Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the David Swift Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1951-1965
Creator: Swift, David (1919-)
Extent: 8.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0125
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Television and motion picture writer, director and producer. Television and motion picture scripts, screenplays, publicity, reviews, notes and memos, set designs, and costume sketches.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Boxes 10, 10a, 11, 12

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection, along with three other private Hollywood memorabilia collections from the offices of Robert Blees, Albert Cohen, and Arthur A. Ross, was acquired largely through the efforts of University of Iowa associate professor Raymond Fielding in the mid 1960's.

Preferred Citation: David Swift Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

David Swift was born in Minneapolis, Minnesota in 1919. During World War II he served in the United States 8th Air Force stationed in England. Swift began his career in the motion picture industry working in the animation department of Walt Disney Studios. From the animation department, he moved to radio comedy writing and eventually, in 1949, to television scriptwriting. Swift wrote screenplays for the Philco Television Playhouse and wrote and directed episodes of "Playhouse 90", "Rifleman" and "Wagon Train". Swift created the two television series "Mr. Peepers" and "Jamie", episodes of which he produced, wrote and/or directed. Swift made his motion picture debut as both writer and director with the 1960 Walt Disney film "Pollyanna". This was soon followed by the 1961 Disney film "The Parent Trap" and other films and television programs.

The David Swift Productions Papers consist of approximately eight linear feet of archival boxes and four large file cabinet drawers. The papers date from 1951-1965. The material is divided into three major sections: Written Material, Miscellany, and Photographs.

The written material consists of television scripts, arranged by production number, and motion picture scripts that Swift wrote, directed and/or produced as well as some peripheral scripts associated with Swift. The miscellaneous section is locationally divided between archival boxes, containing publicity, reviews, notes and memos, and four large file cabinet drawers, containing set designs, costume sketches and blueprints for final set construction. The photographic section includes location, cast and crew shots and publicity photos for various productions.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: WRITTEN MATERIAL
Series 2: MISCELLANY
Series 3: PHOTOGRAPHS

  • Series 1: WRITTEN MATERIAL
  • Sub-Series: Grindl TV Series Scripts
  • Box 1:
  • "You Can Take it With You"; #3001. Written by Ellis St. Joseph; revised. October 10 - 1962
  • "Goodbye, Dear Grindl"; #3021. Written by Ellis St. Joseph; revised second draft. September 28 - 1962
  • "Grindl"; #3041. Screenplay by David Swift; final draft. November 28 - 1962
  • "The Great Bank Robbery"; #4903. Screenplay by Budd Grossman and William Davenport ; final draft. September 10 - 1963
  • "Grindl-Counterspy"; #4906. Screenplay by Charles Tannen and Lou Huston; second draft. May 28 - 1963
  • "Grindl-Counterspy"; #4906. Screenplay by Charles Tannen and Lou Huston; final draft. June 19 - 1963
  • "Grindl, She-Wolf of Wall Street"; #4908. Written by Joe Bigelow; second draft. May 28 - 1963
  • "Grindl, She-Wolf of Wall Street"; #4908. Written by Joe Bigelow; final draft. (2 copies) June 19 - 1963
  • "Grindl, Witness for the Defense"; #4909. Written by George & James O'Hanlon; final draft. June 19 - 1963
  • "Grindl, the Meddler"; #4911. Written by Burt Styler & Albert E. Lewin; final draft. May 17 - 1963
  • "Grindl, the Meddler"; #4911. Written by Burt Styler & Albert E. Lewin; final draft. June 26 - 1963
  • "Grindl, Impractical Nurse"; #4913. Written by Jay Sommers; final draft. May 2 - 1963
  • "Grindl, Impractical Nurse"; #4913. Written by Jay Sommers; revised final draft. July 3 - 1963
  • "The New Grindl"; #4915. Written by Sid Morse & Barry E. Blitzer; second draft. May 23 - 1963
  • "Grindl's Day Off"; #4916. Written by Jay Sommers; final draft. June 26 - 1963
  • "Grindl and the Boodle"; #4918. Screenplay by Jay Sommers; final draft. July 24 - 1963
  • "Grindl and the Boodle"; #4918. Screenplay by Jay Sommers; revised final draft. August 1 - 1963
  • "Grindl and the Counterfeiters"; #4921. Screenplay by Ray Singer and Dick Chevillat; final draft. July 26 - 1963
  • "Grindl, Femme Fatale"; #4922. Screenplay by Lee Loeb and Jerry Davis; final draft. July 30 - 1963
  • "The Ghastly Honeymoon";#4923. Screenplay by John McGreevey; first draft. August 14 - 1963
  • "The Ghastly Honeymoon";#4923. Screenplay by John McGreevey; final draft. August 21 - 1963
  • Gag sketches for Grindl Openings
  • Box 2:
  • "One Angry Grindl"; #4927. Screenplay by Jerry Davis and Lee Loeb; first draft. August 30 - 1963
  • "One Angry Grindl"; #4927. Screenplay by Jerry Davis and Lee Loeb; story by Jerry Davis and Lee Loeb. Final draft. September 10 - 1963
  • "Lady Grindl"; #4929. Screenplay by Jay Sommers; revised final draft. September 4 - 1963
  • "The Lucky Piece"; #4935. Teleplay by Paul David and John L. Greene; final draft. November 7 - 1963
  • "Aunt Grindl"; #4945. Teleplay by Jay Sommers; final draft. February 7 - 1964
  • "Some Dogs Have the Biggest Mouths"; #4947. Teleplay by Jay Sommers; final draft. February 20 - 1964
  • "Grindl Goes West"; #4948. Teleplay by John L. Greene and Paul David; final draft. February 12 - 1964
  • "Grindl Goes West"; #4948. Teleplay by John L. Greene and Paul David; revised final draft. February 17 - 1964
  • "Everyone's Coming Up Roses"; #4949. Teleplay by John McGreevey; final draft. February 21 - 1964
  • Sub-Series: Other Television Scripts
  • Box 2:
  • "Peepers" starring Wally Cox; pilot; by David Swift. First draft; March 18 - 1952
  • "Peepers"; pilot; by David Swift. NBC, Ford Motor Co., sponsor. July 3 - 1952
  • "Mister Peepers"; #63. By Jim Fritzell and Everett Greenbaum; Hal Keith, producer and director. Sponsored by Reynolds Aluminum. NBC-TV, February 28 - 1954
  • "Mister Peepers"; #62. By Jim Fritzell and Everett Greenbaum; Hal Keith, producer and director. NBC-TV; February 21 - 1954
  • "Mister Peepers"; #60. By Jim Fritzell and Everett Greenbaum; Hal Keith, producer and director. NBC-TV; February 7 - 1954
  • Alcoa-Goodyear Theatre. "Lazarus Walks Again"; #3045. Screenplay by David Swift; second draft. August 21 - 1958
  • Alcoa-Goodyear Theatre. "The Spy"; #3057. Screenplay by David Swift; final draft. September 8 - 1958
  • Alcoa-Goodyear Theatre. "High Class Type of Mongrel"; #4402. Screenplay by David Swift; original story by Mary Agnes Thompson; revised final draft. November 14 - 1958
  • Alcoa-Goodyear Theatre. "Of Missing Persons"; #4443. Screenplay by David Swift; original story by Jack Finney; final draft. (2 copies) October 9 - 1958
  • Alcoa-Goodyear Theatre. "The Reward"; #4469. Screenplay by David Swift, William Cowley, and Peggy Chantler; from a story by Richard Donovan; final draft. November 10 - 1958
  • Alcoa-Goodyear Theatre. "Goodbye Johnny"; #4502. Screenplay by Leonard Freeman; final draft. December 8 - 1958
  • Philco Television Playhouse. "Ephraim Tutt's Clean Hands," by Arthur Train; television play by David Swift; Fred Coe, producer; Gordon Duff, director. August 12 - 1951
  • "The Royal Game" ; teleplay by Stefan Zweig; adapted by David Swift. 2 copies, one heavily annotated. Revised; December 5 - 1955
  • Sub-Series: Movies
  • Box 3:
  • How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying. Original screenplay by David Swift.
  • How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying. First draft; January 11 - 1966
  • How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying. Dummy copy; first draft screenplay by David Swift. January 11 - 1966
  • How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying. Final draft. February 24 - 1966
  • How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying. Alternate scenes. March 15 - 1966
  • How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying. Final script, including Production Title Page; Cast of Characters; Musical Numbers Breakdown; Prop Plot; Costume Plot
  • How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying. Final draft, including Some Floor Diagrams; Gag Sketches; Construction Estimate. February 24 - 1966
  • Box 4:
  • Under the Yum-Yum Tree, #8628. Screening Notes, May 15; Promotional Trailer-Revised-July 12; Test-Scene 1; Extensive Script Notes-Carbon copy Prepared by Marie Kenney, May 15. See Boxes 10 and 11 for photographs from Under the Yum-Yum Tree - 1963
  • Good Neighbor Sam, #8699. Screenplay by Jim Fritzell, Everett Greenbaum, Jack Finney, and David Swift. Columbia Corporation Release. Second Estimating Draft; Final Draft, August 13; Revised Final Draft, September 20; Gag Sketches. See Boxes 11 and 12 for photographs from Good Neighbor Sam - 1963
  • Luv, #8801. Screenplay by Elliot Baker. Columbia Corporation Release. Final Draft, August 2 - 1966
  • Pollyanna, #1857. Screenplay by David Swift, Walt Disney Production. Treatment by David Swift, February 10; Productions Notes; First Draft, May 25, includes sketches and floor diagrams - 1959
  • Sub-Series: Television Scripts
  • Box 5:
  • "Routine Assignment" by David Swift for Philco Television Playhouse, April 8 - 1951
  • "Tour of Duty" by David Swift for Goodyear Television Playhouse, February 3 - 1952
  • "No Time at All" by Charles Einstein and David Swift for Playhouse 90 (2 copies). Revised, October 14 - 1957
  • "Somewhere in a Dungeon"; outline by David Swift (2 copies)
  • "The Dungeon" by David Swift for Playhouse 90. Second copy contains editing report and set list. Revised February 16 - 1958
  • "Ganun" by David Swift for Playhouse 90 (3 copies). See "Dungeon."
  • "Better Off Dead" by David Swift (2 copies)
  • "Emergency Operation" by David Swift.
  • Box 6:
  • "The Male Hormone" by David Swift.
  • Wagon Train. 'The Juan Ortega Story" by David Swift, June 3; "The Vincent Eaglewood Story" by David Swift, January 9 - 1958; 1959
  • Rifleman. "The Safe Guard" by David Swift, June 5; "The Angry Gun" by Samuel A. Peeples, June 24 - 1958
  • Rawhide. "Incident at Alabaster Plain" by David Swift, May 7 - 1958
  • Pilot Script. "The D.A.'s Man" by James E. Moser. Revised Final, July 24 - 1958
  • Third Man. "Death of an Overlord" by David Swift.
  • Zero Mostel Show, Pilot Script. "Instant Art" by A. J. Russell. First draft, July 3 - 1963
  • Sub-Series: Screenplays
  • Box 6:
  • "Man Hunt" adapted by Dudley Nichols, Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation. Revised Final Draft, March 4 - 1941
  • "Night Must Fall" dialogue cutting continuity. Robert V. Kern, Film Editor; MGM. April 24 - 1937
  • "The Smath-Humber Mess" by David Swift. Revised, October 30 - 1957
  • "The Animal in Me" by David Swift, Columbia Pictures Corporation. First Estimating Draft, March 29 - 1961
  • Sub-Series: Camp Runamuck TV Scripts
  • Box 7:
  • Camp Runamuck by David Swift. #2650-15. 2 copies. July 31 - 1964
  • Say, You're a Bleeder by David Swift. #4100. 2 copies. March 3 - 1965
  • They're not Making Hurricanes by David Swift. #4101. Final; 2 copies. February 23 - 1965
  • Rabbits of the World by David Swift. #4102. Final; February 16 - 1965
  • I'm in Luv… by David Swift. #4103. Final; 3 copies. February 22 - 1965
  • General Orders # 7 by David Swift. #4105. Final; 2 copies. March 1 - 1965
  • General Directive #14 by David Swift. #4106. Final, 1 copy; Revised, 2 copies. March 5 - 1965
  • Look Boys… by B. Rodgers and S. Mandel. #4107. Revised Final, 2 copies. April 16 - 1965
  • Spiffy Quits, Part I, by David Swift. #4107A. 2 copies. June 28 - 1965
  • Spiffy Quits, Part II, by David Swift. #4107A. Additional pages, 2 copies. June 28 - 1965
  • Today is Parent's by David Swift. #4108. Final, 3 copies. March 11 - 1965
  • Doc Joslyn, M.D. by J. Cavella, D. Hargrove. #4110. First draft. April 9 - 1965
  • Yes, the Little Boy by David Swift. #4111. Final. March 30 - 1965
  • Look Out! Here Comes… by B. Rodgers, S. Mandel. #4113. Final, 2 copies. August 13 - 1965
  • Tomboy by A. Marcus and D. Swift. #4114. Final. April 14 - 1965
  • Tomboy by A. Marcus and David Swift. #4114. Revised final, 3 copies. June 15 - 1965
  • Box 8:
  • Turtle by J. Mandel, B. Rodgers. #4116. First draft, final. June 16 - 1965
  • Food Poisoning by J. Cavella, C. Cavella. #4118. First draft. June 3 - 1965
  • Food Poisoning by J. Cavella, C. Cavella. #4118. Final, 2 copies. August 3 - 1965
  • Dear Mom and Dad… by B. Rodgers, S. Mandel. #4119. Final, 2 copies. July 1 - 1965
  • Wivenhoe's New Car by B. Rodgers, S. Mandel. #4120. Final. August 27 - 1965
  • Filling the Counselor Dorm by B. Rodgers, S. Mandel. #4121. Final, 2 copies. August 8 - 1965
  • New Swimming Pool by B. Rodgers, S. Mandel. #4123. Final. August 27 - 1965
  • Soapsuds by B. Rodgers, S. Mandel. #4124. Final, 3 copies. August 16 - 1965
  • Air Conditioner by B. Rodgers, S. Mandel. #4125. Final. September 9 - 1965
  • Air Conditioner by B. Rodgers, S. Mandel. #4125. Final. September 13 - 1965
  • Senior Citizens by B. Rodgers, S. Mandel. #4126. Final September 20 - 1965
  • Termites by B. Rodgers, S. Mandel. 34127. Final, 2 copies. September 24 - 1965
  • Commander for a Day by Ben Gershman, W. Freedman. #4128. Final, 2 copies. October 1 - 1965
  • The Day Spiffy Invented… by B. Rodgers S. Mandel. #4129. Final, 2 copies. October 7 - 1965
  • Malden Falls in Love by W. Freedman, Ben Gershman. #4130. 2 copies. October 17 - 1965
  • Series 2: MISCELLANY
  • Box 9:
  • "The Parent Trap" by David Swift for Walt Disney Productions. Treatment, 2 copies, January 10; First Draft Screenplay, June 15 - 1960
  • "The Penetration" by David Swift. Step Outline, September 6 - 1957
  • "Jamie". ABC-TV Promotional Booklet.
  • Folder of newspaper publicity, reviews, and more (Variety, Hollywood Reporter, etc.).
  • Envelope of newspaper publicity, reviews, and more (Variety, Hollywood Reporter, etc.)
  • How to Succeed in Business: original storyboard and step outline.
  • Gag sketches by Roy Williams for Grindl and Yum-Yum Tree.
  • Good Neighbor Sam: picture continuity script.
  • Camp Runamuck: story lines, screening notes, inter-office memos.
  • Series 3: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 10:
  • Contact Sheet Photographs of Columbia Corporation Release, Good Neighbor Sam. Location shots, actors, production crew. 9 folders. MISSING
  • Box 10a:
  • 3" x 3" color photographs of New York location and 4" x 4" black and white photos of unknown location.
  • 8 1/2 " x 11" Publicity photos for The Interns. Michael Callan, Suzy Parker, Cliff Robertson, Haya Harareet, Nick Adams, Anne Helm, James MacArthur, Stefanie Powers, Buddy Ebsen.
  • 8 1/2 " x 11" Publicity photos for Pollyanna. Jane Wyman, Richard Egan, Karl Malden, Nancy Olson, Adolphe Menjou, Donald Crisp, Agnes Moorehead, Reta Shaw, James Drury, Kevin Corcoran, Leora Dana, Hayley Mills.
  • Box 11:
  • 8 1/2" x 11" Publicity photos for Under the Yum-Yum Tree. Carol Lynley, Jack Lemmon, Dean Jones, Edie Adams, Imogene Coca, Paul Lynde (6 folders)
  • Box 12:
  • 8 1/2" x 11" Publicity and production photos for Good Neighbor Sam. Jack Lemmon, Romy Schneider, Dorothy Provine, Edward G. Robinson, Mike Connors (6 folders)
  • Box 13:
  • Set designs, costume sketches, and blueprints for final set construction.
    Shelved in four map case drawers.