Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Carr and Carr Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1857-1957
Creator: Carr and Carr
Extent: .00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0130
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Complete records of a pioneer law firm and several of its predecessors, including correspondence, account books, ledgers, cases, journals, and receipts.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Hubert Carr in 1959 and 1960.Guide posted to Internet: June 2004.

Preferred Citation: Records of Carr and Carr, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The pioneer law firm Carr and Carr was located in Manchester Iowa. Several firm members were active in state and local politics and in the founding and administration of the Manchester and Oneida Railroad. The donor of the collection, Hubert Carr, was a graduate of the University of Iowa and received his law degree from Drake University in Des Moines. He was admitted to the bar in 1901 and succeeded his father, E. M. Carr, as president of the Manchester and Oneida Railroad until its dissolution in 1956. Hubert Carr died in 1967.

The collection consists of the complete office records of the Carr and Carr firm, and of its several predecessors. Included are incoming and outgoing correspondence, account books, ledgers, cases, journals and receipts. Members of the firm who are represented in the collection include Ray B. Griffin, Charles E. Bronson, Millard F. LeRoy, Hubert Carr, Edward M. Carr and Amos S. Blair. The records of the Manchester and Oneida Railroad, which E. M. Carr founded, are also included.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: BUSINESS PAPERS AND RECEIPTS
Series 3: CASES
Series 4: LEDGER BOOKS

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Handwritten index to the papers
  • Folders No. 1-3, Items No. 1-555, Correspondence
  • Box 2:
  • Folders No. 4-6, Items No. 556-1099, Correspondence
  • Box 3:
  • Folders No. 7-10, Items No. 1100-1720, Correspondence
  • Box 4:
  • Folders No. 11-14, Items No. 1100-1720, Correspondence
  • Box 5:
  • Hubert Carr Correspondence, M & O Railroad - 1900-1918
  • Box 6:
  • Personal Correspondence
  • Box 7:
  • Personal Correspondence - 1939-1942
  • Box 8:
  • Personal Correspondence - 1944-1947
  • Box 9:
  • Publishers, Subscriptions
  • Box 10:
  • Personal Correspondence - 1942-1944
  • Box 11:
  • Personal Correspondence - 1936-1939
  • Box 12:
  • Family and Personal, Correspondence
  • Box 13:
  • Correspondence, Personal
  • Box 14:
  • Family and Personal
  • Box 15:
  • Family and Personal, Correspondence, etc.
  • Series 2: BUSINESS PAPERS AND RECEIPTS
  • Box 16:
  • Hubert Carr, Legal Papers, Real Estate Papers, Printing Press Letters, Printers and Stationers, Manchester DemocraT
  • Box 17:
  • Business (Miscellany)
  • Box 18:
  • Manchester Democrat, Correspondence
  • Box 19:
  • Publishers, Subscribers
  • Box 20:
  • E.M. Carr, M & O Railway Co. - 1900-1921
  • Box 21:
  • E.M. Carr, M & O Railway Co. - 1925-1946
  • Box 22:
  • Bonds and Insurance
  • Box 23:
  • Bonds and Insurance
  • Box 24:
  • Utility Bills - 1917-1925
  • Box 25:
  • Utility Bills - 1925-1945
  • Box 26:
  • Insurance Cos., Receipts - 1915-1944
  • Box 27:
  • Tax Receipts - 1916-1949
  • Law Firm Receipts - 1916-1943
  • Box 28:
  • Manchester Democrat, Receipts - 1916-1917
  • Box 29:
  • Manchester Democrat, Receipts - 1916-1948
  • Box 30:
  • Book Sellers Receipts - 1915-1918
  • Box 31:
  • Misc. Receipts - 1917-1918
  • Box 32:
  • Misc. Receipts - 1914-1919
  • Box 33:
  • Misc. Receipts - 1919-1921
  • Box 34:
  • Misc. Receipts - 1920-1923
  • Box 35:
  • Misc. Receipts - 1923-1926
  • Box 36:
  • Misc. Receipts - 1926-1933
  • Box 37:
  • Misc. Receipts - 1927-1935
  • Box 38:
  • Misc. Receipts - 1926-1931
  • Box 39:
  • Misc. Receipts - 1931-1937
  • Box 40:
  • Misc. Receipts - 1937-1939
  • Box 41:
  • Misc. Receipts - 1939
  • Box 42:
  • Misc. Receipts - 1943-1948
  • Box 43:
  • Receipts, n.d.
  • Box 44:
  • Law Firm Correspondence, n.d.
  • Box 45:
  • Law Firm Correspondence, n.d.
  • Box 46:
  • Law Firm Correspondence, n.d.
  • Box 47:
  • Law Firm Correspondence, n.d.
  • Box 48:
  • Law Firm Correspondence, n.d.
  • Box 49:
  • Law Correspondence - 1935-1942
  • Box 50:
  • Law Firm Correspondence - 1943-1947
  • Insurance, Bonds - 1935-1947
  • Box 51:
  • Law Firm Correspondence, n.d.
  • Box 52:
  • Law Firm Correspondence, n.d.
  • Box 53:
  • Legal Cases, Correspondence
  • Box 54:
  • Hubert Carr, Legal Papers
  • Box 55:
  • Hubert Carr, Legal Papers
  • Box 56:
  • Hubert Carr, Legal Papers
  • Box 57:
  • Hubert Carr, Legal Papers
  • Box 58:
  • Hubert Carr, Legal Papers
  • Box 59:
  • Hubert Carr, Legal Papers
  • Box 60:
  • Hubert Carr, Legal Papers
  • Box 61:
  • Hubert Carr, Legal Papers
  • Box 62:
  • Hubert Carr, Legal Papers
  • Box 63:
  • Hubert Carr, Legal Papers
  • Series 3: CASES
  • Box 64:
  • Cases, A - E
  • Box 65:
  • Cases, F - J
  • Box 66:
  • Cases, K - O
  • Box 67:
  • Cases, Y - Z, 4H - 4K
  • Box 68:
  • Cases, AA - 402 EE
  • Box 69:
  • Cases, 403 EE - HH
  • Box 70:
  • Cases, II - NN
  • Box 71:
  • Cases, OO - SS
  • Box 72:
  • Cases, TT - ZZ
  • Box 73:
  • Cases, Single Box, 3A - 3E
  • Box 74:
  • Cases, 3F - 3K
  • Box 75:
  • Cases, 3L - 3Q
  • Box 76:
  • Cases, 3R - 3V
  • Box 77:
  • Cases, 3W - 4A
  • Box 78:
  • Cases, 4B - 4G
  • Box 79:
  • Cases, 252T - 262T, 266U - 274U, 265V - 284V, 287W - 303W, 305X - 314X
  • Box 80:
  • Cases, 217S - 2505, 996 - 4L - 1016 - 4L
  • Box 81:
  • Cases, 1017 - 4M - 1065 - 4Q
  • Box 82:
  • Cases, 1066 - 4Q - 1109 ½ - 4V
  • Box 83:
  • Cases, 1110 - 1127, 1655 - 1646
  • Box 84:
  • Cases, 1128 - 1168
  • Box 85:
  • Cases, 1170 - 1207
  • Box 86:
  • Cases, 1209 - 1240
  • Box 87:
  • Cases, 1242 - 1267, 1350 - 1353
  • Box 88:
  • Cases, 1268 - 1292
  • Box 89:
  • Cases, 1293 - 1319
  • Box 90:
  • Cases, 1320 - 1339
  • Box 91:
  • Cases, 1340 - 1351, 1446 - 1458
  • Box 92:
  • Cases, 1354 - 1396
  • Box 93:
  • Cases, 1397 - 1417
  • Box 94:
  • Cases, 1418 - 1438
  • Box 95:
  • Cases, 1439 - 1444, 1942 - 1953
  • Box 96:
  • Cases, 1459 - 1492
  • Box 97:
  • Cases, 1493 - 1524
  • Box 98:
  • Cases, 1525 - 1552
  • Box 99:
  • Cases, P - R, 1553 - 1560
  • Box 100:
  • Cases 1561 - 1579
  • Box 101:
  • Cases 1580 - 1612
  • Box 102:
  • Cases, 1613 - 1634
  • Box 103:
  • Cases, 1647 - 1667
  • Box 104:
  • Cases, 1668 - 1697
  • Box 105:
  • Cases, 1698 - 1720, 1722 - 1723
  • Box 106:
  • Cases, 1721, 1724 - 1733
  • Box 107:
  • Cases, 1734 - 1763
  • Box 108:
  • Cases, 1763 - 1764
  • Box 109:
  • Cases, 1764 - 1771
  • Box 110:
  • Cases, 1772 - 1789
  • Box 111:
  • Cases, 1790 - 1810
  • Box 112:
  • Cases, 1811 - 1825
  • Box 113:
  • Cases, 1826 - 1844
  • Box 114:
  • Cases, 1845 - 1859
  • Box 115:
  • Cases, 1860 - 1870
  • Box 116:
  • Cases, 1871 - 1880
  • Box 117:
  • Cases, 1880 - 1888
  • Box 118:
  • Cases, 1889 - 1902
  • Box 119:
  • Cases, 1903 - 1925
  • Box 120:
  • Cases, 1926 - 1941
  • Series 4: LEDGER BOOKS
  • Item 110: March 10-May 25, Outgoing Letters - 1876
  • Item 111: March 31-January 16, Outgoing Letters - 1876-1879
  • Item 112: May 20-January 18, Bronson and LeRoy, Outgoing Letters - 1877-1879
  • Item 104: January 31-December 11, Blair and Bronson Letters - 1867-1868
  • Item 105: December 16-September 26, Blair and Bronson Letters - 1868-1870
  • Item 106: August 19-August 8, Outgoing Letters - 1870-1871
  • Item 107: August 9-August 2, Carr and Carr, Outgoing Letters - 1871-1872
  • Item 108: March 12-October 7, Bronson and LeRoy, Outgoing Letters - 1873-1874
  • Item 109: October 10-March 9, Bronson and LeRoy, Outgoing Letters - 1874-1876
  • Item 113: January 29-July 24, Outgoing Letters - 1879-1880
  • Item 115: January 13-October 14, Carr and Dooley, Outgoing Letters - 1881
  • Item 114: August 11-May 24, Outgoing Letters - 1880-1883
  • Item 117: July 24-December 31, Bronson, Carr and LeRoy, Outgoing Letters - 1884-1887
  • Item 118: June 28-January 14, Bronson and Carr, Outgoing Letters - 1898-1899
  • Item 119: June 11-January 14, Bronson and Carr, Outgoing Letters - 1899
  • Item 120: March 29-December 22, Outgoing Letters - 1900
  • Item 121: December 24-October 16, Outgoing Letters - 1900-1901
  • Item 122: October 19-March 26, Bronson and Carr, Outgoing Letters - 1901-1902
  • Item 123: January 20-January 19, Outgoing Letters - 1901-1904
  • Item 124: March 26-January 27, Outgoing Letters - 1902-1903
  • Item 125: January 28-January 30, Outgoing Letters - 1903-1904
  • Item 126: January 30-June 27, Outgoing Letters - 1904
  • Item 127: June 30-March 4, Carr and Carr, Outgoing Letters - 1904-1905
  • Item 128: March 3-October 24, Outgoing Letters - 1905
  • Item 129: October 26-April 26, Outgoing Letters - 1905-1906
  • Item 103: February 3-February 27, Charles and Bronson - 1867-1873
  • Item 130: April 28-October 23, Outgoing Letters - 1906
  • Item 131: October 24-March 29, Outgoing Letters - 1906-1907
  • Item 132: September 20-July 20, Outgoing Letters - 1907-1908
  • Item 133: February 29-July 29, Bronson, Carr and Sons, Outgoing Letters - 1908
  • Item 134: July 30-February 17, Bronson, Carr and Sons, Outgoing Letters - 1908-1909
  • Item 135: February 18-August 28, Outgoing Letters - 1909
  • Item 136: August 28-January 6, Carr, Bronson and Carr, Outgoing Letters - 1908-1910
  • Item 137: March 20-September, Bronson Carr and Sons, Outgoing Letters - 1907
  • Item 138: January 7-May 28, Outgoing Letters - 1910
  • Item 139: May 28-October 29, Outgoing Letters - 1910
  • Item 140: October 20-May3, Carr, Bronson and Carr, Outgoing Letters - 1910-1912
  • Item 141: December 2-July 26, Outgoing Letters - 1910-1911
  • Item 142: March 4-August 30, Carr, Bronson and Carr, Outgoing Letters - 1911
  • Item 143: August 30-February 14, Carr, Bronson and Carr, Outgoing Letters - 1911-1912
  • Item 144: February 15-July 15, Outgoing Letters - 1912-1918
  • Item 145: July 16-November 9, Carr, Bronson and Carr, Outgoing Letters - 1912
  • Item 146: October 28-August 20, Carr and Carr #1, Outgoing Letters - 1912-1913
  • Item 147: March 20-August 20, Carr and Carr #2, Outgoing Letters - 1913
  • Item 148: August 21-January 12, Carr and Carr #3, Outgoing Letters - 1913-1914
  • Item 149: January 13-May 2, Carr and Carr #4, Outgoing Letters - 1914
  • Item 150: May 4-September 16, Carr and Carr #5, Outgoing Letters - 1914
  • Item 151: September 16-January 26, Carr and Carr #6, Outgoing Letters - 1914-1915
  • Item 152: January 27-May 26, Carr and Carr #7, Outgoing Letters - 1915
  • Item 153: February 15-June 26, Carr and Carr #8, Outgoing Letters - 1915
  • Item 154: June 25-November 9, Carr and Carr #9, Outgoing Letters - 1915
  • Item 155: November 9-March 2, Carr and Carr #10, Outgoing Letters - 1915-1916
  • Item 156: March 3-August 9, Carr and Carr #11, Outgoing Letters - 1916
  • Item 157: August 8-December 16, Carr and Carr #12, Outgoing Letters - 1916
  • Item 158: December 18-August 11, Carr and Carr #13, Outgoing Letters - 1916-1917
  • Item 159: April 11-September 5, Carr and Carr #14, Outgoing Letters - 1917
  • Item 160: September 5-March 7, Carr and Carr #15, Outgoing Letters - 1917-1918
  • Item 161: March 7-September 13, Carr and Carr #16, Outgoing Letters - 1918
  • Item 162: September 16- February 25, Carr and Carr #17, Outgoing Letters - 1918-1919
  • Item 163: February 25-August 2, Carr and Carr #18, Outgoing Letters - 1919
  • Item 164: August 3-December 22, Carr and Carr #19, Outgoing Letters - 1919
  • Item 165: December 23-May 15, Carr and Carr #20, Outgoing Letters - 1919-1920
  • Item 166: May 16-October 19, Carr and Carr #21, Outgoing Letters - 1920
  • Item 167: October 19-May 4, Carr and Carr #22, Outgoing Letters - 1920-1922
  • Item 168: December 4-March 31, The Manchester Democrat, Outgoing Letters - 1918-1921
  • Item 169: March 18-November 4, The Manchester Democrat, Outgoing Letters - 1916-1918
  • Item 170: June 3-March 17, The Manchester Democrat, Outgoing Letters - 1914-1916
  • Item 171: October 28-May 28, The Manchester Democrat, Outgoing Letters - 1912-1914
  • Item 172: January 26-March 15, Journal - 1916-1920
  • Item 174: January 4-November 23, Carr and Carr, Journal - 1909-1914
  • Item 173: October 30-January 24, Carr and Carr, Journal - 1912
  • Item 175: January 4-February 14, Carr, Bronson and Carr, Journal - 1909-1917
  • Item 176: March 26-July 14, Bronson, Carr and Sons, Journal - 1907-1913
  • Item 177: March 1-March 26, Bronson, Carr and Sons, Journal - 1905-1907
  • Item 180: August 26-March 20, Bronson and Carr, Ledger - 1901-1920
  • Item 179: August 12-January 19, Hubert Carr, Journal - 1901-1912
  • Item 178: March 10-November 17, Bronson and Carr, Journal - 1903-1908
  • Item 181: October 22-August 2, Herbert Carr, Ledger - 1901-1935
  • Item 182: May 18-September 18, Bronson, Carr and Sons, Ledger - 1905-1909
  • Item 183: Bronson, Carr and Carr, Ledger - 1909-1914
  • Item 184: December 31-January 19, Carr and Carr, Ledger - 1912-1913
  • Item 185: December 17-October 10, Hubert and Carr, Ledger - 1912-1918
  • Item 187: July 6-February 27, Land Register, Delaware, Clayton - 1901-1902
  • Item 188: December 15-December 5, Collection Register - 1915-1925
  • Item 189: March 21-December 13, Collection Register - 1905-1915
  • Item 190: March 1-February 16, Bronson, Carr and Sons, Cash Book - 1905-1917
  • Item 191: March 18-December 31, Bronson and Carr, Cash Book - 1899-1919
  • Item 192: District Court of Iowa, County of Delaware, in the Matter of the Estate of A. Livingston, March term - 1913
  • Item 186: April 10-April 14, Customer Ledger - 1913-1930