Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Albert J. Cohen Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1948-1961
Creator: Cohen, Albert J. (1903-1984)
Extent: 35.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0126
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: American motion picture and television script writer and producer. Program scripts, department materials, memos, clippings, notes, correspondence, production budgets, and miscellaneous photographs.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Series 2

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Albert J. Cohen Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Albert J. Cohen, a native of Baltimore, Maryland, was an American motion picture and television script writer and producer. In Hollywood, Cohen headed a literary agency. In 1932, he worked at Universal Studios as a story editor and later as a scenario editor. In 1940, Cohen became an associate producer at Republic Pictures for eight years, after which he independently wrote and produced several motion pictures. During the 1950's, Cohen produced films at Universal Studios. In the late 1950's and early 60's, he produced, most notably The Ann Sothern Show in 1959, and wrote for television. Albert J. Cohen died October 4, 1984 at the age of 81.

The Albert J. Cohen papers are divided into 70 boxes. The first six boxes contain teleplays. The remaining boxes hold screenplays, financial and production papers, personal and business correspondence, photographs, and miscellaneous materials related to Cohen's Hollywood film career.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: WRITINGS
Series 2: PHOTOGRAPHS AND PHONOGRAPH RECORDS
Series 3: GENERAL
Series 4: ADDENDUM
Series 5: OVERSIZED BOX

  • Series 1: WRITINGS
  • Sub-Series: Teleplays
  • Box 1:
  • "Cardigan Special Detective Honolulu"; Teleplay by Louis Stevens and Albert J. Cohen (7 scripts)
  • "Off Hollywood Boulevard"; Teleplay by Albert J. Cohen and Edith Curtis (8 scripts, including one in folder)
  • Box 2:
  • "Integrated Commercials." Materials for Instant Maxwell House Coffee and Post Cereals designed for an integrated cast and written for the Ann Sothern Show (see also Box 4); letters included.
  • "The Kilarneys of Brooklyn" (also: "Kilarney Family"). Teleplay by A.J. Cohen and Louis Stevens (5 scripts plus working copy and early drafts).
  • "Girl About Town"; Teleplay by A.J. Cohen and E. Curtis (working copy and two scripts).
  • Box 3:
  • "The Holy Terror"; Teleplay by A.J. Cohen, Bernard Schubert, and Edith Curtis. Two working copies.
  • "The Holy Terror" including locale and character sketches; script titled ""Murder in China Alley"' additional story premises. (15 copies)
  • Box 4:
  • "Daffy"; Teleplay; Pennebaker Productions (1 script). Revised October 12 - 1961
  • "Big Jim Savage"; Teleplay by A.J. Cohen and E. Curtis (4 scripts).
  • "25 Rue D'Americaine"; Teleplay by A.J. Cohen and Louis Stevens ( 5 format outlines).
  • "Ann Sothern Show". Format, ideas, outlines, plots, inter-office correspondence, list of writers, business correspondence, and miscellaneous papers; 2 folders. October 20 - 1958
  • "Calling Miss Sweeney"; Teleplay by A.J. Cohen and L. Stevens (12 format outlines and 1 folder of correspondence).
  • Box 5:
  • "Vendetta in Venice"; Teleplay by Jonathan Latixaer; (1 script in folder). Revised May 25 - 1959
  • "The Man and the Challenge"; Teleplay by Stephen Kandel; (1 scrip). August 18 - 1959
  • "Challenge"; Teleplay by Gene Levitt; (1 script). June 29 - 1959
  • "Meet Johnny Horn"; Teleplay by Seymour B. Robinson; (2 format outlines).
  • "The Crime Professor"; Teleplay by A.J. Cohen and E. Curtis (8 complete scripts and 2 incomplete in folder).
  • Box 6:
  • "On Fifth Avenue"; Teleplay by A.J. Cohen and Maurice A. Hanline (4 complete scripts and 1 working copy).
  • "The Happy Holidays"' Teleplay by A.J. Cohen and Paul Gerard Smith (3 scripts in folder).
  • "The Racer (Thunder on Wheels)"; Pilot teleplay (scripts and working copy)
  • Tate: "A Lethal Pride"; Teleplay by Arthur Dales (1 script). February 10 - 1960
  • Wrangler: "Episode at the Bar-Ma"; Teleplay by Gene Roddenberry (1 script). Revised May 23 - 1960
  • "Murder in Brady's Alley" (also called "China Alley"); Pilot teleplay by A.J. Cohen, E. Curtis, and Bernard Schubert (2 scripts)
  • Sub-Series: Screenplays
  • Box 7:
  • The Boy From Korea. Screenplay by James Edwards and James Altieri. In collaboration with Joseph Anthony (the boy from Korea) and Father Donald Werr (his guardian) - c. 1956-1957
  • Oriental Player's Directory - 1956
  • Religious cards (7)
  • Catalog: "This is Quincy College"
  • Letter and 13 photographs (casting and promotion).
  • Copied picture of James J. Altieri in uniform.
  • Article: Singer, Howard. "The Boy Who Walked to America", Saturday Evening Post January 23 - 1954
  • The Boy From Korea. First draft screenplay. January 25 - 1957
  • The Boy From Korea. Correspondence .
  • The Boy From Korea. Step outline. May 25 - 1956
  • The Boy From Korea (#451). Treatment. April 5 - 1956
  • The Boy From Korea. Changed pages. May 24 - 1956
  • The Boy From Korea. Changes. June 7 - 1956
  • The Boy From Korea. Script, facts, cast of characters, etc.
  • Recorded conference with Father D. Werr and Joseph Anthony (2 copies)
  • The Fabulous Ann Madlock. Correspondence. Albert J. Cohen and Roman Pines.
  • Relentless. Story idea for screenplay by Prescott Chaplin. (2 copies)
  • Run for Your Life. Story-outline for screenplay by A.J. Cohen Prescott Chaplin. (5 copies) - 1959
  • Box 8:
  • I Dive For Treasure. Summary budget (4 copies). June 29 - 1950
  • Sunken City. Original story and adaptation by Ray Buffum; screenplay by Jack Harvey. Based upon best selling novel I Dive for Treasure by Lt. Harry E. Rieseberg.
  • Sunken Treasure. Script. Revised; Oliver Drake; September - 1949
  • I Dive For Treasure. Original story by Ray Buffum. April 11 (3 copies) - 1950
  • Treasure Hunter by Lieut. Harry E. Rieseberg
  • The Caribbean Calls (Ms. Proofs from Rieseberg)
  • I Dive For Treasures. Envelope of press and magazine clippings
  • I Dive For Treasure: correspondence
  • I Dive For Treasure: Rieseberg's clippings
  • I Dive For Treasure: Package of script treatments by Ray Buffum. March 10 - 1950
  • Box 9:
  • The Lion-Tamer and Dr. Mackenzie: Synopsis (5 copies)
    See also Box 45.
  • The Lion-Tamer and Dr. Mackenzie: Summary productions cost; And Never Been Kissed; includes correspondence.
  • And Never Been Kissed; includes script fragments. April 11 - 1949
  • The Lion-Tamer and Dr. Mackenzie, script (3 copies)
  • The Lion-Tamer and Dr. Mackenzie, script with notes (3 copies)
  • The Lion-Tamer and Dr. Mackenzie; working copy.
  • The Lion-Tamer and Dr. Mackenzie; working copy and some correspondence.
  • Box 10:
  • The Family Nobody Wanted. Screenplay by Helen Doss; script.
  • Untitled Musical Idea. Outlines and cost estimates of Eve Wasserman's screenplay. - 1951
  • Weekend Pass. Article, programs, contact prints.
  • Weekend Pass. Correspondence.
  • Weekend Pass. Clippings.
  • Weekend Pass. Miscellaneous.
  • Flaming Arrow. Screenplay by Eugene Ling. First Draft. November 4 - 1952
  • Flaming Arrow. First Draft. December 18 - 1952
  • Flaming Arrow. Treatment. September 5 - 1952
  • Flaming Arrow. Revised first draft. February 18 - 1953
  • Flaming Arrow. Second draft screenplay. Includes letter. March 5 - 1953
  • Flaming Arrow. Step outlines, character outlines, correspondence, and miscellaneous data.
  • Box 11:
  • Sign of the Pagan. Screenplay by Barre Lyndon. "MYC" on folder; correspondence and production papers. (see also Box 30)
  • Sign of the Pagan. Music notes.
  • Sign of the Pagan. Loops.
  • Sign of the Pagan. Large portfolio of scripts with revised and final screenplays, added scenes and treatment scripts. - 1953-1954
  • Sign of the Pagan. Publicity.
  • Box 12:
  • Saga of Tom Horn. Screenplay by Albert J. Cohen and Robert T. Shannon. (I Captured Geronimo; The Gun and the Arrow). Original story and treatment by Robert T. Shannon.
  • I Captured Geronimo. Original story and treatment by Albert J. Cohen and Robert T. Shannon (2 copies)
  • I Captured Geronimo. One copy.
  • The Gun and the Arrow. Story and Treatment by Albert J. Cohen.
  • Treason. Screenplay by Albert J. Cohen and Robert T. Shannon. Papers and correspondence)
  • Treason. Working copy.
  • Wish You Were Here. Screenplay (see also Hoyt, Box 13). Correspondence.
  • Wish You Were Here. Script.????
  • Box 13:
  • The Rawhide Years. Screenplay by D.D. Beauchamp; second draft script. - 1954
  • The Rawhide Years. Loose script.
  • The Atomic Cannibal. Screenplay by Robert H. Bagley. 1 script.
  • Mr. and Mrs. Private Eye and Family by Prescott Chaplin. Final Draft. March 28 - 1955
  • Draft. Titled Bunker Hill; crossed out and changed to Mr. and Mrs. Private Eye. November 29 - 1955
  • Mr. and Mrs. Private Eye and Family. Script.
  • An Affair of State. Screenplay by Albert J. Cohen and Frank Gill, Jr. Script (2 copies)
  • Arivederci, Yankee. Screenplay outline.
  • The Aztec Treasure House. Screenplay outline.
  • The Aztec Story. Screenplay outline.
  • Does It Always Rain Here, Mr. Hoyt? Correspondence and business matters, including contract. - 1951-1952
  • I Cried for You. Screenplay by Ray Buffum. Script outlines (2 copies)
  • Outlines for 3 screenplays
  • The Sisters by Louis Stevens
  • Stars Over Broadway by Jack Harvey
  • Cop Killer by Ray Buffum
  • Box 14:
  • Stranger in the Night (End of Night)
  • Working copy titled End of Night
  • Out of the Night. First Draft Screenplay
  • End of Night. Rough copy. June 19 - 1950
  • Stranger in the Night (formerly End of Night) (3 copies). July 8 - 1954
  • End of Night. Summary Production Cost. August 10 - 1949
  • End of night by Frank Gill, Jr. and Albert J. Cohen. Outlines ( 6 copies).
  • Correspondence
  • Box 15:
  • Never Say Goodbye (A Time Remembered) . Screenplay by Charles Hoffman (see also Box 67). Continuity breakdown. April 7 - 1955
  • Never Say Goodbye. Shooting schedules. - 1955
  • Never Say Goodbye. Loops.
  • Never Say Goodbye. Music notes.
  • Never Say Goodbye. Scripts and treatments (2 portfolios)
  • Box 16:
  • Magnificent Rogue. Screenplay by Inez Cocke. Notes and rough draft.
  • Magnificent Rogue. Minute biographies of famous people.
  • Magnificent Rogue. Unbound notes on the life of Benvenuto Cellini, with enclosed outlines (3 copies).
  • Port Royale. Screenplay by Albert J. Cohen and Ray Buffum. Original story (5 copies)
  • Port Royale. Treatment
  • Port Royale. First Draft Screenplay.
  • Port Royale. Miscellaneous script and production material.
  • Storm Over Alaska. Screenplay by Ray Buffum.
  • Working copy.
  • Outlines (2 copies).
  • Box 17:
  • Phantom of the Opera. Screenplay by Inez cocked. Synopsis.
  • Phantom of the Opera. Production Budgets.
  • Phantom of the Opera. Treatment. August 5 - 1955
  • Phantom of the Opera. Miscellaneous.
  • Two of a Kind. Original story by Jack Harvey. Based on an idea by Albert J. Cohen and Jack Harvey (3 outlines)
  • Make Room for Tomorrow. Screenplay by John Wales. Story outline.
  • You're Killing Me. Original screenplay by Prescott Chaplin.
  • Island of Glory (Hour of Glory). Screenplay by Robert Lund. Bound novel treatment.
  • Hour of Glory (Island of Glory). Detailed outline. Based on the published novel of the same title by Robert Lund (2 copies).
  • Lady From Natchez (Carnival Lady; Madame Marie). Working copies of two scripts Lady From Natchez by Prescott Chaplin plus notes and correspondence.
  • Madame Marie (Carnival Lady) story outline by Prescott Chaplin (2 copies)
  • Lady From Natchez. Story outline by Prescott Chaplin (3 copies).
  • Box 18:
  • The Great Companions (Meet Me at the Fair). Albert Cohen, Producer; Douglas Sirk, Director. Production budget, bound. - 1952
  • The Great Companions (Meet Me at the Fair). Production budgets.
  • The Great Companions (Meet Me at the Fair). Miscellaneous
  • Three photographs
  • Inter-office correspondence - 1952
  • Changes. May 15 - 1952
  • Music notes.
  • Shooting schedule?
  • Copy of deletion from film--Production Code Administration.
  • The Great Companions (Meet Me at the Fair). Correspondence, cast lists, survey, etc.
  • The Great Companions (Meet Me at the Fair). Screenplay - 1951
  • First Draft continuity; Martin Berkeley. February 2 - 1951
  • Revised second draft. Martin Berkeley; revisions by Irving Wallace; June 13 - 1951
  • Third draft continuity. Lou Breslow. October 4 - 1951
  • Final shooting. Lou Breslow. October 4 - 1951
  • Revised final screenplay. Irving Wallace. January 30 - 1952
  • Second revised final screenplay, bound. Irving Wallace. April 22 - 1952
  • Sub-Series: Story Department Outlines
  • Box 19:
  • September - 1948-1950
  • "The Felix G. Stidger Story." October 18 - 1950
  • "Three Kids and a Queen" by Harry Poppe and Chester Beecroft
  • "The Yuma Story" by Bennett R. Cohen and Norton S. Parker. September 26 - 1950
  • "The Mustard Seed" by Harold Shumate. August 16 - 1950
  • "The Best Laid Plans" by Harry Ruskin and William Ludwig. September 29 - 1948
  • "Ten Tall Men" by James Warner Bellah and Willis Goldbeck. November 8 - 1950
  • "Call Back Yesterday" by John Klorer. November 8 - 1950
  • "Jane and the Gentleman" by Aleen Leslie. November 8 - 1950
  • "Papa Was a Wolf" by John Larkin. October 3 - 1950
  • "Steel Island" by Fred Nible, Jr. and Clark Reynolds. November 13 - 1950
  • "How to Snare a Male" by Sarah Barish. November 16 - 1950
  • "The River of the Sun" by James Ramsey Ullman. December 11 - 1950
  • "One Of Us Must Die" by Edna Sherry. December 29 - 1950
  • "Gaucho" by Robert Crowley and Thomson Burtis; from an original story by Ferencz Kiralyi. December 27 - 1950
  • "Ghost of a Chance." December 27 - 1950
  • "The Form Divine" by Hildegarde Dolson. December 26 - 1950
  • "Big Blonde," screenplay by Philip Yordan; adapted from short story by Dorothy Parker. December 20 - 1950
  • "No Survivors" by Will Henry. December 12 - 1950
  • "Homecoming" by Elizabeth Seifert. December 11 - 1950
  • "The Last Bachelor" by Irving Wallace. December 9 - 1950
  • "The Guilty" by Niven Busch. December 1 - 1950
  • "Fine Day" by Harold Shumate. December 1 - 1950
  • "Squaw Man's Son" by Clee Woods. November 30 - 1950
  • "Amigo" by Sy Bartlett and Jo Swerling. November 30 - 1950
  • "Tessie--The Hound of Channel One" by Shepherd Mead. November 27 - 1950
  • "The Case Against Gillum" by Arthur Strawn and Jerome Sackheim. November 27 - 1950
  • "Danger Signal" by David Hoffman. November 20 - 1950
  • January - 1951
  • "Laramie" by Leo Katcher
  • "The Slave Brand of Sleman Ben Ali" by James Anson Buck
  • "The Devil in Jennifer Place" by M. M. Musselman
  • "Bend of the Snake" by Bill Gulick
  • "Harness Bull" by Daniel Fuchs
  • "Foxfire" by Anya Seton
  • "The Crimson Shawl" by Leopold Atlas
  • "McGlusky's Lucky Day" by Richard Wormser
  • "S. S. San Pedro" by James Gould Cozzens
  • "Rendezvous in Riga" by Leslie Roberts
  • "Aftermath" by Harriet Frank, Jr. and Irving Ravetch
  • "Up Stepped McGonigle" by John and Ward Hawkins
  • "The Black-Eyed Stranger" by Charlotte Armstrong
  • "O Little Town"; original by Harold Medford
  • "Tongareva" by Robert Lee Johnson and Elizabeth Burbridge
  • February - 1951
  • "Oh, Money! Money!" by Eleanor H. Porter
  • "Pig Alley" by Robert Mason Pollock
  • "Heartbeat" by Jacques LeMarechal
  • "The Spare Rib" by Irene and Louis Kamp
  • "The Kentuckian" by Irving Wallace
  • "Fight Town" by George W. George and George F. Slavin
  • "Return to Paradise" by James A. Michener
  • "From Here to Eternity" by James Jones
  • March - 1951
  • "The Hair-Trigger Kid" by Max Brand
  • "The Bridge of the Gods" by Forrest Judd
  • "Uprising" by Karl Kamb
  • "From the Sea and the Jungle" by Robert Carse
  • "Woman in Ambush" by Rex Beach
  • "Neither Five Nor Three" by Helen MacInnes
  • "Notes on a Horsethief" by William Faulkner
  • "Sheep Train" by Peter Dawson
  • "Whip Hand" by Houston Branch and Eugenia Night
  • "The Big Snatch" by Paul Manning
  • "Barker's Luck" by Bret Harte
  • "That Great American Pastime" by Robert Keith and Norman Foster
  • "The Weatherman" by Albert Beich and James O'Hanlon
  • "Powder Keg" by Lawrence Roman
  • "The Marcaboth Women" by Vina Delmar
  • "Snaketrack" by Frank Bonham
  • "Doubtful Valley" by George Garland (Garland Roark)
  • "Sheep Rock" by George R. Stewart
  • "Stopover" by Carol Brink
  • "Rimrock Rider" by Walker A. Tompkins
  • "Jackson Mahaffey" by Fred Ross
  • "The Assassin" by Jerry Gruskin
  • "Hellsgrin" by Steve Frazee
  • "Santa Fe Passage" by Will Henry
  • "The Battle of Miss Alice Chase" by John Reese
  • "Dr. Hudson's Secret Journal" by Lloyd C. Douglas
  • April - 1951
  • "The Love Man" by John D. Weaver
  • "Lost In Space" by Edward and Edna Anhalt
  • "The Glass Mask" by Gordon Gaskill
  • "The Stirrup Boss" by Peter Dawson
  • "I Never Felt Younger" by Barney Miller
  • "Cry Above the Winds" by J.B. Bartlett
  • "Challenge" by Marcel Klauber (2 copies)
  • "How to Meet a Millionaire" by Doris Lilly
  • "Ruby Gentry" by Arthur Fitz-Richard
  • "Squaw Man's Son" by Clee Woods
  • "Mama and the Facts of Life" by Lenore Coffee
  • May - 1951
  • "Desert Steel" by Dick Pearce
  • "Rainy Day" by Harry Essex
  • "The Cry of the Cougar" by Harold Shumate
  • "Imperial Valley" by Don Martin
  • "Storm Center" by Robert Standish
  • "Nothing Too Good for the Girls" by Gene Markey
  • "Elephant Walk" by Robert Standish
  • "Stalag 17: by Donald Bevan and Edmund Trzcinski
  • "Diamond Head" by Houston Branch and Frank Waters
  • "The Werewolf of Paris" by Guy Endore
  • "The Sultan's Warrior" by Bates Baldwin
  • "Princess From Brooklyn"; published in Blue Book Magazine, September 1945
  • June - 1951
  • "Spanish Range" by Lee E. Wells
  • "Galveston" by Teddi and Lynne Sherman
  • "Mississippi River Buccaneer"; article in True Magazine
  • "The Big Lonesome" by Norman Foster and Robert Keith
  • "Bride of the Month" by Raphael David Blau
  • "A Paris Affair" (Richelieu) by Allan Dwan
  • "Navy Born" by Mildred Cram
  • "The Demon Caravan" by George Surdez
  • "Cry Copper" by J. Robert Bren and Gladys Atwater (2 copies)
  • "Chain of Circumstances" by David Lang
  • "Sailor's Choice" by Carl Bottume
  • "The Fountain of Youth" by Harry Segall
  • "Destination Zero" by J. Robert Bren, Gladys Atwater, and Captain Reuben Smith, U.S.N. (2 copies)
  • "A Bubble of Blood" by Frederick Hazlitt Brennan
  • "Trail of Brass" by Richard English and Milton M. Raison
  • "The Celebrity" by Laura Z. Hobson
  • "Stab of Pain" by Bernard Girard
  • "The Most Wounded, The Most Sick, The Most Tired" by Lt. Helen Ely (Air Force Nurse Corps)
  • "The Bravest and the Best"; article from True, the Magazine for Men
  • "The Capital of Hocus-Pocus" by Stanley S. Jacobs
  • "Battlefield Rescue" by Capt. Hubard Kuokka, USMC
  • "Spiderweb" by Seton I. Miller and Ernest K. Gann
  • "The Lost Land of Atzlan" by Fred Mac Isaac
  • "Beat the Devil" by James Helvick
  • Box 20:
  • July - 1951
  • "Law and Order" by W. R. Burnett
  • "Feud at Sundown" by Bob Jasper
  • "Deadline at Durango" by Allan Vaughn Elston
  • "The Warrior" by Fred Freiberger and William Tunberg
  • "The Fabulous Ox and Christmas Eve" by Het Manheim
  • "Men Don't Cry" by Jack and Marion Wolfe
  • "Lady of the Legion" by Georges Surdez
  • "Hermistan" by Allan Scott
  • "Yankee Buccaneer" by Charles K. Peck, Jr.
  • "You For Me" by William Roberts
  • "Horns for the Devil" by Louis Malley (2 copies)
  • "Mississippi Gambler" by Seaton I. Miller
  • "The City and Jason Edwards" by Irving Shulman and Max Lief
  • August - 1951
  • "Winds of Morning" by H.L. Davis
  • "Point Venus" by Susan McConnaughey
  • "Cassie Thompson" by Louis Stevens
  • "The Caine Mutiny" by Herman Wouk
  • "Longhorn" by Robert Hardy Andrews and Paul I. Wellman
  • "Class D" by Charles K. Peck, Jr.
  • "Roughshod" by Norman A. Fox
  • "The Desperado" by Clifton Adams
  • "The Rebellious Mrs. Cane" by William R. Cox
  • "The Grand Portage" by Walter O'Meara
  • "Those Devils in Baggy Pants" by Ross S. Carter
  • "Dusty Wagons" by Matt Stuart
  • September - 1951
  • "Pursuit of Gentlemen" by Kathryn Cravens
  • "Worlds Apart" by Harriett Franks, Jr.
  • "And Ride a Tiger" by Robert Wilder
  • "Tiger Roan" by Glenn Balch
  • "Joshua" by Irving Ravetch
  • "The Last Pioneer" by Harold Shumate
  • "Judy LeRoy" by Laslo Vadnay
  • "Hand Across the Sea" by Cyril Hume and Richard Maibaum
  • "Quanah Parker" by Clee Woods
  • "Romulus" by Richard O'Connor
  • October - 1951
  • "The Big Play" by Elinor Pryor
  • "Saints in Training" by Brenda Weisberg
  • "The Farmers Hotel" by John O'Hara
  • "The Big Fix" by Marty Combs
  • "Hear the Winds Blow" by Oscar Saul and Lewis Meltzer
  • "The Grasshopper" by James Edmiston and J.C. Barnes
  • "The Publican" by Doris Gilbert
  • "Honeymoon for Seven" by Alfred Toombs
  • "The Golden Road" by Peter Bourne
  • "The Number" by Arthur P. Carter
  • November - 1951
  • "Laughter Came Screaming" by Henry Kane
  • "Nor Time Nor Space" by S.M. Berthold
  • "The Killer Wore a Badge" by Thomas Walsh
  • "East Side General" by Frank G. Slaughter
  • "The Mozart Express" by Joseph Wechsberg and Irving Wallace
  • "Pagoda" by James Atlee Phillips
  • "Gun Pardners" by Richard Stroup
  • "Blaze of Glory" by Dwight Taylor
  • December - 1951
  • "Loon Island" by Cyril Hume and Richard Maibaum
  • "The Big Kill" by Mickey Spillane
  • "The Long Wait" by Mickey Spillane
  • "The Wolf Leader" by Alexandre Dumas
  • "Yellow Seas" by Edward M. Sedgwick (2 copies)
  • "Jewel of the Java Sea" by Dan Cushman
  • "Afraid in the Dark" by Mark Derby
  • January - 1952
  • "Devil Doll" by Gerald Drayson Adams
  • "Rider From Nowhere" by Joseph Chadwick
  • "Vanity Row" by W.R. Burnett
  • "Background for Murder" by Clarence Budington Kelland
  • "The Itch Hill Proposition" by Cyril Hume and Richard Maibaum
  • "Mash '66" by Allen Rivkin and Laura Kerr
  • "Miss Moffit and the Thunderbird" by Charles Bennett
  • "The Davidian Report" by Dorothy B. Hughes (2 copies)
  • February - 1952
  • "Lady, Meet a Heel" by Eve Greene
  • "The Brotherhood of Fear" by Robert Ardrey
  • "Windom's Way" by James Ramsey Ullman
  • "The Big Mutt" by John Reese
  • "Port of Call" by Maxwell Griffith
  • "Pattern of Evil" by J. Robert Bren and Gladys Atwater
  • "The Outlanders" by Roy Huggins
  • "The Medicine Whip" by Margaret Plumlee and John Harris
  • "Dr. Quicksilver" by Ralph Dietrich and Leonard Lee
  • "Teacher Lady" by Mary Frances Morgan
  • "The End of Mr. Evans" by Margaret Millar
  • March - 1952
  • "Campaign Train" by The Gordons
  • "The Earthbreakers" (The Earth Is A Woman) by Ernest Haycox (2 copies)
  • "While the Crowd Cheers" by Karl Tunberg
  • "The Strange Brigade" by John Jennings
  • "Double Ride" by Francis Wallace
  • "Reverend Telford's Failure" by Hugh Beaumont
  • "The Nine Brides and Granny Hite" by Neill C. Wilson
  • "Corlear's Hook" by Arthur A. Ross
  • "Wings of the Vulture" by Gerald Drayson Adams
  • "Ivan's Left Hand" by Max Shulman and Leo Lieberman
  • "Hell's Acres" by Clay Perry and John L.E. Pell
  • "The Royal Road" by AEneas MacKenzie
  • April - 1952
  • "The Plains of Abraham" by James Oliver Curwood
  • "Mock the Midnight Bell" by Virginia Van Upp and Maurice Riess
  • "The Michigan Kid" by Rex Beach
  • "Great Day in the Morning" by Robert Hardy Andrews
  • "The Colonel's Lady" by Clifton Adams
  • "The Derringer" by Jerry Sackheim and Oliver Crawford
  • "Yankee Pasha" by Edison Marshall
  • "Gypsy Sixpence" by Edison Marshall
  • "The Gyppo" by Arthur Ross
  • "Nightrunners of Bengal" by John Masters
  • "The Golden Vanity" by James Edmiston
  • "Lasso the Wind" by George F. Slavin and George W. George
  • "The Wages of Fear" by Georges Arnaud (2 copies)
  • "The Deceivers" by John Masters
  • May - 1952
  • "The Long Hunters" by Robert Hardy Andrews
  • "If I Were A Star" By Robert Hardy Andrews
  • "Four of a Kind" by AEneas MacKenzie
  • "The Bowl of Brass" by Paul I. Wellman
  • "The Lady Lawyer" by Marty Holland
  • "The Black Tornado" by Robert N. Lee
  • "The Wood Hawk" by Leo Katcher
  • "War Chief Joseph" by Helen A. Howard and Dan L. McGrath
  • June - 1952
  • "Sergeant Houck" by Jack Schaefer
  • "The Curve and the Tusk" by Stuart Cloete
  • "They Had a Glory" by Davenport Steward
  • "White Indian" by Edwin L. Sabin
  • "Snips and Snails" by Louise Baker
  • "Campbell's Kingdom" by Hammond Innes
  • "Rim of the Caprock" by Noel M. Loomis
  • "The Gift of Cochise" by Louis L'Amour
  • "The Private War of Major Benson" by Joe Connelly and Bob Mosher
  • "Rear Guard" by James Warner Bellah
  • Box 21:
  • July - 1952
  • "The Reno Brothers" by Maurice Geraghty
  • "The Ripper From Rawhide" by Dan Cushman
  • "The Marauders" by Alan Marcus
  • "Shotgun Guard" by D. B. Newton
  • "Run For Cover" by Harriet Frank, Jr. and Irving Ravetch
  • "The Love Maniac" by Ray Murphy
  • "The Trail Eater" by Barrett Willoughby
  • August - 1952
  • "Brady's Bunch" by John Michael Hayes
  • "Whomsoever I Shall Kiss" by Curt Siodmak
  • "Missouri Moon" by MacKinlay Kantor
  • "The Man Who Won the Waldorf" by Margaret Cousins
  • "Home to The Hill" by Don Wilson
  • "Young Man of New Orleans" by Charles O'Neal and Victor Trivas
  • "Crash in the Sea" by John Rhodes Sturdy
  • "Frontier Fury" by Will Henry
  • "Smoke Signal" by George W. George and George F. Slavin
  • "Pearls of Paradise" by David Duncan
  • "The Land Unknown" by Charles Palmer
  • September - 1952
  • "The Sea Witch" by Alexander Laing
  • "Sing for Your Supper" by Eleanor Lothrop
  • "Calico" by Jacques LeMarechal
  • "The Sheriff of Sycamore Flat" by Robert Baker Elder
  • "The Unseen" by Lowell Barrington
  • "The Gringo" by Edmund Beloin and Nate Monaster
  • "The Lady and The Lumberjack" by Olive Barber
  • "The Love Story" by Ernest Havemann and George Love
  • "Relatively Yours" by Mae Livingstone
  • October - 1952
  • "Red Gold" by W. R. Burnett
  • "Singapore East" by Steve Fisher
  • "The Comancheros" by Paul I. Wellman (3 copies)
  • "The Kid From Left Field" by Jack Sher
  • "The Proud Ones" by Verne Athanas
  • "The Wonderful Country" by Tom Lea
  • ""X" Marks Montana" by Robert Hardy Andrews
  • "Smoke Against the Sky" by Harold Jack Bloom
  • "Boomer Bride" by Frank Bonham
  • "The Cavalier" by Charles Bennett and Geoffrey Page
  • [Untitled Story] (America-India Background) by Robert Hardy Andrews
  • "All The Answers" by Fay and Michael Kanin
  • "Cause For Alarm" by N. Richard Nash
  • "The Pink Cloud" by Dwight Taylor
  • "The King's Thief" by Robert Hardy Andrews
  • "Fort Starvation" by Frank Gruber
  • "The Damned" by John MacDonald
  • November - 1952
  • "Everybody's Watching Me" by Mickey Spillane
  • "Comanche Attack" by Dick Pearce
  • "Money in the Bank" by Frederic Brady and Frederick Kohner; based on a story by John D. Hess
  • "The Deserter" by Don Martin
  • "The Fifth Rider" by Fred Freiberger and William Tunberg
  • "The Road to Bithynia" by Frank G. Slaughter
  • "Steers East" by Roy Hamilton
  • "The Tiger in the Smoke" by Margery Allingham
  • "Captain Starlight" by Robert Hardy Andrews
  • "The Galileans" by Frank G. Slaughter
  • December - 1952
  • "The Man Who Knew Cochise" by John K. Butler
  • "Mesa" by Roy Hamilton
  • "Man of the Law" by Frank Fenton and Joseph Petracca
  • "Justice Comes to Tomahawk" by William MacLeod Raine
  • "The Orphan" by Clarence E. Mulford
  • "The Magic Lantern" by Robert Carson
  • "Red Dawn" by Jack Andrews
  • "Desert Passage" by Richard Poole
  • "Tisa" by Helga Moray
  • January - 1953
  • "This, Too, is Love" by Sam Ross
  • "A Life for Donovan" by Jack Roberts
  • "Ride Clear of Alderville" by George C. Appell
  • "The Wagon Train Outcasts" by Giff Cheshire
  • "Comanche Kill" by Leo Lieberman
  • "Stay Away, Joe" by Dan Cushman
  • "Captain Lightfoot" by W.R. Burnett
  • "The City Mother" by Irwin Gielgud and Jerry Horwin
  • "Gunman-On-The-Run" by Robert L. Trimnell
  • "The Happy Medium" by Herbert Baker and Bert Granet
  • "Indian Sumer" by Walter Ferris
  • February - 1953
  • "The Cocktail Dress" by Gordon McDonell
  • "Showdown" by Todhunter Ballard and James C. Lynch
  • "Man Without a Star" by Dee Linford
  • "Double Outlaw" by T.T. Flynn
  • "Carmilla" by DeWitt Bodeen; A treatment of the Sheridan Le Fanu Story
  • "Tacey Cromwell" by Conrad Richter
  • "The Long Noose" by Lee E. Wells
  • "Bank of the Scar" by James Gunn and Hunt Stromberg, Jr.
  • March - 1953
  • "The Dream of Eddie Wales" by Irwin Shaw
  • "Golden Sword of Samarkand" by Robert Carse
  • "The Looters" by Paul Schneider
  • "Steamboat to New Orleans" by Jerry Horwin and Ray Samuel
  • April - 1953
  • "Three at the Wedding" by Louis Grace Erdman
  • June (none for May) - 1953
  • "Spring Song" by John D. Weaver
  • "Heather Mary" by J.M. Scott
  • July - 1953
  • "Twelve Rifles" by Sam Rolfe and Christopher Knopf
  • "Death Rides This Trail" by Steve Frazee
  • "The Deadly Mermaid" by James Atlee Phillips
  • "The Last Revolution" by Lord Dunsany
  • "The Steel Web" by Thomas Thompson
  • "Storm Haven" by Frank G. Slaughter
  • "Pocahontas O'Toole" by James O'Hanlon and Tom Blackburn
  • "Make Haste To Live" by The Gordons
  • August - 1953
  • "Intruder From the Sea" by Gordon McDonnell
  • "Whirlpool" by Thelma Strabel
  • "The Stubborn Man" by Richard Dorso
  • "Largely A Question of Love" by John Paxton
  • "Trelawny" by Margaret Armstrong (2 copies)
  • "Appraisal Of Lola Montez"
  • "Upbeat" by Max Lief and Irving Shulman
  • "The Angel Sang the Blues" by William Lindsay Gresham
  • September - 1953
  • "Adventure's End" by Ben G. Kohn
  • "Fourth Down Coming Up" by Adela Rogers St. Johns
  • The Showman by Don Carle Gillette and Robert Payne
  • October - 1953
  • "Not As a Stranger" by Morton Thompson
  • "The Handsome Road" by Gwen Bristow (2 copies)
  • "Rogue Cop" by William P. McGivern
  • "Son of Egypt" by James Busbee, Jr.
  • Box 22:
  • November - 1953
  • "Sky Full of Gold" by Robert Hardy Andrews (2 copies)
  • "Bombay Boy (The Beggar-Boy of Bombay)" by Robert Hardy Andrews
  • "The Outer Darkness" by W.R. Burnett
  • "The Night of the Hunter" by Davis Grubb
  • "Persian Adventure" by Anne Sinclair Mehdevi
  • "The Gentle Wolfhound" by Albert Duffy
  • "Purgatory Street" by Roman McDougald
  • "Smoky Valley" by Donald Hamilton
  • "The Lights of Skaro" by David Dodge
  • December - 1953
  • "The Desperate Hours" by Joseph Hayes
  • "The Man From the Turkish Slave" by Victor Canning
  • "Cress Delahanty" by Jessamyn West
  • "The Powder Keg" by Frances Marion
  • "Wind On Your Shoulder" by Reginald Lawrence and Jack Daniels
  • "The Comstock Queen" by Seton I. Miller
  • "N Phone To Bangkok" by Marty Holland
  • January - 1954
  • "The Man Who Never Was" by Ewen E.S. Montagu
  • "Storm Center" by Elizabeth Wilson
  • "The Easterner" by Herbert Baker
  • "The South American Way" by Matty Kemp and Elizabeth Reinhardt (words and music by Jimmy McHugh and Harold Adamson)
  • "Law Man" by Lee Leighton (2 copies)
  • "Swing Full Circle" by Chesley Wilson
  • "The Rawhide Years" by Norman A. Fox
  • "Three on a Mink" by Ruby Sully
  • "Bugles West" by Frank Gruber
  • "Stranger on Horseback" by Don Martin
  • "Jewelled Target" by A.E. Killeen
  • "A Handful of Stars" by Michael Fessier
  • "Valerie" by Leonard Heideman and Emmett Murphy
  • February - 1954
  • "The Jungle Seas" by Arthur A. Ageton
  • "Fancy Dancing" by William Bowers
  • "Mister Tin Pan Alley, Himself" by Harry Von Tilzer
  • "The Odyssey of Mickey Free" by W.R. Burnett
  • "The Doctor's Girl" by William Wister Haines
  • "The Royal Coach" by Houston Branch
  • "Lullaby" by Don Appell
  • "Daisy" by James B. Allardice
  • "Stronghold" by Richard G. Hubler (from a story by Joe Gottesman)
  • "One Way to Eldorado" by Hollister Noble
  • "The First Captain" by Gerald W. Johnson
  • "Hired Hand" by Nelson Nye
  • "The Magnificent Bastards" by Lucy Herndon Crockett
  • "God and My Country" by MacKinlay Kantor
  • "Her Sister's Husband" by Doris Gilbert
  • "Laughing Boy" by Oliver LaFarge
  • "Away All Boats" by Kenneth M. Dodson
  • "The Tall Men" by Clay Fisher
  • March - 1954
  • "Fever Heat" by Angus Vicker
  • "The Caves of Steel" by Isaac Asimov
  • "The Cobweb" by William Gibson
  • "R.U.R." by Karel Capek
  • "I'll Take What's Mine" by Nard Jones
  • "Showdown" by Les Crutchfield
  • "Mary Anne" by Daphne du Maurier
  • "Nick the Greek" by Richard Donovan and Hank Greenspun
  • April - 1954
  • "The Generous Heart" by Kenneth Fearing
  • "Cry Plague!" by Theodore S. Drachman
  • "Driven" by Richard Gehman
  • "Rails West" by Logan Stewart
  • "The Smuggled Atom Bomb" by Philip Wylie
  • May - 1954
  • "Broken Wagon" by Norman A. Fox
  • "I’ll Cry Tomorrow" by Lillian Roth
  • "The Fifth Assault" by Tom Ferris
  • "The Feud at Spanish Ford" by Frank Bonham
  • "The Great Louisiana Lottery" by Horace McCoy
  • "The Arrow and the Cross" by Maurice Geraghty
  • "The Fourth Horseman" by Will Henry
  • "Silver Street Woman" by Les Savage, Jr.
  • "Utah Blaine" by Jim Mayo
  • "Cassy Scandal" by Zola Ross
  • "Diane" by Herbert Best
  • "Gun Shy" by Clarence Upson Young
  • "House Party" by Virginia Rowans
  • "N.Y., N.Y." by Will Oursler
  • "Clown" by Emmett Kelly with F. Beverly Kelly
  • "Yankee Mariner" by James Busbee, Jr.
  • "Blood on the Branches" by Oliver Crawford
  • "Star in the Rigging" by Garland Roark
  • June (none for May) - 1954
  • "The Brothers Rico" by Georges Simeon
  • "The Disappearance of Mary Blake" by Mary Orr
  • "Good Morning, Mr. Carlin" by Quentin Reynolds
  • "Jack Sheppard" by Charles Bennett
  • [Untitled] (H-Bomb Story) by J. Robert Brenn
  • "Taproot" by Les Crutchfield
  • "Dead Man Pass" by Peter Dawson
  • "Good Morning, Miss Dove" by Frances Gray Patton
  • "The South Sea Story" by W.R. Burnett and Tom Reed
  • "The Conquest of Don Pedro" by Harvey Fergusson
  • "The Mavericks" by Leonard Praskins and Barney Slater
  • "Texans Love a Fight" by Norman Foster and Harry Hamilton
  • "The Golden Chase" by Philip R. Gerard and David A. Weiss
  • "Lost Island" by Graham McInnes
  • "The Iron Maiden" by Edwin Lanham
  • July - 1954
  • "The Darkest Hour" by William P. McGivern
  • "Roanoke Renegade" by Don Tracy
  • "The Unbelieving Wife" by Margaret Echard
  • "Pancho Villa's Treasure" by J. Robert Bren and Gladys Atwater
  • "The Talking Bug" by The Gordons
  • Box 23:
  • August - 1954
  • "Bandellero" by James Edward Grant
  • "A Thousand for the Cariboo" by Bill Gulick
  • "Seaweed" by Ahmad Kamal
  • "Trigger Vengeance" by Bennett Foster
  • "Hear the Wind Blow" by John D. Weaver
  • "The Emerald" by Aleen Leslie
  • "No Time for Sergeants" by Mac Hyman
  • "The Pride of the Peacock" by Ruth Chatterton
  • "The Wonderful Country" by Tom Lea
  • "So Nice to Come Home To" by Mona Williams
  • "Death and the Sky Above" by Andrew Garve
  • September - 1954
  • "Back Trail" by Lewis B. Patten
  • "Prisoner in Paradise" by Garet Rogers
  • "Green Grow the Rushes" by Nelson and Shirley Wolford
  • "Dark Enemy" by E.J. Edwards
  • "The Searchers" by Alan LeMay
  • "Choice of Weapons" by William Fay
  • "The Calico Pony" by Herb Meadow
  • "The Iron Skipper" by Verne Athanas
  • "American Captain" by Edison Marshall
  • "A Handful of Silver" by Victor Canning
  • October - 1954
  • "The Healer" by Frank G. Slaughter
  • "Ararat" by Jack Leonard and Lawrence Resner
  • "The Rainmaker" by N. Richard Nash
  • "The Four Wild Lives of General Dan" by George Scullin
  • "The Wilder Shores of Love" by Lesley Branch
  • "High Water" by Richard Bissell
  • "Onions in the Stew" by Betty MacDonald
  • "Not Without Vengeance" by George Van Marter
  • "The Screamer" by John Rich
  • "Tiger Bred" by John Larkin
  • "Love Is Eternal" by Irving Stone
  • November - 1954
  • "All Our Yesterdays" by Ralph Wheelwright
  • "Little If" by Butler and Rogers
  • [Los Angeles Times article: All Walk Off Job; Boss Takes His 100 Workers on Vacation]. Possible musical?
  • "Fragile Fox" by Norman A. Brooks
  • "Rimrock" by Luke Short
  • "Duel At Jackson Hole" by Gerald Drayson Adams
  • "The Tiger in the Smoke" by Margery Allingham
  • "The Adventurers" by Ernest Haycox
  • "Reunion" by Merle Miller
  • "Apache Kill" by William Hopson
  • "Remote" by James S. Pollak
  • "Tales of the African Frontier" by J.A. Hunter and Daniel P. Mannix
  • "Time Out For Ginger" by Ronald Alexander
  • "Consider the Lizard" by Eugene Manlove Rhodes
  • "Tammy Out of Time" by Cid Ricketts Sumner
  • "The Deadly Climate" by Ursula Curtiss
  • "Reclining Figure" by Harry Kurnitz
  • "Vernon Pick's $10 Million Ordeal" by Robert Coughlan
  • "Storm Fear" by Clinton Seeley
  • "Unfinished Crime" by Helen McCloy
  • "The Sin of Susan Slade" by Doris Hume
  • December - 1954
  • "Tiger Belle" by Diana Gaines
  • "My Brother's Keeper" by Marcia Davenport
  • "The Magnificent Mitscher" by Theodore Taylor
  • "The Bad Seed" by Maxwell Anderson
  • "Witness for the Prosecution" by Agatha Christie
  • "The Brass Command" by Clay Fisher
  • "The Girl in the Cage" by Ben Benson
  • ".375 Waverly" by Ralph Dietrich and Kenneth Earl
  • "Somebody Up There Likes Me" by Rocky Graziano with Rowland Barber
  • "Captain Judas" by F. Van Wyck Mason
  • "Benton's Row" by Frank Yerby
  • "A Gun for Billy Reo" by C. Hall Thompson
  • "It's Sooner Than You Think" by Robert Carson
  • "Oliver Walling" by William H. Wright and Albert Beich
  • January - 1955
  • "Tell It On The Drums" by Robert W. Krepps
  • "A Wonderful Disposition" by Milton Geiger
  • "Saga of the Mounted Police" by William Byron Mowery
  • "Bent's Fort" by David Lavender
  • "Run Silent, Run Deep" by Commander Edward L. Beach, USN
  • February - 1955
  • "Maracaibo" by Stirling Silliphant
  • "Oval of Death" by Hugh Pentecost
  • "The Judas Kiss" by Jay Dratler
  • "The Woman with Red Hair" by Sam Locke and Paul Roberts
  • "The Grand Prize" by Ronald Alexander
  • "Dr. Paradise" by Jay Dratler
  • "A Pocket Full of Rye" by Agatha Christie
  • [William G. Wood story] by Basil Talbott (Chicago American)"Death of a Purser" by John Rodes Sturdy
  • "In the Eyes of the Law" by James Whitney
  • "Suzanne" by Jonreed Lauritzen
  • "Twist of the Knife" by Victor Canning
  • "Blizzard Range" by Todhunter Ballard
  • March - 1955
  • "Round-Up" by Robert Blees and Harry Essex
  • "Undercover Angel of the Slums" by Hartzell Spence
  • "Outlaw's Code" by Evan Evans (Max Brand)
  • "The Peacemakers" by William Porter
  • "Quick-Trigger Country" by Clem Colt
  • "Snow Storm (Blizzard)" by Phil Stong
  • "Blood Brothers" by Gerald Drayson Adams
  • "Indian Chief Joseph"
  • "Do Re Mi" by Garson Kanin
  • "Nothing But The Sky" by Bernard Smith and Horace McCoy
  • "Flamingo Feather" by Laurens van der Post
  • "The Sleeper" by Holly Roth
  • "Tin-Star Posse" by Harry Sylvester
  • April - 1955
  • "Beauty in the Dust" by Guy Trosper
  • "The Nervous People" by Bernard Drew and John Kohn
  • "The Twilighters" by Noel Loomis
  • "The Unfaithful" by Laura Z. Hobson
  • "Marjorie Morningstar" by Herman Wouk
  • "The Man Who Paid His Way" by Walt Sheldon
  • "Intimate Story" by Rose Franken
  • "The Thorn Tree" by Nelia Gardner White
  • "Youth is the Time" by Robert Gessner
  • "Yonder" by Margaret Bell Houston
  • "Teach Me How to Cry" by Patricia Joudry
  • "Mad Baxter" by Wade Miller
  • "79 Park Avenue" by Harold Robbins
  • "The Meaning of Maryknoll" by Albert J. Nevins
  • "Misty of Chincoteague" by Marguerite Henry
  • "The Evil Men Do" by Devery Freeman
  • "Glamor Preferred" by Paula Fraser
  • "The Good Neighbors" by Devery Freeman
  • "The Best That Ever Did It" by Ed Lacy
  • "Lepers Rang Bells" by Hager Wilde
  • May - 1955
  • "Laurette" by Marguerite Courtney
  • "Cash McCall" by Cameron Hawley
  • "The Last Wagon" by Gwen Bagni
  • "Heller With a Gun" by Louis L'Amour
  • "A Woman Named Storm" by Hector Chevigny
  • "Solo" by Stanford Whitmore
  • "Gun For a Coward" by R. Wright Campbell
  • "The Sky Block" by Steve Frazee
  • "The Penniless Blues" by Mel Heimer
  • "Man On Spikes" by Eliot Asinof
  • "Terror At Webb's Landing" by Frank Harvey
  • "Stolen Fruit"; a play by Dario Niccodemi (adapted by Gladys Unger)
  • "One of Our H Bombs is Missing" by Frederick Hazlitt Brennan
  • Box 24:
  • June - 1955
  • "Cast A Long Shadow" by Wayne D. Overholser
  • "Deadly Enemy" by Frederick Nebel
  • "Pale Moon" by W. R. Burnett
  • "Man On Spikes" by Eliot Asinof
  • "Kiowa" by Tom Gries
  • "The Wine Of Youth" by Robert Wilder
  • "Loose Ends" by Henry Kane
  • "All Through The Night" by Whit Masterson
  • "Andersonville" by MacKinlay Kantor
  • "Harry Black" by David Walker
  • "Kitimat" (The Patsy) by Gabrielle Upton
  • "Wherever You Are" by Stirling Silliophant
  • "The Persistent Image" by Gladys Schmitt
  • "Dark of The Moon" by James Warner Bellah and Norman Shannon Hall
  • August (none for July) - 1955
  • "Face Of Love" by Irene Winston
  • "Blood Arrow" by Fred Frieberger
  • "Man Afraid" by Dan Ullman
  • "Shrinking Man" by Richard Matheson
  • "Day Of Disaster" by John and Ward Hawkins (2 copies)
  • "Scandal" by Margaret Lee Runbeck
  • "First Train to Babylon" by Max Ehrlich
  • "The Fair One" by Barbara Pike
  • "The Hard Man" by Leo Katcher
  • "The Christmas Caper" by Het Manheim
  • "The Cruel Tower" by William Brown Hartley
  • "Hazard" by Leonard Lee
  • "The Man in the Gray Flannel Suit" by Sloan Wilson
  • "Wings of Glory" by Anne Wormser
  • "Mad River" by Donald Hamilton
  • "Freedom From the Press" by Hans Wilhelm
  • "The Angry Man" by T.T. Flynn
  • "Stars Over Santa Fe" by Borden Chase and Jerry Juran
  • "No Evil Angel" by Elisabeth Ogilvie
  • September - 1955
  • "Boon Island" by Kenneth Roberts
  • "Goat Island" by William Fuller
  • "Western Star" by Kelly Masterson and Jess Lazarus
  • "Bullet Range" by Will Cook
  • "Gun For a Coward" by R. Wright Campbell
  • "Herbert" by David Stern
  • "The Villa Dusty" by Mortimer Braus
  • "Sinners and Shrouds" by Jonathan Latimer
  • "The Last Frontier" by N.B. Stone, Jr.
  • "Underworld U.S.A." by Joseph F. Dinneen
  • "Military Operation--Mad Ball" by Arthur P. Carter
  • October - 1955
  • "Jubilee" by John Brick
  • "Trigger Trail" by Todhunter Ballard
  • "The Deer Park" by Norman Mailer
  • "Quantez" by R. Wright Campbell
  • "Shadow Of The Noose" by John and Ward Hawkins
  • "Because of Love" by Viola Swisher
  • "Sierra Baron" by Thomas Wakefield Blackburn
  • "Beat Not The Bones" by Charlotte Jay
  • "The Comeback" by Harry Essex and John Fante
  • November - 1955
  • "In His Blood" by Harold R. Daniels
  • "Ten North Frederick" by John O'Hara
  • "The Last Party" by Jesse Lasky, Jr. and Barney Slater
  • "Kumari" by William Buchan
  • "The Candidate's Wife" by Anne Morrison Chapin and Allen Vincent
  • "The Visitor" by Kenneth White (from a novel by Carl Randau and Leane Zugsmith)
  • "Sellout" by H. Haile Chace
  • "Signal Thirty-Two" by MacKinlay Kantor
  • "Look of the Eagle" by Robert L. Scott
  • "The Clodhopper" by George Van Marter
  • "The Screamer" by John Rich
  • "The Dark Window" by Thomas Walsh
  • "They're Going To Kill Me" by Kathleen Moore Knight
  • December - 1955
  • "Fair Exchange" by Vincent Evans and Charles Grayson
  • "The Ravished Heart" by Ladislaus Fodor
  • "Death Rider" by J. O. Barnwell
  • "Seven Days to Never" by Pat Frank
  • "Rum Cay" by Houston Branch
  • "Gun in the Dust" by Steve Fisher
  • "Underdog" by W. R. Burnett
  • "Papa's Wife" by Thyra Ferre Bjorn
  • "Buffalo Grass" by Frank Gruber
  • "Second Ending" by Evan Hunter
  • "This Seat Occupied" by Lucille Fletcher
  • "Devil At My Heels" by Louis Zamperini with Helen Itria
  • January - 1956
  • "The Hardhats" by H.M. Newell
  • "The Happy Mountain" by Maristan Chapman
  • "Merrano" by Louis L'Amour
  • "Guestward Ho!" by Barbara Hooton and Patrick Dennis
  • "The Last Round" by Frank O'Rourke
  • "Valley of the Vines" by Joy Packer
  • "The Wolf Man" by Richard Shayer and Robert Florey
  • "Blind Cartridges" by William Colt MacDonald
  • "The Tight Corner" by Sam Ross
  • February - 1956
  • "The Pastel Penitentiary" by Jack Finney
  • "Badge of Evil" by Whit Masterson
  • "Circle of Guilt" by Mel Goldberg
  • "Battle Royal" by Frank O'Rourke
  • "Intent to Kill" by Michael Bryan
  • "Man-Snatcher" by Hagar Wilde
  • "Stopover Tokyo" by John P. Marquand
  • "Don't Go Near the Water" by William Brinkley
  • "The Keys of My Prison" by Frances Shelley Wees
  • "The Shadow of My Hand" by Holger Cahill
  • "The Loner" by Fan Nichols
  • "Backfire" by Edna Sherry
  • "A Dram of Poison" by Charlotte Armstrong
  • "The Dangling Carrot" by Day Keene
  • "The Finger" by Henry Kane
  • March - 1956
  • "The Border Jumpers" by Will C. Brown
  • "Warhorse" by John Cunningham
  • "Don't Look Back" by Miriam Borgenicht
  • "Vultures' Trail" by Hugh Pentecost
  • "Friday the Thirteenth" by H. Vernor Dixon
  • "Big Yeller Dog" by Fred Gipson
  • "The Man Who Rocked the Boat" by William J. Keating with Richard Carter
  • "The Ballad of Cat Ballou" by Roy Chanslor
  • "The Cradle Song" by Gregorio and Maria Martinez Sierra
  • "The Horse Soldiers" by Harold Sinclair
  • "The Man in the Net" by Patrick Quentin
  • "Badge of Evil" by Whit Masterson
  • "The Outlawed Banner" by Garland Roark
  • Box 25:
  • April - 1956
  • "A Man Named Gonzales" by Gene L. Coon
  • "Dark Tribute" by Robert Strevins
  • "The Chinese Camellia" by Jed Harris and Tom Reed (2 copies)
  • "A Certain Smile" by Francoise Sagan
  • "Getaway" by John Harris
  • "One Hour to Live" by Roy Chanslor (6 copies)
  • "The Night-Comers" by Eric Ambler
  • "Occupation Housewife"; first draft of original screen treatment by Ray Buffum
  • "School Bus" by Ray Buffum; 3 detailed outlines
  • "Cowboy in Manhattan"; no author. First draft.
  • "The Charger" by Thomas and Walter Doniger. Detailed outline.
  • "Sutton Place" by George Zuckerman. Final screenplay. May 3 - 1957
  • "Let's Live a Little" by Albert J. Cohen and Jack Harvey; Script of screenplay.
  • May - 1956
  • "The Gothard Story" by Doris Hume (8 copies)
  • "The Kean Land" by Jack Schaefer
  • "The Second Man" by Edward Grierson
  • "The Bravados" by Frank O'Rourke
  • "The Human Pattern" by Irving H. Cooper
  • "The Perfectionist" by Lane Kauffman
  • "Dinner at Antoines'" by Frances Parkinson Keyes
  • "The Lady" by Conrad Richter
  • "The Lady and Her Doctor" by Evelyn Piper
  • "Frontier Frenzy" by Frank Nugent
  • "Why Rustlers Never Win" by Henry Gregor Felsen
  • "Rack Up" by Peggy Mayer, Walter McGraw and Richard Kennedy
  • "The Law and Jake Wade" by Marvin H. Albert
  • "The Ninth Wave" by Eugene Burdick
  • "These Two Hands" by E.J. Edwards, S.V.D.
  • June - 1956
  • "Prairie Schooner" by Cliff Farrell
  • "The Night of the Tiger" by Al Dewlen
  • "Twilight for the Gods" by Ernest Gann
  • "Beyond the Pass" by Wayne D. Overholser
  • "Dogs of War" by Commander R.A. Raynor
  • "The Faceless Adversary" by Frances and Richard Lockridge
  • "The Fall of Edie Markham" by Harriet Frank, Jr.
  • "Merry Christmas Eve" by Edward Streeter
  • "The North Star" by Will Henry (Clay Fisher)
  • July - 1956
  • "The Big Nickelodeon" by Maritta M. Wolff
  • "The Loving Couple" by Virginia Rowans
  • "Street Fight" by Jo and Art Napoleon
  • August - 1956
  • "It's Always Four O'Clock" by James Updyke (W. R. Burnett)
  • "I Am Margaret!" by Andrew Rosenthal
  • Sub-Series: Production Material and Scripts
  • Box 26:
  • The Pancho Villa Story: Summary Budget
  • Pancho Villa Story: Correspondence
  • Pancho Villa Story: Envelope of all longhand screenplay material.
  • Pancho Villa Story: Envelope of newspaper clippings.
  • Pancho Villa Story: Two bound scripts. Screenplay by Robert T. Shannon; based on the published novel Pancho Villa's Shadow by Ernest Otto Schuster
  • One bound screen adaptation of Pancho Villa's Shadow by Ernest Otto Schuster; adapted by Don Ross.
  • Box 27:
  • The Blue Flame (The Flame): Correspondence and budget sheets.
  • Blue Flame: portfolio of photos, set lists, correspondence, production and budget materials, miscellaneous papers.
  • Blue Flame: Two bound revised drafts
  • Blue Flame: typed revised version. October 31 - 1951
  • Blue Flame: folder of scripts.
  • Box 28:
  • The Second Greatest Sex: Continuity Breakdown
  • The Second Greatest Sex: Loops
  • The Second Greatest Sex: Music Notes
  • The Second Greatest Sex
  • Treatment. September 13 - 1954
  • Revised Treatment. October 11 - 1954
  • First Draft Screenplay. November - 1954
  • Second Draft Screenplay. December 3 - 1954
  • Revised Second Draft Screenplay. December 20 - 1954
  • Final Screenplay (2 copies). January 22 - 1955
  • Production Budgets
  • Production Budget (bound)
  • Box 29:
  • Sign of the Pagan, #1758. Albert J. Cohen, producer; Douglas Sirk, director. Production budgets
  • Sign of the Pagan. Production budget, bound.
  • Sign of the Pagan.
  • Treatment. Oscar Brodney. February 27 - 1953
  • Treatment. Oscar Brodney. April 2 - 1953
  • Revised Treatment. Oscar Brodney. June 2 - 1953
  • Revised Treatment. Oscar Brodney. June 10 - 1953
  • First Draft Screenplay. Oscar Brodney. July 18 - 1953
  • First Draft Screenplay. Oscar Brodney. August 3 - 1953
  • Second Draft Screenplay. Barre Lyndon. September 30 - 1953
  • Revised First Draft Screenplay. Barre Lyndon. October 7 - 1953
  • Box 30:
  • The White Sheep. Treatment, Budget.
  • The White Sheep. Production Budgets.
  • The White Sheep. Miscellaneous.
  • The Badlands. Synopsis, outlines of screenplay (4 copies).
  • The Royal Strip by Ray Buffum. Photographs, letter, and outline (4 copies).
  • A Husband for Mama. Budget papers and miscellaneous materials for the screenplay.
  • Cherokee Strip. Budgets and outlines for the screenplay.
  • Madame Marie (Carnival Lady by Prescott Chaplin). Story outlines and correspondence for the screenplay.
  • The Lady Pays Off (1670). Albert Cohen, producer; Douglas Sirk, director. Music notes, correspondence, scripts.
  • The Lady Pays Off. Production Budget (bound)
  • The Lady Pays Off. Production Budgets.
  • The Lady Pays Off.
  • Screenplay. Frank Gill, Jr. and Albert J. Cohen.
  • First Draft. Continuity. Frank Gill, Jr. and Albert J. Cohen. March 8 - 1951
  • Final Shooting, bound. Frank Gill, Jr. and Albert J. Cohen. March 14 - 1951
  • Box 31:
  • The Melody Man (Music in the Air. An original Story by Robert T. Shannon).
  • The Melody Man. Screenplay; working copy. December 26 - 1947
  • The Melody Man. Bound script.
  • The Melody Man. Screenplay.
  • Magic Lady.
  • Synopsis. Thelma Robinson.
  • Treatment. Ketti Frings. December 10 - 1951
  • First Draft Continuity. Ketti Frings. January 7 - 1952
  • Second Draft Continuity. Ketti Frings. February 22 - 1952
  • Final Shooting, bound. Ketti Frings. April 4 - 1952
  • Magic Lady. Miscellaneous, including music notes, correspondence, production and budget data.
  • Magic Lady. Production Budget (bound)
  • Magic Lady. Production Budgets.
  • Box 32:
  • Every Girl Should by Albert J. Cohen and Frank Gill, Jr. Screenplay (2 copies)
  • Mother Raised Five Blondes. Miscellaneous, containing portions of scripts.
  • Mother Raised Five Blondes. Miscellaneous, containing portions of scripts, treatment, story idea, correspondence. - 1955-1956
  • . . . . And No One Answered. Treatment by Charles Hoffman. June 1 - 1955
  • . . . . And No One Answered. Production Budgets. - 1955
  • . . . . And No One Answered. Miscellaneous, including inter-office memos.
  • So This Is Rio. "A" containing musical numbers, step outline, and script portions.
  • So This Is Rio. Revised Treatment; First Draft Screenplay. November 12 and January 6 - 1954; 1955
  • So This Is Rio. First Draft Screenplay.
  • So This Is Rio. Ray Buffam's changes.
  • So This Is Rio. Casting Possibilities, correspondence.
  • So This Is Rio. Miscellaneous, including production costs, plot data, correspondence.
  • Box 33:
  • The Outrage by Michael Kanin. Script. October 9 - 1963
  • The Way of An Eagle. Original Treatment by Margaret Waring.
  • Dark Star of Destiny. Two scripts.
  • Some Like It Hot, #5804. Shooting Schedule. Billy Wilder, Producer/Director. August 4 - 1958
  • Because of You. Exploitation and Publicity.
  • Adam Got Even. Two scripts.
  • When I Come Back. Screenplay by Margaret Gruen. First Draft. July 24 - 1945
  • I Know Women (Paris Guide), by Albert Cohen and Robert T. Shannon. Three scripts.
  • Box 34:
  • How To Read Fast. Bound monograph.
  • "Budget for Religious Short"
  • Synopses of scripts. August 24 - 1950
  • "The Coming Race"
  • "The Pancho Villa Story"
  • "The Lady Pays Off"
  • "And Never Been Kissed"
  • "The Criminal"
  • "The Last Apache"
  • "I Dive for Treasure"
  • "Week-End Help"; story idea by Lawrence L. Lewellyn
  • Words and Music (story line) by Albert Cohen and Jack Harvey
  • The Kettles in the Tall Corn. Treatment. January 7 - 1955
  • "30,000 Women and a Man." Bound script.
  • "The Black Scorpion." Bound script.
  • Miscellaneous unidentified script fragments.
  • Box 35:
  • Desperation (Lover Come Back). Script-treatments for screenplay (3 copies)
  • The Criminal: A Melodrama by Albert Cohen and Robert T. Shannon.
  • The Criminal and The Kid. Screenplay by Jerry Sackheim
  • The Killer and the Kid. Screenplay by Jerry Sackheim.
  • The Criminal. Folder of working copy.
  • Box 36:
  • Prince of Baghdad: Caliph of Baghdad or Venus of Baghdad by William R. Cox (2 copies)
  • Prince of Baghdad. Miscellaneous including music notes and correspondence.
  • Prince of Baghdad. Loops.
  • Prince of Baghdad. Production budget.
  • Prince of Baghdad. Bound production budget.
  • Prince of Baghdad. Cast List.
  • Prince of Baghdad. Treatment by William Robert Cox. March 10 - 1952
  • Prince of Baghdad. Treatment by William Robert Cox. March 21 - 1952
  • Sioux Uprising.
  • First Draft Continuity. J. Robert Bren and Gladys Atwater. (The Horse Doctor). September 24 - 1951
  • Final Screenplay (incomplete). Melvin Levy. August 6 - 1952
  • Continuity Breakdown. September 26 - 1952
  • Revised Final Screenplay. Melvin Levy. Dialog Revision by Frank Gill, Jr. [MISSING] September 3 - 1952
  • Sioux Uprising. Production Budget, bound. October 7-November 6 - 1952
  • Sioux Uprising. Production Budgets.
  • Sioux Uprising. Loops.
  • Sioux Uprising. Miscellaneous including music notes, inter-office correspondence, notes, production data.
  • Box 37:
  • The Glass Web. Music notes (bound).
  • The Glass Web. Storyboard Sketches.
  • The Glass Web (#1742). Albert J. Cohen, producer; Jack Arnold, director. Bound production budget. June 23-July 21 - 1953
  • The Glass Web. Production budgets.
  • The Glass Web. Miscellaneous including correspondence and production data.
  • The Glass Web.
  • Treatment by Leonard Lee. October 18 - 1952
  • First Draft Screenplay. Leonard Lee. October 28 - 1952
  • First Draft Screenplay. Leonard Lee. November 4 - 1952
  • Revised First Draft Screenplay. Leonard Lee. December 11 - 1952
  • Second Draft Screenplay. Robert Blees. May 20 - 1953
  • Final Screenplay by Leonard Lee and Robert Blees. June 9 - 1953
  • Box 38:
  • The Unknown Continent (Island). Correspondence, budget, and contracts.
  • The Unknown Continent (Island). Stillman and Stillman, Attorneys.
  • The Unknown Continent (Island). Miscellaneous financial.
  • The Unknown Continent (Island). Correspondence (3 folders).
  • Book: So Long Ago by L.B. Smith.
  • The Unknown Continent (Island). Legal contracts.
  • The Unknown Continent (Island). Legal papers.
  • The Unknown Continent (Island). Story and research material.
  • The Unknown Continent (Island). Cutting continuity and production; miscellaneous including Cinecolor contract.
  • The Unknown Continent (Island). Film classics gross receipts.
  • Box 39:
  • Motel. Original Story by Ray Buffum. Envelope of material from Texas Motor Court Association.
  • Motel. Envelope of still from Hacienda.
  • Motel. Research notes.
  • Motel. Miscellaneous, including script treatments, original story, script changes, characters.
  • Motel. Miscellaneous, including some script changes, magazine and newspaper clippings.
  • Showdown at Yellow Butte (The Gun at Yellow Butte; The Lone Gun). Based on the published novel by Louis L'Amour. Treatment script.
  • Showdown at Yellow Butte. Contract materials and two Jim Mayo (Louis L'Amour)paperback novels with this title.
  • Showdown at Yellow Butte. Script, treatments and fragments.
  • Box 40:
  • East of Sumatra.
  • Original. Jack Natteford and Louis L'Amour.
  • Original manuscript. Jack Natteford and Louis L'Amour; 11 pages. March 28 - 1952
  • Original manuscript. Jack Natteford and Louis L'Amour ; 26 pages. March 28 - 1952
  • Progression notes, Dyak Music, Magnetometer, story line, research. Jack Natteford.
  • Basic Story Line. Jack Natteford. April 9 - 1952
  • Story Line. Jack Natteford. April 17 - 1952
  • First Draft Continuity. Jack Natteford. April 25 - 1952
  • First Draft Continuity. Frank Gill, Jr. June 17 - 1952
  • First Draft Continuity. Frank Gill, Jr. June 27 - 1952
  • Final Screenplay. Frank Gill, Jr. August 7 - 1952
  • Changes on Final. Frank Gill, Jr.
  • Revised Final, bound. Frank Gill, Jr. MISSING. September 6 - 1952
  • East of Sumatra. Loops.
  • East of Sumatra. Production budget, bound. November 21-December 22 - 1952
  • East of Sumatra. Production budgets.
  • East of Sumatra. Miscellaneous, including inter-office correspondence, music notes.
  • Box 41:
  • Miss Universe (Universal Girl). Treatment, bound. December 12 - 1951
  • Universal Girl. Original Story and Treatment. December 31 - 1951
  • Miss Universe. Revised Treatment. August 30 - 1952
  • Miss Universe by William Robert Cox. Original Story and Treatment. August 30 - 1952
  • Miss Universe. Second Draft Screenplay. January 16 - 1953
  • Miss Universe. First Draft Continuity. October 24 - 1952
  • Miss Universe. Miscellaneous, including inter-office memos, correspondence, chronology of film.
  • Miss Universe. Production budgets.
  • Universal Girl. Outline, budgets.
  • Music (assorted numbers)
  • Afrimerica.
  • The Story by Edward T. Lowe and W. Earle Frank.
  • Estimate of Cost.
  • Letter and copy of Unspoilt Africa.
  • Black and white sketches accompanied by text for camera shots.
  • Alliance Productions, Inc. financial papers.
  • Box 42:
  • Hannibal of Carthage. Script and Miscellaneous.
  • Down Payment. Treatments and Production Budgets.
  • Dark Waters. Original title was The Rare Blood of Harry Stroud. Script fragments and changes.
  • Dark Waters. Script changes.
  • Dark Waters. Production Budgets.
  • Dark Waters. Script; principal characters.
  • The Lonely Midas. Correspondence.
  • The Old Dark House by J.B. Priestley. Story outline and production cost estimates.
  • The Last Apache. Correspondence.
  • Without Honor by Albert J. Cohen and Ray Buffum. Script outlines.
  • Riviera Girl by Albert J. Cohen and Ray Buffum. Story outline (3 copies).
  • Riviera Girl. Working copy, photographs, story copy.
  • Riviera Girl. Working copy, photographs, story copy.
  • Two Faces West. Production budgets.
  • Two Faces West. Treatment by Frank Gill, Jr.
  • Two Faces West. Miscellaneous.
  • The Night Runner. Production Reports.
  • The Night Runner. Production Budgets.
  • The Night Runner.
  • Second Draft Screenplay by Gene Levitt.
  • Magazine tear-sheets. Original story by Owen Cameron.
  • Original story synopsis by Estelle Conde.
  • Proof photographs, telegrams, correspondence.
  • The Night Runner. Production Budget. August 16-September 6 - 1956
  • The Night Runner. Inter-office correspondence, suggested titles, new version changes.
  • The Night Runner. Photos [MISSING]
  • Box 42a:
  • Tanganyika. (African Journey--tentative title). Story idea by William R. Cox.
  • Tanganyika. Treatment by William R. Cox. March 31 - 1953
  • Tanganyika. Treatment by William R. Cox. March 26 - 1953
  • Tanganyika. Treatment by William R. Cox. April 9 - 1953
  • Tanganyika. Treatment by William R. Cox. April 24 - 1953
  • Tanganyika. Treatment. April 28 - 1953
  • Tanganyika. First Draft Screenplay. June 6 - 1953
  • Tanganyika. First Draft Screenplay. June 2 - 1953
  • Tanganyika. Revised First Draft Screenplay. July 29 - 1953
  • Box 43:
  • Tanganyika. Second Draft Screenplay. August 31
  • 1953
  • Tanganyika. Final Screenplay. September 24 - 1953
  • Tanganyika. Revised Final Screenplay (2 copies). October 14 - 1953
  • Tanganyika. Correspondence.
  • Tanganyika. Music Notes.
  • Tanganyika. Loops.
  • Tanganyika. Miscellaneous.
  • Tanganyika. Production Budget (bound). October 17-November 16 - 1953
  • Tanganyika. Production Budgets.
  • Box 44:
  • Midnight Lace. Script fragments including title of Dolly Hessian. - 1954
  • Midnight Lace. First Draft Screenplay. December 19 - 1953
  • Midnight Lace. Production Budgets.
  • Midnight Lace. Miscellaneous.
  • Night Flowers (Girls in the Night)
  • Original Story and Treatment by Ray Buffum. Typed. July 2 - 1952
  • Treatment. Ray Buffum. July 10 - 1952
  • First Draft Screenplay. Ray Buffum. Typed. July 29 - 5-May
  • First Draft Screenplay (multi). Ray Buffum. July 29 - 1952
  • Second Draft Continuity. Ray Buffum. August 28 - 1952
  • Final Screenplay, bound. Ray Buffum. [MISSING] September 10 - 1952
  • Night Flowers. Staff, shooting schedule, continuity breakdown.
  • Night Flowers/Girls in the Night. Loops and wild lines.
  • Night Flowers. Wardrobe stills and negatives of research photos of East-side New York boys and girls.
  • Night Flowers. Miscellaneous including correspondence and music notes.
  • Night Flowers. Production budget, bound.
  • Night Flowers. Production budgets.
  • Night Flowers. Stack of audience opinion cards from a premiere.
  • Box 45:
  • The Wife Problem (And Never Been Kissed). A Comedy for the Screen by Frank Gill, Jr. and Albert J. Cohen. Bound script.
    See also Box 9.
  • And Never Been Kissed. Revised and Retitled (formerly The Lion Tamer and Dr. MacKenzie). April 11 - 1949
    See also Box 9.
  • Paris After Dark. First Draft Screenplay. February 14 - 1953
  • Paris After Dark. Revised First Draft Screenplay. June 1 - 1953
  • Paris After Dark. Treatment. December 20 - 1952
  • Paris After Dark. Revised Suggested Treatment. August 4 - 1953
  • Paris After Dark. Production Budgets.
  • Paris After Dark. Budgets and script revisions.
  • Paris After Dark. Miscellaneous.
  • Danger for Breakfast (Operation Dynamite: Tokyo; Assignment Tokyo). Red folder: Operation Dynamite: Tokyo. Treatment. Based on the published novel Danger for Breakfast by John McPartland.
  • Assignment Tokyo. Treatment by Ray Buffum.
  • Danger for Breakfast. Folder of script fragments.
  • Box 46:
  • Texas Man
  • Hair Trigger Kid. (Temporary Title). Detailed story outline by Louis Stevens. Treatment. July 26 - 1951
  • First Draft Continuity. September 6 - 1951
  • Second Draft Continuity. October 15 - 1951
  • Revised Second Draft Screenplay. November 20 - 1951
  • Continuity Breakdown. December 1 - 1951
  • Shooting Schedule. February 15 - 1952
  • Final Shooting. [MISSING] January 14 - 1952
  • Texas Man. Music Notes.
  • Texas Man. Miscellaneous including correspondence and script criticism.
  • Texas Man. Bound Production Budget. February 12-March 13 - 1952
  • Texas Man. Production Budgets.
  • Box 47:
  • Song of Bali. Treatment July 6 - 1953
  • Song of Bali. Revised Treatment. February 15 - 1954
  • The Island Story (Song of Bali). File copy. April 9 - 1954
  • The Island Story. First Draft Screenplay (2 copies). May 11 - 1954
  • The Island Story. Outline.
  • The Island Story. Miscellaneous including script fragments and changes, story summaries.
  • The Island Story. Production Budgets.
  • The Renegade. Correspondence from Film Classics--General Service Studios. Includes summary production costs.
  • The Renegade. Working copy. Screenplay by Albert Cohen and Jack Harvey.
  • The Renegade. Working copy in envelope.
  • Box 48:
  • Shalimar. Miscellaneous, including budget and script-changes material.
  • Shalimar. Charles Hoffman's treatment outline.
  • Shalimar. Production and script materials.
  • Johnny Salvo. Artist's sketches.
  • Johnny Salvo. Music notes.
  • Johnny Salvo. Miscellaneous including clippings, continuity breakdown, correspondence, production materials, etc.
  • Johnny Salvo. Bound Production Budget. December 13-30 - 1955
  • Johnny Salvo. Productions Budgets.
  • Johnny Salvo (The Tender Kill)
  • The Tender Kill Original Story by Peter R. Brooke (2 copies)
  • Treatment. Peter R. Brooke. February 23 - 1955
  • Revised Treatment. Peter R. Brooke. April 2 - 1955
  • First Draft Screenplay. Peter R. Brooke. June 20 - 1955
  • Step Outline. Danny Arnold.
  • First Draft Screenplay. Danny Arnold. September 30 - 1955
  • Revised First Draft Screenplay. Danny Arnold. November 14 - 1955
  • Final Screenplay. Danny Arnold. November 30 - 1955
  • Box 49:
  • Play Girl by Ray Buffum, typewritten
  • "Party Girl," typewritten
  • Play Girl, typewritten outline
  • Playgirl, typewritten outline
  • Playgirl, treatment by Ray Buffum. April 10 - 1953
  • Playgirl, treatment. May 19 - 1953
  • Playgirl, treatment. July 11 - 1953
  • Playgirl, revised treatment. July 31 - 1953
  • Playgirl, first draft screenplay. September 29 - 1953
  • Typewritten sheets. October 15 - 1953
  • Playgirl by Robert Blees. Step outline. October 19 - 1953
  • Playgirl. Screenplay by Robert Blees. October 21 - 1953
  • Playgirl. Second draft screenplay. October 27 - 1953
  • Playgirl. Final screenplay. November 20 - 1953
  • Playgirl. Step outline, Music, Salary slip, etc.
  • Playgirl. Loops.
  • Playgirl. Miscellaneous including censorship correspondence.
  • Playgirl. Production Budget, December 2 - January 4 - 1953-1954
  • Playgirl. Folder of production budgets.
  • Box 50:
  • Prehistoric Women. Folder of correspondence with Bank of America, NPAA, Paramount, Hal Wallis Productions, title registration materials, etc.
  • Prehistoric Women. Correspondence and budget materials.
  • Prehistoric Women. Negative cost, cinecolor contracts, mortgages, etc.
  • Prehistoric Women. Correspondence and financial papers.
  • Prehistoric Women. Eagle-Lion Classics correspondence.
  • Prehistoric Women. Ben Rose correspondence.
  • Prehistoric Women.
  • Prehistoric Women. Cinecolor Corp. correspondence.
  • Prehistoric Women. Correspondence with attorneys: Kaplan, Livingston, Goodwin, and Berkowitz.
  • Prehistoric Women. Lantin Insurance.
  • Prehistoric Women. United Artists correspondence and reports. - 1951
  • Prehistoric Women. United Artists correspondence and reports. - 1952
  • Box 51:
  • Prehistoric Women. Photographs.
  • Prehistoric Women. Music cue sheet.
  • Prehistoric Women. Music timing.
  • Prehistoric Women. Contracts and correspondence.
  • Prehistoric Women. Folder of news clippings.
  • Prehistoric Women. Envelope of news clippings.
  • Box 52:
  • Istanbul
  • [Singapore] Original screenplay. Seton I. Miller. September 21 - 1955
  • First draft screenplay. Barbara Gray. October 24 - 1955
  • Second draft screenplay. Richard Alan Simmons. December 29 - 1955
  • Final screenplay. Richard Alan Simmons and Barbara Gray. January 27 - 1956
  • Final screenplay with revisions by Barbara Gray. January 27 - 1956
  • Istanbul. Music notes.
  • Istanbul. Loops.
  • Istanbul. Dubbing, wardrobe, and production materials.
  • Istanbul. Production reports.
  • Istanbul. Production budget. Bound. February 20-March 26 - 1956
  • Istanbul. Production budgets.
  • Box 53:
  • So This is Paris. (Three Gobs in Paris). Bound production budget. April 12-May13 - 1954
  • So This is Paris. Production budget.
  • So This is Paris. Miscellaneous, including correspondence.
  • So This is Paris. Music notes.
  • So This is Paris.
  • Treatment. Ray Buffum. August 22 - 1953
  • First Draft Screenplay. Charles Hoffman. December 11 - 1953
  • Final Screenplay. Charles Hoffman. February 27 - 1954
  • Revised Final Screenplay. Charles Hoffman and Revisions by Blake Edwards. March 26 - 1954
  • My Girl Godfrey. Working copy.
  • My Girl Godfrey. Bound treatment. January 1 - 1951
  • My Girl Godfrey. Exploitation Musical.
  • My Girl Godfrey. Treatment.
  • Denver Kate. Original story by Prescott Chaplin.
  • Denver Kate. Budgets (Summary)
  • You Can't Kill a Cop, outline by Prescott Chaplin.
  • All Women Are Jealous, by Albert J. Cohen and George Chandler.
  • World's End by Prescott Chaplin.
  • Box 54:
  • I Gotta Million. Correspondence and clippings.
  • Ashenden. Correspondence.
  • Assignment to Syria. Production budgets.
  • Assignment to Syria. Miscellaneous, including correspondence.
  • East Side General. Miscellaneous, including correspondence and budgets.
  • Border River.
  • Story Outline. Louis Stevens June 4 - 1952
  • First Draft Screenplay. Louis Stevens. June 30 - 1952
  • First Draft Screenplay (unfinished). Louis Stevens. June 26 - 1952
  • Step Outline. Louis Stevens. August 12 - 1952
  • Revised First Draft. Louis Stevens. August 23 - 1952
  • Final Screenplay. Louis Stevens. April 28 - 1953
  • Final Screenplay Revisions by William Sackheim.
  • Border River. Photographs and music notes.
  • Border River. Miscellaneous production and budget materials.
  • Border River. One bound production budget. June 3-July2 - 1953
  • Border River. Production budgets.
  • Box 55:
  • A Time Remembered (Only Yesterday; Never Say Goodbye). Script materials.
  • Only Yesterday (A Time Remembered). New and added scenes.
  • A Time Remembered. Bound production budget. April 9-May14 - 1955
  • A Time Remembered. Production budgets.
  • City Beneath the Sea. Photographs.
  • City Beneath the Sea. Music notes.
  • City Beneath the Sea.
  • First Draft Continuity. Ramon Romero. July 26 - 1951
  • Revised First Draft. Jack Harvey. September 13 - 1951
  • Second Draft Continuity. Jack Harvey. November 17 - 1951
  • Final Shooting. Jack Harvey. Additional Dialogue by Don McGuire. December 21 - 1951
  • Revised Final Jack Harvey. Additional Dialogue and Revisions by Don McGuire and Joseph Hoffman. March 26 - 1952
  • City Beneath the Sea. Brief Pictorial History.
  • City Beneath the Sea. Miscellaneous, including correspondence.
  • Box 55a:
  • City Beneath the Sea. Bound production budget. March 31-May 5 - 1952
  • City Beneath the Sea. Production budgets.
  • Series 2: PHOTOGRAPHS AND PHONOGRAPH RECORDS
  • Sub-Series: Stills
  • Box 56:
  • Alladin, Mary Flynn, Benny Rubin, Maurice Anka, Torben Meyer, Stephen W. Downer, Bill Riggs, Jeanne Wood
  • Robert Coote, Robert Pike, Tony Marsh, Wesley Addy, Norbert Schillek, Charles Radilau, Vladimir Golubeff, Franz Rochu, John Qualen, Shepard Menken
  • Linda Williams, Anita Alverez
  • Miscellaneous stills including Fred McMurray, John Wayne, etc.
  • Miscellaneous stills of actresses
  • Miscellaneous stills of actresses
  • Miscellaneous stills of actors
  • Miscellaneous stills of actors
  • Box 57:
  • Stills: possible ads for "babyjuice" oranges
  • Miscellaneous stills
  • Mexican character actors
  • Miscellaneous actresses
  • Photos from Republic picture "Trigger, Jr."
  • Columbia's "Down to Earth" and "Tonight and Every Night" with Marc Platt and Rita Hayworth
  • Twentieth Century Fox: stills from "Spring Tonic" and "Man Eating Tiger" with ZuZu Pitts; Scandals
  • Republic's "The Man Who Died Twice" with Rod Cameron and Vera Ralston; miscellaneous Republic stills, including Adrian Booth in "Valley of the Zombies"
  • Columbia's "The Talk of the Town" with Jean Arthur, Cary Grant, Ronald Colman
  • Box 58:
  • Columbia's "A Thousand and One Nights"
  • Columbia's "Stranger in His House", "Return of the Vampire", "Somewhere in Shabara" with J. Carrol Nash, "Let's Go Steady" with Mel Ferrer and Mel Torme, and "I Love a Mystery".
  • Twentieth Century Fox's "Caravan"
  • Columbia's "Last Train from Bombay"
  • Columbia's "The Swordsman" with Ellen Drew (1984), "The Fuller Brushman" with Red Skelton, and "Framed" with Janis Carter
  • Columbia's "State Penitentiary"
  • Columbia's "The Devil Commands" with Amanda Duff and Richard Fiske
  • Columbia's "Covergirl", "Golden Boy" and "The Outlanders"
  • Columbia's "Pigmy Island" with Johnny Weissmuller
  • Twentieth Century Fox's "Kidnapped" plus miscellaneous Twentieth Century Fox stills
  • Twentieth Century Fox's "Song of the Islands" with Victor Mature, Thomas Mitchell, Jack Oakie, and Betty Grable
  • Box 59:
  • Miscellaneous Columbia and unmarked Columbia stills
  • Album of portraits
  • Miscellaneous negatives
  • Children
  • Mexican stills
  • Color house color negatives (2 folders)
  • Old photographs
  • Old photographs
  • Box 60:
  • Oversized photographs of individuals plus a few scenery; majority unidentified
  • Sub-Series: Phonograph Records
  • Box 61:
  • Stanley, Eddie. Dennis Day singing "I'll Step Aside" /"Keep My Heart"; Victor Records
  • Kraushaar; Stanley Cowan. Dream? Wiser?
  • Kaung; Fade out ending; Dec. 20th "African Chant"
  • Barry, Gene; "For Every Man There's a Woman"/"Haunted Heart"
  • Carlos, Francisco; "Rio--Brasil"
  • Ludmilla Tcherina; "test"; January 15, 1954 (6 records)
  • Gershenson; "Temptation"
  • Pevney; "Lie to Me"/"There'll Be Some Changes Made". December 2, 1953
  • Pevney; songs from" Playgirl": "Fran Kills Mike"; "Ambulance Ride"; "End Cast"; "Phyllis Poses Montage"; "Brush Off" (Fox Trot)/"Fran and Mike"; "Fran Turned Down"; "He Belongs to Me"; "Mike, I Need You"
  • Motion Picture Pioneers, November 25, 1952 (5 records)
  • Series 3: GENERAL
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 62:
  • Universal-International: inter-office, Story Department - 1953
  • U-I: Christmas; addresses and inter-office communication - 1953
  • U-I: inter-office, Production Department
  • U-I Story Memos: A
  • U-I Story Memos: B
  • U-I Story Memos: C
  • U-I Story Memos: D
  • U-I Story Memos: E
  • U-I Story Memos: F
  • U-I Story Memos: G
  • U-I Story Memos: H
  • U-I Story Memos: I
  • U-I Story Memos: K
  • U-I Story Memos: L
  • U-I Story Memos: M
  • U-I Story Memos: N
  • U-I Story Memos: O
  • U-I Story Memos: P
  • U-I Story Memos: R
  • U-I Story Memos: S
  • U-I Story Memos: T
  • U-I Story Memos: U
  • U-I Story Memos: W
  • U-I Story Memos: Y
  • Box 63:
  • Alliance Productions: Narration for "Prehistoric Women"
  • Correspondence with Mr. Nichols
  • Alliance Productions: A
  • Alliance Productions: B
  • Alliance Productions: C
  • Alliance Productions: D
  • Alliance Productions: E
  • Alliance Productions: F
  • Alliance Productions: G
  • Alliance Productions: H
  • Alliance Productions: I
  • Alliance Productions: J
  • Alliance Productions: K
  • Alliance Productions: L
  • Alliance Productions: M
  • Alliance Productions: N
  • Alliance Productions: P
  • Alliance Productions: R
  • Alliance Productions: S
  • Alliance Productions: T
  • Alliance Productions: U
  • Alliance Productions: V
  • Alliance Productions: W
  • Alliance Productions: Z
  • Employment Requests - 1953
  • Employment Requests - 1954
  • Employment Requests - 1955
  • Employment Requests - 1956
  • Ray Stricklyn
  • Ken Hudgins
  • Indian Pictures
  • Monique Vermont Clips
  • Donna Scott
  • Miscellaneous correspondence and General Service notices
  • William Gordon, Censorship
  • Don Bi Beau
  • Elisa Valli
  • Jim Brooks
  • Ron Harper, correspondence
  • Ron Harper, miscellaneous
  • David McLean, miscellaneous
  • Don Albert Lima, including photograph, correspondence, and sheet music "I'm Alone In a Crowd"
  • Box 64:
  • New York Publishers Correspondence
  • Screen Producer's Guild - 1951-1953
  • Pocket Books, Inc.
  • Random House, Inc.
  • Doubleday and Co., Inc.
  • The Stidger Story and Gouverneor Morris
  • Gallows Hill
  • Liveright Publishing Corp.
  • Thank you notes
  • Universal-International: inter-office correspondence - 1951-1955
  • Universal-International: miscellaneous correspondence - 1956
  • Bankamerica Club--miscellany
  • Albert J. Cohen Productions: Miscellaneous correspondence
  • Pat Betz: interoffice
  • Richard Carroll
  • David Lipton
  • James Pratt
  • Edward Muhl
  • Prescott Chaplin
  • Title registrations
  • Eagle-Lion Studios, Inc. and Eagle Lion Classics
  • Bank of America
  • Mitchell May, Jr. Co., Inc.
  • Scripts given out, June 20 - 1950
  • Censorship
  • Titles: correspondence (protests, etc.)
  • Stories submitted by agents, et. al. - 1950-1951
  • Stories submitted by agents, et. al. - 1951-1953
  • Stories submitted by agents, et. al. - 1954
  • Stories submitted by agents, et. al. - 1955
  • Stories submitted by agents, et. al. - 1956
  • Box 65:
  • Fred Jackman, Jr., contract
  • Miss S. Guilford, contract
  • Screen Actors Guild, including agreements
  • Screen Actors Guild Contract
  • Screen Directors' Guild
  • Screen Extras' Guild
  • Screen Extras' Guild, Inc.
  • Screen Producers' Guild
  • Legal Forms: Swarts, Tannenbaum, Ziffren, and Steinberg
  • Music Department
  • Reports of Producer's Picture Assignment Meetings
  • Synopses of Story Properties of other Producers
  • Reports of Weekly Assignment Meetings, November 20-December 8 - 1951-1953
  • Reports of Weekly Assignment Meetings - 1954
  • Writers' Reports - 1950-1951
  • Writers' Reports - 1953
  • Writers' Reports - 1954
  • Writers' Reports - 1955
  • Writers' Reports - 1956
  • Contract Players' Bulletins
  • National Labor Relations Board
  • Story Memos, current
  • Casting Department
  • Christmas - 1952
  • Albert J. Cohen, Producer and Universal Pictures
  • Legal Department
  • Writers
  • Forms, Blanks, Miscellaneous
  • Moving Picture Machine Operators (IATSE-MPMO) agreement
  • Box 66:
  • Albert J. Cohen: Personal correspondence; previous to September 13 - 1950
  • Cohen: personal correspondence; September 14 - December 31 - 1950
  • Cohen: personal correspondence - 1951
  • Cohen: personal correspondence; January 2 - December 30 - 1952
  • Cohen: personal correspondence; January 2-December 31 - 1953
  • Cohen: personal correspondence; January 2-December 31 - 1954
  • Cohen: personal correspondence; January 3 - 31-Dec
    1955
  • Cohen: personal correspondence; January-December - 1956
  • Cohen: personal correspondence; March 18 - 1957
  • Sub-Series: Financial Papers
  • Box 67:
  • Sale of Two Lots on Troost; November 4 - 1950
  • Insurance: claims (and forms)
  • Negative cost reports
  • General Science Studio: bills, March-August - 1948
  • Receipts - 1953-1954
  • Actor contracts for "A Time Remembered"; Insurance policies; Income tax - 1951
  • "Casting slips" - 1948
  • Box 68:
  • Cancelled Bank-of-America Checks - 1947-1952
  • Cancelled Bank-of-America Checks - 1953-1955
  • Cancelled checks - 1954
  • Index cards on plays and novels
  • Alliance financial statements
  • Production and call sheets
  • Miscellaneous financial
  • Cinecolor Corporation bills
  • Box 69:
  • Miscellaneous financial papers from July, August, September and October - 1948
  • Box 70:
  • Telephone Calls, July 1-December 31 - 1952
  • Telephone Calls, January 2-December 31 - 1953
  • Telephone sheets, January-November - 1954
  • Telephone sheets, December-October - 1954-1955
  • Telephone calls, October-June - 1955-1956
  • Production costs for The Renegade (3 copies); End of Night (4 copies); The Lady Pays Off (2 copies); And Never Been Kissed (4 copies)
  • Wardrobe rentals and fittings (possibly for Unknown Continent)
  • Rental orders (not complete)
  • General Service Studio and outside rental orders, requisitions
  • Negative cost report on Unknown Continent
  • Bank reconciliations
  • Cinecolor agreement
  • Journal Voucher--Detail
  • Frank Nichols--accounts
  • Construction work orders
  • Authorizations, deductions for checks and delivery to agents
  • F.O.A.B.: Collector of Internal Revenue
  • Series 4: ADDENDUM
  • Box 71:
  • The Young Marrieds, character sketches
  • No Down Payment, three treatments
  • Wife Problem, one screenplay
  • Naval Airforce Story, miscellaneous
  • Dark Waters, notebook
  • Port Royale: miscellaneous changes
  • First Draft Screenplay by Ray Buffum, November 19 - 1952
  • Treatment by Ray Buffum. September 26 - 1952
  • Script
  • Original story by Albert J. Cohen and Ray Buffum. August 8 - 1952
  • Port Royale
  • Revised First Draft Screenplay, April 22 - 1954
  • Treatment by Ray Buffum. September 26 - 1952
  • Midnight Lace
  • Budget and communication for Dolly Hessian
  • Dolly Hessian, Revised Second Draft Screenplay. December 10 - 1954
  • Hannibal of Carthage
  • Synopses treatment. June 15 - 1954
  • Treatment. April 27 - 1954
  • Flaming Arrow
  • Screenplay by William R. Cox. Second draft screenplay. March 5 - 1953
  • First draft screenplay by Eugene Ling. December 18 - 1952
  • Screenplay by Eugene Ling. First draft screenplay. November 4 - 1952
  • Step sheet by Eugene Ling.
  • Treatment by Eugene Ling. September 5 - 1952
  • Treatment by Eugene Ling.
  • Song of Bali; Miscellaneous
  • Original story and revised treatment by Ray Buffum. Based on the poem "The Island" by Lord Byron. (Formerly The Lord Byron Story); (Formerly Pearls of Paradise). February 15 - 1954
  • Treatment by Ray Buffum. July 6 - 1953
  • Pearls of Paradise. Treatment by Ray Buffum. March 24 - 1953
  • Pearls of Paradise. Treatments (3)
  • Rough Draft Treatment
  • First draft screenplay by David Duncan. October 30 - 1952
  • Revised treatment by David Duncan. October 3 - 1952
  • Treatment. September 23 - 1952
  • Synopsis by Dick Whittle
  • Miss Universe: miscellaneous changes, etc.
  • Second draft screenplay by Frank Gill, Jr. January 16 - 1953
  • First draft continuity by Frank Gill, Jr. October 24 - 1952
  • Revised treatment. Original story and treatment by William Robert Cox. August 30 - 1952
  • Original story and treatment by William Robert Cox. August 30 - 1952
  • Outline
  • Universal Girl. Original story and treatment by William Robert Cox. December 31 - 1951
  • Treatment. December 12 - 1951
  • Outline A. Universal Girl
  • Paris After Dark
  • Revised first draft screenplay by Oscar Brodney. June 1 - 1953
  • First draft screenplay by Oscar Brodney. February 14 - 1953
  • First draft screenplay. February 14 - 1953
  • First draft screenplay. January 26 - 1953
  • Treatment by Oscar Brodney. December 20 - 1952
  • Treatment. November 28 - 1952
  • Treatment. November 17 - 1952
  • Bound duplicate extra scripts. MISSING
  • The Criminal (6 copies)
  • The Criminal and the Kid. (7 copies)
  • Every Girl Should (10 copies)
  • The Family Nobody Wanted (11 copies screenplay)
  • The Gun and the Arrow (2 copies screenplay)
  • The Gun at Yellow Butte (Showdown at Yellow Butte) (15 copies screenplay)
  • I Captured Geronimo (4 copies screenplay)
  • I Cried for You (8 copies screenplay)
  • I Dive for Treasure (3 copies of screenplay original story)
  • Island of Glory (9 copies)
  • Lover Come Back (6 copies screenplay)
  • Kilarneys of Brooklyn (5 copies of teleplay)
  • Meet Johnny Horn (1 copy of teleplay)
  • No Down Payment (8 copies of treatment)
  • Operation Dynamite: Tokyo (5 copies)
  • Paris After Dark (9 copies screenplay)
  • Paris Guide (2 copies of screenplay original story)
  • School Bus (16 copies original screenplay)
  • Untitled Musical Idea (11 copies)
  • The Wife Problem (4 copies)
  • Series 5: OVERSIZED BOX
  • Box 1:
  • Account books 1, 3-6
  • On shelf:
  • Scrapbook 2 . MISSING