Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Robert Blees Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1925-1965
Creator: Blees, Robert (1918-)
Extent: 5.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0124
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Motion picture and television script-writer and producer. Film treatments and screenplays written by Blees and other screenwriters, miscellaneous, memos and articles, film stills, photostats, phonographic recordings from soundtracks.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1966 by Robert Blees.

Preferred Citation: Robert Blees Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Robert Blees is an American film and television script-writer and producer. He was born June 9, 1918 in Lathrop, Montana. He studied at Dartmouth College. Past positions have included work as a writer and photographer for Time and Life magazines. In 1940 he worked as a scenarist for Warner Brothers. During World War II he served as a USAF navigator. Blees has held Board membership in the Screen Writers Guild, Executive Board membership in the Screen Producers Guild and membership on the Board of Directors of the Producer-Writers Pension Plan.

The Robert Blees Productions Papers consist of approximately five linear feet of archival boxes and one oversized drawer. The papers date from 1925-1965. The material is divided into three sections: Written Material, Still Photographs, and Miscellany.

The Written Materials section contains screenplay drafts and treatments written by Blees and others of various produced and unproduced motion pictures, teleplays written by Blees and others of produced and unproduced television episodes including episodes of the Blees produced television series "Bus Stop" and "Combat!", a small section containing other writings by Blees such as short stories and a novelette, miscellaneous series containing business correspondence, articles, etc.

Still Photographs are to be found in three of the archival boxes. These photographs are of various motion pictures not necessarily associated with Blees and are arranged alphabetically.

Previously unlocated items are collected under the heading Miscellany. These items include pressbooks, original drawings for the motion picture Off We Go main title, photostats on the bizarre suicide/murder/drowning of 25 year old Boston socialite Starr Faithfull in the summer of 1931, and non-commercial recordings from sound-tracks.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: FILM MATERIAL
Series 2: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 3: MISCELLANY
Series 4: UNLOCATED ITEMS

  • Series 1: FILM MATERIAL
  • Sub-Series: Stories, Treatments, and Screenplays
  • Box 1:
  • All I Desire. Screenplay by Robert Blees under the title You Belong To Me. Universal-International; Douglas Sirk, Director; Ross Hunter, Producer. Breakdown of preview cards inserted. - 1952
  • All This and Heaven Too. (2 copies) Screenplay by Casey Robinson, from the novel by Rachel Field. Warner Bros. Revised final, February 5 - 1940
  • Baby Talk. Treatment by Robert Blees - 1958
  • Bandstand. Treatment by Robert Blees for Warner Bros.
  • The Beardless Warriors. (2 drafts) Screenplay by Richard Matheson from his novel; for General Artists Corporation.
  • Bitter Victory. Released in 1950 as Paid in Full. Screenplay by Robert Blees, from article by Frederic M. Loomis in April 1946 Reader's Digest. Paramount; William Dieterle, director; Hal Wallis, producer. With Robert Cummings, Lizabeth Scott, Eve Arden, Diana Lynn. - 1950
  • Black Spot on the Sun. Screenplay by Robert Blees, from novel April Evil by John D. MacDonald. Jed Harris and Charles K. Feldman, producers.
  • Cairo. Original story for feature by Robert Blees (2 copies). Also adaptation changing locale to Hong Kong, "Hong Kong Project" - 1958
  • The Clipper Leaves at Dawn. Story and treatment by Robert Blees and Frederick Torberg. With production memos and research material. May 26 - 1941
  • Box 2:
  • The Constant Nymph. Part 1. Includes copy of Breen letter (censorship) and resulting memo halting productions of film. June 10 - 1940
  • The Constant Nymph. Complete version. Includes list of cuts and revisions.
  • Cry the Silent. Screenplay by Vic Morrow (star of Combat!) and Barbara Turner
  • Curtain Going Up. Original story by RB and David Dortort (producer of Bonanza), in folder with miscellaneous correspondence regarding casting.
  • Dark Victory. Screenplay by Casey Robinson, from the play by George Brewer, JR. and Bertram Bloch. Warner Bros., 1939. Final of Part 1, October 5 - 1938
  • Dead Heat on a Merry-Go-Round. Treatment by Bernard Girard, under title Eli Kotch: Twentieth Century Rogue. Columbia - 1966
  • The Dealer's Name was George. Temporary screenplay; for Warner Bros. October 2 - 1940
  • The Dealer's Name was George. Treatment.
  • Four Daughters. John Garfield's first starring role. Revised temporary screenplay by Tulie Epstein and Lenore Coffee, from novel Sister Act by Fannie Hurst. Under title Four Sisters. Warner Bros. - 1938
  • High School Confidential; two drafts of treatment. Story based on true incident. File contains resulting clearance correspondence, legal correspondence, research materials, memos, WGA arbitration material. MGM - 1958
  • Box 3:
  • High School Confidential. Treatment by Robert Blees under title The Young and the Damned.
  • The Hope of Refuge. Screenplay by David Haft and Robert Blees.
  • The Hunters. Adaptation of Ernest Hemingway's "The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber" by Robert Blees. Optioned for remake (produced once as The Macomber Affair). Inserted are notes and a letter concerning copyright status of property.
  • Islandia. Screenplay by Casey Robinson and Robert Blees, from the novel by Austin Tappan Wright. Second draft, master copy. Includes breakdown of book and story conference memo.
  • Islandia: Early draft of screenplay.
  • Islandia, Part II, "to be incorporated."
  • Islandia: Carbons of memos concerning Blees. Carbons of letter concerning transfer of stock in Islandia Co. by Blees.
  • Islandia: Rough draft. Inserted are corrections, memo, clipping of interview with Blees by Philip K. Scheuer about remakes of films.
  • Islandia: Revised draft. Inserted are revisions, location information memos.
  • Islandia: Revisions of various parts of screenplay. Several drafts included (about 2-1/2 inches)
  • Box 4:
  • Islandia: Continuation of revision material
  • Islandia: Folder with story outline, rough and final copies.
  • Islandia: Revisions of various parts of screenplay, with several drafts (about 3 inches)
  • It's Love I'm After. Archie Mayo, director. With Bette Davis, Leslie Howard, Olivia DeHavilland. Revised temporary screenplay, under title Love derby. Warner Bros. - 1937
  • Kings in Exile. Contemporary treatment of Alphonse Daudet novel by Robert Blees.
  • Kings Row. Final screenplay by Casey Robinson, from the novel by Henry Bellamann. Warner Bros. (1942). Censor's copy, April 17
  • Box 5:
  • The Lady Lies. Treatment by Robert Blees. - 1941
  • The Long and the Short of It. Original story and screenplay by Bernard Girard. Columbia, 1965. First estimating draft, August 11 - 1965
  • Magnificent Obsession. Douglas Sirk, director. Universal-International. Final screenplay by Robert Blees from the novel by Lloyd C. Douglas, July 9 - 1953
  • Magnificent Obsession: First draft screenplay, May 2 - 1953
  • Magnificent Obsession: Folder with production memos, notes, treatments, budgets, research, location outline. Envelope with early drafts and notes. Summaries of preview comment cards. Tentative writers' credits. Writers Guild correspondence. Breakdown of Douglas novel by Robert Blees.
  • Magnificent Obsession: Press preview brochure.
  • The Middle of the Night. Novelette by Robert Blees, intended for feature production - 1959
  • Murrel of Mississippi. Second draft screenplay.
  • No Down Payment. Story and treatment by Robert Blees for Universal-International.
  • The Old Maid. Revised final screenplay by Casey Robinson, from the play by Zoe Akins, from book by Edith Wharton. Warner Bros. March 14 - 1939
  • Playgirl. Joseph Perney, director; Albert J. Cohen, producer. Starred Shelley Winters. Universal-International. Final screenplay by Robert Blees from a story by Ray Buffum - 1953
  • Psycho. Alfred Hitchcock, director. Revised screenplay by Joseph Stefano, November 10 - 1959
  • Box 6:
  • Radio City. Alex Gottlieb, producer. First draft screenplay by Robert Blees for Warner Bros.
  • Raw Wind in Eden. Richard Wilson, director. Starring Jeff Chandler and Esther Williams. Universal-International, 1958. Treatment by Robert Tallman, June 22 - 1955
  • Rendezvous. Original typescript, all drafts, with holographic changes and cuts, in folder. Feature for Anita Ekberg.
  • Saratoga Trunk. Temporary screenplay by Casey Robinson from a story by Edna Ferber. Warner Bros. - 1946
  • Screaming Mimi. Gerd Oswald, director. With Anita Ekberg. Screenplay by Robert Blees from story by Frederic Brown. Columbia - 1958
  • The Silencers. Starred Dean Martin; Columbia 1966. Final screenplay by Oscar Saul, with notes by actress Nancy Kovack, June 17 - 1965
  • The Snows of Kilimanjaro, Twentieth Century Fox, 1952. Final shooting script by Casey Robinson, from story by Ernest Hemingway, January 17 - 1952
  • A Star is Born. William Wellman, director; David Selznick, producer. Final shooting script. Screenplay by Dorothy Parker, Alan Campbell and Robert Carson from an original story by William Ellman and Robert Carson - 1936
  • Sweater Girl. Screenplay by Eve Greene, from story by Beulah Marie Dix and Bertram Millhauser. Additional dialogue by Robert Blees. Partial rough draft under title Sing a Song of Homicide by Robert Blees, July 10 - 1941
  • Taint and Tarnish. Project for a film. Various treatments by Ellis Kadison and Robert Blees. Production memos, Universal-International.
  • Taint and Tarnish. Folder with memo.
  • Three Secrets. Milton Sperling, producer. Warner Bros. Folder with several treatments of script and screen story by Martin Rackin and Gina Kaus under title The Children.
  • Box 7:
  • Three Secrets. Folder with case histories, background research material, production memos.
  • Tony Pastor. Story line of second version by Robert Blees, for Warner Bros.
  • Tony Pastor. Story line by Robert Blees. Two copies, one with a couple of penciled comments.
  • Triple Agent. Screenplay by David Chandler from unpublished novel, first draft.
  • Why Horses Don't Bet on People. Novelette by Robert Blees, basis for script of feature starring Julie London.
  • Sub-Series: Television Material
  • Box 7:
  • Alfred Hitchcock Theatre, "The Cheney Vase." Alfred Hitchcock, producer. Starred Carolyn Jones, Darrin McGavin, Patricia Collinge. Folder contains original story and teleplay by Robert Blees.
  • Alfred Hitchcock Theatre, "The Cheney Vase." Revised copy of story by Robert Blees.
  • Bus Stop. TV series produced by Robert Blees for Twentieth Century Fox Television, Inc. Pilot script "Bus Stop" by Robert Blees, February 9 - 1961
  • Bus Stop: "Afternoon of a Cowboy" by Sally Benson, revised final, May 29 - 1961
  • Bus Stop: "Success Story" by Luther Davis, final, June 15 - 1961
  • Bus Stop: "The Runaways" by Sally Benson from story by Kurt Vonnegut, 2 copies of final, June 23 - 1961
  • Bus Stop: "The Resurrection of Annie Ahearn", final, June 29 - 1961
  • Bus Stop: "Brief Stop at Sunrise" by Jean Holloway, revised final, July 24 - 1961
  • Bus Stop: "The Glass Jungle" by Norman Jacob, revised final, August 17 - 1961
  • Bus Stop: "…And the Pursuit of Evil" from a novel by Wilbur Daniel Steele, final, September 5 - 1961
  • Box 8:
  • Bus Stop: "Accessory by Consent" by Robert Altman (director of Mash, McCabe and Mrs. Miller, etc.). Final, October 2 - 1961
  • Bus Stop: "Accessory by Consent", copy 2. - 1961
  • Bus Stop: "Jaws of Darkness" by Alvin Sargent and Jonathan Hughes from a novel by Henry Farrell, final, October 19 - 1961
  • Bus Stop: "The Ivory Tower" by Luther Davis, final, November 27 - 1961
  • Bus Stop: "The Stubborn Stumboes" by Edmund Hartmann, from magazine article in True, final draft, November 30 - 1961
  • Bus Stop: "The Opposite Virtues" by James P. Cavanagh, from a story by James P. Cavanagh and Marie Baumer, final draft, January 5 - 1962
  • Bus Stop: "County General" by David Shaw, final, January 23 - 1962
  • Catch Fear by the Throat. Draft of pilot incorporating material by Robert Blees into teleplay by Oscar Millard, June 4 - 1963
  • Climax! Television series. "The Disappearance of Daphne" by Robert Blees from a serial in the Saturday Evening Post by Nancy Rutledge. Revised, April 28 - 1958
  • Combat! Television series. Selmur Productions, Inc. Selig Seligman, executive producer. Robert Blees, producer. "Any Second Now" by Gene Levitt, revised final draft, June 6 - 1962
  • Combat! "The Squad" by Harry Brown, revised final draft, June 18 - 1962
  • Combat! "Oddballs" by Gene Levitt, based on "Battle Star" by Richard Tregaskis, final draft, July 13 - 1962
  • Combat! "Afterward the Sounds of the Sea" by Halsted Welles, first draft, July 19 - 1962
  • Combat! "The Chateau" by Judith and George W. George, first draft, July 19 - 1962
  • Combat! "The Celebrity" by Art Wallace from story by Tom Sellers and Art Wallace, revised final, September 17 - 1962
  • Box 9:
  • Combat! "Reunion" by Art Wallace, final draft, October 9 - 1962
  • Combat! "I Swear by Apollo" by Gene Levitt, final draft, October 22 - 1962
  • Combat! Folder script status reports (weekly)
  • Cousin Aubry. First draft of pilot for proposed television series by Mark Miller.
  • The Damon Runyon Theatre. "Barbecue" screenplay by Robert Blees from the story by Damon Runyon.
  • Dateline: San Francisco. Twentieth Century Fox Television, Inc. "The Castle" story for pilot by Robert Blees and Dorothy Robinson.
  • Desilu Playhouse. "The Eighth Circle" by Robert Blees, December 22 - 1959
  • Dick Powell's Zane Grey Theatre. "Set-Up" by Robert Blees.
  • Dr. Kildare MGM series. "Tiger", parts 1 and 2 by Ben Masselink. First Kildare two-parter. With Richard Chamberlin and Yvette Mimiuex. MISSING 7/2008
  • Frank Merriwell. Pilot script by Leslie Stevens, second draft, November 12 - 1964
  • Hollywood Boulevard. A prospectus and first story for television series, by Edmund H. North
  • Hong Kong. Twentieth Century Fox Television, Inc. "With Deadly Sorrow. "January 13, - 1961
  • The Hunters. "The Hunters" by Robert Blees, who was also the producer. Revised pilot, February 8 - 1961
  • Jericho. MGM-CBS pilot. Presentation created for networks and Madison Avenue executives for new TV series. Aired in - 1966
  • Kraft Suspense Theatre. "The End of the World, Baby" by Luther Davis from a story by John Philip Cohane. Irving Kirshner, director. Starred Gig Young, Nina Pock, Peter Lorre. Includes production memos, budget summary. Revised, August 6 - 1963
  • Kraft Suspense Theatre: "A Part of the Bargain" by Luther Davis from a story by George Cuomo. Includes memo, letters. Revised, September 12 - 1963
  • Kraft Suspense Theatre: "A Part of the Bargain", second copy of teleplay.
  • Kraft Suspense Theatre: "A Part of the Bargain" story outline by Robert Blees.
  • Kraft Suspense Theatre: The Name of the Game" by Frank Penton from a story by Frank Finkelhoffe, revised, October 24 - 1963
  • Kraft Suspense Theatre: "The Deep End" by Jonathan Hughes from the novel by John D. MacDonald, revised, November 14 - 1963
  • Box 10:
  • Kraft Suspense Theatre: "My Enemy, This Town" by Frank Fenton from story by John Whittier, first draft, December 6 - 1963
  • Kraft Suspense Theatre: "Knight's Gambit" by Lorenzo Semple, Jr., Halsteed Welles, and Jonathan Hughes. From story by Robert Blees, second revised teleplay. Includes early draft under title "His Excellency, the Exile" and memo. February 13 - 1964
  • Kraft Suspense Theatre: "Charlie, He Couldn't Hurt a Fly" by Irving Pearlberg. March 18 - 1964
  • The Leathernecks. Untitled treatment by Robert Blees, third draft. December 26 - 1956
  • Mann in Action. A television project of Robert Blees, also known as Pacific Zone. (2 copies)
  • Mann in Action. Early treatments under title Pacific Zone.
  • The Mark Hellinger Theater. "An Old Man and His Money" by Robert Blees.
  • The Mark Hellinger Theater. "The Gesture" by Robert Blees. Includes Mark Hellinger newspaper column, basis for script.
  • Meet the Mooses. Produced by Robert Blees. A presentation by Henry Garson and Edmund Beloin - 1965
  • Naked City. Original story and screenplay by Robert Blees and Dorothy Robinson (Mrs. Blees). Includes memos, article original idea was taken from, letters, contracts, story, revised story - 1958
  • Off We Go. Pilot film aired by CBS. Don Weis, director. Starred Michael Burns and Dick Foran; created by Bob Kaufman and William Fox. Robert Blees, executive producer. Revised script by Bob Kaufman and William Fox - 1966
  • Off We Go. Script by Bob Kaufman and Bill Fox, March 2 - 1965
  • Peter Gunn. "The Leaper" by Robert Blees. Filmed October 7-9; Paul Stewart, director. August 1 - 1958
  • The P.O.W.'s. Desilu Television Pilot. Story treatment by Robert Blees.
  • Project. Original story by Robert Blees, sold to Revue for Audie Murphy series.
  • Raffles #5. "Crooked Crossing" by Robert Blees from a story by Joseph Orr and Robert Blees
  • Richard Diamond, starring David Janssen. "Matador Murder" by Robert Blees.
  • Star Trek. Desilu Productions, Inc. "The Cage" original pilot script by Gene Roddenberry, revised, September 22 - 1964
  • Sunset Bay. Television series outline by Robert Blees.
  • Tales of Tin Pan Alley. Matt Brooks, written by Robert Blees from material by Gerald Marks. First draft, with holographic editing and changes; pages missing at beginning.
  • Tanganyika. Twentieth Century Fox Television pilot produced 1961; pilot script by Robert Blees, January 5 - 1961
  • The Vikings. Television series produced in Europe. "The Thing" by Robert Blees.
  • Sub-Series: Other Writings of Robert Blees
  • Box 10:
  • Back Lot. Unfinished short story about studios by Robert Blees. Synopsis of ending.
  • Round Up. Western novelette by Harry Essex and Robert Blees, sold to Universal-International.
  • Six Stayed on Crete. Original World War II story by Robert Blees
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous Writings
  • Box 11:
  • After Lady Chatterley, What? A reminiscence by Bernard Wolfe, third carbon original mss, with editing. Digested in Playboy; hard-cover publication - 1967
  • Conversation at Midnight (Edna St. Vincent Millay's play). Backers' proposals and contracts, publicity.
  • Holographic business correspondence. Includes letters from: Edward G. Robinson (2); letter on Combat! from James G. Chesnutt (1); Barbara Stanwyck (1); Claire Trevor (1); Joan Crawford (3). With the exception of the letter dealing with Combat!, this correspondence deals with Baby Talk.
  • Miscellaneous Memos. Folder with early treatments, in form of memos, of Tony Pastoro, Story of an Orchestra Leader, and Bandstand.
  • Miscellaneous material including UPI teletype to all papers; interview by Vernon Scott (dealing with Combat! and Bus Stop; photos of wartime Britain (research material?); "Show"--co-editors Peter Viertel and Walter Bernstein (Dartmouth College)
  • First publications; "Life" story and pictures (Pygmalion"); London articles on films - 1938
  • Television Code booklet and mimeos of studio policy. Booklet published by National Association of Broadcasters, 7th ed., May - 1962
  • "Taint & Tarnish", story by Robert Blees and Ellis Kadison. Drafts, studio memos, correspondence. Folder labeled "Sandra Dee Project".
  • Assignment 100. Desilu Pilot, NBC. Produced by Robert Blees, created by Gene Rodenberry, pilot script by Robert Blees. Folder includes various step outlines, revisions, correspondence, memos, treatment, presentation (publicity).
  • Assignment 100. Robert Blees' notes.
  • Bus Stop. Status reports, studio assignments, writer reports.
  • Television Picture cost statements: 1962
  • Combat! miscellaneous: photographs, reviews, correspondence (including extensive correspondence to/from Selig Seligman.
  • Box 12:
  • Kraft Suspense Theater. Budgets, memos, production reports, etc.
  • "Midnight Visitor." Short story by Robert Blees published in Cosmopolitan, 1947. Teleplay sold to CBS (2 copies). Dramatic version, produced at Universal-International showcase. Two treatments for motion picture by Robert Kaufman and Robert Blees. correspondence regarding plagiarism suit against Esquire and Monsieru magazines. Correspondence relating to television and film versions.
  • "The P.O.W's". First draft.
  • "The P.O.W's." Revised first draft. (Yellow's)
  • The P.O.W's. Revised first draft. (White's)
  • "Sunset Bay." Three versions of treatment for television series by Robert Blees.
  • Series 2: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Sub-Series: Still Photographs, 8-1/2" x 11"
  • Box 13:
  • Adam's Rib (3) Katherine Hepburn, Spencer Tracy, Judy Holliday
  • The Adventures of Robin Hood (2) Errol Flynn, Basil Rathbone
  • All About Eve (9) Bette Davis, Gary Merrill, Anne Baxter, Celeste Holm, Hugh Marlowe, George Sanders, Marilyn Monroe
  • All Quiet on the Western Front (4) Lew Ayres, Louis Wolheim, and others
  • All the King's Men (2) Broderick Crawford, John Ireland, Joanne Dru, John Derek
  • An American in Paris (1) portrait of Leslie Caron
  • Annie Get Your Gun (3) Betty Hutton, Howard Keel, Keenan Wynn, Louis Calhern
  • The Asphalt Jungle (10) Sterling Hayden, Sam Jaffe, Marilyn Monroe
  • The Awful Truth (2) Cary Grant, Irene Dunne and others
  • The Barretts of Wimpole Street (1) Frederic March, Norma Shearer, Charles Laughton
  • Bathing Beauty (2) Red Skelton, Esther Williams
  • Battleground (1) John Hadiak and Van Johnson
  • The Big Parade (1) John Gilbert
  • Bitter Victory (4) Robert Cummings, Diana Lynn, and others
  • Blood on the Moon (3) Robert Preston, Robert Mitchum, Walter Brennan
  • Boom Town (1) Portrait of Spencer Tracy, Hedy Lamarr, Claudette Colbert, Clark Gable
  • Boomerang (3) Dana Andrews, William Challee, Arthur Kennedy, Lee J. Cobb
  • Broken Arrow (1) Jeff Chandler, James Stewart
  • Buck Privates (10) Abbott and Costello
  • Call Northside 777 (2) Jane Crowley, James Stewart, Lee J. Cobb
  • Camille (2) Greta Garbo, Robert Taylor and others
  • Captain Blood (3) Errol Flynn, Olivia DeHavilland
  • Captains Courageous (2) Spencer Tracy, Freddy Bartholomew
  • Casablanca (4) Humphrey Bogart, Ingrid Bergman, Dooley Wilson
  • The Champ (1) Wallace Beery, Jackie Cooper and others
  • Champion (3) Kirk Douglas, Ruth Roman and others
  • Come to the Stable (1) Loretta Young and Elsa Lanchester
  • Connecticut Yankee (1) Bing Crosby
  • Cover Girl (1) Leslie Brooks, Rita Hayworth
  • Crossfire (2) Robert Ryan, Robert Mitchum, Robert Young
  • Dark Victory (4) Bette Davis and George Brent
  • David Copperfield (2) Freddie Bartholomew, W.C. Fields
  • Desire (2) Marlene Dietrich, Gary Cooper
  • Devil in the Flesh (8) Micheline Presle, Gerard Philipe
  • Disraeli (2) Joan Bennett, George Arliss
  • Dodsworth (1) Walter Huston, William Wyler on set
  • Dinner at Eight (3) Wallace Beery, Jean Harlow, Billie Burke
  • Dodge City (4) Errol Flynn, Olivia DeHavilland, Anne Sheridan, Victor Jory, Bruce Cabot
  • Double Indemnity (7) Fred MacMurray, Barbara Stanwyck, E.G. Robinson
  • A Double Life (6) Ronald Colman, Shelley Winters, Signa Hasso, Edmund O'Brien and others
  • Easter Parade (4) Judy Garland, Fred Astaire and others
  • The Edge of Doom (1) Dana Andrews, Farley Granger
  • The Egg and I (5) Claudette Colbert, Fred MacMurray, Richard Long
  • Father of the Bride (2) Elizabeth Taylor, Spencer Tracy, Joan Bennett
  • Fighting Lady (1) de Rochemont documentary
  • Footlight Parade (4) Ruby Keeler and others
  • A Foreign Affair (2) Jean Arthur
  • Frankenstein (4) Boris Karloff, Colin Clive, Marylyn Harris and others
  • Gilda (1) Glenn Ford, Rita Hayworth
  • The Glass Menagerie (7) Jane Wyman, Kirk Douglas, Gertrude Lawrence, Arthur Kennedy
  • Going My Way (4) Barry Fitzgerald, Bing Crosby
  • Box 13a:
  • Gone with the Wind (9) Clark Gable, Vivian Leigh, Leslie Howard, Olivia DeHavilland
  • Good News (1) June Allyson, Peter Lawford
  • Grand Hotel (4) Greta Garbo, John Barrymore
  • Great Expectations (7) John Mills, Valerie Hobson, Martita Hunt, Jean Simmons and others
  • The Great Ziegfeld (1) chorus
  • The Gun Fighter (1) Gregory Peck, Millard Mitchell
  • Halls of Montezuma (1) Robert Wagner, Richard Widmark
  • Hamlet (33) Laurence Olivier, Jean Simmons and others
  • Harvey (4) James Stewart, Josephine Hull, Cecil Kellawaye and others
  • The Heiress (3) Olivia DeHavilland, Ralph Richardson, Montgomery Clift, Albert Pollet, Miriam Hopkins
  • Here Comes Mr. Jordan (1) Robert Montgomery, Evelyn Keyes
  • Honky Tonk (3) Clark Gable, Lana Turner
  • The House on 92nd Street (1) Leo G. Carroll, William Eythe and others
  • I Am a Fugitive From a Chain Gang (5) Paul Muni
  • I Was a Male Warbride (2) Ann Sheridan, Cary Grant
  • I'd Climb the Highest Mountain (1) William Lundigan, Rory Calhoun, Susan Hayward
  • In a Lonely Place (2) Humphrey Bogart, Gloria Grahame
  • It Happened One Night (4) Claudette Colbert, Clark Gable, Walter Connolly
  • Joan of Arc (5) Ingrid Bergman, Jose Ferrer, John Ireland, Ward Bond
  • Johnny Belinda (3) Jane Wyman, Lew Ayres, Agnes Moorehead and others
  • Jolson Sings Again (2) William Demerest, Larry Parks, Barbara Hale
  • Key Largo (1) Humphrey Bogart, E.G. Robinson, Claire Trevor
  • The Kid From Brooklyn (1) Danny Kaye, Virginia Mayo
  • The Killers (2) Burt Lancaster, Sam Levene, Ava Gardner and others
  • King's Row (3) Ronald Regan, Ann Sheridan, Robert Cummings
  • The Late George Apley (1) Ronald Colman, Edna Best
  • Laura (2) Dana Andres, Gene Tierney
  • Leave Her to Heaven (4) Gene Tierney, Cornel Wilde
  • A Letter to Three Wives (6) Kirk Douglas, Jeanne Crain, Linda Darnell, Paul Douglas, Ann Sothern
  • The Life of Emile Zola (2) Paul Muni
  • Lights of New York (1)
  • Lost Boundaries (3 photos; 1 negative) William Greaves, Richard Hylton, Canada Lee, Mel Ferrer, Rev. Robert Dunn
  • The Lost Weekend (7) Ray Milland, Jane Wyman and others
  • The Louisiana Story (4) Flaherty documentary
  • The Maltese Falcon (4) Humphrey Bogart, Sydney Greenstreet, Peter Lorre, Mary Astor
  • March of Time (1) Documentary: "A Chance to Live"
  • Marilyn Maxwell discussing a scene for Champion with director Stanley Kramer
  • Meet Me in St. Louis (1) Margaret O'Brien, Judy Garland
  • The Men (14) Marlon Brando, Teresa Wright, Everett Sloane, Jack Webb
  • Mildred Pierce (3) Joan Crawford, Ann Blythe, Eve Arden, Zachary Scott
  • The Miracle (2) Anna Magnani
  • The Miracle of Morganis Creek (2) Eddie Bracken, Betty Hutton, William Demarest, Diana Lynn and others
  • Mr. Belvedere Goes to College (2) Clifton Webb, Shirley Temple and others
  • Mr. Smith Goes to Washington (4) James Stewart, Jean Arthur, Thomas Mitchell, Claude Rains
  • The More The Merrier (4) Jean Arthur, Joel McCrea, Charles Coburn
  • Mother Wore Tights (1) Betty Grable, Dan Dailey
  • The Mudlark (1) Irene Dunne, Andrew Ray
  • My Blue Heaven (5) Dan Dailey, Betty Grable
  • The Naked City (2) Dan Taylor, Barry Fitzgerald
  • National Velvet (1) Elizabeth Taylor, Mickey Rooney
  • Night Must Fall (2) Robert Montgomery and others
  • No Man of Her Own (6) Clark Gable, Carole Lombard
  • On the Town (1) Gene Kelly, Frank Sinatra, Betty Garrett, Vera-Ellen, Jules Munshin, Ann Miller
  • One Hundred Men and a Girl (3) Deanna Durbin, Adolph Menjou, Mischa Auer, Leopold Stokowski
  • One Night of Love (1) Caminati, Grace Moore
  • Paleface (4) Bob Hope, Jane Russell and others
  • The Petrified Forest (4) Leslie Howard, Bette Davis, Humphrey Bogart
  • Pigskin Parade (2) Judy Garland, Tony Martin, Jack Haley
  • Box 14:
  • Pinky (2) Ethel Barrymore, Jeanne Crain, William Lundigan
  • Prince of Foxes (1) Tyrone Power, Orson Welles
  • Public Enemy (2) James Cagney
  • Random Harvest (1) Ronald Colman, Greer Garson
  • Red Dust (3) Clark Gable, Jean Harlow and others
  • Red Headed Woman (2) Jean Harlow, Chester Morris
  • Red River (6) Montgomery Clift, John Wayne, Joanne Dru
  • Road to Utopia (1) Bing Crosby, Bob Hope
  • Samson and Delilah (3) Victor Mature, Hedy Lamarr, George Sanders and others
  • San Francisco (1) Spencer Tracy, Clark Gable MISSING
  • The Secret Life of Walter Mitty (1) Virginia Mayo, Danny Kaye
  • Seven Days to Noon (1)
  • The Seventh Veil (3) Ann Todd
  • Shanghai Express (3) Marlene Dietrich, Warner Oland, Anna May Wong
  • Sitting Pretty (1) Clifton Webb
  • The Snake Pit (4) Olivia DeHavilland, Mark Stevens
  • A Song is Born (1) Danny Kaye, Virginia Mayo
  • The Song of Bernadette (2) Jennifer Jones, Alan Napier, Charles Bickford, Basil Rathbone
  • Sorry, Wrong Number (4) Barbara Stanwyck, Burt Lancaster and others
  • State Fair (2) Dana Andrews, Joanne Crain and others
  • The Story of Louis Pasteur (2) Paul Muni and others
  • Summer Stock (3) Gene Kelly, Judy Garland
  • Sunset Boulevard (5) William Holden, Gloria Swanson, Erich Von Stroheim
  • The Talk of the Town (5) Jean Arthur, Cary Grant, Ronald Colman
  • Tarzan (1) Johnny Weissmuller
  • Tarzan Finds a Son (1) Johnny Weissmuller, Maureen Sullivan
  • Tarzan's Secret Treasure (1) Johnny Weissmuller and Maureen Sullivan
  • This Gun for Hire (2) Veronica Lake, Robert Preston and others
  • Three Secrets (1) Ruth Roman, Patricia Neal
  • Three Smart Girls (1) Nan Gray, Deanna Durbin, Barbara Reed
  • To Each His Own (4) Olivia DeHavilland, Roland Culver, and others
  • To Have and Have Not (3) Humphrey Bogart, Lauren Bacall, Walter Brennan
  • Trader Horn (1) Harry Carey and others
  • The Treasure of the Sierra Madre (3) Humphrey Bogart, Tim Holt, Walter Huston
  • Twelve O'Clock High (1) Dean Jagger, Gregory Peck
  • Two Girls and a Sailor (3) June Allyson, Jimmy Durante, Van Johnson and others
  • Viva Villa! (1) Wallace Beery
  • The Way to Love (1) Maurice Chevalier
  • The Yearling (2) Gregory Peck, Jane Wyman, Claude Jarman, Jr.
  • You're in the Army Now (1) Eddie Albert, Gary Cooper and others
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous Photographs
  • Box 14:
  • Richard Basehart and Paul Douglas in an unknown production
  • Bill Robinson and Shirley Temple in an unknown production
  • George VI in crowd (possibly research photo)
  • Joseph Mankiewicz and Darryl Zanuck discuss The Keys of the Kingdom - 1945
  • Louis B. Mayer and wife
  • Ethel Barrymore at her birthday party, with Louis B. Mayer and Lionel Barrymore
  • Merle Oberon and Samuel Goldwyn during filming of Wuthering Heights
  • Walter and John Huston and Claire Trevor at Oscar ceremonies
  • Somerset Maughm and Darryl Zanuck discuss The Razor's Edge - 1946
  • Hollywood Women's Press Club, October - 1963
  • Sub-Series: Portraits
  • Box 14:
  • Pearl Bailey
  • Robert Benchley
  • Corinne Calvet
  • John Carradine
  • Joan Crawford MISSING
  • Maurice Chevalier
  • Olivia DeHavilland
  • Irene Dunne
  • Nanette Fabray
  • Matita Hunt
  • John Huston
  • Walter Huston
  • Sidney Kingsley
  • Stanley Kramer
  • Robert Mitchum
  • B. Pearson
  • Roy Rogers
  • Moira Shearer
  • Elizabeth Taylor
  • Esther Williams
  • Marie Wilson
  • Sub-Series: Stage Productions
  • Box 14:
  • Arms and the Girl (1) Nanette Fabray, George Guetary, Pearl Bailey
  • The Cocktail Party (1) Alec Guinness, Irene Worth
  • The Consul (1) Cornell MacNeil, Marie Powers
  • Gentlemen Prefer Blondes (1) Jack McCauley, Carol Channing
  • 21-Lost in the Stars (2) Herbert Coleman, Todd Duncan and others
  • The Madwoman of Chaillot (1) Martita Hunt, John Carradine, Nydia Westman, Estelle Winwood
  • A Member of the Wedding (1) Julie Harris, Brandon de Wilde, Ethel Waters and others
  • Peter Pan (1) Marcia Henderson, Jean Arthur
  • South Pacific (3) Mary Martin, Ezio Pinza, Myron McCormick, Juanita Hall and others
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous Production and Publicity Photographs from several television-film series, including Bus Stop, Combat! and others.
  • Box 14a:
  • Ain't Misbehavin' and No Moon at All (2) Fran Jeffries
  • Blues in the Night and I Cried for You (8) Lainie Kazan
  • Bus Stop Series (13)
  • Boots and Shadow of Your Smile (24) Nancy Sinatra
  • Combat! (12)
  • Daddy and The Watermelon Man (14)
  • Gentlemen's Agreement (2)
  • Rules of the Road and More (2) Frankie Randall
  • Unidentified (14)
  • Yakety Sax and Charlie Brown (1) Boots Randolph
  • Kraft Suspense Theater (23)
  • The End of the World, Baby
  • The Deep End
  • My Enemy, This Town
  • Are There Any More Out There Like You?
  • Knights' Gambit
  • The Name of the Game
  • Sub-Series: Smaller Photographs, some in color
  • Box 14a:
  • Anything Goes (20)
  • On Your Toes (10) Ray Bolger, Doris Carson
  • Dead End (6)
  • The Great Ziegfeld (3) William Powell, Luise Rainer (film)
  • Camille (3) Greta Garbo and Robert Taylor (film)
  • Gypsy Rose Lee (4) - 1936
  • Screaming Mimi (33)
  • Two unidentified packets of photos
  • Three slides, one of Nancy Sinatra
  • Frances Farmer and Henry Fonda, Westport Theater, July - 1937
  • Series 3: MISCELLANY
  • Box 1:
  • Non-commercial recordings from soundtracks (all 12").
    Shelved in over-sized.
  • Snows of Kilimanjaro. Song #1, written and played by Benny Carter; Song #2 written and played by Bennie Carter and Combo; "You Do Something to Me" written by Cole Porter, vocal by Hildegard Neff.
  • Bus Stop: "Twistin' Baby (Side 1); Anabel (side 2).
  • Kraft Theater: "Riviera Twist" by Johnny Williams; "Knight's Gambit" by Johnny Williams.
  • Gambit and Spanish Dance
  • The Hunters: "You Go To My Head" (both sides). Vocal by Elizabeth Allan.
  • Snows of Kilimanjaro: same as above; short version.
  • Combat! Themes written and conducted by Leonard Rosenman.
  • Bus Stop: End title music.
  • Bus Stop: Dance band arrangements of main title and themes.
  • Bus Stop: "Temptation", vocal by Tuesday Weld. MISSING
  • Snows of Kilimanjaro: "Just One of Those Things" by Cole Porter, vocal by Hildegard Neff. MISSING
  • Screaming Mimi. MISSING
  • Box 2:
  • MCA TV Catalogue of Paramount Features
    On top of boxes in collection
  • Box 3:
  • Original drawings, paintings, renderings, designs. "Off We Go" animated main title; "Off We Go" animated main title, revised; "Off We Go" main title. Artists: George Rappaport, DePatie-Frelong.
    Filed in map case drawer marked Robert Blees.
  • Starr Faithfull Project. Photostats of all New York newspapers regarding murder and trial.
    Filed in map case drawer marked Robert Blees.
  • Advertising renderings. Color-Sonics, 2 trade ads. David Weissmann, artist.
    Filed in map case drawer marked Robert Blees.
  • Series 4: UNLOCATED ITEMS
    Items listed on the appraisal sheets and preliminary inventory that have not been located in making the present inventory.
  • Film Daily Yearbooks - 1944, 1955, 1956, 1957
  • Motion Picture and TV Production Encyclopedias - 1945-1949, 1946-1950, 1947-1951
  • Motion Picture (and TV) Almanacs - 1933, 1937, 1942, 1951, 1953-1954, 1956, 1957
  • Budgets, costs, IBM tapes:
  • Adventures in Paradise (9 episodes)
  • Dobie Gillis (20 episodes)
  • Follow the Sun (11 episodes)
  • Margie (10 episodes)
  • Miscellaneous commercials

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Faithfull, Starr, 1906-1931

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
American drama
Television programs

Occupations:
Motion picture actors and actresses
Screenwriters
Television writers

Genre/Form of Materials:
Articles
Correspondence
Motion pictures
Photographs
Screenplays
Sound recordings

Title:
Alfred Hitchcock theatre (Television program)
All I desire (Motion picture)
All this and heaven too (Motion picture)
Bitter victory (Motion picture)
Black spot on the sun (Motion picture)
Bus stop (Television program)
Climax (Television program)
Combat (Television program)
Damon Runyon theatre (Television program)
Dark victory (Motion picture)
Dead heat on a merry-go-round (Motion picture)
Desilu playhouse (Television program)
Dr. Kildare (Television program)
Four daughters (Motion picture)
High school confidential (Motion picture)
Islandia
Its love I'm after (Motion picture)
King's row (Motion picture)
Kraft suspense theatre (Television program)
Long and the short of it (Motion picture)
Magnificent obsession (Motion picture)
Mark Hellinger theater (Television program)
Off we go (Television program)
Old maid (Motion picture)
P.O.W.'s (Television program)
Peter Gunn (Television program)
Playgirl (Motion picture)
Psycho (Motion picture)
Raffles (Television program)
Raw wind in Eden (Motion picture)
Saratoga trunk (Motion picture)
Screaming Mimi (Motion picture)
Silencers (Motion picture)
Snows of Kilimanjaro (Motion picture)
Star is born (Motion picture : 1954)
Star trek (Television program)
Sweater girl (Motion picture)
Three secrets (Motion picture)

Browse:
Film & Television Writing and Directing
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Dramatists, Playwrights, & Scriptwriters for Television & Screen
Study of Theatre Arts and Popular Culture