Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the W.F. Main Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1885-1949
Creator: Main, W.F.
Extent: 17.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0120
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Businessman, Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Business and personal correspondence, financial statements and reports, legal papers, memoranda, photographs, and keepsakes concerning Main family and its personal and business affairs.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 39

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: W.F. Main Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The list below is taken from the box labels, and doesn't necessarily represent the folders in the collection. For example, though box 2 lists only one entry it contains 5 folders.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: FAMILY HISTORY AND CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: CHRISTIAN SCIENCE (AND OTHER CORRESPONDENCE)
Series 3: ATTORNEYS CORRESPONDENCE AND HOUSTON CASE
Series 4: BUSINESS CORRESPONDENCE
Series 5: MISCELLANEOUS CORRESPONDENCE, A-I
Series 6: MISCELLANEOUS CORRESPONDENCE, I-W
Series 7: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 8: OVERSIZED

  • Series 1: FAMILY HISTORY AND CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Main, H. F. (Burial) - 1931
  • Gardner, Rita - 1940
  • Roebuck, J. C. - 1934
  • Ziehme, A. E. - 1935-1936
  • Box 2:
  • Clapsaddle, J. G. - 1932-1935
  • Box 3:
  • Clapsaddle, J. G. - 1936-1937
  • Relatives and Friends - 1929-1930, 1938-1939, 1940
  • Box 4:
  • Main, Frank H. - 1930-1937
  • Box 5:
  • Main, Frank H. - 1937
  • Main, Mrs. Frank H. (Anna) and sons (Frank L. and Joseph) - 1939-1941
  • Main, Fred - 1897-1944
  • Main, Mrs. Fred (Edna) and son Billy Main - 1936-1942
  • Box 6:
  • Main, Mrs. Fred (Edna) and son Billy Main - 1936-1942
  • Box 7:
  • Main, W. F. - 1914-1917, 1934-1936
  • Box 8:
  • Main, W. F. (Personal, Business, and Miscellaneous) - 1937-1940
  • Box 9:
  • Main, W. F. (Personal and Business; Security Laboratories and Dr. Mulsow) - 1940-1942
  • Main, Mrs. W. F. (Janet) - 1939-1942
  • Box 10:
  • Weidner, Earl L. (List of debts, Statements, and Legal Papers) - 1928-1940
  • "Friends" - 1937
  • Box 11:
  • Weidner, Ruth Main, family - 1929-1955
  • Correspondence between Ruth Main Weidner and W. F. Main (father)
  • Weidner Children Correspondence: Barb, Joan, Judy, Rosie, Sue, Will (and wife Billie)
  • Series 2: CHRISTIAN SCIENCE (AND OTHER CORRESPONDENCE)
  • Box 12:
  • Main - Weidner, Christian Science
  • Christian Science Material
  • C-S Fetzer Letters, January-October - 1938-1940
  • Box 13:
  • Christian Science -- Miscellaneous - 1939-1940
  • CS Amanda Rawlings Seger - 1939-1940
  • CS (M.D.W. -- Cedar Rapids) - 1939-1940
  • Christian Science Articles, Poems, etc.
  • Correspondence: Hunt, Dr. A. L. - 1940
  • Correspondence: Sales managers - 1937-1941
  • Correspondence: Visel, H. A. - 1936
  • Series 3: ATTORNEYS CORRESPONDENCE AND HOUSTON CASE
  • Box 14:
  • Attorneys -- Miscellaneous - 1932, 1934, 1939, 1940
  • Attorney-Law List Companies - 1941
  • Byers, Frank C. - 1932-1936
  • Box 15:
  • Byington, O. E. - 1932-1935
  • Box 16:
  • Byington, O. E. - 1936-1941
  • Box 17:
  • Claassen, George C. - 1932-1937
  • Box 18:
  • Claassen, George C. - 1938-1941
  • Coward, Raymond - 1936-1937
  • Garfield, C. W. - 1937
  • George, J. M. - 1936
  • Harrington & Lowe - 1937
  • Box 19:
  • Holman, Alfred - 1936
  • Johnson, E. A. - 1936-1940
  • Box 20:
  • Kuck, C. D. - 1930
  • Linville, Guy P. - 1939-1940
  • Reynolds, R. D. - 1936
  • Robinson Case
  • Silliman, P. D. - 1936
  • Swisher, Ingalls - 1934, 1942
  • Watson, Coit, Morse, & Grindle - 1936
  • Houston Case - 1939-1940
  • Houston, Texas, Matter
  • Oakman, E. M.
  • Box 21:
  • Houston Case (Fraud) - 1939
  • Attorneys Correspondence
  • Patterson, James E. - 1936-1942
  • Reports on Witnesses
  • Indictments
  • Memos -- Unfavorable
  • Testimonials with AffidavitS
  • Letters from Operators who will be witnesses
  • Box 22:
  • Houston Case (Fraud) - 1939-1940
  • Attorneys' Correspondence
  • Series 4: BUSINESS CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 23:
  • Arnold, John H. - 1932-1942
  • Box 24:
  • Bobenmyer, Charles - 1936-1937
  • Box 25:
  • Bobenmyer, Charles - 1938-1942
  • Bobenmyer, Corson - 1934-1935
  • Holmes, Charles - 1940
  • Box 26:
  • Arnolds, Asa - 1936
  • Dun & Bradstreet - 1938-1942
  • Gebert, A. E. - 1937
  • Machen, F. E. - 1930-1941
  • Rowan (Briefs and Articles)
  • Byington, William (Bill) - 1939
  • Box 27:
  • Records, J. L. - 1934-1940
  • Box 28:
  • Slavata, Jane - 1934-1941
  • Box 29:
  • Employees - 1938-1942
  • Memorandums - 1938-1940
  • Box 30:
  • Better Business Bureau - 1937
  • Detectives - 1934
  • Federal Trade Commission - 1936-1941
  • Form Letters - 1936
  • Government - 1937-1941
  • Investments
  • Statements - 1939-1940
  • Series 5: MISCELLANEOUS CORRESPONDENCE, A-I
  • Box 31:
  • A -- Miscellaneous - 1936
  • Automobiles - 1941
  • B - 1937
  • Banks - 1937
  • Bonds guaranteed by Metropolitan Casualty Ins. Co. - 1936
  • C - 1937
  • Customers - 1937
  • D -- I - 1936-1941
  • D - 1937
  • Donations - 1937
  • E - 1937, 1938
  • Employment Agency - 1937
  • F - 1937
  • Farm Equipment and Information (also old time farming) - 1941
  • G - 1937
  • Greeting cards and letters - 1941
  • H - 1940
  • Irwin, Leaton -- Quincy, Illinois - 1930, 1942
  • Series 6: MISCELLANEOUS CORRESPONDENCE, I-W
  • Box 32:
  • Irwin, Leaton & Family -- son, Max; daughter, Ethel Smalley - 1937
  • K - 1937
  • Keeley Institute, Dwight, Illinois - 1940
  • L - 1937
  • List - 1937
  • Mrs. McCord - 1937
  • Old Matters - 1939
  • R - 1937
  • Roland, M. O., - 1934, 1936
  • S - 1937
  • Statements -- Mr. Main's Correspondence
  • T - 1937
  • W (also contains correspondence with Julius Willa children) - 1934
  • W - 1939
  • Box 33:
  • Danish Colonial Lottery papers
  • Business Conditions (articles)
  • Notes & Stocks
  • Vending Machine Brochures, etc.
  • Business Correspondence (Family -- Main -- Weidner, etc.)
  • Thompson Transfer - 1949
  • (Included are keepsakes such as collar of Mrs. Main's wedding dress)
  • Box 34:
  • Property - 1930-1931, 1936-1941
  • Main Farms
  • Cedar Rapids Property - 1939-1941
  • East Iowa City House - 1936-1939
  • Hunter Farm - 1937-1939
  • Land -- Jackson County, S. D. - 1936-1937
  • Land -- Johnson & Johnson - 1930-1931
  • Land and Real Estate and Loans - 1937
  • Box 35:
  • Property - 1930-1941
  • Mason City Property - 1930-1934
  • Roebuck Farm - 1934-1941
  • Ziehme Property - 1937
  • Box 36:
  • Income Taxes - 1924
  • Box 37:
  • Rowan File - 1885, 1940, 1942, 1943
  • Taxes - 1937
  • Abstracts and Financial Statements
  • Lots belonging to Ruth Weidner - 1932-1933
  • Box 38:
  • Ledger - 1940
  • Series 7: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 39:
  • 1. Philip Galloway. Aged 4. May 18th
  • 2. Philip Galloway. Aged 4. May 18th
  • 3. Uncle Wesley on his camping trip of 1400 miles - 1903
  • 4. [Tintype] Says Main on the back
  • 5. Mary Main Clapsaddle and son Dean Clapsaddle in yard at W.F.Main's home 1826 1st Ave. N E Cedar Rapids, Ia. September 1 - 1940
  • 6. [Letter]
  • 7. [Letter] - 1864
  • 8, [Glass slide]
  • 9. [Photo album having to do with California]
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13. Taken June. Mrs. Mary Main Clapsaddle and son "His Majesty the Mister" Seven months old - 1915
  • 14. Mother. Christmas. Janet R. Main - 1904
  • 15. [Niagara Falls] Taken June 26 - 1896
  • 16
  • 17. Caught in the Pacific Ocean - 1901
  • 18
  • 19. Christmas gathering (at Chicago?)
  • 20
  • 21. [Boat]
  • 22. Willard Weidner. January 10 - 1944
  • 23. Barbara Weidner - 1944
  • 24. Joan Weidner - 1944
  • 25. Mrs. Ruth Main Weidner, Taken June - 1913
  • 26. Ruth, Willard, Judy, Joanne, Barbara. Luscombe, Iowa City
  • 27. [Folding photo album with portraits of five children]
  • 28. Taken in November or December - 1925
  • 29. Mrs. Ruth Main Weidner. Taken June - 1913
  • 30. December 19 - 1938
  • 31
  • 32. June - 1941
  • 33. Judith Weidner. Iowa City, Iowa, October - 1941
  • 34. November 18 - 1934
  • 35. Roy, Joe, Leah, Ruth, and Mary Main. Iowa City. Taken December - 1904
  • 36
  • 37. [Marriage certificate, Willard Main, [Janet?] Roebuck
  • 38. November 8 - 1934
  • 39. Mrs. Janet Main. - 1927
  • 40. [Mrs. Janet Main]
  • 41
  • 42
  • 43. Taken May 10. Mary, 4 years 8 months, Ruth 7. Ruth and Mary Main. - 1896
  • 44. Ruth 9 months old. - 1892
  • 45. June or July ?? - 1884, 1885, 1887
  • 46. Take at East Iowa City Spring or Summer ?? Ruth ?? Willard - 1919
  • 47. Taken August [?] (Studio at Burt, Iowa) - 1913
  • 48
  • 49. Taken Thanksgiving - 1921
  • 50. April 17. This is west side of cottage - 1954
  • 51. This taken at our cottage at the lake. From left to right: Own Vernon's father, Virginia, Vernon, and the baby, Mrs. Zorn, Vernon's mother, me, and Mr. Zorn.
  • 52. Friendship Street, East Iowa City
  • 52a. This is our home looking at it from the South East. April 17 - 1954
  • 53 -- 59. March 3. Log house North of the Iowa line in Freemont, Mn. Albert Lea is the closest town. - 1941
  • 60. Friendship Street, East Iowa City
  • 61
  • 62
  • 63
  • 64. Roebuck-Main Farm
  • 65. February 28 - 1939
  • 66. February 28 - 1939
  • 67. February 28 - 1939
  • 68. February 28 - 1939
  • 69. February 28 - 1939
  • 70. February 28 - 1939
  • 71. February 28 - 1939
  • 72
  • 73
  • 74
  • 75. -- 85. Roebuck Homestead - 1926
  • Series 8: OVERSIZED
  • Scrapbook of newspaper clippings.
    On oversized shelves

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Main, W. F. (Willard F.)
Weidner, Ruth Main

Genre/Form of Materials:
Photographs
Family papers
Archives
Ledgers (Account books)
Correspondence

Family Names:
Main family

Browse:
Businessmen and Businesses