Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Edwin T. Meredith Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1898 - 1949
Creator: Meredith, Edwin T. (1876-1928)
Extent: 25.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0121
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Attorney and Iowa state legislator. Subject files and correspondence concerning his business, family and political career. The bulk of the papers consist of correspondence dealing with business conditions during the 1920s and W.W.II, politics, family life.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 43

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This gathering of papers was given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Mr. Meredith's son, Edwin T. Meredith, Jr., in 1965. A microfilm edition of these records is available for loan or purchase.

Preferred Citation: Edwin T. Meredith Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Edwin Thomas Meredith was born in Avoca, Iowa, December 23, 1876, son of Thomas Oliver and Minerva Jane (Marsh) Meredith. He attended country schools until he was sixteen when he entered Highland Park College (later Des Moines University). He abandoned his college course at the age of seventeen to take a position on the Farmers' Tribune, a Populist newspaper owned by his grandfather. By the time he was eighteen, E.T. Meredith, had become the newspaper's general manager. On January 8, 1896, he married Edna Elliott; they had two children, Mildred and Edwin T., Jr.

As a wedding gift, Meredith's grandfather gave him one-half ownership in the Farmers' Tribune, selling the other half to S.B. Crane. Within a few months, E.T. Meredith was the sole owner and gradually transformed the publication into a statewide farm paper. In 1902 he founded Successful Farming and in 1922 he began publishing Fruit, Garden and Home. The later was renamed Better Homes and Gardens in 1924 and remains one of the nation's major publications today. Meredith was very active in the publishing world. He served as President of both the Agricultural Publishers Association and the Associated Advertising Clubs of the World. In 1915, Meredith was elected to the Board of Directors of the Chamber of Commerce of the United States and from 1918-1920 served as a director of the Chicago Federal Reserve Bank. He was also very involved in the National Committee on Boys' and Girls' Club Work.

Always interested in politics, E.T. Meredith was an ardent supporter of Woodrow Wilson and became a loyal Democrat. Meredith sought the party's nomination for the senatorial nomination in 1914, but was defeated by Maurice Connelly, who in turn was defeated by incumbent, Albert B. Cummins. Two years later, Meredith won the party's nomination for governor, but lost the election. These were his only formal bids for elected office. In 1918, President Wilson appointed him to the American War Mission which visited England and France. In January 1920, Edwin T. Meredith joined the Wilson cabinet as Secretary of Agriculture and served until March 4, 1921 when he was succeeded by Henry C. Wallace and the Harding administration. In 1924, Meredith was a strong supporter of William G. McAdoo's bid for the Democratic nomination for president. When that failed, he allowed his name to be put forward as Iowa's favorite son. The nomination went to John W. Davis on the 103rd ballot. Meredith's name was raised again in 1928, but due to illness he did not participate actively in the campaign. Edwin T. Meredith died June 17, 1928. He was a champion of farm relief, tax reform, prohibition, military preparedness, tariff reform, arid land development, the World Court, and the League of Nations.

The Edwin T. Meredith Papers consist of approximately twenty-five linear feet and date from 1898 to 1949. The collection is arranged in six different series: Correspondence (27 boxes); Subject files (3 boxes); Idaho Farm Development Company (10 boxes); Speeches, articles, statements and addresses by E.T. Meredith (2 boxes); Photographs (1 box); and Scrapbooks (7 boxes). Each series is arranged alphabetically and chronologically, with the exception of the Idaho series which begins with correspondence and is followed by business papers and vouchers. This collection is available on Microfilm through the Media Services department. (Film 29248) For a list of reel numbers and contents, click Contents of Microfilm: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/spec-coll/MSC/ToMsc150/MsC121/reels.htm.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: SUBJECT FILES
Series 3: IDAHO FARM DEVELOPMENT COMPANY
Series 4: SPEECHES, ARTICLES, STATEMENTS, AND ADDRESSES BY E.T. MEREDITH
Series 5: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 6: SCRAPBOOKS
Series 7: SCRAPBOOKS ON THE OVERSIZED SHELF

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1898-1911
  • Correspondence - 1912-1914
  • Correspondence - 1915-1916
    Including a letter from William D. Jamieson
  • Correspondence - 1917-1918
  • Correspondence, January-October 19 - 1919
  • Correspondence, October 20-December - 1919
  • Correspondence, January-February - 1920
    Including a letter from Chesla C. Sherlock
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence, March-April - 1920
    Including letters from Edith Bolling Wilson and William G. McAdoo
  • Correspondence, May - 1920
    Including a letter from James W. Good
  • Correspondence, June-December - 1920
  • Correspondence, January-March - 1921
    Including letters from Henry C. Wallace
  • Correspondence, April - 1921
    Including a letter from Warren G. Harding
  • Correspondence, May-June - 1921
    Including a letter from Franklin D. Roosevelt
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence, July-August - 1921
    Including letters from: Joseph P. Tumulty, Franklin D. Roosevelt, and Clyde L. Herring
  • Correspondence, September-October - 1921
    Including letters from William G. McAdoo and Joseph P. Tumulty
  • Correspondence, November - 1921
    Including letters from: Eugene Meyer, Jr., Andrew W. Mellon, and Henry A. Wallace
  • Correspondence, December 1-6 - 1921
  • Correspondence, December 7-16 - 1921
    Including letters from: Daniel A. Wallace, George Washington Carver, Gilbert N. Haugen, and Bernard M. Baruch
  • Correspondence, December 17-31 - 1921
    Including letters from: Daniel A. Wallace, Eugene Meyer, Jr., William G. McAdoo, and Beryl F. Carroll
  • Box 4:
  • Correspondence, January 1-10 - 1922
    Including letters from Eugene Meyer, Jr. and Newton D. Baker
  • Correspondence, January 11-20 - 1922
    Including letters from James W. Good and Beryl F. Carroll
  • Correspondence, January 21-31 - 1922
    Including a letter from Samuel Gompers
  • Correspondence, February - 1922
    Including a letter from Henry C. Wallace
  • Correspondence, March 1-10 - 1922
    Including letters from Bernard M. Baruch and J.W. Hanna
  • Correspondence, March 11-20 - 1922
    Including a letter from Cordell Hull
  • Box 5:
  • Correspondence, March 21-31 - 1922
  • Correspondence, April 1-20 - 1922
    Including letters from Bernard M. Baruch and William G. McAdo
  • Correspondence, April 21-30 - 1922
    Including letters from Thomas H. Macbride and Bernard M. Baruch
  • Correspondence, May 1-10 - 1922
  • Correspondence, May 11-20 - 1922
    Including letters from Bernard M. Baruch and Eugene Meyer Jr.
  • Correspondence, May 21-31 - 1922
    Including a letter from Cordell Hull
  • Correspondence, June 1-20 - 1922
  • Correspondence, June 21-30 - 1922
  • Box 6:
  • Correspondence, July - 1922
    Including letters from Chesla C. Sherlock
  • Correspondence, August - 1922
    Including a letter from Chesla C. Sherlock
  • Correspondence, September 1-15 - 1922
  • Correspondence, September 16-30 - 1922
    Including a letter from Eugene Meyer Jr.
  • Correspondence, October 1-10 - 1922
    Including letters from: William G. McAdoo, Josephus Daniels, Bernard M. Baruch, and Newton D. Baker
  • Correspondence, October 11-31 - 1922
    Including letters from: William G. McAdoo, Bernard M. Baruch, Cordell Hull, Newton D. Baker and Walter A. Jessup
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence, November - 1922
    Including letters from William D. Jamieson and Woodrow Wilson
  • Correspondence, December 1-19 - 1922
    Including a telegram from Franklin D. Roosevelt
  • Correspondence, December 20-31 - 1922
    Including letters from Franklin D. Roosevelt
  • Correspondence, January 1-15 - 1923
    Including a letter from Arthur Capper
  • Correspondence, January 16-31 - 1923
    Including letters from: Arthur Capper, Clifford Thorne, and Beryl F. Carroll
  • Correspondence, February - 1923
    Including letters from Woodrow Wilson and Clyde L. Herring
  • Correspondence, March 1-10 - 1923
    Including a letter from Eugene Meyer Jr.
  • Box 8:
  • Correspondence, March 11-31 - 1923
  • Correspondence, April - 1923
  • Correspondence, May - 1923
    Including a letter from William G. McAdoo
  • Correspondence, June 1-15 - 1923
    Including letters from William D. Jamieson and Cordell Hull
  • Correspondence, June 16-30 - 1923
  • Box 9:
  • Correspondence, July - 1923
    Including a letter from Eugene Meyer Jr.
  • Correspondence, August 1-19 - 1923
    Including a letter from Clyde L. Herring
  • Correspondence, August 20-31 - 1923
    Including letters from Jay Norwood Darling, Eugene Meyer, Jr., and Daniel C. Roper
  • Correspondence, September - 1923
    Including a letter from William G. McAdoo
  • Correspondence, October - 1923
    Including letters from: Frederick E. Biermann, William G. McAdoo, and David Lawrence
  • Correspondence, November 1-15 - 1923
    Including letters from William D. Jamieson and Beryl F. Carroll
  • Box 10:
  • Correspondence, November 16-30 - 1923
    Including letters from Frederick E. Biermann and William G. McAdoo
  • Correspondence, December 1-20 - 1923
    Including letters from: William G. McAdoo, Daniel C. Roper, and David L. Rockwell
  • Correspondence, December 21-31 - 1923
    Including letters from: Chesla C. Sherlock, William G. McAdoo, and Henry A. Wallace
  • Correspondence, January 1-10 - 1924
    Including letters from Henry A. Wallace and Clyde L. Herring
  • Correspondence, January 11-17 - 1924
    Including letters from: Frederick E. Biermann, Clyde L. Herring, and William G. McAdoo
  • Correspondence, January 18-31 - 1924
    Including letters from: Chesla C. Sherlock, William D. Jamieson, William G. McAdoo, Breckenridge Long, Homer S. Cummings, David L. Rockwell, Clyde L. Herring, and Daniel C. Roper
  • Correspondence, February - 1924
    Including letters from: Daniel A. Wallace, Josephus Daniels, William G. McAdoo, and Claude R. Porter
  • Box 11:
  • Correspondence, March 1-20 - 1924
    Including letters from: William G. McAdoo, Daniel C. Roper and David L. Rockwell
  • Correspondence, March 21-31 - 1924
    Including letters from Cordell Hull, William D. Jamieson, Breckenridge Long, and William G. McAdoo
  • Correspondence, April 1-15 - 1924
    Including letters from: William G. McAdoo, Cordell Hull, Daniel C. Roper, William Jennings Bryan, Martin J. Wade, Frederick E. Biermann, Homer S. Cummings, and Claude R. Porter
  • Correspondence, April 16-30 - 1924
    Including letters from: David L. Rockwell, Cordell Hull, and Samuel Gompers
  • Correspondence, May 1-19 - 1924
    Including a letter from William G. McAdoo
  • Correspondence, May 20-31 - 1924
    Including letters from David L. Rockwell
  • Correspondence, June - 1924
    Including letters from: David L. Rockwell, William D. Jamieson, Clyde L. Herring, and Frederick E. Biermann
  • Box 12:
  • Correspondence, July 1-18 - 1924
    Including letters from William G. McAdoo
  • Correspondence, July 19-23 - 1924
    Including letters from: Newton D. Baker, Daniel C. Roper, and John W. Davis
  • Correspondence, July 24-31 - 1924
    Including letters from Hollins Randolph and William Jennings Bryan
  • Correspondence, August 1-15 - 1924
    Including letters from: Chesla C. Sherlock, Homer S. Cummings, Daniel F. Steck, Clyde L. Herring, and Daniel C. Roper
  • Correspondence, August 16-31 - 1924
  • Correspondence, September - 1924
    Including letters from: John W. Davis, Cordell Hull, David L. Rockwell, and Josephus Daniels
  • Box 13:
  • Correspondence, October - 1924
    Including letters from: Clyde L. Herring, Daniel C. Roper, Daniel F. Steck, and David L. Rockwell
  • Correspondence, November 1-20 - 1924
    Including letters from: Franklin D. Roosevelt, Daniel C. Roper, John W. Davis, William G. McAdoo, David L. Rockwell, Clyde L. Herring, and Hollins Randolph
  • Correspondence, November 21-30 - 1924
    Including letters from: Breckinridge Long, Daniel C. Roper, Homer S. Cummings, Franklin D. Roosevelt, and Cordell Hull
  • Correspondence, December 1-20 - 1924
    Including letters from: Franklin D. Roosevelt, George Fort Milton, and Clyde L. Herring
  • Correspondence, December 21-31 - 1924
  • Correspondence, January - 1925
    Including letters from William G. McAdoo
  • Box 14:
  • Correspondence, February - 1925
    Including a letter from David L. Rockwell
  • Correspondence, March - 1925
    Including letters from: Franklin D. Roosevelt, Claude R. Porter, and William M. Jardine
  • Correspondence, April - 1925
    Including a letter from Beryl F. Carroll
  • Correspondence, May - 1925
    Including letters from: Beryl F.Carroll, Lafayette Young, Herbert Hoover, and Eugene Meyer, Jr.
  • Correspondence, June - 1925
    Including letters from Herbert Hoover and William G. McAdoo
  • Correspondence, July 1-15 - 1925
  • Box 15:
  • Correspondence, July 16-31 - 1925
    Including letters from Eugene Meyer, Jr., and Hollins Randolph
  • Correspondence, August - 1925
    Including letters from: George Fort Milton, Hollins Randolph, and Daniel C. Roper
  • Correspondence, September 1-15 - 1925
    Including letters from Hollins Randolph
  • Correspondence, September 16-30 - 1925
    Including a letter from Bernard M. Baruch
  • Correspondence, October - 1925
    Including letters from: Josephus Daniels, Beryl F. Carroll, William G. McAdoo, Breckinridge Long, and Daniel C. Roper
  • Correspondence, November - 1925
    Including letters from: Breckinridge Long, Homer S. Cummings, and George Fort Milton
  • Box 16:
  • Correspondence, December 1-24 - 1925
    Including letters from William G. McAdoo and Breckinridge Long
  • Correspondence, December 25-29 - 1925
  • Correspondence, December 30-31 - 1925
    Including a letter from Chesla C. Sherlock
  • Correspondence, January 1-10 - 1926
    Including letters from Breckinridge Long
  • Correspondence, January 11-20 - 1926
    Including letters from Breckinridge Long and Fred C. Lovrein
  • Box 17:
  • Correspondence, January 21-31 - 1926
  • Correspondence, February 1-16 - 1926
    Including a letter from Chesla C. Sherlock
  • Correspondence, February 17-27 - 1926
    Including a letter from Breckinridge Long
  • Correspondence, March - 1926
    Including letters from Daniel F. Steck and Frank O. Lowden
  • Correspondence, April 1-19 - 1926
    Including letters from: George Fort Milton, William D. Jamieson, Thomas J. Walsh, William G. McAdoo, and Daniel C. Roper
  • Correspondence, April 20-30 - 1926
    Including a letter from Frederick E. Biermann
  • Box 18:
  • Correspondence, May 1-15 - 1926
    Including letters from William G. McAdoo and T. Henry Foster
  • Correspondence, May 16-31 - 1926
    Including letters from: George Fort Milton, Hollins Randolph, William G. McAdoo, William D. Jamieson, and Claude R. Porter
  • Correspondence, June 1-10 - 1926
    Including letters from: George Fort Milton, William G. McAdoo, and Daniel F. Steck
  • Correspondence, June 11-20 - 1926
    Including letters from: George Fort Milton, Claude R. Porter, Arthur Capper, David Lawrence, and Hollins Randolph
  • Correspondence, June 21-30 - 1926
    Including letters from: George Fort Milton, Daniel F. Steck, Frederick E. Biermann, Chesla C. Sherlock, William D. Jamieson, and Hollins Randolph
  • Correspondence, July 1-10 - 1926
    Including letters from George Fort Milton and T. Henry Foster
  • Box 19:
  • Correspondence, July 11-31 - 1926
    Including letters from: William G. McAdoo, Harvey Ingham, and George Fort Milton
  • Correspondence, August 1-10 - 1926
    Including letters from: William D. Jamieson, William G. McAdoo, George Fort Milton, and T. Henry Foster
  • Correspondence, August 11-31 - 1926
    Including letters from William G. McAdoo and T. Henry Foster
  • Correspondence, September 1-15 - 1926
    Including letters from: T. Henry Foster, William G. McAdoo, George Fort Milton, Daniel F. Steck, and Chesla C. Sherlock
  • Correspondence, September 16-30 - 1926
    Including letters from: Herbert Hoover, George Fort Milton, and Beryl F. Carroll
  • Correspondence, October 1-15 - 1926
    Including letters from: Eugene Meyer, Jr., Frank O. Lowden, and George Fort Milton
  • Box 20:
  • Correspondence, October 16-31 - 1926
    Including letters from George Fort Milton and Frederick E. Biermann
  • Correspondence, November 1-19 - 1926
    Including letters from: William G. McAdoo, Frank O. Lowden, and George Fort Milton
  • Correspondence, November 20-30 - 1926
    Including letters from: Josephus Daniels, Frederick E. Biermann, Clyde L. Herring, George Fort Milton, Daniel F. Steck, and William G. McAdoo
  • Correspondence, December 1-10 - 1926
    Including letters from William G. McAdoo
  • Correspondence, December 11-20 - 1926
    Including letters from: Frank O. Lowden, George Fort Milton, Daniel F. Steck, Jay Norwood Darling, and Chesla C. Sherlock
  • Correspondence, December 21-27 - 1926
    Including letters from George Fort Milton and Lafayette Young Jr.
  • Box 21:
  • Correspondence, December 28-31 - 1926
    Including letters from William G. McAdoo
  • Correspondence, January 1-10 - 1927
    Including letters from: Bernard M. Baruch, George Fort Milton, Clyde L. Herring, Daniel F. Steck, and Frederick E. Biermann
  • Correspondence, January 11-19 - 1927
  • Correspondence, January 20-31 - 1927
    Including a letter from Martin J. Wade
  • Correspondence, February 1-10 - 1927
    Including letters from: Cordell Hull, John G. Hammill, Chesla C. Sherlock, and George Fort Milton
  • Correspondence, February 11-28 - 1927
    Including letters from: Josephus Daniels, William S. Kenyon, and George Fort Milton
  • Box 22:
  • Correspondence, March 1-10 - 1927
    Including letters from George Fort Milton and Frank O. Lowden
  • Correspondence, March 11-20 - 1927
    Including a letter from Daniel F. Steck
  • Correspondence, March 21-31 - 1927
    Including letters from George Fort Milton
  • Correspondence, April 1-15 - 1927
    Including letters from William G. McAdoo and George Fort Milton
  • Correspondence, April 16-30 - 1927
    Including letters from: Gardner Cowles, Frank O. Lowden, and William G. McAdoo
  • Correspondence, May 1-15 - 1927
    Including letters from Newton D. Baker and William G. McAdoo
  • Box 23:
  • Correspondence, May 16-31 - 1927
    Including letters from: Chesla C. Sherlock, William G. McAdoo, and Daniel F. Steck
  • Correspondence, June 1-17 - 1927
    Including a letter from Martin J. Wade
  • Correspondence, June 18-30 - 1927
    Including a letter from Daniel F. Steck
  • Correspondence, July - 1927
    Including letters from Daniel F. Steck and William G. McAdoo
  • Correspondence, August - 1927
    Including letters from: Martin J. Wade, William S. Jardine, and Daniel C. Roper
  • Box 24:
  • Correspondence, September 1-19 - 1927
    Including letters from George Fort Milton and William G. McAdoo
  • Correspondence, September 20-30 - 1927
    Including letters from Beryl F. Carroll and William D. Jamieson
  • Correspondence, October 1-13 - 1927
    Including letters from William G. McAdoo and George Fort Milton
  • Correspondence, October 14-31 - 1927
    Including letters from: Beryl F. Carroll, Newton D. Baker, Daniel C. Roper, and George Fort Milton
  • Correspondence, November 1-15 - 1927
    Including letters from: William M. Jardine, Daniel C. Roper, Calvin Coolidge, and George Fort Milton
  • Correspondence, November 16-30 - 1927
    Including letters from: Newton D. Baker, William S. Kenyon, George Fort Milton, Martin J. Wade, and Calvin Coolidge
  • Box 25:
  • Correspondence, December 1-15 - 1927
    Including letters from John M. Henry and Frederick E. Biermann
  • Correspondence, December 16-31 - 1927
    Including letters from George Fort Milton and Daniel C. Roper
  • Correspondence, January 1-12 - 1928
    Including letters from: Frederick E. Biermann, Clyde L. Herring, George Fort Milton, and Daniel C. Roper
  • Correspondence, January 13-31 - 1928
    Including letters from: John G. Hammill, Daniel C. Roper, William D. Jamieson, T. Henry Foster, and William G. McAdoo
  • Correspondence, February - 1928
    Including letters from: George Fort Milton, Claude R. Porter, Josephus Daniels, Frederick E. Biermann, and William G. McAdoo
  • Box 26:
  • Correspondence, March 1-17 - 1928
    Including letters from: William G. McAdoo, Daniel F. Steck, Clyde L. Herring, George Fort Milton, Daniel C. Roper, Thomas J. Walsh, and Hollins Randolph
  • Correspondence, March 18-31 - 1928
    Including letters from Claude R. Porter and Hollins Randolph
  • Correspondence, April 1-15 - 1928
    Including letters from: Mark Sullivan, George Fort Milton, and William G. McAdoo
  • Correspondence, April 16-30 - 1928
    Including letters from George Fort Milton and William D. Jamieson
  • Correspondence, May - 1928
    Including a letter from John G. Hammill
  • Correspondence, June-December - 1928
  • Correspondence - 1929, 1942, 1949
  • Box 27:
  • Correspondence, undated
    Including letters from: Clyde L. Herring, Chesla C. Sherlock, and Edith Bolling Wilson
  • Correspondence, undated from E.T. Meredith
  • Series 2: SUBJECT FILES
  • Box 28:
  • "Agricultural Depressions 1785-1920" Agricultural Service, Chamber of Commerce of the United States, October 8 - 1926
  • Agriculture and Department of Agriculture - 1920-1927
  • Agriculture and Department of Agriculture: Personnel - 1920
  • Biographical Material Relating to E.T. Meredith - 1923-1949
  • Brief Account of How E.T. Meredith Sponsored 4-H Club Work in America, undated
  • Chamber of Commerce of the United States of America - 1924-1926
  • Chamber of Commerce of the United States of America: January-May - 1927
  • Chamber of Commerce of the United States of America: June-June - 1927-1928
  • Clippings - 1922-1928
  • Colorado Report. White River Dome, September - 1920
  • Box 29:
  • Comments of Agricultural Editors, Presidents and Deans of Agricultural Colleges, and Directors of Extension on the Address of the Secretary of Agriculture before the New York Merchant's Association, March 12 - 1920
  • Democrats. Lists used by E.T. Meredith - 1922
  • Des Moines Club - 1922
  • Edwin T. Meredith 1876-1928 A Memorial Volume
  • Elk River Irrigation and Construction Company - 1921
  • "Equality for Agriculture" by Peek and Johnson - 1922
  • Judge Martin J. Wade Fund. Correspondence - 1926-1927
    Including a letter from Martin J. Wade
  • Laramie Valley Cattle Company. Contract - 1921
  • Meredith for Governor Campaign. General List, undated
  • Meredith Publications - 1925-1927
  • Meredith's Comments on the 1924 Democratic Convention - 1924
  • National Committee on Boys and Girls Club Work. Correspondence - 1923-1925
  • National Dairy Organization, undated
  • "Objections to Mr. Meredith's Plan for Putting Agriculture Upon a Business Basis," undated
  • Publishing. Miscellaneous material, undated
  • Report on the Property of the Industrial Potash Corporation Located near Marysvale, Utah, by William Peterson - 1922
  • Reports on the Close-In Group of Alunite Claims near Marysvale, Piute County, Utah - 1921
  • Sherlock, Chesla C. C. Edwin Thomas Meredith Being a Personality, December 23 - 1926
  • Specifications for Concrete Steel Arch Bridge on Driveway at E.T. Meredith Farm, undated
  • "The Thing We Want Most" by E.T. Meredith with Comments from Agricultural Editors - 1920
    Including a letter from Cordell Hull
  • United Taxpayers' Union, undated
  • Wasteland Reclamation - 1921-1922
  • Box 30:
  • William Jennings Bryan Memorial Fund. Correspondence - 1925-1928
    Including letters from Josephus Daniels and Daniel C. Roper
  • Woodrow Wilson Birthplace Memorial Fund Correspondence, July-October - 1925
  • Woodrow Wilson Birthplace Memorial Fund Correspondence, November-December - 1925-1928
  • Series 3: IDAHO FARM DEVELOPMENT COMPANY
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 31:
  • Correspondence - 1914-1919
  • Correspondence, January-July - 1920
  • Correspondence, August-October - 1920
  • Correspondence, November-December - 1920
  • Correspondence, January-April - 1921
  • Correspondence, May-June - 1921
  • Box 32:
  • Correspondence, July-September - 1921
  • Correspondence, October-December - 1921
  • Correspondence, January-April - 1922
  • Correspondence, May-July - 1922
  • Correspondence, August-December - 1922
  • Correspondence, January-March - 1923
  • Correspondence, April-June - 1923
  • Box 33:
  • Correspondence, July-October - 1923
  • Correspondence, November-December - 1923
  • Correspondence, January-March - 1924
  • Correspondence, April-June - 1924
  • Correspondence, July-September - 1924
  • Correspondence, October-December - 1924
  • Correspondence, January-March - 1925
  • Box 34:
  • Correspondence, April-June - 1925
  • Correspondence, July-October - 1925
  • Correspondence, November-December - 1925
  • Correspondence, January-March - 1926
  • Correspondence, April - 1926
  • Correspondence, May-June - 1926
  • Box 35:
  • Correspondence, July - 1926
  • Correspondence, August-September - 1926
  • Correspondence, October-December - 1926
  • Correspondence: Regarding Fred N. Perkins - 1925-1926
  • Correspondence, January-February - 1927
  • Correspondence, March - 1927
  • Correspondence, April-June - 1927
  • Box 36:
  • Correspondence, July-December - 1927
  • Correspondence, January-October - 1928
  • Correspondence, November-December - 1928
  • Correspondence - 1929
  • Correspondence, undated
  • Sub-Series: Business Papers. Including contracts, leases, indentures, bills, receipts, etc.
  • Box 36:
  • Business Papers - 1904-1918
  • Business Papers, January-April - 1919
  • Box 37:
  • Business Papers, May-September - 1919
  • Business Papers, October-December - 1919
  • Business Papers, January-June - 1920
  • Business Papers, July-December - 1920
  • Business Papers - 1921
  • Business Papers - 1922
  • Business Papers - 1923
  • Business Papers - 1924
  • Box 38:
  • Business Papers - 1925
  • Business Papers, January-June - 1926
  • Business Papers, July-December - 1926
  • Business Papers, January-June - 1927
  • Business Papers, July-December - 1927
  • Business Papers, January-September - 1928
  • Business Papers, October-December - 1928
  • Box 39:
  • Business Papers - 1929
  • Business Papers, undated
  • Sub-Series: Minutes
  • Box 39:
  • Minutes of Meetings - 1908-1912
  • Sub-Series: Photographs
  • Box 39:
  • Photographs
  • Sub-Series: Vouchers and Receipts
  • Box 39:
  • #F626-699: April-May - 1925
  • #F700-773: May-June - 1925
  • #F774-803: June - 1925
  • Box 40:
  • #F842-911: August-October - 1925
  • #F912-979: October-December - 1925
  • Series 4: SPEECHES, ARTICLES, STATEMENTS, AND ADDRESSES BY E.T. MEREDITH
  • Box 41:
  • Speeches and articles - 1916-1922
  • Speeches and articles - 1923-1928
  • Speeches and articles: Titled and undated
  • Speeches and articles: Undated and untitled
  • Speeches and articles: Undated and untitled
  • Addresses and statements: Bound volume 1 - 1920
  • Box 42:
  • Addresses and statements: Bound volume 2 - 1920
  • Addresses and statements: Bound volume 3 - 1920
  • Addresses and statements: Bound volume 4 - 1920-1921
  • Series 5: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 43:
  • American War Mission to England and France - 1918
  • American War Mission to England and France - 1918
  • Series 6: SCRAPBOOKS
  • Box 44:
  • American War Mission to England and France - 1918
  • Box 45:
  • Appointment of E.T. Meredith as Secretary of Agriculture - 1920
  • Box 46:
  • Appointment of E.T. Meredith as Secretary of Agriculture - 1920
  • Box 47:
  • Clippings Relative to Statements Issued by E.T. Meredith, Secretary of Agriculture - 1919-1920
  • Box 48:
  • Clippings Relative to Statements Issued by E.T. Meredith, Secretary of Agriculture - 1920-1921
  • Box 49:
  • Mrs. Meredith's scrapbook - 1920
    Including letters from Edith Bolling Wilson
  • Box 50:
  • Scrapbook for E.T. Meredith - 1918-1928
    Box 50 is at 5:20:5
  • Tributes to Edwin T. Meredith - 1928
    Box 50 is at 5:20:5
  • Series 7: SCRAPBOOKS ON THE OVERSIZED SHELF
  • Box 51:
  • Scrapbooks - 1913-1914
  • Scrapbooks - 1915-1916
  • Scrapbooks - 1923
  • Agriculture, Mr. Meredith, Political, Well-Known Men
  • E. T. Meredith at the 1924 Democratic convention - 1924
  • E. T. Meredith for Governor. February-April - 1920
  • Secretary of Agriculture - 1920
  • Successful Farming 1918-1920