.). 447
  • September 10, 1956 (L.F.) Highway Commissioner. 529
  • September 12, 1956 (L.T.) Highway Commissioner. 530
  • Belcher, Page - Rep.-Oklahoma. 875
  • Benson, Hon. Ezra Taft
  • November 8, 1955 (L.T.). 457
  • December 6, 1955 (L.T.). 467
  • September 5, 1956 (L.T.). 526
  • May 23, 1958 (L.F.) Secretary of Agriculture. 634
  • December 8, 1958 (L.T.). 720
  • BENSON, EZRA TAFT, SECRETARY OF AGRICULTURE. 427, 431, 461, 502, 503, 505
  • BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL. 360
  • Blue, Gov. and Mrs. Robert
  • December 30, 1954 (L.T.). 412
  • December 30, 1954 (L.T.). 412
  • Blue, Hon. Robert, November 10, 1944 (L.T.). 326
  • BLUE, HON. ROBERT (SPEAKER--IOWA HOUSE). 120
  • Bolton, Frances P., Rep.-Ohio. 873, 948
  • Bolton, Oliver P., Rep.-Ohio. 879
  • Bowen, Mr. Ralph E. (Mayor--Chariton, Iowa)
  • September 19, 1957 (L.F.). 601
  • September 20, 1957 (L.T.). 604
  • September 3, 1957 (L.T.). 582
  • Bowles, Hon. Chester
  • October 12, 1944 (L.F.). 308
  • November 9, 1955 (L.F.). 459
  • November 15, 1955 (L.T.). 465
  • Brenton, W. Harold
  • November 7, 1956 (L.F.). 557
  • November 10, 1956 (L.T.). 574
  • BRENTON COMMITTEE. 233
  • Brewer, Mr. Lloyd O.
  • August 17, 1956 (L.T.). 502
  • August 19, 1956 (L.F.). 503
  • August 20, 1956 (L.T.). 506
  • September 7, 1956 (L.F.). 527
  • September 10, 1956 (L.T.). 528
  • August 18, 1956 (L.F.). 505
  • Bricker, Gov. John W. (Ohio)
  • December 15, 1939 (L.T.). 61
  • BRICKER, GOV. JOHN W. (OHIO), RECORD IN OFFICE. 61
  • Brinson, Mr. Noah M. (Colonel-GSC-Legislative and Liaison Div.) April 8, 1946 (L.F.). 333
  • BROOKHART, HON. SMITH W. 219
  • Brownell, Hon. Herbert, Jr. (Rep. National Chairman) October 16, 1944 (L.F.). 309
  • Brownell, Herbert, Jr. (Chairman Rep. National Committee). 958, 962
  • Bulwinkle, A. L., Rep. National Car. 985
  • Burgin, W. D., Rep. North Carolina. 971
  • Burleson, Hon. Omar (Cong.-Texas)
  • August 7, 1956 (L.F.). 492
  • August 10, 1956 (L.T.). 499
  • Burleson, Omar, Rep. Texas. 940
  • Burnham, Mr. Milo (Wayne County Conservation Committee) November 8, 1939 (L.T.). 10
  • Bushfield, Hon. Harlan J., (Governor, South Dakota) December 9, 1939 (L.T.). 48
  • Byrum, Mr. H. S., August 10, 1956 (L.T.). 498
  • Sub-Series: C
  • CIO. 302, 311
  • Campbell, Mr. Joseph (Comptroller General- U.S.)
  • December 22, 1958 (L.F.). 725
  • December 8, 1958 (L.F.). 720
  • Campbell, Mr. Tim J. (Attorney)
  • October 18, 1940 (L.F.). 79
  • October 19, 1940 (L.T.). 81
  • CAMPAIGN
  • 1940. 90
  • 1942. 279 -- 286
  • 1956. 517, 518, 522, 525
  • 1958. 654, 655, 660 -- 662, 664, 666, 668, 670
  • CAMPAIGN AND ELECTION
  • 1954. 372 -- 375, 377 -- 379
  • 1956. 534, 539 -- 541, 544, 545, 550, 551
  • CAMPAIGN CONTRIBUTIONS. 365, 366
  • 1956. 525, 539, 543
  • CAMPAIGN INCIDENT – 1956. 550, 551
  • CAMPAIGN INFORMATION – 1956. 526
  • CAMPAIGN LITERATURE. 314
  • CAMPAIGN 1956 – PRESS. 423, 429
  • Carnahan, A. S. J., Rep.-Missouri. 866
  • Carrigg, Joseph L., Rep.-Pennsylvania 949
  • Carter, Mr. Steven V., December 22, 1955 (L.T.). 475
  • CARTER, STEPHEN V., 753, 757 -- 759, 769
  • CARTER MRS. STEPHEN. 777
  • CARTER VS. LECOMPTE ELECTION CONTEST – 1957. 602 -- 610, 615, 616, 626, 636, 641, 645
  • Casey, Mr. James C.
  • October 29, 1944 (L.F.). 316
  • November 2, 1944 (L.T.). 317
  • CENSUS ENUMERATORS – 1954. 357
  • CENTERVILLE PANCAKE DAY – 1956. 550, 551
  • CHARITON, IOWA, CENTENNIAL. 582, 599, 600, 601, 604
  • CHARLTON, HON. SHANNON. 174
  • CHRISTMAS GREETINGS. 346 -- 353, 400 -- 402, 404 -- 408, 410 -- 412
  • CHRISTMAS GREETINGS – 1955. 472 -- 475, 477, 478, 480
  • CHRISTMAS GREETINGS. 619 -- 623, 627 -- 631
  • CHRISTMAS LETTERS. 81
  • Christopher, Geo. H., Rep. - Mo. 887
  • CHURCHILL, SIR WINSTON S. 135
  • CIO. 302, 311
  • Civil Rights Project
  • Report Iowa No. 1, September 10, 1958 (Booklet). 658
  • No. 2, September 22, 1958 (Booklet). 663
  • CIVIL SERVICE, S 282
  • Clifton, Mr. Cy (Journalist December 6, 1955 (L.T.). 469
  • Coad, Hon. Merwin, August 28, 1958, (L.T.). 651
  • CLAD, MERWIN. 755, 756
  • Coldflesh, Bob. 214
  • COLLECTION OF RENT. 3
  • COLLEGE EDUCATION. 133, 134
  • Commission on Civil Rights. 747, 749, 802 -- 858
  • Appointment Forms, N.D. (November 28, 1958). 705
  • Housing, Part IV, September 22, 1958 (Booklet). 663
  • Housing Questionnaire, December 1, 1958 (Questionnaire). 710
  • Illinois, Iowa, & Wisconsin Advisory Committees Meeting - Guests, November 28, 1958 (List). 704
  • Information section, Press Release
  • Information section, Press Release: November 25, 1958 (Press Release). 699
  • List of Witnesses in New York Housing Hearing
  • List of Witnesses in New York Housing Hearing: December 22, 1958 (List). 726
  • N.D. (Booklet). 702
  • Organizational Meeting Forms, N.D. (November 28, 1958) (Forms). 707
  • Provisions of the constitution and statures of Iowa relating to the Infringement of Civil Rights on the Basis of Color, Race, Religion, or National Origin. September 10, 1958 (Booklet). 658
  • Public Education Study Team, October 31, 1958
  • Public Education Study Team, October 31, 1958: (Booklet & Questionnaire to Public Institution of Higher Education). 67
  • Public Education Study Team, October 31, 1958: N.D. (L.T.). 675
  • Public Schools Questionnaire
  • Public Schools Questionnaire: N.D., October 31, 1958 (Questionnaire). 676
  • State Advisory Committee
  • State Advisory Committee: N.D., October 31, 1958 (L.T.). 675
  • State Advisory Committee: By-Laws, October 7, 1958 (Booklet). 669
  • State Advisory Committee: Roster, September 1, 1958 (Booklet). 653
  • State Handbook for Iowa State Advisory Committee
  • State Handbook for Iowa State Advisory Committee: January 1, 1959 (Handbook). 732
  • Travel Information & Forms
  • Travel Information & Forms: N.D. (November 28, 19580 (Forms). 706
  • COMMISSION OF CIVIL RIGHTS. 658, 663, 669, 674 -- 676, 698, 699, 701 -- 707, 710, 732, 726, 747, 749, 802 -- 858
  • COMMISSION ON CIVIL RIGHTS -- 1958
  • ROSTER OF STATE ADVISORY COMMITTEES. 653
  • Committee on House Administration 86th Congress
  • N.D. (Pamphlet). 733
  • COMMODITY CREDIT CORPORATION, CORN LOANS FROM. 4 -- 6
  • CONDOLENCE. 471, 512, 523, 524
  • Conference of American Small Business Organizations, October 8, 1954 (L.F.). 358
  • CONGRATULATORY LETTERS. 93, 94, 96 -- 102, 105, 956 -- 975, folder 80
  • CONGRESS 1955. 409
  • CONGRESSIONAL PAYROLLS. 752
  • CONGRESSIONAL PENSIONS. 246, 248 -- 252, 254 -- 260, 268
  • CONGRESSIONAL POLITICS. 301
  • CONGRESSIONAL RECORD. 329, 426, 430, 496, 501, 634
  • CORN-LIVESTOCK RATIO. 308
  • COST OF MAINTAINING SOLDIERS OVERSEAS. 623
  • Cronin, Prof. J. Ray, December 14, 1939 (L.T.). 57
  • CRONIN, PROF. J. RAY, APPOINTMENT OF. 44, 49, 55, 57
  • Crowley, Mr. L. E. (Exec-Secretary, Iowa Motor Truck Assoc)
  • October 15, 1956 (L.F.). 542
  • Cunningham, Hon. Paul (Cong.-Iowa)
  • November 7, 1940 (L.T.). 102
  • November 10, 1944 (L.T.). 322
  • December 31, 1953 (L.T.). 353
  • November 14, 1954 (L.F.). 392
  • November 8, 1956 (L.T.). 564
  • August 28, 1958 (L.T.). 650
  • Cunningham, Hon. & Mrs. Paul
  • November 6, 1958 (L.T.). 684
  • December 28, 1954 (L.T.). 410
  • CURTIS, DONALD R., APPOINTMENT OF. 65
  • Sub-Series: D
  • Darling, Mr. Jay N. "Ding", August 13, 1956 (L.F.). 500
  • August 20, 1956 (L.T.). 507
  • Darral, Hon J. H., July 19, 1944 (L.T.). 297
  • Davey, Hon. Martin L. (Former Gov.-Ohio), December 15, 1939 (L.F.). 61
  • De Jong, Mr. Martin, October 1954 (L.F.). 378
  • DELEGATION TO NATO. 880, 883
  • DEPOSITORY LIBRARIES. 580, 587
  • Derry, Mr. Martin, October 11, 1954 (L.F.). 361
  • DESCENDANTS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION, NATIONAL CONVENTION OF, RESOLUTION BY. 60, 64
  • Dewey, Thomas E. (Telegram). 956
  • DEWEY, HON. THOMAS E. 278, 297, 300, 315
  • SPEECH BY IN MINNESOTA. 18, 30
  • Dewey for President (Letterhead) November 22, 1939 (L.F.). 18
  • DICKINSON. 219
  • DIES COMMITTEE TO INVESTIGATE UN-AMERICAN ACTIVITIES. 60, 64
  • Dirksen, Hon. Everett McKinley (Sen.-Illinois), January 6, 1959 (L.F.). 739
  • DISABLED VETERANS. 378
  • Ditter, J. William, Rep.-Pennsylvania. 965
  • Dolliver, Hon. James I.
  • November 18, 1964 (L.T.). 321
  • December 28, 1945 (L.F.) (Cong.-Iowa). 328
  • August 17, 1955 (L.F.). 423
  • August 26, 1955 (L.T.). 429
  • August 3, 1956 (L.T.). 488
  • August 6, 1956 (L.F.). 489
  • August 8, 1956 (L.T.). 494
  • August 21, 1956 (L.T.). 509
  • September 26, 1956 (L.F.). 532
  • September 27, 1956 (L.T.). 534
  • November 8, 1956 (L.T.). 565
  • Dolliver, Hon. & Mrs. James I.
  • December 28, 1953 (L.T.). 352
  • January 1, 1958 (L.T.) (Usom Iran). 630
  • December 16, 1955 (L.T.). 472
  • December 31, 1957 (Card F) (Usom Iran). 627
  • DOLLIVER, HON. JAMES. 150, 185, 208, 214, 218, 228, 252, 254, 273, 276
  • Dotson, Mr. N.P.
  • January 2, 1959 (L.T.). 736
  • January 9, 1959 (L.F.) (Zone Intergroup Relations Advisor- FHA). 741
  • Douglas, Judge James M. (Chairman, Exec. Committee- U.S. Territorial Expansion Memorial Commission)
  • September 3, 1957 (L.T.). 584
  • Dowell, Mr. Leland E., November 24, 1939 (L.T.). 22
  • DOWELL, MR. LELAND E., LETTER FROM. 22 -- 24
  • DROUGHT- 1956. 495
  • DROUGHT AREAS - KEOKUK CO. 1956. 483
  • Sub-Series: E
  • Eisenhower, Dwight D.
  • October 25, 1956 (L.T.). 552
  • September 17, 1957 (Tele. F. Copy). 599
  • EISENHOWER. 413, 420, 422, 425, 428, 432, 455, 479
  • EISENHOWER APPEARANCE AT IOWA STATE FAIR – 1954. 355
  • EISENHOWER'S ILLNESS. 451
  • EISENHOWER'S IOWA VISIT – 1956. 527, 528
  • EISENHOWER - MICMILLAN AGREEMENT. 617
  • EISENHOWER RE-ELECTION – 1956. 493
  • EISENHOWER SECURITY PROGRAM. 372 -- 375
  • ELECTION
  • 1938. 72
  • 1940. 20, 91, 92, 114
  • 1942. 287, 288
  • 1944. 299, 300, 302, 309, 311, 316, 317
  • 1948. 533
  • 1954. 393
  • 1956. 490
  • 1958. 718
  • ELECTION & CAMPAIGN, 1954. 356, 360, 302, 363, 364, 367 -- 369
  • ELECTION CONGRATULATIONS, 1944. 319 -- 323, 326, 327
  • 1954. 380 -- 384, 386 -- 399
  • 1956. 556 -- 576
  • 1958. 679 -- 689, 693 -- 695, 697, 718
  • ELECTION RETURNS. 881
  • Ellender, Allen J., Sen.-Louisiana. 865
  • Ellinwood, Mr. R.O. September 19, 1955 (L.F.). 435
  • Ellsworth, Benjamin, Attorney-Ottumwa. 778, 781
  • ELLSWORTH, BEN. 137
  • Elthon, Hon.& Mrs. Leo (Gov.-Iowa), December 20, 1954 (L.T.). 406
  • EMBARGO AGAINST JAPAN. 74, 78
  • EMBARGOS AND THE FARMER. 977
  • EMERSON, RAY. 213 -- 216, 218
  • ENTERTAINMENT. 403
  • EUROPEAN POWERS, RELATIONS WITH. 74, 78
  • EVANS, JUDGE. 116 -- 118, 120, 121
  • Ex-Republican (1954 Campaign) October 1954 (L.F.). 337
  • Sub-Series: F
  • FAR EAST CRISIS, 1958. 656, 659
  • FARM LEGISLATION. 614
  • FARM PRICES. 443, 448, 493, 887
  • FARM PROBLEM. 470
  • FARM PROGRAM. 915 -- 917
  • Farmers' and Miners' Bank (Lucas, Iowa)
  • November 8, 1939 (Tote. F.). 4
  • November 8, 1939 (L.T.). 7
  • FARMER'S BULLETINS. 306, 307, 311
  • Fellers, Mr. Bonner (National Dir. - For America), November 26, 1957 (L.F.). 617
  • Felton, C. W. (Secretary--Voice of the People), September 23, 1944 (L.F.). 303
  • Ferguson, Mr. W. H. (Wapello Co. Chairman), March 24, 1942 (L.T.). 267
  • Ferguson, Mr. Warren, August 27, 1944 (L.T.). 302
  • FERGUSON, MR. WARREN. 69
  • FIGHT FOR FREEDOM. 204, 207, 208
  • Fine, Sidney A., Rep.-New York. 890
  • First National Bank (Chariton, Iowa), November 8, 1939 (Tele. F.). 4
  • Folger, John Clifford, Chairman, Rep. National Finance Committee. 918, 919
  • For America, November 26, 1957 (L.F.). 617
  • FOREIGN AFFAIRS. 481, 492, 499
  • FOREIGN POLICY. 459, 465, 537
  • FOREIGN SERVICE CAREER. 748, 750
  • Foreign Service of the U.S.A. 765
  • (Form Letter), 1954 Campaign, October 25, 1944 (L.T.). 377
  • Fortune Magazine, November 29, 1939 (L.F.). 27
  • Foster, Miss Doris, November 24, 1939 (L.T.). 21
  • FOSTER, MISS DORIS. 26
  • FRAZIER-LEMKE BILL AND THE COURTS. 976
  • Friley, Mr. Charles E. (Pres.-Iowa State College)
  • December 6, 1939 (L.F.). 40
  • December 8, 1939 (L.T.). 46
  • Fulton, James G., Rep.-Pennsylvania. 78, 902
  • Sub-Series: G
  • Gardner, Miss Floella,
  • October 11, 1954 (L.F.). 361
  • October 14, 1954 (L.T.). 362
  • Gilchrist, Hon. Fred C. (Cong.-Iowa)
  • December 1, 1938 (L.F.). 29
  • December 4, 1939 (L.T.). 34
  • November 7, 1940 (L.T.). 100
  • October 2, 1944 (L.F.). 306
  • October 3, 1944 (L.T.). 307
  • October 19, 1944 (L.T.). 311
  • GILCHRIST, HON. FRED. 88, 91
  • Gillette, Hon. Guy M. (Sen.-Iowa)
  • November 24, 1939 (L.T.). 23
  • November 25, 1939 (L.F.). 24
  • December 26, 1954 (L.T.). 408
  • August 22, 1955 (L.F.). 426
  • August 26, 1955 (L.T.). 430
  • December 28, 1955 (L.T.). 478
  • December 24, 1953 (L.T.) Hon. & Mrs. Guy M. 350
  • Goodwin, Hon. Robert K. (Cong.-Iowa)
  • November 6, 1940 (Tele. F.). 92
  • November 7, 1940 (L.T.). 94, 103
  • December 11, 1940 (L.F.). 109
  • December 20, 1940 (L.T.). 110
  • December 21, 1955 (L.T.). 474
  • December 22, 1954 (L.T.). 407
  • GOODWIN, BILL. 20, 41, 43
  • GOOD WISHES. 109, 110
  • GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS. 579
  • GOVERNMENT STORAGE. 33
  • Grant, Hon. Robt. A. (Cong-Indiana), October 28, 1944 (L.F.). 315
  • GRANTS-IN-AID. 535
  • Green, William, (Rep.-Iowa). 903
  • GRIMES, JOHN. 25, 69, 181, 185, 187, 188, 192, 194, 198, 199, 200, 205 , 208
  • Gross, Hon. H. R. (Rep.-Iowa)
  • December 28, 1953 (L.T.). 351
  • November 15, 1954 (L.F.). 397
  • December 17, 1954 (L.T.) Hon. & Mrs. H. R. 404
  • November 8, 1956 (L.T.). 563
  • August 28, 1958 (L.F.). 646
  • November 6, 1958 (L.T.). 680
  • November 13, 1958 (L.F.). 693
  • GROSS, HON. H. R. 121, 134, 135, 142, 150, 170, 171, 184, 194, 199, 239, 254, 273, 276
  • Growley, Mr. L.D. (Exec. Secretary- Iowa Motor Truck Assoc.), October 19, 1956 (L.T.). 549
  • Gruenther, Hon. Homer H. (Spec. Assist. to the Pres.)
  • August 6, 1955 (L.F.). 415
  • August 12, 1955 (L.T.). 419
  • October 3, 1955 (L.F.). 437
  • October 25, 1955 (L.T.). 451
  • September 18, 1957 (L.F.). 600
  • GUAM FORTIFICATION. 263, 267, 272
  • Gentry, Brady, Rep.-Texas. 889
  • Gwynne, Hon. John W. (Cong.-Iowa)
  • November 7, 1940 (L.T.). 99
  • September 29, 1944 (L.F.). 304
  • October 2, 1944 (L.T.). 305
  • November 10, 1944 (L.T.). 323
  • August 24, 1956 (Tele. T.) (Federal Trade Commission). 512
  • Gwynne, John W. 776
  • Chairman, Federal Trade Commission. 920
  • Sub-Series: H
  • Hale, Edward Everett, III (Pres. - Descendants of the American Revolution)
  • December 15, 1939 (L.F.). 60
  • December 23, 1939 (L.T.). 64
  • Hall, Mr. Earl, September 12, 1957 (L.T.). 596
  • Hall, Hon. Leonard (Rep. National Chairman)
  • October 25, 1954 (Tele. T). 374
  • August 30, 1956 (L.T.). 517
  • September 4, 1956 (L.T.). 522
  • October 11th, 1956
  • Hall, Reverend, November 3, 1958 (L.T.). 677
  • Hall, Rev. Lester C.
  • December 5, 1958 (L.F.). 712
  • December 8, 1958 (L.T.). 716
  • Halleck, Charles A., Rep.-Indiana. 757, 961
  • Hamill, Mr. Keith
  • December 26, 1939 (L.T.). 68
  • August 15, 1944 (L.T.). 301
  • HAMILL, KEITH. 25, 68, 69
  • Hammer, Mr. Marion, September 27, 1957 (L.T.). 608
  • HAMMER, MR. MARION. 215
  • Hancher, Dr. Virgil M. (President- University Of Iowa), November 10, 1958 (L.T.). 690
  • Hannah, Hon John A. (Chairman-Committee On Civil Rights), November 20, 1958 (Tele. F.). 698
  • Harlow, Bryce N. (Administrative Asst. to the President). 872
  • HARRIMAN, HON. AVARELL. 413, 420, 425, 432
  • Harrington, Hon Vincent F. (Cong.-Iowa), November 7, 1940 (L.T.). 96
  • Harris, Mr. George B., Jr.
  • December 24, 1958 (L.F.). 728
  • December 30, 1958 (L.T.). 730
  • January 2, 1959 (L.T.). 734
  • Harter, J. Francis,(Rep.-New York). 954, 955
  • Harwood, Charles (Gov. Virgin Islands). 957
  • HATCH POLITICAL ACTIVITIES ACT. 940
  • Havner, Mr. H. M. (Attorney)
  • November 26, 1940 (L.F.). 107
  • November 28, 1940 (L.T.). 108
  • Haw, Mr. E. A.
  • March 19, 1942 (L.F.). 264
  • March 24, 1942 (L.T.). 266
  • HAWAII & ALASKA, ADMISSION OF. 618
  • Hays, Hon. Brooks (Cong.-Arkansas)
  • November 6, 1958 (L.T.). 686
  • Hays, Brooks, Rep.-Arkansas. 886
  • Hays, Hon Wayne L. (Cong.-Ohio)
  • August 27, 1956 (L.F.). 513
  • August 31, 1956 (L.T.). 519
  • December 17, 1956 (L.F.). 579
  • August 28, 1957 (L.F.). 580
  • September 5, 1957 (L.T.). 587
  • Hays, Wayne L. (Rep.-Ohio). 869, 870, 942
  • Herring, Hon. Clyde L. (Sen.-Iowa)
  • December 8, 1939 (L.T.). 44
  • December 11, 1939 (L.F.). 49
  • December 13, 1939 (L.T.). 55
  • November 7, 1940 (L.T.). 95
  • HERRING, HON. CLYDE L. 239, 251, 254, 277, 281 -- 283
  • Herter, Christian A. (Under Secretary of State). 748
  • HERTER, HON. CHRISTIAN. 454, 455, 795
  • Hickenlooper, Hon. Bourke B.
  • November 10, 1944 (L.T.). 327
  • December 22, 1955 (L.T.). 476
  • September 19, 1956 (L.T.). 531
  • November 8, 1956 (Tele. F.). 559
  • November 8, 1956 (L.T.). 571
  • November 17, 1958 (L.F.). 696
  • December 23, 1953 (L.T.). 349
  • December 28, 1954 (L.T.). 411
  • December 31, 1957 (Card F.). 629
  • January 2, 1958 (L.T.). 638
  • HICKENLOOPER, HON. BOURKE B. 116, 120, 212, 134, 136, 139, 142, 150, 165, 167, 185, 192 , 208, 209, 213 -- 216, 219, 225, 227, 228, 229, 239, 241, 248, 249, 252, 254, 277, 278, 280, -- 284, 290, 432, 445, 449, 503, 514
  • Hill, Robert C. (Ambassador to Mexico). 870
  • HILLMAN, MR. SIDNEY. 302, 315
  • Hindley, Mr. Charles
  • October 12, 1955 (L.F.). 445
  • October 17, 1955 (L.T.). 449
  • Hodgins, Mr. Eric (Publisher- Fortune magazine)
  • November 29, 1939 (L.F.). 27
  • December 2, 1939 (L.T.). 31
  • Hoegh , Hon Leo A. (State Rep.-Iowa)
  • October 14, 1940 (L.F.). 75
  • October 16, 1940 (L.T.). 76
  • October 21, 1940 (L.F.). 83
  • October 24, 1940 (L.T.). 86
  • December 24, 1940 (L.F.). 111
  • December 26, 1940 (L.T.). 112
  • November 18, 1954 (L.F.). 398
  • November 23, 1954 (L.T.). 399
  • September 15, 1955 (L.F.). 433
  • October 6, 1955 (L.F.). 439
  • October 8, 1955 (L.T.). 440
  • October l0, 1955 (L.F.). 442
  • October 11, 1955 (L.T.). 444
  • July 31, 1956 (L.F.). 483
  • November 7, 1956 (L.F.) (Gov.-Iowa). 556
  • November 10, 1956 (L.T.). 576
  • November 26, 1958 (L.F.) (Dir.-Office of Civil & Defense Mobilization). 700
  • November 28, 1958 (L.T.) (Director- OCDM). 708
  • December 4, 1958 (L.T.). 714
  • September 16, 1955 (L.T.) (Gov. & Mrs. Leo A.). 434
  • December 21, 1955 (L.T.). 473
  • HOEGH, HON. LEO A. 131, 432
  • Hoeven, Hon. Charles B.
  • November 10, 1944 (L.T.). 320
  • November 8, 1954 (L.F.). 386
  • December 13, 1955 (L.T.). 470
  • November 8, 1956 (L.T.). 567
  • August 23, 1958 (L.F.). 643
  • August 28, 1958 (L.T.). 646
  • November 6, 1958 (L.T.). 681
  • November 8, 1958 (L.F.). 687
  • Hoeven, Charles B. 753
  • HOEVEN, CHARLES B. 755
  • HOG PRICES AND PRODUCTION. 456 -- 458, 461, 463, 467, 468 -- 470
  • HOOVER, HON. HERBERT (FORMER PRES.). 20, 41, 48
  • Hoover, Hon. J. Edgar
  • December 23, 1939 (L.T.). 65
  • November 3, 1954 (L.F.). 380
  • November 9, 1954 (L.T.). 390
  • November 15, 1965 (Tele. T.). 464
  • Hoover, J. Edgar (Dir. F.B.I.). 914
  • Hope, Hon. Clifford R. (Cong.- Kansas), December 8, 1939 (L.F.). 47
  • Hosmer, Craig (Rep.- California). 873
  • Hotel Savery, Manager; January 2, 1959 (L.T.). 737
  • Houghton, Mrs. Dorothy D.
  • November 8, 1956 (L.F.). 560
  • November 10, 1956 (L.T.). 573
  • August 8, 1956 (L.T.) (Co. Chairman Citizen's for Eisenhower). 493
  • H.R. 4500 GREEN BILL. 40
  • H.R. 1649. 294, 295
  • House Administration Committee. 940, 941
  • HOUSE ADMINISTRATION, COMMITTEE ON. 733
  • HOUSING FOR NEGROES IN IOWA. 832
  • HUGHES, CHARLES E., ADDRESS BY. 13, 19
  • Hull, Cordell (Sec. State). 980
  • Humphreys, Mr. Robert (Campaign Director- Rep. National Committee)
  • October 29, 1954 (Tele. F.). 376
  • HUNTING. 612, 613
  • Sub-Series: I
  • INVITATIONS. 83, 85, 86, 14, 112, 237, 433, 434, 491, 493, 532, 534, 546 -- 548, 671 -- 673, 678
  • INVITATION TO UNVEILING OF PAINTING IN CAPITOL ROTUNDA. 862
  • INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION. 542, 547 -- 549, 552, 553, 555
  • INTERSTATE HIGHWAY FUNDING. 460, 462
  • IOWA ADVISORY COMMITTEE, U.S. COMMISSION ON CIVIL RIGHTS. 709, 715, 721, 722, 272, 730
  • Iowa Association for the United Nations, October 5, 1956 (L.F.). 536
  • IOWA CENTENNIAL. 328, 330 -- 342
  • Iowa Motor Truck Association October 15, 1956 (L.F.). 549
  • IOWA STATE ADVISORY COMMITTEE. 732, 734, 735 -- 738, 740 -- 742, 744, 745
  • IOWA STATE FAIR – 1956. 508
  • ISSUES – QUESTIONAIRES. 310, 313, 318, 361, 362
  • Sub-Series: J
  • Jacobsen, Hon. William S. (Cong.-Iowa)
  • November 1, 1940 (L.F.). 89
  • November 7, 1940 (L.T.). 93
  • JEFFERSON NATIONAL EXPANSION MEMORIAL. 584 -- 586
  • Jensen, Hon. Benton Franklin (Cong.-Iowa)
  • December 18, 1939 (L.T.). 62
  • November 7, 1940 (L.T.). 97
  • November 10, 1944 (L.T.). 319
  • N.D. (L F.). 365
  • October 18, 1954 (L.T.). 366
  • October 10, 1955 (L.F.). 443
  • October 17, 1955 (L.T.). 448
  • N.D. (L.F.). 508
  • September 5, 1956 (L.T.). 525
  • October 10, 1956 (L.F.). 539
  • October 15, 1956 (L.T.). 543
  • October 25, 1856 (L.T.). 554
  • November 8, 1956 (L.T.). 566
  • September 9, 1958 (L.F.). 657
  • September 23, 1958 (L.T.). 664
  • October 1, 1958 (L.F.). 666
  • October 3, 1958 (L.T.). 668
  • November 6, 1958 (L.T.). 679
  • November 10, 1958 (L.F.). 688
  • Jensen, Ben F., Rep. 775
  • Jensen, Hon. & Mrs. Ben F.
  • December 23, 1953 (L.T.). 348
  • December 20, 1954 (L.T.). 405
  • JENSEN, BEN. F. 116, 117, 122, 123, 219, 220 , 228
  • JENSEN, LETTER ABOUT. 114, 115, 118
  • Johnson, Mr. Donald E. (Iowa Association for the U.N., Director)
  • October 5, 1956 (L.F.). 536
  • October 8, 1956 (L.T.). 537
  • January 9, 1959 (L.F.). 742
  • Johnson, Donald E. 837
  • JOHNSON, MISS EDITH. 596
  • Johnston, Mr. Elton (Attorney)
  • October 5, 1957 (L.T.). 609
  • August 19, 1958 (L.F.). 636
  • JOINT ATOMIC ENERGY COMMITTEE. 873
  • JUDGESHIPS. 190, 192, 195
  • Sub-Series: K
  • Karsten, Frank M. (Rep.-Missouri). 871
  • Kearns, Carroll D. (Rep.-Pennsylvania). 872
  • KEFAUVER, HON. ESTES (SEN.-KENTUCKY). 413, 420, 422, 425, 432
  • Kelly, Joe W. Major General USAF (Dir., Legislative Liaison), September 14, 1957 (L.F.). 587
  • Kent State Savings Bank (Kent, Iowa)
  • November 8, 1939 (Tele. F.). 5
  • November 8, 1939 (L.T.). 8
  • KIDNAPPED CHILD. 464
  • Kilbarn, Clarence E. (Rep.- New York). 950
  • Killmar & Reynoldson (Attorneys). 758
  • King, Mr. J. E. (Peoples' National Bank, Albia, Iowa)
  • November 8, 1939 (L.T.). 9
  • November 9, 1939 (L.F.). 12
  • KNIGHT, HON. GOODWIN. 445, 449
  • Knutson, Harold (Rep.-Minnesota). 953
  • Kramer, Mr. Dale
  • November 16, 1955 (L.T.). 466
  • September 24, 1957 (L.F.). 606
  • October 8, 1957 (L.T.). 610
  • KROUSE, MISS JESSIE. 89, 93
  • Kyl, Hon. John H.
  • September 19, 1958 (L.T.). 652
  • September 2, 1958 (L.T.). 654
  • September 17, 1958 (L.F.). 661
  • October 9, 1958 (L.T.). 670
  • November 6, 1958 (L.T.). 685
  • Kyl, John (Rep.). 780
  • KYL, JOHN. 759 -- 764, 778, 780, 781
  • Sub-Series: L
  • LABOR. 228
  • LABOR & FARMER. 595
  • Lamb, Mr. Bernard L. (National Dir.-Field Organization, Rep. Cong. Campaign Committee) September 5, 1956 (L.F.). 526
  • LAND-GRANT COLLEGE EMPLOYEE RETIREMENT, S.1850. 40
  • LAND, REMOVAL FROM PRODUCTION. 454, 455
  • Lavery, Charles J., M.D.
  • May 14, 1938 (L.F.). 3
  • December 9, 1939 (L.F.). 48
  • December 18, 1939 (L.F.). 62
  • LEADERSHIP CONE. 611, 614
  • LeCompte, Mrs. Karl, October 15, 1954 (L.F.). 403
  • LECOMPTE, KARL. 774
  • LEGISLATION To INTRODUCE IN 1940. 58
  • Lemke, William (Rep.-North Dakota). 976
  • LEAN-LEASE. 130, 131, 133, 134, 139, 160, 208
  • LESAN, MR. CHARLEY. 114, 115, 120, 121, 125, 128
  • LETTERS OF APPRECIATION. 414, 415, 418, 419
  • LETTERS OF COMMENDATION. 358, 359, 368, 370, 371
  • Life, Mr. Howard (Attorney)
  • January 23, 1942 (L.F.). 239
  • February 14, 1942 (L.T.). 245
  • October 28, 1957 (L.T.). 615
  • LIFE, MR. HOWARD (ATTORNEY). 150
  • LIFE, H.S. 184, 194, 198 -- 200, 208, 277
  • Lipscomb, Glenard P. (Rep.-California). 947
  • LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS. 612
  • Lodge, Henry Cabot, Jr. (Rep. to United Nations). 860
  • Long, Hon. George S. (Cong.-Iowa)
  • October 21, 1957 (L.F.). 612
  • October 23, 1957 (L.T.). 613
  • Loveless, Hon. Herschell (Gov.-Iowa)
  • November 8, 1956 (L.T.). 568
  • October 31, 1958 (L.T.). 673
  • November 4, 1958 (L.T.). 678
  • LOVE, HERSCHEL C. (GOV.). 781, 799
  • Luce, Clare Boothe. 922, 923
  • LUNDY, MR. HUGH. 218
  • Lynch, Mr. A., December 14, 1954 (L.T.). 402
  • Sub-Series: M
  • MacArthur II, Douglas (Ambassador to Japan). 892
  • McCoy, T/Sgt. James M.
  • September 5, 1957 (L.F.). 588
  • September 11, 1957 (L.T.). 594
  • September 17, 1957 (L.T.). 598
  • MCCOY, T/SGT. JAMES M. 586, 588, 594, 589, 597, 589
  • McCoy, Mr. Robert J. (Editor- Waterloo Courier), September 23, 1957 (L.T.). 605
  • McDonald , Mr. E.F., Jr. (President-Zenith Radio Corp), November 13, 1939 (L.F.). 15
  • McElroy, Mrs. Edith (Secretary-Iowa Centennial Committee)
  • January 11, 1947 (L.T.). 340
  • January 13, 1947 (L.F.). 341
  • McFarlin, Hon. Clyde (5th Dist. Committeeman), November 19, 1940 (L.F.). 104
  • McFarlin, Hon Clyde
  • MCFARLIN, HON. CLYDE. 169, 173, 20 , 213
  • McKeldin, Theodore R. (Gov.-Maryland). 924
  • McLain, Hon. Marvin C. (Assistant Secretary of Agriculture)
  • August 1, 1956 (L.F.). 484
  • August 1, 1956 (L.F.). 485
  • August 3, 1956 (L.F.). 486
  • September 4, 1956 (L.F.). 521
  • Martin, Hon. Joseph W. (National Committeeman- Massachusetts)
  • October 19, 1940 (L.T.). 82
  • November 8, 1954 (L.F.). 388
  • November 12, 1954 (L.T.). 395
  • December 6, 1955 (L.T.). 468
  • December 16, 1955 (L.T.). 471
  • October 19, 1957 (L.F.). 611
  • October 1957 (L.T.). 614
  • Martin, Joseph W., Jr. (Rep.-Massachusetts). 863, 876, 877, 884, 885, 888, 970
  • MARTIN, JOSEPH. 755
  • Martin, Hon Thomas E. (Sen.-Iowa)
  • December 11, 1939 (L.F.). 50
  • December 13, 1939 (L.T.). 56
  • October 23, 1940 (L.F.). 84
  • October 24, 1940 (L.T.). 85
  • November 7, 1940 (L.T). 101
  • November 10, 1944 (L.T.). 325
  • April 8, 1946 (L.T.). 333
  • April 9, 1946 (L.F.). 334
  • April 9, 1946 (L.F.). 335
  • July 3, 1946 (L.F.). 339
  • January 11, 1947 (L.F.). 340
  • January 16, 1947 (L.F.). 342
  • January 17, 1947 (L.T.). 343
  • November 4, 1954 (L.F.). 383
  • November 5, 1954 (L.T.). 384
  • November 5, 1954 (L.F.). 385
  • January 13, 1947 (L.T.). 341
  • November 12, 1954 (L.F.). 396
  • November 8, 1956 (L.F.). 572
  • November 10, 1956 (L.T.). 575
  • November 13, 1958 (L.T.). 691
  • December 4, 1958 (L.F.). 711
  • December 17, 1958 (L.T.). 723
  • December 29, 1958 (L.F.). 729
  • Martin, Thomas E. (Senator). 750, 751, 766, 783 -- 800
  • MARTIN, HON. THOMAS E. 129 -- 131, 759, 770
  • Martin, Hon. Verne R. (Chairman-Jasper Co. & Rep. Cout. Committee)
  • October 7, 1954 (L.F.). 356
  • October 7, 1954 (L.F.). 357
  • October 11, 1954 (L.T.). 360
  • November 11, 1954 (L.F.). 393
  • November 12, 1954 (L.T.). 394
  • August 16, 1958 (L.F.). 637
  • August 21, 1958 (L.T.). 369
  • MATERIAL AID TO BRITAIN. 74, 78, 107, 108
  • Maytag, Hon. Fred, II
  • October 22, 1955 (L.T.). 450
  • October 3, 1955 (L.T.). 453
  • Merrick, Mr. Henry S.
  • October 3, 1955 (L.T.). 438
  • October 25, 1955 (L.T.). 452
  • October 31, 1955 (L.F.). 454
  • November 3, 1955 (L.T.). 455
  • December 29, 1955 (L.T.). 479
  • Messmaker, Mr. Dale J.
  • November 3, 1958 (L.F.). 677
  • December 4, 1958 (L.T.). 713
  • December 8, 1958 (L.T.). 717
  • Michels, Mr. Wm. N. (Secretary- Property Owners Assoc. of Houston, Inc.), December 2, 1957 (L.F.). 618
  • Michener, Hon. Earl C. (Cong. - Michigan)
  • August 5, 1955 (L.F.). 413
  • August 14, 1955 (L.T.). 420
  • October 12, 1956 (L.F.). 541
  • October 15, 1956 (L.T.). 545
  • Michener, Earl C. (Rep.-Michigan). 974
  • MIDWEST GOVERNOR'S FARM CONFERENCE 1955. 439, 440
  • MIGRATORY WORKERS. 538
  • MILEAGE ALLOWANCE, REPEAL OF. 258, 261 -- 263, 265, 270
  • Miller, Jack (State Senator). 770
  • MILLER, JACK (STATE SENATOR). 209, 213, 215, 219, 228, 239, 248, 254, 770, 792
  • Mills, Mr. George S.
  • December 14, 1939 (L.F.). 58
  • December 15, 1939 (L.T.). 59
  • September 27, 1956 (L.T.) (Journalist). 533
  • Minutes- Iowa Advisory Committee, January 15, 1959. 745
  • Mitchell, Judge & Mrs. Richard F. (Interstate Commerce Commission Chairman)
  • N.D. (October 15, 1956) (Invitation F.). 546
  • October 17, 1956 (L.T.). 547
  • October 19, 1956 (L.F.). 548
  • October 25, 1956 (L.T.). 552
  • October 31, 1956 (L.F.). 555
  • MITCHELL, MR. RICHARD F. 542, 547 -- 549, 552, 553, 555
  • Mohler, Mr. J. R. (Chief of Bureau of Animal Husbandry USDA), December 19, 1939 (L.F.). 63
  • Moore, Mr. Harry, October22, 1954 (L.T.). 369
  • MOORE, MR. W. O., LETTER BY. 82
  • Moorman, Robert (Ex-Pres., So. Card. Society of Sons of the American Revolution) April 19, 1939 (L.F.). 1
  • Morano, Albert P. (Rep.). 945
  • MORE, MR. JAKE. 345
  • Morgan, Thomas E. (Rep.-Pennsylvania). 869
  • Morrissey, Hon. Ed., October 15, 1954 (L.T.). 363
  • Mouroney, A. S. Mike (Sen. - Oklahoma). 925 -- 929
  • Mumford, Mr. L. Quincy (Librarian of Congress), October 27, 1958 (L.F.). 671
  • Mundt, Karl (Rep.-South Dakota). 977
  • Munoz-Marin, Luis (Gov. - Puerto Rico). 901
  • Murray, Mr. J. G. (Managing Editor- Townsend National Weekly), July 13, 1944, (L.F.). 295
  • Murray, Mr. William G., June 10, 1958 (L.F.). 635
  • MUTUAL SECURITY PROGRAM. 593
  • Myers, Mr. O.T., March 3, 1941 (L.F.). 149
  • MYERS, MR. O.T. 148
  • Sub-Series: N
  • National Bank and Trust Co, (Chariton, Iowa), November 8, 1939 (Tele. F.). 4
  • National Citizens for Eisenhower -- Women's Eiv., August 6, 1956 (Invitation Form). 491
  • NATIONAL FARM FIELD DAYS PLOWING MATCHES 1956. 502, 503, 505, 506, 511, 515, 517, 518, 520, 527, 528
  • NATIONAL FARMERS ORGANIZATION. 887
  • NATIONAL WATERSHED CONF. 1956. 504, 516
  • NATO CONFERENCE. 869 -- 671, 904 -- 913, 930 -- 939, 942
  • CONFERENCE OF PARLIAMENTARIANS. 582, 623
  • CONFERENCE OF PARLIAMENTARIANS 1958. 644, 652
  • Nelson, Miss Princess M.
  • December 26, 1939 (L.F.). 70
  • December 27, 1939 (L.T.). 72
  • NELSON, PRINCESS M., APPOINTMENT OF. 70 -- 72
  • NEUTRALITY ACT. 204 , 207, 213, 218, 219
  • Amendments to. 224, 225, 229
  • NILES, MR. CLIFFORD. 218
  • Nixon, Hon. Richard M. (Vice-Pres., U.S.)
  • November 13, 1958 (L.T.). 692
  • December 31, 1958 (L.F.). 731
  • NIXON, RICHARD. 799
  • NOMINATION, 1944. 298
  • Nye, Mr. Frank T.
  • October 18, 1944 (L.F.). 310
  • October 20, 1944 (L.T.). 312
  • November 10, 1944 (L.T.). 318
  • Sub-Series: O
  • O'Connor, John J. (Attorney, New York). 883
  • Oehler, Mr. G. Monte, December 26, 1939 (L.T.). 67
  • OEHLER, MR. MONTE G., APPOINTMENT OF. 53, 54, 63, 66, 67, 73
  • Office of Price Administration, October 12, 1944 (L.F.). 30816
  • OFFICER CANDIDATE SCHOOL -- AIR FORCE. 588, 589, 594, 597, 598
  • O'Hara, Joseph Patrick (Rep. -- Minnesota). 875
  • O'HARA, JOSEPH PATRICK (Rep. – Minnesota). 874
  • OLD SETTLER'S REUNION 1956. 488, 489, 494, 509
  • Oliver, Mr. W. Lawrence (Member -- Iowa Advisory Committee), January 14, 1959 (L.T.). 744
  • OUR SUNDAY VISITOR. 315
  • Owings, Mr. B. M. (Editor, Chariton Herald-Patriot), September. 17, 1957 (Tele. T. Copy). 599
  • Sub-Series: P
  • Parker, Hon. Addison M., December 2, 1939 (L.T.). 32
  • PATRONAGE. 70, 104, 126, 127, 130 -- 133, 140, 166, 172, 180, 186, 225, 531, 554, 768, 751, 780, 785, 786 -- 789, 791, 794 -- 796, 798, 799
  • Patterson, Mr. Robert P. (Assistant Secretary of War), November 25, 1940 (L.F.). 106, 986
  • Patterson, Mr. W. A. (Pres. -- United Airlines), December 8, 1958 (L.T.). 719
  • PAYMENTS TO FARMERS. 79 -- 81
  • Pedrick, Mr. H. G.
  • October 16, 1954 (L.F.) 364
  • October 20, 1954 (L.T.) 367
  • PENSIONS. 785, 867
  • PEOPLE-TO-PEOPLE PARTNERSHIP 1956. 510, 514
  • Persons, William B. (Assistant to President). 774
  • PHILIPPINES, DEFENSE OF 74, 78
  • Pierson, Hon. Don (Rep. -- State Chairman)
  • October 23, 1954 (L.F.) 372
  • October 25, 1954 (L.T.) 375
  • PIERSON, HON. DON (REP. -- STATE CHAIRMAN). 505, 506
  • "Plan for Government Storage" by G. M. Titus, December 2, 1939 (Article). 33
  • "PLAN FOR GOVERNMENT STORAGE". 45
  • Plumley, Hon. Charles A. (Cong. -- Vermont), October 26, 1944 (L.F.). 314
  • POLITICS
  • 1939 -- 1940. 68, 69
  • 1940. 81, 82, 84, 87, 88
  • 1941. 121, 122, 134
  • 1942. 164, 191, 194, 196 , 201 , 202 , 205 -- 207, 210, 217, 220, 222, 223, 229 -- 231, 234 -- 237, 239 -- 260, 262 -- 266, 269, 271 -- 273, 275 -- 278, 280 -- 286, 288, 297, 302, 413, 420, 422, 425, 428, 432, 445, 449, 452, 454, 455, 468, 470, 527, 528, 723, 729, 743
  • POSTMASTER APPOINTMENT. 677, 700, 708, 712 -- 714, 716, 717
  • POST OFFICES. 363, 792
  • POST OFFICE SITES. 766
  • Poston, Mrs. Kathryn, October 24, 1944. 312
  • Powell, Adam, (Rep. -- New York). 899
  • "A PRACTICAL WAY OUT OF 'THE PRESENT MESS' OF RELIEF, UNEMPLOYMENT, BURDENSOME TAXATION" (PAMPHLET). 3
  • PRENTIS, HON. X. T. 114 -- 117, 120 , 121, 124, 128, 129, 131, 203
  • Price, Mr. Jackson E. (Acting Dir. -- National Park Service)
  • September 4, 1957 (L.F.). 585
  • September 9, 1957 (L.T.). 591
  • PRICE AND WAGE CONTROL. 286
  • Priest, Ivy Baker (Treasurer, U.S.). 861
  • PRIMARY ELECTION 1958. 635
  • PRIMARY VICTORY 1954. 354
  • Property Owner's Assoc. of Houston, Inc., December 2, 1957 (L.F.). 618
  • Prouty, Winston 1. (Rep. -- Vermont). 864
  • Public Law 85 -- 815, Civil Rights Act of 1957, September 9, 1957 (Booklets). 703
  • Sub-Series: Q
  • QUESTIONAIRE ON ISSUES. 74, 78
  • Sub-Series: R
  • RADIO STATION, ERECTION OF IN OTTUMWA. 16, 17
  • Radous, Mr. Lucien (Publisher -- Western World Review), October 29, 1958 (L.F.). 672
  • Randall, Mr. O. S., October 16, 1940 (L.T.). 77
  • RANDALL, MR. O. S., PATRONAGE. 75 -- 77
  • RATHBUN DAM PROJECT. 421, 424, 436, 441, 446, 447, 529, 530, 943, 944
  • Rayburn, Hon. Sam (Speaker -- U.S. House of Reps.)
  • September 3, 1957 (L.T.). 583
  • August 25, 1958 (L.T.). 644
  • August 29, 1958 (L.T.). 652
  • Rayburn, Sam (Speaker of House). 867
  • REA LOANS. 720, 725
  • RECEPTION FOR MISS UNIVERSE. 497, 498
  • RECIPROCAL TRADE TREATY, VIEWS ON. 58, 59
  • RECOMMENDATIONS. 450, 453
  • RED CHINA. 656, 659
  • REDISTRICTING. 113
  • 1941. 114 -- 123, 126 -- 131, 133, 134, 138 -- 141, 143 -- 159, 162, 163, 165 -- 167, 170, -- 172, 174, 176, 178
  • REGIONAL AGRICULTURAL CENTERS S2958. 40
  • REP. CONGRESSIONAL COMMITTEE 1944. 304, 305
  • Republican Business Men of Mt. Aur., January 20, 1942 (L.F.). 237
  • REPUBLICAN NATIONAL COMMITTEE. 171
  • REPUBLICAN NATIONAL COMMITTEEMAN, ELECTION OF 1940. 20, 25, 41, 43
  • REPUBLICAN NATIONAL CONVENTION 1940. 48, 68, 69
  • REPUBLICAN PARTY. 264, 266
  • REPUBLICAN STATE CENTRAL COMMITTEE. 143, 165, 167, 169, 173, 178
  • RETIREMENT. 637 -- 639, 641 -- 643, 646 -- 652, 655, 657, 660, 665, 667, 731
  • RETIREMENT LETTERS. 945 -- 952, All of Folder 78
  • Reuther, Walter P. (Pres. AFL-CIO). 898
  • Reynolds, Mr. Conger (Chief -- Office of Private Cooperation -- USIA)
  • August 23, 1956 (L.F.). 510
  • August 27, 1956 (L.T.). 514
  • Rhodes, Mr. James R., December 26, 1936 (L.T.). 69
  • Roach, Mr. Howard L. (Chairman -- National Rep. Farm Council), September. 2, 1955 (L.F.). 431
  • Roberts, Hon. Ralph R. (Clerk -- U.S. House of Reps.), September. 19, 1957 (L.F.). 602
  • Rodgers, Mr. Richard C., M.D. (Chairman -- Palnea Ceia Methodist Peace Commission)
  • September 8, 1958 (Tele. F.). 656
  • September 10, 1958 (L.T.). 659
  • Romulo, Hon. Carlos P. (Philippine Ambassador)
  • April 11, 1956 (L.F.). 481
  • May 11, 1956 (L.F.). 482
  • ROOSEVELT, PRES. FRANKLIN D. 81, 107 , 251
  • Roosevelt , Hon. Franklin D., Jr. (Cong. -- New York)
  • June 23, 1952 (L.F.). 344
  • April 29 , 1953 (L.F.). 345
  • ROSE BOWL, 1958. 690
  • RUPE, MR. W. S. 43
  • RURAL FREE DELIVERY. 771 , 772 , 792, 795, 797, 800, 866
  • Sub-Series: S
  • Savage, Marjorie 777, 782
  • Sayler, Mrs. Aletha (Secretary to State Auditor), December 27, 1939 (L.F.). 73
  • SCHULTZ, MRS. LEAH. 624, 625
  • Schwengel, Hon. Fred
  • November 4, 1954 (L.T.). 382
  • August 6, 1955 (L.F.). 414
  • August 12, 1955 (L.T.). 418
  • November 9, 1955 (L.F.). 460
  • November 13, 1955 (L.T.). 462
  • August 6, 1956 (L.F.). 490
  • October 9, 1956 (L.F.). 538
  • November 7, 1956 (Tele. F.). 558
  • November 8, 1956 (L.T.). 562
  • September 5, 1957 (L.F.). 586
  • September 6, 1957 (L.T.). 589
  • September 9, 1957 (L.F.). 590
  • N.D. December 11, 1957 (Card F.). 619
  • December 13, 1957 (L.T.). 620
  • August 21, 1958 (L.T.). 640
  • August 28, 1958 (L.T.). 648
  • September 10, 1957 (L.T.). 592
  • November 6, 1958 (L.T.). 682
  • November 10, 1958 (L.F.). 689
  • January 12, 1959 (L.F.). 743
  • Schwengel, Fred. 746, 755
  • Scudder, Hubert B. (Rep.). 897
  • Selden, Armistead J., Jr., (Rep. – Alabama). 868, 896
  • SENATE COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE AND FORESTRY. 865
  • SENATE LEADERSHIP FIGHT, 1959. 739
  • Senior, Mr. Colin F. (Chairman – Pancake Day 1957 – Centerville, Iowa), October 19, 1956 (L.F.). 550
  • Senior, Mr. Colin F., October 23, 1956 (L.T.). 550
  • Shanley, Mr. Bernard M. (Secretary to the Pres.)
  • August 10, 1956 (L.F.). 497
  • August 17, 1956 (L.T.). 503
  • Shaw, Mr. E.K.
  • August 23, 1956 (L.F.). 511
  • August 31, 1956 (L.T.). 520
  • SHEEP. 344
  • Speer, Mr. Bob, October 7, 1940 (L.F.). 74
  • Shine, Mr. Henry M., Jr. (Committee on Civil Rights)
  • November 28, 1958 (L.F.). 701
  • December 19, 1958 (L.T.). 724
  • January 5, 1959 (L.F.). 738
  • Shine, Mr. Henry M., Jr. 747, 749, 804 -- 811, 813 -- 817, 822, 828, 831, 835, 836, 838 -- 840, 845 -- 849, 851, 856
  • SHIPMENT OF SURPLUS FOOD TO COMMUNIST COUNTRIES. 435
  • Showalter, Mr. W. F. (Wayne Co. Conserv. Committee), November 8, 1939 (L.T.). 10
  • Shuford, George A. (Rep. -- North Carolina). 882
  • Singlin, Mr. Amos B.
  • August 3, 1956 (L.F.). 487
  • August 8, 1956 (L.T.). 495
  • Simpson, Hon. Richard
  • August 23, 1955 (L.T.). 427
  • Chairman National Republican Congressional Committee. 879, 915 -- 917
  • August 17, 1955 (L.T.). 423
  • Smith, Mr. C. W. (Wayne Co. Conserv. Committee), November 8, 1939 (L.T.). 10
  • Smith, Mr. Ralph W. (Master of Iowa State Grange), December 12, 1939 (L.T.). 52
  • SMITH AMENDMENTS TO WAGNER ACT. 74, 78
  • SOIL BANK. 484, 485, 500, 503, 507, 521
  • Sokolsky, Mr. George E. (Editorialist), January 21, 1946 (L.F.). 329
  • SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION, MEMBERSHIP IN. 1, 2
  • SOUTH AMERICAN TRIP. 865, 868
  • SOY BEANS. 21
  • Spangler, Hon. Harrison E. (Rep. National Committeeman -- Iowa)
  • November 1, 1940 (L.F.). 88
  • November 2, 1940 (L.T.). 91
  • July 14, 1944 (Speech by). 296
  • August 1, 1944 (L.F.). 299
  • August 8, 1944 (L.T.). 300
  • SPANGLER, HON. HARRISON (REP. NATIONAL COMMITTEEMAN). 20, 25, 41, 43, 116, 120, 140, 167, 174, 280, 282, 289
  • Sprague, J. Russell (Manager -- Dewey for Pres. Committee)
  • November 22, 1939 (L.F.). 18
  • December 2, 1939 (L.T.). 30
  • Staley, Mr. Oren Lee (Pres. -- NFO)
  • December 14, 1956 (L.F.). 577
  • December 17, 1956 (L.T.). 578
  • Starrett, Mr. Charles P.(Master of Iowa Grange -- Past), December 12, 1939 (L.T.). 51
  • Stassen, Hon. Harold F., June 22, 1954 (L.F.). 354
  • Stevens, Mr. Samuel N. (Pres. -- Grinnell College)
  • April 22, 1946 (L.F.). 337
  • April 25, 1946 (L.T.). 338
  • STEVENSON, HON. ADLAI. 413, 420, 422, 425, 428, 432
  • STEVENSON'S IOWA VISIT – 1956. 487, 495
  • Still, Mr. Samuel H. (Chief Counsel, Subcommittee Elections), September. 23, 1957 (L.F.). 605
  • Stimson, Henry L. (Sec. of War). 981
  • Stolpe, Mr. Bert E. (Chairman -- Iowa Centennial Committee)
  • March 25, 1946 (L.F.). 330
  • April 1, 1946 (L.T.). 331
  • April 8, 1946. 332
  • April 9, 1946 (L.T.). 334
  • April 11, 1946 (L.T.). 336
  • Strauss, Hon. Lewis L. (Chairman -- AEC)
  • August 10, 1956 (L.F.). 496
  • August 17, 1956 (L.T.). 501
  • Stuart. Mr. George (Attorney), October 28, 1957 (L.T.). 616
  • Stuck, Mr. Peter (Secretary -- Amana Society)
  • December 4, 1939 (L.F.). 36
  • December 5, 1939 (L.T.). 37
  • SUBCOMMITTEE REPORT ON PAPERWORK MANAGEMENT. 513, 519
  • Summerfield, Arthur E. 771
  • Swan, Mr. Harry B. (Rep. State Chairman)
  • November 16, 1939 (L.F.). 16
  • November 17, 1939 (L.T.). 17
  • SWAN, HON. HARRY (REP. STATE CHAIRMAN). 144 -- 147, 150, 155, 156, 158, 161, 162, 165, 167
  • Swift, Mr. Oral S.
  • December 4, 1939 (L.F.). 35
  • December 5, 1939 (L.T.). 38
  • December 6, 1939 (L.F.). 39
  • December 7, 1939 (L.T.). 42
  • Synhorst, Hon Melvin D. (Secretary of State), November 8, 1956 (L.T.). 569
  • Sub-Series: T
  • Tabor, Hon. John (Cong. -- New York), July 10, 1944 (L.F.). 293
  • TAFT, SEN. ROBERT A. 32, 45
  • Talle, Hon. Henry O. (Cong. -- Iowa)
  • November 7, 1940 (L.T.). 98
  • November 21, 1940 (L.F.). 105
  • November 10, 1944 (L.T.). 324
  • December 28, 1945 (L.F.). 328
  • November 4, 1954 (L.T.). 381
  • November 8, 1954 (L.F.). 387
  • August 1, 1956 (L.T.). 485
  • November 8, 1956 (L.T.). 561
  • August 20, 1958 (L.F.). 638
  • August 22, 1958 (L.T.). 642
  • August 28, 1958 (L.T.). 649
  • November 15, 1958 (L.F.). 695
  • Talle, Henry O. (Assistant Administrator, Housing & Home Finance Agency). 773 
  • Talle, Hon. & Mrs. Henry O.
  • November 6, 1958 (L.T.). 683
  • September 3, 1957 (L.T.). 581
  • Talle, Mrs. Henry O. 754
  • TALLE, HENRY (ASS'T ADMIN. PROGRAM PLANNING, HOUSING AND HOME FINANCE AGENCY). 754, 756
  • TAX COMMISSION, STATE. 104
  • TAXES. 62
  • Teague, Hon. Olin E. (Cong. -- Tex. & Chairman Veterans Affairs Committee)
  • December 26, 1957 (L.T.). 624
  • December 27, 1957 (L.F.). 625
  • Tedford, Mr. Howard
  • December 29, 1940 (L.F.). 113
  • January 2, 1941 (L.F.). 114
  • January 4, 1941 (L.T.). 115
  • January 7, 1941 (L.F.). 116
  • January 8, 1941 (L.F.). 117
  • January 10, 1941 (L.T.). 118, 119
  • January 14, 1941 (L.T.). 120
  • January 18, 1941 (L.F.). 121
  • January 17, 1941 (L.T.). 122
  • January 17, 1941 (L.F.). 123, 124
  • January 18, 1941 (L.T.). 125
  • January 29, 1941 (L.F.). 126
  • January 24, 1941 (L.T.). 127
  • January 28, 1941 (L.F.). 128
  • January 30, 1941 (L.F.). 129
  • February 2, 1941 (L.T.). 130
  • February 5, 1941 (L.F.). 131
  • February 7, 1941 (L.T.). 132
  • February 9, 1941 (L.T.). 133
  • February 11, 1941 (L.F.). 134
  • February 13, 1941 (L.F.). 135, 136
  • February 17, 1941 (L.F.). 138
  • February 18, 1941 (L.T.). 139
  • February 18, 1941 (L.F.). 140
  • February 19, 1941 (L.T.). 141
  • February 21, 1941 (L.F.). 142
  • February 23, 1941 (L.T.). 143
  • February 26, 1941 (L.T.). 144
  • March 1, 1941 (L.T.). 145
  • March 3, 1941 (L.T.). 146, 149
  • March 3, 1941 (L.F.). 147
  • March 4, 1941 (L.F.). 148
  • March 4, 1941 (L.T.). 150
  • March 5, 1941 (L.F.). 151, 152
  • March 5, 194L (L.T.). 153
  • March 6, 1941 (L.F.). 154
  • March 6, 1941 (L.T.). 155
  • March 7, 1941 (L.F.). 156
  • March 8, 1941 (L.T.). 157
  • March 10, 1941 (L.T.). 158
  • March 11, 1941 (L.T.). 159
  • March 12, 1941 (L.T.). 160
  • March 13, 1941 (L.T.). 161
  • March 14, 1941 (L.T.). 162
  • March 17, 1941 (L.T.). 163
  • March 17, 1941 (L.F.). 164, 168
  • March 18, 1941 (L.T.). 165
  • March 19, 1941 (L.T.). 166
  • March 19, 1941 (L.F.). 167
  • March 20, 1941 (L.T.). 169
  • March 20, 1941 (L.F.). 170
  • March 22, 1941 (L.T.). 171
  • March 22, 1941 (L.F.). 172, 173
  • March 25, 1941 (L.T.). 174
  • March 27, 1941 (L.T.). 175
  • April 2, 1941 (L.F.). 176
  • Note From. 177, 193, 197
  • March 30, 1941 (L.T.). 178
  • May 22, 1941 (L.T.). 179
  • May 23, 1941 (L.F.). 180
  • May 26, 1941 (L.T.). 181
  • June 24, 1941 (L.T.). 182
  • June 24, 1941 (L.F.). 183
  • June 28, 1941. 184
  • July 1, 1941 (L.T.). 185
  • July 7, 1941 (L.T.). 186
  • July 7, 1941 (L.F.). 187
  • July 11, 1941 (L.F.). 188
  • July 13, 1941 (L.T.). 189
  • July 14, 1941 (L.F.). 190
  • July 15, 1941 (L.T.). 191
  • July 18, 1941 (L.F.). 192
  • July 19, 1941 (L.F.). 194
  • July 21, 1941 (L.T.). 195
  • July 24, 1941 (L.F.). 196
  • July 29, 1941 (L.T.). 198
  • July 31, 1941 (L.F.). 199
  • August 5, 1941 (L.T.). 200
  • August 27, 1941 (L.F.). 201
  • September 2, 1941 (L.T.). 202
  • September 13, 1941 (L.F.). 203
  • September 19, 1941 (L.F.). 204
  • September 24, 1941 (L.F.). 205
  • October 7, 1941 (L.T.). 206
  • October 9, 1941 (L.F.). 207
  • October 13, 1941 (L.T.). 208
  • October 20, 1941 (L.T.). 209
  • October 21, 1941 (L.F.). 210
  • October 24, 1941 (L.T.). 213
  • October 26, 1941 (L.F.). 214
  • October 27, 1941 (L.T.). 215
  • October 27, 1941 (L.F.). 216
  • October 29, 1941 (L.T.). 217
  • November 8, 1941 (L.F.). 219
  • November 10, 1941 (L.F.). 220
  • November 17, 1941 (L.T.). 221
  • November 21, 1941 (L.F.). 222
  • November 23, 1941 (L.T.). 223
  • November 28, 1941 (L.F.). 225
  • November 29, 1941 (L.F.). 226
  • December 2, 1941 (L.F.). 227
  • December 6, 1941 (L.T.). 228
  • December 14, 1941 (L.T.). 230
  • December 18, 1941 (L.F.). 231
  • December 25, 1941 (L.F.). 233
  • January 10, 1942 (L.T.). 234
  • January 13, 1942 (L.F.). 235
  • January 22, 1942 (L.F.). 238
  • January 28, 1942 (L.T.). 240
  • January 29, 1942 (L.F.). 241
  • January 29, 1942 (L.T.). 242
  • January 31 1942 (L.F.). 243
  • February 1, 1942 (L.F.). 244
  • February 2, 1942 (L.F.). 245
  • February 3, 1942 (L.F.). 245
  • February 5, 1942 (L.T.). 248
  • February 8, 1942 (L.F.). 249
  • February 11, 1942 (L.T.). 250
  • February 11, 1942 (L.F.). 251
  • February 12, 1942 (L.F.). 252
  • February 13, 1942 (L.F.). 253
  • February 14, 1941 (L.T.). 255
  • February 14, 1942 (L.F.). 256
  • February 18, 1942 (L.F.). 257
  • February 19, 1942 (L.F.). 258
  • February 20, 1942 (L.F.). 259
  • February 23, 1942 (L.T.). 260
  • March 12, 1942 (L.F.). 261
  • March 14, 1942 (L.F.). 262
  • March 17, 1942 (L.T.). 263
  • March 19, 1942 (L.F.). 265
  • March 27, 1942 (L.F.). 268
  • N.D. (Note F.). 269
  • March 31, 1942 (L.T.). 270
  • April 5, 1942 (L.F). 271
  • April 9, 1942 (L.T). 272
  • May 13, 1942 (L.F.). 273
  • May 22, 1942 (L.T.). 274
  • N.D. (Notes F.). 275
  • May 14, 1942 (L.T.). 276
  • September 24, 1942 (L.T.). 277
  • September 26, 1942 (L.F.). 278
  • September 29, 1942 (L.F.). 279
  • September 30, 1942 (L.T.). 280
  • October 3, 1942 (L.F.). 281
  • October 8, 1942 (L.T.). 282
  • October 9, 1942 (L.F.). 283
  • October 12, 1942 (L.T.). 284
  • October 13, 1942 (L.F.). 285
  • October 15, 1942 (L.T.). 286
  • November 17, 1942 (L.F.). 287
  • November 25, 1942 (L.T.). 288
  • January 14, 1943 (L.F.). 289
  • March 22, 1943 (L.F.). 290
  • April 14, 1943 (L.F.). 291
  • TELEVISION, GOVERNMENT SUBSIDY OF. 15
  • THANK YOU LETTERS. 640, Folder #79
  • Thomas, Albert (Rep.). 895
  • Thompson, Frank (Rep. -- New Jersey). 894
  • Thompson, Hon. Clark W. (Cong. -- Texas)
  • November 13, 1958 (L.F.). 694
  • November 17, 1958 (L.T.). 697
  • December 8, 1958 (L.T.). 718
  • Thompson, Clark W. 881
  • THORNBURG, MR. MARK. 208, 209 , 213, 214, 216, 218, 219, 228
  • Thurston, Hon. Lloyd
  • November 10, 1939 (L.T.). 13
  • November 23, 1939 (L.F.). 19
  • November 24, 1939 (L.F.). 21
  • November 28, 1939 (L.T.). 26
  • December 15, 1953 (L.T.). 346
  • October 15, 1954 (L.T.). 403
  • November 9, 1954 (L.F.). 389
  • November 10, 1954 (L.T.). 311
  • December 13, 1954 (L.T.). 400
  • August 8, 1955 (L.F.). 416
  • August 11, 1955 (L.T.). 417
  • September 5, 1956 (Tele. F.). 523
  • September 5, 1956 (Tele. T.). 524
  • October 11, 1956 (L.F.). 540
  • October 15, 1956 (L.T.). 544
  • December 31, 1957 (L.T.). 626
  • May 8, 1958 (L.F.). 632
  • May 17, 1958 (L.T.). 633
  • THURSTON, HON. LLOYD. 25, 134, 142, 150, 205 , 208 , 213 -- 216, 218 -- 220, 225, 228, 233
  • Thurston, Hon. & Mrs. Lloyd
  • N.D. December 18, 1957 (Card F.). 621
  • December 20, 1957 (L.T.). 622
  • THURSTON TESTIMONY ON VETERANS BENEFITS. 416, 417
  • Thye, Edward J. (Sen.). 893
  • Titus, Mr. G. M.
  • December 2, 1939 (L.F.). 32
  • December 2, 1939 (Article) "Plan for Government Storage". 33
  • December 8, 1939 (L.T.). 45
  • Townsend, Dr. Francis E.
  • June 22, 1944 (L.F.). 292
  • July 11, 1944 (L.T.). 294
  • Townsend National Weekly, July 13, 1944 (L.F.). 29
  • TOWNSEND PLAN. 292, 294, 295
  • TRUMAN, PRES. HARRY S. 375
  • Turner, Hon. Dan
  • November 23, 1939 (L.F.). 20
  • November 25, 1939 (L.T.). 25
  • December 6, 1939 (L.F.). 41
  • December 7, 1939 (L.T.). 43
  • October 31, 1940 (L.F.). 87
  • November 2, 1940 (L.T.). 90
  • November 9, 1955 (L.F.) N.D. 461
  • November 14, 1955 (L.T.). 463
  • TURNER, HON. DAN W. 116 -- 118, 121, 134, 142, 144, 160, 204, 207, 214, 218, 219, 228, 229, 236, 240, 251, 252, 254, 259, 260, 263
  • TURNER, GOV. DAN. 493
  • Turner, Hon. Dan W. and Mrs.
  • December 22, 1953 (L.T.). 347
  • December 13, 1954 ((L.T.). 401
  • December 29, 1955 (L.T.). 480
  • December 31, 1957 (Card E.). 628
  • Sub-Series: U
  • UNITED NATIONS. 665
  • UNITED NATIONS DAY 1955. 442, 444
  • UNITED NATIONS QUESTIONNAIRE. 536, 537
  • United Press Associations
  • October 7, 1940 (L.F.). 74
  • October 18, 1940 (L.T.). 78
  • U.S. Territorial Expansion Memorial Commission
  • September 3, 1957 (L.F.). 584
  • Sub-Series: V
  • VALENTINE, JOHN. 209
  • VANDENBURG, SEN. ARTHUR. 254
  • Varney, Mr. J.C., February 3, 1942 (L.T.). 247
  • VETERANS BENEFITS. 624, 625
  • VICE-PRESIDENTIAL NOMINATION 1940. 48
  • Virkus, Mr. Fred A. (Chairman -- Conference of Small Business Organizations)
  • October 8, 1954 (L.F.). 358
  • October 11, 1954 (L.F.). 359
  • October 21, 1954 (L.T.). 368
  • October 22, 1954 (L.F.). 370
  • October 23, 1954 (L.T.). 371
  • Voice of the People, September. 23, 1844 (L.F.). 303
  • VOICE OF THE PEOPLE. 303
  • Vorys, Hon. John M. (Cong. -- Ohio) September, 10, 1957 (L.F.). 593
  • Sub-Series: W
  • WAGE AND HOUR ACT. 35, 36
  • Wallace, Henry A. (Secretary Of Agriculture)
  • November 8, 1939 (Tele. T.). 6
  • July 28, 1944 (L.T.). 298
  • WALLACE, HENRY A. 5, 6, 297
  • TELEGRAM TO. 7, 8, 10, 11, 12
  • WALLACE FARM PROGRAM. 32
  • WAR. 107, 108, 229, 230, 232, 233, 235
  • 1941. 135, 181 -- 184, 187, 194, 204, 207, 219
  • 1942. 266, 270, 272, 281, 282, 286
  • 1943. 290
  • "War and Peace" (Editorial -- Fortune magazine). 247, 254
  • December 1939. 28
  • "WAR AND PEACE". 27, 28, 31
  • WAR MEMORIAL. 189
  • WARREN, CHIEF JUSTICE EARL. 452, 454, 455, 479
  • Waterloo Courier Editorial, September. 26, 1957. 607
  • WATERSHEDS 1956. 486
  • WATERSHED DRAINAGE. 500, 504
  • Wayne County Conservation Committee, November 8, 1939 (L.T.). 10
  • WEBB, MR. ARNOLD (MAYOR OF MYSTIC, IOWA). 14
  • Welsh, Mrs. Margaret
  • January 2, 1941 (L.T.). 114
  • February 13, 1941 (L.T.). 135
  • April 2, 1941 (L.T.). 176
  • August 27, 1941 (L.T.). 201
  • September 2, 1941 (L.F.). 202
  • February 20, 1942 (L.T.). 259
  • March 27, 1942 (L.T.). 268
  • September 30, 1955 (L.F.). 436
  • August 28, 1956 (L.F.). 515
  • September 20, 1957 (L.F.). 603
  • September 24, 1957 (L.T.). 606
  • December 20, 1957 (L.F.). 623
  • August 22, 1958 (L.T.). 641
  • August 25, 1958 (L.T.). 645
  • Western World Review, October 29, 1958 (L.F.). 672
  • White, Compton I. (Rep. -- Idaho). 921
  • WHITE, MR. WILLIAM ALLEN. 107, 108
  • Wilbur, Mr. Jerry, October 11, 1954 (L.F). 361
  • Wilcox, Hon. Francis O. (Assistant Secretary of State)
  • September 26, 1958 (L.F.). 665
  • October 3, 1958 (L.T.). 667
  • Willkie, Hon. Wendell
  • October 19, 1946 (Tele. T.). 80
  • October 21, 1941 (L.F.). 211
  • October 24, 1941 (L.T.). 212
  • November 25, 1941 (L.F.). 224
  • December 22, 1941 (L.F.). 232
  • Willkie, Wendell L. 963
  • WILLKIE, HON. WENDELL. 48, 114, 136, 139, 204, 207, 278, 290, 297
  • WILLKIE, HON. WENDELL, CANDIDACY OF. 81
  • TELEGRAM TO. 79, 81
  • Wilson, Hon. George A. (Gov. -- Iowa)
  • November 13, 1939 (L.T.). 14
  • December 27, 1939 (L.T.). 71
  • WILSON, GOV. GEORGE A. 70, 72, 124, 134, 136, 142, 150, 179, 180, 184, 185, 203, 208, 213, 214, 216, 218, 219, 228, 246, 248, 249, 254, 273, 276, 277, 280, 281, 282
  • Wood, Hon W. G. (State Rep. -- Iowa)
  • February 16, 1941 (L.F.). 137
  • Sub-Series: Z
  • Zablocki, Clement J. (Rep. -- Wisconsin). 877, 951
  • Zenith Radio Corporation, November 13, 1939 (L.F.). 15
  • Zimmerer, Mr. Edmund G., M.D., M.P.H. (Commissioner of Public Health), October 5, 1956 (L.F.). 535
  • Zunkel, Mr. William, November 8, 1939 (L.T.). 11