Guide to the Robert Blees Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1925-1965
Creator: Blees, Robert (1918-)
Extent: 5.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0124
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Motion picture and television script-writer and producer. Film treatments and screenplays written by Blees and other screenwriters, miscellaneous, memos and articles, film stills, photostats, phonographic recordings from soundtracks.

Administrative Information

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1966 by Robert Blees.

Preferred Citation: Robert Blees Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Biographical Note

Robert Blees is an American film and television script-writer and producer. He was born June 9, 1918 in Lathrop, Montana. He studied at Dartmouth College. Past positions have included work as a writer and photographer for Time and Life magazines. In 1940 he worked as a scenarist for Warner Brothers. During World War II he served as a USAF navigator. Blees has held Board membership in the Screen Writers Guild, Executive Board membership in the Screen Producers Guild and membership on the Board of Directors of the Producer-Writers Pension Plan.


Content Description

The Robert Blees Productions Papers consist of approximately five linear feet of archival boxes and one oversized drawer. The papers date from 1925-1965. The material is divided into three sections: Written Material, Still Photographs, and Miscellany.

The Written Materials section contains screenplay drafts and treatments written by Blees and others of various produced and unproduced motion pictures, teleplays written by Blees and others of produced and unproduced television episodes including episodes of the Blees produced television series "Bus Stop" and "Combat!", a small section containing other writings by Blees such as short stories and a novelette, miscellaneous series containing business correspondence, articles, etc.

Still Photographs are to be found in three of the archival boxes. These photographs are of various motion pictures not necessarily associated with Blees and are arranged alphabetically.

Previously unlocated items are collected under the heading Miscellany. These items include pressbooks, original drawings for the motion picture Off We Go main title, photostats on the bizarre suicide/murder/drowning of 25 year old Boston socialite Starr Faithfull in the summer of 1931, and non-commercial recordings from sound-tracks.

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Faithfull, Starr, 1906-1931

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
American drama
Television programs

Occupations:
Motion picture actors and actresses
Screenwriters
Television writers

Genre/Form of Materials:
Articles
Correspondence
Motion pictures
Photographs
Screenplays
Sound recordings

Title:
Alfred Hitchcock theatre (Television program)
All I desire (Motion picture)
All this and heaven too (Motion picture)
Bitter victory (Motion picture)
Black spot on the sun (Motion picture)
Bus stop (Television program)
Climax (Television program)
Combat (Television program)
Damon Runyon theatre (Television program)
Dark victory (Motion picture)
Dead heat on a merry-go-round (Motion picture)
Desilu playhouse (Television program)
Dr. Kildare (Television program)
Four daughters (Motion picture)
High school confidential (Motion picture)
Islandia
Its love I'm after (Motion picture)
King's row (Motion picture)
Kraft suspense theatre (Television program)
Long and the short of it (Motion picture)
Magnificent obsession (Motion picture)
Mark Hellinger theater (Television program)
Off we go (Television program)
Old maid (Motion picture)
P.O.W.'s (Television program)
Peter Gunn (Television program)
Playgirl (Motion picture)
Psycho (Motion picture)
Raffles (Television program)
Raw wind in Eden (Motion picture)
Saratoga trunk (Motion picture)
Screaming Mimi (Motion picture)
Silencers (Motion picture)
Snows of Kilimanjaro (Motion picture)
Star is born (Motion picture : 1954)
Star trek (Television program)
Sweater girl (Motion picture)
Three secrets (Motion picture)

Browse:
Film & Television Writing and Directing
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Dramatists, Playwrights, & Scriptwriters for Television & Screen
Study of Theatre Arts and Popular Culture