Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Frederick Elliott Biermann Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1932-1968
Creator: Biermann, Frederick Elliott (1884-1968)
Extent: 7.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0128
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: U.S. Representative from Iowa. Correspondence, speeches, and campaign material relating to his years in the Congress.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Frederick Biermann in 1967 and by his estate in 1968.

Preferred Citation: Frederick Elliott Biermann Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Frederick Elliott Biermann was born in Rochester, Minnesota, on March 20, 1884. His family moved to Decorah, Iowa, in 1888. Biermann attended the University of Minnesota before transferring to Columbia University, from which he graduated in 1905. He later attended Valder's Business College in Decorah and the Harvard Law School. In 1906 and 1907, Biermann homesteaded in North Dakota. Moving back to Decorah, he became the editor and publisher of the Decorah Journal. He continued with the newspaper until 1931, with time out to serve in the army during World War I. Active in local affairs, Biermann was Decorah's postmaster from 1913 to 1923 and their park commissioner beginning in 1922.

A Democrat, Biermann was elected to the US House of Representatives. He was a member of the 73rd, 74th, and 75th Congresses (1933 - 1939). After leaving office, he was appointed US Marshall for northern Iowa. He held that position from 1940 until 1953. Biermann died on July 1, 1968, at the age of 84.

The papers of Frederick Biermann consist of seven linear feet of manuscripts dating from 1932 to 1968. The vast majority of this collection relates to his career in Congress. Correspondence files, with letters from Guy M. Gillette, Earl W. Hall, Herschel C. Loveless, and W.W. Waymack, comprise the bulk of the papers. The rest of the collection is made up of speeches and campaign materials. The subjects discussed range from New Deal programs such as the Agricultural Adjustment Act and the Works Progress Administration to Biermann's newspaper, the Decorah Journal; Democratic politics to farm relief; postmasterships to taxes.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence with editors and clippings from district newspapers (2 folders) - 1933
  • Correspondence with constituents - 1933
  • Correspondence with editors and clippings from district newspapers - 1934
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence with editors and clippings from district newspapers - 1934
  • Correspondence with both editors and constituents (2 folders) - 1934
  • Correspondence with constituents and voting lists (2 folders) - 1934
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence with editors and constituents (2 folders) - 1934-1935
  • Correspondence with constituents (2 folders) - 1935
  • Box 4:
  • Correspondence with constituents (4 folders) - 1936
  • Box 5:
  • Correspondence with constituents - 1936
  • Correspondence with editors and clippings from district newspapers - 1936
  • Correspondence with editors and constituents - 1936
  • Correspondence with constituents - 1937
  • Box 6:
  • Correspondence with editors and clippings from district newspapers - 1937
  • Correspondence with constituents (3 folders) - 1937-1938
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence with constituents (4 folders) - 1938
  • Box 8:
  • Correspondence with constituents (2 folders) - 1938
  • Condolences for loss of election - 1938
  • Box 9:
  • Electioneering--campaign letters (2 folders) - 1938
  • Receipts
  • Thompson case
  • Job applicants
  • Voters lists
  • Speeches
  • Gold purchase bulletins, etc.
  • Campaign contributions and expenses - 1938
  • Box 10:
  • Voter lists and newspaper clippings
  • Box 11:
  • H.A. Wallace correspondence - 1932-1934
  • H.A. Wallace correspondence - 1935-1937
  • H.A. Wallace correspondence - 1938
  • H.A. Wallace correspondence - 1939-1942
  • H.A. Wallace correspondence - 1968
  • CCC camps
  • Bank jobs
  • West Point exam - 1935
  • H.R. 5735--Shoe labeling bill
  • Forbes Morgan, 20 July - 1933
  • Post Office
  • Banks, National closed or restricted
  • Bank jobs
  • Corn-Hog Section, AAA (3 folders)
  • Box 12:
  • Electioneering - 1938
  • Miscellaneous
  • Bank receivers and examiners
  • Wild life refuge--McGregor
  • Congressional Record
  • Veteran's disability claims
  • Star routes
  • Congratulations and condolences - 1936
  • C.A. Benson
  • Annapolis
  • Riceville creamery--Riceville 32515A Butter
  • Economy act
  • Bonus
  • Decorah bank--new
  • Veterans pensions information
  • Box 13:
  • Stanley
  • Thornton
  • Wauconia
  • 4th District
  • Clippings (2 folders)
  • Appointment dates
  • Biermann for Congress Club
  • Benson, Charles--Elkader
  • Nine Foot Channel--press comments
  • Annapolis appointment - 1935
  • Box 14:
  • Butter purchases
  • West Point, 2nd term
  • West Point, 1st term
  • Bank attorneys
  • Unfinished business